Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Virginia Highlands Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/10/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Sign-up for classes and pay tuition as soon as possible to ensure that you can get into the classes that you want. The school will go through and drop students from classes that they have not paid for either on the first day of classes or within the first week. Also, many of the textbooks can be found on Amazon.com for much cheaper than in the bookstore.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are comparable to many courses offered at local universities, for currently about $101 per credit hour. VHCC offers many foundation scholarships to students, and most of the classes will transfer to 4-year schools.

    Am enjoying being here

    Every class I have taken while here (4 semesters) has been enjoyable, and you can tell that (the majority) of the staff there loves their job. Everyone is extremely friendly and helpful.

  • 05/16/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Aren't good with test like the ACT and other admission's text. Its also a good school for someone who was a C student and is looking to to better with their school career. Its also good for transferring out too.

  • 07/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    VHCC is great for any kind of student looking to save thousands of dollars. VHCC offers specialized programs such as the nursing program where a student can earn their RN degree in just two years, an HVAC program, a transfer program, and numerous other programs. Many people that have went to VHCC have said a lot of the classes are easier that class at a four year school. So, that's a plus if one must take classes such as Calculus with Analytical Geometry or Organic Chemistry.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're having trouble filling out forms, VHCC offers help to ensure students are doing everything correctly (such as filling out the FASFA form). I've found that it is easier to just go down to the college if needing to speak with someone in Admissions or the Financial Aid office. Otherwise, it'll seem like you're playing phone tag. ALWAYS show up for class, even if you are going to be late. It's a VHCC policy to drop students from a class if they miss three classes in a row. With this warning, don't be surprised if you play hooky three class meetings in a row and finally do decide to go to class, only to find you've been dropped. That would be no fun for you, the professor, the people working in Admissions, and the people working in Financial Aid!

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get your bang for your buck at VHCC. The average cost for a full time student at VHCC is around (give or take a few bucks) $2,000 a semester. My high school offered a program where if one volunteered a certain number of hours each year while they were in high school, then the student received two free years at VHCC (the down side of this? Books wasn't included in the offer). I went with this option and I calculated that I saved around $65,000 dollars by going to VHCC for two years before transferring to a four year college. Big positive in my book (and my bank account)!

    Am enjoying being here

    I really like VHCC. The campus is nice and you can always find a nice quite place to study (well, almost always. There are a few times when the student lounge is full of loud-I'm-just-here-for-the-heck-of-it students. In those cases, move to the library).

    Am learning a lot

    The class sizes seem rather large at the beginning of the semester, but it seems like many students drop out by the time the middle of the semester rolls around. The professors are always willing to help students in need and since they are available to work with students, I feel as if I am learning more.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    While attending Virginia Highlands Community College I have never really felt unsafe or threatened. We have security on campus and also have drills to prepare for emergency procedures.

    Clubs and Activities

    Virginia Highlands Community College offers a huge variety of clubs. With this variety it is hard to not find a club that interests you in some way. The clubs and activities are also scheduled at various times which help to make it more accessible to students who are enrolled in classes at the time.

    What to do for fun

    Due to the fact that Virginia Highlands Community College is focus on the community, they work to offer students a wide array of activities on campus ranging from movie nights on the lawn, to tye dye decorating, to cook outs. There is almost always something going on if you are in the mood to do something.

    Food and Dining

    Food is offered on campus through the cafeteria, and in the snack bar through vending machines. The food offered in the cafeteria offers a great variety of great tasting foods at a fairly reasonable price. If you are not in the mood for this food there are also several restaurants within minutes of the school.

    Dorm Life

    This is not applicable to Virginia Highlands Community College. Since it is a community college, all students are commuters. There are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors and courses offered at Virginia Highlands Community College range in difficulty and work load. As in any school there will always be classes that are more difficult than others. However, Virgina Highlands Community College works with students to help ensure success in every situation.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip that I would offer to prospective students is that if you have been a Washington County Community Scholar for three out of your four years in high school, you are eligible for a scholarship that can practically pay in entirety your tuition for two years. Another tip I would offer, would be to get connected to the faculty and staff and not to be afraid to ask questions. Coming from someone who ask a ton of questions, the staff is eager to help you with any problems you may have.

    In three sentences

    Virginia Highlands Community College has a focus on enriching students lives through education and involvement within the community. They have a very close knit campus and a staff that is willing to help individual students with their unique needs. If you are looking for a college that is small enough to provide a student body that feels more like a family then just a bunch of students, while also providing the freedoms of college life, then Virginia Highlands Community College is definitely a college to seriously consider.

  • 03/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    intramural sports and clubs.

    Academic Rigor

    typical for a community college

    Tips for prospective students

    go to class!

    In three sentences

    friendly and helpful people, small classes. good for a cc.

  • 03/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Parents, people who haven't been is school for a while, and students that aren't sure what they want to do with their life.

    What to do for fun

    There are several organizations on campus. If you can think of it, they probably have it.

    Food and Dining

    There is a snack bar but mostly machines.

    Academic Rigor

    Very manageable, but you must put in the time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to study hard. This isn't high school, you won't slide by.

    In three sentences

    This is a great setting for students who have been out of the classroom for a while. Very easy to apply and classes that fit your schedule

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The office of campus police is located right in the middle of campus and you can always see one of the officers walking around campus. This school always feels very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Virginia Highlands offers tons of great clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Virginia Highlands is great for students either right out of high school who aren't sure what they want to do with their lives or who just aren't ready for a large school. It is also great for non traditional students (adults 30 and over) who are coming back to school or just going for the first time who want to better themselves.

