Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Volunteer State Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/18/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for several types of students. Fresh out of high school students can take their general education classes, and spend some time deciding what to choose as a major. Vol State also has a lot of adult students, many of whom left previous jobs with the hope of trying something new. Both types of students are abundant at Vol State.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use Vol State as a place to take all of your general education classes. The teachers are really helpful, and you won't be able to take them for such a low price anywhere else! Get involved in something! Vol State has a huge variety of clubs and organizations, which provide a great opportunity to learn, serve the community, and make friends! Take advantage of the free tutoring services! If you are having trouble in any class, Vol State has experienced student tutors, as well as professional tutors, who are willing to do whatever it takes to help you. (It's how I passed my math class!) Take a few classes that aren't required. Choose whatever interests you! It can help you find something you love, and may want to choose as a major.

    Bang for the buck

    Vol State's low tuition seems to be one of the main reasons students choose to attend. It is easy for them to afford, and financial aid often covers some, if not all, of the cost. Some students even get money back for going to school there! If you choose to get really involved in extracurricular activities, you could get your tuition covered by a leadership scholarship, as I have done with my involvement in student publications. Vol State offers a quality education at a remarkably low cost.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really enjoy my experience at Vol State. I enjoy the small class sizes, easygoing students, and the helpfulness of the teachers. Student Activities plans lots of campus events, so between those and clubs, there are tons of ways to get involved and meet new people.

    Am learning a lot

    There are some great teachers at this school. Everyone is extremely willing to go out of their way to help their students. Several of them even offer study sessions in their own homes! They really care about what they're teaching, and it shows (in your test scores!). There is also a variety of tutoring options, which are so helpful.

  • 03/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I would say that students who are laid back, willing to work, and are able to sacrifice not having the university experience would enjoy Vol State. Most of my friends went to MTSU, Austin Peay, or Tennessee Tech after high school. The big universities didn't appeal to me because I didn't want my focus to shift away from my education and on to other things. Those who are very school-oriented would do well here, as well as those who are paying to go themselves and want the best they can get for as little as they can get it. It's a great start to a college career with success in mind.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study up! Meaning: This is a good school, however you shouldn't just settle for any school. Choose one that fits what you are looking for and what you need to get out of school. I went through a search of several different schools before I came back to this one. It all depends on what's best for you!

    Bang for the buck

    Volunteer State is very affordable. Coming out of high school, I was worried about being able to pay for college myself because my parents didn't have the money to send me. I had thought about going to a bigger school, but then realized how much it would mean I would be paying down the road. I'm not a loans person, myself. So I wanted to find a school that I could afford to pay for myself and not worry about it leaving me in debt. Right now, even with just working during the summer months, I am still able to afford going to school here. While you won't get all the hype in attending a major university, Volunteer State is great for someone looking to get a good education without all the financial worries.

    Am enjoying being here

    Being fresh out of high school, I can say that it was hard to enjoy going to school everyday. I remember wanting to spend so much time on my school work and in some instances not being able to because of all the distractions and things. Now, I don't have to worry about that at all. From what I have experienced so far, my time in the classroom has been wonderful. The drama you deal with in high school is gone and its much easier to focus on your school work. Off campus, its a relaxed atmosphere, but all the while, you are working hard and enjoying working hard.

    Am learning a lot

    Most students take classes on the Gallatin campus. Right now, I am attending off campus sites at McGavock High School and Wilson Central High School for night class. I was skeptical at first of what I was missing out on at the main campus, but after my first semester, I found that I am learning a lot. The teachers are phenomenal, and because the classes are often smaller than they would be on campus during the day, I am able to develop a good relationship with both the teacher and the other students. I enjoy that because we are able to have more class discussion and learn more on and off the curriculum. It's a great opportunity to learn about the subjects within your major and subjects about life from older peers.

  • 07/24/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I recommend Volunteer State Community College to any type of student; whether you are budget conscious, working full-time, or simply unsure of what major you're interested in, VolState is the place to be!

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend working with an Admission Counselor on making your schedule. If you know where you will be transferring to VolState will work with the other school on making your schedule to ensure that all the classes you will take at VolState will transfer.

    Bang for the buck

    Volunteer State Community College is as cheap as it gets! Tennessee HOPE Scholarship covers most of your expenses, but VolState has other scholarships you can apply for to cover the extra, unforeseen costs.

