Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Wabash College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have patrolmen roaming around 24/7 but the general idea is shared by everyone; do to others what you want to be done to you. everyone respects other's property and there are rarely any thefts or fights on campus.

    Greek Life

    8 fraternities here at wabash. all national. all great. parties are going on most weekends at at least one of the houses.

    Clubs and Activities

    always an option for anyone.

    Great for these types of students

    athletes. intellectuals. and everyone in between. this is perfect place for all men.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    chapel sing. where all houses's freshmen, fraternities and independents, go onto the mall and sing the school's fight song for 45min to see who can do it without messing up. winners get serious bragging points and 45 points for homecoming competitions.

    Bang for the buck

    wabash overall is a great environment to be in. the whole atmosphere is happy and relaxing. everything about it is just gives me a good feel.

    What to do for fun

    any sport here is fun. attending the sports games. partaking in clubs such as ultimate frisbee, cooking club, medieval martial arts, spanish/french/german etc.

    Food and Dining

    our cook's food is delicious but can get a little repetitive. she is always open to suggestions.

    Dorm Life

    living in a fraternity house my first year i think is much better than living in the dorm room. its not as cramped and you get much more interaction with the students of wabash.

    Academic Rigor

    the tests here are predominately essay based. lots of reading every night. papers are between 2-15 pages.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't let the all male aspect turn you away from wabash, there are copious amounts of opportunities to find women. be sure to prepare yourself to read and write a lot. the relationships you establish here will benefit you for the rest of your life, be sure to reach out.

    In three sentences

    there are multiple activities around campus almost everyday for anyone to participate in. the relationships you develop with the professors here are long lasting and they are generous and very helpful. the greek life here is outstanding, it's not like other campuses and much more entertaining.

  • 04/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have the gentleman's rule. What else do you need?

    Greek Life

    Again, 60% of all the students live in a fraternity.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs and activities that you cannot even remember them all. And if there is something that interests you that is not a club yet, you can create it.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes who are looking to go to school for much more than just sports.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Don't walk under the arch! Tradition is that if you walk under the arch before your senior comps., that you will fail senior comps.

    What to do for fun

    Crawfordsville area is pretty small, but there is always something to do in it. And if someone can't find something in the town, other big colleges are very close.

    Food and Dining

    Food is readily available, whether you live in a fraternity or not.

    Dorm Life

    60% Greek life, does that tell you much?

    Academic Rigor

    One of the best educations available in the world.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you check out Wabash College. Even though it is an all male school, it is worth every second of it.

    In three sentences

    Close knit college community that cannot be found anywhere else. One of the best educations available in the world. Easy access to faculty and other resources on campus makes a big difference in a hard subject.

  • 04/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Because Wabash has a tight knit community, everyone looks out for each other. We also have security on campus 24/7 to ensure our safety and the safety of our personal belongings if we should leave the campus.

    Greek Life

    The first question most guys ask when they're considering Wabash College is, Where will I live? And just like so many aspects of our student-centered culture, it's completely up to you. There are a total of nine fraternities but each fraternity is different — each has its own personality — so students who wish to pledge a fraternity should go around and meet brothers in all of the houses to find the perfect fit.

    Clubs and Activities

    Getting involved across campus is the way of life at Wabash. There are so many clubs and activities to choose from here. With the tremendous amount of work, we definitely need a period of respite to take a break. There are organizations that appeal to students of all backgrounds like our Muslim Students Association, College Republicans, College Democrats, Language Club, and our 'sHOUT club for gays, lesbians, and bisexual students.

    Great for these types of students

    Wabash is a great place for guys who are self motivated and have a determination to succeed. He must be willing to make sacrifices and know that the type of education he will receive here is invaluable and will take him where he wants to go.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Wabash has the longest fight song in the nation. One of our long standing traditions is learning this song and being able to perform it for about 1 hour. There is an arch on the campus that students are not allowed to walk under unless he is an alum. Seniors walk under this at commencement. In addition, there is a senior bench that only seniors can sit on but others have the opportunity to paint it and represent his fraternity, dorm, club, or organization.

    Bang for the buck

    Wabash is relatively expensive for a private college. There are only about 850 students on campus, but Wabash can also be pretty generous about scholarships. We have a large endowment, but one has to make use of it in order to reap the benefits.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and organizations to be involved with here at Wabash. I participate in the Glee Club and do a few plays throughout the semester. The town we live in is relatively small so there are limits to the things we can do outside of the college. There is a movie theatre, bowling alley, fast food restaurants, and a local theater that hosts plays every year. If students are looking for a more diverse setting, a 45 minute to 1hr drive may be called for.

    Food and Dining

    In my fraternity, we have a great cook. We do our best to make sure her cooking environment is in tip top shape so that she can be comfortable and feel at home. She cooks for about 70 guys and does and excellent job each time. For non fraternity students, we have two on campus facilities for dining.

