Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Walters State Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/10/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is not going to be a fun thing wherever you go; however, Walters State offers many scholarships, especially having graduated from a high school in Sevier County. Tuition is not ridiculous and you're still getting a good education.

    Am enjoying being here

    Walters State is the perfect school for people who might be shy or just nervous in big crowds. I think it is the perfect transitional school from high school to a large university. It gets you ready for college while also being on a very small scale and not being overwhelming.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes here are very small, and one can easily get help from an instructor. Most instructors stay on topic and are very good teachers.

  • 07/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for those who want a solid head start before jumping into a big university and a great value for the money.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your academic advisor! They want to get you to where you want to be and know just what classes you need to take.

  • 08/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for all students.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are more affordable than most other colleges.

    Am enjoying being here

    All of the staff is really nice and the classes are easy to get to.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are small so it is easy to get the help you need.

  • 09/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I had issues with Financial Aid and my Hope scholarship, but once the counselors were able to straighten things out Walters State seems worth the money.

    Am enjoying being here

    Since WS is a community college, you have the perfect balance between students you've known all throughout your school years and people who you get to know. Having several people that you already know in your classes makes the class experience more relaxed.

    Am learning a lot

    All of my teachers are extremely helpful. Because of the small class sizes, the instructors are always able to answer any question.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I play in a band, and cook.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent. the Sevierville campus is home to the Culinary program. A lot of good cooks learning to become managers and restaurateurs

    Academic Rigor

    It's not harvard, b ut it is a solid program. It can be demanding, but what in the real world is not?

    Tips for prospective students

    It's real world training. you get out of it what you put into it. Study and be prepared to learn.

    In three sentences

    The School has excellent technology assets. It is easy to find what you need to succeed. Be prepared to work.

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You get more bang for your buck when you rent or use used books for your classes.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria amazing. My favorite is food is breakfast food so if you like that then get ready for your taste bud to go crazy with yumminess!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms so you get to get an a place of your own or stay with family.

    Academic Rigor

    The techers help you as much as then can to help you stay focused on your studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you start off your journey at Walters State i wound recommend you to take a Learning Strategies course it helped me out tremendously.

    In three sentences

    Walters State is a wonderful place to seek new opportunities. The people there are extremely inviting and kind. Not to mention, the campus is neat!

  • 09/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types of students!

    Tips for prospective students

    The various campuses make things very easy for students to attend classes that may be closer to them than others.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the movies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the Admissions Office for help!

    In three sentences

    Walters State Community College is an excellent choice for anyone looking for a quality education at a low cost! I have grown so much at Walters State, and the administration are excellent. I give Walters State the highest recommendation.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    no dorm

  • 05/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Right around the cornor from the school is Dolly Wood and also many other fun activities.

    Dorm Life

    As far as i know there is no dorm for this community college

    In three sentences

    It's an excellent school! The teachers are great and structure their lessons utilizing multiple learning techniques. I would highly recommend this community college to other students!

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Instructors make the material understandable and make sure to help students that may be falling behind.

    Tips for prospective students

    Atleast try Walters State for one semester. After that semester, you won't have any doubt that Walters State is the college for everyone.

    In three sentences

    Walters State is a wonderful school for students of any age or background. At Walters State, you learn to become a successful student. They have many well educated and caring instructors that always do their best to help all of their students.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are police phones on every curb, well lit parking lot, and an officer on duty at all times.

    Great for these types of students

    The school is great for lazy students, or students who are not wanting to be challenged. It's good for you if you're not wanting to work hard for the grade. It's great if you feel intimated by large campuses (again, referring to Sevierville campus). It's a great school if you like a small hometown feeling and close connections. It's great if you want the nicest teachers. They treat you like an adult and not the student. You can have friendly banter and make friends with your teacher. They do not see themselves as above anyone, but more as someone who was a student once too.

    Bang for the buck

    I can not find an answer for this. I either don't understand what you're asking for, or there is no bang for the buck. I would have to say, with my best guess, that if you want a college that will take your money and push you right through, Walters State Community College, Sevierville, is the school for you. I've been disappointed more than I've felt challenged or successful by merit.

