Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Wake Technical Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    wake tech offers a few activities but i work to much to participate.

    Dorm Life

    none available

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure your credits will transfer if you plan on doing so.

    In three sentences

    i have found that majority of the professors at wake tech are very helpful, and well educated. the school is a great place to start your education. just wish more classes were available in the sciences.

  • 08/30/2010

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't lose you I.D especially if you plan on using the bus. If you have eight o' clock classes I would recommend driving or catching 6:30 Wake Tech bus because any time after that buses will be crowded. Explore the campus and get used to walking especially if you have classes in two or more different buildings.

    Bang for the buck

    All the classes I paid for was worth it. The Wake Tech I.D allowed me to ride the bus free of charge and gave me some discounts at certain places.

    Academic Rigor

    When I was at Wake Tech I learn a lot in the gaming development field. Most if not all teachers had experience in the gaming industry. Those teachers earned every bit of their paycheck and then some. I learn numerous programming techniques and got to use several programs.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe. there are a lot of security agents within the compound and the buildings are suited with safety gadgets for raising alarm if need be. emergencies are accorded utmost care and delicacy with which life-saving circumstances may require atleast for those that were handled in my presence. security is present even in parking lots.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs, both academic and co-curricular activities. its a wide range that you only get to make a choice depending on your interests

    Great for these types of students

    all students who have established the culture to learn and achieve both their academic and career goals through education, wake tech is the college for you. the school moulds you to a perfect fit into a full university( a four-year college)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i doubt if there is.

    Bang for the buck

    becoming a member of phi theta kappa recognizes academic excellence and opens up other windows of opportunities like doors of scholarship.

    What to do for fun

    there are many clubs, both academic and co-curricular activities. its a wide range that you only get to make a choice depending on your interests.

    Food and Dining

    there is subway and chick-fil-a that sells food for students at the students building.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms as far as i have known the institution

    Academic Rigor

    very rigorous that prepares one into a competitive person fit for the outside world.

    Tips for prospective students

    share with librarians about research and they will guide you about the college research in general and how to go about it.they do not do the research for you, but only guide you. use the ilc for assistance in writing, computer efficiencies and sciences.

    In three sentences

    the best college that recognizes exceptional academic capability,nurture and rewards it.instructors are friendly and willing to help you achieve your academic/career goals. resources like library and ilc enhanced the conduciveness of the learning environment.

  • 03/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is good. wake tech has implemented an alert system that will alert students once their is a concern on campus. it is optional for students to sign up for these alerts. we have security guards always roaming the campus every second of the day. wake tech is also a smoke free campus which is very great.

    Clubs and Activities

    wake tech have variety of clubs and programs designed to help students with extracurricular activities. the student service department will inform prospective students about the different clubs and activities available.

    What to do for fun

    well over the years wake tech has done fairly well. we have football teams for males and females , and wake tech recently finish a physical education (pe) building.

    Food and Dining

    wake tech has a student service building. in this building we have lounge and a place to eat. subways, chic fil a, and a coffee shop is also available.

    Dorm Life

    wake tech does not have dorms on campus, however; at the main campus apartments are located adjacent to the campus, and students who attend wake tech can rent or lease nearby apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    wake tech students have done well academically over the years. according to statistics, wake tech graduates are accepted in some of the finest universities and colleges due to their academic success.

    Tips for prospective students

    wake tech is very good for prospective students especially for those who just leave high school and might not have the money to start a four years college. it's cheaper for to start at a community college , and you can start at the level you are. also, for adults who have to work wake tech offers great evening programs and an excellent online program.

    In three sentences

    wake technical community is the best community college in north carolina in my opinion. the programs are great and they are designed to give every student the start they needed in the career field they are pursuing. i would recommend any one to start their core subjects at wake technical community college because its cheaper and wake tech has an excellent transfer program.

  • 03/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    every morning there are always security guard all around campus. these security guards are really friendly and helpful at times.

    Clubs and Activities

    great opportunities

    Great for these types of students

    the disability service is amazing. the teachers help these students 100 percent.

    What to do for fun

    normally i work out when i am not doing my school work.

    Food and Dining

    there is a subway!

    Dorm Life

    currently i live at home with my family.

    Tips for prospective students

    this is a great college, get to know your teachers really well and they will always be by your side and help you get through your studies.

    In three sentences

    wake technical community college is a awesome school that believes in giving students a chance. all the employees are very friendly and helpful. the teachers are the best; all of my teacher have been a great help and support.

  • 04/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There's a Subway and now Chic-fil-a.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately, there are no dorms. If there were, it would make traveling much easier.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging but not too challenging that you'll fail if you study efficiently.

    Tips for prospective students

    Expect to be challenged in anyway.

    In three sentences

    Instructors are really nice and helpful. Classes are challenging but always pull through later. There is always someone there to help.

  • 04/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never seen any crimes; there are also security officers and a sheriff's deputy on-campus. The city of Raleigh is also in the process of hiring more officers, just for presence purposes.

    Greek Life

    Unknown.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's an honor society, chess club, and a few others.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for people who work, are trying to save money or just want to learn something new.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I am aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    I must admit that I wish the tuition was a bit lower, but it is a community college, so the prices are already lower than traditional four-year schools. Two years here can save you thousands of dollars.

    What to do for fun

    Good question. Downtown Raleigh is about ten minutes away. Also, there are two parks (Lake Wheeler and Yates Mill County) each about five minutes away. The area is filled with many things to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    There is a Subway and Chik-fil-a on campus, as well as a coffee shop.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms; however, there are relatively-cheap apartments across the street from the main campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Much to my surprise, the classes are not as easy as I had expected them to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you intend on transferring to another school, keep your GPA up - it can have a significant impact on your ability to transfer. Also, don't take too many classes at once. The work can really begin to pile up and you don't want to exhaust yourself. If you are struggling, there are resources available to assist you.

    In three sentences

    Wake Technical Community College is an excellent institution for those wishing to further themselves in an educational context. Most credits transfer to North Carolina 4-year colleges and cost a fraction of the price; further, there are online courses for those who do not have transportation to and from the school - overall, a great opportunity for everyone.

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is extremely safe. Multiple securty guards are always patrolling the small campuses. Also, if there are any dangers or threats, administration sends an email to all students concerning the issue. I have never seen or heard of any fights or threatening misconduct in the two years I have attended.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Their clubs and activities are exciting and educational. Unfortunately, they are hard to find out about the clubs unless you are specifically looking for the information. By this I mean, most of their clubs do not advertise around the campus. Also, they do not have many sports teams, if you are looking to play anything other than Basketball, Soccer, Baseball, or Cheer leading, then look elsewhere. But the Dean has indicated interest in starting new athletic programs.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who have finical troubles. Students who need a second chance to succeed. Students who wish to meet general education requirements at an affordable price

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    Wake Technical Community College is extremely affordable. Honestly, although I was initially resistant to the idea of attending a community college, it was the best finical decision I have made in my life. Although the education they provide you with is not the best, it is certainly enough for any general education requirement, and is nearly a fourth the cost of attending any local University. I have to pay for school myself out of pocket, and I cannot qualify for many loans because of my parents credit, I was able to attend Wake Tech while working and instead of racking up debt, I was actually able to save some money.

