Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Virginia Wesleyan College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/05/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 out of 16 people found this review useful. 1 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    The wonderful staff at VWC are more than willing to do what it takes to help you succeed. If you can show up for class and have a positive attitude, the sky is the limit.

  • 12/04/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 13 people found this review useful. 2 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    VWC is a great school. Its a small community and the professors here are very helpful. The class size here is really small, my biggest class so far is 17!!!! The school is small and easy to locate buildings. The staff and students are very friendly.

  • 03/25/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 out of 11 people found this review useful. 3 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't judge the campus because it's not a big university. You will get more one on one personal attention and you will not be just a number. If you want a home away from home then this is the place to be!!

    Will enjoy being here

    There are so many things to do for a private small college!! The sports are very competative, and the clubs are un ending!!!

    Will learn a lot

    Teachers are friendly and take the time to sit down and talk to you and help you out with whatever is troubling you!

  • 05/19/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 4 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want to be in the city without actually living in the city this is a great college for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    The teachers seemed nice and concerned about the students. If you have any questions anyone is willing to help find what you are looking for.

    Bang for the buck

    The scholarships from the school and financial aid alone covered most of the cost for the education.

    Will enjoy being here

    This is a small community in a big city with the beach only 5 minutes away!!!

    Will learn a lot

    The student to teacher ratio helps because your professors actually know you.

  • 04/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is only one entrance onto campus and there is a security gate there. You must have a student ID to get onto campus, and you need your key card to get into all dorms and student residence halls. Security officers ride there bikes around campus 24/7 for student protection and the school has a partnership agreement with the Virginia Beach Police.

    Clubs and Activities

    Men's basketball won the national championship in 2006. This year they won the conference championship and went the the NCAA tournament and made it to the sweet sixteen. Women's basketball made it to the ODAC championship. Softball, men's and women's lacrosse all made it very far in the conference tournament. Soccer made it to the NCAA tournament as well this year. It is always fun to watch the sports teams. There are always activities going on they range from all you can eat seafood day to intramural sports to school sponsored underpants runs! Rec-X is always hosting crazy fun events for students.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for students who learn better in smaller classes. Class sizes are usually between 7-15 students. You get more one on one attention. It's not a huge school so you won't get lost in the shuffle. However, there are enough students here that the parties are still fun!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have an annual under pants run!

    Bang for the buck

    It is quite expensive to go to Virginia Wesleyan College, but in the end you come out with a well respected degree.

    What to do for fun

    It's ten minutes from the beach! So surfing or hanging out on the beach is always and option. The school is in Virginia Beach so there is tons of stuff to do. There are great bars, clubs, shopping, and restaurants around. Almost all the sports teams at Virginia Wesleyan are really good so going to the games is always really fun and the stands are always packed.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is not very good. Everything pretty much has no flavor, but its edible. Luckily, there's a taco bell right up the street which is the option most students choose.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms are pretty big compared to the other schools that I looked at, and they just got all new showers put in the dorms which are really nice!

    Academic Rigor

    It's definitely easier than what I thought college would be, but at times it can be very challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a fun place to go to college! It's ten minutes from the beach so bring your bathing suit!

    In three sentences

    Class sizes are small, and very conducive to learning. It is a great atmosphere. You walk around on campus and you don't see tons of strangers everyday, you see your classmates and friends, and people that you know.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is the most important thing. Our campus has campus-text service so, like during storms or and dangers, the security sends out a massive text to warn the students. In all of the parking lots we have blue call boxes that go straight to the security office if someone is uneasy about being by themselves in the dark. And our security guards are friendly and constantly on bikes or golf carts going around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are ALWAYS clubs to join. We recently added a Zombie survival club, also side of our Waffle Lover's Club. If you think it, we have it. And if not, it's simple to make a new club.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have the wooden beach chairs everywhere! Every new freshmen class is broken off into groups, also your FYE classes, and design a chair and the Dean picks his favorite and the wining class gets a free pizza party!

    What to do for fun

    There's always a sports game going on for others to join. We have a rock wall, Alpine Tower, and tons of space outdoors to hike or walk around through the woods on our trails.

    Food and Dining

    We have the grille where students can choose where and what to eat aside from the main dining hall which always serves fresh food.

    Dorm Life

    Fun, fun, fun! Even for commuters like myself, having friends who dorm brings on a whole knew life.

