Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Walsh University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/08/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Walsh University is great for any student who is looking for a small campus offering a great education. Students who prefer lots of interactions with faculty and other students would be right at home. Many opportunities also exist for anyone interested in playing sports or traveling abroad.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to take time and visit Walsh University on a tour. The atmosphere and friendly people are what make WU a home for so many students. The beautiful, well-maintained campus is relatively small, which makes it convenient and easy to get where you need to be. The campus, located in North Canton, Ohio, is close to several malls and has a grocery store right across from the university. There are study abroad opportunities offered many times throughout the year for anyone with the desire to travel. Though the curriculum may be challenging, the knowledge and experience gained will be well worth the efforts. Faculties of all sorts are very willing to make time for their students, so never be afraid to ask questions or advice. Since it is a private university, the cost may be intimidating, but don't let that stop you. The financial aid office will help with scholarships and making sure you get the experience you deserve. Walsh is also a Catholic university that has a chapel right on campus that put on many activities for anyone who may be interested; however, the university is open to all denominations. In addition, Walsh offers opportunities to play in a wide variety of sports and/or participate in many clubs and organizations.

  • 01/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    police are at every event and are very nice. they are willing to help with anything and are constantly checking up on the safety of the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    many clubs and activities are available. i love the art club!

    Great for these types of students

    walsh is great for every type of student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have a great chapel, new buildings, and everything is within walking distance.

    Bang for the buck

    walsh, though a little pricey, is worth every dollar in my opinion.

    What to do for fun

    belden village is a few minutes away, leading to much fun.

    Food and Dining

    there are many places to get food on campus, and it is all tasty.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are super nice.

    Academic Rigor

    walsh classes are challenging, but the teachers are willing to stay as long as needed. also, many tutors and help is available.

    Tips for prospective students

    keep grades up and study hard.

    In three sentences

    walsh university is a great learning environment. the staff, faculty, and students alike have every person's best interests in mind. walsh is truly concerned with furthering both education and well-being.

  • 09/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 25

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    If you want to go to a school where the professors really care about their students, than Walsh is the place for you!

  • 01/11/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Walsh is great for anyone looking to feel invest in a well prepared future. It is for those looking for a small, safe setting with small class sizes! Anyone can make their mark here, without drowning in a sea of students.

    Tips for prospective students

    The number one point I hope every prospective student understands is to know your needs! No matter what be sure that your choice college meets all your needs and supports your values. Whether Walsh has what you are looking for or not, dont settle for less than makes you comfortable in any area. So while looking around give much thought to what you need academically, athletically and personally and find it a place that has it all.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a private college Walsh University is more expensive than some. However they have a great admissions and financail aid staff that go above and beyond the call of duty to help each student. Even more, once your in, I promise that everything they offer is worth every penny. From academics to extracirricular activities and other ammenities this university is a great investment.

    Am enjoying being here

    Walsh is truly my home away from home. I never thought I could feel so comfortable in a new place, on my own, but I find a great amount of security on the campus. Safety was a key criteria in my college search and I've found that I can be anywhere on or near campus at anytime and feel safe, even if I am alone.

    Am learning a lot

    When choosing a college it is crucial to find one that best suits your personal learning style. Do you like one-on-one attention? Is it important for teachers and staff to remember you? Do you want to feel safe, secure and at home on campus? These are all important questions to ask yourself, and if these values are important Walsh may be the school for you. I am a transfer student here at Walsh, taking in the most rewarding experience of my life. I chose this school because of their academics paying specail attention to their nursing and physical therapy programs. In class I am better absorbing material than i did at my previous university. In fact I feel that I am learning on a deeper level because if I am having trouble I can easily find someone to clarify the material. The staff truly cares about your education.

  • 09/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I believe this school is for anyone who wants to better their future. Who wants to pursue their dream careers and doing it in the smartest way possible. College is not always for everyone and that is nothing to be ashamed of but for those who believe that their future is by going to college they check out Walsh to see if we have a program that interest you as a future profession.

    Tips for prospective students

    For students considering Walsh as a future college, my best advice is to take tours of the campus, shadow a student for a day, stay over night to see what it is like. These are the best ways to see if you fell comfortable in this campus environment which is half the battle when choosing a college. If you do nit feel comfortable on campus, in the classrooms,in the dorm rooms then it is going to be very hard to focus on your schooling when your worried about other thing.

