Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Viterbo University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/06/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Ones who enjoy small classes with professors who know you by name & want you to do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early & go to tours!

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive, but it's worth it. They're very good with scholarships.

    Will enjoy being here

    There's always something to do!

  • 03/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People you like to have small class sizes, interact with the Professors, live on a campus that is like its own community, want to learn values that will be with them for the rest of your life, and have an enjoyable college/university experience then Viterbo University is the school for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Viterbo teachers are here to help the students so don't be afraid to go to your teachers for help if you are stuck or in help in your courses. Most are accommodating. Viterbo also has a Learning Center that offers tutoring services. The tutors are other students who have been through the course, and really understand the contend of the course. There are other services such and Math and Writing services also. So if you are struggling in Math just drop by the Learning Center to polish up your Math skills, and/or if you need help to write a good paper ask one of the Writing Specialists to help you.

    Bang for the buck

    Since Viterbo is a private college, tuition costs are on the higher end. If you go and visit Viterbo and fall in love with the campus, then I would say go for it. Don't look at a college by tuition costs, but rather pick a college/university that you believe fits you.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love how compact the campus is. Viterbo is like a mini city/community inside a large city. It is not like UW-Madison, UW-Oshkosh, or UW- Stout that covers many blocks. Viterbo has very great values too. Since they were founded by the Franciscan Sisters, Viterbo University tries to integrate some of the Franciscan values into the way the teachers teach and how the students learn.

    Am learning a lot

    Yes, I am learning a lot from Viterbo. Attending Viterbo University is like I am back in High School because of the small class sizes. The student, teacher ratio is 17:1. The teachers here learn who you are by name and face. You are not just a face in the crowd. Here you are a human being that the teachers acknowledge.

  • 01/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    viterbo is great for students who are interested in becoming a nurse (it's the major with the most students), like smaller classes and getting to know teachers (there aren't any tas), and people who are looking at attending a smaller school. though it is a smaller catholic school, many people are open minded and there is a great diversity in backgrounds of people who go there. viterbo isn't for you if you are looking for a big school or want to go to school in a big city, la crosse is a medium sized city but not huge.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply early. the application is easy to complete and you hear back soon after you apply. make sure to apply for financial aid through fafsa. most academic scholarships you automatically qualify for when you apply to viterbo.

    Bang for the buck

    because it is a private school, viterbo is more expensive than some public schools, however, they offer lots of scholarships and financial aid. most students get academic scholarships, financial aid, or both. if you qualify for work study you're guaranteed a job. most jobs at viterbo are work study jobs so if you don't have a work study job you can apply at the bookstore or around town.

    Am enjoying being here

    there is usually lots of activities going on. vu after dark is a program where there are activities, games, and movies for anyone to go to on friday and saturday nights but it's mostly aimed towards freshman and sophomores. there tons of clubs, many based on common majors, like the viterbo student nursing association and others. if you want to create a club you do it! this year there are several new clubs on campus. i really enjoyed most of the teachers i had this past semester. my classes were smaller, as most are at viterbo, and if you participate in class and ask questions you'll enjoy the class more and the teacher will get to know you better as well.

    Academic Rigor

    many of the classes i took this past semester i had some background knowledge in but the liberal arts education that viterbo provides its students with is amazing. the academics are challenging at times depending on what program you are in. the nursing program i have heard is very difficult from friends although i am not nursing major. for those students who want to be challenged even more, i would recommend applying to the viterbo honors program. you only have to take one or two honors classes each year and it's a great way to be a part of classes that are more discussion based and where you have more freedom and are able to develop leadership skills. there are academic requirements but they are reasonable and the program is a lot of fun because the leadership team plans activities and has discussions outside of honors classes.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Seems reasonable for a private college

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security guards patrolling the campus. There are also emergency boxes that alerts security if you are feeling uncomfortable as you walk back to your residence. I have never felt in danger with the superb security that Viterbo has.

