Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Virginia Western Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/28/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a smallish, laid back environment, a pretty campus, going into Communication Design, Fine Arts, or those who just don't know what they want to do yet. It's cheaper at Western!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're ever in one of Steve's classes, a deadline is a deadline and don't forget that! Also, you should really ask someone in admissions about which classes will transfer and which won't and to which colleges they will or won't. You don't want to spend money on something you can't take with you.

    Bang for the buck

    Definatley. So far I've only had one class that I felt as though I wasn't getting my money's worth and that was a Psycology class. I'm sure the rest of the Psy program has good teachers, I must've just gotten a bad one. But in all my Comm Design classes, I feel as though I'm getting more than what I paid for. Not only do the professors teach you what you need to know for the class, but they're out there making money doing what they're teaching you, so they can tell you exactly what it's like.

    Am enjoying being here

    This is my second year here and I love Western. The whole college has a laid back feel to it--it isn't too small and it isn't' too big. So far all my teachers have been really helpful and nice as well as the rest of the faculty that I've met. Not to mention we have a Chick-Fli-A!

    Am learning a lot

    I'm currently in the Communication Design program at Virginia Western, and I've learned more than I thought I would have, especially in my classes for Comm. Design program. The program head is Steve Huff and he only hires teachers who are out there making money at what they're teaching us. He treats us as though we were employees in his business and does things you don't normally get taught to deal with in school. For instance, for one project he had us come up with ideas for a new energy drink. We had to have three sketches of different ideas for it and then he had us choose our favorite. After that, he switched up every one's ideas so that we had to use someone else's idea. While it was very frustrating, things like that happen every day in the designing field, so we have to get used to it.

  • 05/25/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Young, old, on campus, or distance learning, VWCC caters to all.

    Tips for prospective students

    VWCC offers all kinds of clubs. Whatever you're into there's bound to be something to add to your enjoyment of being a student here.

    Bang for the buck

    From quality to services offered to class size, it can't be beat!

    Am enjoying being here

    VWCC offers a beautiful campus that has recently been renovated with it's students in mind. Lounge and study areas, WiFi, and it's modern appointments make it a pleasure to be on campus.

    Am learning a lot

    As a previous student at a State University in NY, I am amazed at the level and quality of education given at Virginia Western Community College. I have been a student here since 2006, recently graduating the health technology/pre nursing curriculum, also enrolled in the human services curriculum, and expecting to begin the surgical technology program here offered through PVCC - so I've had experience with teachers in many areas. Each of my professors, while all unique, have been excellent.

  • 12/27/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The Communication Design program is great, and is good prep for transferring to art school. Even if you decide that computer based design is not for you, I highly recommend completing the Art Foundations Certificate if you intend to study Fine Arts or Photography. It's a good foundation that will provide great practical experience for any future artist.

  • 07/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Virginia Western is great for people who are a little more laid back and who are looking to work hard, but ultimately earn a quick degree. It is also great for people who are looking to pay reasonable prices for tuition.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do research on the teachers. I would say 85% of them are excellent, but every now and then you might run into a bad one. Also, if you are planning to transfer, I would suggest not only talking to a counselor at VWCC but also the school you are planning on attending. Transferring has proven to be difficult at times so it is best to make sure you are taking the right classes from the very beginning!

    Bang for the buck

    Virginia Western has great tuition prices, and I feel it has been worth it in order to work towards getting my Associates Degree. I think it is very reasonable and great for people who are not able to afford the outrageous prices at other universities.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's not the most amazing school on the face of the earth, but it is an enjoyable atmosphere and also laid back. People are generally friendly, the teachers are nice, and it's a beautiful campus. Overall, it's been a great experience!

    Am learning a lot

    I am in the Accounting program at Virginia Western, and so far have learned an impressive amount for only having taken two of the required accounting classes. My teachers have helped consistently, and are great about reinforcing the important facts.

  • 10/01/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    haven't been to this school, but it already seems to me like a very good idea. It sounds like it's basically college without all the financial upset.

    Will enjoy being here

    I will enjoy being here. It's about 2 miles from my house, so it's handy.

    Academic Rigor

    It offers my intended major (English), and it also has other fields (like art) that I'm interested in

  • 06/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    They offer lots of scholarships with a reasonable price for tuition.

    What to do for fun

    At Virginia Western it is fun to join clubs and athletic teams as a means of getting to know people with similar interests.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Local Roanoke residents looking for an affordable choice, with fantastic opportunities.

