Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Vincennes University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/05/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    If you plan on attending Vincennes to get your GPA up and work towards moving up to a bigger collage, Vincennes is an option. It doesn't cost a ton like some collages do.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being at Vincennes. There is not much to do outside of campus but on campus there are a lot of activities going on. You meet a lot of people on a day to day basis. You will get to know them since the campus is small.

    Am learning a lot

    You will learn a lot here at Vincennes. The classes are small and very helpful. Have a bigger opportunity to talk to the teacher one on one.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great Security, numerous cameras, and plenty of campus, local, county, and state police watching out for us

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The student UnionGreat place to just sit around and hang out.

    What to do for fun

    Go Out to the old John Deere building and hang out with friends. this semester we are currently restoring a allius chalmers tractor.

    Food and Dining

    okay i have had much better

    Dorm Life

    Good, The noice levels are up some nights but not to bad. friendly RAs and staff willing to help you.

    Academic Rigor

    Great

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, don't slack off, take your work seriously. If you have trouble on anything ask the instructors the are more than willing to help you out.

    In three sentences

    Very clean campus, with friendly helpful staff member. The Class sizes are small which makes it a great learning environment. The school has a lot of security which makes for a safe environment.

  • 05/29/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    VU is definately a great deal. I'm paying for school on my own and that was one of the deciding factors in my college choice.

    Will enjoy being here

    Vincennes is a great little town and I love the campus.

    Will learn a lot

    All of the professors I have met seem to really enjoy being there and teaching. The student-professor relationship seems great.

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    is the best.

    Greek Life

    all is nice

    Clubs and Activities

    soccer , youth soccer referee and sing in the church of thy lord.

    Great for these types of students

    ready to improve .

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    their are all good people...

    Bang for the buck

    all is well...

    What to do for fun

    soccer and music

    Food and Dining

    maningable

    Dorm Life

    so good

    Academic Rigor

    nice

    Tips for prospective students

    cool...

    In three sentences

    their are the best.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is pretty well safe. I don't fear walking around school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and activities to do if you want.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any student.

    Bang for the buck

    For being an on campus student the tuition cost is not bad.

    What to do for fun

    Have friends. Go to the pool. Go to the gym.

    Food and Dining

    It is a predictable menu.

    Dorm Life

    Reasonably sized rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are fairly easy if you study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for your classes and be on time.

    In three sentences

    There are great professors. There are lots of great degrees to choose from. They have small classes for a better student/teacher ratio.

  • 07/14/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This university is awesome! I like that I can go to a small campus in Indy and start out in ASL program then transfer to another college with bigger campus. I also like the total immersion of environment. It will be good for practicing ASL and learning full communication not just what signs are for words but full actual conversations with deaf/hard of hearing people.

    Tips for prospective students

    See the campus but be prepared completely for different then what may think especially if going to be in the ASL program in Indianapolis, Indiana.

  • 08/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you don't want to attend school for too long but still want higher education, this is definitely the place to go. You'll learn what you need to know and most likely find a job not too long after graduation.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth the amount you pay compared to other larger schools. They teach you what you need to know in a short period of time. So you save not only time but money.

    Am learning a lot

    This college is designed mainly for those who wish to enter the workforce immediately after graduation. But for the most part instead of focusing on textbook readings and lectures to teach, the students learn hands on skills in the classroom for their respective major, usually beginning in the first few weeks.

  • 10/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    The most important things is get to know all the deans on campus. It doesn't hurt to know people that have most control. Stay focus on your academics first. Do not get distracted by the community around you, because there is not much to do in the city. Become familiar with all the organizations and the Greeks in campus. I think every student should be involved in an organization, because it will look good when you are making a different other than to just your friends.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am currently involved in three different clubs on campus. There are many things to do when you are in volunteer services and meet new ' people.

    Am learning a lot

    I truly believe Vincennes University is where students can come to get a fresh start. You can make your mark and get involved in a lot of different academic programs.

  • 12/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    It isn't as easy as it may seem. Be prepared.

    Bang for the buck

    For the most part you get a decent education, but the University seems to waste a fair amount of money on unimportant things.

    Am enjoying being here

    I live in Vincennes and it is sometimes crowded. The people are pretty nice though

    Am learning a lot

    This is my first time in college and I am in the nursing program. It is difficult, but the knowledge I am gaining is not just important for my field, but extremely applicable to my life.

  • 01/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school does hold concerts and has comedians come in, but the town is very boring and most the time the students prefer drinking and other ill recreational activities, so if you want to stay sober than good luck.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't that great but if your hungry it's good enough. They don't have a big selection and tend to serve the same thing every day. They mix it up every once in a while but that doesn't mean that it tastes better.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm space isn't huge, but it is a pretty comfortable size room. I have had bad experiences with loud neighbors at night but I could also just have been unlucky with placement. The RA's are very nice and have always answered any questions I've had and tried to fix the problems with my neighbors.

    Tips for prospective students

    As previously mentioned, it's a good place to start but not really to finish here. There are very few four year degrees and their isn't much to do in town so you're more likely to form bad 'recreational' habits.

    In three sentences

    Vincennes is a good place to get back on your feet if you slacked off in high school. You get a feel for what college life is really like and is a good school for a 2 year degree or to transfer from. The teachers here are fairly good at what they do and are willing to work with you if you need help in their classes.

  • 01/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security is a big thing here and you never feel unsafe

    Clubs and Activities

    They have all of them

    Great for these types of students

    if you have a full life but want to pursue a career instead of just a job they will help you succeed

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I go to the Jasper Campus

    Bang for the buck

    I have been here 2 years and not only have I learned a lot about my field but also have learned a lot about myself and have made some great friends along the way

    What to do for fun

    they always have activities going on and they are posted all over campus and sent to your email

    Food and Dining

    The bistro has wonderful food and a great staff

    Dorm Life

    Do not live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    Very tough classes, but doable if you apply yourself and accept all extra credit they have

    Tips for prospective students

    Accept all help and never feel bad about having to ask a professor for help. They will work with you as best as they can.

    In three sentences

    They are a great school, with one on one teacher assistance. I love it being local and to have classes that work around my busy life. The smaller classes make it easier to interact with the professor and other students. All questions I have had, were answered professionally from the administration staff. I just love it.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join a club.

