Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Walla Walla Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students who like one on one help because the class room sizes are small. This small campus also makes it easier to make friends and really get to know people, so if you are a people-person, this college will be great for you!

    Tips for prospective students

    I would go to the new student orientation and learn about all the great things Walla Walla Community College has to offer!

    Bang for the buck

    This school's tuition is fantastic, it's affordable, and they also allow you to have payments if you are paying for school yourself.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Walla Walla Community College. The campus is very attractive and gives off a very intellectual feel. There are many different types of people at this school and everyone has been very helpful and friendly to me so far.

    Am learning a lot

    At Walla Walla Community College you will acquire a wide range of knowledge. Not only are the classes interesting and in depth, but the instructors are always willing to help students one on one. There are also free study groups and tutors!

  • 08/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Despite the rising costs of tuition WWCC is reasonable when it comes to paying for tuition.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the atmosphere created at WWCC. It's friendly and open.

    Am learning a lot

    Don't let anybody tell you that a community college is not as good as a four year college! I have received the best instruction from the professors at this college. They are patient and take time to work individually with their students.

  • 10/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone looking for a good education on a budget!

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early. Classes fill up fast!

    Bang for the buck

    WWCC is a great alternative to spending your first few years at a university if you're looking to save money. It is only about 1/4 the cost of a public university.

    Am enjoying being here

    The people are great, the teacher's are extremely helpful, and everyone in the financial aid office and student centers are great as well.

    Am learning a lot

    Attending Walla Walla Community College has been a great decision so far in my college career. The teachers here are amazing and are willing to work with you in almost any situation.

  • 12/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like a challenge try taking the course PHYS SCIENCE & ENG I, now that's a challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Unless you really need the money try not to work full-time. My first year I worked full-time and took Chemistry and Calculus this made my first year experience a little difficult.

    Bang for the buck

    The class courses are not too expensive. I strongly believe that your are getting your Bang for the buck while attending Walla Wall Community College.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have enjoyed attending Walla Walla Community College for these last two years. I have met many teachers and students that have helped me succeed.

    Am learning a lot

    The education provide by the school staff is of good quality. They make sure you learn the subject and succeed in class. If the course work is difficult they have the patience and commitment to help your times of hardship.

  • 04/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is completely safe! Go Warriors!

    Great for these types of students

    It is the perfect school for any type of student!

    Bang for the buck

    I think at Walla Walla you get a great education very reasonable tuition. The school is small enough that there is always someone who can help you in any area you are struggling in.

    What to do for fun

    I sing, ride horses, camp, hike, hunt, pretty much anything outdoors

    Tips for prospective students

    As long as you go to class, pay attention and use the tutor lab on a regular basis there is no reason why you shouldn't succeed here.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school. It is small so I get all the one-on-one help that I need.

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    golf, mountain bike, swim, rodeo, bowling

    Food and Dining

    excellent food service

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Find a place to live early because this college does not have dorms.

    In three sentences

    Top 3 community colleges in America, enough said

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs, activities, and athletic events to take part in!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Under the Warrior's Knee is a location in which some college events are held, such as college fairs.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are of Community College average costs.

    What to do for fun

    Walla Walla Community College is right by the biking trail that runs through the park, go biking! There are plenty of clubs to attend as well, one of my favorite being the Art Club. The rec. room up stairs has plenty more to do; play pool, watch TV, the list goes on.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is phenomenal thanks to the Culinary art students who cook there. There is also a book store to head to when in need of a snack, multiple snack machines around the campus, and an upstairs rec. room with a snack bar. Let's not forget free popcorn on Fridays.

    Dorm Life

    There are no specific dorms for the Walla Walla Community College. However, if you already live in Walla Walla, dorms should not be a concern.

    Academic Rigor

    I felt that the intensity of the material that was covered in class varied by teacher and teaching style. For the most part, homework was an everyday task, but over all was not difficult if kept up on. Walla Walla Community College is a college suited for one who wants a bit of a challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up to date on home work and attendance is key for most of the classes. Try your best to keep involved!

    In three sentences

    Walla Walla Community College is a well-rounded college! I felt that the faculty there were devoted to educating and listening to their students respectfully! I personally feel like it was a professional yet fun environment that I hope will be present in other colleges.

  • 09/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those wanting to get generals of try something new. A nice selection of evening classes.

    Food and Dining

    No experience with food on campus.

    Dorm Life

    None

    In three sentences

    Great place to get generals out of the way, in order to transfer to other programs. They are very helpful.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    WWCC has a mellow environment, and crime is almost non-existent.

    Bang for the buck

    WWCC definitely gives its students their money's worth. Students are treated to learning from university-level instructors, and a friendly and productive atmosphere.

