Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Wake Forest University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/15/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here. Reviewer has been to campus.

    32 out of 33 people found this review useful. 1 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Diligent, Hard Working, Motivated, Passionate

    Tips for prospective students

    Find scholarships, find them and get them. Wake is expensive, no doubt about that, but it is an amazing place to be socially, academically, and athletically. Wake Forest is not for everyone though, the classes are small and intimate, also teaching assistants are nonexistent so professors teach every class. If you are looking for huge classes where you can skirt by on marginal attendance, Wake is not the school for you. If you are considering this school I highly encourage you to visit campus and experience what it is like first hand to be a Deacon.

    Bang for the buck

    While expensive, a Wake Forest education will ultimately pay dividends immediately after graduation. Wake also offers very generous financial aid packages to those who qualify. Getting in is the tough part, Wake will help you find the money to pay for it.

    Am learning a lot

    Wake is not only a tough school to get into; it is also tough once you get there. Students jokingly call it Work Forest for a reason. Do not be deterred by warnings of tough classes, a degree from Wake means something, and ultimately Wake alumni find that the tough curriculum prepares them for the real world after Wake Forest.

  • 07/15/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 out of 21 people found this review useful. 2 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Wake is great for students with a superior work ethic and a competitive spirit.

    Tips for prospective students

    Show up to every class, no matter how unimportant you imagine it will be. Attend your professors' office hours, and do all of your work on time. As long as you never fall behind in class, you will do well.

    Bang for the buck

    Wake Forest is generous with their scholarships. They have many merit-based scholarships that they offer in addition to purely need-based financial aid, making scholarship money that much more obtainable.

    Am enjoying being here

    This sounds corny, but Wake Forest really offers all the benefits of a large research institution in a smaller, liberal arts setting. The professors notice if you aren't in class, and they care about the reason for your absence. The athletics are fantastic; the ACC is a strong conference, and Wake Forest competes successfully despite its small size. Also, students work hard, but they are laid back and know how to have a good time.

    Am learning a lot

    Wake Forest classes are difficult, but the professors are great about helping students understand their material so long as those students appear to be completing their assignments to the best of their ability. The pressure to succeed is relatively high, but this results in well-educated, driven students.

  • 01/02/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 11 people found this review useful. 3 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hard workers who have a good head on their shoulders and know what goals they are working towards.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard! Don't expect college to be an easy ride, because it definitely isn't. Don't skip classes, and make use of a professor's office hours. They are very willing to help students. Most importantly, enjoy yourself! College is the time to try new things and discover your identity, so make the best of it.

    Bang for the buck

    Wake is definitely a place to get a hands on education where your professors know your name. However, the cost is just outrageous. Financial aid is very helpful though and more than likely will meet the monetary needs of the student when concerning tuition prices.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the atmosphere of the campus, and classes are great. However, the Greek scene dominates social life on campus. Weekend events mostly include fraternity parties, so if Greek life isn't your thing, I wouldn't recommend Wake for its social life. Academically though, Wake is wonderful, as classes are small and you build great relationships with your professors.

    Am learning a lot

    Wake definitely challenges students to explore outside of the classroom, and good grades don't come easily. The hard work pays off though, as you develop a better sense of responsibility and diligence.

  • 01/02/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 9 people found this review useful. 4 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Too expensive for me, even though I enjoy it there. Seems very limited on scholarships, and you'd think they'd offer students more sections of the most popular classes.

    Am enjoying being here

    Wake is a bubble and has little relationship with Winston-Salem, but the on-campus resources are great. People are awesome, but all somewhat similar.

    Am learning a lot

    Classes are great if you can get into them..Smaller classes are still lecture based in general. Business classes are extremely difficult to get into. Teachers however are incredibly knowledgeable and are quite open to meet with you.

  • 12/27/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 5 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Wake is great for students who want to challenge themselves as students, and to grow as individuals. You will learn what it takes to be successful both inside of the classroom and out. There is a decent amount of work that is required by your professors, but if you manage your time correctly, you will have more than enough opportunities to socialize and have fun while at college.

    Tips for prospective students

    I highly recommend searching very hard for scholarships and grants. The alumni base at Wake Forest is fantastic, and they are more than willing to assist you in your collegiate endeavors. I received a scholarship worth almost three quarters of the amount it costs to attend Wake Forest from one family who loves Wake Forest and wants to see people attend this great university. Scholarship money is out there and people want to give you money for school, but you have to put in the effort in order to receive the money. I also highly recommend spending a day at Wake Forest on a tour, but I cannot stress enough how much of a better feel you will get for the university if you visit while students are there. I remember on my visit I met so many amazing people that I still communicate with today. They truly gave me a sense of what life at Wake Forest was like and what to expect while you are there. They also showed me that Wake is like one big family, and people will go out of their way to help you if you ask.

    Bang for the buck

    Wake is, without a doubt, very expensive to attend. However, I think every penny is worth it for the experience you get while at Wake. Most of Wake's students receive scholarships and are on student loans that will take years to pay off, but in my opinion each loan taken out is worth it. I couldn't see myself attending any other university after spending just one day on campus. I feel right at home in Winston-Salem.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love my life on Wake Forest. When I took my visit to campus in the April before I graduated high school, I immediately felt at home. I remember sitting in Wait Chapel listening to the provost speak about what current students said about their school, and she was absolutely right. Wake isn't just a university to its students, it's their home. I've made some of the greatest friends in the world at school, and I've yet to meet someone who is not satisfied with their experience at Wake. I also enjoy the fact that Wake is both a small school but participates at the highest level in athletics. Never in my wildest dreams did I imagine being able to see ACC basketball on a consistent basis, but Wake has given me the opportunity to sit front row and watch some of the greatest teams in the country play. Wake also has many amazing traditions that occur on campus that really bring out the true heart and soul of its students.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned not only about certain subjects in school, but also about me as a person. Wake Forest provides such a nurturing environment that allows their students to grow to their fullest potential. Upon entering my first class, I was scared like many of my other freshmen counterparts. But I soon realized that the professors at Wake genuinely care about the well-being of their students, and they won't assign work just to keep their students busy. All of the work that has been assigned to me has proven beneficial and has made me become more interested in subjects I never imagined liking. Wake also provides loads of opportunities to expand your education outside of Winston-Salem through study abroad programs and programs within the community that engage your mind and help you formulate your career path.

  • 12/23/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The best thing about Wake is that it is an intimate college campus. There are only three entrances for the whole campus, and they are monitored after 10pm every night. That creates a very safe feeling. Also, the walk from one side of campus to the other is only five minutes, so unlike big universities, you do not have to walk 15 miles a day. The Greek life is very active, but inclusive and not as intense as other schools, and that creates a great social life. Classes are small and professors actually know your name. There is an opportunity for everyone at Wake so its great for all!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for aid. Visit in the spring when the magnolia trees have bloomed, it is the most beautiful place in the world!

    Bang for the buck

    Wake is very expensive but if you apply for aid, its not too bad. The residence halls are nice, especially the new freshman dorm that was just built. It is more like a hotel than a dorm. The food is always good quality and there is a lot to choose from.

    Am enjoying being here

    I LOVE Wake and everything it has to offer. There are so many groups you can get actively involved in. There are opportunities to be a leader on campus as early as sophomore year because of the intimate nature of the campus. The Student Union and Student Government work to create a very full social calender, doing everything from bringing big artists like Lupe Fiasco, and having weekend pre-release movie showings in the University Center. There is always something to do.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors challenge students because they know only the brightest get accepted. In each of the classes I have taken, I have learned a lot that is applicable in real life, as opposed to high school classes, where it seemed like we learned facts just to say we did. There is a large work load, but if you manage your time, you can be successful.

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Wake is a closed campus, and overall I feel pretty safe walking around by myself. Things do happen occasionally, but it's normally because someone wasn't using their common sense. So just be smart and you shouldn't have any problems.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is huge on campus. There aren't any official Greek houses on campus, though, but each frat or sorority has a lounge in one of the dorms. About 45% of all students on campus are involved in Greek Life, and the number of girls is higher than that of the guys. You can't rush until the spring of your freshman year, and there is also a fall rush for upper classmen.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of different clubs to join and sports to participate in. Wake has everything from club soccer to archery and student union to the Irish Poetry club.

