Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Vassar College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/21/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 out of 17 people found this review useful. 1 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    BE OPEN MINDED. People will be different than you here, and if you can't be a generally happy person around new and diverse people and situations, you're going to have hard time here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Vassar is a quirky place, but don't try too hard to force that out in your application. Not to be cliche, but be yourself. Trust me, you won't be selling yourself short. Don't try to be the kind of kid the admissions is looking for.

    Bang for the buck

    The admission price here is similar to that of your typical top-tier liberal arts school. However, besides all the food, housing, and academics you pay for, you get a whole lot of intangibles. You get a vibe and community that gives you as much comfort as satisfaction as anything you paid for.

    Am enjoying being here

    This place is so open. You never need to worry about the clique-ness of high school here. People are always looking to make new friends. We all have our quirkier sides, and I believe Vassar not only embraces, but encourages everyone to let their's show. You never feel as stressed as you would think, being in college and all. Yet, at the same time, it never feels lackadaisical. You are always stimulated mentally and socially.

    Am learning a lot

    Unlike many schools out there, Vassar professors are not only intelligent, good teachers, they also take the time to attend to their students. The in class lectures were always interesting, if not always easy to understand. However, I can always approach them outside of class to learn more. I never felt like I was missing out on the full learning experience of class because the professors WANT you to learn all you can.

  • 12/02/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 11 people found this review useful. 2 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are passionate, activists, accepting, and willing to have a theoretical discussion over lunch.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Vassar because you love it and you are passionate about where your life is headed, whether it be academically, musically, artistically, spiritually, whatever. Vassar simply wants you to care. And show that in your application. However, don't get too caught up in the I need to stand out! mindset.

    Bang for the buck

    Although tuition is high, between the quality of the academic experience, number of campus activities, food choices, and living situations available, you do get a lot back for what you pay. Also, 60% of the class of 2014 is receiving some form of financial aid, and Vassar is known for its need-blind policy.

    Am enjoying being here

    Vassar's campus is large for its 2,400 student body and there are several student hang-out spots. It is a welcoming and diverse atmosphere that makes you feel at home but keeps you entertained and interested in what the school and student body has to offer. Even more so, campus events are literally happening everyday of the week, whether it be a lecture, sports game, campus party, benefit dinner, art showing, etc. The only challenge is the Vassar bubble. It is named so because campus often offers so many events that students do not leave very often. However, there are off-campus eateries and malls that can urge you beyond the Vassar borders. And do not forget the train from Poughkeepsie right into NYC!

    Am learning a lot

    Vassar's zero core curriculum approach to academics allows any student to explore their academic interests to the fullest degree. The professors are wonderful and the majority have the highest degree possible in their field. They are open to student input and genuinely love when their students are passionate about what they are teaching. Furthermore, small class sizes and round table discussion facilitate student involvement in the classroom. I really cannot picture a better academic environment for the student who wants an engaging small liberal arts college.

  • 10/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 3 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Vassar is great for everyone! We have so many different types of people and a mixture of people that I can't imagine someone not finding their niche. The school also does a superb job of offering support to students in looking for their passion and developing that passion.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a prospective student, I would recommend visiting, especially overnight. There is no better way to get to know the campus than spending the night with a current student. My time as a prospie was so much fun and I met so many people who I'm still great friends with today. As for the application, I would recommend being as sincere and honest as possible. Admissions counselor's here are great and really want to get to know the applicants. I don't know how the do it, but they find a way to accept students here, that make Vassar the amazing, quirky place it is.

    Bang for the buck

    One of Vassar's appeals is it's large alumni/ae network and name recognition. I know that once I graduate having a Vassar degree will help a lot, because it is recognized and respected. Also, the past two years have been a blast! I've been having the time of my life meeting so many new people and learning about things that personally interest me, so it is definitely worth the buck.

    Am enjoying being here

    The student body at Vassar is so diverse. It's very importat to keep an open mind when meeting new people, which you will do all the time, despite Vassar's small size. There are also so many opportunities to do anything your want really and it is all student run, which feels amazing! I really appreciated the opportunities offered to freshman for leadership which is often hard to find in larger universities.