    What to do for fun

    leave the campus.

    Food and Dining

    All I've seen, as far as dining facilities, are a few vending machines on the Sevierville campus. But I suppose they're stocked with the finest Twinkies available.

    Academic Rigor

    If by rigor this option means challenging, there's very little to challenge a student on the Sevierville Walters State campus. I wasn't challenged to produce my best work in the field of Psychology but in fact, grades were handed to me. Essays were waived and the grade given. An A for no work turned in whatsoever. The math courses are extremely challenging, but that's due to being less than mathematical of the mind. One who does well in math, might find the math courses to be bare bones and simple.

    Tips for prospective students

    My review is based solely on the Sevierville campus. Be prepared to work hard to find your way through the application process. Expect the curriculum to be less than challenging. But, expect the teachers to be very kind and helpful when you seek them. Expect to wait two weeks into the semester for the cashier's office to process student funds for books and materials. You will be 3 weeks behind by the time you locate, order, then receive your materials. (When shopping online and not putting an overnight rush on it). Expect a clean, maintained, accessible campus. Expect there to be many rules not to be particularly enforced. Such as parking tags. It's a rule that you have and maintain the parking tag, however, many students never purchase one and are not penalized for it. Expect the StarNet website for viewing grades, student's personal information, holds, etc., to be vague and difficult to find thorough information on. Often, you'll have the option to submit a search only to find notification that the information isn't displayed where you're directed to find it. Expect friendly and very helpful folks at the help desk when you have technical difficulties.

    In three sentences

    1) Not concerned with the success of non-traditional students. 2) Willing to look the other way when a professor or teacher does less than his/her very best at teaching the subject at hand. 3) Seems to be paycheck oriented.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security team is top notch! You will notice the security building as you enter the campus, and there are emergency pull stations located all over. The security staff are friendly, and offer many services besides safety, to students.

    Greek Life

    Kappa Beta Delta & Phi Theta Kappa

    Clubs and Activities

    There are at least 34 clubs, and many activities both on and off campus... ( www.ws.edu ). I believe that clubs and activities can add another dimension to the student experience.

    Great for these types of students

    Students seeking smaller class sizes, and students who would prefer living in a location with the small town feel. Also a valuable asset for students who want to make friends, and have an opportunity to save as much money as possible.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unusual? Not sure about that...however the college offers an Expo Center which features Demolition Derby(s), Rodeos, RV shows, etc....

    Bang for the buck

    A great option for the student on a budget! You will get a good education for less money...and be able to save money toward your bachelors degree in the future.

    What to do for fun

    Walters State Community College is located in Morristown, Tennessee; next to the campus is College Square Mall, College Square Cinemas 12...across the street is WalMart and a small strip mall...and about a 1/2 mile away are more stores, and restaurants. The town also features many parks, Cherokee Lake, skating, bowling, and league softball and basketball.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria on campus serves the fare you would expect. However across the street from the campus are several fast-foot and casual dining restaurants...and within 2 miles you will find many more dining options.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms are located on the campus of this school. However there are many apartments in the nearby area which cater to students.

    Academic Rigor

    I am currently seeking an A.A.S. in Health Information Technology - the classes are challenging. It is necessary to stay on top of your class/home work, and spend a good deal of time studying if you plan to make an A. However, the smaller classes allow for individual instruction or tutoring if needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Located in a small metro area, with plenty of housing and employment opportunities. Beautiful campus, with top of the line security, and many student activities/clubs. Small classes allow for personal attention in the classroom.

    In three sentences

    A fine educational establishment with many options of career studies. Wonderful Advisors to assist you in obtaining your degree, and transferring to a four-year institution. The cost of and Associates degree is much less at WSCC, allowing you to save money before transferring to another college.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police officers are there all of the time. I had a night class until 9pm and they would walk us out to the parking lot since we were all females and it was dark.

    Greek Life

    I wasn't involved in this.

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Theta Kappa was fun for me as well as their Service Learning Club.

    Great for these types of students

    If you do not have a ton of time on your hands or have kids or a full time job, this is for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth my time and money. Affordable prices and now I'm transferring with my Associates. They helped out a ton.