    Bang for the buck

    Walsh is a private college so obviously it costs more to attend school here but that does not top Walsh from helping its students to gain as much financial aid as possible as well as scholarships and grants. While you may be paying more money than a public college you are getting what you are paying for. Walsh is one of the top ranked school in Ohio for many of its programs such as Education, Nursing, Business, and Physical Therapy. With these top ranking comes strict rules for your learning. Some Major driven classes require you to have a minimum grade in the class and any grade lower is unacceptable and the class needs retaken. I know this may sound harsh but this system encourages the students to work their hardest which in the end only benefits the Student and their futures.

    Am enjoying being here

    Before choosing to come to Walsh, I had made many other college visits and up until my senior year of high school I thought that I had decided to go to another school. Then I took one more tour and shadowed a current student at the time. It took one over night visit to Walsh to change my whole college plan. Walsh had the friendly accepting atmosphere, the encouraging staff members, the space from dorms to the classrooms... I just felt at ease knowing that i would be attending Walsh and that I felt that I belonged there.

    Am learning a lot

    As a current senior in the Early Childhood Intervention Specialist Education program at Walsh I can honestly say that I have learned a great deal in my last three years here. As an incoming freshman I was very worried about whether I would be able to keep up with the other students especially since i was also working at he time. I found that even with taking 18 credit hour which equals to 6 classes, that if my time was managed wisely and I thought about my limits then it was not as scary as I once thought it was. I was also always able to ask my teachers for help and extensions to deadlines if needed. The teachers here at Walsh really do want their students to succeed.

  • 01/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    i really do not eat in the cafe but the food is ok on campus. we also have the grille and the bucket (which is a convenient store)

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life on campus is wonderful. spacious and not too compact but it depends on where you live on campus. also what is great about this campus is every room comes with a private bathroom.

    Academic Rigor

    at walsh, the academics are not that strict here. the teachers are willing to help any person out and make sure they recieve a good grade in their classes.

    In three sentences

    walsh university is a great campus. the staff and professors are very friendly and helpful. small classes here help you get one on one with professors and they are willing to help you out with anything you need.

  • 02/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have a very good campus police department that is there for us with everything that students ever need.

    Greek Life

    we don't have a greek life here at walsh! however, with the sense of involvement that has already been established, there is no need.

    Clubs and Activities

    the variety of clubs on campus is amazing! walsh has clubs for anything and everything that students are interested in and if there isn't already a club for something, students are welcome to make their own! it's really a fantastic place for being involved.

    Great for these types of students

    all students fit in at walsh! we have students from many different states and countries as well as people from all different pasts.

    Bang for the buck

    the school is very nice in all parts and definitely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    we have a lot of shopping only 10 minutes from us, both at belden mall and what is called the strip. along with shopping, we have multiple movie theaters, bowling alleys, and much more around our school as well as akron only a little while away, offering clubs and a sense of city life.

    Food and Dining

    we have 2 major places to eat, the cafeteria and the grille. both options offer many choices in good quality foods and offer a variety throughout each week. we also have a small grocery store on campus with options for snacking/etc.

    Dorm Life

    the freshman dorm is very welcoming with all of us leaving our doors open and socializing. the sense of community throughout the dorms makes it very easy to make friends, make plans, and keep them throughout all the things that college life brings.

    Academic Rigor

    walsh is very highly ranked for their programs and the professors are all really reliable. nursing, pre-pt, business, and education are some of the most highly ranked programs in the state and are very rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you're interested in a school, you should definitely visit and make sure that you like the campus. the sense of community is really important in choosing where you want to spend your college years.

    In three sentences

    walsh is a really great school with a very big sense of community. the campus is easily learned and full of welcoming people ready to engage in friendly conversation. walsh has an awesome variety of highly ranked programs and is definitely highly ranked in my book.

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Athletic, smart, catholic and outgoing

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The catholic tradition.

    What to do for fun

    Play outside on the grassy knoll, go to all the events on campus, go out in Akron which is twenty mins away or just hangout in downtown campus. Spend time at the mall and shopping at the many stores by the strip.

    Food and Dining

    Not the best food but it gets us by.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms as a freshman are typical freshman dorms but as you move up the dorms are excellent.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are very challenging but very worthwhile in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you want to do and you'll get out in four years. If not they will try to keep you here way longer than you expect too.

