Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Walla Walla University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For everyone, really.

    Tips for prospective students

    Consistency, don't worry to ask questions, call, apply for scholarship, loans, grants. Be a leader.

    Bang for the buck

    Higher education is very expensive, however the experiences shared are worth the extra financials.

    Am enjoying being here

    It really all comes down to the type of person you are and how you look at the place. If your outlook on things is a negative one, you won't like any place.

    Am learning a lot

    Since the teacher to student ratio here is very reasonable, your learning experience is maximized.

  • 09/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Engineers, nurses, educators, business, music, math, physics are among a few of the types of people who would like it here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Longboards are a great thing to bring, cars are not necessary, although computers are. Also have fun with your freshman mentor and use them, that is what they are there for.

    Bang for the buck

    Walla Walla University rivals Whitman College in cost, but WWU dose not mind helping find ways to pay tuition.

    Am enjoying being here

    It is great here, all the friends, work and activities one could want. Longboarding is a great want to have fun around here, like coming back from Rooks park on them.

    Am learning a lot

    The engineering program here is great, The early class starts at 8 AM and the last one gets out at 9 PM, lot to fit your schedule. There is an honors program which will reward you for its completion with a quarters tuition.

  • 02/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    stellar! small town makes for a safe community most of the time!

    Greek Life

    no greek life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    social work club, drama club, photo club, amnesty international, cycling club, exercise club....to name just a few.....

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the longest table - a mile long dinner table on college avenue!

    Bang for the buck

    i am a non-traditional student pursuing a degree in social work after being out of school almost 17 years. i feel called to pursue social justice and policy for those disadvantaged and for people living in the margins.

    What to do for fun

    backpack, hiking, walking, running

    In three sentences

    walla walla university is a community of educators focused on the academic success and future careers of their students.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If it's late at night and you have to walk across campus alone, you can call Campus Security and they'll provide you with an escort.

    Clubs and Activities

    Drama club, clubs for all the languages that are taught, Society of Women Engineers, American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

    Great for these types of students

    Particularly engineers, social workers, mathematicians and scientists, but all fields are represented well here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Bed races - a Dead Week tradition where teams race hospital beds down a closed-off street.

    What to do for fun

    WWU has a large number of clubs and pods (groups of people who get together to do a certain thing). There are pods for swing dancing, board games, tennis, and bunch of other things - and they're free.

    Food and Dining

    Again, I've only been to the cafeteria a couple of times, but it's pretty good - they have pizza there fairly often too. There's the Dairy Express right across the street - vegetarian, but they have the best breakfast burritos I've ever had - and the Student Activity Center has fantastic smoothies and breakfast sandwiches. There's also the Atlas - the campus coffee shop - and it's great for studying in and their coffee is good too.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorm yet, so I can't say for certain - I'm only going off what others say. Freshmen have to be in by midnight on weekdays and 1 AM on weekends. They are usually really good at matching you up with a roommate (I just met mine for next quarter and she's fantastic), and the RA's are supposedly pretty easygoing.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are very difficult - I'm in their honors program, and I'm an engineering major, so I have some pretty tough classes. However, if you take the time to figure out the concepts, you'll usually do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to the teachers if you get a bad grade or are worried about getting one. Not all of them are willing to give retakes, but many of those who do never say so in class - you have to ask them privately. If you need help, go to the Teaching-Learning Center - they can be really helpful with math. Also, the teachers themselves have office hours where you can go in and ask for help. Join a club - any club - and I would recommend their Honors Program also. The people in there are pretty great.

    In three sentences

    A Christian University that actually cares where the students are going academically and spiritually. There are huge social opportunities, and the teachers and faculty are really great. You do have to attend a certain number of chapels per quarter, so if you have a problem with that, you may not want to apply.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Walla Walla was voted one the nicest city in America a few years ago, and it shows, everyone on campus is friendly and respectful to each other. While most don't worry or think about leaving doors unlocked or belongings in the open, the campus is monitored and patrolled 24/7 by security guards and cameras

    Food and Dining

    There are two coffee shops, a deli, and a cafeteria with 5 different types of food to choose from on campus. Between the four locations dining is available from 7am-10pm so you're almost always able to get food when you want it. All food is vegetarian so it's filling but healthy.

    Dorm Life

    Each dorm has Free laundry, Free high-speed (super fast) internet via Ethernet and Wi-Fi, community kitchens, and lobbies with big screen TVs. Each room comes fully furnished. The biggest draw back is that the rooms don't have cable TV, but with High speed internet, and TVs in the lobby, you don't really miss it.