    Did enjoy being here

    I loved the atmosphere a VolState! The campus is big enough to feel like a college, but small enough that you don't feel like just another face in the crowd. The teachers are personable and actually remember your name! There are plenty of extracurricular activities to involve yourself in, on and off campus.

    Did learn a lot

    I attended Volunteer State Community College for my freshman year. Choosing VolState was the best decision I made regarding my education. VolState has a very flexible program, including multiple locations. I took all of my classes on the main Gallatin campus. I experienced every type of education available. I took MWF, Tues.,Thurs., night, online classesvand even a Maymester class (which is a 15 week class done in 15 days). Every professor I had at VolState was supportive, encouraging, entertaining, and understanding. I never had a teacher turn me away when I needed help after class. Most made themselves available to their students night and day.

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police officers are usually patrolling the campus, especially in the mornings, and they will issue tickets for parking violations. I didn't heard of any safety problems on campus for the 2012-2013 school year.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something going on somewhere on campus. This past year, there was a soccer tournament in the middle of the campus, as well as inflatables. You never know what's going to happen until you see those banners posted in the hallways.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for the student who wants to stay local a little while longer before transferring to a four year university.

    Bang for the buck

    Vol State is a great school to attend to knock those boring remedial courses out of the way. A full time student (12 hours) will only spend between $3500 and $4000 a year.

    What to do for fun

    There are several groups and clubs to join. Groups of people from difficult classes attend SI (Supplemental Instruction) groups usually in afternoons and they review material you may not have caught in class. The Theater puts on superb plays.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is quite expensive and not of the best quality, especially considering the price. It's very convenient, which is why the prices are so high.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigorness of a class is dependent upon which professor you choose and to which program you enter.

    Tips for prospective students

    Treat your classes with the utmost importance. If you miss too many days or slack off, as they say, you will fall behind and your professors are not as willing to help you if you've missed continuous days or shown a lack of interest. It is your responsibility to make up any missed work and to make sure everything is turned in and to keep track of your own grade. Your professors aren't there to baby you.

    In three sentences

    While Volunteer State Community College is a small school nicely nestled right off Nashville Pike in Gallatin, it's a place for opportunities. With a wide range of programs and majors and numerous class times and days, going back to school has never been easier! Enrolling is one of the smartest choices you'll ever make, should you decide to apply at Volunteer State Community College.

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24 hrs security

    Greek Life

    not applicable

    Clubs and Activities

    I am a member of two: PTK and Team Change.

    Great for these types of students

    There is something for everyone on campus so it is great for all students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    Great education for a great price.

    What to do for fun

    There are sports and clubs for all.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good but i usually eat off campus as it is cheaper.

    Dorm Life

    not applicable

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are difficult but the faculty works with you. There are also several programs designed to help students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy your classes and take all the opportunities that are offered.

    In three sentences

    Vol State is a great school. The professors are wonderful in their fields and very accessible. I rate Vol State a 9 out of 10.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very, extrememely safe campus.

    Great for these types of students

    students who are willing to drive to school everyday, because that takes dedication.

    Bang for the buck

    this school is so cheap! the tn lottery scholarship basically covers tuition.

    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of student activitites that are fun. i participated in my first flash mob here!!

    Food and Dining

    the wood campus center has a great cafeteria with a lot of choices. food can sometimes be a little expensive, but it's good quality. there are also a lot of restaurants off campus.

    Dorm Life

    this is a community college, so there is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    my classes are very challenging and my professors expect the best out of all of their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply early!! the earlier you apply, to more scholarships you can get and you also get the classtimes that you want. don't be afraid to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    this is a very good school. although students sometimes go here thinking that they can breeze by and do the miniumun amount of work, the professors here expect a lot from us. you get out of this school what you put into it.

  • 06/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will feel very secure at Volstate. You can often see campus police patrolling the area. There are phones set up around campus for anyone who needs help to call the campus police.

    What to do for fun

    Volstate offers many activities and clubs that if you are willing to get involved can be very fun and a great way to meet new people.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Volstate is actually quite good for a college, with tasty but healthy choices and some not so healthy but still delicious choices.

    Dorm Life

    Volunteer State is a community college that does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    This is my first college to attend so I do not have anything to compare it to but I have found Volstate to be challenging at times but never impossible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to challenge yourself by taking hard classes. Talk to your teachers and advisors and let your voice be heard. Also know your limits and do be embarrassed to ask for help when you need. Never be afraid to offer help when you see someone struggling.

