Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Victoria College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/20/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    After visiting the Victoria College I really liked the environment and the helpful counselors. I think I will like attending the Victoria College.

    Tips for prospective students

    The cost when I will be attending Victoria College is not too bad. I am currently attending Wharton County Junior College and the cost to attend Victoria College will be about the same as WCJC.

    Will enjoy being here

    I have visited the Victoria College a couple of times and everyone that I talked to were all friendly and helpful. I talked to the counselors the most and they were all nice and ready to help me chose the classes for the semester that I will be attending. So I am most certain that attending Victoria College will have great professors and I will learn a lot.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great and spread out campus. There are metal detectors in buildings for firearms and such.

    Greek Life

    There is a really good organization that is great to try to be a member of. it is the Phi Theta Kappa. It has so many benefits. I am sure there is more but this one is the most major to me.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a bunch. Almost anything you can think of is an organization. (SCOPE...)

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone. This is the place to meet all different types of people. Mostly small town.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I just take the online courses but I plan to be apart of these in the future.

    What to do for fun

    There is a student center where you can play billiards and socialize. You get to meet a bunch of new people.

    Food and Dining

    There is The Grind, which is like a subway and the tables and cafeteria are big and spacious. There is also a Starbucks at every building, sometimes two in one building. Victoria is all about learning and food. The teachers even bring food for their students.

    Dorm Life

    I do not know much about this for it is a okay drive from my home. My friend is just going to get a nice apartment there.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers and other students push you to learn all you can. Every time I went to class the teacher talked about the clubs and when the meetings were and enticed us to join and gave points if you did.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are unsure about taking Victoria College, just know that it is cheaper in tuition costs than the bigger and more known colleges like University of Texas Austin and such, and you get the same education and learning. I highly recommend.

    In three sentences

    It is a small school so I can get more attention when it comes to learning. The college professors are very nice, concerning, and flexible. The advisers are also very helpful when it comes to costs and future planning.

  • 02/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Since it is a small campus, there are not many incidents. Victoria College utilizes an email and text service to quickly notify students and faculty of any negative events that have happened.

    Clubs and Activities

    For a community college, there is a pretty good variety of clubs and activities for students to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Victoria College is good for students who don't want the big university feel. Class size is small, so you get to participate more frequently and get to know your classmates.

    Bang for the buck

    Since Victoria College is a community college, it is cheaper than most Texas universities, but a lot of the courses will transfer over. This makes it a great school to attend for your core classes.

    What to do for fun

    There are several student organizations, as well as a museum, gym, and tennis courts on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is no big, main dining hall. However, there are some smaller joints that offer sandwiches, coffee, breakfast items, and snacks.

    Dorm Life

    This is not applicable since there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the courses you take, but generally, the academic rigor is less at Victoria College than at a state university.

    Tips for prospective students

    There is no on-campus housing so be sure to check out nearby apartments. Parking is free, so no need to worry about a parking pass. Class size is pretty small, so be sure to be active in class so that if you ever need a recommendation written, your professor will remember you.

    In three sentences

    Victoria College is a smaller community college that offers an array of courses, many of them transferable to Texas universities. As with any school, some teachers are good while some are bad; in my experience the majority have been good. The facilities are nice, the grounds clean, and the atmosphere is friendly.

  • 12/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Victoria College has an excellent nursing program which most students are enrolled here for and it's competitive as well. Therefore the training and academics are exemplary. I am a music major, and although there are very few of us, the instructors are great and are definitely looking to their students ultimate success in school and future careers. Also, continuing education (or those who took a break from college, people with a GED) is offered at VC and let me be the one to encourage that maybe hesitant person to visit the campus to witness the broad age range of students here. Lastly, transfer students are very welcomed here. The highest degree to earn at the campus is an associates, so those who hope to excel after that will save money and be helped by counselors to easily move on to a university.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are uncertain of what's next or scared to jump right into a university I highly recommend this junior college as a transitional school toward your next step. DON'T BE SHY TO ASK QUESTIONS (Visit the site: http://www.victoriacollege.edu , Call (361) 573-3291) staff is more than qualified to answer them.

    Bang for the buck

    I am currently enrolled in 15 hours and paying a little over $2,000 in comparison to the 7,000+ which my university friends are paying. My tuition and fees would have been lower than that had I not been charged the out of county fee (since 6months previous to my enrollment I was in central Texas). I'm saving roughly $5000 per semester by attending this school until I transfer to a university!