    Bang for the buck

    Wake's tuition is a little outrageous...but you also get a really good education, lots of benefits, smaller classes, and great professors. Overall Wake is worth the money, but I would try and find as many scholarships as you can.

    What to do for fun

    Basically, you can hang out with your friends on the weekends, or you can go out and party. There isn't that much to do off campus if you're lucky enough to have a car. There are lots of events put on by clubs and student union and such, so even though there's not a lot you can always find something to keep you occupied.

    Food and Dining

    Again, food at Wake Forest is average. At the Pit (the cafeteria/dining hall) you use swipes to get an all you can eat meal. Along with your swipes you have food dollars, which can be used at places on campus like Chic Fil-a, Subway, Starbucks, and Moe's. Shorty's is the sit down restaurant on campus, and there you can also use food dollars.

    Dorm Life

    Wake's dorms are average. The newer ones are ridiculously nice, but for those of you fortunate enough to get one your freshman year are in for a wake up call when you're an upper classman. The dorms aren't awful, but they aren't what you'd expect them to be for what you pay. Each room does come with a mini fridge and microwave unit though, and the dorms are air-conditioned as well.

    Academic Rigor

    Wake's nickname is Work Forest, so if you decide to come to Wake, be prepared to work hard for your grades. In most classes you won't be able to do your work half-heartedly and get an A, or even sometimes a B. That being said, as long as you keep your priorities straight and learn to develop good study habits, you're in good shape.

    Tips for prospective students

    Wake is very preppy and is very much Greek-life oriented, so if this bothers you you might want to reconsider. It is totally possible to have a social life if you aren't in a sorority or a frat though, but if you don't like the overwhelming presence of Greek associated students Wake might not be the place for you. But I will tell you that for the price of your tuition you get an excellent education.

    In three sentences

    Wake Forest University offers students an incredible education and research opportunities while still pushing a liberal arts curriculum. WFU is also a university that motivates its students to live out the motto of Pro Humanitate through works of service and dedication to a cause. Most importantly, Wake gives its students the skills to adapt to the changing world and the knowledge to succeed in it.

  • 07/14/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hard working, slightly nerdy, friendly

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be intimidated by the intense application- it weeds out the people who may have high test scores but act stupid in real life

    Bang for the buck

    I applied to schools with billion dollar endowments and got no financial aid, whereas Wake surprised me with the most. It's hard to say no to a school that makes itself affordable and also has an amazing reputation.

    Will enjoy being here

    Don't know because I haven't started yet :)

    Will learn a lot

    They don't call it work forest for nothing! and I actually like that Wake has a core curriculum, because I have to take a theater/arts class eventually which I most likely never would have taken in a school that didn't force me to

  • 08/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -ambitious -well-rounded -intelligent

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't slack off the first year! But make sure you have a lot of fun as well

    Bang for the buck

    Wake Forest is ridiculously expensive and financial aid is not that great.

    Am enjoying being here

    Best time of my life :)

    Am learning a lot

    Wake Forest is not known as Work Forest for nothing. Classes are tough and students have to work really hard for those rare A's; however, professors are great and knowledgeable so we learn a lot here.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The officers on campus are always around. The amount of orientations that you will endure during the first days on campus will having you running off emergency numbers like jingles. There are also lights that can be switched if a student is in danger. There is help at all hours for each and every situation. Wake also offers self defense classes for students who want a little extra help.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is prevalent on campus but about half of the students while the other half do not. It does not matter whether you pledge or not but it is an experience of a lifetime. There are networking opportunities available to you that could make the difference in the future. Greek Life does come with a few perks such as the ability to pick housing before everyone else and a team to experience Beach Weekend. If you want to know more about that, you will have to come to Wake.

    Clubs and Activities

    Wake has a club and activity for any activity that you could possibly be of interest. Even if Wake does not have the particular group, they make it easy and there is an office specifically designed for helping an individual the club of choice. Ideas for new activities are also highly appreciated.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for students who do not wish to merely be a number and want the liberal arts experience. There are a wide range of possibilities available. If there are any students who like to travel, Wake's study abroad has outstanding ratings for the amount of kids that are able to travel to the country of their choice and partake in the program of choice. They make an opportunity for anyone who wishes to go. I am going to London for my upcoming fall semester!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    My favorite traditions are Project Pumpkin, the largest volunteer opportunity of the school, and rolling the Quad. After winning a big home game, it is a tradition that the students throw toilet paper on the trees all over the Quad. Do NOT use dorm toilet tissue for the festivity. Wake provides it.

    Bang for the buck

    Wake is expensive but they give you so much. The only thing that is distasteful is personal purchase of books. The entertainment, size of dorms, range of food availability, small class size, and beauty of the campus are definitely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do on campus. Wake pays for live entertainment quite often. There are always parties on campus and if you need to get away, Wake has a pretty good parking situation so it is easy to find fun if necessary. There are many places to meet up with friends so take advantage of those opportunities. Wake has also found ways to make volunteering so simple that it is a fun task. Sometimes gather as a group of friends to support a cause and you will be amazed at how much you laugh.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is called the Pit and the food is great but it gets really repetitive. The only thing I suggest is using Food Dollars wisely because they go surprisingly fast. Share your swipes if you have extra. It really just helps out your friends a lot, especially if they are trying to save money for other things. The fast food places are good but make sure you order healthily. It is VERY easy to gain a few while on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life gets 4 stars because the process for applying for dorms in the future is too scary. They allow the upperclassmen to get housing first but it leaves the underclassmen stuck with little or no opportunity to get what they want. However, the system is set up so you can pull in your friends. You may end up with a location farther away from class or the cafeteria but at least you will be amongst people you know. Additionally, Wake has fabulous tasks for resident advisers to make dorm life fun. The equipment for you just keeps you entertained doing anything.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is one of the most prestigious schools in the nation and it is challenging academically but it is instrumental in developing skills for the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest you meet with everyone you possibly can and find ways to be remembered. Make sure that all paperwork is submitted on-time if not early because having a smooth smailing experience is a lot less stressful than one with a lot of extra worrying. Finally, during finals week, get to the library for the free food at midnight because it really does help you stay focused longer.

    In three sentences

    This school is one of the greatest choices I have made in my life. It favors the relationships among students, faculty, administration, and parents so is ideal for the student looking for a real experience. Wake is really the right step for preparation in the competitive work force.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's very safe. I've yet to hear about anything bad happening.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is the social centerfold at Wake Forest. If you're not in one, you're out.

    Clubs and Activities

    Everyone is heavily involved in some kind of club or activity. Women's soccer and men's rugby are the best club sports to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Everybody at Wake Forest was the best student athletically and academically in high school. Sometimes, it's hard for students to handle being mediocre in a school full of their own twins. If you can mentally handle being mediocre and the competitiveness, this is the school for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sneaking in the underground tunnels after hours (most frats do this as a part of initiation).

    Bang for the buck

    You will not--and I promise, as a transfer I know--get a better experience. It's worth every dime I've struggled to pay.

    What to do for fun

    Trivia on Tuesdays and Thursdays at Foothills is huge. Everyone goes, so you have to go early! If you like to golf, some people travel to Tanglewood (15 minutes away) or if you like crazy nightlife, some students travel 30 minutes to Greensboro to rage.

    Food and Dining

    If you're a vegan/vegetarian-Whole Foods, Mary's Of Course, Mellow Mushroom, Bubble Tea. Pizza: Mellow Mushroom Late Night: Subway/Starbucks on Campus Coffee: Chelsea's Coffee Shop Asian: Oriental Cafe Grocery Store: Harris Teeter Take the Parents: Village Tavern

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are small, old and overpriced for what you get, but they are close and you don't have to walk far to get to class!

