Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Warner Pacific College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/15/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Sports scholarship students, students who are actively pursuing a degree, and those who want to have a great school experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definitely check on touring the campus or spending the night at the campus (the latter should be done ahead of time). Always research a college, and don't forget, if the school doesn't have a major you want, you can always create a major. Just take your core classes if you can't decide on a major. Also, the food is pretty good, although after having it every day for two years, I started to get tired of it and wanting to make my own food. But still, it's pretty good.

    Bang for the buck

    The amount of money may deter some people, and I have to admit, it deterred me, but the financial advisers help you work through it and you can take out loans and get scholarships from the school. Don't forget to check out the Match Your Church Grant and check out the scholarship binder at the financial aid office. Also, pay the interest and lower the principle while you are attending college so you can get a head start on paying the loans back!

    Am enjoying being here

    I have many friends, and since the campus is of a smaller size you either know everyone or know of everyone, which I really like. There are plenty of activities, whether you are a commuter or a live-on-campus student, and the library tries to accommodate each student. There are plenty of movies to watch for fun, and there are plenty of books, movies, and Cd's to use for research purposes. Can't find a book in the Warner book collection? Don't worry, use summit to ask for an item from a different school!

    Am learning a lot

    We are required to do core classes, and though many complain about it since they seem to not have anything to do with their major or minor, I have found that things I learn from them can actually have quite a bit of commonalities with my major or minor. Also, a lot of the professors are nice to talk to, yet many are strict with you about getting your homework in on time. Some professors give you a leniency if you turn an assignment in late, taking a certain percentage off, though it varies with each professor.

  • 07/27/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Warner is great for anyone wanting to build relationships that last as well as gain a great education. Athletes, musicians, artists, you name it, you will fit right in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Private colleges are expensive, but the money spent is well worth for the learning experience (both inside and outside of the classroom).

    Did enjoy being here

    If you want to make great relationships and have an awesome learning experience, Warner is the place for you. It is on the smaller side as far as enrollment goes, but it is well worth it. With being only minutes from downtown Portland and having many parks around, it is almost too easy to make friends and find activities to take part in to get to know each other.

    Did learn a lot

    As far as academics go, the professors go out of their way to make themselves available to you to further your learning experience. One will find that the professors will be on campus during hours with an open door always available to discuss any matter (school or non-school related) as well as only a simple email or even phone call away. The intimate class sizes also allow for students and teachers to discuss the matter being taught at hand and bring up different points of views.

  • 07/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to be held accountable for their education, anyone looking to impact lives on a deeper level, and anyone looking for some true, meaningful relationships. Also, anyone who wants a truly personal and unique college experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to an admissions event! They have overnight stays twice a year, which give you a great view of student life at Warner. Apply early because that is when you get the most scholarship opportunities! Also, be in frequent contact with the admissions/financial aid. They will give you SO much help in your application process.

    Bang for the buck

    Warner has a wonderful financial aid department that is more than happy to help you find loans, scholarships, and anything to help you pay for your college. Also, there are MANY scholarships to apply for in the school. Warner tries their hardest to not make money an obstacle if you want to enroll.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have never felt like just another student here. I have always had an identity, and the president knows just about everyone by name. It's beautiful campus is right off of Mt. Tabor, which offers a public tennis court, hiking, and a beautiful overlook of the city of Portland.

    Am learning a lot

    I have had a lot of really interesting classes, professors, and experiences at Warner that have forced me to expand my way of thinking. They have a wide range of classes that have been great in supplementing my education.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    To name a few we have the WarnerPac, a fan club for Warner Athletics: a group of students who paint up, make posters, cheer and shout for our team. Pacific Islanders Club, a club that learns and embraces the Pacific Island culture and tranditions. Eco-Justice and Awareness Club, a club that works for environmental awareness and love of our earth. The Service Learning, College Activities Board and Associated Student Body Government are other groups present on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Prayer Garden is an intricately made beautiful rock garden located near the C.C. Perry Gymnasium. This garden allows for prayer and time of meditation and peace. At all the Volleyball games and Basketball games we paint up, bring school spirit and cheer on our Knights. We might look the smallest but we are the loudest!