    Am enjoying being here

    This is my hometown which is a part of the reason I decided to start off at this college, but the lack of events and entertainment are why I find it hard to live here. Although it makes for great reason to stay in the books since there's little to do here. This is a classified city with very much town mentality, but they're trying to grow. The college is inviting though and employees are very helpful!

    Am learning a lot

    This is my first semester in college and I find it to be a great transition! With that being said, though, I am not sure how to base whether I'm learning a copious or average amount. I believe that I have learned all that was required of me to learn throughout my 7 courses.

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lyceum, a speaker comes to visit the college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Review your syllabus, make sure you have all of your books. Start reading right away, don't waste any time... Write notes while you read. Start all homework right away, when doing your homework, take breaks or rest.. Find out your professor's office time, and use that time to ask questions Stay focused, study, pay attention in class, write good notes, observe your professor and their method of teaching. Be organized, set goals.

    In three sentences

    I love The Victoria College, it offers a wide range of degrees to choose from, the campus is great, and the professors are awesome. The Victoria College is an amazing school to earn a degree. I love this school, and I love all of the campus activities and people!

  • 01/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    students should register early. students should see a counselor. students should attend class regularly.

    In three sentences

    victoria college is clean and safe. victoria college has great teachers. victoria college is affordable

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    No dining, snack machines are available though.

    Dorm Life

    Live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Material explained in detail.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of free tutoring.

    In three sentences

    They offer free tutoring. The teachers are friendly and genuinely interested in students success. Small campus easy to get around.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hunt, fishing, golf

    Tips for prospective students

    Do mess around go all or nothing.

    In three sentences

    The college is a nice starter college. Professors are nice.

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Victoria College has security on campus at all times working to help the college to feel safe. The security officers are friendly and help direct every student in the right way.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life at Victoria College yet.

    Clubs and Activities

    Victoria College has SO many clubs and organizations for every student and every interest. Every club has one goal and that is to make students and college life on the VC campus fun and friendly. The list of clubs, activities, and organizations is endless at Victoria College.

    Great for these types of students

    Victoria College is great for students who: want to succeed, need one on one help, want/need a mentor, want a college that offers financial help/aid, or students who are looking for a great place to start small and go big!

    Bang for the buck

    Victoria College definitely is worth EVERY penny you spend. Classes are much cheaper and a lot more challenging than your typical community college. The student to teacher ratio, you just cant beat!

    What to do for fun

    Victoria College has lots of student activities to get all of their students pumped about learning and being successful. They hold socials to bring all the students together and have fun. Also there are lots of clubs and organizations that Victoria College supports.

    Food and Dining

    Victoria College has wonderful opportunities for lunch for every person on campus. From time to time Victoria College will hold little activities geared to giving back to the students that will offer small healthy snacks to all the students.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't any dorm life at Victoria College yet.

    Academic Rigor

    Every class is challenging enough to keep you on your toes. You learn something new every time the class meets and the teachers are there to help you through all the work material.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to have fun while learning in every class. Victoria College really prepares their students to do well in whatever career choice the student makes. Victoria College also offers many different programs for every field of study!

    In three sentences

    It is a great school to start out at. All the staff and teachers are dedicated to helping every student at Victoria College succeed. I recommend Victoria College to every high school graduate ready to start college and make a difference!

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Since Victoria College is a smaller community college there aren't necessarily that many clubs, but the ones I can remember off the top of my head are the SGA (student government association) and the science club. I personally enjoy all the group physical fitness classes that are provided for free like: zumba, body pump and mixed aerobics and the instructors for these classes are AMAZING!

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition you spend at Victoria College is completely worth it! the professors and other staff care so much about the students and want us all to succeed!

    What to do for fun

    Victoria isn't that large a city but really my best advice to create fun in Victoria is to make friends in your classes at VC and find things to do with them!

    Food and Dining

    On campus there is a The Cove which includes a Subway and other various snacks. Also on campus they have to different coffee shops which make some pretty terrific coffee. Other than that there are a lot of fast-food restaurants in the surrounding neighborhoods.

    Academic Rigor

    Victoria College has professors with very high standards that strive to make students learn the material and master it completely.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always register early! Always get to campus early to get good parking. Use ratemyprofessor.com and find out who to take, or just ask around...most people have heard of the professors and can provide some insight on their teaching style.