    In three sentences

    Volunteer State Community College is a great place to start out your college experience. Volstate is well equipped for a junior college with excellent facilities and an experienced staff. The teachers at volstate make time to help their students and encourage their growth.

  • 04/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Oh my gosh this school is very economically friendly with it's low tuition rates! There are a variety of scholarships and grants that students can qualify for, on top of financial aid to help them.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out on the quad, meet up with friends, etc.

    Dorm Life

    It's a commuter college.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a 2-year college, so don't expect it to be an easy college. It gets rigorous at times, especially a month before finals, but don't give up. You have a goal, you have a dream. Go for it!!!!!!!!!!!!

    In three sentences

    I was surprised to know that this school had an engineering program! It was a great experience while attending this school, as I made a lot of friends and met some profound professors. I would recommend this college to anyone starting out college from graduating high school!!!

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    It is a community college, they do not have dorms.

    In three sentences

    Volunteer State Community College is a great school. The teachers, and staff are knowledgeable in and helpful. I would recommend Volunteer State Community College to anyone.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Check RateMyProfessor.Com and plan wisely.

    In three sentences

    Teachers and staff are awesome and really helpful. I love it here! Great place to go to school.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    During orientation, there was a lot of talk about campus safety - it appears to be great

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot on the website

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are not quite sure what degree they wish to obtain. Students who are not yet comfortable with a large college campus Students who feel better in a smaller situation

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I will let you know when I get there

    Bang for the buck

    I think that I made the right choice for me!

    What to do for fun

    The campus appears to have a lot of activities listed on their website

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of restaurants and snack shops near the campus

    Dorm Life

    This does not apply to this college

    Academic Rigor

    The classes appear to be challenging, but able to be completed with assistance. The teachers appear to be knowledgeable and friendly

    Tips for prospective students

    Go on line to investigate the information you desire Contact the school with your questions Always check you portal email from the school to keep up to date

    In three sentences

    I give Volunteer State Community College in organization and orientation. All the personnel are friendly and helpful. The campus is small enough to be comfortable, and large enough to be challenging.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards on site 24/7.

    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Whether you want to play Dungeons and Dragons, a team sport, or immerse yourself in some good old bluegrass with our bluegrass program, there is an activity here for almost anybody.

    Great for these types of students

    Great starter school for those seeking a two year degree, going back to college, or to later transfer to a four year university.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable at only 1000-2000 dollars a semester, depending on how many credit hours you take.

    What to do for fun

    Occasional activities such as backyard movie night and cultural programs that provide fun for both students and their families.

    Food and Dining

    Great, clean cafeteria style serving. Excellent food and plenty of choices at affordable prices. It's nice when you can get a hot meal cheaper than what you can get at a fast food restaurant.

    Dorm Life

    No dormitories available.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are mostly laid back, giving the student room and opportunity to catch up or advance even further with their studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be honest with your teachers when you need help, and don't be afraid to go to the extra programs here to progress in whatever you need help in.

    In three sentences

    Small college, but has lots of potential. This school is efficient with its learning process while still keeping tuition affordable. A great starter college for those looking for two year degrees or for later wanting to transfer to a university for a four year degree.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are several clubs at VolState.

    Food and Dining

    I have no complaints about the cafeteria food. The workers there are very nice and helpful.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college. There're no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to be responsible for your study habits. The teachers aren't there to babysit.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's possible to email your teachers ahead of time to ask which books you'll need. The teacher may let you use an older edition of the textbook that will be cheaper.

    In three sentences

    This college isn't too huge. You won't have an auditorium classroom. It's easier to get to know your fellow students.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have campus police around all the time and there are phones around campus to call for help if needed.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student can go their and know they will be fed with the college experiences.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a great place to go to school especially for the money!

    What to do for fun

    Gallatin is a growing town with lots of things their and near,the outside mall is about 3 miles down the road, lots of restaurants,theaters and more.

    Food and Dining

    I love the food they have . There is a menu to order from and a big open bar with food options and salad bar.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have dorms

    Academic Rigor

    They expect you to do well like any college. They also have many different open lab classes to go to to help , a math lab, an english lab with teachers to read your papers and tell you what to work on , and many other things to help when needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    I think that meeting with advisers to get the right classes is a good start. I never knew I was eligible for financial aid until I tried. The more involved you are with things on campus the better your experience will be . I would always do study groups with hard classes as well.