    Bang for the buck

    Viterbo can be pretty pricey, but it offers so much. You are able to see wonderful performances at a reduced price, have smaller, more personalized classes, and get top-notch help if you have any problem.

    What to do for fun

    Other than the many performances that Viterbo puts on, downtown is only a few blocks from campus. Shopping, getting ice cream at the Pearl, going to Riverside Park, hiking on the Bluffs, or hanging around campus and playing in the courtyards are the best ways to spend the weekends!

    Food and Dining

    The desserts and Steve's station are FANTASTIC!!! Crossroads and Franny's are frequent stops. You can find everything you are craving throughout the year and more.

    Dorm Life

    Other than the usual close quarters of any dorm, the dorms are a place where friendships flourish and personalities develop and become more obvious. I still am close friends with those on my dorm floor, and I definitely saw everyone's personalities develop, and I saw each person come into their own throughout the year.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes definitely increase in rigorousness as the years pass, but keep up a good work ethic and try not to procrastinate, and anyone can do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    A few major tips for prospective students are to take advantage of all that is offered on campus, work hard to keep your grades up, and spend time making strong, lasting relationships.

    In three sentences

    Viterbo University is truly a home away from home! There is such a sense of community and welcome; I could feel it even while just visiting, but now that I actually attend, I am enveloped in the feeling of camaraderie. Along with the small class sizes and more personalized learning, every faculty member makes a point to get to know you as an individual and works to help you succeed; this is just another bonus of attending Viterbo University!

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is one of the safest campuses in the state. There is always a school police officer on duty as well as much access to any help that students in distress may need. They have a fantastic student development center that helps anyone who may feel threatened by anyone. It is also a small campus and it feels more like a family than it does an institution. Everyone seems to be really close and students feel more at home.

    Greek Life

    I have not had any experiences with Greek Life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities to join at Viterbo: a number of athletic teams including intramural teams, clubs with each major, a number of activities offered every weekend and most days of the week.

    Great for these types of students

    Dedicated, hard-working, and students who are willing to persevere through anything (financially, socially, academically).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There not many unusual traditions that Viterbo has to offer.

    Bang for the buck

    Viterbo may be more expensive than most schools in the country, but most students are able to qualify for financial aid. Also, they do an excellent job of preparing students for the outside world once they graduate. Most of the student's time will be spent outside of the classroom and practicing with real life situations, which most other public schools do not offer.

    What to do for fun

    Athletic events are a huge part of the Viterbo life as well as music/art shows. Viterbo is known for the many musical talents in the midwestern area and there are many shows offered monthly. There are many student clubs and organizations for every major or career path that the students may choose to join as well.

    Food and Dining

    The dining services at Viterbo are excellent. Most of the food that Viterbo has to offer is great and the dining services really do cater to student needs. There may not be a lot to chose from but what they do offer is quite good.

    Dorm Life

    I personally have not experienced dorm life at Viterbo, but they do have a brand new residence hall that was just built this year. It is very clean and bigger than the typical college residence hall.

    Academic Rigor

    Viterbo is very challenging and causes students to think in new ways that maybe a public school would not allow them to do. Not only do you apply knowledge in the classroom, but in real life settings as well. This is how it can be challenging, but Viterbo wants all of their students to be prepared and ready for the chosen career path once they graduate.

    Tips for prospective students

    For students interested in attending Viterbo University, I would advise them to come prepared and ready to learn and work hard, not only in the classroom but also when doing field work. Be ready to be challenged in new ways and have an unwilling need to learn and ask questions as you begin your journey. Viterbo is also expensive, so if you are not sure or interested you may want to explore other options to be sure that this is the right school for you.

    In three sentences

    Viterbo University is a great university for anyone looking to pursue any type of career. They really prepare you for you career interests and get you out into the field once you have chosen your major or field of interest. It is important for Viterbo to make sure all students are well prepared once they graduate.