    Academic Rigor

    People are always studying, maybe not during the day but there are always study sessions going on in dorms for all-nighters.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your grades up and start on volunteering, Virginia Wesleyan loves to help our community.

    In three sentences

    Wide open spaces and beautiful scenery. Quiet study places, even a 24-hour study room. Many activities of all kinds made for anyone and everyone to join in.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security can always be seen patrolling the grounds. The campus entrance is also monitored by a guard stand and afternoon classes always have security in the parking lot to monitor students walking to their cars.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something to do and new friends to be made.

    Bang for the buck

    I pay less a year for this college in school loans, than I did at a community college. I receive more scholarships and financial aid to cover the cost of school than I have anywhere else.

    What to do for fun

    The campus has open areas for sports, a pool, gym, clubs, and more activities a semester than can be counted. There is so much to do here that you should never be bored. If you like quiet instead, the library has private rooms and plenty on garden areas to read outside.

    Food and Dining

    Virginia Wesleyan has the best food of any college I have been to. There is a cafeteria and three types of grills that serve food as well. Everything is quick, convenient, and delicious.

    Dorm Life

    Although I am a commuter student, I have seen the dorms, apartments, and town homes. Anything that has to do with the college is nice. The campus is nice, the dorms are nice, and the college feels like home.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics on campus are a top priority. The staff is glad to answer questions both on and off campus. Your grades will be fair and you will come home with the best degree possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to take advantage of campus help that you can find in every department. This campus has friendly staff that will remember your name and be able to help you with any needs you have.

    In three sentences

    Virginia Wesleyan College is your academic home away from home. This is the right school for anyone who wants to feel at home while receiving a degree from the beautiful campus based in Norfolk, VA. Virginia Wesleyan will make you feel welcome to swim with your fellow Marlins starting from day one.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is diverse. There is something for everybody. You can also eat of campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Being academically successful is easy. All you have to do is work hard and focus. No course is easy but is easy to complete.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will enjoy the environment, the setting, and activities. You will make new friends quick. learning in a small class room is great.

    In three sentences

    The campus is great. The environment you are in is great. The student body is great.

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many activities and clubs that welcome everyone. The also have rec rooms were you can play a number of sports and activites. Also the are many places to just chill at.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. You have to remember that it is cafeteria food, so it not the best food in the world. If you eat the same thing everyday you get sick of it qucik but if you eat differently it's okay.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are okay. Because this school is small alot of people live in the same dorm hall so it can get loud at night. But you can either have one roomate or live by yourself. But quite hours are nice and they help you to get your work done.

    Academic Rigor

    It is not that hard if you pay attention. Most teachers give out study guides and they want you to do well. Just don't get behind on your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be yourself and people will like you. Stay on top of your studies. Do the best you can.

    In three sentences

    VWC is a school that is very close-knit, everyone is almost like family. There is a place for everyone here. You are not number when you come to this school.

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 10 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I'm not in Greek Life but they throw great parties.

    Great for these types of students

    Religious students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's really nothing except our school is big on our basketball team.

    What to do for fun

    Parties on campus (sometimes). But mostly off campus clubs or other campus'.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have your own food in your room so when you get hungry you won't have to spend a lot.

    In three sentences

    This college sucks. It has a lot of dram and is just like high school. The food sucks and doesn't have much variety.

  • 06/02/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 34

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    The schools small community is what sold me. The art program looks amazing. I am beyond excited to attend.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety is really good. Security walk and ride bikes 24/7 on campus.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is nice especially the sororities because they have events that help you to understand more about each one of them before you are sure you want to join.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs and activities at VWC. They have a fair in the beginning of the semester to help you get involved in the different things.

    Great for these types of students

    VWC is go for people who are or trying to be more social because you will basically know a lot of people. The campus isn't but so big.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The location is very nice walmart and target are near by. And of course the beach which is 30 mins away.

    Bang for the buck

    VWC is very expensive. Freshman year you might have grants and scholarships but most of them go away when next year comes along.

    What to do for fun

    What I do for fun is hang out in batten which is like the school center. There is a rock climbing wall , swimming pool , gym , racket ball, and basket ball gym.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great the first couple of weeks but then you get tired of the cafe and want to go to the grill which is really good. The grill has food prepared for you when your on the go.

    Dorm Life

    Wow. Dorm life is a different thing. It sometimes seems like it isn't part of the campus. Because you will have so many friends and associates that are going through the same things that you are going through. The number one thing being away from home. The rooms are decent they get better after your 1st year unless you are a freshman with a corner room.