    Dorm Life

    Wabash is about 60% greek and 40% dorm. This doesn't necessarily separate us. Speaking from the greek life, I can say that I have friends on both sides and we all get along just fine.

    Academic Rigor

    Wabash is known for its academic rigor. The professors are always willing to help out students who make themselves available. Students really have to commit and take on the workload that Wabash comes with.

    Tips for prospective students

    Disclaimer: This is an all male school. But it is a great opportunity to meet people from all walks of life and value women even more whenever you do come across them. Come prepared to work hard!

    In three sentences

    It's a great school that takes a lot of dedication. A lot of the students here are hard working and it's great to collaborate with students from all over the world. I would recommend this college for male students looking to take his education to the next level.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The college is in a small town called Crawfordsville and the campus isn't very large or spread out. In addition, people respect the campus and the people on it so there is hardly ever any trouble.

    Greek Life

    There is about 60% of the student population in the greek life and its very tight and oriented around having fun and doing well in school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is over a dozen number of clubs and activities for students to do so all students will be busy and having fun 24/7.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types of men because it is an all male campus but when men come out they have matured and are ready for society.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a lot of traditions on the campus because it was established in 1832, but there are to many to talk about all at once.

    Bang for the buck

    Offer a large amount of scholarships and also gives a lot of money for financial aid

    What to do for fun

    Hanging out with friends on weekends, sports to play with friends either in the allen center or outdoors, and also the social gathering with neighboring campuses.

    Food and Dining

    The fraternities have there own cook and there is a cafeteria for those in dorms. Wabash offer meal plans and good quality food.

    Dorm Life

    With the nine fraternities and the three dorms, it creates bonds with the people you meet for a life time. In addition, the school provides as much needed furnishing as a college student needs.

    Academic Rigor

    This college pushes the student to the limit but never breaks them. Wabash help create and sculpt a well educated man through the rigourous learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    The college gives all there is needed to know about the school and helps the prospective students with there choice.

    In three sentences

    The college is very well rounded and is very challeneging. Wabash is also very fun and creates open-mined men. This school makes champions through hard work and a tight bond among friends.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    From my experience at Wabash it seems that the only people you have to worry about are the people that live in the college town. Students respect one another. There are few incidents on the campus. None the less, always lock your room, car and locker when you are not around!

    Greek Life

    About 50% of the people at Wabash live in fraternities. They all love it! The men in the houses compete in intramural sports. The best house competitions are held during homecoming week. All the houses host parties during the year. They are a great part of the Wabash community.

    Clubs and Activities

    Wabash has tons of different clubs ranging from Greek life to the Zombie Apocalypse. If you can't find the club you want, find three people and start one yourself!

    Great for these types of students

    Wabash is great for any type of student. I would recommend this school to any male that I know. The men of Wabash come from all over then work ranging from China to Africa. The students also vary from nerdy to athletic. There is no type of student, at Wabash every student is a Wabash Man.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Wabash is full of tradition. The fraternities battle it out all week during Homecoming week. Activities vary from Chapel Sing to game day floats. Be sure not to step on the W in the athletics center or on the seal in the library!

    Bang for the buck

    Students and faculty at Wabash are very welcoming. I have never felt as if I belonged somewhere so well. None of the upperclassman pick on younger students and no one pressures you to do anything that you are uncomfortable with. Wabash is a great place to be. It will prepare you for the future no matter what you choose to major in.

    What to do for fun

    Getting involved is a must at any school. Wabash is no different. Many students join various clubs or sporting events for fun. Students can attend the in season sport for free, swim in the pool during public hours, or go ton the fitness center. Most times students have fun in their rooms by playing video games or cards. The town doesn't offer much in the way of fun, but Chicago and Indianapolis are in reasonable driving distance!

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. It is exactly what you would expect from any school, good, but not amazing. There are different choices. All meals are healthy so you don't have to think twice about what you choose to eat!

    Dorm Life

    Wabash students either live in dorms or fraternities. About 50% live in dorms while the other 50% live in dorms or on-campus houses. The fraternity and independent ( dorm) life are both a lot of fun. You will meet new people and develop strong relationships. Two of the three dorms used to be fraternity houses so the rooms are spacious. All the fraternities are relatively new with great furnishings and spacious houses.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes at Wabash will push you to your limits. Professors expect a lot out of the students. This shouldn't be used as a turn off either. The rigor at Wabash will prepare all the students for the work force or next level of education. Wabash will challenge you, but you can gt through it with hard work and plenty of studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are A million things that CI could tell incoming students at Wabash. The two main tips I would give are study and don't let the all male atmosphere turn you off. Many classmates a green that high school could easily be passed with little or no study time. Wabash College and all other colleges will push your knowledge to the limit. I would suggest that you give yourself plenty of time to ghetto know the material front and back. Don't cram! The all male atmosphere is different to say the least, but it shouldn't be used as a turn off. I would suggest not thinking about the fact of Wabash being all male. You won't even notice on the weekends!