    What to do for fun

    WWCC's ASB keeps students entertained with extracurricular activities such as karaoke, Almost Free Bowling (college students pay next to nothing!), and a plethora of clubs to be a part of. Clubs range from the Digital Media Club, Computer Science Club, Art club, Nursing, John Deer, Music clubs, Auto Body, and too many others to list.

    Food and Dining

    The Titus Creek Cafe in the main building on campus serves a wonderful variety of meals.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms (it's a community college).

    Tips for prospective students

    WWCC has a tremendous amount of resources available for students. USE THEM!!

    In three sentences

    Walla Walla Community College (WWCC) is an excellent school with a wide array of degrees to choose from. The instructors and administrators are very helpful, and will go the distance to help a student achieve their scholastic dreams. It was also named a Top 5 community college in the nation by The Aspen Institute in 2011, and has again been named as one of the Top 10 community colleges in the nation

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    10 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I took the money I saved from going to a community college and studied abroad for a summer. Most of my classes transferred nicely, and some even counted for upper-division classes later. Best decision I've ever made.

    Food and Dining

    I really didn't eat on campus very much. I'm a vegetarian, but I'm sure the food is better if you aren't.

    Dorm Life

    WWCC does not have a dorm. You could find a roommate and look for cheap housing.

    Academic Rigor

    I absolutely loved my experiences at WWCC! My professors knew my name, even though they teach hundreds of students every year. I really appreciated the difficulty of certain classes and the ease of others. Theater classes have no reason to be hard, and Biology has no reason it can't be fun.

  • 10/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Take walks around campus, go to free-pizza fridays, or go to the dome blackouts.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is the best part. The chefs are the current cullinary students so you get to help them by tasting their yummy food!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this college because it is a Community College and not a university.

    Academic Rigor

    High quality learning for a low fee.

    Tips for prospective students

    TALK TO YOUR INSTRUCTOR. Since the class sizes aren't very big, they love one-on-one time. They are always there to help.

    In three sentences

    This is a wonderful school. There is not a huge population of students and the campus is easy to get around with, also friendly instructors. I would definitely recommend this school to anyone.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is wide-open and fairly well-lit, and you'll find yourself generally taking classes during the day and then heading homw in the evenings. The one thing that can be an issue is the parking lot; since there is no on-campus housing, everyone drives to the college for class, and you will find that sometimes people can be a bit agressive getting in or out of the parking lot. Drive safe, and you shouldn't have any trouble.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek housing at WWCC.

    Clubs and Activities

    Every department on campus has some kind of club, so there's always people to meet and activities to get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    If you don't know what you want to do, this is a great place to test the waters and try out a few different classes to find your place. The two-year Associates programs are totally worth the effort, too, as they make transferring into larger colleges tremendously smoother.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Several of the buildings on campus are fairly odd-looking. One building has a triangular section, so you can sometimes get lost in it (four rights don't make a left, in this case!). The Dome is the gymnasium, which has an iconic gold-colored dome-shaped roof, apparently very eco-friendly.

    Bang for the buck

    Quite simply, you can get the same early college education from a Community College for far less than you'll pay at any four-year college. WWCC has a lot of options, too, which makes it great for exploring your interests and finding the right degree for you to transfer into.

    What to do for fun

    There's a few bowling alleys in town, as well as a great cinema. You could always get involved in the sports teams, too, if that's your thing.

    Food and Dining

    There's some on-campus dining, but more often you'll find yourself driving off campus to local restaurants for food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at WWCC, so there's not much to rate here.

    Academic Rigor

    The honest truth is that Community Colleges are the perfect stepping stone between High School and a four-year college. WWCC provides a great experience, pushing you to the college level while still retaining the smaller class sizes you would be used to from high school. I reccomend it over AP programs, even which I did participate in at my own High School.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the campurs resources to your advantage - that's probably obvious, but there really are a lot of people out there that would love to help you. From free tutoring in math and writing to class-specific assistance, it's all there, you just have to look for it.

    In three sentences

    Many different programs are available here, and all of them have been growing a lot over the last few years. Walla Walla is a great area, very calm and relaxing, and a bit out of the way. There's all kinds of opportunities, and every instructor I've had has been very encouraging and helpful.

  • 04/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    a large area for relaxing, food for sale, pool tables, pin pong tables, flat screen TVs, a basketball court, and more

    Food and Dining

    food is prepared by soon to be 5 start chiefs or su chiefs. The food is delicious!

    Dorm Life

    no dorms at the moment.

    Academic Rigor

    it can be difficult--which is good--but it's all for a good reasons and I feel it's such a benefit.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't think twice, attend walla walla community college.

    In three sentences

    it's an amazing school filled with caring professors.Students are there to achieve a higher education. Beautiful campus, ranked number 1 for a reason!