    What to do for fun

    There is a shopping center right across the street from Morristown campus and they have sports.

    Food and Dining

    I love their cafe. They have fried chicken...all that I ever need.

    Dorm Life

    Not offered.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes can be challenging, depending on the instructor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always, always, always be on the ball. Do not wait until the last minute, some teachers will not remind you of what to do. Save everything. Twice.

    In three sentences

    They have great staff in both Morristown and Greeneville. They offer great Criminal Justice courses. Finished in a year and a half thanks to the online and summer courses offered.

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security always present

    Great for these types of students

    Single parents, students just entering college

    Bang for the buck

    Low cost college

    Academic Rigor

    Can be demanding as a single parent

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared

    In three sentences

    Employees and teachers are very helpful. The learning environment is amazing. And they have tutors for all areas of study.

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent

    Clubs and Activities

    Have not joined one yet

    Bang for the buck

    Cost of school is excellent

    What to do for fun

    Watch all sports

    Food and Dining

    I hear the food is good. Have not eat at school yet

    Dorm Life

    No housing

    Academic Rigor

    Best nursing program around

    Tips for prospective students

    Best 2 year college in East Tennessee. Staff is wonderful to work with.

    In three sentences

    I am excited about attending Walter State Community College. I rate them the highest points. Excited about their Nursing program

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I HAVEN'T HAD ANY EXPERIENCE WITH FOOD OR DINING

    Dorm Life

    I HAVEN'T ANY EXPERIENCE WITH DORM LIFE

    Academic Rigor

    I HAVE FOUND THAT THE COURSES AND THE PROFESSORS WILL HELP ME ADVANCE IN MY CAREER

    Tips for prospective students

    I WOULD TELL EACH NEW FRESHMAN THAT WALTERS STATE COMMUNITY COLLEGE IS THE PLACE TO BEGIN

    In three sentences

    I AM PLEASED WITH MY FALL SEMESTER AT WALTERS STATE COMMUNITY COLLEGE IN MORRISTOWN. ALL OF THE PROFESSORS HAVE BEEN EXCELLENT AND HAVE EXPLAINED EACH CLASS I HAVE TAKEN IN A VERY EASY AND INFORMATIVE WAYS. I HAVE LEARNED THAT EACH DAY HAS NEW BEGINNINGS AND HAVE ENJOYED EACH ONE OF THEM

  • 05/27/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The offer many different extracurricular activities such as sports, drama, art, speech, school politics, etc. There is something for everyone who wants to get involved.

    Food and Dining

    The school has an excellent cafeteria food that is prepared by culinary art students at the school.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, it is a day school.

    Tips for prospective students

    As long as you study hard and do your best, then you'll do great at this school.

    In three sentences

    A friendly and inviting campus that offers a comfortable transition from high school to college. Overall, the teachers are willing to assist the students and provide help when needed. It is a great place to complete prerequisite classes before transferring to a 4 year University.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus guards are always on the look out.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life or if there is I haven't seen any.

    Great for these types of students

    Ones that don't really want a dorm set college, and students who don't really have a lot of financial aid.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Humanities building in the art/ photography room.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the mall that is right beside the campus or go to the parties that some of the clubs have and really get involved.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafe is really good; I normally go and get coffee.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life. It's a commute college.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are not really hard at all you might have the occasional one though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get ready for some work.

    In three sentences

    Walter State was a great school. The teachers and staff really made my classes easier. Grant it some teachers goes sticker happy and made me feel like a high schooler again..

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    all types

    Bang for the buck

    Walters State has saved me money on tuition because it is a community college and the cost is less than a state school. I am tranferring next semester, but i have been able to complete two years of my degree with a lesser tuition.

    What to do for fun

    5k's, clubs to join, field trips

    Food and Dining

    Tasty little cafe on campus

    Academic Rigor

    All of my professors have been strict on plagerism and cheating policies. At the same time, each professor has given ample opportunity to excel in the classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't get frustrated. Keep your head up and do your best. Ask questions (there is no such thing as a dumb question). Use all the resources the school offers.