    Bang for the buck

    The greatest thing about this school other than it's sense of community is the cost of tuition. You won't find prices like this at a four year school and the education is excellent for the amount you're paying.

    What to do for fun

    Virginia Highlands offers an endless amount of activities to keep you involved and to help you interact with other students. There are dances, plays, movies, socials, live music, and tons of other fun events.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is decent and the prices aren't bad.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Don't be fooled into thinking you'll have it easy because it's a two year school. Virginia Highlands is just as academically challenging as any four year institution. Be prepared to come to class every day and put aside a lot of time for studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    For any student considering coming to Virginia Highlands, it is completely worth it! The tuition is cheap and it's really a good deal because you're getting a top notch education. Don't feel embarrassed because it's a community college, you're getting the same education as everyone else, but at a better cost and with better instructors who will actually remember your name.

    In three sentences

    Virginia Highlands is the perfect school for someone not quite ready for a four-year institution. This school has an excellent sense of community and you'll have constant support from other students and faculty members. This is a great place to evaluate your current situation and make plans for the future all while getting a great education from instructors who are really invested in giving you all the help you need.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police everywhere and there has never been any trouble.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to mention.

    Great for these types of students

    All.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Just beautiful up on that hill. and the college is clean

    What to do for fun

    Lots of activities at the school.

    Food and Dining

    excellent food

    Dorm Life

    I live close so I will live at home do not know about dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    Great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, keep a positive attitude and ask for help when they need it.

    In three sentences

    They are the greatest. Always ready to help students get their gols in life.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    During the semester, VHCC has many activities you can participate in. At the beginning of the each semester is what is called Campus Craze Days and it is a week of games and activities that can award prizes and chances to make friends. Then there are dances and other activities scattered out the year.

    Food and Dining

    The food choices are plenty in the Wolves Den, and it is very good. I have to say, it's better than surrounding restaurants I've tried.

    Academic Rigor

    All the classes I have participated in, the teachers incorporate real life situations to what is being taught so that the students can see why it is so important to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have fun with the variety of campus activities and never be afraid to talk to your counselor or teachers.

    In three sentences

    VHCC is a wonderful school with a clean and friendly environment. The professors, deans, and other staff members are always around to help students.

  • 02/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    While I have never felt in danger on campus, the police officers are fairly lazy who just walk around and stare at you.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are some great options with some others which are mediocre.

    Great for these types of students

    Any.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is so cheap that most students are fully covered by their financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    The college consistently hosts events and other exciting activities. There is also a game room where a pool table sits for anyone to enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    Cheap food in the lounge area, nothing too greatly special.

    Dorm Life

    Non-existing.

    Academic Rigor

    I hold two jobs and continue to maintain nearly a 4.0.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask other students if they have had a specific teacher/class before. While BIO 101 may have the same worth of credits, the teachers themselves will definitely be a difference when it comes to your enjoyment/GPA.

    In three sentences

    This school is a great step up from high school while not being as overloading as a 4 year institution. While some other students may make this feel like the 13th grade, the faculty and supervisors definitely make this college feel as though it is better than any other community college.

  • 04/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There has never really been any problems on campus, but if something were to come up, our campus police are ready!

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs to choose from, and there is always stuff going on!

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who isn't quite ready to leave home, who want an education but don't want a lot of debt building up, anyone who wants to come BACK after several years out of school, or anyone who just wants to further their education!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is this Labyrinth on campus that is in one big circle. You're supposed to follow the colored bricks until you make it out where you started!!

    Bang for the buck

    Financial aid pretty much covered everything of mine! I changed my major once, so I had to pay for 2 extra classes but that is it! I will be graduating with my bachelors in 2 years, with HALF of the debt of a student who went straight on to a 4 year school.

    What to do for fun

    There are events going on a lot that the SGA puts on. Last month we had a Mocktail party where they served alcohol-free drinks. They even set it up like an actual bar. The State Police were here with their drunk goggles and let people drive an obstacle course to see what drunk driving was like. It was all to raise awareness for alcohol abuse and not driving while drunk. The first week back to class each semester, the SGA has a week full of events for students to get to know each other and to let loose and have fun.

    Food and Dining

    There is a little snack bar on campus, but I mainly went out to get food! There are restaurants all over to pick from, though!

    Dorm Life

    Since there are no dorms and I got to live at home and sleep in my comfy bed, I give dorm life 5 stars! Comfy beds and it feels like home. ;)

    Academic Rigor

    I honestly thought it would be a lot easier than it actually is. I feel that I do more work sometimes than students at a four year school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Everyone here wants to help you! The teachers get to know you by name and everyone makes you feel like you are at home. Don't be afraid to talk to anyone about anything here. If you're having a problem with school, need tutoring, applying for scholarships, or anything, there is someone here to help you!!

    In three sentences

    A small, comfortable learning environment where you're not just a number; you're a person that the teachers and staff truly want to help! Plus, it's cheap too!

  • 10/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Seems great. I see security officers often on this small campus.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    A few study groups and clubs are available

    Great for these types of students

    ANY. very diverse. Anyone kind find someone to talk to.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    hmm none

    Bang for the buck

    This school is pretty much free. They are willing to help anyone come to school.

    What to do for fun

    Go in the game room in the wolves den, meet new friends, or even play football out on the lawn!

    Food and Dining

    There is a little snack bar in the den and it is very delicious!! Inexpensive too

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    Fair. Some teachers/classes are hard, some are easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just focus on your classes and work hard to make good grades! It shouldn't be TOO bad.

    In three sentences

    VHCC is a good place to start the college experience. Classrs aren't too hard, and the teachers are willing to help. Everyone here is very welcoming too!