    Bang for the buck

    Really affordable! And Payment plans!

    Food and Dining

    It's got on campus dominos and a little coffee shop. It's only five minutes from Towers mall and Tanglewood mall, so there are dozens of places to eat

    Dorm Life

    No dorms. Close to home. Super affordable.

    Academic Rigor

    Dunno yet. The compass test isn't to difficult, but as for classes i've.only heard little things.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just do the Compass test as soon as you can.

    In three sentences

    Low price. Guaranteed admission to almost all Virginia schools. Easy going environment.

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students wanting an more cost effective way to get their first two years, before moving to four year college. It is great for students returning to school after being out for some time, and great for working mothers because some classes can be taken online.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get all the information you need to make the right choice for you. Try to get an early start on enrollment so you can have everything ready when it is time to start. Classes fill up fast.

    Bang for the buck

    It is very cost effective, and is the best way to get your first two years, even if you plan on transfering to a four year college.

    Will enjoy being here

    Everyone was very friendly and helpful. I have enjoyed my experience so far.

    Will learn a lot

    Planning on a new career choice and plan on learning what I need to know to start this career for me and my family

  • 01/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has more safety and police than you would expect! Although this school is small, it is heavily guarded with cameras. It has the same amount of protection as any large university.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life at Virginia Western. There is only one club that is part of a fraternity, but they do not do anything except for fundraisers. There is no place to put any Greek life at the college.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are not many clubs or activities on this campus. If you're looking to do something fun, I would advise to join a club at a local gym or place for recreation. They need to offer more choices.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is good for students who want to transfer. You cannot get a four-year degree here but they do offer transfer agreements to other colleges. It is also good for people who would like to get only a certificate in something such as IT or as a veterinarian assistant. This school also has wonderful nursing programs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a bridge made of glass that overlooks the road. This is a pretty common area to hang out with your friends. There is also a recreational room with a pool table and vending machines, which is fairly nice to hang out at while waiting between your classes. Most of the students go to this lounge when they have nothing else to do.

    Bang for the buck

    I would say that the education that you receive from here isn't as good as another college. Although most of it is the same material, the teacher's don't give you everything you would like to know like they do at a larger school. However, with the classes being so cheap, you pretty much get your money's worth of information needed to pass the class.

    What to do for fun

    Since this is only a community college, there isn't really much to do at the campus. There are a few clubs you can join, such as math and science club. The college does have a basketball team as well. Sometimes they hold on campus events, but mostly it's a very quiet school.

    Food and Dining

    The school has a cafe in it, along with a Pizza Hut. There is coffee and also a place for desserts. The food is average; it's nothing different than going to your Pizza Hut down the road from your house.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on-campus living here. Everyone has to commute. There is talk about adding dorms but that more than likely will not happen anytime soon.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the teachers at this college come from bigger universities. They teach the same material as larger colleges, such as Virginia Tech and Longwood University. Most of the academics here are the same program, just simplified some to fit into a community college student's busy schedule.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students who plan to attend this school should most definitely rent their books. If you are signing up for the semester, be sure to get on the website the first night the classes open up because it fills up quickly. Also, parking here is terrible so be sure to arrive extra early.

    In three sentences

    Virginia Western is a school that is good for students who intend to transfer. It has a small campus that allows you to find your classes very easily. The teachers here are very nice, and usually go out of their way to help you with assignments.

  • 01/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i have never felt unsafe at school. there is a text alert system that they are constantly conducting tests of which makes me feel good.

    Greek Life

    i am not sure there is greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    i have not participated in anything outside of my own programs activities, but as i stated before, there are activities.

    Great for these types of students

    great for young students that are not ready for the big college campus experience. will help them transition to a 4 year university with minimal discomfort. also great for the older student to continue their education in a setting that has a more diverse age range. you won't feel like a weird old person in a sea of 18 year olds.

    Bang for the buck

    saving money and getting the classes you need is win/win.

    What to do for fun

    i do not do anything outside of school and fundraising on campus, but they show movies free to students with a student i.d. on some nights. they also have crafts and student activities that are advertised.

    Food and Dining

    very little options as far as food selection.

    Academic Rigor

    my particular program is very rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would pack your own lunch if you have gluten allergies (which i do). don't park in the yellow outlined parking spaces (those are for faculty).

    In three sentences

    i appreciate the small campus. the tuition is very reasonable. upon graduation i will more than double my previous job's salary.