    In three sentences

    I have had an amazing expereince with Walters State thus far. Great teachers, smaller classes, and helpful staff in each department. This school has been a great start to move forward towards my career goals.

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do in Sevier County for Fun. From Dolly Wood, hiking trails and family fun shows.

    Food and Dining

    There is much dining in the Servier County area.

    Academic Rigor

    I have yet to take classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, take it serious.

    In three sentences

    Walters State Community College is great for the area. It provides opportunity for new High School graduates, as well as individuals wanting to advance in their careers. I would give the college a 8 out of 10.

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've left my doors unlocked.

    Greek Life

    I don't think there are any fraternities or sororities here.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a small list, but nothing like a large school.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for first-year students or returning students that haven't been in a while (we sometimes forget how hard it can be!).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's always something going on in the library

    Bang for the buck

    A little over $2,500 for a full course load!

    What to do for fun

    It's easy to make friends here, and I suggest doing so! Study groups are helpful!

    Food and Dining

    They have a cafeteria and several restaurants nearby!

    Dorm Life

    What dorm life? There are no dorms on campus, although apartments in the area are available.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you stay focused, Walters State is pretty easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    STAY ON YOUR TOES WITH PAPERWORK! Admissions & financial aid are not the greatest departments here, so you'll need to keep a record of everything you turn in, and make sure you turn it in way ahead of time. Papers tend to get lost in the last-minute rush.

    In three sentences

    Walters State is an easier school and a great alternative to a four year school if you don't want to shell out the money. Classes are relatively easy and small compared to larger universities. Most of the faculty is helpful and encouraging.

  • 09/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are many options to choose from

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Walter's State

    Academic Rigor

    Be prepared to study. I was not sufficiently prepared, but now I know what to do

    In three sentences

    This school is great. The staff and administrators are super helpful. They help make college affordable.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Rated one of the most secure community colleges in America.

    Great for these types of students

    Need an affordable place to start out; looking for something close to home; non-traditional students; looking to raise skill sets before transferring.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On the second floor of Cates-Cutshall Hall there is a little seating area looking out over the parking lot- every day people meet there to chat, do homework, and meet new friends. I love the comfy chairs :)

    Bang for the buck

    The price at Walter State is unbeatable for in-state tuition. After my Hope Scholarship and GAMS, I only had to pay $250 for this semester.

    What to do for fun

    There are many active clubs at the various campuses- I am currently not involved with any of them, but, I am very interested in joining the International Club. We also have tons of local attractions at our doorstep (Sevierville, Pigeon Forge, and Gatlinburg) all reside within one of the most widely visited tourist hot spots on the east coast. There is a massive shopping complex, theme park, great restaurants, and lots of fun things to do in the area.

    Food and Dining

    At the Sevierville campus, where I attend, the student-run bistro actually provides really great meals at very affordable prices. Being a vegetarian, my options are pretty limited, but, they do offer the best black bean burger that I have ever had.

    Dorm Life

    Walter State's multiple campuses do not offer on campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    In the classes that I have taken thus far, I have been able to make A's with very little studying on my part. I have learned quite a bit during my time here, but, I know that I could learn more if I were forced to study more.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for an affordable local school, this is the place for you. While the educational standards are not as rigorous as I would like them, the school is more than sufficient for basic, general education classes. It may not be the prestigious private university that I wanted to attend, but, it is fulfilling my general course requirements cheaply so that when I transfer to the local state university, I will not have to take as many introductory classes at higher tuition rates. All in all, Walter State is a great place to start out if you/your family cannot afford to start at a four-year school.

    In three sentences

    While Walter State has many locations in the East Tennessee area, and it has a good ratio of professors to students, the overall learning environment needs to be stepped up. The professors truly care about their students, but, due to the high number of non-traditional students, there is not enough challenge in the courses. The campuses are well-maintained, there are many student activities, and the faculty are caring, thoughtful individuals; unfortunately, the rigor of classes needs to be improved

  • 10/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always patroling the area and there are emergency alert station all across campus for everyone's safety.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for every major, and most are fairly active. There is always something going on on campus, but to stay in the loop be sure to check the website or visit the Lyceum for information.