  • 05/11/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 7 people found this review useful. 7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Okay

    Tips for prospective students

    Save Money

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they have walk safety at night. you call and they escort you to your dorm or car.

    Clubs and Activities

    lots of clubs. you will find one that you fit in and love.

    Bang for the buck

    worth the money

    What to do for fun

    drama and art. gym! downtown is really close and movies are about 6 blocks away.

    Food and Dining

    healthy food!

    Dorm Life

    always something to do

    Tips for prospective students

    apply for scholarships!

    In three sentences

    awesome atmosphere. everyone is so nice and helpful. small class room size!

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    activities all weekend on campus and downtown la crosse is so much fun as well

    Food and Dining

    good food at cafeteria though it could get monotonous sometimes. but there is franny's were you get coffee or crossroads with a good menu too

    Dorm Life

    fun living with roommates and resident assistants bring up fun activities on the floors.

    Academic Rigor

    excellent academic quality with teachers who are always willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    good library, activities every weekend, kind people

    In three sentences

    good school in a small community. staff has student's interest at heart. small class sizes for easier interaction with professors.

  • 01/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    our security rocks here! they are so friendly too.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    getting involved helps you meet people.

    Great for these types of students

    the type of person who likes to be tight knit with friends.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    franny's cafe is the best for coffee!

    What to do for fun

    there are always free activities put on by different clubs here.

    Food and Dining

    there are so many options for people. it feels like i'm at home.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are getting renovated and are super nice!

    Tips for prospective students

    review, study, and always ask questions.

    In three sentences

    viterbo is the perfect school for the student who wants a close relationship with their professors. viterbo has a great tutoring program. viterbo is great with anything you need help on.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    the bluffs are a great place to check out, and also the riverside.

    Food and Dining

    food is great during the week, but can sometimes lack on weekends. be sure to check out steve!

    Dorm Life

    living in the dorms as a freshman, and now as an ra, i found this is the best place to build friendship and trust. the newly remodeled rooms are nice too.

    Academic Rigor

    being a biology student, classes are challenging, but they also make you think, and are applicable skills.

    Tips for prospective students

    be open to new experiences. that is where your life will change.

    In three sentences

    viterbo is a wonderful school that made me feel at home. the professors know me by name, and are always willing to help. the servant leadership aspect is also very neat!

  • 04/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a small campus so you feel really safe. the door are locked at 10 pm and you need key to get in

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs to join. Lots of sporting activties also. they have a great work out room

    Great for these types of students

    Viterbo is great for students who believe in good values, are harding working students . Very little drinking on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We are christian based so we have high standard we believe in.

    Bang for the buck

    Since Viterbo is a private college the tution my be alittle more but they do offer alot more scholarships and grants. I also feel i am getting a great education for my money. The nursing program is one of the top rated programs in the country. The graduating students find jobs after graduating.

    What to do for fun

    You can participate in sports, theatre, and lot of club have actitives they sponsor. Lacrosse also offers alot of restaurant, night life, parks and recreation. the shopping is also good with a large varities of stores.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good. They have alot of options to offer. They have a great salad bar. They also have a huge menu so you are not eating the same thing all the time. Cost of food is good too

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is fun. You meet alot of new friends. The dorm rooms could be alittle bigger. There will be new dorms for fall 2012. They will be the quad dorms so i am looking forward to living in them.

    Academic Rigor

    We are expected to do your work nnd show up for classes. The professors and very helpful. They are always willing to help you no matter what time of day. The academic advisors are really helpful in planning your class schedule.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should try to live on campus if possible. You will meet alot of new friends. There are alot of fun activities, good study groups, and the food is good too. Do not be afraid to ask for help or attend study group

    In three sentences

    It is an excellent college to attending. The nursing program is one of the top rated programs in the united states. The university is christian based and hold their students to a higer standard then most universities

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a safe walk program and students are always alerted to any crimes in the area.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're focused on academics, then Viterbo is the place for you!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a chapel called San Domiano on campus with mass every day.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs on campus as well as rec sports.