    What to do for fun

    Certain parts of Main Campus are very scenic, therefore, in between classes I often took walks. People in the group study area of the library are always social and it is a great place to make new friends. The school offers many activities and festivities around the campuses which are always worth checking out; they are often both fun and educational.

    Food and Dining

    There are a few places to get food on both the Main and the Northern Campus. Main Campus has vending machines all over the campus, but their cafeteria is limited: it only consists of a subway that is over priced, a small coffee bar which is pretty good, and occasionally there is a small chickfila station set up which only sells chicken sandwiches. Northern campus, on the other hand, has only a few vending machines, all of which are in the cafeteria. But Northern Campus has a nice coffee shop and snack bar that has a friendly environment.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dormitories at Wake Tech.

    Academic Rigor

    Since Wake Tech has to prepare students for the rigorous math programs at North Carolina State University, and the challenging humanities and arts programs at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, the programs at Wake Tech are sufficient. I have been thoroughly challenged in both my math classes and my literary arts classes. Their advanced level classes and some of their chemistry classes, however, are lacking. Their French program is superb, and very enjoyable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your nose to the grindstone and you can pass every class with flying colors. If you succeed here, and participate in extracurricular activities, like community service, you can attend almost any University to complete your major. Meet with your advisor frequently to make sure you are on track.

    In three sentences

    A great school for students looking to meet general education requirements at an affordable cost. This school is an extremely cost efficient option for graduating high school students. Multiple campuses make it easily accessible for most students, providing Wake County residents with a cheap and local educational option.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Abundance of Campus Security. Campus is small. Raleigh Police Department has full time patrol of Campus

    Great for these types of students

    Intimidated by the size of 4 year institutions Do better in small class sizes One on one tutoring in English, Math, Science and Foreign Language

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Easily located near bus routes and highways

    Bang for the buck

    You cannot beat the education you get for the price of Wake Technical Community College

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of academic clubs on the campus. There is access to tennis courts and volleyball. Basketball and baseball.

    Food and Dining

    There are cafe's and cafeteria at most Wake Technical Community College campuses. (We have 7 campuses spread out over the city of Raleigh)

    Dorm Life

    Does Not Apply

    Academic Rigor

    Wake Technical Community College is Academically Rigorous because it has a reputation to uphold with local four year institutions. The reason the local 4 year colleges come to Wake Technical Community College is because they set high standards for their students so they can succeed at four year colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have a question ask it, Faculty and Staff wants to help you, but they can't read your mind. It's important to come to class, a lot can change in a classroom setting in just one class period. Take advantage of the opportunity to go to a premiere two year college.

    In three sentences

    The education at Wake Technical Community College is affordable, easily transferable to four year institutions and rigorous to make transferring to four year institutions a breeze. Colleges like UNC-CH, NCSU and ECU come to Wake Technical Community College looking for prospective students. The instructors are stellar and willing to help students achieve their goals.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security is pretty broad. They are always around.

    Clubs and Activities

    Wake Tech has a broad number of clubs . It is fun and important to get involved in some aspect of it for the experience. They are also helpful if you want to explore a certain carrer, for example, the Social Science Club.

    Great for these types of students

    Wake Tech is great for students with low income, students who are unsure about their carrer pathway, students who are not ready for a university, students who want to go back to college, and students who want to limit college debt by taking general core classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Wake Tech is a great option for those who feel like they are not ready for a university, students who don't have the financial resources, or students who like the trades. The tuition is fair, and many of the teachers will work you hard.

    What to do for fun

    You can ride the 40E bus to Downtown Raleigh and go to the museum, but there is really nothing fun on this campus. There are little events like the fall festival and spring fling which is really fun for the students. International day is also fun. You can try different foods, and buy things from different cultures. There are also many discussion and awareness events that happen during the months.

    Food and Dining

    There are only 3 food areas on the main campus. Subway, Chickfila, and the Campus Grinders Cafe. There is not a variety to choose from, and other restaurants are few miles down the road. The repetitiveness can get old and expensive, so you may want to pack your lunch.

    Dorm Life

    There is no housing here because it is a community college. There are apartments across the street that have many college attendees. I think the school would benefit by having dorms because the number of students is so big. Hopefully they will in the future.

    Academic Rigor

    You may get some teachers that are easy and you may get some teachers that require you to learn the whole book. This variety allows you to prep correct for all classes and learn from studying mistakes. The professors are very intelligent and can be helpful . The skills you learn will help you prepare for your university courses. The individualized learning center is also a great tool for tutoring. You are always welcomed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Future transfer students, please decide what university you may decide to go to in the future soon. You may end up taking classes that won't transfer. The advisors aren't always knowledgeable so it is up to you to do the research needed! Stalk the financial aid office and make sure you have everything in on time! If you don't, you may not get anything.

    In three sentences

    Wake Tech is a great college to prep with. The professors are helpful and experienced. I would return to Wake Tech again.

  • 01/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is great for persons who are not sure of their major and need to take courses to eventual transfer to a major college or university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to a counselor before graduating high school. They make the transition from high school to college much smoother.

    Bang for the buck

    As the expense of college continues to rise why wouldn't a person attend community college. I have had two wonderful years in persuing my career goal and don't know if I could have hadn't it not been for a less expensive route.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have met many students from a variety of backgrounds and learned immensely from them.

    Am learning a lot

    I feel as though I have professors that are preparing me for the challenge of my major.

  • 03/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus has security and is safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    This college has activities for students and does well with ensuring students know about them well in advance.

    Great for these types of students

    This is the perfect community college for self-motivated and goal driven students.

    What to do for fun

    This is a beautiful and clean campus with benches and tables outdoors!

    Food and Dining

    This school has a small cafe that offers affordable breakfast options, lunches, drinks, and snacks.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college and is a school that all students must commute to.

    Academic Rigor

    Professor's are challenging their students to go above and beyond requirements, preparing them well to pursue their education.

    Tips for prospective students

    A student needs to ensure that they find and develop a positive relationship with their academic advisor ensuring that they have completed their course requirements in order to work towards their degree.

    In three sentences

    This campus is full of students who are responsible and self-motivated. The professors are focused to meeting their students' needs and ensure a positive classroom learning environment. This college prepares their students well to transfer to four year universities.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    5 stars

    Great for these types of students

    Students that need to develop study habits and wanting to establish a career without attending 4 year college or university

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    5 stars

    Academic Rigor

    3.5 stars

    Tips for prospective students

    Make an appointment with an advisor, take placement test as soon as you decided to enroll. Register early some classes fill up early.