    Am learning a lot

    One of the best things about Vassar are the professors. You can tell that they all truly care about what they are teaching and really want you to succeed. I can't count how many times a professor's name has appears in our text, because these people not only know their subjects, but a lot of them were actually there! Also, the classes are some of the most interesting I've ever seen, let alone taken. They can be difficult sometimes, but overall they are all well worth it!

  • 06/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 4 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Artsy, sporty, intellectual, whatever! Dedicated students though, all around. Really anyone can find their place at Vassar. There are many different parts of the community so people can find acceptance somewhere. It is also a good school for students who thrive on being part of a small community where you will see people you know pretty much everywhere you go on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do a sport or theater! Playing on a team at Vassar has been one of the best parts of my experience, because it's a group of friends from all different years and backgrounds that I wouldn't necessarily have met otherwise. And, the sports teams at Vassar are not super intense. They're fun and you definitely have to work at it, but it's not the kind of competition that you'd have at a D-I school. Theater is a rich culture at Vassar. There are many interesting people to meet in theater circles, and theater at Vassar is fun and accessible to students of all years.

    Bang for the buck

    Vassar has amazing resources, but it is also very expensive. I think that the school doesn't work hard enough to make the students aware of all that it has to offer.

    Am enjoying being here

    The social life is fun, but it is limited. Parties mostly occur in the senior housing, and it can be awkward if you don't know seniors. Lots of parties happen in the dorms though, and they can also be fun. Security is more likely to break up these parties due to noise, though, and the students in the dorm need to take the initiative to have the parties.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are absolutely INCREDIBLE. I have learned so much in the past year; my writing, and my way of thinking has changed a great deal as well thanks to the eye opening influences at Vassar.

  • 01/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never felt in danger on campus. It's very safe. Although I've heard of strangers coming onto campus, so that's something to watch out for. Security is very friendly and very helpful though, so just give them a call. There could be more lamps in dark places, but otherwise it's safe. Just don't go off campus late at night.

    Greek Life

    Non-existant, which I love.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different groups on campus, especially for it being such a small school. Anything you like to do, you can find a group. And if you can't find a group, you can make it yourself. We even have a quidditch team.

    Great for these types of students

    Hipsters. Artsy students. Theater majors. Weird people. People who know that everyone is weird, so being weird is normal. Students who know how to work hard and play hard. Anyone who's interested in studying liberal arts or doesn't know what he or she wants to study.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    All of the buildings are different, so I highly suggest exploring every single one. The library especially is magnificent and gorgeous, with a neat meditation room on the very top floor, hidden away beyond a twisty staircase. Also, all of the window fixtures are different. Random but interesting point.

    Bang for the buck

    It's an expensive school, but I think it's a great education and the opportunities it affords you are worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There's not much to do around Poughkeepsie, but there are always parties on campus. And if you're not into parties, there are a ton of on-campus events all the time. I can never go to all the events I'd like to. Furthermore, we have an insanely overactive theater population here, so on any given weekend in the second half of the semester, we have at least 4 shows going on at once. There are also school-sponsored parties, concerts by the music department, and sporting events (though we don't hear too much about them).

    Food and Dining

    There's one dining hall, a pay-as-you-go cafe-type place, and a bunch of places to get coffee and snacks. A lot of people get sick of the dining hall, but I don't mind it. They have a decent variety. They always have a salad bar, bagels, fruit, a stir-fry station, cereal, a sandwich bar, dessert, a grill option, and a hot-food option. They often also have other options, though they have less on the weekends. The cafe, called The Retreat, is much better, but it works on a different paying system, so you can't just eat there all the time. There's also a smoothie/milkshake type place above the dining hall that opens after the dining hall closes that many students frequent. It's open fairly late into the night.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms aren't bad. Some dorms have bigger rooms than others, but I've found that it's more about the people you're with than the actual rooms. They're good enough that they don't impede other things you want to do. However, I've found that Building and Grounds aren't very good about fixing things that you submit requests to fix. Also, the bathrooms are unisex, so if that bothers you, keep that in mind. However, I find that because of this, there's actually more privacy in the bathrooms than single-sex bathrooms.