    In three sentences

    I think that Volstate is a great community college! They have a great student body,many location options, and all kinds of online classes. The financial aid office is such a great help to those in need.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety of this campus is outstanding!

    Greek Life

    None available.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of different clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    There is something for every type of student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I haven't noticed any.

    Bang for the buck

    Get a good choice of classes for your money.

    What to do for fun

    Nashville is only 20 minutes away with a lot of entertainment!

    Food and Dining

    There are a few places nearby. Pretty much what ever you are in the mood for.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are very education and give you your monies worth.

    Tips for prospective students

    RODP classes cost more but are more convenient.

    In three sentences

    This school is amazing! Staff is very helpful! I love that there are so many online class choices.

  • 08/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there's always someone watching out for you.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    none

    Great for these types of students

    communication be willing to hear

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    those who didn't want to support me wanted me to go to a school because all their family went there. it wasn't the best choice or location for me.

    Bang for the buck

    i am excited that God continues to open doors even when i miss it

    What to do for fun

    complete homework and love family. give yourself boundaries and goals!

    Food and Dining

    none

    Dorm Life

    went to school from my residence

    Academic Rigor

    i found the class setting to be greater than online.

    Tips for prospective students

    stand on what you know needs to be done! stay focused because everyone isn't rooting for you! have a support system!

    In three sentences

    Volunteer State community College is very welcoming and warm. The process of entering was quick and not a hassle. They desire you to get a degree more than the applicant.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The schools price is bearable for working adults, the school also seems to provide information at all times as to how to save money.

    What to do for fun

    The college offers a lot of things to keep you busy. It seems that there is always some type of charity going on or something to where they are getting people involved.

    Food and Dining

    The college has an amazing cafeteria that has food that doesn't look like your high school cafeteria food! The price for the food wont melt away your bank account either.

    Dorm Life

    The college does not have dorms, although the campus is located next to some apartments at every location.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the classes you take of course, but the teachers do work with you as much as they can. They really want you to pass the class, the work in itself is not impossible as long as you try.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise everyone to go to this college. I haven't had an experience at any school like I have had at this one.

    In three sentences

    I love this school, all of the staff and students are very helpful. The locations for the school is close to food and coffee shops, so during break there is somewhere to go. The classrooms are small so its helpful for the teachers to be able to get to know you.

  • 11/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for someone who is looking to keep it low key for the first two years of college and then transferr to a university.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't alot to do for fun. I am a outdoor person. I love to hike, bike, ski, and there isn't alot of activities to do outdoors.

    Dorm Life

    I never stayed in a door.

    Academic Rigor

    Great teachers!

    Tips for prospective students

    It is great if your interested in a community college. Someone who is looking for the university experience should look else where.

    In three sentences

    Great teachers. I've learned alot so far. Good community college!

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are several stores close to campus, as well as a few miles away, at which students can shop and spend there free time. Along with these popular attractions are a movie theater less than a half mile south of campus, and a bowling alley.

    Food and Dining

    The on campus cafeteria has a wide variety of delicious options for a mid-day snack or meal. There are also a number of fast food and finer dining restaurants within a mile of campus to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus, and the apartments available close to campus are not safe to walk from. The road in front of the campus is busy all hours of the day. Rent is quite high as well, for dedicated students trying to juggle work, school, and sleep.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are strict in their grading, and simply showing up to class every day will not guarantee you an 'A'. The classes themselves are somewhat difficult, but understood easily if you pay attention and ask questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Volunteer State is like a large dog. If you are friendly and don't make any sudden movements, the faculty and other students will try to get along with you, too. But, if you choose to slack off and run from the dog, it will eventually cause you a lot of harm.

    In three sentences

    Volunteer State Community College is a place to make new friends and learn about other parts of the same ol' fishbowl. There are not many students from out of state, but the ones who aren't seem to be more entertaining. There is always something to do on campus, and even if it is not the most interesting way to spend a week-night, there is always a valuable piece or two of information that can be taken from the experience.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police keep the campus very safe

    Bang for the buck

    Great education for the tuition price.

    What to do for fun

    They have intramural sports and lots of clubs to enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is mall but nice.

    Academic Rigor

    They do a good job at challenging the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Jump in and get active in clubs. Also, don't be afraid to get out and make friends.