    In three sentences

    The college offers course for all levels of learning. You can refresh your old skills and learn new skills. The degree programs are will allow you to transfer to other skills within the university system.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Wake Technical Community College is very secure and safe because they have a lot of security.

    What to do for fun

    Wake Technical Community College has a lot of clubs for all the students.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria in Wake Tech is small, but The food is very good.

    Dorm Life

    I do not have a dorm. I live with my parents.

    Academic Rigor

    Wake Technical Community College has very good teachers and they explain all the subject clear.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some of my tips are: do not be scare of ask any questions, and if

    In three sentences

    Wake Technical Community College has good teachers and they help a lot if I do not understand a subject. Wake Tech is a College that has very good resources for all the classes. Also Wake Tech has a very good security, it make me feel secure.

  • 06/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I'm part of the Economics club, and it's awesome.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Before a major test, I always take a small walk around campus, listening to some calm music, then stand somewhere and stretch for about 5 minutes

    Bang for the buck

    Being a community college, It's much more affordable than a 4 year college/University so I'm not complaining.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs to join. Many clubs for different tastes, such as a music club, or even Math club. Who said that education can't be fun

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria lounge is delicious, and affordable!

    Dorm Life

    This is a Community College, so there is no dorms available unfortunately.

    Academic Rigor

    Very Fair. Most of the instructors on campus are very willing to help you succeed in their course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have all of your paperwork in as soon as possible, or even the staff won't be able to help you. It's like they always say,You're late when you're on time, you're on time when you're early

    In three sentences

    So far I am really enjoying this college. The staff is really willing to help out, and are more than happy to guide you in your educational career. I know that I'm going to really enjoying my time in Wake Technical Community College.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always a police officer on campus, epically at night for the night classes, and there is always someone to help you in the office. I love it because, I always lock my keys inside my car, and Wake Tech has someone that can break into your car, without damaging it, and get my keys out.

    Great for these types of students

    If you come out of high school and are unsure of what you would like to do, Wake Tech is a great place to take a few classes and figure out what you are interested in.

    What to do for fun

    Wake Tech always has some fun activities to do! The always have a mini carnival in the parking lot with food and tons of fun games! They even had karaoke one day and it was hilarious to watch!

    Food and Dining

    There is subway and pizza but they have a coffee shop that is amazing!!

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life here!

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes like sciences are hard, however most classes are pretty easy going and are fun!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you take English 111 first, because it is a gateway into other classes! Please don't overload yourself the first semester! College is a lot different from high school and some students are not always prepared for the course load. Always keep an open mind in school and feel free to speak out during classes.

    In three sentences

    Tons of classes to choose from! Class size isn't too big or too small! Campus is well kept and always looks nice!

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    17 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are constantly security guards, and cops around.

    Clubs and Activities

    they have student Government, Muslim student organization, student ambassador. Also, every semester the student Government Association has spring flings, or fall festival and they give you free food and activities you can do.

    Great for these types of students

    All, but especially students that are not sure what they want to do and may not be ready for a univeristy

    Bang for the buck

    since it is a community college, tuition is very cheap and if you get financial aid, you might end up not using all of it and getting some money back.

    Food and Dining

    food can be good. the coffee place can have good wraps and sandwiches. the pizza place doesn't have good pizza but on Wednesdays, they have chick-fila.

    Dorm Life

    you dont have dorms since it is a community college. you can live at home or in an apartment

    Academic Rigor

    it can hard but it depends on the class. the math classes can get hard because you might get assigned a lot of homework, and you have webassign. Also, i took geology and it was a little hard because the information you have to process and understand can be time consuming and can be a large amount. Basically, Math and science classes can be difficult because they might assign many things and you might have much to read.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure to look at rate my professor.com before you pick your classes because there are some teachers that don't help you out. i had a friend that took a math class and there were things she didnt know because her teacher just didnt teach it to her.

    In three sentences

    Wake Tech is a good start for anyone that is coming right out of high school. The GOOD( some are not so good) teachers will help you by always asking if you have questions and stay with you after class and off course there is always the Individualized learning center

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Many security officers located on the grounds of Wake Technical Main Campus and other subdivision campus.

    What to do for fun

    Wake Technical have clubs for the students and other student life styles that known.

    In three sentences

    I would have to rate them as a 5. They giving great services in a timely manner and help assist students with problems they are having.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Real safe.

    Greek Life

    Phi Beta Lambda Phi Theta Kappa Sigma Delta Mu

    Clubs and Activities

    Architecture Club Association of Nursing Students Campus Crusade for Christ Clinical Laboratory Science Student Association Criminal Justice Club Culinary Club Economics Club Engineering Club Future Designers Association of Wake Tech Game Development Club Green Club Landscaping and Architecture Club Math Club Muslim Student Union |MSU| Phi Beta Lambda Phi Theta Kappa Sigma Delta Mu Social Sciences Club Student American Dental Hygiene Association Student Government

    Great for these types of students

    Great students.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a decent school to attend at a dirt cheap price. This is the main campus of Wake Tech, and the oldest. You can always tell by the bathrooms, lack of windows in the classrooms and outdated equipment. But they are upgrading the equipment. The first time I went to Wake Tech was waaay back in 95 or so. The campus has grown, they got rid of the cafeteria that cooked and served real food and put in a Subway that over charges. They classes are great. Many students from NC State, UNC, NC A&T all come here and take classes, even durign the regular school year.

    What to do for fun

    Student activities. Welcome Day, Facts and Snacks, Fall Festival, International Day, Holiday Party, Movie Days, Alcohol Awareness, Spring Fling, Relay for Life, Stop Hunger Now Project, Books Are Fun, American Red Cross Blood Drive, Rex Mammography,

    Food and Dining

    MAIN CAMPUS Student Services Building Cafeteria The Campus Grind Chick-fil-A Subway, NORTHERN WAKE CAMPUS Building D Caf�© The Campus Grind Pizza Shack, HEALTH SCIENCES CAMPUS Health Education Building Student Lounge Chick-fil-A Pizza Shack

    Dorm Life

    No dorms .

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be a bit challenging but if you study hard you'll do fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please take the time to study for the placement. Your aim is to test out of it so that you can start the courses and move forward with your degree. I recommend you to join a student organization or play a sport to meet new people. You deserve to get a college experience. Excel academically and have good time.

    In three sentences

    I am an Associate in Arts major at Wake Tech, and I have been happy with my experience thus far. I feel as though I made the right decision in attending a community college . I was completely drawn to this school because the atmosphere is very professional and calm. Definitely an A grade School.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major, be expected to deliver very high quality work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask and try different classes, there are so many things to experience!

    In three sentences

    I love this school. I have had great experiences and been the recipient of a top notch education. I am so glad I decided to give this school a try.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've heard of very few crime issues- big or small in the last 5 years through friends of mine that attended before I began.

    Greek Life

    I don't believe there is Greek society on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have noted a few organizations and sports offered that I would enjoy participating in.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I've only taken classes online from WTCC, and only for half of a summer semester- so I have yet to learn about WTCC campus life.