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus police regularly patrol the school, as do the roanoke city police. there is an alert system with sirens and messages that come over the phones and tv screens. these are regularly tested. emergency procedures are gone over thoroughly on the first day of class.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs including the madison society for students interested in government or political science and the outdoor club which plans hikes and other outdoor excursions. student activities also has different activities at the student center such as make-your-own valentine cards, decorating t-shirts and tote bags, and sometimes they have free food (who doesn't like free food?).

    Bang for the buck

    great place to get the first couple of years done and then transfer. it's much cheaper than spending those same two years at a four-year college. besides, the first two years are mostly just review of high school (history, english composition and literature, biology or chemistry for example). the nursing and engineering programs are really good too.

    What to do for fun

    fun? honestly, the only fun i've had at vwcc was the day i skipped english class and went out to lunch with a friend! the student center has a ping pong table, and the campus theater has free movie showings every month or so, as well as plays, but other than that, anything fun is off campus. there are two major malls in roanoke, a couple of movie theaters, a minor league baseball team, virginia tech hockey games and ice skating at the roanoke civic center during the winter, as well as soccer and football fields five minutes from campus at river's edge sports complex.

    Food and Dining

    there is a domino's and a java the hutt cafe in the cafeteria. the cafeteria is out of the way, and a lot of people do not even know where it is on campus. the domino's is good, but on the expensive side. i really like the cafe though; i love their caramel mocha and double chocolate muffins! coffee can be bought on the main floor of the library as well, and snacks are available at the bookstore. off campus, there are many restaurants within a 5 min. drive: panera bread, buffalo wild wings, bellachino's pizza, el rodeo, and brambleton deli all in the electric road area; chipotle, firehouse subs, starbucks, the roanoker, and arby's over by towers mall.

    Dorm Life

    vwcc is completely a commuter college.

    Academic Rigor

    slackers will not do well here, but it doesn't take a genius to ace these courses. most professors are willing to work with a student to help them understand the material, but they grade fairly. they won't assign a ton of homework, but they do require that the homework be done, and on time.

  • 02/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    sit on the couchs that are spread around western, always a great place to meet new people.

    Food and Dining

    domino's express is a handy commodity to have on campus.

    Dorm Life

    no on campus dorms

    Academic Rigor

    very intelligent professors

    Tips for prospective students

    always be on time to class, get in the parking lot early, or else you will be walking to class.

    In three sentences

    virginia western is a great place for students that want to get a small degree, without comitting to a big university. the classes are smaller which allows for better learning. western is an overall good stepping stone for choosing a great career.

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus police usually potrols the whole campus. they have telecoms all through the campus which is easy to operate by a push of the button. they also have e mail alerts that you can recieve straight to your phone.

    Clubs and Activities

    they have the book club. the movie club. a club for black students. a womens group.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    unfortunately i work during the day.

    Bang for the buck

    very reasonable in price. they also have a payment plan you can apply for if you are unable to receive any kind of financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    they have free movie night and plays to attend through the whole year.

    Food and Dining

    they have very good food in there diner. they cook out when the weather is nice

    Dorm Life

    they have dorm like apartments near the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    if you attend the college, you are able to use the gym for free.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply early for classes, because some of the major classes fill up fast.

    In three sentences

    on a scale of 1 to 10 i will give it an 8. its a big community college with many students. they have variety of programs to choose from. they have a very good graduation rate and is very reasonable in price.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    excellent campus police on location always.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    human rights club, psychology club, history club, etc

    Great for these types of students

    low-income, working, parents, or transfer students.

    Bang for the buck

    you can earn many credits for a very affordable price. i would definitely recommend.

    Food and Dining

    there is a dominos pizza at the school, but the real good food is off campus, conveniently down the road in any direction.

    Dorm Life

    no on campus housing available, commuter college.

    Academic Rigor

    virginia western is a community college, so naturally it isn't as difficult as some four-year schools. some teachers are more challenging than others, but i haven't had a teacher that was awful or hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you apply for fafsa to get some financial assistance. register for classes as soon as you can. have a decent idea of your intended major (if you're going to transfer to a 4-year school) and carefully choose classes that will be useful.

    In three sentences

    virginia western offers a good quality education for the money. it is in a good location and has a diverse student body. the buildings, technology, and services are great and up to date.

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    A food plan isn't offered at Virginia Western, but the cafeteria had a couple of options as a pay when you go deal, I didn't eat there.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live on campus and there wasn't a set dorm plan for students. There was some apartment style options and Western was promote local apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends of course on the types of class one might take and the teaching styles of the professors. Overall it wasn't too strenuous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize the one on one time with professors. Most of them go out of their way to help you understand the material.

