Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Virginia Union University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/20/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 out of 12 people found this review useful. 1 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students are get involved on campus and it would give you better position on your campus. campus does get a little boring sometimes so just get involved and there would be a lot of events to unbore you!

    Am enjoying being here

    Virginia Union University is a very enjoyable campus because the environment, the different cultures, and the history behind the school is very interesting.

    Am learning a lot

    Virginia Union University is a very small school. That's a plus when in the classroom because you work close with your professors. You get more out of your learning my classroom.

  • 01/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Establish your self early on in the school year show your professor's that you want to learn and they will go head over heels for you. Campus Gets boring very easily ( no cable ) so you'll have to find things to occupy your time, and lastly MAKE SURE YOUR FINANCES ARE IN ORDER

    Am enjoying being here

    I came here knowing the school was an HBCU but I believed the campus woudl be a little more diverse, also the majority of the people here are ghetto still have a hood mentality and disrespectful. To me it feels like i am dealing with a bunch of immature children ( no matter where you go you will encounter the same problem )

    Am learning a lot

    Learning wise depending on you major Virginia Union has a lot to offer you have small class sizes and your professors are more than willing to always lend a helping hand

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    is surounded by the police-training academy of richmond police training academy. it feels very safe while you are on the campus.

    Greek Life

    alpha kappa mu honor society, alpha phi omega.

    Clubs and Activities

    alpha kappa mu honor society, alpha phi omega, carver promise, chapel choir, community of scholars, concert choir, greek letter organizations, yearbook, student newspaper, university players and also central intercollegiate athletic association (ciaa), basketball, cross- country, football, golf, softball, tennis, track & field, volleyball

    Great for these types of students

    for students who want to get that one on one with their professor. who wants to be in a small class room setting. who want their safe and students to have a family feel and people who you ca go to in time of your needs.

    What to do for fun

    i love doing anything that i can think of that would be fun at the time. i believe in having a positive circle. i love dancing, raping, and making others laugh.

    Food and Dining

    i really like the fact they have fried chicken wednesday's; i love chicken. they also have all kinds of pizza and different favors. that's all i needed to hear i love pizza.

    Dorm Life

    they have dorms that are for different students with certain majors. the dorm was in a nice sitting. i really like the fact that washing clothes is free. enrollment of students are 1,500.

    Academic Rigor

    i have not had a change to take any classes. i learned on the tour that they have small classes and have 55% females and 45% males and 65% of grauadtion rates.

    Tips for prospective students

    it would be best to set up a day where you can take a tour of the campus. you can get that one on one if you would like by your tour person. it would be a student and its great because they can let you know how they felt first attending the school!

    In three sentences

    the school is an ten out of ten. the staff and students give you a family vibe when you are on campus. everyone is so helpful and the school has great history behind it.

  • 05/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Focused, looking to join a BGLO, people majoring in religious studies

    Tips for prospective students

    Have fun, and make the most out of it. Union is what you make it.

    Bang for the buck

    The education that most professors provide is exactly what you're going to need if you plan on going to grad school.

    Am enjoying being here

    Richmond in general is a little boring if you don't have a car, but there is always something close to do if its just going t hang out at VCU, if you do have a car the opportunities are endless, and it helps when you have good friends on campus.

    Am learning a lot

    Most of the teachers are really helpful, and they try to make sure that you have everything you need to be successful in their classes. Since the classes are smaller, the teachers have the ability to know you on a personal level, and that helps when it comes to extra credit

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the safety is very good you can sleep outside and nothing bad will happen to you

    Greek Life

    the Greek life is alright to me bu probably awesome to you

    Clubs and Activities

    im not in any club because i run track

    Great for these types of students

    the activity center is great

    What to do for fun

    i run track , and also play the playstation 3

    Food and Dining

    the food is wonderful

    Dorm Life

    the life is awesome

    Academic Rigor

    very good the teachers will help you big time

    Tips for prospective students

    leave the girls alone lol

    In three sentences

    there rate will be an A and from a scale from 1-10 will give the school a 9.5

  • 02/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    athletics and video / online gaming

    Food and Dining

    four stars.

