Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Vermont Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/12/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who enjoy small schools where you know everyone, enjoy the outdoors and don't mind the smell of the farm. Not much is offered for sports so don't come here if you plan on playing competitively.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour before you decide. It seems like people either love or hate VTC so looking around may help you make a choice.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to alot of schools VTC is cheap, but you still don't get much for what you pay. There isn't many events, the food is pretty bad, and the dorms are terrible. In the academic aspect you are getting a good education but the environment is not very good.

    Am enjoying being here

    During the fall the campus is beautiful...during the winter it is cold, unplowed, and miserable. Winter here lasts until about the end of April so don't expect much nice weather. The people you meet here are great, there is just the fact that there is NOTHING to do. The closest cities are Barre and West Lebanon, NH, and even then there isn't a lot of options.

    Am learning a lot

    I feel like I am learning alot in the classes that relate directly to my major and I definitely feel like they will help me in the future. Some classes, such as spreadsheets and English, were a little dry and I don't think they are as relevant, but they are still important in their own way.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Lovely campuses. Fantastic faculty.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Have emergency buttons around campus, the campus is located with little house around it not much activity except for students, has security cameras, and public safety unit on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs you can join from sports, to your field of study, to zombie killing. Some are weird, some are different, and some are interesting. You can start your own club also.

    Bang for the buck

    Not expensive to go to school but get quality stuff and staff. Definitely would recommend to anyone!

    What to do for fun

    Sports, Skiing, Snowmobiling, Hunting, Clubs, Burlington is close, Bowling, Olympic size swimming pool, racquetball, always has different events planned during the week and weekends anyone can go.

    Food and Dining

    Foods ok in Caf. but Shape is a great way to eat without spending money because you get food point there. Also places to eat in town.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone is friendly, rooms are spacious, RAs are nice and easily approachable, dorms are being updated, dorms are very clean. A lot of fun!

    Academic Rigor

    Have learned so much in the past three years. Wouldn't ever change schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always seek help when needed. Upperclassmen are always ready to help, give tips, and are easily approachable. Make friends and have a good time!

    In three sentences

    I love Vermont Technical College. My program has taught me so much and has prepared me for the real life work field. My teachers are the best around, if its helping with homework, clubs, or personal issues they are always available. The student body is very nice and friendly to be around. The athletics have improved and are getting closer to becoming NCAA Div. 3. This school is overall the best in Vermont.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No safety issues on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    All kinds of activities in the community

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students from any age group

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    unknown, do not have a campus

    What to do for fun

    Many things around town to do and see

    Food and Dining

    Food was great, part of southwestern vermont medical campus.

    Dorm Life

    Bennington does not have a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Great school. Great instuctors.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest that you apply to Vermont Tech. It is a great school that will help you be prepared in your future employment

    In three sentences

    I think that Vermont Tech is a great college. I have learned alot and feel I will be prepared for the future.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe because of the public safety staff that we have. Also on the campus are the blue emergency lights that any student can push if they feel endangered. Public safety will come to you, and ensure that you are safe. With drugs and alcohol there are very strict rules, and if broken result in fines or community service. The campus life here is not threatening, and student generally help out anyone in need of some sort of help.

    Greek Life

    Since this college is in a small town there are no Fraternities or Sororities. This keeps the campus calm, and more peaceful overall.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different and unusual clubs around campus. If there is not a club listed, any student can try to have the club created and supported. There are many different types of clubs that range from paintball to overnight video gaming. The different clubs are run mostly by fellow students, and anyone can join any club that they would like to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Any hands on students will love this college. The professors have experience in their specific field, and they share their knowledge with each student. If you like having labs for your classes that is great because most classes have a lab that meets at least once a week to either do homework assignments, lab write-ups, or projects.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is very small, and because of the small campus there are not any unusual traditions that take place on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The price of this college is more affordable than most colleges in Vermont. With how much you pay for this college you get many opportunities with professors, and friends. The rate to live on campus if more expensive, but it is worth the experience of having everything there for you.

    What to do for fun

    At Vermont Tech there is a variety of things to do for fun. they have two basketball courts, a climbing rock wall, two racquet ball courts, a full work out gym, and an official size pool. The campus provides many events throughout the school year that include dances, races, and other games that even students create. There are plenty of activities for students to enjoy while they are at Vermont Technical College.