    Academic Rigor

    All of the faculty know what they are talking about and are capable of imparting that knowledge very well. As always some majors are harder than others but regardless of your concentration you will be challenged and learn everything you need to know and then some.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a bike; The weather is usually nice and their are lots of parks, and trails near by, and any shopping is close enough to walk or bike to. Also manage your time well, there's always events being put on to keep students social and engaged but its important to make time to study and stay on top of studies.

    In three sentences

    WWU is the best university to train mind, body and spirit. The faculty is caring and knowledgeable, providing world class education, and weekly worship, free gym, vegetarian dining, and a friendly community provide the type of ecosystem that promotes a well rounded individual. The weather gets a mid 30s in winter and 70s-90s in spring and summer so its beautiful on campus.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs on campus: Math Club, Engineers Without Borders, Black Student Union, Asian Pacific Islander Club, French Club, Biology Club, Aleph Gimel Ain (Women's Dorm), Omicron Pi Sigma (Men's Dorm).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Spring Jam: concert held on Kretchmar lawn for students to dance their stress away. Bouncy Houses: the week before finals, bouncy houses are placed around campus so the college students can feel like kids again. It helps them relieve the stress of finals week. Bed Races: Also during the week before finals. Teams of 4 or 5 dress up in creative costumes to compete in the racing of beds. ASWUU bikes: Orange bikes that can be found around campus. Anyone can use them to get to any destination on campus and they are not locked up. Walla Walla University is also known as Western Wedding University as many who meet at this university do end up getting married.

    What to do for fun

    For fun one can go pinging, visit 'The Wall', bike to Whitman Mission, ice skating, bowling, theater, there are several parks in the area, frozen yoghurt at Blue Palm.

    Food and Dining

    The dining services are sponsored by Sodexho.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Walla Walla University is fun. With hall worships every week and fun and hanging out almost every night, it is hard not to have a good time. The Resident Assistants are friendly and are commited to making your stay at the dorm a fantastic experience. Living in the dorm enhances your social life; you get to see almost everyone. On Friday nights there are snacks placed in the lobby. And from time to time, there will be a hot chocolate station in the lobby.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are all concerned about the students. They are supportive and do whatever they can to make you comfortable. The university places academics in high standards, above other activities. Academics are important at Walla Walla University. And the professors do their best to educate the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Walla Walla University is an outstanding university. Please go visit it if you get the chance to. The campus is beautfiul and everything is within a walking distance. Everyone is friendly and supportive.

    In three sentences

    Walla Walla University is an amazing university. The atmosphere is friendly and the professors actually care about you. The students form a closely knit community.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    if you have transportation and you like nature, you have lots of options.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you want a peaceful friendly environment this is your school.

    In three sentences

    A good christian school. WWU is in a small town, if you like rural areas and lots of green, this place is for you. However, they are strict with male female interactions taken too far, if you get my drift.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Have you ever had anything like Mongolian BBQ? The caf has some wonderful regulars like the pizza, dessert, soup, breakfast, and stir fry bars. If you could ever get bored of this interesting caf food, there are two other places to go, the DX and the SAC. More good food. Oh, and don't forget the on campus coffee shop.

    Dorm Life

    You meet so many people in the dorms! My roomie was the best! We would watch House and drill our Spanish nouns together. There are competitions in the dorm that kept things interesting. The whole floor shares a bathroom which is kept interesting by the newsletter, The Toilet Paper.

    Academic Rigor

    Every year, thanks to my wonderful adviser, I have an awesome blend of classes ranging from easy art classes to upper division psych classes. Some teachers are really hard, some teach easy to pass classes. It's a good mix.

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Caf food is still car food.

    Dorm Life

    I really enjoy being in the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging but not terrifying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't get too busy. take care of your classes first then start looking for extracurricular activities or jobs.

    In three sentences

    I love it here, it is a good campus with a lot of activities for everyone. People are really nice here too.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Everything? Maybe participate in one of their many clubs...

    Food and Dining

    With the college food cards you can visit a few local shops and eat there, you don't have to eat in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Awesome dorms!! ;)

    Academic Rigor

    As far as I can see their courses are excellent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Careful how many extra activities you get involved in...Seems they could easily take over homework time!

    In three sentences

    Very active, fun school. They have a whole host of extra-curricular activities--especially around deadlines and finals. The campus is also very nice.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security is very good in this area, and it has helped many people.

    Greek Life

    The dorms are pretty much your Fraternities, and they usually have activities going on at least once a week.

    Clubs and Activities

    LOTS of Clubs, and LOTS of activities. There's a club for just about anything.