    Food and Dining

    They have good food every once in a while but it gets old fast when they dont have anything special.

    Dorm Life

    Shower stalls are always breaking.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers here are great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your work and attend to all your classes.

    In three sentences

    Really good teachers. Not that many things to do around though. Can get really boring.

  • 01/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i'm actually pretty impressed with the campus police here. my sister had an incident not long after enrolling. her wallet fell out of her purse in front of the financial aid office in one of the chairs. it wasn't there for an hour before we found it. some one had taken the $300 she got for graduation and stole it leaving her $1 bill. we went straight to the campus police. they caught the chick on camera and found her. from there on, it was just a bunch of legal processes, but they had gotten this settled within three days. it gave my sister some peace of mind even though she had just been robbed. the only bad thing is that there are some drug dealers that like to do business about three miles away from the school by the river. so i don't recommend walking anywhere off campus ever at night. on campus is pretty safe. everything that i've heard about that's been a safety issue has been off campus.

    What to do for fun

    there are an array of events going on during the semester. it seems like every week or every other week i'm out doing something. the rec center has a lot of equipment to play a ton of different games and we now have a swimming pool (it has a zip line :d).

    Food and Dining

    there are three difference places to eat. i have only eaten at two. with your meal plan there is only one place you can eat and that is tecumseh. there food is not that good or health (except of course the salad...), but that's because some of the students who work there on work study don't really care. the other place i have been to in the student union building is good. you have to use your flex dollars, but they have stations like starbucks, pizza, subs, and regular line menu food (chicken nuggets, hamburgers, fries, etc).

    Dorm Life

    i don't live in the dorms. i live off campus (across the street...), but i don't hear too many bad thing about it except space and some maintenance issues in specific buildings.

    Academic Rigor

    they are not necessarily strict, but they expect your work to be on time. other than that, most have a relax and professional attitude that makes the class enjoyable to sit in. i'm particularly impressed with the music department and the special education departments.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would recommend talking to the financial aid office often about a month before school starts to get most of that stress done with before you have other things to worry about. get the course catalog and the requirements together and pick out the classes and times you would like for that semester then go to your adviser. if you want to just follow the outline of classes to take and when, that's fine, but if you don't plan on following it then it's best to go in with what you want or at least an idea so you don't sign up for classes that will be a bad combo for you.

    In three sentences

    i give them five stars for their teachers, advisers, and councilors, but only four stars with there financial aid office. they are positive and accommodating towards people that have difference goals and live different life styles. the only quarrel i have had is how the financial aid office isn't as up front with disbursements dates (unless you specifically ask or a week or two before they will have fliers in their office about it) and problems so you have to seek them out a lot to just get a question answered or to fix a problem.

  • 01/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel safe of campus. you can get an escort at night on campus if you feel like you need it.

    Greek Life

    there is greek life of campus but i an not involved in any of it.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs and activities to choose from on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    teachers really care about the students and want them to succeed. it is great for any type of student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the fall bathtub races and the race down the wabash. lots of fun.

    Bang for the buck

    very quiet and safe campus. close to downtown if you wanted to walk. there is anything that you need in the town. if you wanted to leave to a bigger city you can go north or south about an hours. you are only 2 hours from indianapolis, indiana.

    What to do for fun

    i have joined several clubs. there is a great workout facility and swimming pool. there is a bowling lane on campus that also has pool tables there. there is an activity on campus everyday. no need to leave campus to find anything to do.

    Food and Dining

    there is a big choice of food in the cafeteria. food is very good.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is dorm life. the rooms are nice size.

    Academic Rigor

    it is very challenging work. it is more practical work then other universities. stuff that you will use in the working force.

    Tips for prospective students

    a great college with lots of choices. it is the only university in indiana that you get your as degree first before going on to get a bs. it is awesome.

    In three sentences

    vincennes is a very friendly challenging university. the teachers are very helpful. you can find a lot to do around campus.

  • 03/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Small town. Small class sizes. One on one with professors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Right off of campus on new years there is the annual watermelon drop.

    Bang for the buck

    The cheapest college around by far.

    What to do for fun

    Vincennes is a small town. Unless you are from here, you won't find things to do off campus. Biggest complaint I hear

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall isn't the best. But there are area fast food places near by

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms so I'm not sure.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on your major

    Tips for prospective students

    Very good if you already live in Vincennes or close by.

    In three sentences

    Small town college. Very cheap compared to most colleges. Small class sizes

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    V.U. is great for students from small high schools.

    What to do for fun

    My friends and I go to the Rec Center to swim, lift weights, go bowling, and play basketball.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, plenty of choices daily.

    Dorm Life

    My room is large enough to have a few friends over to watch tv in the evening.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are fairly easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Vigo Hall has the biggest rooms for the least money.

    In three sentences

    I like the small class sizes. The dining hall food is pretty good. The recreation center is great!

  • 04/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No one really worries about things.

    Clubs and Activities

    plenty of activities

    Great for these types of students

    Technology/electronic major sand students who want to become aesthetic.

    Bang for the buck

    It seems rather impossible to compare when you have only been in 1 college.

    What to do for fun

    Lift weights, play games with friends, and intramural activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Guys- lift weights so you can have all the girls 'mirin.

    In three sentences

    VU is a place to meet friends and get degrees of course. You can have donuts every morning at Tecumseh for breakfast. But make sure to hit one of the multiple weight rooms that VU provides.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are a lot of campus cops that roam the bricks, and there are several of the emergency beacons around. I feel pretty safe during the day on campus, but would never venture alone after dark and especially not off campus.

    Greek Life

    Unless you want to take part in illegal activities such as underage drinking, smoking pot, and rape stay far away from the Greek Life on campus and off. It is not worth your time or anyone else. The frat houses are known to house jerks and air heads so be forewarned.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am currently the president of the 21 Century Scholars Leader corp, a member of the Psychology Club, and do a lot of community service projects. There are all kinds of clubs for just about any hobby you could think of and making a new club really is not hard either.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for those kinds of students who wish to focus on their personal work and to make a close knit type of friend circle. Each major on campus has a very close family like relationship and can really build a student up to their top potential.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During the first few weeks of school in the fall semester there is a raft building contest. The only rules is that the boat must be made of the inner tubes provided and that once in the water everyone must stay on the raft. Easy enough, and it is great fun for those looking to build friends during those first few weeks. Just a heads up, but the first day in most classes is the traditional meet and greet everyone in the room, and the professor will want your phone number and email. It is important to give them your personal email, so that when they cancel class or make assignments due early, that you know.