    Dorm Life

    four stars.

    Academic Rigor

    four stars.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply and apply early.

    In three sentences

    vuu is an excellent school and it is rich in black history. it reinforces exactly what i'm majoring in - history and how it applies to current events. i would recommend vuu to any perspective student.

  • 06/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe ! there are campus police on call 24/7

    Greek Life

    i don't know much about Greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    cj club, chess club, etc

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    step shows, the square, hendo

    Bang for the buck

    Its a private school and i love the size

    What to do for fun

    homecoming of course, step shows, probates, (sports) games, programs, etc

    Food and Dining

    food is excellent

    Dorm Life

    dorm life can be fun, but just be careful of the people around you.

    Academic Rigor

    the academics is what you make it, as long as you pay attention, take notes & of course study. you'll be fine

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get your work done first then activities

    In three sentences

    You'll definitely fall in love with the campus. full of adventure & activities. I would love to encourage more people to enroll

  • 10/30/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    Yes because they have a lot to offer for you.

    Will learn a lot

    Yes because its a small environment and has small classes. So you can focus a lot more and get your work done when your suppposed to.

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I think that campus safety is important. Not only are we familiar with security locations as a family of students we tend to watch out for each other as well. is surounded by the police-training academy of richmond police training academy. it feels very safe while you are on the campus

    Greek Life

    alpha kappa mu honor society, alpha phi omega.

    Clubs and Activities

    alpha kappa mu honor society, alpha phi omega, carver promise, chapel choir, community of scholars, concert choir, greek letter organizations, yearbook, student newspaper, university players and also central intercollegiate athletic association (ciaa), basketball, cross- country, football, golf, softball, tennis, track & field, volleyball

    Bang for the buck

    The only price tag I can put on my education is making sure I make the grade so that I feel I have not lost any money paid for my education. When I think about the rising cost of education I realize the importance of making that passing grade.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, I hang with my dorm friends, whether its walking to the store, studying together or catching up on our favorite reality T.V. show in one of our rooms.

    Food and Dining

    I love food! The food here is good... I do take advantage of the variety of meals prepared and appreciate the cooks!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life has made me better as a independent thinker. I no longer rely on someone else to be sure where I need to be. I love the family life that I have established here! I would not have learned these independent skills living at home and attending college.

    Academic Rigor

    i have not had a change to take any classes. i learned on the tour that they have small classes and have 55% females and 45% males and 65% of grauadtion rates.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students are get involved in campus activities to get your familiar with campus life and the environment surrounding the campus. This would give students the advanatage for sucess.

    In three sentences

    Virginia Union University is a very small school. The classroom setting are comfortable and the instructor's give personalize attention. You get more out of your learning my classroom.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent. On top of the job all the time.

    Greek Life

    Haven't seen or heard of hazing.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many to choose from. They make is possible for everyone to be a part of something.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for the students who are motivated to make their future a successful one.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The faculty and staff are unusually involved. The not only encourage to get involved but they stay involved, also.

    Bang for the buck

    They make it completely affordable to attend college.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved! Join the groups, teams, and organizations on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Simple and convenient is the way to a college students heart.

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are of a good size. Also, kept clean.

    Academic Rigor

    They have high standards on their academic standings for their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved early! Do not wait around your first year looking at the organizations and events. Also, do not procrastinate.

    In three sentences

    I can say that I haven't even attended VUU but I already feel welcomed to this university. Amazing.

  • 06/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Round the clock patrol, and a staff that keeps safety a main concern helps me keep a peace of mind when living on campus. There is never a time when there is not a way to contact help in case of emergency. All of these things combine make it easier to sleep at night.

    Greek Life

    The fraternities and Sororities on campus are a very important in campus life. The Greek organizations create a lot of on campus activities which helps with the morale of the students on campus. These organizations also serve as role models for students on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Observing the activities and resources that are presented on campus the students can see that their hard earn dollars are put to good use. The maintenance and up keep of the residence and lecture halls exhibits that funds are being budgeted correctly. For the money that is spent towards the university it is evident that this is money well spent.