    Food and Dining

    There is a wide variety of food in the caf. There is a grill station, soup, salad, sandwich bar, hot food, and a station to get food made to order, such as quesadillas. Crossroads is in the union and offers many options, like soup, salad, sandwiches, and burgers. Franny's is in the library and is a great place to get a hot drink on a cool day.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are small and most rooms, at the beginning of first semester, have 3 students per room. There is a lounge with an air conditioner on each floor and it is a great place to relax.

    Academic Rigor

    Viterbo requires many classes, including religion. This makes many students' schedules really full. Many students take 16-18 credits a semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to study hard. Viterbo is an expensive school, but with good grades, it's easy to get scholarships from them. If good grades aren't maintained, however, it is just as easy to loose the scholarship.

    In three sentences

    Viterbo University is extremely focused on academics. Viterbo does not forget its Franciscan roots and incorporates this into the course curriculum.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can get the security phone number where they can walk you back to your car, apartment or dorms. Also they have a blue light where if they think you are being followed you can hit it and someone will be right there.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs to join and you can also make your own club!

    What to do for fun

    They have VU after dark which includes sometimes free movies and bowling. Also we have open mic, bingo, and idol. Also we have bus trips to the MOA and Six Flags!

    Food and Dining

    They have a lot of varities. With two other places to eat on campus beside the caf.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is awesome. They have hallway parties and everyone is always willling to have their doors open.

    Academic Rigor

    You can make a sports team that competes not competitively. Also you can always try out new things and maybe end up making the real team.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself. Try new things.

    In three sentences

    School is awesome! They accept you for who you are! They are always willing to listen.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    This is definitely an expensive school, but the education you get is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of things to do on campus through campus activities like movies and hiking. The La Crosse area is full of things to do as well. Viterbo also has a phenomenal theatre, and students get half off their tickets!

    Food and Dining

    There are restaurants in the area, but on campus dining definitely needs improvement. There is a cafeteria which is typical cafeteria food, but the hours aren't the greatest. This campus needs something that stays open longer and is open on the weekends.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't stay in the dorms but have heard good things!

    Academic Rigor

    If you decide you want to come to Viterbo make sure you're ready. This school is definitely not a walk in the park if you intend to do anything in the science/medical fields. I found that the freshmen level science courses were more difficult than expected, yet the teacher support was huge. The programs are competitive, yet hard work always pays off. In my experience the students the put forth the time and effort in their classes did fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on attending Viterbo get ready for a great 4 years that will be full of hard work and great relationships. This is not a school in which the students party all night and then skip class the next day. I have absolutely loved attending college here and would do it all over again!

    In three sentences

    Viterbo University is a great small college for anyone who is focused and willing to put forth the time and effort academically. It is large enough where there are numerous opportunities to participate in, yet small enough where leadership opportunities are abundant. I would definitely recommend this school to prospective students.

  • 05/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Bluffs, River, Downtown, Shopping

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't stress over your major and classes. If your mind is set on a specific major or interest, stick with it and if you are passionate, it will all work out in the end.

    In three sentences

    Viterbo University is a small quiet school with small to average class sizes. The professors know your name, unlike alot of larger schools.

  • 10/09/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Explore the outdoors, or play in the snow! Besides that there isn't a large city nearby for huge entertainment purposes.

    Food and Dining

    I have not eaten there, but the selection sounds awesome and they are opening up a new bagel shop very soon!

    Dorm Life

    Compared to most colleges, it has a great size dorm that would give students plenty of space to keep them happy and not cramped.

    Academic Rigor

    From what the visit explained, it is not a hard school, but if you are looking for a challenge and are willing to be determined, there are rigorous programs out there.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking into nursing, this is a SUPERB school because if its high-tech electronics and learning dummies for testing and learning nursing.

    In three sentences

    I loved that atmosphere and how friendly everyone around me was. It made me feel right at home and excited to attend. It had great scenery and a wonderful town!