    Bang for the buck

    Vincennes really is very cheap when it comes to most things. The teachers and staff will work with you and the financial aid really tries to help good students stay by finding a little extra money here and there. It is very helpful to know that in all my art classes we are given a small fee, but also given a huge bag of art supplies so that we would not have to go and buy our own. Printing is also very cheap here along with the laundry services, but the cheapest thing really is the tuition. Books, not so much. The book store finds ways to rip people off, so I would suggest staying as far away as possible.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do here, but there are movie nights a lot in the Humanities building, and if you are into community service and volunteering there is plenty, but if you are looking to party, well, there are none here. There is, however, a movie theater not too far from campus, and for those who fish, the river is literally in your backyard.

    Food and Dining

    Here, Vincennes University actually does alright. The TDC, or cafeteria, has a lot of options for just about everyone. There is always pizza, salad, assorted soups, cheeseburgers, subs, and much more for lunch and dinner, and there are even more choices for breakfast. The Student Union also has great options and is nice if you have flex dollars, but is outrageously expensive if you have to pay out of your pocket. The food is a ton better though. There are also a lot of cafes and fast food places if you don't mind walking or driving.

    Dorm Life

    I have had a dorm room from the first day and I have to say that I really hate it. I've shared a room with my sisters and with other people, but sharing a tiny dorm room with a stranger was totally unexpected. The room was dirty and the pain is chipping off the walls, the bathrooms are never kept clean, and the women in the co-ed dorms are on the first floor, where all the parking lots and courtyards are. Sure, I don't have to climb stairs everyday, but the noise level in the wee hours of the morning is not pleasant at all. The director is also very unorganized and the RA's don't know what is going on half the time, so do not depend on them.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what classes you decide to take, many classes are hard to keep up with while others are a breeze, but everyone is different, and college is nothing like high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not depend on financial aid to get into college. The Vincennes Financial Aid takes forever to get and even longer if there are any mistakes. Plus, there are a lot of things to remember, like Freshmen either have to live on campus or with their parents, and when living on campus you have to have a meal plan as well as a dorm room.

    In three sentences

    Vincennes is a nice, small community school that cares for the individual. Although there are many flaws, I'd say that anyone who wants a small college with caring and friendly staff to come and see how Vincennes University works for them. The tuition really is the cheapest around and the classes are still just as good as anywhere else.

  • 10/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    cops and emergency phones everywhere

    Greek Life

    minimal

    Clubs and Activities

    big variety of clubs though

    Great for these types of students

    sports people. big sports school

    Bang for the buck

    its not too expensive

    What to do for fun

    theres a pe complex and thats pretty much it. if you arent at all into physical activity there is nothing.

    Food and Dining

    same bland food every day almost.

    Dorm Life

    dorms kinda suck.

    Academic Rigor

    classes arent that hard. teachers are pretty laid back

    Tips for prospective students

    definitely review your other options before picking vincennes.

    In three sentences

    its not a bad school if you want to go somewhere small. the campus is nice and clean i suppose.... its pretty meh overall. not much to do really.

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I'm in the aviation flight program and we tend to hang out at the airport and in the lobby of the school to have fun. It's like a little family!

    Food and Dining

    I am taking classes at a satellite campus so we don't have food and dining in the building.

    Dorm Life

    I take classes at a satellite campus so I do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but the teachers are flexible and will always help when needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    I advise every student attend all your classes, make friends in class so if you have to miss a class you have people to talk to about what happened. Talk to your teachers, participate in class and if you have a question ask it.

    In three sentences

    Vincennes University is a great small school to attend. You never feel like you're getting lost in the crowd. The teachers and faculty care about your progress and your future and that makes all the difference.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are several opportunities for Greek Life

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who appreciate hands-on learning

    What to do for fun

    Vincennes isn't a typical college town but there are plenty of opportunities for fun, especially if you enjoy the outdoors or you can visit the numerous historic sites around the campus.

    In three sentences

    Vincennes Unviersity is a great school for a combination of hands-on learning and bookwork. You learn much more by being involved in the opportunities offered.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    22 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is a MAJOR problem for the school. The campus safety is horrible. The campus police just ride around on their little golf carts giving tickets to people who are smoking, when they should be breaking up fights and drug deals. Last year I think around 10 girls got raped. There were two deaths, and the fire department was on campus at least once a week. If you do plan to go here remember two things: 1) Never go outside at night by yourself. 2) Lock up your dorm room, and car.

    Greek Life

    The Greek Life here is not really big. The main Frat on campus is Sigma Pi. This Frat is not recognized by the college due to the many rapes and alcohol related problems that go on at the house. Besides this one there are a few little ones around but they don't have an impact on the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    Like I said earlier, it is really hard to find clubs and activities to do if you are not into sports. I love sports so I always had something to do.

    Great for these types of students

    It is good for people who did not do well in school and want to get a high enough GPA to transfer to a 4-year school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    For being really cheap and small the school is worth the money only if you plan to stay for a year. If you plan on staying for more then a year you should look somewhere for school.

    What to do for fun

    If you do not like sports then this would not be the school for you. The only thing really to do is go to the gym, play basketball, football, baseball. The gym is really nice and is pretty new. Also, the school has a brand new pool (finished in fall of 2012) where you can swim or just hang out in the hot tub. There are many clubs but they are not advertised very well so they might be hard to find. Another thing to do is to watch the basketball teams. The boys and girls teams are usually really good, and hardly lose at home. While there is a drama club it is not worth doing because only a few people show up to watch the shows.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is not the greatest in the world. If I had to rank the food I'd give it a 3 out of 10. The dining hall has very limiting choices for dinner and lunch: pizza, hamburgers, salad bar, sub bar, cereal, home cooked line ( it may sound good, but the food is mostly undercooked), and a main dinner line. They also have desserts. These desserts are usually dried out or burnt. Another place to eat on campus is the student union. This place makes the food a lot better because it is made fresh compared to the dinning hall that makes it in bulk. The food at the Student Union consists of: Subs (like Subway but call Sub connection), a grill line (hamburgers, hotdogs, wings, chicken strips, fries, and many other things), a pizza line (I would not recommend getting their pizza. It cost a lot, there is a Papa Johns, and Little Caesars in town that will give you a large pizza for $5), they also have drinks and candy, and a Starbucks. When you are eating at the Student Union you can use Flex Dollars or cash.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are either really nice, or really bad. The first year I lived in a horrible dorm. The water in the showers were really cold, the A/C didn't work half the time, and you could hear people in the other rooms. My second year, I lived in the nicest dorm. It was a suite where I got my own bathroom (which i shared with my roommate), a living room, and a little area to cool with the microwave. The living room came with a 32-inch HD tv which was really nice. The walls were really well insulated so you couldn't hear other people, which was nice. The only problem is that there is only one thermostat, in the living room, that controls the whole suite. I liked the room to be about 73 degrees, but I had a Polish guy who liked it to be like 65 degrees.