    In three sentences

    A very educational school but very expensive. Professors are excellent and the campus is beautiful.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is pretty safe, even at night. I had two night classes my freshman year and I wasn't really scared to walk back to my dorm, the farthest building away from any academic building, at nine at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    There isn't a whole lot of student organizations on campus, but you are always welcome to start one with enough students.

    Bang for the buck

    It is quite expensive to go here. For the fall 2012 semester, it is about $17,000. During the spring of 2012, it was about $16,000, so tuition is rising, but so is everything else in the economy. There is financial assistance for those who need it.

    What to do for fun

    At least once a Saturday per month, the residence life sets up an event for those who stay on the weekends. It is optional for those to attend, but it is usually quite fun. I lived on campus almost every weekend, except the major holidays. Yeah it is boring most of the time, but is the mall nearby and other options outside of campus to have fun doing.

    Food and Dining

    I didn't think the food was that bad here. Yes, there are days when the food is just gross, but there are alternative options for you to choose.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in the all freshmen dorm my first year and I loved it!!! There are times when you know to focus on school, but there are also times of enjoyment. The friends you make here are incredible and will forever be life long friendships!

    Academic Rigor

    Amazing professors and you definitely learn a lot. It's going to be hard because this is not high school anymore. There is not going to be anymore babying from here on out. Professors treat you as an adult and they expect to act like an adult. Some classes are harder than others, but that's the way life is. No one said life was going to be easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    I am a nursing major. So a major tip that I can give future nursing majors that is going to attend Walsh University is to be prepared to study. If you are not prepared to study and work hard, this field may not be for you.

    In three sentences

    Walsh is an excellent school. The atmosphere and people here feels just like home and even better. The classes are difficult, but that is how it is for being at such a highly rated school.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety and security guards are available around the clock. If you feel uncomforatble walking to your car after dark they are available at any time.

    Greek Life

    Do not participate

    Clubs and Activities

    Many are available, however, I do not participate.

    Great for these types of students

    The School for Professional Studies is perfect for non traditional students. Adults who wish to go back to college or begin their college career. The kind compassionate staff guide you through the process which lessens the anxiety you may be experiencing.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am a commuter student so I am not aware of any.

    Bang for the buck

    As I stated, I am enrolled in the accelerated program. Compared to other accelerated program this was by far the least expensive even though I am an out of state student, and no parking fees. However, I must state that this was not my reason for choosing Walsh. My main reason was the style of the program as well as the compassionate instructors.

    What to do for fun

    I am a commuter student so I am not aware of any.

    Food and Dining

    Many food and dining choices on campus as well as many popular restaurants in the area.

    Dorm Life

    I commute, so I cannot comment on this. However, the main campus is beautiful and has shopping close by.

    Academic Rigor

    I am enrolled in the accelerated program also known as the School for Professional Studies. It is a fast paced program but not unmanageable. I work full time and can still handle 2 classes a week which is the equivalent of 16 - 18 credits per semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    Whether you are a high school senior or non-traditional adult learner, like myself, Walsh University embraces the family atmosphere. I feel surrounded by compassionate, capable staff and instructors. I was extremely anxious to even consider going to college at the age of 44; I am a grandmother for heaven's sake. However, a college degree is something that I have dreamed about for 26 years. I had self doubts, can I do this, am I smart enough. I found out that I am. I currently maintain a 4.0 GPA and am extremely proud of myself. If you are considering college, Walsh is your place.

    In three sentences

    I saw the add on TV and called to make the appointment for my visit. During my visit I believe the admissions counselor sensed that I was a serious flight risk so she kindly took me into one of the classrooms so I could experience first hand the atmosphere in which they teach. I was hooked at that moment.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Well, there is a mall and movie theaters about ten minutes down the road.

    Food and Dining

    Very average because there isn't that much of a selection and the open hours are not student friendly. We only have two campus dining areas. Hopefully in the future we will be able to go to local restaurants in Washington square and use our meal swipes there as well, so we can have more of a selection. Also, the cafeteria is only open two hours for each meal time, which doesn't fit every students schedule, so some students don't have time to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is average here. The RA's try there best to have fun activities planned, but I'm sure it's not the same as attending a big public university. Sadly, most people go home on weekends as well.