    What to do for fun

    Along with the many activities that clubs, groups, and organizations offer the university also has an amazing student center. For those who like to stay in shape the university has a state of the art Health and Fitness center. The library also serves as a place were students can enjoy the use of computers and other students.

    Food and Dining

    The mix of dishes that are served in the dining area gives each student diversity when it comes to eating. Each student is greeted kindly by the staff and served in a timely manner. each meal seems to be cooked wit time and care and served with a great deal of love.

    Dorm Life

    The living on campus is a growing experience. Most individuals are not use to the community showers, but with that being said the janitorial service keeps the bathroom running at optimum efficiency. The love that is shared between dorm mates at Virginia Union is unmatched.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor of the classes that are available at Virginia Union is very intense. The intensity of these course is very high and challenging but, the care and compassion that is shown makes the courses much more manageable. The resources that are at the students disposal eases the pressure when it comes to handling classes at the university.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for prospective is to engage in on campus activities. Also another tip for upcoming students is to join clubs, it looks good for your resume. Take college at a pace that you feel comfortable with because if not you will become overwhelmed

    In three sentences

    To attend such a distinguished school such as Virginia Union University is an honor and a privilege. To share in the experience in which many influential people have undergone is a life changing experience. Earning my degree from this prestige's university is an amazing opportunity from a wonderful school.

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Every meal leaves students satisfied and have them coming back for seconds.

    Dorm Life

    A wonderful opportunity to meet others, and opens the doors to a larger social life.

    Academic Rigor

    Balancing extracurricular activities and studies may be a hardship, but a schedule will solve that problem.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, work hard

    In three sentences

    The history of this school has opened the doors for success in the future. The dear old walls of this university has changed the minds and outlooks of those who has first stepped foot on the campus. Virginia Union is a institute of higher education liberal arts, and is remarkable.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    13 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Theres a gate up around the entire campus, and security closes it during parties.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is constantly in full effect, they run the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I did not take part in any of the students clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Bookworms, Party lovers, Jocks, and pretty much anyone that is not super artsy.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The last day of freshman week typically consists of a campus wide game of man hunt. When it snows there will be campus wide snow ball fights. If it rains watch out for the millions of lake sizes puddles surrounding the dorms, halls, and parking lots. Homecoming events will most likely be a blur. And finally, if the power goes out pray your not in Haunted Harshorn Hall.

    Bang for the buck

    There aren't many internships offered through the school. Surrounding campuses take VUU students as a joke. The only marquee alumni is Douglas Wilder. Student Accounts and Registrar will force you to learn adult responsibility fast. It is extremely easy to make a name for yourself here, most students look over the benefits of a smaller institution. Your teachers will know your name and are willing to work with you in ways far more flexible than any other school I know of. You will know everyone at the entire school by the end of the first month. While on campus the students looks past one another with sneers, but off campus there is a serious abundance of VUU pride.

    What to do for fun

    There are occasional movie nights. Most people hang around the game room during the week and every few weeks the student organization will hire a DJ for an alcohol free party in the main room of the Henderson Building.

    Food and Dining

    The food intake consists of tasteless calories that leave you nauseous and starving after finishing each meal. Thank God Burger King, Subway, Mcdonalds, Popeye's, and countless other restaurants are within walking distance!

    Dorm Life

    I lived in MacVicar Hall Suite side, my roommates were fun. We all went grocery shopping together and had a few parties. There was an incident where I saw a roach and a mouse, but its hard to avoid those living conditions when in one building with a hundred or so other people living beside one another.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not challenging freshman year because the main goal of the faculty and staff is to ensure that everyone is on the same academic level before reaching their sophomore year. Although I stoped attending VUU after only one year, I remained in Richmond for two more years and kept in touch with many of the people I met while attending the school. I always had to study for exams, write papers, and keep up with homework while they had next to no assignments and a ton of take home tests and quizzes!