    In three sentences

    Virginia Western is a great starting point for any post high school education. The atmosphere and one on one time with the professors is making my transition to a four year university much more manageable. Overall I loved attending this school.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Virginia Western has all kinds of extrta curricular activities for its community and students, there is movies, and cookouts and all kinds of other things. But your also in Roanoke, so if there isnt anything going on your surrounded by other activites to keep you busy.

    Food and Dining

    There is plenty of resturants around the college within 5 minutes away, and there is also a cafeteria on campus.

    Dorm Life

    None on campus, its a community college, however it makes it cheaper to live at home, and because its local it makes it resonable and possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your head up, even when you have a assignment that seems almost impossiblealways check out the used books, but read into what has already been highlighted and answered-highlights may not be whats really important, answers may be wrong but the book has everything a new book would have however it has a possibility of a little bit more insight and its cheaper.

    In three sentences

    It's nice, not to big, not to small nor crouded. However, it has many different options for attending students, planty of majors, and different opportunities. Same educational opportunities as a big school would have, but it is local, and cheaper for students.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good, as near as I can tell. Haven't seen news of any bad incidents.

    Greek Life

    No data.

    Clubs and Activities

    A good selection to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Arboretum is cool.

    Bang for the buck

    Huge.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of clubs, events throughout the year, and the Roanoke Valley and Blue Ridge Mountains to roam around in.

    Food and Dining

    I usually eat at home or bring something, but there appear to be a variety of choices.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses I've taken here have been challenging and well-constructed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of their many online resources to do your research, then visit the campus. I've found them to be very helpful.

    In three sentences

    VWCC is a great resource for the Roanoke Valley. The campus is attractive and modern, and the curriculum and faculty are excellent. Best of all, they help keep costs in line!

  • 06/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very well lit and safe college. :)

    Great for these types of students

    High School with little time to go on campus. Online classes are wonderful.

    Bang for the buck

    Great prices and lots of used books.

    What to do for fun

    The college keeps you informed by email of all activities on campus or in the area. Excellent school!!

    Food and Dining

    Have not eaten on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Doesn't apply.

    Tips for prospective students

    Follow the teachers instructions. Participate in discussion boards and you will have no problem in receiving good grades.

    In three sentences

    I love the ease of taking classes online at this college since I am still attending high school. The teachers are fair and attentive. I would recommend this college to anyone.

  • 06/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The price is low like every other community college, but it has a lot to offer and wonderful support. I recommend this college to anyone that cannot afford a four year school.

    What to do for fun

    Other then clubs and other recreational sports it is just a community college and there isn't much to do. There is a student center with a ping pong table and video games, but that is pretty much it.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great. There is a Domino's that serves everything on the regular menu and a Java the Hutt that has wonderful hot dogs and specialty drinks. There is also a ton of snack machines. There are also many other choices a few streets away from campus.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the base classes are pretty easy and you will have no trouble doing well, but once you get into your major they do not let you fly by without putting in any effort. It keeps you on your feet and will hold you responsible for your actions.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in the Nursing Program it is a wonderful program to get into. It is a lot cheaper then most other colleges and while it is difficult it will teach you all you have to know and prepare you for your future.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy the atmosphere of the college and the willingness to teacher of the professors. Western is affordable and makes you feel important with the feel of a real four year school. I have enjoyed making new friends and participating in various activities there is to offer.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Comparable to a 4-year school

    Great for these types of students

    Full-time/part-time workers, parents

    Food and Dining

    There are only a few options available now, but once the newly renovated Student Center opens there will be an additional food court with more to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    VWCC doesn't have dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the many student resources that are available. There are also many different clubs and organizations you can participate in.

    In three sentences

    Attending VWCC has changed my life in so many ways. I've learned so much about myself during my time here. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is a very safe school. They have security and also have an emergency system to contact students in case of emergencys.

    Clubs and Activities

    The school has many clubs and sports that you can join.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are wanting to transfer to a four year college and want to pay less for undergrad classes. This school is also great for anyone who is looking for a 2yr degree at an affordable price.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The college is located within a couple blocks on both sides of the street. There is a covered walk-way that goes over the road, so students can travel from one side of the street to the other without having to cross traffic.

    Bang for the buck

    The college has very good rates.