    Academic Rigor

    It's not as hard as I'd imagine Ivy League schools are, but it certainly isn't easy here. It all depends on your professor, obviously, but some classes are definitely easier than others. I haven't encountered a class I'd call amazingly easy, but maybe others would beg to differ. I found that there's a large amount of reading in general and the classes are challenging, but it's all do-able if you have your priorities straight.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go their and spend a day. Interact with the students because the students really make or break a school, as they are the people you'll be spending four years with. Sit in on a couple of classes and ask a lot of questions of everyone you encounter. It should be a place where you think to yourself, Yeah, I could be happy here. What I like about Vassar's prospective student process is that they didn't try to make you go to their school. They want you to talk to them so that they can figure out whether Vassar is the best fit for you. It's all about you as the prospective student, not Vassar as a prestigious academic school that you should choose. Also, admissions are need-blind and all scholarships are on need-based.

    In three sentences

    Vassar College is school where anyone can go to be themselves without feeling self-conscious. It's a fascinating place with all kinds of interesting mixes of different styles and points of view, including the different architecture and the diverse student body. Especially a great place for arts students.

  • 07/17/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's worth it. That's all anyone needs to know. For the caliber of professors, the diverse and wonderful student body, the academic freedom, and the beauty of the campus, it's worth every cent and more.

    Will enjoy being here

    I visited Vassar not too long ago, and stayed on campus for three nights. And, let me tell you, it was Spectacular. Not only were the current students completely open and welcoming, but it was impossible not to fall in love with the campus. It is absolutely gorgeous, from it's stunning buildings and Sunset Lake, to the regal trees everywhere you look. The library, especially, is breathtaking. Each dorm has its own special personality-but each one's inhabitants would swear that theirs is the best...That's dorm loyalty for you! I felt so welcomed by the students and faculty. This is really a remarkable school-I cannot wait to move-in next month! (:

    Will learn a lot

    From what I have seen and heard from Vassar students, there isn't a doubt in my mind about the quality of education to be received at Vassar College.

  • 02/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are minor incidents, as the campus is next to a city, but never threatening, and security is always present.

    Greek Life

    none. which is fantastic.

    Clubs and Activities

    everything, anything, but it can be difficult to get funding for a new organization.

    Great for these types of students

    unique, self-motivated, creative, expressive.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    serenading is when freshmen in each dorm come up with a song about how great the seniors are, then perform them for the seniors.

    Bang for the buck

    it's expensive, but financial aid can be great, and the school is amazing.

    What to do for fun

    you can do anything, from sports to theater to cooking to knitting. everyone does something, and every weekend is jammed with events ranging from day glo toga parties to lectures from professors and poets.

    Food and Dining

    food can be ok or great, depending on where you are and what day it is. sometimes the main dining hall can be disappointing.

    Dorm Life

    depending on where you are dorms can range from fine to great, but all housing is fantastic.

    Academic Rigor

    classes are tough but fair, and require a great deal of reading.

    Tips for prospective students

    absolutely sleep over before applying, to see what it's like to live with the student body. it may be an old, elite liberal arts college, but its students are hardly the typical selective school type.

    In three sentences

    if you want classes with intelligent, experienced, and celebrated professors who don't flaunt their talents, come to vassar. the school has a wide range of specialties, from political science to theater, and has a quickly growing science department. the student body is extremely diverse and open to all types of people, and is extremely eccentric.

  • 05/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. You can leave your Iphone, Mac, wallet stuffed with 20s, and shoes in the library and it will be there when you get back. Pretty cool.

    Greek Life

    None. None. NONE. Oh wait, possibly those who are athletes could be considered in a frat or sorority. We're all SOOOO close. (not true)

    Clubs and Activities

    A plethora of activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Although there's more girls than guys on this campus, gay white males are the most vocal and strongest voices heard and acknowledged on campus. It's the truth. Also, straight guys are in high demand at Vassar and shouldn't have much problems picking girls out to hook up with or have a relationship. (lucky)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Founder's Day is absolutely CRAZY but AMAZING. No other words to describe it but you should definitely experience it for yourself. Serenading is also a great tradition. Seniors go to every dorm and each dorm serenades the seniors and after the seniors pick who had the best performance.