    In three sentences

    The all male atmosphere of Wabash College is one of the many traditions that you will find. The small all male atmosphere creates a brotherhood that is unparalleled at other schools. Through tradition and brotherhood, Wabash men will become successful and live great Lives due to such a wonderful school, Wabash College.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Wabash is extremely safe.

    Greek Life

    Wabash College has great fraternities, and in a sense, is a large fraternity on its own.

    Clubs and Activities

    Wabash College has a wide span of clubs and activites and large amounts of funding available for those clubs through its Student Senate.

    Bang for the buck

    Although Wabash College is certainly not cheap, every dime will be worth it if you put in the neccesary effort. Wabash College works hard to help it's admitted students to be able to afford there education.

    What to do for fun

    Although entertainment opportunities may not be obvious in Crawfordsville, IN, there are in fact many ways for a college student to keep busy. Crawfordsville is near both Shades State Park and Turkey Run State Park. Crawfordsville is the home of both the Lew Wallace and Lane Place Museums, as well as other historical landmarks including the Rotary Jail Museum. Crawfordsville has two golf courses, a bowling alley, a movie theater, and many other attractions, however, if there is not enough things for you to do in Crawfordsville, Lafayette is only 30 miles away and Indianapolis is only 45 miles away.

    Food and Dining

    Wabash College has a great dining hall and the City of Crawfordsville has excellent variety of dining options

    Dorm Life

    Wabash College offers excellent dormitories and exceptional fraternity opportunities.

    Academic Rigor

    Wabash College is a challenging, but like all things in life, you will get out of it what you put into it.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in Wabash College, it is extremely important that you make a campus visit as this has been for many current and past students a crucial factor in there decision.

    In three sentences

    Wabash College is one of three remaining all male colleges. It is outstanding in many ways including its strong liberal arts curriculum, engaging proffessors, and endless opportunities through the network of Wabash Alumni. Wabash College is very small, and is certainly not for everyone, but offers an excellent education for those who dedicate themselves to it.

  • 05/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    The majority of Campus is a part of Greek life and the bonds of brotherhood is strong. With Wabash being such a small school, one really does get to know every single guy in their fraternity and really gets to experience that feeling of brotherhood that Greek life can offer.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to be closer to fellow students and faculty should apply here. Wabash has a student teacher ratio in the mid teens, and the entire student body totals just over 1000 guys. It is all male school, and one's exposure to women will not be...frequent barring staff. However, the professors use the smaller class sizes to their advantage to teach on a more intimate level and really attempt to connect with their students. If this sounds like something you would appreciate, this may be the place for you.

    What to do for fun

    Greek life is a big part of campus, so there is always something going on in one's fraternity. Athletics are also highly emphasized, with seveal sporting events to see every week. There are no real bars or clubs; instead, fun is had with your Wabash brothers in joint activities and various organizations. If worst comes to worst, the internet is of good quality and more than able to provide the entertainment one may be in need of.

    Food and Dining

    Just my personal opinion, but the dining service for independents leaves something to be desired. While it is nice that it supports local farms and often has fresh food, the variety is somewhat limited; I know I go to an all male school, but that shouldn't mean potatoes should come with every meal. When they do attempt something outside of their wheelhouse, it is quite hit or miss. It would be more tolerable if there was competition or at least an alternative, but no such thing exists.

    Dorm Life

    If one is living the Greek life, then one is living the high life at Wabash, and I say this as an independent. My Greek friends almost all enjoy their houses and the services provided by them. However, the care the college takes on maintaining good relations with the Greeks tends to make independents feel like second class citizens when it comes to the allotment of money for housing improvements. Internet is well-maintained, but the housing itself is, for better or worse, dated, with few changes made to a majority of the building in over 40 years.

    Academic Rigor

    Rigor tends to vary depending on the major one is pursuing; Div. 1 majors like to complain that their work load is rough, but then again everyone believes his work load is rough. Wabash definitely pushes the liberal arts approach of schooling, requiring many to take courses that are outside of one's comfort zone or area of expertise; this has the potential to blemish otherwise strong GPA's, but this won't bother the academically gifted or focused.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice is to recognize that Wabash College is located in truly rural community. If one is looking for malls or a diverse collection of bars and dives, he will have to take a 40 minute ride north to Lafayette. As long as one goes in knowing how town life is like, there will not be too many problems.