    Academic Rigor

    Wake Forest is HARD. My friends back home do not understand the amount of work I have to do on a regular basis and frequently get mad at me because I do work instead of go out (but I can't help it!). If you want to be successful at Wake, you have to make social sacrifices. The culture at Wake, however, is hard-nosed and driven and most students at Wake accept and understand when you do homework instead of a KA party on Friday. Tip? Make study tips a part of your social scene.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Live on campus--don't buy a parking pass. The parking is terrible and you won't find a spot past 9 AM. 2. Surprisingly, being a D-1, ACC school, students are focused on Greek life as opposed to athletes. Greek life rules the social world. 3. Join a sorority or fraternity. You don't have to hang out with your fraternity/sorority all of the time, but it is a great way to meet friends. Everyone accepts everyone...As long as you have Greek letters...

    In three sentences

    Wake Forest, as a highly academic institution that is seemingly accepting of all beliefs and opinions, was a great experience for me. Furthermore, not only did professors push me beyond even my own expectations, they were also there to help me every step of the way.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is never a reason to feel unsafe at Wake Forest. The safety groups and access to help is always available.

    Greek Life

    Even though I am not a part of a sorority I am very familiar with Greek Life on campus and can honestly say they bring an extra bang to the school from day to day.

    Clubs and Activities

    The amount of activities and groups to join on campus is beyond words. There are literally hundreds of things you could do on campus and if there is something you'd be interested in doing that hasn't been started, it isn't a hassle to get a group/club up and running!

    Great for these types of students

    If you are serious about your education, but love to have fun...if you want a chance to see the world and make a change...if you want to meet people from all types of backgrounds...Wake Forest is for you!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of my favorite traditions at Wake Forest is Awake All Night. This is an event where campus does not sleep. Activities run all day long. It's like a never ending carnival! In addition to this is the President's Ball. It an amazing ball that happens every other year that I think every student should take advantage of. It is simply fantastic.

    Bang for the buck

    Wake Forest, though on the pricey side is well worth it. the professors and education supplied along with the endless resources is far above average. From the speakers to the shows and plays put on on campus, the Wake Forest experience is well worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    There's always something going on at Wake Forest whether it be a music concert, a lawn party, or just day to day outside activity. If you're not busy studying for a test or doing homework, finding something fun to do isn't hard at all!

    Food and Dining

    Wake Forest does it's best to offer gourmet foods with endless options. Take advantage! And they are constantly changing the meal plan in efforts to make each student just a little more comfortable.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is simply amazing. I've met so many great people my first year at Wake Forest. The administration and faculty make it easy for you to become more acclimated with the dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Make sure you are about your business. Its okay to have fun, but make sure you have that balance. (Pssssttt.... It isn't hard to maintain a balance because you're surrounded by so many who are like minded)

    Tips for prospective students

    Hard work will get you so far. You really do reap the rewards for the work and effort that you put in, and Wake Forest makes sure of it.

    In three sentences

    Wake Forest is an amazing school academically. They work with you in your efforts to achieve any goal. Wake Forest is 'pro humanitate'.

  • 10/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Wake has a closed and gated campus. After 10p.m. you have to go past the security gate. Campus police patrol regularly and there are blue lights (alarm stations to call for help) everywhere. There are very few incidents on campus involving outsiders.

    Greek Life

    It's everywhere. The majority of Wake students are Greek, but you don't have to join. I spent my 4 years hanging out with Greek friends and never joining. To each his own, its a small enough campus you all hang out anyway.

    Clubs and Activities

    Wake offers pretty much everything from flag football to archery, fencing, and equestrian. If it doesn't exist, start a club! Wake is incredibly supportive of the Club Sports Union on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Wake is great for students that love school. Work hard and play hard. There is a strong Greek presence on campus, but there are also plenty of non-Greek outlets as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Wake Forest has a tunnel system that students are 'forbidden' from exploring. No one is supposed to know about them, but everyone does. There is a special book passed down that details them. Good luck finding it!

    Bang for the buck

    Wake is expensive, no doubt about it. However the Career offices will work with you throughout your 4 years to ensure that once you leave Wake, you are either Graduate school bound or joining the work force.

    What to do for fun

    Join one of the many clubs or sports teams (archery is pretty awesome), go camping in the blue ridge mountains which are only an hour away, or hang out on campus. There is always something going on on Campus!!

    Food and Dining

    The 'Pit' (the dining hall) offers a wide variety of food. There is also another food court with a ton of options, a on campus restaurant, and a 24 hour Subway. There are also a couple of Sundrys that offer snacks and such.

    Dorm Life

    Wake is currently revamping its dorm life. The older buildings are old, but still nice. They are all air conditioned, which is a plus since the summer, fall, and spring are quite warm in North Carolina.

    Academic Rigor

    Wake Forest is nicknamed Work Forest: Where You Best Hasn't Been Good Enough Since 1834. That is completely true; the professors expect a high standard, but it is completely worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to utilize everything that Wake offers. There are free tutors and career advising. If you are every struggling, speak up and someone will be able to help you.

    In three sentences

    Wake Forest offers an amazing learning environment. The class sizes are kept small, so I feel that my Professors really know me. I feel that I am able to not only do well here, but flourish.

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who work hard, but play hard too.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn time management! Also, do your work during the day and between classes, the library is always empty in the morning/early afternoon.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a very expensive school, but well worth it.

  • 01/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safety is a priority of the college...campus police patrol regularly

    Greek Life

    I have a work-study job after class each day under Greek Life...it is a great opportunity for students

    Clubs and Activities

    i am involved in theatre, which is unbelievable

    Great for these types of students

    anyone who wants to learn in a professional atmosphere and academic excellence

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    become a screamin demon...and support your team

    Bang for the buck

    wake has an exceptional reputation and the quality of teaching and activities is awesome

    What to do for fun

    get involved with the sports teams...either helping out or going to cheer them on

    Food and Dining

    the food is great there and they have a nice variety of places to eat

    Dorm Life

    i have lived in davis the last couple of years and it's great. the people in my building are wonderful

    Academic Rigor

    it is hard at wake, and you have a lot of work to do there, but it is very rewarding

    Tips for prospective students

    be ready to study a lot, but still have a great college experience

    In three sentences

    wake gets an a+ from me...it is great...i am a junior and am already dreading graduating. the whole college experience there is awesome. i really like the small class sizes.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus has tall blue lights placed throughout the campus for people to press whenever they are in distress. also the campus police are always around.

    Greek Life

    greek life here is not pushed on anyone. if you decide to go greek you will have fun, if not you will have just as much.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are all kinds of clubs to be involved in. everything that you like to do or are interested in, you can definitely fulfill that at wake through our clubs, but if you find that there is some club that isn't available yet,then wake encourages you to start it.

    Great for these types of students

    wake forest is great for students who are willing to work hard, who are passionate about their academic success, and who want a very successful career.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there was just recently a building called the barn built on campus. many of the parties are held in the barn, but also other types of programs are held there too. it is a very casual, yet beautiful building. every two years we have a president's ball on homecoming weekend. it's always fun to get dressed up and go to the joel coliseum for a semi-formal night of fun with classmates, faculty, and staff.

    Bang for the buck

    wake forest is a private college which means it is very costly. the academics and oppurtunities provided here makes every buck worth it.

    What to do for fun

    there is so much at wake forest to do for fun. whatever you like to do in your free time you can feel free to do it here. there are several parties on campus, some off campus, movie night in the auditorium, concerts, theater programs, basketball and football games, other sporting activities, and programs where the whole school gets together and participates.

    Food and Dining

    there are many restaurant choices here, from moe's (very popular mexican restaurant) to shorty's (a restaurant similar to applebees) to chick fil a, and a few others. the campus also has a cafeteria that serves all types of food.

    Dorm Life

    it's a dorm, of course it won't be as great as your room at home. the dorms are clean for the most part, and privacy is respected.

    Academic Rigor

    most classes are very challenging, but the professors are there to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    work hard and develop a study habit in high school to carry over to wake. make connections with faculty and/or alumni.

    In three sentences

    the campus of wake forest university is amazingly beautiful. the atmospshere is vibrant and welcoming. the academics are challenging, but not unbearable.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am a football player. So I am busy 7 days a week with that. If I had any other free time, I would be hanging with my friends, shopping, or sleeping.