    Great for these types of students

    ENGINEERS Pre-Med [Very good acceptance rates into medical school] Nurses Business Music Arts English History Communications and Languages

    Bang for the buck

    As expensive as it is, you are definitely getting what you pay for. I fell in love with the school as soon as I set my eyes and feet on campus. My classes and teachers are so amazing, I absolutely CANNOT decide on a favorite.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of parks you can go to. Ice Skating Rink in town. Skiing/Snowboarding. Bowling. Movie Theaters. Great Dining!

    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria food is exactly what it is. It's not the healthiest.

    Dorm Life

    Nice rooms with enough space, good desks, and lots of activities to do.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent courses, yet you do need to apply yourself and study well. You need it more than you think.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to use the computer labs; that's what they're there for. Ask questions. Be curious. STUDY.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are always willing to help you; even if you just need to talk. The level of education and resources at this University are phenomenal; we have a wide variety of teachers that have excellent application experience to what they're teaching, not just what you get out of a book. The campus is incredibly friendly to everyone, and the grounds are well-kept and beautiful.

  • 08/04/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    12 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    No answer.

    Food and Dining

    Haven't tried it yet.

    Dorm Life

    Haven't moved in yet.

    Academic Rigor

    Haven't experienced it yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you never let anyone decide for you. If you want to attend any college do what your heart wants. Not everyones opinion will maych yours.

    In three sentences

    This university displays a spiritual environment for a christian education. Advertisment ensures that students will receive a great academic criteria. Thos school is just for me to meet people inside my religion and grow closer to God.

  • 12/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus security on patrol at all times. I've never felt unsafe while walking around at night. Of course, I try never to walk alone, but when I do there are enough streetlights everywhere and normally other people from the school.

    Greek Life

    There aren't fraternity or sorority houses here.

    Clubs and Activities

    SO MANY CLUBS!!!! At the beginning of the year there is a Welcome Back Bash where all the clubs set up booths and you can go join the ones you love. Each club has several events each quarter, normally including free food, and it is a great way to meet and make friends.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, college is amazingly expensive. But I've just come to accept it and seek out as much to do as possible to make the money well spent. It is all about what YOU do to make your experience fun. You can go to the best school in the world and have a terrible time if you don't make the choice to join in.

    What to do for fun

    Aside from all the ongoing fun events at the college, Walla Walla is a super cute city! Downtown is adorable and there are many cool shops to wander in and out of. The Whitman Mission is a historic landmark that is a preserved part of the Oregon Trail - it's beautiful! You can drive out to Palouse Falls and go cliff jumping, or go have a relaxing afternoon at any of the many parks in town. My favorite by far is the humane society - you can take the dogs out for a walk for some puppy therapy time. Again, there's something for everyone!

    Food and Dining

    I LOVE the cafeteria! I try not to get their sushi EVERY day, but it's hard when it is just that delicious. They have many different options such as a wrap bar, pizza bar, noodles bar, salad bar, main hot line of different food. Many beverages await and it's all you can eat. What's not to love about that? There's also vegan and gluten-free options!

    Dorm Life

    I do not spend much time in the dorm because I'm always out doing things, but I do enjoy the women's residence. There are 2 dorms for women, Conard is more for the type of people who enjoy lots of friends around and the environment to be a bit more noisy. Whereas Foreman is very private and quiet. So there is a place for everyone to feel comfortable. I can't speak for the men's dorm. I definitely don't live there!

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the major, the rigor varies. Sure there are driven students in each major, but it isn't hard to get into a certain program. Except nursing, but hey, that's tough anywhere. Every class I've been in has challenged me for the good.

    Tips for prospective students

    1.Get involved! The environment on campus is not an exclusive one, so you will always feel welcome at any event you want to attend. There are so many different types of clubs and get togethers that I couldn't imagine anyone having the excuse that they couldn't find something that fits. 2. Don't lock yourself in your dorm room. Yes, sometimes some computer-and-snacks-in-the-comfort-of-your-own-bed time is needed, but Walla Walla is a great school in a great city. Explore your heart out! 3. Always have an open mind. I've learned not to knock anything before I try it. Don't let other opinions affect whether you'd try something new or not.

    In three sentences

    Walla Walla is an inclusive school where it is obvious that all students, faculty, and community members are involved and welcomed. There is a wonderful spiritual focus and atmosphere that enables the nurturing of one's walk with Christ through the people, the inspiring events, and enriching classes. This school not only gives you a degree with a great education, but also allows students the freedom to discover more fully who they've been, who they are, and their potential for the best version of themselves.

  • 12/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Depends on what you consider fun.

