Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Voorhees College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/30/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    20 out of 34 people found this review useful. 1 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    its a great school for students who are black and are Christians

    Tips for prospective students

    it seems like a very good school to attend

  • 12/27/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Voorhees is great for determined students who want to better there future and matriculate from Voorhees with many door and oppotunites open.

    Tips for prospective students

    Voorhees College is a private institution and works very closely with all students to ensure success and brighter future. There are many types of programs that are available and and even travel to perfect your intended craft.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are many activities inside you dorm and also there are many events on various days that you can enjoy and also create a great chance of networking.

    Am learning a lot

    The classroom settings are very small so you can ask for help anytime. There are various opportunities to be taken advantage of. There are also many different programs on campus that help expand your cultural enrichment.

  • 01/15/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Has exactly what i'm looking for a pre-medical program

    In three sentences

    This School seems really cool so far. Its also an HBCU which was something interesting for me. I received a Cappex free waiver application for this school and i'm only a junior.

  • 09/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Curfew High level of security

    Greek Life

    No hazing

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and societies schedule lots of interesting activities and community service that you just can not afford to miss.

    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking Intelligent Athletic students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Assemblies and founders day.

    Bang for the buck

    Good and highly qualified lecturers and professors.

    What to do for fun

    Sports Music Community service Interesting clubs and social organizations.

    Food and Dining

    Good food and nice soft drinks. Taste good! Nice and neatly decorated cafeteria good cooks and chefs.

    Dorm Life

    It is not really furnished with extravagant equipment, but it is fun. Always neat and peaceful. Good Internet facilities comfortable study halls comfortable student lounge.

    Academic Rigor

    Voorhees has produced great men and women, notable in society.

    Tips for prospective students

    High SAT score and ACT scores Good leadership and community service skills Good athletic skills

    In three sentences

    Voorhees College thrives to bring out the best in students spiritually, academically and physically.. It has the best members of staffs and faculty, who work hard to make education more convenient. Though it is a small school, they provide a motivating and peaceful environment for studying.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security are great and cool. But when something goes down they are always there.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life here is ok. It's not as bad as some other colleges.

    Clubs and Activities

    Voorhees College just basically have Basketball, Baseball, Softball, Track, and Volleyball.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are really none.

    What to do for fun

    The only fun thing to do here at Voorhees College is to really participate in sports, such as basketball, softball, and volleyball which is what I do.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is only good on Tuesdays for lunch and Sundays for breakfest. So you basically have to go buy your own food, and they also have resturants here in Denmark.

    Dorm Life

    The college dorm life here is good. It is a living and learning experience. Because it's probably the only time that ill ever be living with a community of people with the same interests, and goals.

    Academic Rigor

    There academic rigor is good here. I mean the teachers really do what they have to do as far as teaching, what is the objective, the purpose of the assignment, class, and program. And for the students we always analyze an argument, and work with others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Basically do the right thing and stay as healthy as you can becasuse I know it would be a constant struggle for some people being that Voorhees College is in the middle of no where. But try to watch what you put in your body because drugs, alcohol, smoking, unhealthy foods can all have a negative affect on your health.

    In three sentences

    Voorhees College is a nice institution to attend if you. The teachers here are great except for this lady name Dr. Ward but other than that the students here are really easy to get along with and have fun with.

  • 01/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety stays on duty so the campus is pretty much secure.

    Greek Life

    we have greeks and they are very friendly, they are part of the fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    a unusual location on campus is the grove. when its hot that's where all the students are at sitting out on the stage playing music and interacting.

    What to do for fun

    we have a student center there we have lots of games computers and other things. im not into games so i rarely visit. We also have parties every other weekend.

    Food and Dining

    the food is not all that bad of course it have its days. but i wouldn't prefer anyone to depend on cafe for a great meal.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life can be fun its all in how you make it. Me personally i love it! it gives you the chance to get to know others and find out who they really are.

    Academic Rigor

    its somewhat challenging but you have to study study and study. no one can stop you unless you let them interfere.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure that your financial aid is correct. have a plan and purpose because those things motivate you and help you through out the years in college.