    Food and Dining

    The food here at Wake Forest University is great as well. They have a huge variety, but majority of it is healthy for you. There really isn't a way for you to become a part of the Freshman 15 unless yo eat out everyday and don't care anything about your health.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is GREAT! You meet new people from all over the world. Your Residential Advisor plans fun activities that your residence hall may participate in.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic life here at Wake Forest University is very challenging. All courses here are very rigorous in which A's are not handed to you , because you MUST earn it. I must say there were a many nights where I suffered headaches and became stressed.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend that prospective students manage there time wisely. I also recommend that you take the time to study, in which you will be doing that everyday. Lastly, I recommend that you stay on track and don't fall behind because it will be very hard to catch back up!

    In three sentences

    Wake Forest is a very prestigious school. It is a very strong school academically, and makes you think outside of the box. On a scale from 1 to 10 I rate my experience here at Wake Forest as a 7.

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is not a problem. We have the blue light system, and there are Wake Forest police that are constantly patrolling the campus.

    Greek Life

    This school is dominated by Greek life. At parties it is very common to be asked the question, what are you? Meaning what sorority/fraternity do you affiliate yourself with? In theory, Greek life is really great, but in reality it just separates the student body even more.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a million things to get involved with on campus -- varsity sports, club sports, intramural sports, Greek life, student government, wake radio, wake waterski, community service, study abroad, politics clubs... There is literally a club for any possible interest that you could ever have.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who really want to be involved in Greek life. Great for students who appreciate green technology and sustainability. Great for students who want to be business majors (our undergrad business program is awesome!)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Roll the quad -- whenever we win a football game, we run around and throw toilet paper on all of the trees around the quad in the center of campus. The tunnels -- This school was built during the '50s and there is a rumor that it is one of the top ten places in the country that the president would come during a national security crisis. Beneath the school, apparently reaching across the entire campus, there are tunnels that students can walk through... if they find an entrance!

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is absolutely out of control. Do not waste $60,000 a year to come here. When it comes down to it, Wake Forest just wants to make as much money as possible. It is a good school, but definitely not worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    If you want to venture into downtown Winston-Salem, then good luck with that. All of social life is based around campus, which can be a good thing but can also be a bad thing. Fratting and binge-drinking can get really boring really quickly... because really how many times can you get dressed up in weird clothes and party in a frat basement before you get sick of it? In addition, some students venture to off-campus bars like Ziggy's and Last Resort.

    Food and Dining

    The food is generally good, but with little variety. There are three different places to get food: the pit (the cafeteria), benson, and the mag room. The Magnolia mag room is basically just a fancier version of our cafeteria. Benson does have more options like Moe's, Chik-Fil-A, a restaurant called Shorty's, a salad station, and a convenience store.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. Wake has some of the nicest dorms that I have ever seen -- especially the brand new freshman residence hall, South Hall. Many freshman have problems with their roommmates however because freshman rooming is essentially random.

    Academic Rigor

    It is not uncommon for students to refer to this university as work forest -- especially during exams. Wake can be as difficult or as easy as you want to make it. Some majors are more difficult and regimented than others. Professors are generally pretty good, but freshman classes can be boring.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to be an engineer or be involved in art or music -- don't come here. Also before making your decision, make sure to visit the campus, and really try to stay overnight so that you can to get a feel for the social life. Also talk to a professor in a department that interests you!

    In three sentences

    Wake Forest is a preppy, southern bubble that is secluded from the real world. It has a very traditional campus with social life dominated by fraternities and the student body composed of mostly close-minded, conservative, well-off kids. If you are unique, it is possible to find your niche here, it just definitely takes some work.

  • 04/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police work day and night keeping the community safe. Wake is gated, so they have guard houses to check visitors. Also, blue lights are located conveniently everywhere so wen pressed they are their under less than a minute to assist you with anything, from walking back to the dorms or a serious case.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is a major part of the campus. More than fifty percent of its students are in a sorority or fraternity. However, the remaining body is not forgotten. Everyone still gets along and has fun together.

    Clubs and Activities

    It has a great selection. Whether you're looking for a major intended club or fun club, they have it all. Also, you can create your own very easily. Everyone can easily join one for there are so many to count.

    Great for these types of students

    Wake id great for students who like a small campus, but big enough not to know everyone. It has a great study abroad program. Honestly, Wake is for everyone because it offers a variety of opportunities to have fun and get involved.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Wake has three traditional places to visit. The first being Reynolda Village. It's a little village with stores and restaurants connected to campus by a trail. Everyone goes their at least once either to run around, eat, shop, or just hang out. It's really fun and relaxing. Also, we have the Coffee Shop created and run by students. It's a comfortable place to read and do homework while relaxing with a drink. Finally, we have a Subway open till 2AM everyday. You might not think you will ever be up at that time to eat, but everyone needs a study break during Mid-Term and Final week.

    Bang for the buck

    Although Wake is very expensive, if you take advantage of the opportunities they provide you it is worth it. Also, they do an excellent job of giving financial aid. You will have a great time if you stayed focus, but have fun.

    What to do for fun

    Wake always has something going on. Whether it's a Friday movie night or Saturday Trivia, they offer something to do on campus. Also, they have shuttles that run daily to and from the mall which provides some time off campus. Wake also has an array of clubs and sports to get involved in. For example, the Outdoor clubs takes students on trips like hiking or canoeing. You never have nothing to do.

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining is mediocre. They are very repetitive and do not offer much selection. They do have a salad and fruit bar which is always nice. Conveniently, their sandwich line is always open. Their desserts are always baked to perfection. Their workers are always friendly and working hard. They make eating their enjoyable.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun, but not always accommodating. The freshman housing is the best and as the years go on they get worse. Now you are required to live on campus four years. However, the RA's and RLH Committee provide fun events and great resources to do events as a hall. They do a great job matching roommates.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging. Even those you take to boost your GPA, like dance, require time commitment. Be prepared to work hard and spend time studying in the library.

    Tips for prospective students

    Before entering Wake you should decide whether you want to go Greek, since the majority of students are. Also, make sure you look at the majors and minors they offer because sometimes they don't have what you are looking for. I recommend you get involved and do volunteer work, they have ample opportunities to do so.

    In three sentences

    Wake Forest University is challenging, but fun. It has a great study abroad program and provides assistance when needed in any field, from academic to athletic. However, it fails to inform people how big they are on Greek life and lacks in school pride.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 43

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    loved the campus, by far one of the most beautiful in the country and i should know....Ive visited TONS of colleges across the country

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    EVERYWHERE

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are blue lights everywhere on campus for safety and the police are always available is you need assistance. The campus is also relatively small so walking back from the library at 3am is not so bad since it is only a 2-6 minute walk, depending on where your dorm is.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is very popular at Wake Forest. Those who participate love it but those who do not are just as happy doing one (or more) of the many activities or groups that Wake has to offer.

    Clubs and Activities

    Wake Forest has many clubs and activities with sports and recreational activities. If you want a certain club on campus but Wake doesn't offer it, you can easily go and get your specific club approved and start it very quickly.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When we win a football game everyone runs out to the Upper Quad area and thrown toilet paper all over the magnolia trees that surround the area.

    What to do for fun

    Winston-Salem, the town Wake Forest is located in, does not have much to offer, nor does the small campus of Wake Forest yet there is always something to do. The weather is normally very nice so sitting outside with friends for a few hours is a common activity along with playing frisbee or other sports on the large grass areas on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There are limited places one can eat at Wake but where there is food, it is good and there is always something for everybody. The school is also constantly trying to bring different eating facilities.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are set up in a way where you can always make friends with those living near you. The rooms are really nice, all with fridges, freezers, and microwaves. The bathrooms are also in good condition and the public areas are constantly being cleaned so a comfortable environment is constantly kept.

    Academic Rigor

    Wake Forest is top 25 in the nation according to many so it has high academic standards but everything is manageable if you slow down and make time to study and do school work every day.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not stress about making friends because it is impossible not to within the first few days. Also everyone is taking just as hard classes so you won't be alone if you think you will be the only person struggling with a few of your classes.