    Academic Rigor

    While the academic rigor can be challenging at times, it can also be really easy. The teachers here really do care about their students passing classes. The school also has a lot of tutors that will help you with your work, and its free.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you go here make sure that you have a lock for your stuff, and don't go walking on campus at night. My last year here many girls got raped, and a lot of people got their stuff stolen because they didn't lock their car doors or dorm rooms.

    In three sentences

    Very small school that has a small mix of people. The classes are small, so if you like a small school this would be the place for you. It is a good school if you are planning to transfer to a 4-year university.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are multiple clubs and activites for any student interested.

    Great for these types of students

    VU is one of the best places to begin your college experience. It is affordable and convenient with both in-class and online courses.

    Bang for the buck

    The teachers are very helpful and concerned about your academic progress.

    What to do for fun

    VU has several programs and events that are FREE to students!

    Food and Dining

    Did not eat in dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    Lived at home.

    Academic Rigor

    You will get as much out of college as you put in. Attendance is VERY important.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to fill out your FAFSA on time and apply for all grants/aid available.

    In three sentences

    It is very easy to get accepted at VU. Great people who help with registration, application, and especially financial aid. Instructors are concerned about your academic progress.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police are on campus 24/7 and have the same rights as the city police.

    Greek Life

    SIGMA PI, Alpha Chapter

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Government. Intramural Sports

    Great for these types of students

    ANY. The university has a liberal admission policy. This university is great for anyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is close to several historic landmarks.

    What to do for fun

    Attended games, and music dept activities. Joined student government, and met several GREAT individuals.

    Food and Dining

    GREAT. There are many options and the staff is great. Some complain about the food however, it is not possible to please everyone. The Mongolian Grill is my favorite.

    Dorm Life

    -GET INVOLVED in activities. - The dining center is GREAT, some complain about the food however, it is not possible to please everyone everyday.

    Academic Rigor

    I have taken classes at several universities, VU was no more difficult or easy than any other university.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Get involved in as many activities as possible. -Do not be afraid of approaching any staff member they are all willing to help.

    In three sentences

    I would recommend Vincennes University as a great start to your education. You will get great hands on experience that you will not get obtain in your first two years at a larger university. The professors are great and willing to help.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I live off campus

    Great for these types of students

    working professionals

    Bang for the buck

    It is affordable

    What to do for fun

    I live in Florida, there is the Beaches and camping sites.

    Food and Dining

    Live off campus

    Dorm Life

    Live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Four out of Five

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a working professional in the North East Florida area, Vincennes University is the place to go.

    In three sentences

    It is an affordable and a accommodating school with professional staff that meet the needs of working professional. I have taken five classes at one time with no problem.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although we do have safety services and security systems I think there should be some improvements. Like putting more lights in the parking lot or along the side walks. Another would be improve on the student alerts that are sent out via text message.

    Greek Life

    I did not rush but several of my friends did. I know they really enjoy the bother and sisterhood.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities here on campus. If you are interested in something I bet we have it and if not, it is really easy to get one started. We have clubs that range from anything such as student government, dodge ball club, and biology club.

    Great for these types of students

    Vincennes University is great for students who are commute, are looking to get back into college, want a two year associates degree, or are looking to transfer to another college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have several unusual traditions at the school. A few of them occur in the beginning of the school year. For instance we have a tube race down the Wabash river. Clubs and students can organize teams and race the other teams down the river using only paddles and intertubes. The school also does something fun for freshman called play fare. This is a gathering that all of the freshman go to. It gives them an opportunity for them to bond and meet new people.

    Bang for the buck

    Vincennes is one of the most affordable colleges in the state of Indiana. It is known for being the first college of Indiana but I think it is also a great place for an education for a penny pincher.

    What to do for fun

    Vincennes is a small town so there is not much to do in town. The school tries to provide activities to the students to go to and for the community to do as well. If the students are involved in there interests and go to RA programs it is more fun.

    Food and Dining

    The dining center is alright. As a vegetarian I have limited meal options. Most of the time the vegetarian food is good, however, it does get repeatative. More options would be great.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm is perfect, but I enjoy living in my dorm. The staff works hard to keep it safe, clean, and fun. There can be problems with roommate fights and noise issues but that should be expected.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe that the teachers here are top notch. They want you to do well and provide opportunities to do so. The classroom is both challenging and fair. Professors don't want you just to show up and get an A but actually learn something. For academic rigor I would say it all depended on the level and the teacher. If you have a 200 level math class it is probably going to be harder than an entry level class.

    Tips for prospective students

    For future students, I would tell them that they are here to learn and not go wild. It is alright to have fun but we are paying to get an education that will help you live a better life. College is a time to learn and grow. You have to become the adult that you think you are and manage your classes with your fun.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Vincennes University a three out of four star school. Although it may have a few things I do not like or agree with, it is home. I find that coming to this school was a blessing in disguise.

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police on patrol on the campus bricks daily and hourly. Stick with friends, and if feel unsafe walking from class or buildings at night you can have the campus police escort you to your dorm.

    Greek Life

    Love it! Its not for everyone but don't try it before you dismiss it.

    Clubs and Activities

    International Club, C.A.B., an so many more

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Midnight breakfast has to be the Unusual tradition for me before finals the cafeteria opens to students to play games and eat breakfast. It was a very fun experience.