    In three sentences

    I would say that voorhees college is small but more accessible to your professors which makes that a great thing. The professors are willing to help and the students are willing to learn.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our secruity is really on point when it comes to the students and the safety of us.

    Greek Life

    Greek life to me is amazing i love how all the sororites and fraternities come together and through all sort of activities for us to do.

    Clubs and Activities

    Greek life ,ROTC, Math Clubs, Art Clubs

    Great for these types of students

    The student support center is great for students who need help with taking test, improving their grades, and help applying for jobs locally.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The pecan grove, its a large field where everybody goes and just relax. Its called the pecan grove of course because of its pecans. Students here love the grove.

    What to do for fun

    Things that i do for is go outside and relax with other students. I also go to the student center where you able to play pool and other games.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is great. The food here really makes me feel a home. Being far from can be very sad, but having food that reminds me of home makes it so much better.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is wonderful. I love getting to know different females from different places.

    Academic Rigor

    Changing minds changing lifes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard. Don't party to much. Get enough rest. Stay focus.

    In three sentences

    The classes are small. The teachers and professors get to know each of there students. The campus is also very open to the public.

  • 06/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    School Activities

    Food and Dining

    Its sometimes nasty but the fries are good!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are small and kinda old.

    Academic Rigor

    I love the classes because you have small classes and teachers really care about you and your grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come Visit the school before you come!

    In three sentences

    Voorhees College is a quiet school. It is also small and you know everyone at the school. You stay focus because there is really nothing to do!

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to a basketball game or any type program they may have on campus.

    Food and Dining

    needs improvement it could be worst but they can do a lot better than what they have.

    Dorm Life

    they're dorm need improvement a lot, mostly there bathrooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are good if would like to major in biology, education or health recreation they have a great department for those.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective student my tip would be join a club and get involve with an organization, if not you will be very bored.

    In three sentences

    I would rate voorhees college from one to ten as a (three) because they need to improve a lot.

  • 09/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is OK, but its not the best.

    Greek Life

    My school only have the Historically Black Founded Greeks. They do not have any business fraternities or anything like that, but the Greeks on my campus are amazing and everybody can find somebody they are interested in.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you look hard enough, you will find something for you.

    Great for these types of students

    People who are not sure what they want to do in life yet.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unusual location is Denmark, S.C., it's unusual because you have never heard of it.

    Bang for the buck

    You can get all of your moneys worth as long as you take FULL advantage of the school.

    What to do for fun

    Anything to find on campus to do. Because we are in the middle of nowhere you have to make your own fun, but once you find a group of friends to have with it wont be hard.

    Food and Dining

    Cafe normally serves the same food, but it may be different every now and then.

    Dorm Life

    Some of the people can be nasty and immature, but you will get over it, eventually.

    Academic Rigor

    It's challenging depending on you field.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in with an open mind. Try new things. Don't let upperclassmen get into your head. Most importantly, have fun!

    In three sentences

    A school that helps their students to best of their ability. A school that MAKES SURE YOU HAVE EVERYTHING YOU NEED! A school that helps you fins a job after you graduate, usually sooner than later.

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel like the campus could be a lot safer with only 4 total security guards its impossible to keep everything under control at all times.

    Greek Life

    i haven't seen any Greeks on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    i am actually apart of the basketball team so i feel like the sports and clubs are good but the facilities could be better so i gave it a three.

    Great for these types of students

    the school is great for a first time college student because it guides you through every thing from the enrollment to financial aid to registering for classes and voorhees even has academic ad visors and upperclassmen mentoring to help you during school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i cant really tell u any unusual traditions because i just got here.

    Bang for the buck

    overall i feel that voorhees is a bang for its buck with all it has to offer from its academics to its sports and clubs and the staff that are eager to teach their students.

    What to do for fun

    For fun i like to go to the gym and work on my basketball skills, i'm in the gym everyday.

    Food and Dining

    i gave it a two star for food and dinning because for one there aren't any off campus restaurants and the only on campus restaurant opens from 7-8 am then from 12-1 pm then 3:30-6 pm and in between these hours there is no place to eat.