    Academic Rigor

    VWC advisor do the best they can to help you with your classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go into college thinking if you take the same class from high school that it will be the same because it won't it will be more challenging and seem completely different.

    In three sentences

    The campus its self is beautiful. Every student at VWC work very hard on achieving their goal. VWC has different options for the student to get help: TA , meeting with the Professor , and The learning center.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Virginia Wesleyan always has multiple officers walking around campus day and night. We have a gate at the front and unless you are excused or have an i.d, you are not allowed to get in.

    Greek Life

    We do not have that many, but the ones we do have are awesome. The members are very close and they always are involved in the things that happen around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    They offer many types of sports, clubs, and intramural sports that a student can participate in. When I came to this school I didn't plan on joining any clubs, but I was able to while juggling school and volleyball.

    Great for these types of students

    They have many types of work study positions, sports, clubs, and volunteer opportunities at Virginia Wesleyan.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year they have this seafood feast that just about everyone attends. There is all different types of seafood and students get it for free. It gives everyone a chance to mingle and meet new people.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is a little expensive, but personally I think it is worth it because of the many benefits it offers.

    What to do for fun

    The school ALWAYS has things to do. Every Time you turn around there are new activities or a game on campus. You will never get bored because there are so many options.

    Food and Dining

    In the dining hall there are many options such as a grill, international, American, sandwich, pasta, and salad bar. Then they also have the grille which is outside of the dining hall and you use marlin dollars.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms have heating and air conditioning, which most colleges do NOT offer. They are also equipped with a mini refrigerator and a microwave. Rooms are about an average college room size.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are difficult, but since the average class size is 11 to 1, students get plenty of time to discuss the material with the professor. At VWC you are not just a number, professors know your name.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are able to afford the college. Also, if you do not like a high school size environment, do not go here because you will know practically everyone.

    In three sentences

    Since there are less then 2,500 students that attend Virginia Wesleyan, they offer one on one attention with professors, guidance counselors, and other important faculty members.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Athletes, scholars, community service

    What to do for fun

    Not far from Virginia Beach oceanfront. Many places to shop. Good restaurants.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open to attending a small, private college.

    In three sentences

    VWC is an amazing place to study. Classes are small. Professors are available and willing to help students succeed.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Gated campus. 24/hr security.

    Greek Life

    Must go Greek!

    What to do for fun

    Rec X, Wesleyan Activities Council events, Sports games, live entertainment, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you take tours and attend every event they invite you to. All visits are extremely informational. Get the name and email of financial aid members and keep up your grades.

    In three sentences

    Virginia Wesleyan is a suburban-style living campus. The faculty, staff and students provide a welcoming environment. From the very first visit, it felt like home to me.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very high. We have cops on bikes, also its a closed campus, you have to go through the gate house to get in.

    Greek Life

    I never joined them, but they do a lot of helpful things and seem to have a lot of fun.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of club to join. Like the Zombie club.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for people that like small campuses and enjoy one on one time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The large Church..., open woodland, walk far enough lake.

    Bang for the buck

    School store, cheap food, Smoothie stand and other places not far form campus.

    What to do for fun

    Well we had golf-cart races, rock climbing, sports, and so much more.

    Food and Dining

    Food was okay. Plain and they didn't change it up as much as they said they would. Best time was breakfast.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't live there long, didn't enjoy it as much as other people. Air was wacky and we didn't have hot water for a long time.

    Academic Rigor

    Is okay, small classes more one on time with teachers. Enjoyful.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you cant do it here, there are many other places to transfer too.

    In three sentences

    It is a small college with lots of friendly, helpful people. It is clean and filled with places to hang out. Also it has many fun things to do.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very secure as it is somewhat gated off. Also there is security constantly roaming the campus.

    Greek Life

    My favorite part. I did rush a fraternity my freshmen year and I love it. There are 3 fraternities, and 3 sororities, and two Divine 9 sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons and tons of organizations for you to join.

    Great for these types of students

    I would recommend it to any type of student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our basketball team is pretty amazing. We have a Christmas tree lighting which is actually pretty cool to be apart of. There's more but I don't want to give it all away.

    Bang for the buck

    Virginia Wesleyan College does come with a hefty price tag. But remember this is a private college with personal interaction with your professors. Something you might not get at another college. The college does help a lot with financial aid as long as you have and keep good grades.