    Bang for the buck

    Yeah, you're paying a lot to attend Vassar but in the end it is worth it. Vassar has connections, don't underestimate them! A lot of notable alumni also come back and look for potential employees. If you're thinking about Vassar, don't cross it off your list immediately. Ponder it. Let it marinate. Cook it for a little. Then decide.

    What to do for fun

    There's always on-campus activities like concerts, plays, comedy shows, acappella groups, parties, and more. Also, if you want to get off campus, the mall is nearby and nightclubs are close too.

    Food and Dining

    The Deece needs to upgrade it's menu. There are times where you will leave the Deece hungry. It caters to vegetarians which is a good thing. The Retreat is also nice, it's more like a store or food court but way smaller.

    Dorm Life

    Don't live in Raymond! (Haha, just kidding) Vassar has 9 dorms and none of them are absolutely terrible. They all have something about them that makes you say eh. However, compared to other dorms I've seen, Vassar dorms are not bad AT ALL. Vassar has wellness floors in some doors to accommodate students that love to be sober.

    Academic Rigor

    Work load is tough but it also depends on the classes you choose to take. If you want to take all history and english classes, you better believe you will be writing and reading all the time. How you handle your workload and extracurricular activities will definitely determine your academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    I definitely recommend visiting Vassar before sealing the deal; however, its not absolutely required. Vassar's website does a great job with capturing the campus' beauty through its pictures. Also, try to stay overnight if you can. Believe me, there are always activities going on at night that could greatly influence your decision to attend Vassar.

    In three sentences

    Vassar is acceptably odd and awesome year round. This school is not perfect and neither is any other school. It has its perks and also it has its disadvantages.

  • 05/12/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never heard of any incidents happening, but Poughkeepsie isn't the safest city so just be aware.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs on campus and if they don't have one you want you can easily start one :)

    Great for these types of students

    For more liberal, extrovert, kind, sweet students who are not discriminatory or a bigot. If you are already an extrovert or want to become one and love to give hugs and be kind to your fellow man. Vassar is a really accepting place, so if you want to be accepting and you can accept other people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every house has a different tradition: Joss was a co-host of the Harvest Ball, an annual semi-formal dance. Cushing traditionally hosts Scantily Clad.Noyes co-hosted the Mods and Rockers dance.Main hosted the Moulin Rogue Dance this past semester. Davison co-hosts the Harvest Ball annually .Raymond hosts the Halloween events on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    If you make under $60,000 they give phenomenal financial aid so yeah go its basically free, If you make over $300,000 Vassar is one of the best schools in the county so you should certainly go, but for everyone in between I would base a lot of it on what your financial aid packet looks like.

    What to do for fun

    Vassar is Fun haha!! NYC is like an hr and half train ride, but most students go to all the millions of events hosted on campus.

    Food and Dining

    It is all healthy!!! Vegetarian, Vegan, Gluten free, Peanut free, allergen free, flavor free! If you love eating healthy than you will love Vassar dining center, but if you are a meat eater like me and was planning to be glutenous and eat a steak, fast food, and chicken all day than you will be terribly surprised. Luckily the Culinary Institute of America is close by so their are great options for real food instead of rabbit food.

    Dorm Life

    AMAZING! To me there is half great dorms and half good dorms, so pray the sorting hat gives you beautiful dorms like Main, Davidson, Cushing and Jewett, but the others are all good so don't worry too much about it. Wherever you are placed you will love.

    Academic Rigor

    You can pick your classes and we don't have many graduation requirements so you can pick what you are good at.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do amazing on your Your Space it is very important to do it because it gives another perspective of you. Find your niche if you are the star athlete, band geek, financial wiz or drama star make sure you show you are the best one in the country. Colleges like Vassar are now requiring you be a well rounded student, but also that you can bring something special to the campus. For me I was an overachieving minority with few opportunities to succeed, but still did the best with what little I had.

    In three sentences

    Vassar is an amazing place with accepting people and a beautiful campus. If you want to go to a college where you can study what you want without having so many general education requirements this is certainly the place for you. This is the place to go to develop yourself as a person.