    Tips for prospective students

    Speak with Virginia Union University students of all classifications meaning Sophmores, Juniors, and Seniors.

    In three sentences

    Virginia Union University was a great starter school for me. I am African American and grew up in a predominately caucasian area, so I was excited to learn all about my culture first hand at an HBCU. I attended VUU for one year. The city of Richmond is packed with events, art shows, clubs, bars, great shopping strips; But, All of the city life is kept sheltered from Virginia Union Students. During Freshman week you learn there are certain establishments and college campuses you will not be allowed to set foot in just because you are a Virginia Union Student. Most students only travel a far as the four minuet walk to VCU's campus! The social life is what you make it, and the education is pretty underwhelming. Before you go on to read the rest of this review, I want to admit that I wasn't completely dedicated to my studies before attending college (with the exception of my two AP courses). I am basing these ratings off of my individual high school experience and how much I learned attending another College housed in the same city.

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    police are always on the scene

    Greek Life

    lots of it

    Clubs and Activities

    destinys daugthters sororities fraternities alumni council student govt beauty pagents etc

    Great for these types of students

    People who didnt do all that well in highschool, football players, and other athletes,

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sororities and fraternities dominate the campus

    Bang for the buck

    Not really worth 7,343 a semester

    What to do for fun

    Go to the local clubs, enjoy homecoming, drink responsibly, and have fun !

    Food and Dining

    Food is more repetitive than anything. Soul food served on wednesdays, and for the remainder of the week, its nothing too exciting. The cafe is signifiganlty small, and frequenlty becomes over capacitated with students throughout that day,

    Dorm Life

    DROMS SUCK .

    Academic Rigor

    Courses arent very hard at all. Professors know you personally, so one can be more engaged in what is going on. Classes are usually small, but some of them can be relativley hot in the winter because of excessive heating. Always meet with your advisor to kake sure you are on track to graduate, and find internships !!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your balances are paid upon arrival . Be sure you have a room assignment before things get crazy Stay social, there are miniscule, but fun connections to make here Live off campus if you can. DORMS SUCK

    In three sentences

    Its definatley not worth all the tuition being charged. Nevertheless, the campus and classes are small, so students are more engaged. A lot of the financial aid is dispersed to athletes rather than students actually working hard. Decent school overall, should be more critical on who they accept in their school

  • 09/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Very diverse, fitting nearly any type of student

    Great for these types of students

    Religious students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Must attend Chapel every Thursday @11 because it is required for graduation. It is required for everyone, no exceptions.

    What to do for fun

    Play basketball, attend school sports events, school activities that may be planned, etc.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat in the cafe, but when I did during the first week, food options repeated. However, there are a few options to choose from. Some days the food is great, some days it is alright.

    Dorm Life

    Some buildings are older than others and the layout varies. Overall, the dorms are great.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is challenging. I am used to being above average i my classes, therefore, I don't have any trouble with keeping up. Very few assignments given, but when they are given, it's alot, but you have time to finish.

    Tips for prospective students

    Read notes and chapters before going over it in class. That will put you ahead and already understand the material.

    In three sentences

    I love this school overall. The workload is perfect and I don't like big schools so it's perfect for me. I highly recommend this school to anyone who enjoys small and interactive schools.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is pretty safe, we have cameras everywhere and security are protective but not that strict.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is where its at!

    Clubs and Activities

    Not many activities to do on campus

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who need change. If you did not do so good in high school then VUU is a good place to change.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Square everybody hangs out in there, easy place to meet people anytime a day or night.

    Bang for the buck

    Not really much bang for your buck because of lack of activities and things to do on campus.

    What to do for fun

    go off campus

    Food and Dining

    The cafe food is not that good but if you are a person thats loves to eat then its cool.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is ok, always good to be on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are not hat hard, as long as you pay attention you should be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you get to know your professors, they are they to help you succeed.

    In three sentences

    Virginia Union University is a great school to receive an education. The campus is not huge and the classes are small so its easier to learn and easier to get to know your professors. On a scale from 1-10 on education wise, I would have to give it an 8.