    In three sentences

    The people that attend Wake Forest are amazing and always willing to help one another. The environment at Wake is very good for learning and there is always a building open to explore and make your own study space! The school also does a nice job with incorporating good stress relievers.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    The majority of Wake Forest is active in Greek Life, yet several students choose not to participate and still enjoy everything that Wake Forest has to offer. In order to allow students to settle in and become used to college life, there is a delayed rush which means that no students can join a Greek organization first semester Freshman year.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students that enjoy working extremely hard and still having a lot of fun at the same time.

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities going on while on campus such as sports games, volunteer activities, and walks. Off campus, there are several good restaurants, a mall, a mini golfing course, and much more fun activities to do within a short drive.

    Tips for prospective students

    For any incoming students, it is important to plan out their day and allot a large amount of time for studying since Wake Forest is very challenging. Also, the professors are amazing and love to see students during their office hours to talk about the class, homework, tests, or any other academic problems. I would highly recommend going to the office hours, visiting the library often, and also leave time to have fun with all the new friends they will make.

    In three sentences

    Wake Forest prides itself on the amazing professors that are always there to help out the students. From personal experience, I can say the professors, the social life, and the overall experience have greatly impacted my life in an amazing way. Wake Forest is a wonderful school that I would recommend to any students that want to challenge themselves.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's pretty safe. i walk back and from my dorms to classes and the library at 3 or 5am and never got a problem.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot to choose from. Just go visit the booths during Activities Fair.

    What to do for fun

    Parties, movies, pool, tennis, run, hanging out with friends wherever, just whatever you want to do. No parents to tell you what to do now. Go for it. You only have 4 years.

    Food and Dining

    At first, I really liked it but after a year, I got sick of the same type of food. I mean, who wouldn't? Good thing is they have a high variety.

    Dorm Life

    Older dorms are a bit small. Doubles are okay. I'm the only child so I'm used to having my own room but living with another person isn't bad at all. The new freshman dorms are a lot bigger room-wise. If you get to chose, chose South Hall, newest and has the largest rooms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It's tough. I'm not going to lie. I've never had to stay up late so many nights in a week for so many weeks but it is all worth it. If you do well at Wake, you'd be confident for almost anything.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try your best during the first year. It is very difficult to make up your grade later on and your background on materials would hold you back on the later courses.

    In three sentences

    WFU is a great school. It is fun and challenging (but what success comes without hardship). I love this school and would not have changed my choice for any other.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Great reputation.

    What to do for fun

    Football games! Basketball games!

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food in the Pit (cafeteria) is really repetitive and much of it is a little to greasy for my taste. But there's quite a few other eating options on campus such as Subway.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are very average, especially for the price that you pay for them unless you get placed in South (the newest dorm)

    Academic Rigor

    They don't call it Work Forest for nothing. The work expectation is very high but professors are always happy to help you if you need assitance

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Wake is a gated university. There are emergency blue lights and key activated entrances on every building. I have never felt unsafe on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is so many clubs on campus and if we don't have what you're looking for, you can make your own! I highly recommend Student Union, our campus events organization.

    Great for these types of students

    Wake is great for hard workers and people who have dreams! Don't be discouraged by the money and think that everyone at Wake fits in a cookie cutter, meaning we're all the same and from the same backgrounds. That is a huge misconception!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We roll the quad after winning a sporting event! aWake All Night is a carnival held each semester 10pm - 2am where students can play games and win prizes. Lighting of the Quad is held in the winter and students line the upper quad and gather by candlelight. We have so many wonderful traditions!

    Bang for the buck

    Although Wake Forest tuition continues to soar, I believe that it is worth what you pay for. I have been able to shadow physicians and work on research projects at Wake Baptist and the Medical School. There are many opportunities to apply what you have learned in the classroom. The education and exceptional and the class sizes are small which allow students to develop relationships with their professors. I'm not worried about not being able to get hired once I graduate.

    What to do for fun

    Greek life is extremely popular on this campus; however, my friends and I enjoy movie nights and trips downtown Winston-Salem instead. Don't miss the Dixie Classic Fair in the fall! Student Union hosts many different events each week so there is never a shortage of fun.

    Food and Dining

    There are several dining options on campus including fast food restaurants and a general cafeteria. These locations serve as prime meeting locations for projects and study breaks. The prices are a little steep for the quality of food you receive.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are great for meeting people and developing friendships with students just like you. Many of the dorms on campus are older and don't give you much space and privacy but it's college, they want you to get outside and do something with what you're learning!

    Academic Rigor

    Wake Forest is known for its rigorous course load. Many students take 15-17 credit hours each semester. It is possible to do well here if you apply yourself and study. There are many resources in place to assist you such as professor office hours and tutoring from the Learning Assistance Center. Don't be afraid to ask for help! All your hard work will pay off in the end!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make new friends! Wake Forest is a very small campus and it is important to not only do well academically but to also have healthy friendships. Don't be afraid to ask questions or go to professors' office hours - that's what they're there for! You have to actually study and prepare in advance for exams to do well.

    In three sentences

    Wake Forest is very challenging; however, it is worth all the hours you'll spend in the library. Wake makes it easy for students to get involved in research opportunities that are important to them. There are many resources in place to make sure that students perform at their very best.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    28 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Very prominent on campus

    Great for these types of students

    Students who have a desire to work hard but also want to play hard as well. The students here are highly motivated to succeed, are very involved, but enjoy being social.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    After every WFU win, the students enjoy the tradition of Rolling the Quad with toilet paper. Locations: The quad, Reynolda Village which is right next to campus, Shorty's patio

    Bang for the buck

    I think the high tuition is worth every penny. I would not trade my experience at Wake Forest for anything. The alumni are very willing to help you in your career in any way possible after you graduate too.

    What to do for fun

    Greek life is huge at Wake Forest. There are constantly Greek parties and events that students can participate in. There are many philanthropy events on campus like Hit the Bricks, Project Bumpkin and Wake n Shake that are a great way to give back but are also very fun. Pilot mountain is a short drive away and great for hiking. Winston has unique restaurants that are great. Football season in the fall is always a blast! There are club and intramural sports of all kinds that are fun, too.

    Food and Dining

    The pit has vastly improved. Subway is expanding. There is a Moe's, Chick-fil-a, Salad station, Sandwich and burger station, and Shorty's restaurant in the Benson center.

    Dorm Life

    You have to live on campus for three years. Many students live on campus all four years, so it is very convenient.

    Academic Rigor

    It is difficult, but prepares you for life after college.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are ready to work hard, but also enjoy your college experience, then Wake Forest is a great place for you. The coursework can be very challenging at times, but in the end you learn so much. Wake is a place where you know or know of most everyone on campus.

    In three sentences

    WFU is a great smaller liberal arts university. There are a lot of opportunities for intellectual and personal growth through research, organizations on campus, and interacting with students and professors. It is a very tight knit community and is often referred to as the Wake bubble.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    pretty safe. I've never felt un-safe walking in the dark or anything

    Greek Life

    EVERYONE IS GREEK

    Clubs and Activities

    huge activities fair every fall.

    Great for these types of students

    preppy, smart, driven

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Rolling the quad with toilet paper after a big athletic win is always an event.

    Bang for the buck

    You're paying top dollar, but you're also going to get a top dollar education.

    What to do for fun

    Greek life is dominant, but there are other clubs and organizations that are really involved on campus as well

    Food and Dining

    For as much as students gripe about The Pit It's really not that bad

    Dorm Life

    Hit or miss. There are new buildings and old buildings. If you land in South as a freshman, you hit the jackpot. You will basically be living in a hotel. Must stay on campus 3 years now. But they are building a new dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Named most rigorous college in the nation.

    Tips for prospective students

    A campus visit is a must. If you know someone currently attending, I highly recommend an overnight stay.

    In three sentences

    Perfect climate. Challenging Academics. Beautiful people.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Plenty of options for our size, social and volunteering.

    Great for these types of students

    Quirky, caring, looking for a challenge.

    What to do for fun

    There is always a party going on. ALWAYS. For the non-party-goers, downtown Winston-Salem and the surrounding triad area have plenty of movie theaters, cafes, and other things to do (like a trampoline park!).