    Bang for the buck

    I am so pleased with my choice to attend Warner Pacific College. Warner Pacific has a diverse community of students all working together to change the community, the city, the country and the world. If you choose to go to Warner Pacific College, you will have the chance to be educated not only in the class but also in the city. Not only will you learn; you will enjoy your time there--and fall in love with the city of Portland.

    What to do for fun

    Warner Pacific College is located in SE Portland, Oregon, a great location making it possible to jump on a bus and be downtown within 20 minutes or on the opposite side of town. There are fun places such as Sky High a trampoline jump place in Beaverton, coffee shops within a few miles of the college, the famous foodcarts of portland and authentic restaurants. Along with many high class entertainment options such as the Portland Symphony, the Portland Opera, Portland Center Stage and various other events. The location allows for fun everyday and a good time wherever you choose.

    Food and Dining

    The food options are from the leading food company Sodexo. Sodexo gives a wide variety of options ranging from your favorite hamburger and pizza to a healthy entree changing every meal. The Dining Hall is a comfortable setting allowing for individual seating and group seating. The coffee shop allows a wide variety of drinks and espressos along with other snacks and goodies. It's a great place to catch up with friends and meet with professors.

    Dorm Life

    The residence life at Warner Pacific College is a diverse one consisting of dorms, apartments, small on-campus houses other urban options. You will enjoy the small community of students living on campus and be able to participate in many different activities for everyone. Peer Mentors are there for your needs and your friendship, ready to help your transition into college and later years.

    Academic Rigor

    There are renound professors and doctors working for Warner Pacific College from Harvard and even international institutions. The professors work hard for their successful implementation of education and for your own success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be aware that it's a small college but there is an immense amount of possibilities in the institution and in the diverse city. You will be challenged by your professors and you have the ability to learn lifelong values and knowledge.

    In three sentences

    Warner Pacific College is an urban college located in the center of Portland Oregon. For a christ based liberal arts education, Warner Pacific is the best choice. You will enjoy close friends and be challenged to earn a relevant education to your life.

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    I have made a lot of great friends

    Am learning a lot

    It is challenging but well worth it. The professors are a huge help.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus has a security guard that we see all the time.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    I go to night school, but there are lots of fun things going on duringthe day.

    Great for these types of students

    All!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not quite sure yet....still pretty new.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable for the quality of tuition that you get.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of fun activities to get involved in!

    Food and Dining

    I don't live on campus, and go to night school.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    Difficult, but maneagable (if you manage your time correctly).

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research on which major/degree you are interested in, and make sure that you have time for the homework that is included in your program!

    In three sentences

    WPC is great! I love being able to attend school while also working. The staff is wonderful too.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Aside from the extra curricular activities, there's hiking and just enjoying the campus life. Pretty amazing.

    Food and Dining

    The food was pretty good, lots of nice entrees and side dishes. They switch it up alot too so its not repetitive.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is pretty amazing, lots of diverse people living together in an environment allows individuals to just be a family and not judge eachother.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics can be really challenging, but luckily there are amazing tutors their to help you every step of the way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its a wonderful college, just be yourself and leave all false prejudices behind!

    In three sentences

    Extremely diverse in its approach. Values academics. Small urban campus.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to learn more about themselves and their relationship with Christ. People who are willing to be taken out of their comfort zone in both academics and personal relationships. People who are willing to try anything new!

    Food and Dining

    I don't have a meal plan so I don't eat the food in the cafeteria. But I've heard it's pretty good! They have a buffet style sort of all-you-can-eat bar, and there is also a mini cafe run by Warner students that anyone can buy from! Most of the students like to eat in the cafeteria whether they have the meal plan or not, just to hang out and be social!

    Academic Rigor

    If you go through the Christian ministries program, there is a LOT to do. But the professors are fair in grading and are willing to help out if you are struggling with something!