    Bang for the buck

    I definitely think I'm getting my money's worth at this school. The only thing to look out for is that some classes ARE NOT transferable- which is good to know prior to registration, especially if you are planning to transfer to a university.

    What to do for fun

    Fortunately, Wake Tech offers various student activities, clubs, and sports that any student can participate in. These are great ways to meet fellow students that share similar educational and career goals and a forum for networking for friends. Also the campuses are all pretty close to downtown Raleigh which offers a decent nightlife and art and social environment.

    Food and Dining

    I rate 1 star not for poor food but because I've never been to the cafeteria- if there even is one!

    Dorm Life

    I am a distance ed student so on-campus living isn't something I know too much about. However, most if not all technical schools do not provide the option for on-campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses aren't too terribly difficult but it is easy to get behind fast if you don't manage to keep up with assignments and maintain GPA.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would strongly suggest getting all required materials in for admission, registration, and financial aid turned in before stated deadlines to secure an easy transition. Also, I recommend the distance ed classes they offer for online students. I believe Wake Tech is a great starting point to transfer but make sure you continue to excel in your classes- even if it is a technical school.

    In three sentences

    I've been a part of Wake Tech not only currently as a college freshman but I also got my high school diploma through Wake Tech's Adult High School program. It's a little difficult to get around the phone lines when trying to get specific answers regarding financial aid, registration, etc; also the campuses are spread out over a long distance- making transportation a bit difficult for some. All in all I have had a pleasant experience with the school as an online student.

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Saw Real police officers walking campus. But they were friendly so this makes me and my parents feel better. It is an open campus so must be alert around campus.

    What to do for fun

    Its not far from downtown Raleigh, so all kind of community, youth, city, county functions. Wake has a few organizations and they have a Travel Abroad organization.

    Food and Dining

    They have an ok facility. They have subway,chic-fila booth, on main campus not sure about the other campuses. Will check out Northern Campus soon. But down the street lots of eatery's Mc's,wendys,Walmarts, Food Lion with Starbucks..

    Dorm Life

    No dorms. but there are apartments near main campus. I live at home so I don't know the quality of the apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    I am sure it differs for everyone. People who go here have families, 2 or 3 jobs, they are trying to get degrees to get better paying jobs and first time college kids,people getting their core courses to transfer to Universities and people taking courses for community purposes or just for fun. So, I feel the academic rigor could be just people challenging themselves. But I could be wrong.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare your financial aid and search for scholarships EARLY. Make plenty of alarm/reminders for the deadlines on your iphone, ipads, cell phones etc..missed deadlines costs you money. Don't think because you don't have money to go to college that its impossible. Go to the financial aid office and speak up and don't lie or be ashamed to be financially needy-BROKE- college any college costs money(University,Community). Try to get as much financial aid as possible(FREE MONEY) and if you need a loan-Just bite the bullet and get one but be very SMART about the one you get. Go to your college's financial aid office and talk to them. They want your money-so they will help you get into the college. Don't forget installments(layaway/payment plans). Education is expensive, but its worth it. Go for it!

    In three sentences

    Inexpensive but has quality courses and great staff(they might lose your paperwork quite often but still friendly). Location friendly because it has many(7) campuses and also has a green campus. Diverse environment is really important to me and Wake Tech has it all.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always on point and makes me feel secure at all times.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life

    Clubs and Activities

    Not involved in any clubs but this college has a lot of them. Activities are always on the newsletter so you can't miss it.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are committed, love to learn, and want to be in the great Raleigh area this college is great for you. You can also take classes online so you really don't have to live in Raleigh.

    Bang for the buck

    The campus is well surrounded with security and emergency phones, so you should feel safe at all times. Most staff is helpful and well educated on any question that you ask. I do think that some of the Financial Aid staff needs a little help on being prompt, and how to help students when needed. The hold time for financial aid sucks when you call in to speak with someone. You can get a faster response through email.

    What to do for fun

    This college always offer fun things for students such as movies, food, concerts, and social parties.

    Food and Dining

    Good selection of food to choose from and very yummy.

    Dorm Life

    This college does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to sacrifice your personal time such as hanging out with friends to be successful. I found that to be a big challenge because my best friend likes to go out and have fun. I had to turn her down a lot just so I can study and keep up with the course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you speak with your advisor about the classes you should take. Always register early because classes will get full quickly, and if you can complete two different majors at the same time so that you can get all the credit hours you need for the semester. For example, I am taking Associate in Arts and Human Services. I never worry about not getting 12 credit hours because I can enroll in any classes in those two majors. Always make sure the majors are the field you want to get a degree in.

    In three sentences

    Wake Tech is the best community college I have attended. The staff is very courteous and informative. This college wants the students to succeed, and offer a lot of resources to help students get the information needed to complete their education.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs to join, but the Athletics department is lacking in availability.

    Bang for the buck

    Wake Tech saves you money, and provides more than what you pay for in student supportive services.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining are to be desired, I'm afraid.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Wake Tech.

    Academic Rigor

    For the most part, the lesson plans of the classrooms are straight forward. There are a few instructors who deviate, but not many.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take CIS.110, you will use what you learn in each and every one of your classes, and in your career.

    In three sentences

    Wake Tech Community College is growing fast. The new facilities are state of the art, and located near the capital area. Once fully adjusted, the new WTCC campus in North Raleigh will be the choice, schooling option for those first two years of college.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are officers on campus as well as emergency buttons in parking lots.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are an abundance of clubs and activities offered at Wake tech.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are seeking to better their skills or get a degree will love this college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Northern campus has a nice field with pond and the buildings are brand new, it is a very clean and kept campus. Parking is tough to find unless you don't mind walking because they have an additional unpaved parking lot.

    Bang for the buck

    I pay out of state tuition and it is a killer! There is a financial aid office on campus though.

    What to do for fun

    Wake tech has many different clubs that welcome new members. They also have a gym!

    Food and Dining

    The cafe has a nice selection of good tasting foods.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The courses vary in rigor depending on the subject, but most teachers are very good about making sure the students are understanding the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    Wake Tech offers many Associates degree programs or if you want to transfer to a university, Wake Tech is a great school to prepare you for it because they facilitate an Honors Program.

    In three sentences

    Wake Tech has multiple locations, with new campuses, and great teachers. The staff is professional and direct. Registering for classes can be tough, but the staff will assist you if necessary.

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Community college no food and Dining.

    Dorm Life

    Community college no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to Wake Tech ready to learn and study. Doing so will help you earn that job you've always wanted and help you become a better person.

    In three sentences

    Wake Tech will take any student and in two years make them ready for any job. With tuition prices only going up Wake Tech actually helps student learn real life skills. In addition, they also have a great program for transfer students if people plan on going to a 4 year university.

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Actual Raleigh police officers.

    Great for these types of students

    college freshman and older students returning to school.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms.

  • 10/13/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They seem to have several activities you can be involved in.