    In three sentences

    Victoria College really sets their standards very high for a community college. You have to strive to make the grades you want and you shouldn't expect easy classes since it's a community college. I have friends that transferred in from various universities and they feel that Victoria College is more challenging than the university they previously attended.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Dedicated, yet intimidated to start college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are none that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely!

    Food and Dining

    There are cafes everywhere with a wide variety of common convenient-store type snacks and drinks.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    You must study, but as long as you do, good grades are definitely achievable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study! Study! Study! Do not be afraid to ask for help and be fully committed.

    In three sentences

    Victoria College is small which offers excellent one on one teacher time. The professors are well educated and are always available for help and willing to accommodate your style of learning. The location is perfect for a student who is new to college and is in a medium sized town.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Even though there are many campus police vehicles on site, it seems that all campus police are always on break and never there when you need them.

    Greek Life

    Not very good. Fraternities are not too popular and usually filled with unnecessary, and unneeded drama.

    Clubs and Activities

    Good variety of sports and clubs to keep the average student busy.

    Great for these types of students

    Surprisingly enough Victoria College is suited for many types of college students. From the quiet student that wants to be left alone to his studies, to the party animal that has money to blow on classes they have to retake after staying up all night and missing the final exam.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'll leave that up to the new students to find out for themselves!

    Bang for the buck

    While the college has good teachers, and challenging courses. It seems classes are a little over priced for a community college.

    What to do for fun

    Victoria College in itself does not provide any real entertainment so thrill seekers will have to leave campus to fulfill their needs. Victoria is a small town, but with enough dedication one can find bowling alleys, and movie theaters.

    Food and Dining

    The campus itself does not provide much variety in fine cuisine, but it is located near dozens of fast food restaurants. Perfect for the average broke college student.

    Dorm Life

    Sadly I am living with my parents so I cannot really comment here.

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging and hard courses, but challenge breeds excellence.

    Tips for prospective students

    This may sound silly, but always do your homework. Teachers do not give out many assignments and failing even one will cause you unnecessary stress.

    In three sentences

    Good teachers, but can be quite challenging. If you attend VC and transfer elsewhere you will never have to worry about failing a class.

  • 06/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there is not much to do in a small town.

    Tips for prospective students

    the school is one of the hardest in studies in junior colleges. be prepared to work.

    In three sentences

    this school is very limited in classes and programs. the programs are very competitive and fill every semester. the communication between departments of college is very disorganized.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early to any college, even community!

    In three sentences

    I have seen the college grounds and it is very welcoming. Also the councilors are very warm, welcoming and helpful on the phone. I cant wait to attend school here!

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    At Victoria College, you will receive text message alerts if something dangerous is happening anywhere on campus. That is why updating your cell phone number at the school is crucial.

    Great for these types of students

    Victoria College is definitely for hard workers.

    Bang for the buck

    I think my education was definitely worth the money I spent for tuition at Victoria College. They do not make you pay for unnecessary items.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of fun things to do on campus, for those who have time.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the Main Campus is very good. At the Cove in the Student Center there is a Subway for all.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    In vocational nursing courses, you are essentially squeezing a couple of years' work into just one year. It's difficult and stressful at times.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are entering the vocational nursing class at Victoria College, be ready to work hard and study well.

    In three sentences

    As a new nursing student at the Gonzales branch of Victoria College, I have found the staff and teachers very helpful in achieving success. If you have a question or need extra assistance with a skill or don't understand something, they are always right there to help, or just a call away.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are Victoria College Police Patrolling the campus to ensure the safety of everyone.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is the K.E.Y. center, which is qualified and accepted, provides one with numerous sources of academic help such as one-on-one tutoring sessions, free printing, scanning and faxing, they rent out textbooks and equipment like calculators and laptops. They have their own advisers and counselors to help guide students in the right direction according to his or her situation.

    What to do for fun

    The dining area in the Student Center building has ping-pong and billiard tables for entertainment purposes. The college also has different ongoing activities for students to participate in.

    Food and Dining

    They provide all students with a dining area in the Student Center Building where there is a Subway that sells lunch to everyone. They also have two Starbucks in different locations.

    Dorm Life

    Victoria College doesn't provide dorms that I know of, But I live at home with my daughter.