    In three sentences

    Great place start your education goals. Very nice and helpful staff. Good diversity goals.

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of things to do. The movie theatre is in walking distance.

    Food and Dining

    McDonalds is across the street.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are great! I learned so much in my past class, but its not all about the teachers you have to put effort in also.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great starter school. Go to class!

    In three sentences

    Vol state is a great school, I am currently still attending high school and also taking 12 hours this semester. Vol state will work you you. The school may loose a couple of papers here and there, but we all mess up some.

  • 01/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are police officers always on campus.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are few clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for the type of student who does not want to be very involved with anything outside of their academic courses.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are no unusual traditions or locations on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    You get the same level of education you would at another school for a much more affordable price.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do for fun on campus.

    Food and Dining

    It is an average cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    The school does not have any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    As a student you must really dedicate yourself to your classes. I am taking online classes and this means that the majority of the course is self-taught.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you have any problem at all ranging from the portal site to financial issues just call the appropriate department. The staff is incredibly helpful and nice.

    In three sentences

    This school is great to use as a transfer school. There is not much to do at the school when it comes to activities and clubs. You get the same level of education as any other school but for a much better price.

  • 01/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Graduate from Vol State.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to Vol state.

    In three sentences

    Volunteer State has an amazing criminal justice department. I learned so much and had a ton of hands on experience in their fast track program. I recommend this to people who want more real life learning and less book work that you will never use.

  • 01/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    So diverse and cultural! Thumbs up!

    Bang for the buck

    It's Harvard learning without the Harvard pricing!

    What to do for fun

    NCG movie theatre gives great student discounts!

    Dorm Life

    No dorm living.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open minded.

    In three sentences

    Volunteer State Community College is a wonderful campus. They strive to make a great atmosphere for their students. Everyone who leaves after graduation will be not just a graduate but a leader, as well.

  • 02/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are all about safety. They are under construction at the moment and have hundreds of signs warning people to be careful.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have many clubs to choose from. You name it, and they probably have it.

    Great for these types of students

    It is a good college from people who work for a living to the people who still live with their parents. It is a good college to start off at.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a Dungeons and Dragons club. They play in the cafeteria.

    Bang for the buck

    You'll definitely learn something or two while on campus.

    What to do for fun

    I usually hang out in the library or cafeteria. It is were you meet so of the most interesting people on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is okay, but the prices are a little high. I recommend the fast food restaurants off campus.

    Dorm Life

    I don't believe Vol State had dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Not bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a good practice college for seeing if you are cut out for college life. Most of the professors are quite nice.

    In three sentences

    Vol State is good for people who are not ready for large campuses. Everyone is very polite, and opens doors for you. Parking could be better.

  • 02/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are gates at the entrance. There is also campus police that patrol frequently.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life because this is a community college.

    Clubs and Activities

    Activities are always available. I have not looked into clubs, but i have heard about SGA and other clubs of this sort.

    Great for these types of students

    This is great for the type of students that need hands on assistance, students with families, students with low income, and students who need a college that will be happy to work with them.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are not any unusual traditions or locations on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    i received financial aid and was required to pay a remain $300. for an education that is awesome. I don't believe I am being deprived of anything because the cost for a community college is lower than that of a university.

    What to do for fun

    There are conferences on campus almost every week. today there is a jewelry sale. last week Avon was on campus giving sample. There is always something to indulge in for fun.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria is very organized. the prices are not overly expensive. the food is very appetizing. I wouldn't say its exactly healthy though.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life. this could be good or bad depending on you needs.

    Academic Rigor

    I am not challenged as much as I would like to be challenged. Maybe this is because I was an IB student in high school. I have been exposed to most the criteria presented in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students, be sure to apply for financial aid ahead of time. the money really does deplete as swiftly as everyone says.

    In three sentences

    I love the small class sizes. Teachers are able to have hands on time with students. This makes the college great for me; thus, i rate it a 8 out of 10.

  • 02/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    On campus there are many clubs that meet on a variety of days, one is the National Society of Leadership and Success, and another example is the Dungeon of Dragons club. There are also many events that happen during both the morning classes and evening classes that are free to the students.