    Academic Rigor

    Getting used to the academic rigor of Walsh University was very hard for me. In high school I was in all AP in honor classes, so I thought college would be easy for me. I was completely wrong, I struggled a lot my freshman year with my classes an I was studying nonstop. I had to go to a tutor a lot to understand my classwork. So if you are still in high school recheck your study habits because I thought mine were pretty good until I came here. Don't worry too much though, it might have to do with me being a nursing major too because nursing majors seem to have more rigorous classes then some of the other majors on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would give this same tip to everyone who is starting college: get involved. The more you are involved with activities, the more opportunities you have to meet friends and the better your resume looks for jobs.

    In three sentences

    Walsh University is a perfect atmposphere for students who want individualized attention by their teacher because class room size is small. Also, It is a private Catholic instution, but only 50% of the students are Catholic and the students are not forced to attend church. It is well known for its nursing and education programs.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is in a nice location where crimes are low. Campus security are always around and easily available for any problems or concerns for students.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are not afraid to be themselves and love being around an atmosphere that is loving and caring of every individual.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One thing I found unique about Walsh University is the all night Adoration available a few times per semester. Also, the freebies given away at small fairs and game nights located in the David Center Atrium.

    What to do for fun

    There are many, many clubs and sports one can get involved with. There are always activities posted around campus that the students can engage themselves in. When not studying for classes, it was always nice to walk around and meet new people!

    Food and Dining

    The food was average at Walsh University's Schervish Dining Center. However, the food at the grille was always pretty enjoyable. Overall, there was not much to complain about, and the staff in the cafeteria are always nice to the students.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms was an amazing experience and I can not wait to go back for another semester. The Resident Assistants were always around to help with any problems or concerns. Walsh University is also lucky to have peacemakers on every floor to help as well.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses at Walsh University are definitely not easy, but if one puts in the effort, nothing is impossible. Walsh University is known for top scores and education rating, which they are one of the best in Ohio. The staff strives to bring out the best qualities in the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Going to a new school can be difficult, but at the same time it forms one into a newly rounded individual. These are the years where one truly can find themselves and become the person they want to be. Hardwork and studying definitely pays off!

    In three sentences

    Walsh University has been like a second home to me. The staff are willing to help in any way they can, and the education I have received so far has been incredible. I definitely rate Walsh as the best college in Ohio!

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have our own police office on campus!

    Greek Life

    no greek life!

    Clubs and Activities

    If we dont have the club you want, you can start it up yourself

    Great for these types of students

    well-rounded and ready to learn and get involved on campus!

    What to do for fun

    there are tons of programs put on by the university and the city of canton holds a lot of fests throughout the year as well.

    Food and Dining

    There is a great selection of food for everyone to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    At most you share your bathroom with 3 other people. The rooms are your general dorm size for freshman and range to wonderful apartments for upperclassmen.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the major, it can be very difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    work hard, don't pass up on walsh just because it is a smaller school. There are great opportunities for everyone here.

    In three sentences

    It is a small Catholic University that is based on its sense of unity. It can be tough at times, but it is worth all of the hard times and stress you may have. There is a place for everyone on campus and there us definitely a united student body.

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Walsh has its own police force and the officers patrol the campus 24/7. They can also be contacted at anytime for any emergency.

    Greek Life

    Walsh does not have fraternities nor sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Nearly every major has an affiliating club that its encouraged to become a member of from day one. Pick-ups games including basketball, volleyball, etc. are also constantly organized. Events for Halloween are set up across the street at Hoover park and a little sibling weekend is organized every spring.

    Great for these types of students

    Walsh is great for Catholic students who wish to attend a school with high morals. It is also wonderful for athletes as we take great pride in our sports.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Walsh was founded on a field by the Brothers of Christian Instruction and has since grown into a beautiful Catholic-Jesuit university.

    Bang for the buck

    Walsh is a wonderful school, however as I stated before, it is very expensive.

    What to do for fun

    Walsh is located ten minutes from a mall and location known as The Strip which consists of a variety of stores. There is a grocery store across the street as well as a handful of fast food restaurants. The Pro Football Hall of Fame is fifteen minutes away on I-77 South as well.

    Food and Dining

    Walsh provides a wide variety of dining options, a spacious dining hall and staff composed of hired workers and students who work for their work study. There is are plenty of beverage options as a dessert bar to choose from as well.