    Great for these types of students

    Walters State is great for anyone that is not exactly sure where they want to go or what they want to do. Also, if someone is having a hard time going away from home, WSCC offers a lot of majors and most classes transfer to four year institutions in the surrounding area.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The nursing program is located on the bottom floor of the technology building, and the student tutoring lab is located on the lower level of the Lyceum.

    Bang for the buck

    $3,000 dollars are year compared to $12,000+ is a great deal.

    What to do for fun

    There are many different things that go on on campus. Athletics, plays, movie showings, and club meetings can always be found.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe has a lot of choices. People are always inside eating and having fun.

    Dorm Life

    There are not dorms on campus. It is a commuting school.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are, sometimes, easier compared to four year institutions. Even though the work is not as hard, I am still learning the same things as my friends that attend four year schools just at an easier pace for me to understand.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to school about fifteen minutes prior to class time, especially for afternoon classes, because parking spaces fill up fast. Get to know the faculty because they can help in deciding what you want to do or where you want to go or help in getting you to where you want to be.

    In three sentences

    Walters State is a great school to start out. Small classes and being close to home made the transition from high school into college much easier. The professors and other faculty are very friendly and helpful, which makes the experience a lot better.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always campus police available.

    What to do for fun

    It is a community college so there is not many things to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not expect to receive very much from Walters State. My Mom is a single parent and they said she made too much to receive any money for my school. That makes no since.

    In three sentences

    Walters State is a good college. Walters State does not offer very many scholarships. I would like to earn a scholarship from here.

  • 11/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    yes campus police is always available 24/7

    Clubs and Activities

    art club

    Great for these types of students

    all types ,from 65 to 19

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    silent art auction and art club bus trips to museums

    What to do for fun

    go to plays and free movie night

    Dorm Life

    i live at home

    Academic Rigor

    It is very competitve with education today.

    In three sentences

    I am a single mom and have gone back to school to continue what i have started 30 years ago. I very pleased with WWSCC and I am about to graduate and continue on to a four year school. It is a friendly family like enviroment and the fauculty does all they can to help you accomplish your goals. I rate this college at a very high level and a good way to start for the first time or going back to school to finish what you started.

  • 11/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We do have guards patrolling the parking lots and building throughout the campus; therefore, the campus is quite safe.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life for this Community College

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who do not want large classrooms. The teachers are able to focus more one on one with the student.

    Bang for the buck

    This school gives you the same level education other universities, except you're getting a better deal here. Paying far less, and you'll be able to knock out several credits for a lot cheaper before moving to a bigger, more expensive school.

    What to do for fun

    Walter State has numerous social circles to join in with, along with a few sports to get involved within.

    Food and Dining

    The Culinary Class usually has meals prepared that students are able to purchase throughout the week.

    Dorm Life

    The only dorms offered are for athletes at the Morristown location.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at Walter State Community College are not easy. They are college credited classes, and the teachers expect the same work ethics as a large scale university. The only easier part is, the teachers are able to help individual students more with small class sizes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to file for financial aid, you will be surprised with what you can receive. And check into scholarships, sometime you will be able to find small ones that can help pay for books and little needs.

    In three sentences

    Great place to start your college path. Prepares you for your move to larger schools with larger class sizes. An amazing deal, nobody should pass up.

  • 12/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police everywhere, and on the main campus, there are police call buttons all over campus in case you have a problem.

    Greek Life

    none

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive for a community college, but worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs you can join. I enjoy sitting in the student lounge just listening to the interesting conversations that happen there.

    Food and Dining

    there's an expensive cafe, but you might as well go down the street to mcdonalds.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Its pretty standard for a community college, they are pretty well structured as far as academics go.

    Tips for prospective students

    no tips

    In three sentences

    Walters State is an excellent community colleges. Most of the educators have also taught at much more expensive schools and it is the same quality that you would find at a 4 year college. It is pretty pricey as far as 2-year schools go though, but they have a lot more resources than normal Community colleges.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I love this school. The only downfall is the lack of financial aid i will be facing in the next semester

    What to do for fun

    I recommend joining any clubs that are interesting. Also, attending sports games are fun

    Food and Dining

    The cafe has great food at great prices. They have everything from breakfast to dinners.