    Food and Dining

    There is currently a basic cafeteria on campus that sells hot food, health food like yogurt, and a grill that you can order from. If you want to eat out, there are many fast food and restaurants on the main road of gallatin across the street from the campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are currently no dorms at volstate. The athletic teams have certain scholarships that allow for those students to rent apartments near the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It is all about your professors, I have had really good professors that bring in helping tools to go along with their classes. I have also had the professors that just read word for word. Make sure you have the book the first or second week of class as some professors don't make you buy them.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips would be to do your homework on signing up for a certain professor, and make sure to sign up for them early. If you intend to take a class on or off campus, make sure you follow how to sign up since Vol State also has another campus in Livingston. Also don't be afraid to help, both the students and faculty will help you with whatever you need;

    In three sentences

    Vol State community college is an easygoing school that has the perfect environment for a student to study. Like any college if you want the best professors available, you need to make sure to do your homework as I made the mistake of not doing that last semester. Right now there is major construction going on, so by next semester there will be tons of room!

  • 02/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been no incidents to my knowledge of theft, attacks, etc. There is always an armed police officer on duty, day and night, patroling the grounds.

    Greek Life

    At the Highland Crest location, this is inapplicable.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are quite a few clubs and activities available to the students. Students create new club every year at Highland Crest, including 4-H, FCA groups, groups against domestic violence, etc. Also, the school holds occasional celebrations, such as festivals, and events with free cotton candy popcorn, and hamburgers.

    Great for these types of students

    Volunteer State at the Highland Crest location is great for students looking to come out of their shell. The staff and professors are more willing to talk to you one on one, and there is only one building. It is a great starter college for those looking to eventually move on to a larger college or university, but need to be eased into the experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It may not be true for next year, but a local church serves free lunch at Highland Crest every Wednesday from 11 AM - 1 PM. This is the second semester they have done so.

    Bang for the buck

    The price per semester is a phenomenal deal. At just under $2000 for 12 credit hours, you will receive a sound education, and a taste of the college experience. It is an unbeatable price, and Volunteer State has not seemed to cut any necessary corners to make it possible.

    What to do for fun

    No one lives on campus, due to the fact that there are no dorms on the Highland Crest campus. Therefore, the fun comes from the individual people hooking up outside of class, and off campus. In Springfield, though, there is a bowling alley, a movie theater, a skating rink, and various clothing stores.

    Food and Dining

    The only food on campus is the food that is sold in the bookstore, which is about as big as a large walk in closet. These foods consist of things like chips, granola bars, pop tarts, hot pockets, pre-made sandwiches and cheeseburgers, and an assortment of drinks. Springfield is a small city, however, and a large multitude of fast food restaurant are within a 5 minute drive from campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at the Highland Crest location at this time, so I don't have an opinion on this.

    Academic Rigor

    This mostly depends on which professors you get for which class. Some professors are a lot more strict on their assignments, due dates, and grading scales, while other professors will really take the time to communicate with you and work on your grade. I have experienced both situations at this college.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you graduated from a public high school, I would definitely suggest going to the Gallatin campus. The campus in Springfield is indeed small, and is more like a high school than anything else, but with college level courses and professors. On the note of the professors, make sure you ask around about how each professor is, because you don't want to end up with a professor who is extremely hard to deal with.

    In three sentences

    Volunteer State Community College at the Highland Crest location in Springfield, TN is a very well-organized, wonderfully staffed establishment. It is small enough to help shy, feeble people like myself transition from hardly any socialization without being overwhelmed. However, it boasts credible staff and professors, and the education received is still one to be proud of.

  • 03/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Vol State offers several degree programs and has a wonderful partnership with some four year schools through their individual Bachelors Degree programs.

    Bang for the buck

    The more involved you are within the school, such as through clubs, sports, etc., the better your experience will be.

    What to do for fun

    There are always events happening every week on campus, from seminars to food, music, and cultural experiences. It is always a great time to meet other students and to have fun!

    Dorm Life

    Vol State does not provide housing on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for each class, be on time, and always do your assignments on time so that you don't feel behind.

    In three sentences

    I have definitely enjoyed being a student at Volunteer State Community College. I feel that my professors have aided me in my education by providing a positive learning atmosphere within their classes and are always able to help with lessons, homework, etc. from class.

  • 03/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is pretty safe. The most frequent problem is property theft, like books and supplies.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Soul Food Luncheon Student Leadership Luncheon Athlete's Banquet Spring Fling

    What to do for fun

    There are over 40 clubs and organizations.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is ok but expensive.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on this campus. it is a commuter school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't fall behind and make use of the resources available to you. Never be afraid to participate in a discussion. It isn't like the internet, where people are waiting to tell you how wrong you are. For the most part, teachers love student participation and are excited that you are excited about learning the material.