    Food and Dining

    I do not know about the food and dining. I have only been on campus one time. I did not eat while I was there.

    Academic Rigor

    The seem like they are a good school. It is cheaper than a lot of other colleges. That is why I chose to attend there.

    Tips for prospective students

    You need to come prepared. They are not to friendly at the front desk. Have your stuff together

    In three sentences

    Wake Tech seemed to be a nice college. The advisor that I spoke with was helpful. As was the finanical aid office.

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join a club or go to events sponsored by the school.

    Food and Dining

    There are vendors, but no dining program established.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a plethora of work to be done; however, every source is needed to fully grasp the class including time and patience with yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Own your learning. Seek help before you really need it. The tutoring is worth it.

    In three sentences

    Wake-Tech gives you the opportunity to learn; however, you must seize the knowledge in manner that benefits you. The classes are varied in size but the quality of your education there is constant. You will have no problem getting a job with a degree from this school because employers know that you know what you are doing.

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join clubs and organizations! It's like starting high school all over again! Want to make sure your transcript looks good for the transfer!

    Food and Dining

    I am at north campus and they have a little cafeteria. It offers chick fil a which is awesome. Can be kinda pricy though.

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm. I would not know. Sorry.

    Academic Rigor

    It kinda still feels like I am in high school but my grades make up for it! Professors are pretty tight on absences and tardies but it just makes me prepared for big universities after I transfer. I feel because it is a community college, the professors there feel underestimated and try to prove to you that they're the real deal and overload you with work. Expect homework every night. Like high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    CHECK IF YOUR CLASSES TRANSFER TO THE UNIVERSITY YOU WANT TO ATTEND BEFORE TAKING THEM!! THIS is the NUMBER ONE problem I have heard over and over again from my class mates! Meet with an advisor!

    In three sentences

    Wake Technical Community College has been a great transition from high school. The academic advisors, teachers, and faculty have offered me the personal attention I need to understand the flow of college. It kinda still feels like I am in high school but my grades make up for it! Professors are pretty tight on absences and tardies but it just makes me prepared for big universities after I transfer.

  • 02/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of great clubs to join. The school also host various activities for all students to get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    The food was good, but like any college it isn't the best.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is very dedicated to helping each student be as successful as they can be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to meet with advisers. Their job is to help make things easier for you and they certainly do that.

    In three sentences

    Wake tech is a really great school. The teachers are all very dedicated to their jobs and helping their students. One of the best decisions I have made is to attend this school.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lots of security guards walk the campus and there are safe lights in the parking lots for when it's dark.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for people who aren't sure of what to major in because you can take all your basic classes for a good price. It's also good for people who want to hurry up and get a 2 year degree and settle into a career!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The north campus has a bunch of little nooks and crannies to study which is fantastic. Also it is a green campus so the campus is pretty nice and has lots of outdoor seating. The health science campus just added a new building that not only has a large lounge but if you go upstairs there is a giant area to study. Upstairs and downstairs also has some secret glassed in study rooms with giant screen tv's to practice presentations.

    What to do for fun

    Besides signing up for clubs and attending the Fall and Spring Festivals most of the things to do for fun involve being off campus. They do offer some trips overseas but I have never attended one.

    Food and Dining

    They have small cafe's on the North, Health, and Main campus which all serve decent food.

    Academic Rigor

    Really it depends on the classes that you take. I am a prenursing students and the classes required are pretty difficult. Prior to being a prenursing student I finished my transfer Associate in Arts degree. Most of those classes were equivelent to highschool level classes and not too terribly difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    The first thing I would tell a prospective student would be talk to several advisors-don't take the first advisors advice! Some of the advisors at Wake Tech are not helpful. However if you talk to several advisors and do some of your own researching online you will have no problem succeeding. The college is great for people who want a 2 year degree or students who have no idea what they want to do. For an affordable price they can take all their basic classes! Lastly most of the classes now are have two options either seated (in class) or online-this makes it even better for students who live farther away from the campuses!

    In three sentences

    Wake Tech is very affordable. The college offers online classes which is great for students who can't afford to commute to some of the further campuses. Also they have many programs to help keep students involved even though it is a community college and people live off campus.

  • 02/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is police in the campus and really safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Wake tech have a lot of clubs and activities that everyone will find something for him or her.

    Tips for prospective students

    Wake tech is great if you take right classes and work hard.

    In three sentences

    Wake Technical is one of the best community college in the country. While attending, I learned many subjects that are useful in life. Wake tech also have a great advising and counseling services.

  • 02/25/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    34 of 56

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I believe that Wake Technical Community College will fulfill my needs and goals in becoming a Massage Therapy Major

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I see the campus police walking around all the time and have not heard anything bad.

    Greek Life

    I am not sure what Greek Life means here.

    Clubs and Activities

    Wake Tech has them but I am not part of one so I cannot comment on the quality of them.

    Great for these types of students

    Wake Tech is great for the money conscious or those who are not sure what they want out of life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am not aware of any but I am pretty busy I just stick to my classes.

    Bang for the buck

    It is definitely the place to go if you are looking to save money or do not know what you want to do yet.

    What to do for fun

    It is a community college so most people will not travel far enough to have to change up their social life to attend.

    Food and Dining

    There is a lunchroom that has changed around quite a bit since I have been here. There has been Subway, Jersey Mikes, Chick-fil-a, and now there is a new one that sells burgers and such. The food is not bad but I often bring my own lunch to be cost effective. There is also a small coffee shop in there.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for Wake Tech but there are some apartments right across the street of the main campus. I have never been to them so I cannot comment on the cost or quality.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not been in a class that was too much for me. Every teacher is there because they want to be and even when learning a completely new subject I found that I never felt lost.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to try out different classes. You have the opportunity to explore your interests. Find out what you want to do in life, what will make you happy, and go for it.

    In three sentences

    Wake Technical Community College offers a start for those looking to begin a college career. The cost of college is something that cannot be overlooked when applying for college and I am sure I would find myself in much more debt if I had not started here. I know now where I want to go with my life and Wake Tech has helped me find that out without costing me the next 10 years of my life in loans.

  • 03/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 56

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    great cheap school for people that wanna get more education. this school is underrated it has a massive campus. it has so many choices to choose from and so many majors.

  • 04/02/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    37 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always, always have at least one person with you at all times. I have read that crimes are happening during the day or night. Tell someone you trust where you plan to be for precaution. Be aware of your surroundings!

    Bang for the buck

    Coupons. Coupons. Coupons. The greatest bang for the buck are coupons.

    What to do for fun

    Being from the Raleigh area, there's plenty of low cost activities to participate in. I will always keep my college ID for any and all opportunities to receive discounts. North Carolina also has very nice weather during most of the year. So, I plan to do free outdoor activities because of my connection to nature. Also, I practice a Brazilian Martial Arts called, Capoeira.