    Dorm Life

    i gave the dorm life a three star rating because for me the rules are a bit strict, but that's just me some students however need those rules in order to stay out of trouble and stay focused on why they are in college.

    Academic Rigor

    I gave it a five star rating simply because the amount of majors there are to choose from, so your bound to find something that interests you, and also because the courses are a bit challenging forcing you to push your self intellectually.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a student who doesn't do well in larger classes like in larger schools then voorhees is a school to definitely look into due to its smaller class environment.

    In three sentences

    in my opinion academically voorhees college is wonderful, it has an arsenal of majors that are interesting. Voorhees college also has a diverse student base even though its an HBCU. Overall what makes this school work for me is its smaller classes which help you get to know you professors and develop relationships with them to help ensure academic success.

  • 02/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are active greeks on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Some people hang around outside in the grove. Others spend time in their room watching television and doing other activities. Sometimes there are activities going on on-campus. Also. when there is a game, a lot of students attend.

    Tips for prospective students

    Give Voorhees a chance. It has a lot to offer.

    In three sentences

    Voorhees has a excellent learning environment. Voorhees offer great opportunities. Voorhees is a great college.

  • 03/16/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    13 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are 8 Greek organizations.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs here to be apart of. And also there are organizations to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone and anybody.

    Food and Dining

    I heard the food is alright. Hopefully if i visit the campus i can see everything for myself.

    Academic Rigor

    from what i heard its not that hard but its not extremely easy. I guess it is something I can handle.

    Tips for prospective students

    Voorhees was interested in me through cappex. At first when Cappex told me that Voorhees College was interested in me I was going to deny them but, then something told me to give them a chance and to look more in the school. Well Voorhees College did send me mail such as an admissions package with everything I need to fill out for my senior year of high school and also a application wavier fee. I did tons of research of this school and i did like what i heard/ saw . I also found out this is a Small HBCU which I need so I am certainly going to apply.

  • 05/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    its cheaper to live off campus than it is to live on campus, about 8,000 more to live on campus.

    What to do for fun

    what to do for fun? Funny question, there really isn't anything much to do because of the area, its basically a small town.

    Food and Dining

    I don't really eat at the campus.

    Dorm Life

    I am an off-campus student.

    Academic Rigor

    strictly on academics!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for Prospective students; come to Voorhees college!!!! I couldn't ever made a better choice.

    In three sentences

    Voorhees College is my first choice for a HBCU, and since I have been here I have experienced so many things that enhanced my horizon, I love the campus because its smaller and the teachers are closer to the students because of the size of the campus.

  • 12/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    The Greek life on campus is pretty good they are all cool and have fun. The 2 that have the most fun and parties and other things would be the Deltas and the Alphas they are all humble and down-to-earth.

    What to do for fun

    If you do not hang arond fun people you will not have fun on campus, we have a student center with pool tables, table tennis, foosball, and flat screen TV when you are done with class you can walk there for a little fun or wait for the weekend for one of the Greeks to have a party.

    Food and Dining

    We just call the cafeteria caf. some days they will have some good food other days not so much. The best days to go to caf are the days before Thanksgiving and Christmas break. that is when they serve the best dinners and during homecoming.

    Dorm Life

    I love my school but the area they could do better in is the dorm and cafe, the rooms are small to share with another girl and if you do not get along with your roommate you will be in an awkward room. There is mold here and there they are trying to fix that up but yes the dorms are not so good.

    Academic Rigor

    I gave the academics 4 starts because the teachers and staff are there to help you when needed but like they say closed mouth do not get fed so you have to speak up if you are needed help otherwise they will go on.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for anyone thinking about attending Voorhees College is make sure you have a car or a way to get somewhere far, the reason being Voorhees is in a small mom and pop town with little to nothing in walking distance, and nothing in town is open for 24 hours if you are wanting a late night snack.

    In three sentences

    Voorhees College is a great HBCU to attend. The professors are great and will work with you if needed. You will make life-long friends.