    In three sentences

    Wabash College is a place meant for young men to become adults. It isn't a military school or strict in that sense, but it isn't anarchy either. It asks adults to behave as a adults and take pride in their accomplishments, and I couldn't support the message more.

  • 12/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    1)National Act: Bi-annual concert series bringing in famous artists (Gym Class Heroes, Timeflies, Lupe Fiasco, Mac Miller) 2)Fraternity Events 3)Intramural Sports and DIII Varsity Sports 4)Clubs and Societies 5)Study Abroad 6)Campus Wide Events (varies)

    Food and Dining

    There are two dining options on campus: 1) Sparks Dining Hall: provides Bon Appetite catering services, along with several buffet services 2) Individual Housing Units: provide meals for themselves 3) Fraternity Chef Services: outstanding meal service programs provided by chefs that prepare 3-meals a day, 5-days a week. Weekend meals are prepared ahead of time and are to be served by any member of the fraternity

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life is increasing on campus. However, Wabash College has an outstanding presence of Greek life, which unifies our campus above all other aspects of the college.

    Academic Rigor

    The coursework is very intensive, but personal. Max capacity for a class is on average 15-students, which means that you will be asked to participate during lectures, lessons, and pre-planned group oriented coursework. It is difficult, but the liberal arts track is in place to prepare students for what they want to do in life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should be ready to experience something that other colleges cannot provide. Wabash College will break you, build you, and change you. I considered myself a college student as a freshman, but I did not consider myself as a man. Wabash will make you become a man by challenging you in an out of the classroom. From fraternity events, campus wide unity tours, and athletic competitions, as a student you WILL be recognized. There is no time to hide under the radar or to sneak through your 4-years at Wabash College. As a student you are expected to standout, to leave a footprint, and to always accept opportunities. If you are interested in standing out from the ordinary college student, then this is the right place for you.

    In three sentences

    Wabash College is hands down the most prestigious private institution for men in the Midwest. The curriculum, the atmosphere, and her tradition stands out from other colleges and universities, and is intended for men who are serious about their careers. Overall, Wabash College is with out a doubt given a two thumbs up.

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Wabash has no issues with safety. We are in a rural community, and the community and Wabash have great relations. Wabash students even get discounts to all of the local stores!

    Greek Life

    Greek life at Wabash is big! Half of our students here are Greek, but our Greek system is unique because all the Greeks and independents are very united. The Greek life at Wabash is very unique in how it interacts with the rest of campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs at Wabash are important because often they serve as a launch point for students interested in a particular field to go deeper. For example, pre-health society often offers information and connections to multiple physicians, hospitals, internships, alums in medicine, etc. This is true for many of our clubs, but also we have many clubs just for fun like cigar and pipe club. Wabash is very open to new clubs, and the process to create one is easy!

    Great for these types of students

    Hard working, motivated, and want to push themselves to the limit!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Wabash is all male. Wabash plays DePauw University in football every year since 1890, making it the oldest rivalry in football.

    Bang for the buck

    This school will change your life because Wabash goes beyond what a normal school would do. You will develop real, relationships with your professors who actually care about you. I have been over to multiple of my professor's houses for dinner with my classmates, just to spend some time together. I have had professors come in on weekends to meet with me to review class material. I have had Wabash alums set me up with their practice to do internships (orthopedic surgeon). Wabash will help you achieve success in whatever field you are looking for.

    What to do for fun

    Because Wabash is such a close and small community, we often all support each other's sporting events. Over half of our student body are student-athletes. We also have plays, concerts, Oktoberfest, homecoming, and many other events throughout the semester that are attended by the majority of the student body.

    Food and Dining

    Food at Wabash is good, not great. There are some good healthy options at the cafeteria, but the options are limited and repeated often. I would say our food is better than average, but certainly not gourmet.

    Dorm Life

    Wabash is a small school; consequently, students often form close bonds with their dormmates. Students are allowed to choice their dorm, room, and dormmates, so this adds to the friendships made throughout the years.

    Academic Rigor

    Wabash is tough! I have been thoroughly challenged here, and I was forced to learn how to study well and regularly. There is no easy road here, but at Wabash we embrace challenges and always push each other to the limit to grow.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus. I truly didn't know how great Wabash was until I met with students, professors, alums, and coaches.

    In three sentences

    Wabash College is a small, liberal arts college for males in Crawfordsville Indiana that pushes young men to go beyond the minimum of what is asked of a college student. Wabash provides numerous opportunities for their students to get involved and get ahead through volunteering opportunities, externships, internships, immersion trips (paid for by the school), study abroad (paid for by the school), and a network of alumns who will all help any Wabash man in any way they can. Going to Wabash isn't a 4 year decision, it is a life time of being apart of unique group of men who work together to think critically, act responsibly, lead effectively, and live humanely.