    What to do for fun

    The school offers many activities for fun. They have their own theater and often show movies which are free to students. The Roanoke valley and surrounding areas offer many activities for almost any type of interest.

    Food and Dining

    The school doesn't have a dinning hall; however they offer a food court type area for students to purchase meals. There is also many nice eating places close by and many give a discount to college students.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college, so there are no dorms. There are some very going housing in the area.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are good and challenge you to reach inside yourself for the best you have. They are very fair and are not overbearing. The classes are very challenging, however not so overbearing that you spend more time stressing than learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your aware of the buildings your classes are in and be sure you allow yourself time to get to your next class if your class is across campus. Parking can sometimes be difficult, allow yourself time to get to your first class if you have to park in one of the parking lots not close to the buildings. Be sure to check out the extra activities the college often has going on for students. Many of these activities are helpful and some just add a little relaxing time to a much hectic college schedule.

    In three sentences

    Virginia Western is a great school in the heart of the Roanoke Valley. The teachers are very educated and very helpful. The school has many programs to help students make the right college decisions and to help them be successful in their college experience.

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Emergency stations set up everywhere if need be and campus police patrol on a regular basis.

    Clubs and Activities

    Each program has clubs to go with it and then there are several other types of clubs you can enter into and several activities that you can enjoy like volleyball and basketball.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that need a flexible school scheduale so they can go to work to. Parents that want to further their education. Kids that didn't take highschool as seriously as they should've.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    around exam time they have stress rooms that let you go and relax listen to music and other things to help you relax. they have spring fling.

    Bang for the buck

    the online classes are hard but worth the money you just have to make sure you have devoted time set aside for it don't ever slack off you'll fall behind and not pass then you'll have to spend more money to take it again, and that's no fun.

    What to do for fun

    Sports teams. Gyms. Plays. Free movie nights. $5 movie nights.

    Food and Dining

    They have a cafeteria on campus with dominoes java hut and others.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have dorms :( sorry

    Tips for prospective students

    When you first apply stay on top of things check your email everyday and your financial aid and make sure that everything is in order before the drop date.

    In three sentences

    It's a clean and friendly college. Everyone is very nice and helpful and are able to answer your questions right away and if not they get someone that can. They have flexible scheduales that work around your work scheduale which is great.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's a police station located on campus along with several emergency alert stations. They have an alert system avaiable that texts/calls your phone in case of emergencys/cancelations.

    Bang for the buck

    Comparitively, the cost is pretty low. The bookstore is VERY overpriced, recommend getting books online.

    Food and Dining

    Nothing on campus. There are some great restuarants nearby though.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes I've had were very easy, others a bit harder. Overall, the classes aren't overly challenging or rigorious.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tour the campus before you start classes to get a feel for where everything is.

    In three sentences

    VWCC is very flexible with how many classes you can take. They provide a wide range of options for class times. It's a very nice campus.

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police and there are emergency poles outside the buildings (in parking lots) to alert them when there is a problem. Also, with every class you are required to watch the VWCC campus safety video each semester to be aware of all the safety precautions and what to do in emergency situations.

    What to do for fun

    I do not know much about the student activities but there are regular e-mails the school sends out to make students aware of activities that are coming up. One one the activities are movie nights (for free) at the college.

    Food and Dining

    There are a couple of food choices on campus and multiple vending machines. Also many restrants around the area (within 5-10 miles).

    Dorm Life

    There are not dorms because it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    I think this depends on your course of study.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell prospective students to prepare for which classes to take early. I would advise them to take advantage of the booklet that lists all the upcoming classes and times so they will be prepared to sign up for the classes they wish to sign up for when the time comes.

    In three sentences

    Virginia Western College is a wonderful school. It is close to home, easy to get around, and I have had great professors. I would recommend the school to anyone in the area.

  • 11/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great there, they have their own police officers and they came to help me when I locked my keys in my car very promptly.

    Bang for the buck

    I wish I could have the quality of education of Kent State and the surroundings of Roanoke, but there just isn't an affordable middle without a scholarship.

    What to do for fun

    They have huge computer screens you can plug your laptop into, it would be good for studying or watching movies in your free time. It is also close to downtown Roanoke where there is lots of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good and the Domino's pizza is delicious!

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I want to do well in two out of my three classes because the teachers actually help you out and answer e-mails. My third class is biology 101 and my teacher has never taught before and has not a clue how to do it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in mind that it is a community college and you will probably get a better education at a four year college than here, but not everything about it is bad.