  • 11/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Roller Derby, ALS Support Group, Advocate for awareness on Sexual Trafficking

    Food and Dining

    Food is delicious.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in the dorm here.

    Academic Rigor

    You are pushed to your maximum, but without being left behind.

    In three sentences

    Viterbo professors care about how well you are learning. They are willing to make time for you, no matter what, in order to help you succeed.

  • 01/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus itself is very safe. the surrounding area is not.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have many different clubs to join, often related to popular majors. They are easy to join and great for getting volunteer work in.

    Great for these types of students

    Performers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The tradition of blacking out being normal.

    Bang for the buck

    I think Viterbo is a very affordable school when considering the average cost for colleges. They offer a wide variety of scholarships that makes school more affordable.

    What to do for fun

    Drinking, going to Viterbo sponsored afterdark events, partying, smoking cigarettes. You can find people who don't party and do other fun things, too.

    Food and Dining

    The best thing about the food to me is the Friday fish fry. However, that doesn't make up for the fact that the salad area is right in the middle of 5-6 different kinds of desserts, and the sub-par pizza that's always available. The access to fatty foods makes it very easy to gain weight.

    Dorm Life

    The RA plans fun things now and then, and most of the people on my floor are kind. Sometimes there is loud music, but that is expected.

    Academic Rigor

    I find the classes too easy. I wish I could take more than 18 credits (aka around 5 classes).

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit and stay over a night if you can! You learn a lot more about a college by seeing it for yourself.

    In three sentences

    Viterbo is an affordable and worthwhile pursuit, especially for those interested in nursing or the arts. Drinking and partying is the main way most students get to know each other which can be a pro or con depending on your views of alcohol. Their buildings and services are adequate for the average student.

  • 03/08/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus felt extremely safe to us.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is something for everyone at Viterbo.

    Great for these types of students

    I would say all types of students. If you can't come here and be happy, you probably can't be happy.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None to speak of, but I would like to mention that although Viterbo is a Catholic University, it is more importantly a community of faith, tolerance, and acceptance. Since I am a member of a Baptist church, I was curious as to what the vibe would be on campus. The vibe is one of faith through works instead of meaningless words Every smile, warm hand shake, and hug affirmed the love of Christ to us. It was a blessing to visit, and we look forward to returning for another visit soon.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to other private schools that we are considering, Viterbo is probably the best value. We were blown away by how posh all of the facilities were. There wasn't a single time when we said, Oooh. This looks run down. Every building that we entered on our tour was clean, well maintained, newly renovated, or new. It felt like the Marriott compared to the Days Inn, which has been our experience at more than one college campus. The students and faculty are amazing, too. They are the warmest student body and faculty that we have experienced to date, and we left feeling that we had made genuine connections with people who cared about Viterbo and us.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do. The Historic Downtown District of La Crosse is beautiful, full of fun restaurants and shops, and convenient to the Viterbo. Madison, WI and Minneapolis are close enough for a shopping trip. There are ski resorts, and the beautiful bluffs surrounding the Mississippi River make you feel like you are in a cozy retreat in the mountains.

    Food and Dining

    The main cafeteria on campus was the most impressive of all of the schools that we have visited. It has numerous options, made to order specialties, and a pleasant atmosphere.

    Dorm Life

    Toured two different dorms, and I can tell you that they are impressive. They are clean, roomy, conveniently located, and full of character. I loved the exposed brick walls in Bonaventure Hall. The dorm felt like a hip studio.

    Academic Rigor

    Based on our research, you will be challenged and prepared for the career that you are seeking.

    Tips for prospective students

    The Admissions Office will craft a thorough experience that will leave you fulfilled. Tell them about your interests, request to lunch with a current student from your prospective major, and enjoy BEAUTIFUL La Crosse, WI.

    In three sentences

    You have to go visit this special place! This was our 5th extensive college visit, and we went with the intention of removing it from consideration because it was 12 hours away from home. We couldn't have been more wrong.