    Academic Rigor

    I have barely started classes a couple of weeks ago and so far the experience has been great. All my instructors are very nice and patient with me and my classmates and don't hesitate to go over a specific topic a second time to ensure our understanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a freshman student that I am I had a lot questions. Thankfully everyone I encountered was very polite to take their time to respond to my questions and concerns. So I would recommend that you speak up and contact someone who can assist you and I'm sure they will be more that happy to help you.

    In three sentences

    Victoria College is a great place to get your college education if your want or have to stay close to home. Tuition prices are reasonable and everyone is very friendly.

  • 08/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police on site always driving around in golf carts

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Nurse Association

    Great for these types of students

    Medical student such as EMS, Nursing

    Bang for the buck

    If you live in the Victoria area it is a whole lot cheaper to attend college here. If you live outside the county and attend one of the satellite campuses you have to pay out of county taxes which add up quickly.

    What to do for fun

    You can join one of the student organizations.

    Food and Dining

    Small and only has a subway but has enough choices to get you through the day.

    Dorm Life

    Victoria College does not have the option to live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are not to hard as long as you apply yourself. When you find yourself struggling there are plenty of times the offer tutoring to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you could go to the main campus I would more opportunities there. Though the Gonzales campus is more helpful and accommodating with the one on one stuff. Have never had a bad teacher that I dreaded going to class at either campus.

    In three sentences

    Is is a great small community college. Excellent for one on one for focused students. Always willing to help and communicate between campuses to help with smoother process for students.

  • 09/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a police training class at our campus, so we have many trained officers on campus.

    Greek Life

    The only one we have is Phi Theta Kapa.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have multiple clubs and associations.

    Great for these types of students

    1. Wanting to start college, without spending a lot of money. 2. People who thought they would never get to go to college, because of grades or financial situation.

    Bang for the buck

    The College is very cheap compared to most colleges, and it provides an excellent education.

    What to do for fun

    There are a number of different events going on through out the year, we have multiple clubs and sports available to students.

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of places real close to the campus to eat.

    Dorm Life

    The only dorms in Victoria Texas are the ones for the branch of University of Houston.

    Academic Rigor

    Victoria College sets there standards high so that your classes will transfer to almost every university in Texas.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Get involved with clubs and sports, you will make valuable connections. 2. Stay on top of your studies. 3. Enjoy your time.

    In three sentences

    Victoria College is a great place to begin your college experience. By going here not only do you have Academically challenging classes that will prepare you for when you go to a University, but it also helps save thousands of dollars. You will not forget your experience here.

  • 10/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Victoria College has on site security which is a great benefit.

    Clubs and Activities

    The Victoria College is very in tune with the clubs and activities that go on within the school.

    Great for these types of students

    The Victoria College meets the needs of any student no matter what their background/ethnicity is.

    What to do for fun

    At the Victoria College, the fun things to do would be joining a club or sport.

    In three sentences

    The Victoria College is a challenging school. The school is great at motivating students to do their best. It is also a great school because the teachers interact with the students.

  • 10/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel that the campus security is very good. The campus police are roaming around on campus during the day and when I've had to stay late studying I see the campus police checking on all the buildings. When I've had to leave late at night I feel safe knowing this and the parking lots are well lit also.

    Clubs and Activities

    I do not participate in any clubs or activities but I do know people that do and they love it.

    What to do for fun

    Well that's a tough one for me to answer since all I do is go to class and leave to go home. I am a wife and a m other so I don't have time to do other things there. But i know that they do have pool tables, PlayStation and Wii days and a big screen TV for game days too.

    Food and Dining

    The choices that the college has for dining are good but i would love to see more choices. I would love to see a buffet line with pizza, spaghetti, salads, chicken, and desserts

    Dorm Life

    I would not know bout this since I don't live in the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors expect for you to take responsibility for your part in your education. They will help you in any way they can when you need help.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a student that is looking for a college for nursing, medical lab, fireman, or PTA programs then Victoria College is right for you. These programs are great and have some excellent instructors teaching.

    In three sentences

    The Victoria College is a great place to get an education. They have many programs to choose from. They have some excellent instructors that really care about the students future.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of festivities surrounding Victoria College. There is plenty of wide open spaces to relax and enjoy oneself. Along with this, Victoria has a wide variety of places to dine.