    Food and Dining

    A lot of dining options considering how small of a school it is. Also Wake is in a very urban spot so there are a lot of dining options off campus and within a short distance of campus.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the dorms are very nice and all are at least well-kept. The Residence Life and Housing staff usually make a good effort at building a community. Plenty of apartment options on campus as well.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors here are looking to push you so that you become the best and most well-rounded individual you can be. Wake is definitely not a school for slackers.

    Tips for prospective students

    The small size means that you can get more personalized help from faculty and better networking opportunities. However, this also means that you will know everyone on campus and they will know you and all of your business.

    In three sentences

    Academically challenging. For the People. Southern.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of my favorite traditions is Rolling the Quad after a Football win where we get to Tp all the trees on the Quad with toilet paper.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is very expensive, but it makes up for it in the quality of education that you recieve here at Wake.

    What to do for fun

    There's always some party going on at Wake on the weekends, and those are pretty fun. There's also lots of things to do in dowtown Winston-Salem and Greensboro.

    Food and Dining

    The food here on campus is pretty good. You have the pit which offers a variety of options such as a deli, Mongolian Grill, and an Italian Station, just to name a few, and also places like Chick-Fil-A, Moe's, Boar's Head, Starbucks, etc, if you want to try something new. They are also making plans to expand the food choice options next year by constructing a new dining hall and adding in another Starbucks and an Einstein Bros Bagels.

    Dorm Life

    I personally, love the dorm situation; even though I was placed in the least desirable residential hall, the people living there more than make up for it. The girls on my hall are super close and there's always a real sense of community.

    Academic Rigor

    The course load can be very challenging at times; it isn't called Work Forest for nothing. It can be very difficult to balance your time spent doing coursework with studying for tests, or other extracurricular activities, especially if you are planning on doing a pre-med track.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't Despair! If you feel like you aren't doing so well in a specific subject then get help. Learn to manage your time by staying organized.

    In three sentences

    Wake Forest is a great place to go to school; even though I'm just a freshman at this school the time I have spent at Wake has been pretty amazing. The people are very inviting, there's always things to do, and you have the opportunity to get a top-notch education; not to mention, the campus is absolutely beautiful, especially in the fall.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus is pretty safe - there are so many people you can call in case of an emergency - but thefts and other crimes do happen. Thankfully, I haven't yet come across any cases of harassment, molestation or murder (god forbid) and the police are pretty neat at keeping drunk drivers off the road both on and in the vicinity of campus. Ambulances show up at the bat of an eye and the only thing you should be aware of is showering when the fire alarm goes off. It's really isn't fun when you're standing out in the cold in a towel and the embarrassing shampoo-Mohawk you made in the shower with all your fellow dorm-people staring at you.

    Greek Life

    Wake Forest IS Greek life. It is incredibly prominent here, and numerous people choose to rush. We follow a spring-rush system and I think it's great: it allows people to make good friends before diving into the world of commitment and drama. People head to the Greek lounges whenever they want to party and they rarely disappoint! It's common for one to toss around stereotypes about the various frats and sororities but come prepared to be proven wrong. I personally refuse to join a sorority and conform to a specific ideal, but almost 60% of students participate in rush!

    Clubs and Activities

    Wake has so many clubs! We usually have an Activities Fair every semester where each club sets up a stall for you to visit and sign up at. All sorts of clubs can be found here, and moreover, each of these clubs make their presence known!

    Great for these types of students

    EVERYONE! We have all your standard stereotypes here - preppy, jock, rich kids, you name it! But one thing you will DEFINITELY notice about the people: no one deserves to be categorized or stereotypes because every student on campus is an incredibly 3-dimensional human being.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    1. Rolling the Quad: whenever we win a football or basketball game - or whenever XYZ candidate wins an election or Osama Bin Laden is killed - students sprint out onto the upper quad facing the iconic Wake Chapel and drape the trees with toilet paper. 2. At numerous Wake Forest festivals (Wake-Fest, aWake All Night etc), there are usually two or three jumping castles for you to rediscover childhood on 3. The tunnels at Wake are supposedly creepy but a joy to explore. I haven't discovered the legit tunnels myself but my friends' siblings and advisors at Wake have! 4. The Reynolda trail - a picturesque trail that leads to an adjoining village - is beautiful and definitely a little creepy at night 5. Perhaps less of a tradition and more of a habit is for the preppier guys to wear bowties and pastel pants to football games. Maybe it's a Southern thing? 6. THE HARRY POTTER ROOM. In the humanities building, there's a room that looks like an office right out of the Harry Potter book series.

    Bang for the buck

    As an international student, I pay the full fee and it legitimately doesn't feel like the school deserves to be paid so much per head. The facilities are meticulous but for top-notch university with some functional flaws, it could run just as well on $45000 as opposed to $60000.

    What to do for fun

    1. Go to football, basketball and volleyball games 2. Discover the tunnels at Wake (yes, we have secret tunnels) 3. The frats have great lounge parties, just go to the right ones! 4. There is an adjoining village one can walk to through a picturesque trail behind the Bio building. It's got great restaurants, shops and spas! 5. Wake Forest hosts loads of cultural events in the fine arts center 6. The university's theater groups and organizations have loads of shows at the fine arts center and my friends and I make it a point to go to each one 7. Scout the upper and lower quads for any fairs and congregations - free food is usually provided!

    Food and Dining

    There are a few options for food - Subway (24 hrs), Benson Centre (with Chick-Fil-A, Moe's, Take Two, Forest Greens and a sundry) and the Pit, a proper buffet style dining area. The Pit can get kind of boring sometimes, but if you're not too nit-picky, it's good enough to keep you happy.

    Dorm Life

    My experience has been enjoyable... there are always solutions to centralized heating/air-conditioning issues and nothing ever usually goes wrong if you're in one of the newer dorms. There is always the issue of drunk people being too loud at 2 am the night before a huge exam of yours! I hear the upperclassmen dorms are pretty shoddy but then again - home is what you make of it. Invest in a carpet :)

    Academic Rigor

    I find it pretty academically vigorous because of the kind of courses I have taken to fulfill my pre-med requirements. The exams are challenging in some of the bio and chem courses and the teachers definitely like to assign a lot of homework but if you're the kind of person who takes their studies seriously, some of your courses are super-enlightening... even despite the workload

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Definitely bring some gold/yellow and black attire/decorations with you - school spirit is encouraged and appreciated at football, basketball and volleyball games! 2. Definitely talk to your professors no matter how large the class is. You get more than just tips and answers to your questions: they can help you with research programs, suggest scholarships etc 3. If you haven't applied yet or are planning on applying, it usually helps if you've pursued something major: for me, it was a community service project and a medical internship. 4. The substance-free housing is a good idea if you hate being around drunk people at 3 am.

    In three sentences

    Wake Forest offers some really valuable, inspiring courses. The people are really nice and there is no end to how hospitable and comforting both the faculty and the staff are! As a campus, it is beautiful - there are so many creative places where you can go and study, and so many organizations that organize some sort of fair or another every day!

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Wake is a bubble...but its near low income Winston-Salem. The campus is stepping up its security, but break-ins happen AROUND campus, not necessarily ON campus.

    Greek Life

    Campus tour guides will tell you that its not that big of a deal, but more times than not...your guide is a Greek life member. Greek members are extremely involved and willing to enhance anyone's experience at Wake. If you want to be involved in an amazing group of like-minded people, go Greek.

    Clubs and Activities

    SO many random clubs, extremely easy to join, and overall super fun to be a part of!

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing, Hardworking, Fun-loving, and overall determined students. If you have your mind set to something, Wake can make it happen.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Wake has lots of traditions, especially around the winter holidays. We have Lighting of the Quad and Love Feast, which are beautiful ceremonies put on by the school. Wake also does Seize the Quad, President's Ball, Shag-Dance (it won't let me only write the first part) on the Mag, and unofficially Kiss Night. There are also philanthropy events that are rising traditions, like Hit the Bricks, Project Pumpkin, and Wake 'N Shake.