    In three sentences

    Vol State is a good school. The academics are okay but they provide a lot of assistance like free math, science, speech, language, and English tutoring. Many professors want to see their students succeed and to make sure student success(actual success as in learning) is at the forefront. Student life leaves things to be desired. We have many clubs an organizations but limited space and low student participation. Vol State is also very affordable. Tuition has stayed around 4 thousand for the year.

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Wanting to save money....... Great education for the money.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of shopping places and great food places across the street.

    Food and Dining

    Awesome cafeteria.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour, fill out all financial aid forms. Get yourself with all,of the buildings and classrooms before you start.

    In three sentences

    Awesome really enjoy attending school here. Classes are great in size. Also the professors are extremely helpful.

  • 04/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police on staff from when the school closes to when the school ends. They are always a phone call away and there is assist you when needed.

    Clubs and Activities

    From what I have heard and know of there are literally tons of clubs and activities that students and also staff can take apart of. Opens up opportunities to meet new people.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a musical student, there are so many opportunities in store for you. There is music club which is basically all of the groups and music classes on campus combined. I myself am apart of this amazing group of people since I am taking Jazz ensemble this spring. If you are any in form a musician please look into this! You'll simply love it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not an unusual spot. Be there is a gazebo where a lot of the students tend to hangout as well, students like to hangout on 'The Green' and enjoy any of the activities going on that day.

    Bang for the buck

    If you want to save money on books, ask students how have taken the classes before and see if they will sell or rent the book to you. Also there is a Rent-a-book across from the campus that you can buy or rent books that helps save you money. But asking people for their used books really help!!! ALOT OF PEOPLE WILL POST ON FACEBOOK.

    What to do for fun

    Volstate has many open opportunities for students to join clubs or activities on campus. 'The Green' on campus is where most students like to meet up to play games, fly kites, hacky sack, soccer, flag football, ect. There is an open gym and weight room for students too.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dinning is great, but a little expensive. If you ever forget lunch you can always go there. The Cafe has a grill that makes up to anything like Philly cheese steaks. As well where the location of the school is there are a lot of local restaurants available for students to go eat.

    Academic Rigor

    For scholarships they are strict. You have to be a full time student with 12 hours or more, and maintain a 3.0 GPA. if you drop a class or fail a class you can potentially lose your scholarship. As well teachers and the dean do not stand for violence or care if you skip class. Teachers do and will mark you up for skipping class, its just shows your lack of dedication and its goes in records I assume for attendance.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you were a straight A student growing up in high school and still want to maintain that average, the campus has an honor program. What the honor program does is that they search for people with a GPA over 3.0 and ask them if they want to apply or join the group. It's a great thing to go on a transcript! Plus it opens up so many opportunities for scholarship! And they also host a drawing for people within the group to receive the honors program scholarship.

    In three sentences

    Overall I love the campus. Teacher and staff are extremely helpful and understanding. This school even though a two year, helps you prepare for transferring; as well you can also get your degree on campus and graduate from here.

  • 04/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 41

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Volunteer State is a great community college to attend if you are trying to save money as well as if you are undecided on where you would like to continue your education

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very well maintained. There are always there and on top of it all! They do a great job!

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't belong to any clubs but have been involved in some activities. I spoke to the entire faculty and staff presenting our presentation of texting and driving. It was a great success!

    Great for these types of students

    No matter what you area of study, they always have something that will keep you interested and enjoy your courses.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not really sure about this one.

    Bang for the buck

    Considering I am 39 and a single mom, I lost my husband just about 3 years ago, I never thought I would have gone back to school. I finally decided to check out Vol State and I am so very thankful that I did. They have encouraged me and have helped me set my goals to where I can handle the schooling and make it through without stressing it! I have so enjoyed going there!

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities going on around the campus. All you have to do is look around!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is a great place to study or just relax with some friends. You cant beat the prices of the food and there is always a variety of food. Its very yummy!

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms on the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, they help you succeed and do what it takes to keep you on the right path.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to go check it out! They have great programs and the advisors will help you every step of the way to make sure you are making the correct career path with the correct education.

    In three sentences

    Vol state is friendly, helpful and very encouraging. They are always there to help you and keep you confident to not give up on your dreams! Always a smile to make your day.