    What to do for fun

    Right in the heart of Norfolk and Va Beach, there is always the beach and clubs which are at the most 10 miles away. There is also a huge shopping center like 2 miles away from the campus. Plus the school always throw a little something or another during the week.

    Food and Dining

    Sodex is a catering company that supplies our food. It is alright but a lot of the time they find a way to screw a good meal up. There is also the Grill (also run by Sodex) But the food is a lot better.

    Dorm Life

    Your first year in a dorm will not be that bad. There are four villages. V1 is strictly for freshmen, V2 is for freshmen and sophomores, then you get into V3 which is a mix of dorms, apartments, and townhouses. Lastly is V4 which is for upperclassmen and this village contains townhouses.

    Academic Rigor

    Minimum amount of credits needed a semester is 12. Which only averages out to 3 classes a semester. You will need to take more than that per semester to graduate on time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great place if you are looking for a small college. There is a lot of traditional things that the college does year round.

    In three sentences

    A great small, private college that has a lot to offer. There is a true sense of being part of a family after a couple of months of being on the campus.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is pretty much everywhere

    Bang for the buck

    It is really expensive to go there and it is not worth the money

    What to do for fun

    There is not really anything to do except go to class and do homework.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good but its the same thing almost everyday.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are hard but your professor is always there to talk to.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont go

    In three sentences

    It is a good small school and you can have one on one time with professors.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is everywhere and available 24/7, they're super friendly.

    Great for these types of students

    Sportsy students will fit in well here.

    What to do for fun

    Unless you have a car, you're pretty much stuck on campus with not much to do. They do have entertainers like comedians and hypnotists come every few weeks though. People are always partying.

    Food and Dining

    The food is so-so. It's definitely not bad but I get bored of eating the same food everyday, all of it kind of lacks in flavor. But there is a sandwich bar and a grill that always have something for everyone.

    Dorm Life

    Residential buildings on campus range from the stereotypical 2 bed small dorm room, to a triple suite with a bathroom in between, to apartment buildings. They are all just okay, but we do get spiders..

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are harder than others, some are as easy as they were in high school. As the year progresses the material gets more difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Virginia Wesleyan College has the perfect class sizes, the biggest you'll find will only have 30-40 people. If you like more help or being able to ask questions in class, professors are able to to focus more on each individual student.

    In three sentences

    This school has a beautifully small campus, the farthest walk is about 5-10 minutes. The students, staff, and professors are all very nice and work to make everyone feel welcome. However, if you don't have a car, there's not much to do on campus.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do for fun: pool. pool table, recx, clubs, alpine tower, climbing wall, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend that each student should get at least eight to nine hours of sleep a night. During your free time, study for amount two to three hours a day for your classes. Get your homwork done as early and as soon as possible.

    In three sentences

    Virginia Wesleyan College is a private school that welcomes its students with warm greetings. The students and staff work together to provide an excellent future for the students.

  • 12/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security Gaurds are EVERYWHERE! You feel very protected

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs

    What to do for fun

    You can go swimming, or go to the sauna. Or you can go rock climbing. And everyone loves to play pool.

    Food and Dining

    100% DELICIOUS!

    Dorm Life

    Close family, it feels just like living in an community

    Academic Rigor

    Your academics are very important at school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your work and have a good relationship with your professors.

    In three sentences

    Amazing Sense of Community. Great Academics. Great People.

  • 01/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is security . They do what they are supposed to do but sometimes they kind of over do it .

    Greek Life

    Geek life is great so far

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of clubs and you can even make your own clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is for any type of student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have trails you can go on and a lake you can hang out by.

    Bang for the buck

    Pricing is crazy but it's a great school, so I guess it's worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of activities on campus, you don't really have to look for them cause the school shows you them, all you have to do is decide to participate in them.

    Food and Dining

    It gets old after a while, but if its all you have to eat, you will eat it.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice, even for the freshman and they are a nice size.

    Academic Rigor

    Great courses, a lot of new things.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your grades up. Partying is ok, but the school doesn't play when it comes to grades. Live it up but study.

    In three sentences

    It's what you make it. It's kind of closed in. If you get involved, you will enjoy your time there.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always around when you need them. There is a gate at the entrance that ensures only people who should be on campus are.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are too many clubs for me to name off,but from what I heard, they get you involved and you get to meet great people along the way.