    Bang for the buck

    Extremely expensive, school is hard, and not everyone gets B's. You're paying for Wake Forest University on your diploma, but the experience is amazing and most of the time it is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Watch our somewhat pathetic athletic teams; even though we normally lose, the games are really fun to go to! Go off campus; Winston-Salem has amazing restaurants and the mall isn't too bad either. On campus events; the school and Greek organizations put on awesome philanthropy events as well as social events, which anyone can be apart of (think movies, kickball, softball, seize the quad, President's ball, Wake 'N Shake...opportunities are endless). Greek Life; fraternities are always throwing random themed parties...GO!

    Food and Dining

    The school just added Moe's, a salad bar, and a new and improves Subway....plus new dining halls and bagel places are opening on campus within the next year.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is improving, probably because the new requirement is 3 years on campus. The school is working with the students, and the new buildings look amazing! Only major problem, Wake is a bubble...as a freshman sign up for the zipcar.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are hard, sometimes for no reason. However, it pushes you to work harder and it makes it easier for you to find your true academic passion. Wake also DOES NOT like to curve, that being said, if the class average is a B, you're all getting B's...you will not get bumped to an A.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Know going in to Wake that you will most likely have lower grades than friends back home and work a lot harder (not a bad thing!) 2. Greek life is big on campus, BUT that does not mean that it is the only way to get involved! 3. Take advantage of Wake's resources, whether its for internships or academic help, they want you to succeed!

    In three sentences

    1. Home to people who want to see you succeed and value the time and effort you put into your work. 2. Social life makes up for our lack in athletics. 3. Extremely easy to stand out and become involved to make a difference in the community and campus.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    People love to roll the upper quad with toilet paper once we've beaten a team in football!

    Bang for the buck

    It's a great school, don't get me wrong, but I could not see myself spending nearly $60,000 on any school. I came in with scholarships and aid, so I feel like the price I'm paying for is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    You name it, they have it. Dance club, theater, ice hockey, etc. Games

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining are great. Sometimes the cafeteria may seem repetitive, but they try to switch it up everyday. There are places like Subway, Moes, and Chick-Fil-A on campus to help change your routinely meals.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are all fantastic. RA's are friendly and are there to help you. Lounge spaces allow for you to meet new people quickly.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor here makes it ranked the 13th most rigorous school. If you come here, you'll have to work (hence nicknamed Work Forest), but you'll receive an education that will benefit you for a lifetime. Professors are willing to let you ask questions in class and can meet with you anytime you email them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to make yourself well rounded since Wake places a big emphasis on it. If you have the option to do an interview, take it! The interview can only help you, and Wake wants to see what type of person you are like.

    In three sentences

    A fantastic school that really allows you to explore your interests. From clubs to recreational teams, you'll find yourself loving whatever you do. Great academic support from faculty and staff.

  • 02/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    After a sports team wins, the students roll the quad which means they use tissue to decorate the trees.

    What to do for fun

    Since the campus is centrally located the mall, theatre, and bowling alley are close by. Also the campus hosts events on the weekends to keep everyone involved.

    Food and Dining

    Food is eatable and the campus does the best they can to listen to student feedback on dining and meal plan options.

    Dorm Life

    I have been blessed to live with some amazing people. After freshman year, you get to pick your roommates.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are challenging yet you find courses that you are interested in, that may have never peaked your interests before.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come ready to learn.

    In three sentences

    I love the fact that being at Wake has brought me closer to God. People here genuinely want to help you become a better person. The campus is lovely and I feel that God has great things in store for me.

  • 03/09/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    36 of 43

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful, and everyone was nice. The students appeared to be extremely happy and close-knit. It felt comfortable and like the faculty makes sure it is a home for every one of their students, not just a place to learn and study.

  • 04/20/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    37 of 43

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    The customer service at Wake Forest is unbelievable. Everyone genuinely acts like they want you to be a part of the school. Every person I have had contact with has been very kind and helpful. The administration makes you want to come to Wake Forest. You feel like you belong long before you are ever accepted. I can't wait for the fall.

  • 05/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of my favorite traditions on campus is Rolling the Quad after a big football of basketball win. Everyone grabs rolls of toilet paper and we all TP the trees on the main quad. It's a lot of fun and its a great bonding experience with your fellow students.

    Bang for the buck

    Although this university is on the pricey end, it is absolutely worth it in the end. Graduating with a degree from Wake Forest University rivals some of the IV league colleges, as we are known nation-wide for our high academic standards.

    What to do for fun

    You could go play volleyball, basketball, or even get involved in the many intramural sports that are offered on campus. The parties are amazing! Other than parties, downtown Winston-Salem has a lot to offer; and there are shuttles running there every weekend, as well as to the mall.

    Food and Dining

    As of right now there are threemain places to dine on campus: The Pit (formally known as the Fresh Food Company) ,Benson Center, and Subway. the Pit offers a variety of food options such as a Deli Line, a Mongoliain Grill, a regular Grill,Pizza Kitchen, Southern Food Station, Omlette Station Salad Bar, and Dessert Bar; in a cafeteria-like setting. The Benson Center offers Chick-Fil-A, Moe's, Boar's Head, a Salad Bar and a convienience store.

    Dorm Life

    I wlived in Johnson Hall my freshman year, which has the reputation for being a very inviting and comfortable residence hall. Although the building itself wasn't the greatest, everyone on our hall was very inviting and we felt a huge sense on community and comfort for the duration of the year.

    Academic Rigor

    Wake is nicknamed Work Forest and it definitely lives up to that name. The workload here can be really rough at ties and very challenging, but it is all worth it in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are considering Wake as choice college, I suggest you prepare yourself for a vigorous workload that will be beneficial in the future; as well as a warm, welcoming environment that is committed to making your stay at Wake an enjoyable one.

    In three sentences

    Wake Forest is a high-spirited liberal arts university which places huge emphasis on producing successful scholars by the time of graduation. Our motto is pro humanitate or for humanity in which we strive to help the community. The campus is absolutely gorgeous and the warm, inviting environment of the faculty, staff, as well as current students, help make the transition into college life a lot easier.

  • 05/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 39 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty safe

    Greek Life

    Extremely popular

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Union, Intramural Sports, Greek life

    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking, motivated, coming from a small town.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is an event that happens each spring Student Union funds a tent with an open bar for people to swing dance.

    Bang for the buck

    Not even close.

    What to do for fun

    Tailgates, frat parties, events by student union.

    Food and Dining

    Only three options: sundry, subway, the pit. Isn't bad compared to other schools. Gets old after a while.

    Dorm Life

    Bare, livable, not luxurious.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging, doable, interesting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a rain jacket. Manage your time wisely. Make connections.

    In three sentences

    Challenging courses. Great professors. Small community.

  • 07/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is a joke. For a campus our size, you'd think we'd be able to lessen the amount of burglaries and theft that occurs. Every other person has had their room/apartment/house broken into or was held at gunpoint until they surrendered all of their things. Campus keeps trying to make things safer, but honestly they're just making it harder for students to explore the community while making no difference in the amount of people entering campus. Supposedly Winston-Salem is a pretty dangerous area. They should start with that.

    Greek Life

    GREEK LIFE! Talk about the one thing at Wake the people go crazy for. Some people go to school to get an education, others go to pursue their atheletic dreams, but if you came to Wake Forest, you wanted to be a fratstar or in a sorority, and this is the place where you can. Wake has a wonderful greek program. The student body just adores it. However, if you were hoping your greek organization would be as psyched as you are about getting involved with philanthropy and creating a sisterhood/brotherhood, then you came to the wrong place. At Wake, the greek life's biggest goal is to black out as many times as they can in a week.

    Clubs and Activities

    I've noticed that there are a lot of clubs and activities at Wake Forest. Not as many people get involved in them as they should, but they are available.

    Great for these types of students

    Wake Forest is a great place to go if you were smart in highschool but always a little bit of an outsider because nobody understood you. You also have to be okay with everyone being as ambitous as you. People at Wake Forest are all nice people who have very interesting lives, but when they come to school, they forget about all of that. Unless they get involved in greek life and wear Tory Burch and Brooks Brothers, they will be among the minority and most likely feel like they don't belong. Only students willing to change to fit into the crowd or brave enough to stand out and be proud of who they are will be happy here. Those that want to be their own person but feel like they're constantly thought less of won't survive. Also, you can be an athlete... You're like a seperate entity on campus

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Honestly, nothing is coming to mind. Hardly anyone even knows the alma mater... We could really improve upon traditions. Oh, wait we do roll the upper quad when we win a sporting event. Other than that though... I got nothing.