  • 05/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have all your things straight before trying to enroll

    In three sentences

    This is a nice small Community College where the professors are really attentive to your needs. A great place to attend within a great community

  • 06/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Several resturants nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are challenging but, not overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please remember to treat the instructors with respect and they will do anything for you.

    In three sentences

    My experience at Vol State has been a positive one. The professors are well educated and have a genuine compassion for the students they teach. All of my instructors have been fair and extremely helpful to me as I pursue my degree. If they sense that you have a true desire to learn the material, they will take the extra time to teach the concepts.

  • 06/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any one really can fit here. You just have to really wanna get some where in life, have that inner drive!

    Bang for the buck

    I got a handful of scholarships already and I still haven't heard back from all that I applied to.....and I already have all my tution paid for!

    Food and Dining

    Lots of options in a small area!

    Academic Rigor

    Be prepared to at least work a little outside of school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont be afraid to ask questions. You've probably heard this a million times but its true! It really helps. And DEFINATELY chech your professors out on any site you can!

    In three sentences

    I graduated from High School on a Saturday and the next Wednesday I had my orientation! I was so excited and nervous but where I had taken some Honors Dual Enrollment classes in HS, I had an advantage against the rest of the nervous first timers! (I ended up having my General Psychology teacher for my advisor!). VolState is warm, welcoming, and friendly!

  • 06/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus safety is good there are campus police all over the campus.

    Greek Life

    what is Greek life?

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a lot of clubs and activities there. as for me personal i haven't checked them out.

    Great for these types of students

    i think this school is great for any kind of student. it helps you to transition from a big school to a bigger school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i haven't seen any but i will keep you updated.

    Bang for the buck

    They have a great language center for extra help with English Math and Science. the ladies are great and friendly.

    What to do for fun

    they have great activities from arts to running and other fun things.

    Food and Dining

    they have a great cafe the best part of it they have computers so you can do homework while you work and a great salad bar and coffee station.

    Dorm Life

    i do not have much experience with this. i live at home with the parents and grandparents.

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers are nice and are willing to help to see you succeed to the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    to check it out. come to the campus and look around. its worth a shot!

    In three sentences

    i love the school so far. they give you the attention and help you need to succeed. i am not very good at school, but vol state gives me the confidence that i can do well and i would recommended this school to anyone who asked. the class sizes are not that big and the professors are great. they are willing to help you succeed. I plan on staying here for my first two years of school but will transfer later. vol state also has great transfer counselors that help you every step of the way to make sure you are taking the right classes that will transfer to the school you are willing to go to.

  • 08/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Great place for low costs.

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do, lakes are nearby and fun, Nashville is less than 45 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is actually good home-cooked type meals.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms available at this time. Surrounding area is great and close to everything.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are great and willing to help you learn if you put forth the effort... no easy A's!

    Tips for prospective students

    Memorize your V number, and stay on top of your advisors, they have a lot of students but are always willing to help you out!

    In three sentences

    Great school, friendly staff and personalized education. Campus is being renovated and looks much better. Highly suggest attending for the education and lower tuition costs.

  • 12/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Tons of campus security!

    Great for these types of students

    Looking for a cheaper option, looking to stay near home or with friends.

    Bang for the buck

    Absolutely!

    What to do for fun

    There is ALWAYS something going on on campus, whether it's music, plays, or even free food and listening to stand up comedians!

    Food and Dining

    SO good!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be upset that you are going to a community college. Looking back, I am glad that I went here first. I was not ready for life when I was supposed to. Now, a graduating senior, I can honestly say that going to Vol State was the best decision of my life by far.

    In three sentences

    If you live in Sumner County, more than likely, you're going to end up at Volunteer State. I loved it so much. Everyone is so helpful and fun because majority of the people are familiar with the area.

  • 01/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Starbucks for group studies. Skate zone near by. Hangouts for many.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of food options on campus and off. Nearby are many options of eating. Conveniently located to two large towns.

    Dorm Life

    They are a community college without housing.

    Academic Rigor

    It's your life...be educated! Use the tools offered to be the best scholar you can be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tour the campus. Utilize your advisor. STUDY!!!

    In three sentences

    I am under the dual/joint enrollment program for high school students. The campus is conveniently located to my home. The campus is not too large for a freshman. Lots of courses of study are offered.