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Only had a couple email alerts, but very safe campus since there are a lot of open spaces and a lot of students roaming around.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of Student Activity Center events. A lot of clubs that every person will find one that fits their interests.

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoorsy, Artistic, those interested in getting a quick degree, Sports People, and Quirky Individuals.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I can think of. A lot of the sports events have themes, but I am not a sport's fan so I wouldn't know.

    Bang for the buck

    If you want to get your pre-requisites out of the way and not have to pay much for them, WWCC is the place to go. The teachers are great and it's a wonderful community.

    What to do for fun

    Hiking, walking, and riding bikes around Bennington Lake and Rooks Park. Shopping in downtown Walla Walla. Swimming in the Walla Walla River in the Summer. Going to plays at the many local theatres in the area. Attending the Walla Walla Fair and Frontier Days as well as the College Rodeo.

    Food and Dining

    Good food at the Titus Caf�©. A little pricey when you can go for fast food down the road.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Some subjects could be more difficult, but I think more is learned in laid back settings rather than stressful ones where all you care about is passing the test and taking enough notes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to community college to get your pre-requisites out of the way! Go to class, you are paying for your education now! Try to learn something new everyday. Take classes because the subject is interesting to you, not just because it is easy.

    In three sentences

    WWCC is a nice, flat campus with view of the Blue Mountains. The teachers are friendly and willing to talk to and advise students. The Associates of Art's DTA is a great way to get your general knowledge requirements out of the way in a fun environment.

  • 09/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school is very safe, I have been there 3 years and there has been no safety breech that I am aware of. They also have fire drills. There are stairs as well as elevators for the handicapped.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs and activities that are available to be apart of. You just need to choose what you have time and energy for.:)

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone! Any person that is looking for a quality education at an affordable price should go here! Especially if they are interested in nursing or health care, wine-making, or culinary arts.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a tradition to climb on top of the gym (it is dome shaped) and watch the stars.

    Bang for the buck

    WWCC is very diverse in it's people groups. It is fun to get to know people of different cultures and walks of life. There are lots of young people right out of high school, but a fair amount of older adults coming back to school and single parents. There is a wide variety of people. You can feel like you get a good education and still make your life work, like having kids, parents and/or a spouse.

    What to do for fun

    There is a pathway leading from the back of the school to a near by park. This path is great for biking, walking, jogging, and long boarding. It also parallels a running stream that has annual rubber-ducky races as a fund raiser. There is ping-pong tournaments and soccer, base ball and basket ball games to watch.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria that has excellent food from the culinary arts program, however the food can be a little pricey.

    Dorm Life

    Although there are no dorms at WWCC, there are student housing available, I believe.

    Academic Rigor

    I chose 5 stars to rate academics, based on classes that I've personally taken. These include communications, english, math, and sciences such as microbiology and anatomy and physiology. Most of the teachers were really helpful and easy to approach. I felt like I learned a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard, and focus on your chosen field of study. This will help you to complete your classes and not get distracted by other things.

    In three sentences

    Walla Walla Community College is an excellent place to get an education. Learning is encouraged through group participation and individual study time. I would recommend anyone to attend here.

  • 02/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Some people don't know how to drive, so be careful.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities here.

    Great for these types of students

    The Dome has a fitness center as well as gym classes such as Zumba.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a place for cosmetology, theatre and gym which we call the Dome.

    Bang for the buck

    The teachers try not to miss a lot of days, so you get your money's worth. As well as, they have offices hours and if you need a different time, they will make an appointment with you.

    What to do for fun

    Every so often, they have karaoke night, almost free bowling, dodge ball tournament and many different clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious, as said before. They range from breakfast to lunch. With sandwiches to pizza.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many of the same classes, some have a lower difficulty level than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Show up everyday, if you can't, call them to let them know. Turn in all your assignments on time, they don't like them late. Arrive early for good parking. Taste the cafeteria food, it's delicious.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are very detailed, some are more relaxed. Some classes are easy, others are strict. The food is delicious.

  • 03/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never heard of anything negative happening on campus.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There aren't many clubs that I have heard about.

    Great for these types of students

    Students with full time jobs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing unusual.

    Bang for the buck

    The staff here is so great and helpful, also the classes are really up to standards, I feel like. I would definitely recommend coming to WWCC for the first to years of college because it's cheap and you learn the same things you would at a university.

    What to do for fun

    The asb puts on a lot of activities for students to do like almost free bowling and movie nights.

    Food and Dining

    Cafe is awesome!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on what classes you are taking, science classes are difficult but manageable. Work load is fairly easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to register for classes early because classes fill up quick!

    In three sentences

    Great teachers. Great classes. A lot of fun.