    Bang for the buck

    Wake Forest is a very expensive university, but I definitely feel it's worth it. The school could use more diversity in the students, but with such a small population and such a desire to fit in, that's just not going to change anytime soon. The education you receive at Wake Forest is definitely worth the money though. The teachers are all very intellegent and typically can connect with the students in a way that helps them understand the material and if you're struggling with a class, there are so many options of ways to get help. Also, the professors are almost always available and willing to meet with you. The school puts on several very cool, free activities. You have the opportunity to do so much. I just wish more poeple would take advantage of what the school tries to do for us.

    What to do for fun

    This is a tough question because Wake Forest tries so desperately to cut off students from the outside world and the rest of Winston-Salem. It seems like all there is to do for fun is go to frat parties and any school activities. There is plenty to do in the community I'm sure, but Wake Forest makes it almost impossible to explore the city and branch out. So, I'd say for fun, you can go to a school sponsored event or get wasted with some frat boys.

    Food and Dining

    I really wish Wake Forest had more dining options. They don't suck, and the food is really good, but I live on campus 7-8 months out of the year and it would be nice if there were more options. I understand that with a school the size of Wake Forest that isn't always easy, but it would be nice if they considered that.

    Dorm Life

    At Wake Forest, you have to live on campus for the first 3 years. As much as that sounds like it sucks, I actually really like having the opporrtnuity to live on campus. Some of the dorm things sucks and I hate that we're always losing access to the roof or the media room due to drunk boys acting stupid, but I really love how close to everything I am. Living in a dorm allows you to be right in the center of campus life without having to think about transportation.

    Academic Rigor

    School is hard and the more classes you take, the more you'll have to work. Some classes are easier and if you're naturally gifted at certain subjects you won't have to try as hard, but you will always have to try. There is a lot of work and it's all expected to be top quality. Your professors expect a lot from you, so don't disappoint.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're new to Wake Forest, it's important to get involved and attend the club fairs. College is all about making connections and figuring out what you like and don't like and being able to make decisions for yourself. It's nearly impossible to not get caught up in the social scene, but don't allow getting involved in greek life to rule your college experience. And always keep in mind that you came to college for an education. Everything else is very fun and you should experience it, but let academics be your priority.

    In three sentences

    Wake Forest is a great school that offers a wide range of classes with fantastic professors. If education and your social life is all you care about, Wake Forest is for you. However, if you're wanting a school that allows you to grow into the well-rounded person you've always wanted to be, you'll be an outcast at this university.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Greek Life is very common at Wake and it is a great experience. While this is the dominant social activity, there are other clubs and student groups that have their own events.

    Food and Dining

    Wake is getting better. With the expansion of campus and the construction of new buildings more options are coming.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are getting better. In general, Freshman year is a lot of fun. You will be placed in a residence hall and you will make friends very fast. There is no such thing as a dorm party, these aren't allowed.

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging. If you want to succeed at Wake you will be spending large amounts of time in the library. Learn how to organize your time if you want to do well in school as well as having an active social life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure you visit Wake Forest before making a decision. While it is a school that is appealing to many students, it is not made for everyone. Make sure you get your application in time and try to establish contact with an admissions officer during the process.

    In three sentences

    Wake Forest is an institution committed to its students in every possible way. Most professors are available to help each student individually outside the classroom. In addition, Wake provides students with all the tools needed to get what they want done. Great environment, student life, and athletics.

  • 08/19/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    42 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with people. Old Salem is a beautiful older village with lots of activities.

    Food and Dining

    Great cafeteria. It even has a sit down restaurant for students!

    Dorm Life

    I like where I live.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a top law school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be friendly to everyone around and you will have friends.

    In three sentences

    Wake Forest faculty and students are very friendly. The campus is beautiful and continually developing. The students love being there.

  • 10/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is gated and locked at night and when things happen the university police respond adequately. There is also a student health center and a squad of EMT members to respond to health related emergencies. There are blue lights everywhere on campus to allow students in trouble to alert campus police, and there is an alert system on place on campus to warn the entire student body if something is going wrong.

    Greek Life

    The internet will tell you that the percent of students who partake in Greek Life activities is somewhere around 40%. This number, however, includes athletes and graduate students - neither of which are allowed to join a fraternity or sorority. So the number is really probably around 80%. It is also really hard to ignore. It seems everywhere you look, someone is wearing letters or talking about something their sorority did last weekend. There are lots of parties, most held on campus, most open to the public.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club on campus for almost every activity you could ever want, and if there isn't, you can very easily make one.

    Great for these types of students

    For the internationally minded, affluent, competitive, and ambitious student, a home can be found at Wake Forest.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    After any win by the Demon Deacons, a trip to the upper quad will find the place bathed in white. This is due to a long-standing tradition called Rolling the Quad in which the student body storms Hearn Plaza and toilet papers every tree in sight. It's quite fun and an awesome sight to see after a solid victory.

    Bang for the buck

    Wake is very very expensive, and while I know that I am in the presence of fantastic professors, and I will certainly get someone in my life after college because of the well-known name of Wake Forest, it is hard to ignore the large amount of debt that I am accruing by attending this school. But, again, the opportunities are great, the campus is beautiful, and hey, the laundry is free. All in all, I wouldn't want to be anywhere else.

    What to do for fun

    There are several events held on campus throughout the year. One regular event is free movies held every Friday and Saturday night in the University Center. There are also things such as aWake All Night and aWakenings that are held periodically on weekends. Student Union puts on concerts; last year Macklemore was brought to campus and thus far this year Brett Eldridge has come. There's also the usual college activities such as sports events, tailgating, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The Pit, as the main cafeteria is called, has many options. There's a salad bar, a fruit bar, a hot line/Southern Kitchen, a omelette bar that is open all hours, a sandwich/wrap bar, a pizza station, a grill, a Mongolian grill, hummus, soup, yogurt, and a dessert bar. On the weekends the Mongolian grill shuts down its normal operation and makes french toast and pancakes that are comparable to IHOP's until 3 in the afternoon. In the food court there is also a Moe's, a Chik-Fil-A, a Boar's Head, another grill, a large-salad station, and a sit-down restaurant called Shorty's. There is also a 24-hour Subway, a pizza and wing hang-out spot, a Starbucks, a local coffee shop, an Einstein's Bagels, and another cafeteria that will open in January. Compared to other schools, our cafeteria food is fantastic.

    Dorm Life

    A lot of the dorms are about to be refurbished....and that's a good thing. Compared to other schools I've been to, though, we have nice facilities. Each room controls its own AC and heat, and though closets depend on the dorm you're in, they all are decent. Storage can be a problem though so prepare for that.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard and the professors assign a lot of work. Wake earned its nickname Work Forest for a reason. If you stay on top of it you should be fine, but get behind and you're going to face some late nights. If you do find yourself falling behind, the professors are wonderful about helping you out - all you have to do is attend their office hours or set up an appointment. There's also a learning assistance center that offers free tutors in every subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is small, which can be good and bad. It means that you will know your teachers and you will have the opportunities to do many great things that those at other schools don't get to do. It also means that you have to have your work done for class if you don't want to end up embarrassed when you inevitably get called on to speak. It's a great motivator to get your stuff done. As was mentioned earlier, being different at this school can be tough. But don't worry - your niche exists and you will find it. Just make sure you don't give up before then, because someone else could be looking for you too. Take advantage of the opportunities! The study abroad program is especially wonderfully; whether you go through Wake or an affiliate program, the study abroad advisers will walk you through every step of the process. Last but certainly not least, this campus has little to no drainage system and when it rains it pours so BRING RAINBOOTS. You have been warned.

    In three sentences

    Wake Forest is a beautiful campus with excellent professors and just the right amount of students. The students can be a bit homogeneous though - most fit into the mold of preppy, upper class students. If that description fits you, or if you're willing to ignore it, this place is an absolutely wonderful place to end up.