    What to do for fun

    I joined a Sorority, and many other orginizations on campus. I tried to attend every event on campus and stayed busy.

    Food and Dining

    Not the best but it kept you filled.

    Dorm Life

    It wasn't the worst but it has its ups and downs.

    Academic Rigor

    It keeps you focus or you'll get a notice from the dean for a meeting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focus, join clubs and ask for help when needed.

    In three sentences

    The school campus is very diverse. I love the many different activities on campus. I love the help from the Dean for incoming freshman.

  • 08/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are plenty of clubs for people

    Great for these types of students

    Its great for any type of student. Though at first you seem out of place.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are not really any unusual traditions on campus.

    What to do for fun

    What i do for fun is to hang out my friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just relax! Going to vincennes will be a blast!

    In three sentences

    As being a second year student at Vincennes University i really love living on my own from home. Even though its scary being out on your own for the first time. Since going to school i love hanging out with friends. Even the teachers could be!

  • 09/08/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    29 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus feels very safe, campus police are always around and keeping an eye on things.

    Bang for the buck

    I will be getting the same education here at Vincennes that I would at University of Indy, but for half the price!

    What to do for fun

    On campus there was tons of things to do for fun, a bunch of clubs to get involved in, always acts that they are bringing in, you can swim, work out. Or just hang out and study.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great, a good variety and always warm!

    Dorm Life

    I have visited the school and from what I saw the dorms were great, there is 24 hours security on hand at all time. And campus police is always patrolling.

    Academic Rigor

    I think the classes being small is a good thing, easier to focus on class.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Vincennes offers intramural sports, movies, performances, bowling alley, workout areas, etc. There is something for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    The dining center is really good with great food selection.

    Dorm Life

    I have met lots of nice people in my dorm and I have no problems with anything. It gets a little noisy at times, but nothing that I can't handle.

    Academic Rigor

    So far I am not overwhelmed and am able to keep up with my studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Vincennes University is a great, affordable school to get a good training basis for an occupation.

    In three sentences

    I like that the campus is small and that the class sizes are small as well. I am learning things which I didn't learn in high school, and that gives me a great feeling of satisfaction.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 31 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Read the posters, join clubs, go to student union or library, and recreation facilities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus, and get to know your teachers and your counselor or academic adviser.

    In three sentences

    Vincennes University is a very nice school. In my major the teachers are very welcoming and willing to help you. I am very glad I am attending these University

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I feel like I am getting an excellent education for the amount I pay

    What to do for fun

    There is alot of things the university sets up for the students to do.

    Food and Dining

    Don't do the dining

    Dorm Life

    Live Off Campus

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard but I love a good challenge

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the school, I think that you will like what you find

    In three sentences

    I love the classes and the instructors are pretty awesome. I love getting to set my own hours. I can always move ahead in the classes.

  • 11/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not one problem, ever. Because the campus is located on the property of the Indianapolis International Airport, it is extremely secure.

    Greek Life

    This school does not have any fraternities or sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    None to speak of.

    Great for these types of students

    The courses offered here will be especially profitable for anyone who has been enthralled with aviation for their entire lives, and just can't wait to get involved with aircraft of all sorts.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The most unusual location is likely the large hangar, which houses a fully functional Boeing 737!

    Bang for the buck

    Whatever your reason for coming to the Aviation Technology Center, you will NOT be disappointed in what you receive for the cost of tuition. At a competitive rate with State college tuition fees, you will find ATC's bang for the buck to be unbeatable.

    What to do for fun

    You can get involved with the student chapter of American Association of Airport Executives and take tours of varied aviation and aerospace facilities all over the Indianapolis area.

    Food and Dining

    Food not provided

    Dorm Life

    Student Housing not available

    Academic Rigor

    VU ATC provides a great balance of academic instruction and hands on demonstration. You'll never have to leave asking What were they talking about in class today? because you can see it for yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you aren't familiar with aviation, give yourself a crash course in the basics. Learn the physics of flight and look over the names of different aircraft sections and parts; it will be helpful in understanding any program in which you decide to enroll.

    In three sentences

    Vincennes University Aviation Technology Center is simply THE best in their class! No other FAA approved Aviation Technology school in the region compares with their equipment inventory or instructor experience level. They offer more than one program, including flight training and an Airport Administration degree; come to VU ATC!

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus Police right my the Student Union. They also have students that can become Cadets for the department who do nightly rounds with the Resident Assistantsto make sure everything is okay in the dorms and around the campus.

    Greek Life

    I was never in Greek Life, but they have several clus and activities for this. One of the things the soroities do for pledge week is they kidnap you from your dorm room and preform activities all night.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have all sorts of clubs and activities. They have several religous based clubs and activities. They have a club for what you major is. And of course, they have soroities and fraturities.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great place for students that are International students if they like beingin a small town.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The one issue about being at this university is you really have to like trains. You hear trains all the time morning, noon, and night. When you go back home you will hear trains in your sleep. LOL

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are great. You will come out wiser for the wear. They will give you an inside look into many things life as to offer. The administration and finacial aid is great. They take care of everything for you so you do not have to stress. The dorm life is nice if you like living in that kind of situation. If you do not, it is a lot of money to spend to not have any fun.

    What to do for fun

    You have a bowling alley to attend as well as a fitness center, pool, and recreation area to use if you so chose. If you have a car you are in the middle between two larger cities to go shopping, dining, or other activities around there.

    Food and Dining

    You have a dining hall that serves three meals a day with all you can eat from morning to night. You also have fast food and coffee shops on campus to choose from for a cost unless you have money on your I.D. Card to pay for those items.

    Dorm Life

    You have the option to live in a co-ed dorm or not. You have the option to add a meal plan to your stay. You have the option to have a private room or on with a community bathroom or a suit with two rooms to share a bathroom if you are female.

    Academic Rigor

    The class load can be hard for first time freshman, but if you crack down you can pass even in the hardest classes. The classes are enjoyable and interesting. They are not just book work.

    Tips for prospective students

    You want to make sure you take the oportunity to enter into different classes that interest you. Just because you are taking classes for a cerain major doesn't mean that you can not take classes that are different to you. You might like something new.