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is excellent!! They are on top of everything! On occasion you will see officers riding their bikes and patrolling the campus. If not they will be walking around for no reason at all. Many people are friends with the police also.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many activities at this school, including sororities. The band, the choir (three choirs), basketball team, football team, volleyball team, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to be apart of the art profession, apart of a sorority, Business majors, or be a Pastor or anything else relative to Religion.

    Bang for the buck

    You will get your bang for your buck because I guarantee you will have fun! There are great students to get along with and there is much to do on campus as long as you're active!

    What to do for fun

    Virginia Union has a lot of moments where you can have fun, the school will supply the fun for you and set up fun events when you first get there. There are also a lot of students that know how to have fun and are great to get along with. If you do not want to stay on campus and don't have a car or any access to one you can walk off campus and walk around the Richmond area. There are many things that are walking distance. Richmond has a lot of spots where you can have fun as well as grab something good to eat.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining isn't the best, but it will fill you up. There may be a time or two where you grow tired of eating the food at the school and may want to eat off campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life isn't perfect, but it is certainly not what I expected. There are nights were the RA staff organizes events to watch movies, play games for the students to have fun at night and meet new people. There are also pool tables and numerous television sets that people can watch and also play video games.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a Fine Arts major and the Fine Arts Department is very organized. What I really like about the department is the fact they include every student in the school and want them to know they're there. Numerous times the department shows plays, musicals and recitals and invites students to see at no cost.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be alert and always ahead of the game. Do the work that is given to you by your Professor at your earliest opportunity. That way after it is complete you can forget about it and do other work. There are many times where you may have numerous work to do from maybe one or two classes at the same time and they may have the same due date. Also, time management skills are important. There will be times where you don't want to do any work and would rather hang out with your friends and go out and walk the streets of Richmond so prioritize yourself. Manage what times you're going to do your work and what times you will hang out and have fun.

    In three sentences

    Virginia Union University is a great school that is full of faculty that show their care for your education. The faculty is great to get along with and many of them offer to get you their personal information for future reference. You will not only learn much inside the classroom, but outside the classroom as well.

  • 01/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nothing.

    Food and Dining

    The food seems to always have no taste, and the meals cooked look very unpleasant. The cafeteria does not provide a variety of selection. Breakfast is the best in my opinion, but the hours are very early and short.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are noisy 24 hours a day, and mostly at night time making it hard to sleep or study. It is not the cleanest environment someone would want to lay their head. Renovations need to be made, the furniture is very old and unsturdy.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, Virginia Union's classwork and teacher styles are very poor for a college level. The teachers are a little to relaxed when it comes to providing homework assignments; moreover, causing students to lack an understand of the material of the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to eat off campus a lot, the food is not the best. Classes get cancelled a lot. Get involved or you will be bored sitting in your dorm.

    In three sentences

    Virginia Union is a small family orientated college, filled with friendly students and staff members. Class sizes are 20-30 students per teacher. Homework and class work is very moderate for a college level.

  • 02/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is decent. Whenever there is a report made the campus security is on top of it, and when the official police need to get involved it makes lets me know that I don't have much to worry about. I can lay in my bed at night and know that I am safe to sleep and wake up with nothing going wrong.

    Greek Life

    The Greek Life on campus is amazing. They are all so caring and true to what they stand for. The fraternities and sororities here are great examples of what people should strive to be.

    Clubs and Activities

    Here at Virginia Union University they offer many clubs and organizations for every person here. Getting involved in the Royal Court was one of the best things I ever found myself doing here. Cheerleading is also another sport I love to claim in taking sport in.

    Bang for the buck

    Observing the activities and resources that are presented on campus the students can see that their hard earn dollars are put to good use. The maintenance and up keep of the residence and lecture halls exhibits that funds are being budgeted correctly. There is a new building being built, I can not wait to see them outcome.