    Food and Dining

    The town of walla walla has very good places to eat. Its a small town, so there is a lot of repitition. But the food is good.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home, so I don't have much knowledge on dorm life. I know there is a curfew.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent. Challenging and very rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to people. Ask questions. No meat is on campus, so be prepared for that.

    In three sentences

    Very welcoming and charming. WWU is not your typical college. People are here for more than just getting and education and partying.

  • 02/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I haven't gone a day without seeing a security officer somewhere.

    Greek Life

    The only greek-named stuff on campus is the dorm clubs. Guys dorm is Omicron Pi Sigma, and girls' dorm is Aleph Gimel Ain.

    Clubs and Activities

    ASWWU has great events. There's never a weekend without an event by some club or another. There are always posters for club events. It's easy to get a good group of friends by joining a good club.

    Great for these types of students

    The engineering program is popular and good. The design program is also good, as well as nursing and psychology. I'm not familiar with the rest. Definitely a university geared toward Seventh Day Adventists, but there's plenty of students here who aren't.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Friday night vespers begins with the blowing of a Shofar. Very nice. There's a campus-run coffee shop that makes really good drinks. There's also two options for food other than the cafe- The SAC (student association center) and the DX (gas station/deli that used to be called the dairy express, and was traditionally shortened to DX, and hasn't lost the name). The SAC has sort of regular fast food stuff and smoothies. The DX has some more fast food stuff only better tasting and regular gas station food.

    Bang for the buck

    A little more expensive than some, but not so bad, considering Washington has the highest minimum wage in the country. Also much less expensive than many state colleges.

    What to do for fun

    What's that? But really, there's a lot to do in Walla Walla, just not College Place. There's lots of nice coffee shops and stuff. You can go to Bluewood Ski resort that's about an hour away. You can hike. You can go rock climbing at WWU, but Whitman's wall is WAYY better. Manhunt is played over the whole campus after vespers once in a while. ASWWU (Associated students of Walla Walla University) events are popular and fun. You can go to Wolves games.

    Food and Dining

    The food tastes good for about the first month. Then you realize that's in a really limited cycle, and they keep serving the same thing. You can predict what will be in the cafe by what day of the week it is. They like to encourage healthy eating, but their idea of flavoring food seems to be adding butter and milk. And salt. Too much salt. They do have a nice stir fry bar, and a mediocre vegan option for every meal.

    Dorm Life

    But what college has good dorms? The common complaints apply. Small rooms with smaller closets and yet smaller windows. Echoey halls. Weird showers. But not as bad as some.

    Academic Rigor

    Good teachers all around. There are some not so well liked, but that's to be expected. Teachers are extremely helpful, and there's a great tutoring program that's free.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are homeschooled, you will have to take a GED, as they unfortunately don't accept homeschool transcripts unless you are part of an accredited organization of some type.

    In three sentences

    Great atmosphere, lots of friendliness to go around. Beautiful campus, even if they have weird weather. Great academics, however much people like to complain. Homework is required at all colleges.

  • 03/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 17

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Walla Walla is a great university because the ya hers take time iut of their day to make sure you succeed and are willing to work with you individually to help you out.

  • 04/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is a joke. they will give you a ticket every chance they get, and they will fine you for EVERYTHING

    Greek Life

    THERE IS NONE AT ALL

    Clubs and Activities

    bad sports that our school never wins in

    Great for these types of students

    Religious

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Church every day.

    Bang for the buck

    There are too many rules, and not enough to do, oh and you have to attend church and worship things every week or else you get citizen probation, which is where they take away your ability to go anywhere. Oh yeah, and they don't let you spend the night anywhere.

    What to do for fun

    Absolutely nothing, there is nothing at all near you here in Walla Walla, so just expect to be bored out of your mind when you arrive.

    Food and Dining

    The caf will taste good to you for the first month or so. After that, it starts getting insanely repetitive. Worst of all, they don't have any meat in their food at all because of all the vegetarians. Oh, and there is no good dining places in College Place or Walla Walla, considering there is nothing near us.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Walla Walla is great! The girls are very friendly, and welcoming and we are constantly having a good time messing around. The school constantly has events going on for us to attend. The dorms biggest downfall is the curfew, the crazy rules, and the fact that they are not co-ed.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel as though the school work itself is a joke. I haven't learned very much at this school, to be honest with you. Unless you are coming here to become a pastor, you probably won't be pleased, especially if you want a business degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips to any incoming freshman, is to just be outgoing. Don't sit back and feel as though you have to be quiet. Instead, you should make the best of your college experience which means allowing for some social time as well as keeping up with your studies.

    In three sentences

    Walla Walla University is a very good school if you are looking for a good wholesome religious experience. The people here are very friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Luckily, the teachers here are very interested in your success.