    Great for these types of students

    Artists, business majors, activists, undecided students (there is a wide variety of options at VWC)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a chapel on campus for those with religious beliefs but everything on campus is pretty standard for a college.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a liberal arts college, VWC is a bit pricey, but it is definitely worth the money. But it also depends on the person. For me, I had to visit the school and meet some teachers to make my decision. Every penny I've spent at VWC has been worth it.

    What to do for fun

    At VWC, there is a wide variety of fun things to do. There is a pool, rock climbing wall, ropes course, Alpine Tower, pool table, table tennis, two basketball gyms, indoor track course, workout gym, Frisbee golf, soccer, biking or just relaxing with friends. There is always something to do at VWC.

    Food and Dining

    The food is fantastic! There are two options for eating at VWC: the Grill, where you can get burgers, chicken, Sandella's and smoothies, or the Cafeteria, where you get a buffet of pizza, burgers, salad, entree's and sandwiches/wraps. No matter where you eat, you always leave satisfied.

    Dorm Life

    I do not know what the dorm life is like because I am a commuter. However, all my friends are resident at the college and they love it. The only issue is that you may or may not like your roommate. It all depends on your personality.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes (as said above) are as easy as you want them to be. Material/Lessons are always up to date, rigorous and appropriate for college students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always do your homework Visit the writing center Don't be afraid to ask for help STUDY!!

    In three sentences

    Virginia Wesleyan College is a unique, accepting and fantastic college. The teachers are always there for you as well as the wonderful staff. Classes are easy as you make them;always be prepared for a rigorous course.

  • 02/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security team here on campus does its best to protect student and ensure safety at all times.

    Greek Life

    The Greek Life is extremely friendly with other organizations. No one sorority or fraternity is dominant on campus, and the Panhellenic Council works to bring all the Greek Life organizations together.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are various clubs that are specific to a certain kind of people, which gets everyone involved around campus and giving back to the community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Under pants rune, and Midnight breakfast are two of the many unusual traditions

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for!

    What to do for fun

    There is a great deal of events and things to do around campus. We have a rock wall, raquet ball court, gym, pool table and a CMAC, a place to play whatever game or activity you wish throughout the day.

    Food and Dining

    The Dining Hall gives a wide variety of all kinds of foods. They offer a salad bar, sandwich bar, international cuisine, home style, and traditional food areas. Some of the food is served bland to account for people with allergies and other needs.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a decent size, hall mates are generally nice but you might encounter a general problem or two. I had a problem with a girl on my hall concerning laundry.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is heavily based on the reading and discussion type of class. Reading, projects, and tests account for a good percentage of overall grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring anything you may or think you would need, get involved on campus, be friendly, and have fun getting an education.

    In three sentences

    The school has a scenic campus, 13:1 Student-teacher ratio, and many resources to help students succeed here on campus. The professors are more than willing to help the students achieve academic success. You will love the campus and the positive atmosphere.

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have security round the clock all over campus. They get to know you and are very friendly. They are there as soon as you call because they are all around campus on bikes and carts.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is big here. There are always greek events and greek unity going on here. The greek townhouses are all together so we can live amongst each other. Each greek organization supports the other.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am in Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc. Greek life is pretty big on campus. We also have the office of community service, getting involved with the community is big as well. Our student activities office has every organization you could ever think of and also has all the resources you would need to be a engaged student. Our international office connects students to countries over seas. It is amazing and sports is a big here VWC

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students coming from small towns because it is a small environment. It is great to get away because it is near Virginia beach. Great for adventurous and outdoor students whom like to do interactive things.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a lake on campus in the woods which is nice to visit. A tradition would be our reading/spa day. I do not know too many schools that give massages during finals weeks. It is nice and relaxing and during mid-terms and finals they bring a beat up car on campus and you can hit it to let out some frustration.

    Bang for the buck

    I love VWC, I love being involved and the people are so warm and welcoming. My professors are great and I get a good education here. I love my living arrangements and the people here are fun. The basketball games are the highlight of the year, we have a really good team

    What to do for fun

    Get involved with student activities they are always throwing events and getting really good guests to attend the college. It is never a dull moment and the events on campus are always interactive, creative and entertaining. You get a lot of free shirts and goodies as well. RecX helps you stay active and healthy

    Food and Dining

    Food is good and the staff is great. They are very friendly and remind you of home. Lots of options and healthy ones. It is open three times a day.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life is co-ed. Boys on one floor, and girls on the other. It is safe because all dorm doors are locked by 12:00 AM so only the person living on that floor can enter. It is pretty laid back and equipped with all necessities. Apartments and houses are available on campus which is cool. Laundry is included.