    What to do for fun

    Besides the clubs and organizations that VUU has to offer there are many things to do for fun around campus. There are great restaurants around the area, as well as bowling, shopping stores, the movies. There is never a dull moment for me and my friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food here at VUU is great. It's comforting to know that I can still get a nice home cooked meal when I am away from home. I love when the holidays come around the food gets even better.

    Dorm Life

    The housing here on campus is comfortable enough. The rooms are spacious, and the bathrooms are nice when taken care of. Its better than a few dorms I have seen at other colleges.

    Academic Rigor

    They have high standards on their academic standings for their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make the best of your time here. Get involved because there are so many great clubs and organizations offered here at Virginia Union University.

    In three sentences

    Here at Virginia Union University you get the real deal. It is a small private college, so you will know a majority of the people here if you're a social person. I feel like Virginia Union University prepares you for the real world, the school is an ten out of ten.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They will not let you get in if you do not have a idea. Gates become lock after dark.

    Greek Life

    Really fun and interesting here. Mingle with a lot of Greeks and learn about what they do. They are friendly.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is something going on everyday on campus keeps it busy.

    Great for these types of students

    anybody that needs a knew feel of life but its not ready for a huge school

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Chapel is a tradition on Thursday however its always fun to go

    Bang for the buck

    They are a reasonable college. They give many scholarships to help you pay for it

    What to do for fun

    The city of Richmond is right around you. There are many places to eat, bowling, skating, shopping centers, etc. There wil never be a dull moment

    Food and Dining

    The food here is excellent. They have many different areas with different foods from around the world.

    Dorm Life

    The are in the process of building knew dorms. They are spacious and cozy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to Virginia Union University you will get in. Turn in all financial aid papers to get qualified for scholarships. Also the sooner you turn you applications in complete the better everything you will have.

    In three sentences

    Virginia Union University is a college that is willing to help any type of student. The teachers are caring and out to help you succeed. Close knit college everyone knows you by name.

  • 05/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who do not want to be on a large campus.

    What to do for fun

    They have gyms and work out areas. They have many clubs they you can join. Campus is right by many establishments and is close to the city for food places and shopping areas.

    Food and Dining

    Have great food, for good prices. They serve food that is worth the money.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are not to big. Very comfy.

    Academic Rigor

    They have small class rooms, so they are able to speak to the teachers and get a better connection with them, also better for understanding lesson plans.

    Tips for prospective students

    They should be sure to get all the information they can on this college to make sure this is the university they want to attend. Never take less, always strive for the best.

    In three sentences

    They have a great history involved with the school. Not a big campus, but very comfortable. Very nice on getting you information and they also do the best they can for you to attend the university.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i saw cops walking around the campus....however you can walk right onto the campus with no questions asked!

    Greek Life

    i didnt see any greeks out when I took my visit

    Clubs and Activities

    there were a lot of clubs listed from what I could see.

    Great for these types of students

    who want to be in the city. who want to be close but away from home(depending on where you live) for people who would like to join soroities

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    you MUST go to church every thursday @ 11! theres no getting out of it because they shut down the entire campus!

    Bang for the buck

    I dont go to the school yet so idk!

    What to do for fun

    Because VUU is in the city, there a lot of things to do. Fast food is within walking distance of the campus.

    Food and Dining

    I didnt get a chance to eat.....so look at the other reviews!

    Dorm Life

    I have not seen the dorms yet. They had pictures on the website, but its not like seeing them in person.

    Academic Rigor

    im do not know because I am not a student here just yet, but it seems like it is 50/50 to me. However, I have heard from multiple people that they do challenge you here.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are a lot of clubs that they have on campus, so I say get involved...i am! (:

    In three sentences

    People who want to go to a small college in the city. Who like the old feel of a school and historic sights. For people who want to attend an HBCU.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus security, plus the police headquarters across the sreet and VCU campus secirty.

    Greek Life

    We have the devine nine.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs and ativities.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who like to learn, lots of biology. computer science, accounting, business, criminal justice, religious studies, theology majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Virginia Union University use to be Lumpkins jail for slaves. The underground railroad is apart of our campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Virginia Union Is A Christian school, we have chapel every thursday.