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is located in a more rural setting and the campus security is top notch and always on alert for anything out of the ordinary.

    Greek Life

    there is no greek life at vassar but the housing system here makes up for the lack of greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    the activities and clubs here are extensive but if vassar does not have a certain club that you may feel needs to be represented you can go ahead and start it up without a problem.

    Great for these types of students

    vassar is a great place for open-minded students who aren't afraid to be forced into new situations.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    vassar has its own little club in the basement of main building. there is always something going on down in the mug for everyone who loves dancing and having fun with friends to enjoy in a safe environment.

    Bang for the buck

    vassar college is not cheap but the experience here that students receive makes up for the costs.

    What to do for fun

    at vassar, there are clubs such as the ski club, the outing club, intramurals, dances held almost every weekend with a new theme, and much much more.

    Food and Dining

    the food and dining experience here at vassar is like most food and dining at other colleges.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life is amazing here at vassar. each dorm is actually a house and has a house team, house fellows, and student fellows. the house team is comprised of students who help facilitate any and all events that may occur within the house (i.e. study breaks). the house fellows are professors who live within the house with their families and are easy to get to know. the student fellows are sophomores who are there to help ease the freshman class into an easy transition to college life.

    Academic Rigor

    the amount of effort expected of students can come as a surprise to most students but classes are also a way to communicate you thoughts and feelings. most of the professors at vassar want to hear what you have to say. the classes may be hard but the education you are receiving is top notch.

    Tips for prospective students

    i suggest you prepare yourselves for a fun and enjoyable experience here at vassar. i learn new things every day and not just from my professors and classes but also from my fellow students and friends.

    In three sentences

    the people here are amazing. the classes are small, the professors she interest in their students, and the education given here is beyond satisfactory. from the moment i stepped on campus i felt at home.

  • 06/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel so safe on campus during all hours of the day.

    Clubs and Activities

    I play a Varsity sport, which is pretty demanding, but I also take hip hop lessons as a part of the on-campus dance group Hype. Also, I take free judo classes offered in the on-campus gym.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The mugg is a dance club under Vassar and it is AWESOME.

    What to do for fun

    You can go dancing at the Mugg or at a Villard room party. Those are my favorite things to do each weekend. I have 1 or 2 nights or dancing and then smoothies at UPC. You can also go to dorm parties, town house parties, town apartment parties, etc... If you aren't a party or dance person, there are lots of comedy shows, acapella performances, and plays each weekend.

    Food and Dining

    I really liked the on-campus food, although I know not a lot of people share this view. I wasn't offered a lot of variety in my household, so I really enjoy the variety at ACDC. And the food is always fresh, so I don't see what the problem is.

    Dorm Life

    I personally loved my dorm. It was quiet when it needed to be and everyone was respectful. The people around you become family and your student fellow is like the big sister/brother you always need.

    Academic Rigor

    Don't come here if you aren't willing to work your hardest day in and day out. The academic rigor is tremendous because everyone is working there hardest all the time. It is worth it though because the professors are amazing and passionate about what they do. I would choose Vassar over slightly less rigorous academics any day.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus and feel the amazing atmosphere for yourself. You will automatically feel the comfort and kindness that radiates from Vassar. Also, check out the restaurants around campus.

    In three sentences

    There is such an open and understanding atmosphere. Everyone takes academics very seriously, but I have never felt tension on campus as a result of that. It's not a place you will ever want to leave.

  • 10/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Maybe it's just because I'm from the hood, but Vassar feels pretty darn safe, even in the middle of the night.

    Greek Life

    THIS IS NON-EXISTENT, THANK GOD.

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't gotten EXTREMELY involved yet, but so far it seems pretty good. There are quite a few options.

    Great for these types of students

    All kinds of students find a way to fit in here. Vassar's especially great, though, for liberal, socially-conscious, intellectual students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Serenading, Water-falling, the Mug...

    Bang for the buck

    I say 5 stars, but I'm on full financial aid, so I really can't say.....

