Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Vernon College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good, I never heard of any problems and I always see security guards

    Great for these types of students

    Independent self motivated

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent, because if you are a resident of wilbarger county the tuition is very cheap compared to other colleges

    What to do for fun

    They have sports days and stuff like that

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat there

    Dorm Life

    I don't know I live in a house

    Tips for prospective students

    If you take online classes just be sure to ask questions early and apply yourself fully, without the lectures from the instructor you really are on your own in class.

    In three sentences

    Overall I like the college. I take most classes online and their online classes are much harder than online classes through an online school like AIU, because there are no lectures or anything; you just read and test. Now they also require proctored testing at the school.

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Parents, nursing students or people with horrible work schedules

    What to do for fun

    Not a whole lot to do for fun but the atmosphere is amazing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your application in EARLY. Get your FAFSA done quickly and ON TIME!

    In three sentences

    I would rate Vernon a 10 out of 10. The professors are very helpful and amazing at what they do. It's a great college for non-traditional students.

  • 03/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play sports, visit wichita and hang out.

    Food and Dining

    its cafe food.

    Dorm Life

    It can always be better,but their spacious and the students are friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    If you want to do well you will.

    In three sentences

    Great, it has gotten me where i need to be to move on to Alabama State university. It has prepared me for my next step. I thank Vernon for helping me be successful.

  • 04/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join one of the various clubs.

    Food and Dining

    I eat at home

    Dorm Life

    I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers maybe hard at times, but its all part of the learning experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for classes as early as possible.

    In three sentences

    Vernon College offers small classes so that students can actually learn. Going to this college has given me the chance to experience one-on-one learning. It truly is a good school.

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Meeting new people and just being social... Don't do much i have a family and other priorities

    Food and Dining

    Good food better than i thought it would be

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your staff if you are having a problem all that i have came in contact with have been very helpful to me and understanding.

    In three sentences

    Vernon college staff has been very helpful to me. The teachers i have had all have been very understanding and helped me out tremendously with work that i didn't understand. Vernon college is an all around good school.

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten at Vernon before.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms. But they seem pretty nice from pictures.

    Academic Rigor

    Somethings at Vernon make you think hard, others not so much

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on transferring, make sure all of your courses can transfer to your desired college.

    In three sentences

    All of my instructors are very fun and laid back. I am getting a quality education before transferring to a four year university. Vernon has 4 different campuses where you can take classes.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have 2-3 guard on shift day and night we also have to get our vehicles registered so that daily and weekly safety checks can be done

    Clubs and Activities

    as long asyou are of legal age you can pretty much do whatever you would like on any given night

    Great for these types of students

    this town is very culturally diverse so you just have to see where and what you fit into, every month there is at least 2-3 things to do that range in all ages

    Bang for the buck

    some things and places here are you get what you pay fro and others are clearance you just have to shop around on everything and anything

    What to do for fun

    every night of the week from wednesday to sunday there is something different to do from college night to military under 21 or just 18

    Food and Dining

    there are plenty of fast food and dine in places to go with a fun atmosphere and a young crowd everyone young and old will surly fit in

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorm life but there is abourt 5 different apartment complexes that work with kids in college

    Academic Rigor

    this school or college is very helpful if you are having trouble they will get all the help you need in order to succeed

    Tips for prospective students

    im a 25 year old mother of 5 kids all under the age of 8.. i also have 3 kids with disabilities.. i am also not working and am full time in school ..where theres a will theres a way...dont say you cant enroll in school if you dont have a full plate becuase if it dosent compare to mine it isnt anything to stop you from school.

    In three sentences

    a school that works with your life. friendly and family oriented college with the students needs are top priority. an open door policy in every department.

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have a gym. They also have a sports day. They have different contest for holidays, like Halloween and Easter.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just make sure you look at all the deadlines!

    In three sentences

    I love Vernon College. It is very easy to get set up and organized. They have some really sweet and helpful people there to assist.

  • 08/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Socialize with friends at campus, watch YouTube at the computer lab, you can even play some games online. Installing files is restricted however which is perfectly reasonable.

    Food and Dining

    It's alright there is a small Quiz-no's there that you can purchase soups and sandwiches from. Other than that your options are limited to the vending machines scattered around campus. Most people simply drive off to their preferred feeding grounds during lunch break or simply prepare their own food.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't participated in dorm life at Vernon Campus.

    Academic Rigor

    2.5 out of 5 after all most of the classes are introductory courses designed to get you used to working in a college research environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Excellent choice for covering subjects that are required to complete any degree.

    In three sentences

    It's a decent campus with emphasis on great value to get the most out of your money. Decent to good classes are offered backed up with adequate resources, such as two computer lab hubs, a library and a printing station.

  • 02/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Vernon College has a wonderful kitchen staff. Each day there is a special at the VC Cafe and the food is OUTSTANDING! Meals may seem a little expensive, but with the food you are being served and how much you get it's a great deal!

    In three sentences

    Vernon College is quite an exceptional school. I thought college would be extremely difficult and was worried, but the professors there make sure each student understands curriculum before moving on to other topics. I love Vernon College!

  • 04/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nothing has happened in the year I've been here so I would say it's pretty safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Student who are use to country dry town living.

    What to do for fun

    Well if you play a sport you'll be busy. There really isn't much to do in town; you need friends and gas money to go to the city!

    Food and Dining

    The food is good sometimes, but they don't really leave a lot of options for vegetarians or people who don't eat beef.

    Dorm Life

    The people are great, but the dorms need a lot of fixing up. There are lots of things broken and in need of serious repairs.

    Academic Rigor

    Good work load Not too much or too little.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on track with your studies, and keep a record of everything you submit. Some things may get lost in the system.

    In three sentences

    The teacher are very flexible and will work with you as much as possible. The students are somewhat diverse, and the athletics program is good.