    Food and Dining

    I have not experienced the food on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I live in my own home off of campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The education that the student receives is very important to Victoria College. This importance is seen in how the instructors lecture. They take time in explaining and are there for you every step of the way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready for a tough, yet educational experience. Victoria college is very strict on making sure that you are ready for a career beyond their walls. Their being strict is good though, because without strict, well informed information, you may not gain the knowledge that you need.

    In three sentences

    Victoria college is very affordable, and has exceeded my expectations on many levels. Being a stay at home, mother of two, having a college that understands what I need was very important to me. I would refer this college to anyone looking to further educate themselves.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    No Food and Dining available at Victoria college-Gonzales campus.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms and Victoria college-Gonzales campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, study, study! That is the most important thing, along with doing all of your homework.

    In three sentences

    A great and helpful college. A very one-on-one approach with the teachers. They are very eager to help their students graduate.

  • 02/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not involved in any clubs or activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for first time students or returning to college students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing unusual about this campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent professors for a cheap price.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do for fun at this college.

    Food and Dining

    It had decent food and dining.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this college.

    Academic Rigor

    Not to easy but still keeps me busy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get Professor Hagan for History.

    In three sentences

    A really great college. It has excellent professors. It is very affordable.

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Victoria College has officers and numerous cameras on campus to ensure the utmost safety to students.

    Clubs and Activities

    Victoria College offers a wide variety of clubs and activities for students to participate in.

    Bang for the buck

    Victoria College is one of the top colleges in the United States. I would recommend this college to future students.

    Food and Dining

    Victoria College offers great food and dining at discounted prices.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is positive and offers a lot of opportunities.

    In three sentences

    Victoria College has a fun environment. Victoria College has exceptional professors. Victoria College motivates students to excel.

  • 07/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is not really a need for increased campus safety. It is in a safe area.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa is the best!

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students fit in here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The annual fall festival has a great haunted house that attracts many ghouls and goblins.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely a good choice for students on a budget.

    What to do for fun

    There is a local mall, movie theater, and bowling alley close by.

    Food and Dining

    Subway is available.

    Dorm Life

    Do not live in a dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start here. Go far.

    In three sentences

    The price of tuition is reasonable. The campus is user friendly. The staff is very helpful and well educated.

  • 08/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Being that the Campus is shared with the UHV Campus, the amount of safety resources is above average. Both schools have internal police and security divisions Victoria also has local(VPD), County (VCSO), State (DPS), and federal Law Enforcement officers. In addition you are directly across from one of the City's two level 3 Trauma Center Hospitals, and the closest fire station that has a fire engine, a ambulance and a medical operations captain at it, is about a mile away from campus.

    What to do for fun

    Victoria is physically the crossroads city. being located in about the middle of Houston, San Antoino, and Corpus Christi, Tx, there is a multitude of entertainment ventures not only located here in town, but also in reasonable driving distance. From attending sporting events from both colleges, the local fine arts center a short walk away, local high school sporting events, and city events are all with in walking, or short bus ride distance away.

    Food and Dining

    The area has many choices for food and dineing, which will not leave holes in a financially restricted students budget. The campus does have several food selections also, some of which seem to be possibly getting better in ability to be part of a nutritious and wholesome meal for students.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for the Victoria College, but there are plenty of rentals in the Victoria area.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics of the Victoria College are of the highest in nature. The staff provides both a environment to motivate students towards their higher education goals, but still maintain the ability for a student to approach them on a single person basis and be known.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your due diligence for your desired field of study. If your program has pre-requisites, ensure they are completed with ample time to prove they have been satisfied. Not only does this make a easier application and admittance procedure for you, but it reduces the amount of extraneous work the instructor must do, thus ensuring you do not start the school year on a negative note.

    In three sentences

    A fantastic place to learn both pre-hospital emergency medicine (emergency medical technician-paramedic), but also fire science. The campus is a safe and easy to navigate environment. The faculty are progressive and assisting in any way they possibly can.

  • 08/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are plenty of security guards everywhere making sure that our school is safe and civil.

    Greek Life

    The Dirt Nerd Club strives to encourage art in all its forms, specifically in the form of ceramics. Their goal as a society is to promote the inner artisan found in all students. Art to them is a soothing, positive influence on the mind, which allows creativity to flow, increases imagination, and causes the brain to become more productive.