    Dorm Life

    Clean, well taken care of dorm rooms along with a cleaning staff that comes in once a week to restock needs. The RA's are chosen based on their leadership and people skills and do an excellent job to answer the questions of those on their floor along with dealing with other situations that may arise.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are dedicated to student excellence. They schedule private meetings with students in need and due to the small classes can answer everyone's questions as they arise during lecture time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure all of your financial needs will be set before accepting to attend. I've see a lot of students either drop out of transfer because of the cost and that can become a mess. However, if it is within your specific cost range it's great to attend. The campus and other students are very welcoming. Walsh is a small campus therefore the anxiety is low when it comes to getting lost and the small class sizes allow for the professors and students to get much needed one-on-one time.

    In three sentences

    It's very expensive to attend. The atmosphere and professors are wonderful. It's very religious based, which is good for keeping the school itself within very acceptable standards for a healthy learning environment.

  • 09/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    With it being such a small campus, nestled into the middle of a residential suburb, it feels very safe. There are campus police on call that are able to assist whatever needs you may have.

    Greek Life

    This is a Greek-Free University.

    Great for these types of students

    This is great for a student what wants to be in charge of their education. You can truly be hands-on the entire time you are at Walsh. If you like small classes where you know almost all the students in your class (which makes finding study groups outside of class time so easy!) and you can personally get to know your professor (like you did with some of your high school teachers) then this is the place for you.

    What to do for fun

    Whatever you can think of that you want to go do you can find close to Walsh. There are always sporting events going on if you are looking for something on campus or there is a plethora of things to do off campus, with malls, parks, and other places near by.

    Food and Dining

    There is the main cafeteria and then The Grill on campus that accept your meal swipes. The coffee shop and convenient store on campus have limited hours. But there is a shopping center right across the street with a Giant Eagle and other dining options.

    Dorm Life

    No community bathrooms! Every room has a sink, toilet, and shower in them, no matter what dorm you are in. Sometimes the Freshman dorm (which is normally double occupancy) has to be tripled, but the residence staff is pretty good about finding better accommodations.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes will challenge you, with is great if you are really interested in a course but can be frustrating if you're not. The professors are always around and are willing to help you out no matter what reason you ended up in their class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never stop asking questions! If there is a will there is a way to make it work here. Everyone is willing to make whatever you are thinking work and if you send out e-mails you will get a response. What a plus!

    In three sentences

    Walsh may have a small campus but it sure has a big heart! Getting to learn from professors who honestly care and are passionate about their field is awesome and refreshing. Student life is what you make of it, whatever you want you can find, and you will definitely be able to make some friends for life.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life to speak of...

    Clubs and Activities

    Not enough people participate in the clubs and activities available to them!!! However, there are quite a few that are available.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do for fun, especially if you don't have a car....

    Food and Dining

    As at any college, the cafeteria food gets boring after a while. It's all highly edible though.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is kind of stale, many of the students here are commuters and do not stay over weekends.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of my classes have been challenging but fulfilling.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a party school, then Walsh isn't for you. However, if you are looking to get the most out of your education and truly learn something, Walsh is great!

    In three sentences

    Walsh is a small Catholic University in North Canton Ohio. It offers excellent international study opportunities. All of the professors are really nice and truly care about your education.

  • 12/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is really safe. I personally feel very safe walking on campus at night.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life at Walsh.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of clubs on campus students can choose from. In the beginning of the school year, students are given the chance to explore and see which club(s) they would like to join. Clubs are a great way to get involved on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Walsh is great for students who would not mind going to a small school and who hope to have professors to actually remember your face and name.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The chapel on campus is absolutely beautiful! Even if you're not Catholic, everyone is welcome to attend Mass or just to visit the chapel.

    Bang for the buck

    Walsh is an expensive school, but it does provide the academics needed. Also many scholarships are offered and majority of students are offered some sort of scholarship.

    What to do for fun

    Walsh is close to many shopping areas and other places that are great to hang out at with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not too bad. I wish there was more dining options, but there is a plaza right across the street from Walsh, that offers a variety of food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are really nice and clean. A lot of people go home on the weekends so weekends can be pretty quiet, but overall the dorm life is really nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Walsh has quite the intense academic course, but this allows students to truly see the potential they can achieve. This also prepares students for the career they are pursuing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Because Walsh does not have as many majors as public universities being a small private school, make sure Walsh has the major you plan to pursue. It also wouldn't hurt to make sure other potential majors of yours are offered at Walsh in case you change your mind.