    Food and Dining

    Like most college dining Vermont Technical College is average when it comes to the food aspect. As of this summer the food company was switched to a new provider, and they have said the food will be better. Also on campus there is a snack shack that offers food, but this is not included with the meal plan. This food is much better, but it comes with a little cost.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing because of the small campus. If you like a large school this is not the place for you to come. The dorm rooms are mostly doubles and each dorm has one to three triples for upperclassmen. Students are respectful of everyone's property, and the facilities are taken care of daily to ensure the healthy lifestyle. The dorms are all nice, and living on campus makes the college experience much better. Also with the dorm life, each dorm has events for the students to participate in every once in a while, and you can win cool prizes.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses provided at Vermont Tech can be challenging, but they are meant to push students to exceed expectations. If courses are tougher than expected Vermont Tech offers tutors for almost every subject that is offered.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you love hands on work, or if you do not like just sitting in a classroom Vermont Technical College is the college for you. You are treated as an adult, and your professors listen to you, and will guide you in the direction you need to have a successful career.

    In three sentences

    Vermont Technical College is a fantastic hands on college. Professors have years of experience in their field, and share their knowledge with their students. Perfect school for hands on learning, leading you in the field you like, and the professors care about every student.

  • 10/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Four star rating- The security staff is very helpful and we feel very safe while out around the campus at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    Five star rating- There are plenty of choices, something for everyone,

    Great for these types of students

    Students who love to study their technical trade and obtain their college degree at the same time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Liked the bowling night, and cookout the first weekend we were there.

    Bang for the buck

    Five star rating-The college is great!! the location is perfect, the instructors helpful, and staff is there for everyone.

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities for the students and plenty of intramurals and sports to participate in. So many clubs to choose from.

    Food and Dining

    Four star rating-The food is awesome and plenty of choices.

    Dorm Life

    five star rating- I like the comaradier with my fellow students and being able to help each other study and yet enjoy socializing.

    Academic Rigor

    Four star rating-Be prepared for college courses and giving time for studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for college not only book wise but socially wise. School comes first, but get to know other students. This is your support system and the staff is there to help you.

    In three sentences

    The college is great!!!! My advisor and instructors are fair and care about the students. I love the camaraderie with my fellow students.

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Plenty of outdoor activities for everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can get in, go for it!

    In three sentences

    I have been to several colleges and VT Tech is my favorite! The standards are high and I am challenged consistently.

  • 02/19/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Enjoy the outdoors. Go to a movie in town. Find someone with a vehicle and enjoy VT!

    Food and Dining

    I thoroughly enjoyed eating at the Rat! Great variety. Cozy atmosphere!

    Dorm Life

    I am told. I was a commuter student!

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent, well-tailored academic programs. Great student/teacher ratio.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour! You will fall in love with Vermont and the campus! Everyone is super friendly and helpful! Bring a can-do attitude and be ready to explore!

    In three sentences

    A great, close-knit campus. Easy to navigate around. Friendly people. Small class sizes. Excellent job placement!

  • 03/02/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am going to be a full time student and a mother to five children. I really don't have much time to myself but when I do get time I enjoy spending time outside and theres plenty of that here.

    Food and Dining

    I usually bring my own food to school since it saves me money.

    Dorm Life

    I am not a dorm student.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are challenging but not challenging enough that it seems impossible. The teachers will do anything to help you understand the material so you can continue on the right track.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep trying and eventually all of your hard work will pay off!

    In three sentences

    I loved Vermont Technical College and all the opportunities they have to offer. I am excited to be attending the nursing program starting this fall. The best part is they offer classes at other campuses so I can continue to be a full time mom to five children and continue classes at LSC which is only ten minutes away from my house.

  • 09/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Over the past few years the 'public safety' has gone from a support group, to what seems to be a group of 'crack down, you can't do that' kind of guys. Really cracked down on what you can't do on campus. 'Quiet hours' start at 11pm; 'public safety' might hear you and a couple buddies laughing and having a good time at 8:30 and think it's their business to knock on your door to see 'what you're doing'. A lot of the times its unnecessary, especially where in previous years the would leave us well alone until it got to be close to quiet hours, which was perfectly accepted by us students. If they want to be die hard police officers, they should join the academy, not VTC Public Safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am currently the student representative for the Construction Club on campus. The quality of the clubs depends on the student participation, as well as the ambition of the officers in charge. If the officers put the effort to keep an organized and fun organization, then the clubs are worth it. The lazy officers are the ones that end up with them and a couple close friends that don't get as much funding or have trips worth going on.