    Clubs and Activities

    Victoria College offers a variety of campus organizations for students to get engaged in. These programs give the student leadership opportunities, friendship activities, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Victoria College is great for all students regardless of age,race,sex, or religion. Victoria offers many programs that help get students involved especially in the field that they are seeking study in.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'm not aware of any unusual traditons that Victoria College has except perhaps that although Victoria College is it's own campus we tend to share our library and our food courts with UHV, who happens to be our neighboring college.

    Bang for the buck

    Victoria College is one of the lowest costest colleges in Texas but don't be fooled. Victoria is known for it's advanced learning community and challenging courses that inspire the student to really work hard for not only their education but also their future.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of activies that the college has for the students to enjoy. whether it's relaxing with your friends at the Cove, playing beach volleyball, or even indoor basketball Victoria College never fails to keep you entertained.

    Food and Dining

    Victoria College has a number of places for students and dine and enjoy time away from the classroom environment. There is the Cove a nice and homely cafeteria/dining hall that provides the student with a variety of great food choices and drinks. The Grind is the coffee shop on campus that gives the students the extra kick that they need in the morning, not to mention a sugar rush with all the other treats it sells.

    Dorm Life

    Victoria College doesn't have any dorm complexes at the moment.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic wise the Victoria College drives you to be all who you can be. The teachers constantly reach out to help you regardless of your intellectual level in school. The student in other words fills excepted.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't get lost in the sea. It will seem at first like there are so many things going on at once but the people are very friendly and willing to take you under their wings.

    In three sentences

    Victoria is a really great campus. Not only is it one of the ideal places to go if you like small towns, but also the teaching atmosphere provides the student with great academic strength. I would recommend Victoria College to anyone looking for a college that gives you purpose.

  • 10/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You could join a club. Also, go to the cafeteria and play pool and meet new people. Or just find a quiet spot and read.

    Food and Dining

    Subway is great and with other minor options. The food is good and healthy. Every once in a while they serve free lunches so that is a plus!

    Dorm Life

    I have never stayed on campus. I live out of town and just drive to college.

    Academic Rigor

    I love the fact that the studies are very rigorous. They keep you focused in what is being taught. They is a tutoring center in case you get behind.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get all your basics out of the way in VC. Dedicate your time to studying and get to know your professors.

    In three sentences

    Victoria College is very affordable. Victoria College has many plans set up for students to take. It makes itself available to all students with different situations.

  • 12/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security guards and police everywhere.

    Clubs and Activities

    I recently went to a Pajama Party/Scavenger Hunt/Karaoke Night and had a blast and met tons of people.

    Food and Dining

    The cove always has snacks, sandwiches and anything else that you are wanting. The subway has very friendly workers.

    Dorm Life

    I live at my parents house but the rooms are well aquainted.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes challenge you at bringing out your creativeness and thought processes. The teachers know what they are talking about and are willing to tutor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be willing to work hard and have fun.

    In three sentences

    Victoria College is the perfect size for a community college. There is always people to talk to, things to do, and the faculty is beyond incredible. Everything about it just adds together and makes it feel alot easier knowing that we are working hard to better ourselves towards our future lives.

  • 01/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I'm so lucky to have a community college so close to home. It's affordable but i still feel like I'm getting top education.

    What to do for fun

    Whether it's going out to the sporting events or getting involved in the community VC makes things fun!

    Food and Dining

    I always brown bag my PB&J but the cafeteria is a great place to go meet up with friends.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms at VC

    Academic Rigor

    Since you can set your own pace as far as how many classes to take each semester the amount of homework varies but don't be fooled. Even an easy class can present you with tough work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your homework since it's easy to forget about that one class you only take once a week. Make friends in all your classes so you can bounce around more ideas or create a study group. Make sure you know which parking spots are approved for students!!

    In three sentences

    The teachers are great and are willing to work on anything with you. Many chances to go and get FREE tutoring. Even MOST of the faculty are nice.

  • 01/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I think there should be more food selections but I'm still glad we have a Subway.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join clubs and if you're having a difficult time find a tutoring center.

    In three sentences

    I think that VC is a great community college. It can be pretty challenging but there are several places to get tutoring and extra help from. There are also clubs that you can join with someone there to encourage you and help you with your different needs.