    What to do for fun

    Explore Richmond Va, go downtown or explore Broad street. Movieland is down the street as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard and have fun. There is no cable so do not bring a tv.

    In three sentences

    Virginia Union University is a wonderful school where learning is the first priority, Learning at Virginia Union University is extremely easy with the diligent staff helping students any way they can. At Virginia Union University we strive for excellence to prepare us to be leaders of the world.

  • 06/03/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    24 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it is safe to live there.

    Greek Life

    i dont know much about it.

    Clubs and Activities

    they have many clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    The ones that like to help the community and like to do something different.

    Bang for the buck

    i don't really know this.

    What to do for fun

    you can go to many different clubs in the school.

    Food and Dining

    it seems that they have a lot of food products.

    Dorm Life

    i haven't have time to visit the dorm, but i am sure it is awesome.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you study hard, you will accomplish your dream.

    In three sentences

    It seems that it is a good school. There are a lot of programs that are offered. They have one of the greatest financial aid.

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One thing with campus safety is the main gate. Anybody can come through they don't care.

    Greek Life

    This is all you see on campus. Very Historical.

    Clubs and Activities

    Some of the activities aren't advertised to the mass student body like they should.

    Bang for the buck

    its not worth the money they are asking for.

    What to do for fun

    The Dorm activities that are posted.

    Food and Dining

    Very Repetitive its sickening. Not that much variety. typical HBCU food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life is What you make it to Be....

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the school fool you. Work hard for the money.

    In three sentences

    It wasn't my first choice, But I came here to get my first college experience away from home. It was worth it I learned plenty from Virginia Union University.

  • 11/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    At Virginia Union there are campus police available when you need them. We still have had some problems on campus concerning robberies and possession of drugs on campus, but as a whole we are all pretty much safe.

    Greek Life

    At Virginia Union you have the Divine Nine. There is Alpha Phi Alpha , Alpha Kappa Alpha , Kappa Alpha Psi, Omega Psi Phi, Delta Sigma Theta, Phi Beta Sigma, Zeta Phi Beta, Sigma Gamma Rho and Iota Phi Theta. .

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs and activities to do. From Biology club, to chess club, to the band. Sports such as football, basketball, soccer, softball and volleyball, track and tennis. Activities such as the University Choir and a Gospel Choir.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for Business, Stem and Theology majors. it also has a great Fine Arts program as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Some traditions Virginia Union has are the coronation of the newly elected campus royal court. Convocation for the graduates of undergraduate and the school of theology. Panther fest which is held in the spring and the annual Christmas and Spring Concerts.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall the school is good. I like it, its small with pretty good teachers and filled with great opportunities. Always remember to read up on any school you plan to attend; and when you're accepted and even before always read the schools handbook.

    What to do for fun

    There are some campus activities here and there that you could check out. Henderson center also has a game room that is open for 6 days out of the week. Also the surrounding are of the campus has some extra activities for your enjoyment.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good but not great. Sometimes there are not good entre choices. also not to many gluten free or Allergy choices.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life is also a 3. The buildings are old and could be updated and the care could be tended to a little more, but the people also are a down fall. Careless people make for a unsuccessful stay.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic wise I would give it a 3-4. Although the school is considered a university I say the Academics is moderate. Meaning the work isn't to much but it isn't light either.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in being a Panther, make sure you check out the University's website. Take a tour of the school and even talk to some of the students already enrolled.

    In three sentences

    Virginia Union University is a very good school with great historical background. Though the campus is small it gives more opportunity to have hands on learning. This school is always improving and doing its best for the students.

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    For an intimate University, we are the only University to have its own Police Academy on campus. We also have detectives and other officials assigned to our school making it hard for there to be too much of anything on campus. We do not have problems with chaos or riots at our school as safety is always surrounding us.