    In three sentences

    Virginia Western is a very nice school, but it's staff and teachers are disorganized. I didn't realize how good I had it at Kent State until I realized all the teachers weren't like the ones there. I love the other students there, they are very nice.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police is always on it's game. Their always there no matter what, making sure our campus, students and staff are protected at all times. Also offers services of being driven to your car, Campus phones all over for emergencies, ect.

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't joined any myself at this point besides the, Justice Club which is for Criminal Justice majors. But from what I hear, the clubs offered are great to join, and also very fun.

    Great for these types of students

    Any.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a little park that you can walk through while on campus, it's located right outside the bookstore. Great scenery, as well as tennis courts and plenty of tables to sit around outside.

    Bang for the buck

    Virginia Western is very clean/ organized campus. There's never any problems, and the wait for the library, financial aid, bookstore, ect. Is never long at all. The staff is so sweet, and parking is great and easy access as well.

    What to do for fun

    They have a lot of sports to choose from, as well as PED classes they offer, such as yoga, fresh water fishing, hiking, martial arts, self defense, ect.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria consists of one restaurant and a coffee shop. Not much to choose from on campus, But must eating places are within a 5 mile radius.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on-campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are absolutely wonderful.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great school to go to, and I would recommend this school to anyone. Don't feel as if it's going to be hard, or afraid of the crowd around you. Everyone is so understanding and so sweet, it's wonderful!

    In three sentences

    Virginia Western Community College is a great in-state college, the staff and people there are always so nice and friendly. It is also a very easy school to get into. I love the fact that everyone is so understanding and has a great disposition at this school. I am very honored to be a student here. Definitely a recommended college.

  • 12/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police that drive around the parking lots and there are emergency phones on the sides of the lots and plenty of lighting.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not involved in any, but there are many to choose from.

    Bang for the buck

    This is an excellent college to save money. Tuition is significantly less than a private school and books are reasonable.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the library and study of course.

    Food and Dining

    There is a Dominos on campus and plenty of vending machines.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest that future students buy their books at the online library and not stand in line for your books the first day the book store is open. Lines are outrageous and the online book availability is wonderful so take advantage of it.

    In three sentences

    Virginia Western Community College is an ever growing, friendly environment. Their teachers and staff are extremely friendly and helpful and their library and study areas are most helpful. They have free writing centers where teachers will help review papers and study for math.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    It seems like there is always something going on. I haven't attended any of the activities though.

    Great for these types of students

    Someone driven to do well better themselves through education.

    Bang for the buck

    For the money I'm spending I feel really good about the education I'm getting. I've gone to an expensive private school and felt I wasn't getting anything so this is a great change.

    Food and Dining

    There is a food truck usually that I haven't tried. There is also a coffee shop and dominios on campus. Off campus there are quite a few good options.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    You are getting a quality education here for the money.

    In three sentences

    I've had great luck here, the staff and faculty are very helpful. Whenever I talk with someone in the community they always comment on how great Western is which is refreshing and makes me optimistic for transfering.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is Domino's Pizza, Java Hut, several vending machines, a self-serve coffee machine, and an excelent parking lot diner.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It is not as easy as one might assume. It is as competitive as other four year institutions.

    In three sentences

    Virginia Western is affordable. There are lots of academic aids and technology. The food is not bad.

  • 01/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is amazing. The campus security is actually very dedicated to the safety of the students. Every class is required to show a safety video at the beginning of each semester that shows what to do in the event of any unsafe situation. There is also a phone number that links you directly with the campus security, and a text messaging/email service that you can contact, and will contact you, if there is any unsafe situation that arises. You constantly will see the campus security walking around in the buildings, so you know they are going to be around whenever you need them.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I personally am involved in too much already to be in any clubs, but from what I've seen and heard, there are many clubs and activities that students can be a part of. Most of the clubs are geared towards certain majors, so you are able to connect with people who have similar career choices.

    Great for these types of students

    Virginia Western Community College is great for any student. You can be at any age, ethnicity, or financial level and still have the opportunity to go there. They offer financial aid that can keep you from having loans to pay back, and it's about a fourth of the price of most universities. They have bus stops all around campus for the city buses, if you do not have a personal form of transportation. You can also be any age to attend the college and they make it easy to go with your work schedule.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is an Arboretum on campus which houses a greenhouse, a garden full of flowers and other greenery, and a gazebo. The greenhouse is used by students learning about plant life, agriculture, etc. but the entire Arboretum adds to the beautification of the campus. An usual tradition is that some people, including my father and step-mother, used this area to get married in!