    Food and Dining

    I have been accepted to Wake Technical Community College, however, have yet to enroll and participate on campus fully. During the orientation process, the tour guides make great recommendations on the taste, quality of food and service.

    Dorm Life

    Fortunately, I will not experience the dorm life. I am over 30 years old. Established in my own home with the support of my boyfriend, I will only be near campus during class, school events or mentoring. I do encourage each young student to embrace this as part of your college experience. Make memories of a lifetime and be safe!

    Academic Rigor

    Currently, I am not enrolled in my program to be able to give any feedback on this topic.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students be prepared! Do all the necessary research in order to obtain the right information that will help you pursue your personal and educational goals. Ask lots of questions! The more answers you have, the better for your journey. Explore and definitely attend the orientation! Any nervousness you may have will be eased once you meet some potential fellow classmates and a few faculty.

    In three sentences

    Wake Technical Community College by far has been a wonderful experience. I have attend the first orientation offered for prospective students recently. The ambassadors and staff members were very informative on the subjects available. All of my inquiries helped to lead me in the right direction for success attending. I look forward to enrollment and the full college experience!

  • 05/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    used to be a bigger issue but now with the police force on campus there is little to any issues

    Great for these types of students

    Great for those who are still deciding on a major, those who didn't have great GPAs in high school, those just looking for a certificate in a trade program or those looking for online/distance education classes.

    Dorm Life

    No on campus housing!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to campus early to find parking and make use of the ILC, a tutoring center. Don't be afraid to ask for help or guidance most people there are more than willing to go the extra mile to help you out.

    In three sentences

    A great school with several great teachers who are truly inspiring. While there will be some frustrations in financial aid, finding computers in the library or getting a parking spot, the convenience is great and the curriculum really compares to that of four year universities.

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are several different programs offered by Wake Tech other than education. Wake Tech offers sports teams and also student government. Whatever your interest may be I am sure there will be an extra curricular activity to fit your needs.

    Food and Dining

    Wake Tech offers a culinary arts program. The students in this program run a restaurant on the main campus. Here you have a nice selection of food offered chef's in training.

    Dorm Life

    Wake Tech does not offer dorm living. This option is not available for prospective Wake Tech students. However, there is always the option of sharing an apartment with a roommate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Not everyone entering college is sure what they want to major in, but do not allow that to stop you. Be prepared and focused. Your study habits will reflect your grades.

    In three sentences

    I think Wake Tech meets the needs of any potential student. Their online classes make it easy for any students to adjust. Whether you want to continue working or pursue your education full time, Wake Tech can meet your educational needs.

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have had no problems thus far. There is a police force for the campus that is relatively new, and they seem to be doing a good job.

    Bang for the buck

    As long as you're an in-state student Wake Tech is very affordable.

    Food and Dining

    Only one selection in the cafeteria, though they serve a decent variety of decent food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms because this is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    This depends on the teacher and the work ethic of the individual student. It's easy to make good grades if you dedicate time to study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't wait until the last minute to do everything. Make sure you have all your forms taken care of, your financial aid in order, your books purchased, etc. as far in advance as possible. Don't be afraid to ask questions if you have them.

    In three sentences

    Everyone I've spoken with or had e-mail exchanges with has been very helpful and nice. The teachers I've had have seemed to enjoy their job and were excellent at it. Registering for classes is pretty easy.

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends

    Tips for prospective students

    Study. Keep up with the class. Do those both you will pass.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are understanding and helpful. The school is safe. The courses are not that hard if you study.

  • 07/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We do have security guards patrolling around the campus and there were not any criminal activities so far.

    Greek Life

    There isn't a Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I attended the Creative Writing club and a Christian club. They were both fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are not any traditions or strange locations on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a cheap school and with this economy that's a big help for me to transfer to a four year. I was accepted to four year schools in high school because of my GPA, but I couldn't afford them and I didn't want to be a burden to my parents so that is why I went to Wake Tech.

    What to do for fun

    Your friends are your fun.

    Food and Dining

    All Wake Tech have is a Mojo and a coffee shop. This is the Main Campus.

    Dorm Life

    Wake Tech doesn't have dorms. Wake Tech does have apartments across the street.

    Academic Rigor

    I had good teachers so far. We have all got along and the teachers have been very helpful towards me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do you own research when it comes to your financial aid! If you don't they will mess you up for you next semester. And if want to make sure that everything you did with you financial aid process was approved you have to basically annoy them by seeing them nearly everyday for three weeks. Keep your GPA up, just because it is a technical school doesn't mean that you will not receive academic suspension.

    In three sentences

    On a scale from one to ten I give Wake Tech a five. I didn't give Wake Tech a five because of the teachers, they're are a lot of good teachers here a Wake Tech. I gave Wake Tech a five because of the counselors and financial aid counselors; The counselors do not care about students, the counselors will give you information you do not need or forgot to mention something important to students and screws students over for the next semester.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police around at all times, you will see cars roaming the campus quite often, and security guards hanging out around the buildings. They have a system on the website where you can send your phone number or e-mail and they send mass messages to alert students to any dangers on campus or other notifications. I felt safe for all the time I went.

    Greek Life

    Not much is said about the Greek Life, and it is not that prominent on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a different number of clubs offered, such as foreign language clubs and drama clubs or those geared towards Science/Technology, Math or Sociology, but there is not much geared towards the Arts... other than drama club of course.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for transfer students, nursing students, engineering students and those who just want to get back into the groove of school after not attending for a while.

    Bang for the buck

    The only quality of Wake Tech that fits here off the top of my head is the education. It is the most obvious, but taking classes here can take the load off of a transfer student compared to if they went straight into university.

    What to do for fun

    Wake Tech will offer seasonal events and occasionally activity-based ones (They once offered Salsa dancing lessons one year and have annual international festivals each year) but not enough to keep students entertained every single day. The environment is more or less geared towards study. Most people leave the campus if there is nothing else to do.

    Food and Dining

    Food is served by various restaurant companies in the cafeteria, such as Chik-fil-A and Mojo's grill, both specializing in delicious sandwiches. It will create a hole in the student's pocket after a while, as this is not covered in any aid received to attend the school.

    Dorm Life

    Wake Tech does not have dorms as it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The education is worth every penny. Students are expected to study and meet class standards no matter the subject. Some people claim that community colleges are easy, but they are very mistaken and have yet to sign up for a Wake Tech class. They are not super challenging to where good grades are impossible, but they require effort and critical thinking from students. You cannot expect to just get by in any class you take at Wake Tech, or you will hold yourself back. The class attendance policy is very serious, and instructors will insist that a student not miss a class as much as possible... it is amazing how 50 minutes of material can hurt your grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a community college, not a social get to know everyone and party environment like a university, so one would be wise not to waste time trying to do a lot of hanging out and instead stick with study groups or learn to enjoy your own company. If you are interested in transferring, be sure to double check on your prospective college to make sure you are taking the correct classes so your credits can transfer over, sometimes the Advising department won't tell you EVERYTHING. If you are driving, come to the campus at least 30 minutes or more earlier, because parking spaces fill up quick. There are thousands of students at WT.