    Great for these types of students

    Seems like there's a lot of computer kids most of the time. But, a lot of other 'types' of people as well. If you like the small town, laid back atmosphere, where you have the option to just go for a walk, or sit on the lawn and do homework and enjoy the mountain views; this campus is perfect for it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing super unusual; Humans vs Zombies is the 'new thing' within the past couple years; which just requires anyone who doesn't play to watch out for flying Nerf darts for a couple weeks... but its somewhat amusing to sit back and watch sometimes.

    Bang for the buck

    I've personally struggled with financial aid since I've been here. There isn't much money given out to students through the school (hence why I'm filling out this questionnaire...) The education has been good, but it bogs me down when I have to worry about money on a daily basis. The financial aid office isn't superb; quite honestly, the lady at the front desk acts like her job is the worst job in the world, which makes communication difficult. Wish things concerning financial aid were a little easier to deal with; especially for someone who is making their way through this school independently.

    What to do for fun

    The school does set up some activities that are worth going to throughout the school year. Some years/semesters are better than others, but it depends on the creativity of others, how outspoken and 'gung-ho' they are, and the organizational skills. There is a great fitness facility on campus, organized bowling right down town, and Barre is right down the interstate, providing shopping, etc. On campus, it depends on what is being organized, or how creative you are if you want to have fun.

    Food and Dining

    Vermont Tech just switched from Aramark to Sodexo, which I personally think was a great switch. Sodexo focuses more on good quality dining than Aramark did, which creates a good atmosphere, good staff, and good selections. Sodexo has brought more of the local produce, and local farms into our dining hall, which I think is great; not only for the health of the students, but for the community. Not a bad hall to get dinner.

    Dorm Life

    The quality of dorm life depends on who is on your floor, and how many people are in your dorm. A lot of the dorm floors are super quiet, nobody leaves their doors open to socialize, so it ends up fairly boring. Other halls bond quickly, provide great social aspects, studying resources, and FUN, which is great.

    Academic Rigor

    Certain classes are harder than others, as expected. In Construction, I have background knowledge, so some classes were easier for me than others, but I am constantly learning. Your skill level, and previous knowledge will determine which classes are easier for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay organized, and on top of your studies, scheduling, etc. It's hard to keep a consistent schedule if you slip up in a class here. The schedules are set, and its hard to create a custom schedule because you have to re-take a class.

    In three sentences

    Vermont Tech is a comfortable school. It is easy to adapt to, especially for people who like a quiet country setting with nice views. It has a beautiful campus, and a good educational experience.

  • 11/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    food gets old very quickly.

    In three sentences

    Vermont tech has a good campus. the professor's know what the are doing in their profession. living on campus, you meet many nice people.

  • 02/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety is on call 24/7 even during vacations and breaks. They take evening rounds and are available whenever you might need them.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everything, and if there isn't a club your interested in, than it is easy to start one up. Gather a few friends together and start your own.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who like the rural setting. Being a small town girl, VTC was perfect. Its not busy and not loud. This college is also good for students with special education needs. Every teacher knows everyone and there are lots of opportunities for students to get free tutoring and extra help.

    Bang for the buck

    Especially being an in state student, it is a cheaper college than most, and it is very hands on.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs and go to student events. There are events for everyone during all times of the year. We had The Logger recently come for a comedy show.

    Food and Dining

    Not the best. It is good during the early parts of the year because we use everything from our garden and our own products, but later in the season it tends to not be as good. If you like carbs than it is perfect. There is pizza everyday and usually a pasta too.

    Dorm Life

    Great! Having a good RA and great floor mates is what makes it. We keep our doors open all the time so we all can communicate by sitting on our beds. We get a full size kitchen so we don't even need to use the dinning hall.

    Academic Rigor

    Especially in my major, it is not to bad. Being able to be close to the teachers and be able to contact them makes it easier to understand everything and get everything completed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be active and volunteer. There isn't a lot to do around campus so being involved truly helps. Join clubs and help volunteer around the community.

    In three sentences

    A great school for students who enjoy Vermont and are from a small town. Its quiet and small, so students are just numbers, they are individuals. The Fire Science program is great!