    Bang for the buck

    One of the biggest advantages of going to Virginia Western Community college is the price! It's about a fourth of the price of traditional universities for the same education. You can also live at home, so you don't have to worry about a roommate you don't like or paying for an apartment. Another advantage is that you don't have to take your SATs, and when you transfer out you won't need them either. You can be virtually any age to attend, and you will never feel out of place. They also make night, weekend, online, hybrid, and summer classes available to fit anyone's schedule.

    What to do for fun

    Virginia Western has many different clubs you can join, so there's always something to meet your needs. There are also a number of recreational and school sports teams you can be a part of, like volleyball, basketball, etc. Health and PE classes are optional, and offer things like yoga, zumba, bowling, etc. Since it's a community college, you don't have the option of things like Greek Life, game rooms, and things of that nature, but it doesn't mean there aren't other options available if you just look!

    Food and Dining

    There is a mobile catering service that comes up to the college during the week. It has amazing food, probably not the healthiest but for a splurge every now and then, and the prices are reasonable. You can get anything from potato wedges, to a BLT, to BBQ and macaroni. There is also a cafeteria on campus, which I have not been to unfortunately, but I have heard great things about it. There are enough places to sit so that you never have to worry about sitting on the floor or around campus, there is a variety of choices, and there are even some healthier options if you don't want something from a cafe, pizza place, etc.

    Dorm Life

    Virginia Western Community College does not have dorms, it's strictly commuting.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are just hard enough to make you do the work, pay attention, and attend class, but they aren't so difficult that you feel you cannot pass the class. Most teachers seem as though they are willing to help you, as long as you are making an effort to succeed and show them that you really care about your grades. If you put in the time and effort needed, you should have no problem passing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you always talk to someone in counseling if you have any questions regarding classes, financial aid, or any other general questions about the college. Also, get to know your teachers, and show them that you are dedicated and that you care about your grades; they will be much more willing to help you in the long run. Lastly, build strong relationships with as many people as you can, because you never know what connections you may need in your career, after graduation.

    In three sentences

    Virginia Western Community College, for me, has turned out to be a pleasant surprise. As a student, you are not only getting just as good an education as a university, but the price of attendance also makes it more obtainable for a wide range of students to attend. You get a well rounded education, fantastic teachers, and the opportunity to meet a lot of new, diverse, and interesting people.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe and secure with the methods of safety they have acquired and the officers are friendly and always around.

    Clubs and Activities

    Nursing club!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to get a start on a career without moving away or spending a lot of money later on in student loans.

    What to do for fun

    Virginia Western offers classes that are a lot of fun. Public speaking, Sociology, yoga, are some of my favorites that I met some amazing friends and enjoyed some time away from the nursing books!

    Food and Dining

    It's has food and dining available, not the absolute best, but it is good, cheap, and convenient.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    For a nursing major, I think it's of fair rigor for preparing us nurses for work in the field.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan out everything! Along with your classes, plan for study time, prep-time for those classes, and like most of us, work time. When you add it all up, it's a lot. It's so much easier when you have a set schedule.

    In three sentences

    It's an extremely friendly college where you get to know the staff and students very well. Campus is always maintained and cleaned which is nice. Virginia Western offers so much time and effort to help achieve anything you want.

  • 02/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel very safe on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something going on.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students will thrive at VWCC.

    Bang for the buck

    If I could get my BSN here I would to save A LOT of money. This is the place to go for all the 101 classes and such.

    What to do for fun

    The campus always tries really hard to get the students involved in extra activities.

    Food and Dining

    They have a Domino's and Java Hut. Pretty good stuff.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college and it doesn't have on-campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are pretty intense but if you study and go to class you will do great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not buy a book until after your first day of class because you may not need the book at all. Index cards and highlighters are a must.

    In three sentences

    VWCC is a great place to start your higher education. The atmosphere on campus is comforting and supportive. I would recommend this community college to anyone who thinks they want to go back to school.

  • 03/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Higher education for students who are parents. For the youger student who would like to save money on their first 2 years of college before transfering to a 4 year school.

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of outdoor activities if your into hiking, biking, running etc. Movies, bowling, many recreation idea available through the school.

    Food and Dining

    Save money and your health by grocery shopping and cooking your own meals.