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of things to do on campus, as well as orgs like Outing Club, which plans tons of outdoorsy trips that you can go on for free. There are also tons of thrift shops and little cafes/restaurants in the surrounding Arlington district. I personally love Twisted Soul: Food Concepts, but Babycakes and Bacio's tend to be popular among Vassar students. Vassar also has a bus and multiple shuttles that will take you to the mall throughout the week/weekend.

    Food and Dining

    It's hit-or-miss....Some days it's amazing, some days it's unsatisfying, boring and/or gross. It really depends on the day, but that seems to be the case at most schools for the most part. Luckily, we get meal swipes and a ton of dining bucks, so when the ACDC (Deece) sucks, we can go to the Retreat and get food from there, or even get something from either the Kiosk, Express Lunch, or UpC (from 7 pm - 2 am). We have tons of vegan/vegetarian/gluten-free options.

    Dorm Life

    It's pretty good compared to some other schools. The bathrooms could be cleaner, but they're not horrible. The lounges in the dorms are beautiful, especially in Cushing House (woot woot). I got an enormous room with a walk-in closet, but some aren't so lucky...

    Academic Rigor

    It's challenging, but if you keep your schedule well-balanced, you won't be too overwhelmed. You'll have stress, but not to the point of having a meltdown. If you do, there are people and resources available to help you out.

  • 01/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We may complain about security, but they're generally there when we need them.

    Greek Life

    Answer to my own question: Greek life doesn't exist.

    Clubs and Activities

    What club doesn't exist?!

    Great for these types of students

    If you felt out of place in high school, in any way, Vassar is probably a good fit. Students who want only to go to school and go home, with no outside activities, probably won't love Vassar.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sex tree on Joss Beach. Finding the good bathrooms.

    Bang for the buck

    In terms of balancing academics and opportunities with getting the 'college experience', I can't imagine anything better.

    What to do for fun

    Anything your little heart desires.

    Food and Dining

    Better than a lot of cafeteria food. Still a lot to complain about.

    Dorm Life

    Life in the dorms (or senior housing) is where it's at. Hardly anyone lives off-campus, there is too much going on. Always something to do.

    Academic Rigor

    As you move into 200- and 300-level classes, especially, you will see a greater workload and heightened expectations.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sow your wild oats freshman year, in terms of classes. Try and keep it together outside of classes. No one is what they appear. Learn from your upperclassmen.

    In three sentences

    Great school for the humanities. Life outside the classroom is important. If you want it, you can make it happen.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety is top notch. If a person is out and needs help getting back to their dorm, there are campus security to help them get there.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life. But the ultimate Frisbee team is pretty much one big group of their own.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of different groups and activities that people can join.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are looking for a school that offers many disciplines, but also comes with a strong sense of community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's the tradition of screaming on campus all as one before finals, to the extreme water fight that will erupt between everyone else vs. the freshmen.

    What to do for fun

    Even though the campus may be small, there is always something happening. From watching plays, to listening to a Capella, to joining in on a sketch comedy show, there is always something that the student body is showing and doing. If you want to go off-campus there are shuttle buses during the day that can take you to the local mall or movie theater, and if you want even more, you live only an hour away by train from NYC. Of course, there's always the option of finding a spot on campus to just hang out with friends. The possibilities are endless.

    Food and Dining

    THE FOOD WAS GREAT. THAT IS ALL. No, but really, the food was awesome. There is a vegetarian/vegan option for those out there, and in certain parts of the day (as in meal times) you can personalize your food. (I once had an omelet that a chef personalized for me). The desert is great and the hall is big and and full of space. There are also little cafes and such around campus for lighter meals and snacks.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a wee-bit old, so because of that, I believe in most of them that there isn't any AC. (Sorry!) However, because of that each dorm has a different feel and aspect, and while some are recently updated, they still remain true to their roots and past. In the dorms, there are different student government positions that people can run for and each dorm sort of has its own little traditions.