    Academic Rigor

    It is tedious work but one of the best Liberal Arts educations you will ever receive. You get a lot of one on one attention and the campus promotes high scholastic so it is easy to stay focused especially with the resources available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register as soon as possible. Apply for scholarships. Look into afford.com payment plan as soon as possible. Stay in constant communication with the business office and student activities as well as career services. Create good and professional relationships with all of your professors, they are more than willing to be of assistance

    In three sentences

    Virginia Wesleyan College is known for being the best School in the South East and it holds it's word in being just that. The school provides excellence one on one service with all students and associates of the college. The school encourages students to get involved on campus and in the community.

  • 04/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Parties on campus, go to the beach, enjoy the city in Norfolk, go shopping at the mall, swim at the pool, play in the gym, play pool, play racquetball.

    Food and Dining

    While the Cafeteria isn't always good food you can get some good food at the Grille, they have healthy food and not so healthy food along with smoothies and other extra things to buy.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms aren't that good for Freshman. I heard that Village 2 has the better dorms on campus. There are parties and there seems to always be noise, but there's always a 24 hour student center at the library to get work done and also you can just listen to headphones in your dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Its not the most difficult but it is still a difficult college in terms of the work that you must accomplish and so forth. The help that is offered to you however makes up for this fact. You can have extra help from the professor or be tutored by students that have already taken the class and have had the professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Not that good of food in the Cafeteria all the time. If you need a good professor just ask your friends around campus, there are many nice people that you can meet here.

    In three sentences

    Small class sizes. One on one with Professors. Beautiful Campus.

  • 04/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is normal, pizza, salad bar, sandwich bar, and dessert place. there are two other places in the cafeteria that change the type of food, sometimes Chinese food sometimes Italian.

    Dorm Life

    It's average, typical dorm. There are different types of dorms, singles, doubles, suites with several people, apartments, and townhouses.

    Academic Rigor

    small class sizes, which allows students to know the professor and other students. Meetings with professors are very flexible, they are available and can usually work with students schedule.

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    28 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Very diverse.

    Great for these types of students

    More personal, individual style

    What to do for fun

    Beach, Movies, Malls, Parks, Fishing, Boating, Sailing...etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus on your school work and interact with your professors on a daily basis.

    In three sentences

    It is a small, liberal arts school that thrives on professor to student ratios and relationships. It provides rigorous academics that prepare students for the real world working experience. Wesleyan is devoted to its students and the faculty do everything in their power to aid in the students' success!

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    29 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The basketball court looks amazing. The gym is full of new equipment. Try taking a dip in the pool or rock climbing!

    Food and Dining

    I love the buffet style dining hall with plenty of different food options.

    Dorm Life

    One of the first year dorms looks a little crappy but the rest of them look very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Great majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't hesitate calling for help. The staff is very nice and helpful.

    In three sentences

    I love this campus! Everything seems amazing from the gym, food, and dorms. The people are friendly too.

  • 07/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a pool, racket ball courts, a gym, plenty of open field for team games, and much, much more. The leisure activities are endless.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip to keep in mind is too never be afraid to ask for help, there are so many tutors and programs that the option to not receive help is, in no way, available. Another is to keep in mind which building your class is in, so study the area/map well!

    In three sentences

    VWC is the perfect school to attend; from the teachers and upperclassmen who are always willing to assist you, to the many activities that are offered. There is no reason to not want to attend Virginia Wesleyan.

  • 08/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a front gate where every car has to come through so security knows who is coming on campus which is nice. I never feel in danger here although some of the security guards are incompetent.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs but you hardly ever or see anything about them so they usually die out.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's the presidents pig roast, where every year the president of the college, Billy Greer, cooks a pig in a spit and serves it to the students. We also have an event with the freshmen where we paint Adirondack chairs and put them around campus. We also have an underpants run where people come dressed in undergarments and run a lap around campus.

    Bang for the buck

    It's very expensive and I definitely feel like I don't get my money's worth.

    What to do for fun

    WAC and other organizations run lots of different events that are fun most of the time. The batten center provides many opportunities to have fun with intramural sports, rock climbing and much more.