    Bang for the buck

    Virginia Union University is a private school built on Christian principles. It is a landmark for African Americans as the Underground Rail Road and selling of slaves took place right on the grass. It's roots include a former jail and hotel. Not to mention, our Alumni have conquered great obstacles for example Douglas L. Wilder who is the first African American Governor in the history of the United States.

    What to do for fun

    At the University students are encouraged to explore opportunities. There are events that take place on the campus as well as in the vicinity of the school. To have fun you would need to be proactive and find things to do, as long as you are safe about what you are doing and staying out of trouble.

    Food and Dining

    The dining service at the school is decent. They adapt to the changing taste buds that revolve in and out of its doors. Like any other school, it does have it's specialty days i.e. Fried Chicken Wednesday's and Fish Friday's.

    Dorm Life

    It is designed to get the students more engaged and help uplift each other. The dormitories fill students with the basics needed to develop the social skills needed in the real world.

    Academic Rigor

    Many of the professors have different methods, but the methods tend to stick. In the close knit classroom environments, you are able to grasp the information a bit easier. And if that does not work, professors and other students are always willing to give the extra help when needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    If considering to attend the school you should be prepared to stay focused, keep yourself busy by building relationships and connections, and a plan that will help keep you motivated!

    In three sentences

    Virginia Union is a small Historically Black University located in Richmond, Virginia. It is known well for its football and track team nationally. It is also well known for its Sydney Lewis School of Business.

  • 01/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greeks are very involved on campus, and friendly to everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Well rounded students wanting to focus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On your down time you'll find everyone in the Henderson Hall aka the Hendo. It is a game room where the student body gathers has fun and gets to know each other.

    What to do for fun

    Virginia Union is what you make it, if you rather stay in your dorm and not interact with the student body then your experience might not be what you want, but if you go out get involved and stay focused you will have a blast.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused, don't get to distracted, learn how to pick and choose when its time to have fun and time to be focused. Never procrastinate, you will realize when you don't then the end of the semester goes by smoothly.

    In three sentences

    Virginia Union University is an amazing school. I am extremely happy that I made the decision to attend my HBCU! The professors here care about your education and about making it to graduation, you are not just a number, you are a scholar who is working hard student working towards your future.

  • 02/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    As I said before VUU is very small school, but you are able to have a lot of fun. There are many things to do off campus, such as bowling, go to the movies, laser tag and more. If you don't want to spend any money, from time to time there are events held on campus you can attend.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria isn't the best, but it definitely has improved over the years. I think breakfast is the best food they serve. From time to time cafeteria staff members hand out surveys to students asking them what they think about the food they serve and where they think the need to improve. I believe the have listened because, as I said before, the food definitely has improved over the years.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life gets old once you get used to it. Your room being on campus is an asset because everything you own is right on campus so you can go back and forth from your room to wherever you need to go easily. Of course there are some negatives to dorm life. As many people have probably heard, this is college, where many people come from different places across the country where they've lived and grown up in different environments. Everyone is different and you will definitely learn that when living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    VUU focuses primarily on Biology and Religious Studies majors. Academics in the Biology Department was great, from what I hear from friends. The have numerous labs and professors who focus on you, your studies and what you want to do. Many professors and staff tend to ask students, What do you want to do in life? As a Fine Arts/Theater major I have a lot of fun while in the Fine Arts Department. Many of the professors focus on you and what you want to focus on. One thing I love is that my theater professor asks us at the beginning of every class how our week was (the class is only on Fridays) and how you are doing in your personal lives. It feels great when you know you can be comfortable enough to talk to your professor and classmates about anything.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would like to begin by saying I love Virginia Union University. Not saying that VUU doesn't have aspects that I don't like, but I still love being a student here. When I first came to Virginia Union I thought I wouldn't be very sociable nor make many friends, but thankfully I was wrong. I have made many friends and have mentally grown substantially.

    In three sentences

    Virginia Union University is a very small school, where everyone knows everyone, but you can still enjoy yourself. The spiritual and professional environment is average, but many staff and student leaders as well do what they can to help you toward your success. The staff at the school is very friendly and it is very important to know many, you may need them as a reference in the future.