    Academic Rigor

    At Vassar, you have the freedom here to engage in the open curriculum. Like the sciences but still interested in the arts? At Vassar you can dabble in on different classes and really mold your major. They also have a really good plan for the pre-profesional students out there to allow them the freedom of taking different classes while having a counselor to guide them. There's so many different classes and studies, and because the class sizes are small, you get a great chance to really engage with your teacher who can help you with finding ways to learn more outside the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    Still not sure if the idea of a small liberal arts school is for you? Take a visit and sit in on a class to see if you can really picture yourself here. Because it's a private liberal arts school, it can be pretty competitive to get in. I recommend engaging in activities and taking leadership roles. Of course, doing good in school is a given, but if you really express how interested you are in this school and how you see yourself fitting in at Vassar, you should be great!

    In three sentences

    After viewing this campus in person, I knew this was the right place for me. Not only was everybody really opening, there was a vibe that the teachers and students really were able to develop relationships among themselves and mold their studies. I know here that the amount of possibilities for me to explore are there, and someone will be there to guide me along the way.

  • 06/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always patrolling, all day, always on call. They work very closely with the city police and the town fire department. There are emergency buttons and booths everywhere. They respond quickly.

    Greek Life

    No greek life. The closest we get are the acapella groups and the sports teams.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everyone, I guarantee it.

    Great for these types of students

    Serious students. Computer science majors. Foreign language majors. International students (we have a really good department that helps us with everything from visas to counseling). Arts majors (drawing, music, drama, dance). Political science majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Primal Scream: Done at midnight on the day the final exams start. We all gather on the quad and scream or lungs out over the pending week of finals. Serenading: The freshman class stands in front of their respective houses and make up a song for the senior class, while the senior class runs around and like a pack of wild animals and throw different things like water and paint. Then all freshman, by house, walk over to the field where they sing their song again and the best house wins a prize. My freshman year, the best house won a Wii and a pizza party.

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get everything you pay for. There's so much help available on campus, and the student areas are wonderfully kept. The people who work there are so nice. The computer facilities and the library are well kept and well stocked. We are in a prime area of Poughkeepsie, so there's shuttles to the mall on the weekends and to the train station and supermarket everyday, and the school provides them for us.

    What to do for fun

    There are campus wide parties thrown by the different organizations (clubs) on campus. There is The Mug, which is like Vassar's own little night club, that's open almost every weekend. Some seniors throw house parties that are open to every class year. UPC is the student center where you can get smoothies and milkshakes, do some homework, or play pool and ping pong, and hang out with your friends.

    Food and Dining

    Not going to lie to you. The food at the dining hall isn't all that good but we do have our own little cafe of sorts where you can get really good hot food or just some snacks between classes. We also have Tasty Tuesdays, which is when some of the different restaurants in the area come in and sell food on campus. You have fusion, indian, caribbean, and I think greek (?). Point is there are a lot of options.

    Dorm Life

    We don't call the halls dorms, we call them houses. The campus is very much geared to making residential life as comfortable as possible. We don't have RA's, we have House Fellows, which is where professors and their families live in the house with the students and there is a House Team made up of current students from all years that are there to basically hold your hand through a lot of the problems you'll come across.

    Academic Rigor

    Your teachers will push you, and hard, but they also love it when you come to them with questions on how you could possibly be a better part of the class or if you don't understand something.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't over pack, some of the rooms aren't that big. Don't worry too much about fitting in, you will find a group of people you will most likely love and hang out with. Don't be afraid to talk to the faculty, they are more than willing to help, especially the financial aid department.

    In three sentences

    Vassar is the kind of place you would want to go to if you like having intellectual conversations about anything. Vassar is diverse in culture. Very intellectually driven but we have fun side as well.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No serious crimes. The security guards are always around and more to help than get you in trouble.

    Greek Life

    NONE

    Clubs and Activities

    There are countless groups. It is also easy to start one and the school is great about funding.

    Great for these types of students

    People who are unsure about what course of study they want to get into. Vassar only has three required courses (a language, a freshmen writing seminar, and a quantitative course.) These are broad (ex. I took a psych class about art which counted for my quantitative course and you can use AP credits for the language.) The few requirements allowed me to take classes in history, philosophy, social psych, education, and art during my freshmen year to help me decide which major to pick.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During finals week the whole campus goes onto the residential quad at midnight and does a primal scream. The seniors also streak across campus and through the library at the end of the year. Weird, but hey, it is Vassar.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is expensive but the financial aid office is absolutely amazing.