    In three sentences

    A great, cheap option for those living in or near the Raleigh area who want a good starter education before transferring or a good start on engineering/nursing. Very studious environment, all the instructors are interested in helping you get the grade, just as long as you respect them and their time and take your educations seriously. Neat campus.

  • 07/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The school is getting ready to charge for printing (no longer included in student fees).

    What to do for fun

    They have several extracurricular activities and groups. Not a large selection but big enough that most people can find something.

    Food and Dining

    There's a great pizza guy named Abdul who serves yummy food from the Pizza Shack but other then that there aren't many options.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers really challenge students but offer extra help in their personal time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan to arrive early to classes due to parking and pack your own lunch for north campus. Not many fresh food options.

    In three sentences

    The school itself is growing rapidly as Raleigh's population rises. The parking situation is a nightmare. However the school has great and caring teachers.

  • 08/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Wake Tech has had some issues in the past with guns on campus. Recently, they have increased campus security, and the campus is doing better due to the higher police presence.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs, however, the Student Government Association is the most proactive club seen around campus. A new student would benefit greatly by joining this club.

    Great for these types of students

    Wake Tech caters to many different kinds of people, attending there would benefit; Students who are wanting to go to a four year degree, but wanting to save a little cash first, adults who wish to continue their education after entering the work force, as well as students who are not sure what they wish to major in.

    What to do for fun

    Wake Tech offers many Student Government events, such as a movie night on Fridays. This would be a great place for new students to get to meet other people

    Food and Dining

    Wake Technical Community College has many different campuses, so I will be reviewing the Main Campus food. The Main Campus has a nice cafeteria with many different options for food. There is a small cafe for things like muffins and coffee, as well as it's very own restaurant for things like sandwiches and salads. Many times vendors will come sell there food in the cafeteria. The food is not bad, however, if one has an allergy such as a gluten intolerance, or a peanut allergy, there are not many options, most of the food is made right along side of common allergens. Such a person would have to bring a bagged lunch.

    Dorm Life

    Wake Technical Community College does not offer dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Wake Technical Community College has great academia. The teachers do very well at their job, and most are willing to help out a struggling student succeed. Wake Tech has a very tough attendance policy, and will not tolerate tardy or absent students. Wake Tech also offers things such as honors programs, and honors societies. It is a good environment for learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are many things that a prospective student should know, First, if you are planning on getting financial aid, do the paperwork well before the deadline. Wake Tech has a lot of students, and sometimes it is difficult to get a live representative on the phone, so if you do have a problem with financial aid, pick a day where you can spend at least an hour on the phone. Secondly, Wake Tech has many campuses, so if you feel uncomfortable on one campus, switch to another! One last thing, ALWAYS get up early if you want a close parking space!

    In three sentences

    Wake Technical Community College has thousands of students, yet each individual is included in the classroom setting, most teachers know their students by their first names. Wake Tech has horrible parking. Wake Tech gives students a good education for the price.

  • 08/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Wake Tech makes all of it's students feel really safe. They have towers all over the school so in case of an emergency you just hit the panic button and security comes. Security is everywhere, walking down the halls, on bikes in the parking lot, and driving around in their cars. At night it is really lit up and there's no sketchy walk ways. If there is ever an emergency they email you and tell you what is going on. All the teachers in qualified in knowing what to do in case of an emergency.

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately, there is no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are SO many clubs I cannot even begin to tell you. Every religion, sport, activity has a club.

    Great for these types of students

    Wake Tech is great for students who aren't really interested in the college life. Students don't go to the sports games and theres no social life. You just go to class and then go home or to work. This works for a lot of people who have outside priorities and just need to get an education. Students can choose to be social if they join a club but it isn't common.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A lot of people try to get into main library during busy hours. But the secret is that there is a library annex in building E that is never full so there's no waiting! There is also a coffee shop in building D that is REALLY good but REALLY expensive.

    Bang for the buck

    Wake Tech is a lot cheaper then a four year school. However, you get what you pay for. The education is good, but the assisstance isn't. Don't expect career services or the counselors to be of any assisstance to you; they're clueless. Oh and don't bother leaving a voicemail if you call them, they won't call you back. You need to go in and talk to them in person. DO NOT BUY BOOKS FROM THE BOOKSTORE. It is owned by Barnes and Noble so you are paying for a middle man. Don't even buy their used books. Get them off craigslist or amazon for half the price. Even the teachers at school will tell you to avoid that book store like the plague.

    What to do for fun

    Sometimes Wake Tech will have events like the Car and Bike show. This is where people bring their classic cars and cool motorcycles and show them off to the public. They also have spring fling which is fun; food, games, dacing, etc...

    Food and Dining

    Theres two places to eat at the school. Theres a little convenience store and a coffee shop. Both of them are really expensive and not the best quality; but, they're there if you get hungry.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    They really don't strive their students to push farther. You'll notice a lot of students with the I just need a C in this class so it will transfer attitude. Teachers also don't press their students to do more work because it is more work for them to grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research! Don't just randomly take prerequisites that seem easy or fun. See what classes your degree expects from you and how much time and effort you need to put forth. Also consider your life when signing up for classes. Don't sign up for a Tuesday/Thursday class if you know you work on those days. Missing class will get you nowhere but a double F. And finally, make friends with people in your class! Get their number in case you have questions or missed some of your notes. And forming study groups is also a plus! Please also keep in mind that some of the classes are way too easy. Don't become babied or else you will end up suffering at a four year school.

    In three sentences

    Wake Tech is great if you're not ready for the four-year school lifestyle. Wake Tech is great if you prosper with smaller class sizes and need a personal connection with your teacher. If you succeed at Wake Tech you should succeed at a four-year school.

  • 09/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    nothing

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to a University.

    In three sentences

    I find after attending wake technical community college for over a year now that it was better for me to attend a four year university. I do not like how lazy financial aid employees are. Wake technical community college is not worth the stress and money lost.

  • 10/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't want to pay for a 4 year education for so much money but can do two years or less and pay smaller amount and get the better education

    Bang for the buck

    Yes its affordable especially if a student plans on transfering to 4 year. they only have to pay for two years and they are good to go!

    What to do for fun

    For fun they're back 2 school, cultural, holiday events and talent shows and plays from fine arts students.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is pretty good. There's a pizza shack where pizza, hotdogs, ice cream, yogurt, fruit, etc. In the morning chic-fil-a is served for breakfast in the morning.

    Dorm Life

    There's no dorm life at Wake Technical Community College

    Academic Rigor

    There's a National Honor Society and College Choir.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to do everything yourself ! Some of the advisors are not willing to help you the way you want them to. Go to the library and ILC center and study; Do not waste anytime use all of your free time as possible for studying. Make sure you take all of your hardest classes your last semester!