    In three sentences

    At Vincennes University you have options to be involved in all different activities while being enrolled. The classes are very hands on and involving to class discussions. You also have the option to have one on one help if you have trouble in a class or subject.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are located on campus. There are call boxes all over the campus for when you might need help. If you work late they will come and walk you back to the dorms or your car.

    Clubs and Activities

    Since it is an historic town, The Paranormal Club offers a scary but true look at the past. The Hospitality club takes you places like French Lick and Clabber girl. The Arts clubs are very active as well, music, theatre, art appreciation. The new 4 million dollar art and sculture builking will be done in the fall of 2013.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are outgoing will go farther as the more you participate the more you will learn. The options are there you just need to go do it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Vincennes is a historic town. They have several historic places to visit and they also have a Farmers market every Saturday. They offer free movies and musicals weekly.

    What to do for fun

    You are only 4 blocks from downtown where there are several shops. The Memorial building and bridge is in the heart of the city. They offer a bus to walmart weekly and Van go is available as well.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is very large and offers several different lines of food. They always offer a well balanced meal. It is very clean and the people are really friendly.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are clean and have RA's for assistance. The RA also has special activities on the weekends for their students.

    Academic Rigor

    They don't really ask to much of you while doing your work, the main perk is show up for class. Attendance is very important and does help your grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your homework and participate in class as it makes your learning easier. Ask for help because it is offered at several levels.

    In three sentences

    Very nice college, the grounds are well kept, the professors are very good and the food in the diner always changes. They offer a wide variety of classes and offer tutoring. They also offer accommodations for the disabled and older students.

  • 12/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The blue button security points are located all over campus. If any student should feel uncomfortable just push the button and a campus officer will be there in under a minute to escort you to your desired location.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life on campus is flourishing ever so quickly. Every sorority and fraternity really adds to the campus by holding blood drives or the occasional food drive.

    Clubs and Activities

    Various clubs offered to students of all interests. Students can even apply to start a new club and will be given funds to run the club.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any student! Vincennes does specialize in the Homeland degree, nursing, and fire science.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Without a football team our homecoming is the first basketball game. The school really rally's around the Trailblazers and the homecoming game, however nontraditional, raises the campus morale.

    Bang for the buck

    The campus makes you feel as if it is your home away from home.

    What to do for fun

    The tennis and volleyball courts tend to be the main attraction in the warmer months. Join in on any game and meet new people.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall offers a variety of foods that are international. The dining hall really opens students up to a cultural diversity of foods.

    Dorm Life

    Vincennes student population is most made up of commuters from the surrounding towns. The weekends are quite which allows for time for students who live on campus to interact.

    Academic Rigor

    Vincennes takes all education levels into account in the classrooms allowing for attainable grades for students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get involved in student activities, it allows you to meet new people who are coming together for something you all have interest in.

    In three sentences

    The small class sizes give students more one on one with professors which benefits all students. Smaller campus allows students to become familiar with one another creating a more comfortable learning environment. Vincennes small town feel is great for a student nervous about going off to school.

  • 12/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Singma, delta

    Great for these types of students

    Special needs, hands on,silent, shy.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing is really around because there is no mall, movie theater has no good movies...

    In three sentences

    Small, unorganized, and hands on

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police are good here. They have emergency call buttons everywhere!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a technology degree or students who are transferring

    Bang for the buck

    Great school for the price. Lots to learn here at a lower price. Its the schools slogan.

    What to do for fun

    Not a lot to do around here, but enough to stay satisfied on a weekend. They have a movie theater and a pretty nice downtown with some shops.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is about like any other school. Its not 5 star quality but its not gas station food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life here is great. Its quiet, so you can study at almost any time. Also its a dry campus, which is good in my opinion.

    Academic Rigor

    If you go to class and pay attention this school is fairly challenging in some areas. In automotive I've learned a lot already, more than in my high school classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply yourself and you'll go far here! Also it may be really easy to skip class but go anyways because you pay for it and it counts for the rest of your life!

    In three sentences

    Vincennes University has a lot to offer its students, with over 200 programs it has something for everyone. The teachers and staff are the most knowledgeable and nice people I've dealt with in all my years going to school. If you apply yourself here, you'll become a very sucsessfull person.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is plenty of things to get involved in at VU. I spend most of my free time with others in my major and working out.

    Food and Dining

    The food is fine.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know too many people that love dorm life. In the major i have chosen I need a room to my self.

    Academic Rigor

    There is not much time to let a class slid. You are involved from the start with classes that will help direct you to your career. As long as you are focused and ask for help if needed no class is too tough.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best tip I can get is stay focused and get involved.

    In three sentences

    I would rate VU as outstanding for the student wanting to use your time getting a degree not playing around. VU is serious about getting down to business not wasting your time with classes that don't mean anything

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    All campuses have issues, as do all towns. VU's campus police are diligent to serve and protect; working with local town and state police when any trouble arrises. They provide escorts to anyone feeling uncomfortable to and from buildings/cars or dorms. We have emergency poles on campus to call for an immediate 911 response.

    Greek Life

    I know of one fraternity. I cannot expound sorry.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a wonderful Christian campus ministry service who have regular meetings and make mission trips yearly. Currently they are serving the Joplin, Missouri families, due to their Tornado devastation last spring.

    Great for these types of students

    This college offers a wonderful transition into the real world, for high school seniors. You have the small town comforts and safety, the big city college experience lacks.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In late Nov-early Dec. we offer African Culture night. Various Dance troops come from all over the US to perform authentic African tribal dances, while you sit and enjoy authentic African dishes prepared by our chef.

    Bang for the buck

    VU is one of the cheapest colleges to attend in the Tri-state area.

    What to do for fun

    VU has a brand new Natatorium and Gym areas with indoor and outdoor walking/running tracks. We have our own bowling center, offer movie nights, attractions, as well as the Red Skelton Center. We host a myriad of multi-cultural events during the year, and is a little more than an hours drive to Evansville.

    Food and Dining

    Since Vincennes is a community of 20,000 it is easy to find restaurants. If you are on campus they have a small food court (in the center, not sure of the hall).

    Dorm Life

    Sorry--I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I am not a traditional student and have to fight for my good grades. However, VU has been an enjoyable experience, and I have learned much. Most of the instructors are flexible and will go the extra mile to assist you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even if you are considered a commuter, be prepared to walk several blocks and brave the crazy Indiana weather. Yes, the instructors and classes are worth it!