    Dorm Life

    I have not been in any dorm rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but not to much as to where you can not keep track.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to have all of your documents in by the deadline and keep track of your student account. If you apply yourself you will go far.

    In three sentences

    They help you with whatever you need. The school will not have any federal financial aid starting fall 2013. The teachers and staff are all very helpful.

  • 01/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police do routine drive arounds to make sure students are attending class and not dealing drugs or other illegal activities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs you can be a part of, but I never joined them.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for students who like to have fun and creative, but also are serious about pursuing their goals in life.

    Bang for the buck

    Many high school students think that when they get to college there will be a lot of partying and throwing their lives away, but here, it is all about academics. Yes, their is still fun to be made in the classroom, but with an academic aspect to it.

    What to do for fun

    There is a soccer and frizbee field. There is a basketball hoop in one of the parking lots.

    Food and Dining

    There are drink and snack machines in the part of the Sevierville campus I attended classes in.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on the campus I studied at, since it's a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are not hard at all, the professors help you through it, but there are less chances than in high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, and make the best of yourself.

    In three sentences

    Walters State Community College is a great, cheaper college that is easy to be accepted to. The professors and a students are nice, and always willing to assist you. The campus is easy to memorize, and they have signs everywhere.

  • 02/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    good, safety is never an issue

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Science clubs, sporting events

    Great for these types of students

    There is a good mix of students from all ages and backgrounds.

    Bang for the buck

    They use Ipads for almost everything.

    What to do for fun

    parks, hiking, wilderness of the smokies waterpark, dollywood

    Food and Dining

    They have normal cafe food.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have on campus living only apartments close by.

    Academic Rigor

    The coursework is just as involved as the larger universities but the professors actually care about you and you can get one on one assistance.

    Tips for prospective students

    New students should take their basic requirements first.

    In three sentences

    Walters State is top notch in technology, the class sizes are fairly small, and the science department is excellent.

  • 06/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is by far one of the most safest campus' i have attended.

    Greek Life

    There are 2 greek clubs only for honor students.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities at this college.

    Great for these types of students

    the atmosphere of this college is great for any type of student, coming from a 22yr old single mother.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to other schools around it is very cost worthy. You get a lot for just a little.

    What to do for fun

    I personally just work and study i don't have time for much more, but there are many things on campus. There are many sports games and clubs that everyone can join.

    Food and Dining

    There is one cafe on this campus and i do have to say it is very good.

    Dorm Life

    There is not dorm life at this college.

    Academic Rigor

    In most of the classes you are challenged to learn as much as you can, not to just memorize it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you not only visit your adviser but the student success center as well. Don't try to tackle too many classes at once. If you need help do not be afraid to ask.

    In three sentences

    The teachers and staff are really dedicated to helping you succeed. The woman in the student success center know me by name every time i go in they are very helpful and patient with all of my questions. The tutoring lab always has someone in your trouble area and that is something that is hard to come by in most colleges.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security officers will even walk you to your car if you just don't feel safe after leaving a late class

    Clubs and Activities

    EMT Club is the way to go!

    Great for these types of students

    shy outgoing outspoken loud

    Bang for the buck

    You can get a great education at a very low price.

    What to do for fun

    Join a variety of fun clubs and organizations, Go to the movie theater across the street, or attend basketball games to support the schools athletes

    Food and Dining

    The coffee shop is the bomb!

    Dorm Life

    Walters state does not offer dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Manage your time wisely Never cram for a test Bring lots of highlighters Be a positive voice for the school

    In three sentences

    Walters State is a great place to go especially if you're not interested in big classes. The staff is incredible and know how to accommodate your needs, and the school has FREE tutoring. Apply now and you will be glad that you did.

  • 09/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get involved in sports.

    In three sentences

    It's very organized and productive. The environment is safe and comfortable. The buildings are near each other.

  • 09/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police force on duty.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs offered

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable option. Great for those wishing to transfer to a 4 year University later on who want a better transition from high school to college.

    Food and Dining

    Have yet to try toe culinary classes lunch, but I hear it's amazing.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Fill out your FASFA early and make sure you have your financial aid and classes sorted out early on.