    Dorm Life

    I live on my own.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the professor. I've found the ones that have the most assignments and the more challenging tests/quizzes or also the most dedicated to teaching.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ensure that you fill out any financial aid requirements months in advance of the semester. Speak with advisors every semester, as to which classes you should be taking and when. Advisors will also give you deadline dates for financial aid and scholarships.

    In three sentences

    Virginia Western Community College has great transfer programs with wonderful instructors who are able to help you prepare every step of the way. The Board of Education has a special commitment to ensuring students are able to achieve their educational goals. Through financial aid and scholarship opportunities, through great educational programs, the Virginia Western Community College is clearly committed to creating a strong community through education.

  • 03/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everyone must watch a campus safety video. They are serious about safety here.

    Great for these types of students

    Transfer students and those looking to get two year degrees.

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent Price.

    What to do for fun

    There are various opportunities, such as basketball and soccer teams. Sometimes there will be indoor dodgeball or soccer in the gymnasium. The Student Center has other fun activities at various times.

    Food and Dining

    There are a couple places to get food and drink in the cafeteria, but again, this is community college, so it is not expected to have much variety in this area. There is a Dominos Express in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. This is a community college. There are apartments nearby, however.

    Academic Rigor

    This has been slightly disappointing. However, it greatly depends on what classes you take and what instructor you get. Remember, this is community college. High school students can take classes here for a reason. I have learned much, however.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into CLEP and AP first! You might get credit for some classes. If applicable, know where you are going to transfer so you can make sure each class transfers. Have a goal, and prepare accordingly so you do not take unneeded classes.

    In three sentences

    I've had a good experience here. It has not been as challenging as I expected. However, there are excellent transfer opportunities.

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe campus

    Clubs and Activities

    various clubs and sports. Basketball, soccer, and volleyball.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student that needs financial assistance or has been out of school for a long time.

    Bang for the buck

    Virginia Western gives you everything and more for a little bit of nothing. Great place to get generals out of the way.

    What to do for fun

    Meet extraordinary people. Roanoke is a very small place so don't expect a lot to do.

    Food and Dining

    Not many options, but enough to get you through the day.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms, but affordable apartments in the area.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are the same you would receive everywhere else.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great school to start your education. Start T Virginia Western before throwing out thousands for the same education.

    In three sentences

    Virginia Western is a great school to start your education, because it is affordable and is a easy way to ease yourself back into school after being absent for many years. The classes are designed to fit around your schedule, which makes it easy if your a single parent. I am glad I started my education with Virginia Western.

  • 07/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Adult commuter students.

    In three sentences

    The college is affordable. It offers a wide range of programs. The staff is great!

  • 08/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    It would be nice to have more sports clubs on campus

    Great for these types of students

    Students unsure of what they want to major in, parents who want to achieve a college degree, and students who can not afford a four year university.

    Bang for the buck

    The professors I have had are very knowledgeable in their fields. They also are very willing to interact with students and give help when needed.

    What to do for fun

    There are one dollar movies every week or so.

    Tips for prospective students

    Relax and do not be afraid to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    The professors are very student friendly. The campus is very easy to learn and almost impossible to get lost. Virginia Western needs to extend their scholarship attributes to Roanoke County Schools.

  • 09/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and things to do around campus.

    Food and Dining

    I get tired of smelling pizza. I would like some more options.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you're getting into. Realize that this is not a frat school- people of all ages are here to get an education, if you don't want to learn, you need to rethink what you're doing here.

    In three sentences

    Virginia Western is a large enough school to make you feel the appropriate amount of ambiguity but not so large that you feel swallowed by the size. Most staff seem educated and knowledgeable. Some aspects- like the offices- are asinine.

  • 09/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of options on campus, movie nights, open gyms for soccer or dodgeball, free cupcakes, etc!

    Food and Dining

    cafe has decent coffee and bagels

    Dorm Life

    there are no residential options

    Academic Rigor

    It honestly depends on the field you are going in to.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you sign up for classes as soon as registration is open, because they fill up very quickly! If you can avoid the bookstore you can find books much cheaper at Givens Books in Salem, or online!

    In three sentences

    Virginia Western is a great school for people who want an easy transition from high school to college. Most of the professors are very personable and willing to help when you ask. Overall it is a very good school!

  • 01/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It's a community college, I live an hour away. I never really got into the clubs on campus. But from what I understand there's a ton.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get there early. Parking sucks.

    In three sentences

    A lot better than any other community college I have ever been to. It has a university feel to it. They have great teachers with fairly small classes so you feel like you're one on one with your teacher