    In three sentences

    VU is currently adding 4-year degreed programs. to become a true university. This will aide in not having to tranfer to another institution for continuing education.

  • 01/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I go to the studio and dance

    Food and Dining

    It could be better

    Dorm Life

    It could be better

    Academic Rigor

    Very good

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard your freshmen year and don't slack.

    In three sentences

    Its a seven out of ten

  • 01/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of extracurricular activities.

    Food and Dining

    Food is in the middle. Not the best, and not the worst.

    Dorm Life

    Share a dorm room with a room mate, don't have private bathrooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Great teachers but I think a few could be a little better at their jobs.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will usually get accepted if you apply.

    In three sentences

    Vincennes University has a smaller campus in a smaller town. About 5000 students attend here regularly. There is a lot of History here but it is about an hour away from Evansville.

  • 03/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Vincennes University is a great transitional college for those who are not sure what major they want.

    Bang for the buck

    I love the fact that we don't have to pay for books.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you come to Vincennes ready to learn, with an open mind, and motivation.

    In three sentences

    Vincennes University is one of the best schools that I have ever been to. If my high school was as helpful and friendly as Vincennes is, I believe that I would have done a lot better in high school. The instructors are hands on and they will take their time to make sure you know the curriculum.

  • 03/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police are everywhere. They're constantly making sure people are being safe and using their seatbelts, and not speeding.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who like small town charm, small classrooms and a widened community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Walking on the bricks with a shopping cart is a well known sight.

    Bang for the buck

    For the attention the teachers pay on students, it is worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    For fun there are numerous shops and bars located throughout the area. There is swimming, bowling, and church orientated activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is subpar at best.

    Dorm Life

    There are many activities on campus in the warmer months, but it turns into a ghost town in the winter.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are highly achieved by students if accurate studying measures are taken and the student shows up to class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for students is for them to keep themselves protected. Attend class on time and do homework when required. It really helps.

    In three sentences

    In three sentences, you can describe Vincennes University to having a clean outer appearance. Although the academics may not be completely on point, the school's beauty and small classrooms make up a difference. Having a small campus is like having a small community.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I felt safe on campus the presence of campus police helped ease some of the scare.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many activities at VU sports, music.

    Great for these types of students

    Vu is a school for all types of students.

    Bang for the buck

    I really think college is expensive and it's not a fun feeling knowing there is not much help for the middle class other than loans. I enjoy college but, it's a struggle to pay for it all.

    What to do for fun

    Swimming, bowling, movies, and the entertainmnet they bring in.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not the best.

    Dorm Life

    It is a different experience and I have enjoyed the freedom.

    Academic Rigor

    It can be a challenge but, the guidance is there to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure not to take on more than you can handle the first year.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy attending VU, the people, teachers, and office staff are very helpful.

  • 07/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    VU Police Department patrols the campus very well, making it a very very safe campus to learn and live on.

    Food and Dining

    Tecumseh Dining Center (or TDC as everyone calls it), provides a very diverse, healthy, and delicious menu. Some items include fresh deli sandwiches and subs, pizza, hometown cooking, full salad bar, and much much more.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm rooms are comfortable and residence halls are cleaned on a daily basis which provides sanitary and comfortable conditions to live in. Also, remodeling and updating are being done to keep the dorm life modern.

    Academic Rigor

    No matter what major you choose, you will get out what you put into it. Do your best and work hard so you get the most out of the money you are spending on your education.

    In three sentences

    Vincennes University offers a very diverse community and many student activities. The campus is beautiful and a very nice, safe place to live. The instructors really care about each student and the education they provide.

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is pretty secure. There is a campus police station here on campus. There are blue pools positioned all over campus just in case of an emergency. Also if you have a late night class or your going to your car at night you can dial a number and they will come and give you an escort to where ever you need to go.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life here on campus is great. There are several greek organizations that you can get involved in. Everyone is so friendly and you can pick and choose. I highly suggest you get involved in greek life because you make many memories and some amazing friendships.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 200 different clubs and organizations here on campus. If you are interested in starting your own club it is very easy to do also.

    Great for these types of students

    Vincennes University is great for any type of students. We have multicultural clubs and organizations too. Vincennes University has an open door policy.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a few traditions on campus. One of them is during family weekend in september and you get groups of ten and connects rafts to each other and you race other teams down the wabash river. We also have the Harlem Wizards here every year.

    Bang for the buck

    This is one of the cheapest colleges in Indiana. Its a lot cheaper then most colleges.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots to do for fun here on campus. Two or more times a week there are activites on campus at the Red Skeleton. Ranging from comedians to illusionists. Most of these events are interesting. It is also free with your student ids. Also there is a awesome recreation center here on campus. You can play basketball, volleyball, and work out. There is awesome a great aquatic center equipped with rock climbing, whirl pools, and a hot tub. We have several outside amenitites to including tennis courts, basketball courts, and sand volleyball. The recreation center and aquatic center is free for VU students as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining facility here at the university is very nice. It is newly remodeled which is really nice. The food there is pretty good. You have choices between burgers, pizza, salads, lunch sandwiches, and two lines of different home cooked meals.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life here at the University is better then most. You have a choice between having a private or sharing rooms. We have several options here at the university ranging from apartment styles to the basic dorm. The room sizes are pretty spacious which is a good thing so that you do not have to live on top of each other. If you have problems with your roommate it is very easy to switch rooms. The resident life assistants are very nice people to. They are there for you in every situation. About once a month they have some kind of activities for their halls. We have had movie nights, game nights, and even tie dye nights.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here at the university are outstanding! The advisors and professors really help you succeed here at Vincennes University. They have office hours that are designed for you to come and ask questions about homework or preparing for a test. The class sizes are average 15 to 25 students. This allows more one on one time for the professors to help you. Over all the academics here at VIncennes University are great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips from me to you would be to make sure you get involved on campus. I got involved with Campus Activities Board, Student Government, and i joined a sorority. Its very important to get involved because not only does it look good on your resume but it also allows you to make some great friendships and to get involved on campus. Another tip is that if you kind of have an idea of what you want to major in but your still not completly sure make sure you major in general studies for now. You don't want to waste a whole semester on something you are not going to do. It is very easy to change your major to.