    In three sentences

    Walsh University is a relatively small but pretty campus that is great for students who really want to pursue a higher education. Walsh has a small teacher to student ratio that really allows students to receive help from professors when needed. Overall, Walsh University is a great school with filled with many friendly students and faculty members.

  • 03/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a smaller school atmosphere with a passion for their major.

    What to do for fun

    The University Programming Board puts on events almost everyday. There are always events going on on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There are two places to eat on campus. The Grill is best for relaxing.

    Dorm Life

    There are five dorms on campus. The apartments are normally for upperclassmen, but are always nice to get into.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but are made for you to learn and pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a tour of the university, but also stay the night with a student. That will be the best way to get the whole feel for attending Walsh.

    In three sentences

    Walsh University is the perfect school if you are looking for a small private college. They provide a great education with a fun night life scene. There is always something going on on comps.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is a ver safe environment. Walsh has campus security and North Canton police patrolling the campus 24/7

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life at Walsh but there are plenty opportunities to pledge elsewhere

    Clubs and Activities

    Walsh has many different clubs for a diverse amount of people. I encourage student to join UPB and the Black student Union.

    Great for these types of students

    Imodel program is great for incoming freshman. Clubs are open to anyone, GET INVOLVED!

    What to do for fun

    If you want to have fun meet new people. The more friends you have the better your college experience will be at Walsh University

    Food and Dining

    The food in Walsh University's Cafeteria is not too tasty but luckly we have places like the convenient store and the Grill to make up for it.

    Dorm Life

    Walsh is not a party school, so at times the dorm life could be pretty boring. The RA's do their best at sprucing up our dorm life by creating fun games for everyone to play.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics at Walsh University are very rigorious but the teachers are open and willing to help at any time of the day.

    Tips for prospective students

    To the incoming Freshman, join IModel. IModel is a program for incoming freshman who would like guidance from upperclassmen

    In three sentences

    Walsh University provides excellent educational services. The faculty and staff at Walsh are caring and flexible. On a scale of 1-10, I would rate Walsh a 10.

  • 04/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Walsh offers a variety of clubs and extra-curricular activities to keep the students entertained. Each weekend they sponsor some type of event whether it is a comedian, a band or a movie night. They also host an abundance of sporting events from intramural to traditional athletics.

    Food and Dining

    There is only two available places to eat on campus and only one off campus place that accepts flex dollars. The cafeteria has mediocre food which can get quite tiresome. The Grille is quite delicious but does not have enough options for meal swipes.

    Dorm Life

    The first year dorms are quite ordinary, but they do include a personal bathroom. As the years progress the rooms get nicer and include a kitchen, personal bathroom, air conditioning and a larger living area. The amount students pay to live on campus is worth the cost considering how awesome the rooms are compared to other universities and colleges.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are a highly trained staff that is truly interested in the intelligence and well-being of their students, hence why they expect the utmost effort from them and why they challenge their brains and mental capacity.

    Tips for prospective students

    When coming to Walsh be prepared to have an absolute focus upon your studies. Achieving high standards is a core component to Walsh's mission, but they also know how to provide their students with entertainment and comfort.

    In three sentences

    Walsh is perfect for those aspiring to attain a superb education at an above average university. I have never felt so comfortable at a place away from home than I have here, especially because everyone is so friendly and the dorms are extremely nice. Although it is a tad expensive it is definitely worth the investment for one's future and success.

  • 09/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Walsh does not have Greek life, because it is a private school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs on campus, and if there isn't one that someone wants they would just need five people altogether to start one. So, I have to say that I feel the clubs are great, but activities are limited on campus. After the first week is over there isn't much going on.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do on campus other than go to class, but Walsh is not far from the strip or Belden village mall. So, if someone wanted to do something fun they could go to those places.