    What to do for fun

    There are TONS of groups on campus and there are about two or three free theatre performances per week. There are also a few comedy troops who have free performances and the school brings a bunch of speakers and musical groups to campus throughout the year. Other than that you could go to a drive in theatre, head to NYC for a weekend, or go to a party.

    Food and Dining

    There are only two places to eat on campus. The main dining hall is a ht or a miss, but there is always a stir fry station with fresh veggies and spices. I heard they are changing the dinning company this year, so things may be better next year.

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms are new and comfortable, but a few are falling apart. You are placed in one your freshman year but it is very easy to switch houses throughout the course of the year. The school provides you with everything you need and there is a small store on campus with toiletries and dorm furniture.

    Academic Rigor

    Every class is challenging, but the science classes are somewhat more difficult. Some professors ask more out of the students than others, but expect a ton of reading and writing regardless.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to make your application stand out. In the About Me section include something that shows why you would be a great addition to the school.

    In three sentences

    Vassar is great school on a beautiful campus in the middle of a somewhat desolate city. The school itself is welcoming, challenging and full opportunities. The student body is diverse.

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Open-minded, free-spirited, quirky students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Before finals, everyone goes outside and scream their lungs out!

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and sports you can be involved in, as well as parties. You can be part of the theatre or on a dance team. Everyday, there are also events happening inside and outside of campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It isn't a top school for no reason. You have to apply yourself to every class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be proactive and include yourself in clubs, sports, or research opportunities.

    In three sentences

    Great college that offers people the chances to meet a variety of individuals and engage in numerous amounts of activities. The students, faculty, and staff are amiable. Plus, there is always something to do.

  • 02/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security and ems persons here are extremely helpful

    Greek Life

    non-exsistant

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many activities, clubs and sports to take part in! It is definitley worth going to one of the many activities fairs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    primal scream is pretty weird. Right before finals start everyone goes onto the quad at midnight, after midnight breakfast in the DC and screams their heads off. The seniors also streak.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club! I'm currently a part of the Barefoot Monkeys circus troupe. There are so many things to get involved in on campus you'll have trouble choosing. There is also the Mug. A clup-type setting where students dj on weekends. There are also many dorm or college sponsored parties.

    Food and Dining

    ACDC is great most of time. Our other option, the retreat, also has good food. The only real downside is how expensive campus dinning is. On the up side, If you don' like our delicious DC food, there are tons of places right across the street from campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are beautiful. One of the things that I like but that you should be aware of is that we have gender neutral bathrooms. This took some getting used to but I adore how progressive Vassar culture can be. We also do not have RAs. We have student fellows in the dorms. A student fellow is a sophomore that acts as guidance and a role model for a group of freshman. I think this is a wonderful program.

    Academic Rigor

    Vassar has some pretty serious courses to offer. However, Vassar also allows students to create their own majors and there is variability in a lot of courses. So, there is variability in academic rigor. Although, I have found most people to mention their work load or difficulty of courses once or twice.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are thinking about Vassar, you should definitely come visit, even just to take a tour. You can really get the feel for it here in such a short amount of time and I find it really clicks with come people.

    In three sentences

    Vassar College is physically beautiful and has a unique set of students. It is a wonderful place to march to the beat of your own drum while getting a superb education. On top of the many, many clubs and activities Vassar and it's students have to offer, Vassar continuously offers interesting, exciting and challenging classes with real world applications.

  • 05/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get involved and be outgoing.

    Food and Dining

    The food is above average and there are options for any and all dietary restrictions/limitations/preferences.

    Dorm Life

    The residential life at Vassar is perfectly unique and provides everyone, especially first year students, with a comfortable place in their houses and community.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are challenging compared to high school, of course. But if you have had the proper preparation, the transition will likely be smooth.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Do anything and everything you feel comfortable with--don't be afraid and stand firm. Always listen.

    In three sentences

    Vassar is a diverse campus climate with a vibrant population. There is opportunity around every corner for all. This is a great school to be at.