    In three sentences

    I personally would rate Vincennes an eight out of a ten on a ten point scale. It is a very small school so it allows you to get to know a lot of people. The professors are also pretty awesome.

  • 07/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus has a very close campus police station that any student can go to. The school also has emergency buttons all over campus in case you do not feel safe walking alone or if there's trouble around. the only thing the school needs to fix is the lights around the school because they are very dim. Sometimes too dim that you can't tell that they are even on.

    Greek Life

    There are several Sororities and Fraternities that Vincennes offers. Some are local but some are International. Joining the Greek Life offers students to get involved in campus, get community hours, be involved with other clubs and organizations, have the experience to work in groups, raise money for different causes, and to have fun.

    Clubs and Activities

    Vincennes University offers many clubs and activities. Some clubs range from Nerf Club to Education Club. Some activities that Vincennes offer for the students range from the Aquatic Center to the Bowling Alley.

    Great for these types of students

    Vincennes has a lot to offer for students that are very athletic. The school has many different weight rooms, yoga room, dance studio, cardio room, inside and outside track, inside or outside tennis, inside or outside basketball, beach volleyball, volleyball Foosball tables, swimming pool with rock climbing wall and many other things that athletic students would love.

    What to do for fun

    Vincennes university has fairs that the students can go to. these fairs offer students free souvenirs and sometimes activities that they can do, for example bumper cars and blow-up obstacle courses. Another thing students can do is go bowling. students get a very cheap price to go bowling and the bowling alley food is also very good. besides the activities that Vincennes has to offer from concerts, to movie nights the town of Vincennes doesn't have anything fun to do for students. the only thing Vincennes has is a Wal-Mart and a Kolhs.

    Food and Dining

    the dining center at the school has pretty much the same thing every week. you have pizza, subs, cheeseburgers and fries, salads, and the one food item that changes from time to time. The school needs to have better quality food since the students pay 7 dollars every time they go in there.

    Dorm Life

    certain dorms are quite wonderful. for example Vanderburgh Hall, this dormitory is for females students only. this dorm is very clean and you have your own showers. Another one is Clark Hall. this dorm is like an apartment. you have four people to a room but you also get two bathrooms and a living room. the other dorms need some improvements but they do the job. they keep a roof above your head.

    Academic Rigor

    one challenge that students face with their academics is staying focus and going to class everyday.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend class everyday, missing one class can make you be behind since some classes only meet certain days. Have an open mind to new experiences. Try different clubs and organizations. being more involved in activities means more time to meet new people. Ask questions whenever you don't understand something. New students believe that in college you can't ask questions but this is wrong. Teachers will appreciate you being involved and they will know that you are paying attention. Have fun, but remember that you are there to gain more knowledge and graduate to become a successful individual.

  • 09/06/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    49 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there isent a lot off campus but on campus lots of stuff happens.

    Food and Dining

    Food pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are nice

    Academic Rigor

    havent checked out how hard the classes are yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    it low cost and a good starting point in your college career.

    In three sentences

    Its a nice campus and the people are great.

  • 11/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Don't Go

    Clubs and Activities

    I love the Cross Country Program

    Great for these types of students

    This school is good for right out of high school students

    In three sentences

    Vincennes is a college that can give opportunity for 2 year degrees and students that are unsure of their majors. The professors are very nice and helpful to get the best education for the students. This school is good for transfer students to gain GPA to their next college.

  • 11/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join a Club !

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focus in your study and don't get caught up in social life.

    In three sentences

    Vincennes University on a scale from 1-10 is a 7. I would say this because the organization I am involved in. It is a great experiences for the real world.

  • 11/30/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    52 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cops everywhere

    What to do for fun

    There is alot of different activites & social life.

    Food and Dining

    TDC's food is average. There is plenty of places off campus to eat as well.

    Dorm Life

    Ive stayed in the dorms plenty of times & i love the dorm life so far.

    Academic Rigor

    From what ive heard from my friends that attend here the academics are GREAT!

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great school for people who have a low gpa, GED, or slacked off in high school.

    In three sentences

    I believe vincennes is a good school. It seems like it is slow paced & laid back. I cant wait to start in january.

  • 12/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Join on campus activities and make time for studying.

    In three sentences

    Vincennes is a nice school to attend. The class sizes are small, allowing students to gain more help from teachers. This school also has many majors and opportunities to choose from.

  • 03/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    puttputt, archery, swimming, working out, games, clubs, greek life, concerts, fairs and such.

    Food and Dining

    Dining center=no Student union =yes

    Dorm Life

    Always getting better each year and safer as well.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers are very tough, but most don't care. Just depends on which one you get.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you talk to the adviser they set you up with. Make sure it is a right fit for you. Don't eat at dining center unless have a choice. Get Flex dollars so you can eat at student union.

    In three sentences

    Cheap to go to. Plenty of clubs. Growing by the year.

  • 04/24/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    55 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety reports and reviews are one of the lowest accidents in the state. They build their whole campus around their students safety.

    Greek Life

    I have not explored the greek life yet, be hear that I am going to love it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of activities around to keep students busy. Their are clubs around, but they make sure they have the right people inside. As in nice looking, well mannered, safe, and no boring times!

    Great for these types of students

    Students from all ages, back grounds, areas, race, fast learners, and not so fast learners love this college. They have a mission to make everyone feel at home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of their locations is at the Indianapolis Airport, and it is a wonderful school site to learn your craft.

    Bang for the buck

    Pricing is very reasonable compared to other colleges, and the education that you get is compared to none. Great education, people, dorms, food, professors, fun, and safe, with all of that you cant lose.

    What to do for fun

    Anything that is safe and not hurting anyone else. I would just encourage everyone to finish their work first.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is pretty good and they offer many different options. But, if want the have some great food spots in a short distance around the campus.

    Dorm Life

    I hear it is the place to be, because that where you get to meet most people. And is the best place to know everything that is going on around the school.

    Academic Rigor

    It is made just for what you are taking, a lot of work and hard, but the staff will not let you down.

    Tips for prospective students

    They have more then one location. They have a wonderful web site for students. Also, the cost is fair compared to other colleges.

    In three sentences

    this school has a great web page, which makes it easy to find help and get help. It is the first college to form in Indiana. They make everyone feel welcome, makes everything so easy.