    Food and Dining

    There is a café and a little restaurant on campus but the café gets old quick so varying which one you eat at will help a lot so that you don't get tired on the food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life can be kind of cramped, but living on campus let's you meet a lot of different kinds of people. Personally I have a love hate relationships with dorm life here at Walsh, on one hand it's great not having to drive to school, but people are always around and that can be a distraction.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel that Walsh is on the harder side when it comes to classes. Stating that when you leave here I do not doubt that people will know what they are doing. There is free peer tutoring for students here on campus, and the teachers are very helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready for the teachers to know your name and expect a lot from you. another thing don't think you can skip because this is a small school so because they know you they will take points or even drop you from class. Lastly do not put off things till the last minute it will only hurt you in the end.

    In three sentences

    Walsh is a good school, but is it expensive so be ready. It is small so the classes don't contain as many people as other school. Its a very beautiful place to go to school.

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus security is nice and mean depending on who is working. I've had a campus police officer be very rude to a co-worker from Walsh; she was closing a store on campus and it was raining and dark outside around 11:30pm and he was making rude comments about helping her to the next building.

    Greek Life

    Greek life, only in certain programs of study.

    Great for these types of students

    For students who live close and want to commute to campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Walsh is an expensive school and for it costing so much you would thing there would be more to do on and off campus. Depending on your major the professors vary; meaning that some teachers go to work to make their money and leave and others actually care and put forth an effort to teach the students. It just depends on who you get.

    What to do for fun

    There has been more activities on campus, but they tend to be in the morning when most students are in class, I know personally I can not go to them, because they conflict with my school schedule, but others tend to have a good time.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Walsh is not the best and considering that they even remodeled you would think the food would be better, but it sucks. The dining is only open for a few hours, so if you can't go because your in class until 7:30 good luck eating dinner. They have now opened the grill until later and allowed students to use their swipes for meals instead of their cash.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman year is never the best, but after that you can have a nice dorm and private room even, but the cost is expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    Studying at Walsh is not easy. but school is not meant to be easy. With my field of study I am constantly studying and studying with other people. Certain teachers make it easier to learn and others can make it difficult to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    When visiting the campus, try and visit on the weekend to see how many students stay, because many of them go home; leaving you bored. Get to know your professors; it can make a difference in your studies.

    In three sentences

    Is a good school for commuters and for people who live close. Has a beautiful campus. The faulty is nice in most departments.

  • 01/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nursing and Pre-Med

    What to do for fun

    theres plenty of local cuisine and shops near campus, they also have activities that go on almost every night

    Academic Rigor

    Its a difficult school, it requires you to preform at your best

    Tips for prospective students

    don't party too hard, and if you need help any one of the faculty members will help you

    In three sentences

    A fantastic school. They take great pride in helping their students succeed. Class sizes are PERFECT

  • 03/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is something that is really important at Walsh and they have actual north canton police officers to patrol campus!

    Bang for the buck

    I definitely do not feel that my money has gone to waste here at Walsh! The nursing program is outstanding!

    What to do for fun

    Movies, shopping at Beldon right down the road, numerous activities on campus!

    Food and Dining

    The grille on campus is amazing! The schervish dinning center is also good as well. My biggest complaint is the limited hours for lunch at the scherv.

    Dorm Life

    Get the full experience and live on campus! Walsh is a great school, and living on campus really allows you to get the college experience and interact with other students.

    Academic Rigor

    Walsh is a difficult school, however, if you graduate you are practically given a job! Walsh has a great reputation, and they have a 100% job rate after graduation!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not get nervous about the price of the university - NO ONE pays $34,000 per year there.

    In three sentences

    Walsh University is the most perfect school in Ohio; especially for those pursuing a nursing degree. They are the number one university for nursing in Ohio, and the faculty truly cares about the students success. At Walsh, you are a student, not just a number.

  • 04/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very good. Never had any problem and campus security is always available.

    What to do for fun

    There are intramurals and even a game room.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not that great as well as the times the dining hall is open to eat. We recently just went tray less that would save money, etc.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus due to the fact that it costs so much. The freshman dorms are too small is what I have heard and you can even end up in quads.

    Academic Rigor

    The standards for students to maintain is very high. The professors require you to spend large amounts of time outside of the class room.

    Tips for prospective students

    Think about what program you want to do as well as how much you are willing to pay. Cannot exceed $1,000 in school balance which can lead into not being able to schedule classes.

    In three sentences

    It is a beautiful campus with plenty of available intramurals and varsity sports. The costs is high and the school food is not that great. There are plenty of things to do on campus that help pass time.