    In three sentences

    The instructors really know how to get through to their student body. I would highly recommend this college to anyone seeking higher education at an affordable price. It is such a wonderful step up form high school!

  • 10/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I am actually attending WSCC for free, excluding books. However, if my classes were more challenging and the textbooks were more updated, I would appreciate the aid much more.

    What to do for fun

    I have not yet been exposed to the fun side of Walters State.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is accessible most of the time, but the food is below par. Little to none of the available choices are healthy, and what is available takes quite some time to be made fresh. I feel as though I have little time to get through my meal between classes.There are some restaurants nearby, but I personally do not have a car, and cannot leave campus.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors can promise that things will be a certain way and then back out upon that promise. Excluding pure attitude, the coursework has no real challenge, Furthermore, the textbooks seem out of date and are far too expensive for the average student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't overwhelm yourself; take the time to understand the material and get to know your professors. Complete assignments as thoroughly and quickly as possible. Definitely take advantage of the resources;labs and work study opportunities are fantastic. Most of all, don't forget to have a little fun once in a while!

    In three sentences

    Walters State Community College is honestly mediocre at best. I feel as though the teachers and administrators make promises that they can't keep. However, the financial aid is excellent.

  • 10/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It won't take you long to meet every officer and the safety is taken very seriously.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Join the science club!

    Great for these types of students

    All students of every age and lifestyle.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you have the privilege of attending classes on the Morristown campus make sure you check out the art gallery inside the Jack Fishman library.

    Bang for the buck

    Walters State classes are worth more then the cost for each. I have found my tuition to be minuet compared to the knowledge I have gained.

    What to do for fun

    There are game rooms located at all campuses and plenty of grass to play frisbee and other outdoor sports.

    Food and Dining

    There is a great Cafe on both Morristown and Sevier County campus

    Dorm Life

    Walters State does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    As a science major, I have found the science classes cause you to think more then I expected. You have to be able to conceptualize concepts and principles that are key to future higher level classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    If planning on attending Walters State, keep in mind most four year universities will only accept sixty credit hours from a community college. Also, if possible use Tennessee Pathways Program.

    In three sentences

    Walters State Community College is a great stepping stone for students planning on attending a four-year university. It is a way to start college straight out of high school, yet stay in the city you have been raised in until you are ready to move on. Walters State is an excellent school.

  • 10/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always availabe and seen on campus. Easily accessicble

    Food and Dining

    lots of diversity and many places to choose from

    Dorm Life

    i comuted from home

    Academic Rigor

    very good pass rate!

    Tips for prospective students

    Study and do your assignments. Watch out for the road construction!

    In three sentences

    This college is very personable. The professors feel like family and care about you as a person. The tuition is affordable and reasonable.

  • 12/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty good. Campus police always there. Emergency poles set up every so often. They will walk you to your car. Campus well lit

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Not too many clubs or activites. Only cheerleading, basketball, softball, golf, baseball, debate club, that's about it

    Great for these types of students

    low income intelligient

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    Good investment for the money! I would not have went any other direction. For the price, you couldn't get better

    What to do for fun

    Cheerleading!

    Food and Dining

    Food is really good! Some is not too pricey either

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life, besides Collegewood for baseball and softball players which is not a place to be

    Academic Rigor

    Pretty hard. Known for AP classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    The financial aid office is not that great. Make sure you are not on verification every year. Take basic classes first/

    In three sentences

    The faculty and pick are choose. Some are great, some horrible. The school is pretty good though to be a community college.

  • 01/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is pretty good. The staff is friendly and very polite. Breakfast is my favorite.

    Dorm Life

    This school is very close to the town which is great for students who live within short driving distance like myself. The housing facility is within walking distance which is another advantage for students.

    Academic Rigor

    If you apply yourself and really get organized, you'll do well in class. The teachers are there to help you along the way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for financial aid as soon as possible and any other scholarships that students can qualify for.

    In three sentences

    Walters State Community College is an excellent school for students who wish to begin their college education at an affordable cost. This school has great resources such as computer labs, a library, and teachers who are committed to helping you succeed. I recommend this school to anyone who wants to get a head start on their success.