  • 10/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure the courses you complete will transfer somewhere else in case you need to transfer to another school. I guess if you attend during the day it's not a problem. But if you work during the day and try to complete your degree in the evening, you may run into problems.

    In three sentences

    Instructors are really good but the college claims they're having problems hiring instructors for evening courses. I'm enrolled in the pre-nursing program and have just 2 courses to go. One course in particular (Anatomy and Physiology II) has 3 offerings in the evening, but the lab is during the day -- what's the point!? And unfortunately, last semester this course was not offered at all during the evening. Wake Tech also changed the way students are allowed to register. It used to be first come first serve, but now, the more credits you have, the earlier you can register. So those just starting out at the college run the risk of not getting into the courses they need. That's what happened with the Microbiology course I needed. Just one course was offered on a Saturday, but there were students that had priority so the course was full even before it was open to students without that priority status. NC voters in 2012 approved a $200 Million bond for the college to expand and make repairs. Don't know why a college would spend money to expand when their halls are empty during the evening. I wish they would first offer more courses instead of expanding. I'm hoping most of my courses will transfer to another school. I really didn't want to attend a trade school, but it looks like that's what I may need to do.

  • 11/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the teachers classes are not completely terrible. If you take Bio 111/112 though avoid certain teachers because they give busy work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to use some of your potential here because it is hard to get anything lower than a B if you expend 60% effort.

    In three sentences

    College life for the unenthusiastic begins here at Wake Tech. The current student population is made up of people stuck in a place because of finances, grades, or self pity. Wake Tech is beautiful still with smiling faces of professors making an impact on students while getting paid....not nearly enough!

  • 11/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A ton of emergency security posts, and often there are campus police patrolling the areas. Well-lit parking lots and they offer updated alerts to your phone.

    Greek Life

    None at all.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not too many clubs unless you're in a sport, or really smart in a subject.

    Great for these types of students

    High school graduates who don't want to attend a four-year right away, parents who want to go back to school but don't have the time, online class takers, students who may have not enjoyed a four-year and want to keep earning credits for when they find the right one.

    Bang for the buck

    Fairly cheap compared to your other schools, however some of the teachers just really don't belong in the teaching field. Overall, it's a great option. They also offer non-credit classes to help qualify you for jobs that don't require degrees, or just to help you in everyday life.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs to join, but not many sporting teams because it's a community college.

    Food and Dining

    Not too many food court selections, however there are a lot of campuses, and I've only attended two. Each have little coffee shops and deli places that serve sandwiches or pizza, but that's about it.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms. Commuting is the only way, this often works to your disadvantage.

    Academic Rigor

    It takes it's programs almost as seriously as any other college even if it is just a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you keep up with your teachers, because most of the time they are willing to go the extra mile to help, but they don't advertise it. Always keep traffic in mind when it comes to commuting to class and finding parking. Don't overload your schedule if you also have a job. There are a lot different factors community college student face that 4-year university college students don't which can make it seem a little more challenging actually.

    In three sentences

    Great inexpensive way to further your education or get you started. Requires a lot of self-motivation to be an adult rather than a college student. Definitely a great option if you're not ready to enter a university, because it will over-prepare you.

  • 01/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Really safe campus. Police and emergency poles everywhere.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Always something to do.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is suitable for any student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The nicest Campus is North but the Main Campus is the center of most things.

    Bang for the buck

    In state tuiton is the cheapest thing, which is awesome. It is slightly going up but a student could easily pay their tuition in a semester.

    What to do for fun

    There are several clubs one could join. The student government is always doing things for the student body.

    Food and Dining

    Only the main campus has a restaurant, Subway. Off campus though, there are plenty of choices. All the other campuses, North and Western, have plenty of food around for students.

    Dorm Life

    Wake Tech does not offer on campus housing. No dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    I would say the course load is that of a university, especially if you are taking classes for your major. The elective classes vary and are interesting. There is bound to be something for everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't wait until the last minute to do anything.

    In three sentences

    The teachers care about their subjects. Everyone is friendly and cool for the most part. There are tons of resources available to students.

  • 02/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always alert

    Greek Life

    doesnt apply

    Clubs and Activities

    There are varies clubs that students can join

    Great for these types of students

    ASL club is good for students that want to learn to communicate with the death and or career is in Social Services

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    doesnt apply

    Bang for the buck

    courses are perfect according to length of degree or certificate

    What to do for fun

    Participate/support SGA Trips abroad if can

    Food and Dining

    Student lounge is suitable for students to relax or socialize with other students between breaks. you do have the opportunity to purchase food from the restaurant that set up inside, the snack bar or vendor machines.

    Dorm Life

    doesnt apply

    Academic Rigor

    Academic choices are suitable to ones lifestyle

    Tips for prospective students

    Have an open mind Be prepared to learn and apply

    In three sentences

    Prone to students' situation in life. Has a variety of choices in career goals Has Career Readiness courses that can open students to varies occupations

  • 04/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There really isn't much to do for entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    Average, could use some improvement.

    Academic Rigor

    Has fairly competitive academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be sure to take things seriously. Also, if having issues with professors don't be afraid to take it to staff.

    In three sentences

    Overall its a decent college. Certainly has good buildings and the majority of professors are knowledgeable. It has a very diverse student population.

  • 04/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Theres no worries when on campus. There is great security within the officers. They are friendly too.

    Clubs and Activities

    Really an endless list. check out the brochure, theres a place for everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    The staff members and faculty are down to earth. Get to know them, you never know how valuable networking is until you utilize your contacts.

    What to do for fun

    Joining clubs and other programs are very interesting and engaging. Yoou get to meet many people whether its through a club or sports.

    Food and Dining

    Wake Tech offers good burgers and subs. Also there are many local fast food and restaurants within a mile of the main campus.

    Dorm Life

    I have never dormed, but my friends would say that wake tech offers low student housing rates.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses aren't hard, but you will be challenges to think critically and to provide feedback. Its the only way to learn really.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your time and enjoy the experience in learning. This will allow you to appreciate your success. Use your resources like the writing centers and tutoring sessions that are available free for students.

    In three sentences

    Wake Tech is a safe haven for the those who look to save money for a quality education. Wake Tech offers a variety of classes that easily transfer to a four year college. The professor's I've had were well skilled in their fields which is a big factor in success.

  • 10/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe. We have campus police and security. They are always around campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small cafeteria at north campus.It has a few different choices, and normally the food is really good.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms its a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's not high school. The school gives you the opportunity to learn in a safer environment than a university. The classes are smaller and the teachers are very welcoming and willing to help. If you are buying physical textbooks always try to check online first, the book store tends to be quite a bit more expensive. Also always check to see which campus is closest to you. The school has quite a few campuses. Parking is terrible, always arrive early to give yourself plenty of time to find a parking spot.

    In three sentences

    Wake Tech is a very welcoming and great place for new students. The class sizes are normally between 30-50 and the average teacher is willing to help you as much as possible. The school is one i would recomend to anyone looking to go to an amazing local college.