    Food and Dining

    The food is hit or miss. Sometimes the cafeteria makes delicious food and sometimes it's repulsive. They try to get creative with food choices but they're usually a flop. I love the food at the grille. It's convenient and tasty. The only problem with both places is that there is hardly any healthy choices for students to make.

    Dorm Life

    Not the best but not the worst. Sometimes the maintenance doesn't do a very good job of fixing things and the rooms tend to be a little worn down but they come with a mini fridge and microwave in some rooms. Other dorms have full kitchens which are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Sometimes I feel like I'm not learning as much as I could be and I'm not being pushed to my full potential with classes but the professors and classes are great. I've not had one professor who wasn't passionate about what they taught. All the professors care about you on a personal level and will do anything they can to help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a nice campus with great faculty and has much to offer. It's a little limited on majors compared to other schools but its still a nice selection. People are nice and it's a great community. It's not much of a party school but you can definitely still find other ways to have fun.

    In three sentences

    Overall, I would give virginia Wesleyan college a 4 out of 5 stars. It's a pretty good about the academics and sports but falls a little short in other areas. It's not perfect but I would recommend it to others.

  • 09/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Every time I'm on campus I always pass a guard at the gate and I see security riding around on campus 24/7.

    Greek Life

    There are a few fraternities and sororities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many clubs and activities to name!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who love small classes, small institutions, and who are dedicated to their classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am a new transfer student so unfortunately I do not know any unusual traditions or locations on campus yet.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of activities to do while on campus such as clubs to join, activities to be involved in, and recreational hobbies everywhere!

    Food and Dining

    There are many food options for such a small institution.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms because I commute.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are really educated and know the topics they teach. .

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you like small class sizes and intense coursework before you plan on attending. The college is small but they do not cut corners on their academics!

    In three sentences

    I rate VWC a 10 out of 10. The staff is extremely nice and helpful. You really get a great education at VWC.

  • 12/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Out of state students with no children, job, or nearby family.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive classes and books

    Food and Dining

    They have an excellent cafeteria that I have had the pleasure of eating in several times. It is mostly buffet style however, the chefs will make items upon request.

    Dorm Life

    I am off campus, so I am unaware of Dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is nothing more than to be expected from a college.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you work full time or are a parent, this is not your college. Many of the classes conflict with work schedules and many of the classes require outside activities during the day that are not included in the class prices.

    In three sentences

    I have been attending college since 2008, after my graduation from high school. I chose Virginia Wesleyan because of its education program and the ability to work full time as a Kindergarten teacher while attending classes. Unfortunately, at every step I have hit a road block, in the forms of unavailable classes, conflicting times, and astronomical prices.

  • 01/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security gate is only good on the weekends when a lot of people try to bring in guests. Other times you can just flash them a card that looks similar to student id and you can get on campus. But they're very nice people and they do try to help things that involve theft or stolen items.

    Greek Life

    Limited sororities. Lots of fraternities and even more fraternities being made. Very unbalanced.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a sparse variety of clubs and it's difficult to start new ones. When you do try to start a new one they make you jump through almost impossible hoops.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes and those who want to party/be involved in Greek life. Not very focused on academics, either you get it or you don't.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Apparently most of Village 1 and Village 2 is haunted. There's an unsolved murder mystery from the early 2000s. Apparently a homeless man chases people in the woods since he lives there.

    Bang for the buck

    If you live in Virginia, a public school is probably better. However, most people (if not everyone on campus) gets scholarships to make it more affordable. And while they claim there are no sports scholarships, the athletes do get more money to entice them to come to the school.

    What to do for fun

    If you don't have a car your options are either party or join clubs. And if you aren't an athlete, you're already in a separate social group from everyone else. You're either an athlete, a religious person, or involved in greek life. That's it. If you aren't one of those then you sort of fade into the background.

    Food and Dining

    Food is okay, but not great. The cafeteria food is from Sodexo and it's pretty much all the same every day. Breakfast sucks, lunch is only good because of Rus, and dinner is mediocre. The Grill is a lot better than the caf, but it's only open limited hours.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms are horrible. You get to know the people on your hall rather quickly and I was fortunate to have an AMAZING RA this year, but some of the other RAs aren't the best. All freshman dorms are dry meaning you'll get written up if you're caught with alcohol.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes aren't that hard. You just need to prioritize how you study. Some professors act like they're too good to teach there despite a majority of tuition is spent on professor pay.

    Tips for prospective students

    Explore all your options before you decide.