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We do have several security men here at Claiborne Campus. You may not see them, but they are there watching, because they have been right at me before I knew it. It makes me feel better knowing they are there.

    Greek Life

    does not apply - I attend Claiborne Campus

    Clubs and Activities

    I am involved in the Student Service Learning Club and the Claiborne Christian Ministry Club. We had several activities in both clubs in my first semester. My favorite activity in the SSLC was the chili cookoff. Favorite for CCMC was participating in the Tazewell Christmas Parade.

    Great for these types of students

    All types.

    What to do for fun

    I enjoyed watching the ping pong games. Classmates got together in between classes to hang out and talk. It was a good way to make new friends.

    Food and Dining

    This does not apply. I attend Claiborne Campus where a dining area is not available. We do have snack and drink vending machines in the student lounge.

    Dorm Life

    This does not apply. I attend Claiborne Campus and dorms are not available. I live in Tazewell, so the drive back and forth is short.

    Academic Rigor

    I found some of my classes to be very interesting and challenging. Others were easier, but I know as I continue classes will get harder. My online philosophy class was extremely challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make a good ACT score, so you don't have take extra classes. Always be prepared for classes. Make sure you get to class on time.

    In three sentences

    I would rate this as a good college. Everyone here is friendly, they almost make you feel like family. Most of the professors are knowledgeable and are willing to help when you need help. Classes are not huge, so you don't get lost in the shuffle.

  • 02/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Walter State Community College has a wonderful security. The Officer is always very helpful and polite. From keeping the parking lot in order to making sure students are safe, I would give our campus safety a 5/5.

    Clubs and Activities

    My A&P professor encouraged the students to join Service Learners of WSGC. Once enrolled in the nursing program the opportunity to join the Students Nurses Association. I look forward to joining the Student's Nurses Association.

    Great for these types of students

    The Tutoring lab is a students savoir! The teacher is always eager to help students. Every day I look forward to going to the 4th floor to see Mrs Brannock.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The forth floor has a calm couch setting that provides me with a area to study in between classes. The cafe also provides a nice setting to hang out at. These new additions to the college are worth the money!

    Bang for the buck

    Walter State charges per class which helps the student expect how much money is necessary each semester. The textbooks required tend to break students, so having a basis for cost of classes really helps the student afford the classes each semester.

    What to do for fun

    Walter State Community College has several Clubs to keep students busy while having fun. A&P provided students the opportunity to go on a field trip to Atlanta, GA.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafe is a new setting for the Greeneville Campus. The cafe provides good food to enjoy between classes. I love the new cafeteria! It provides a nice setting to enjoy a decent meal while studying.

    Dorm Life

    Walter State Community College does not provide on-campus living on the Greeneville campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The Professors try very hard to keep students on track. They provide students with the required information while making it appealing to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Studying is the best tip I can provide for students. Study every night. Proper Study skills prepare students for a successful future.

    In three sentences

    Walter State Community College separates itself from the typical expectations of a community college. I feel that Walter State Community College has a 5/5 rating. Walter State Community College offers the core classes I need while also providing an accredited Nursing program.

  • 03/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe there.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many to choose from, but they do not always fit to your schedule.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who are not ready to leave home just yet. Those who want an affordable education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many secret spots where you can isolate yourself and study without being bothered in the library and College Center.

    Bang for the buck

    If you work beyond your potential, what money you give will be well spent.

    What to do for fun

    I sing in the Walters State Choir in the Women's Ensemble, Concert Choir, and Sensations Choir.

    Food and Dining

    Although it is not quite affordable, the food is absolutely delicious.

    Dorm Life

    Staying at home is great!

    Academic Rigor

    If you work hard for it, you will have a quality education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Although you are getting an affordable education at Walters State, that does not mean it is easy. Do your best, and make sure you do what is asked of you beyond your potential.

    In three sentences

    Walters State offers a well-rounded education with an affordable price. Most of the professors there are excellent, and they provide assistance when a student is in need. Although there is much to improve on, Walters State is a very excellent college.

  • 04/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I study with friends. We have study groups.