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely check out the campus and get a tour!

    In three sentences

    It's a beautiful campus, with a great atmosphere for building relationships, learning, and having fun! The people are so welcoming of anyone new, and genuinely want to see you grow as a Christian. They staff and faculty are awesome!

  • 09/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Again this is a required field

    Dorm Life

    I have never been in the dorm, because I attend the adult degree program (but this is a required field).

    Academic Rigor

    Each class is set up identical to the previous class. This takes 'academic rigor' down a notch, because you already know what the teachers are expecting.

    Tips for prospective students

    This program is great for adult students with busy lives.

    In three sentences

    The adult degree program is great. It is very convenient and straight forward. You meet once a week for four hours, work in teams, and great for people who do not test well.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Study groups.

    Food and Dining

    We have many restaurants close by, but we do not have any on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm so I cannot say.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a Christian-based Liberal Arts College, Warner Pacific is a great choice. We have terrific professors that are very knowledgeable in the subjects they teach, and they challenge us every class.

    In three sentences

    Variety of Class offerings is something I appreciate. Knowledgeable Professors who focus on the needs of the adult learner. A challenging program that requires a student to be a critical thinker.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always campus safety present and on the lookout, so I feel safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Working adults, couples or singles with children, and even high school graduates! For those who already have tight schedules, this program is the perfect match.

    Bang for the buck

    Based on the tuition and the knowledge that I have gained thus far, I believe I am getting my monies worth.

    What to do for fun

    Honestly, I am usually so busy in my personal life I am not sure. But there are variety of events advertised on the school website.

    Food and Dining

    I am in the Adult Degree Program so we don't have traditional food and dining. The vending machines that we do have are a plus.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Some courses require more than others, but overall the work is not too much. There is a sense of balance inthe ADP program.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would just tell them to be mindful that this is a accelerated program, so you do in 5 weeks what a traditional student does in 3 months. There will be certain course that require a little more homework and effort than others.

    In three sentences

    I am currently enrolled in the Adult Degree Program, attending school one night a week for four hours. This is such a great fit for me and my family. If you think that as an adult you dont have the time, WPC can definitely change your perspective on futhering your education.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 19

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    this is a great school, especially if your a christian. Professors are amazing and take time to focus on you. Worth the time and money.

  • 12/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Closed campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Working full-time. Want that degree you said you were going to get 15 years ago. Looking to get a degree so you can apply for the promotion.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    You finish your degree in the same amount of time it would take you to go to regular college. You develop great relationships and connections along the way. Personal growth, each class teaches you something about you.

    What to do for fun

    Make my team presentations fun. For example, my last team project was done in talk show style. Previously, one of my team projects was based on the show survivor and included an outside activity with the class that took a total of 30 minutes from start to finish.

    Academic Rigor

    Each course has 2-4 page essays that require APA formatting that is due each week. Late papers are at the discretion of the instruction. Lots of reading. Team presentations weekly for most courses, with a final presentation on the last day of class. This is a fast-paced learning program. Can only miss 1 class per course and still make the grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared and ready to focus on personal growth. Stay open minded. Time management is key. Remember to make learning fun.

    In three sentences

    Warner provides an active learning environment geared for adults who are currently in the workforce. The team centered learning program helps the student to develop interpersonal skills and maintain a team oriented mindset that can be used on the job. The essay driven homework assignments helps the student to develop a business and technical style writing that assists the student in their everyday work related communication to write with clarity, professionally and dynamically.

  • 01/25/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go downtown Portland

    Food and Dining

    Good food and seating

    Dorm Life

    Small, but nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Moderately tough.

    Tips for prospective students

    To live on campus.

    In three sentences

    Warner Pacific College students are friendly. Warner Pacific College is easy to navigate. Warner Pacific College campus is close to many trendy restaurants.

  • 02/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always someone walking around on campus but I wouldn't count on them to save me if I were in trouble.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are limited but the school is always open to developing new clubs. We currently have SIFE,Pacific Islander Club, MECHA, and Pre-Health Science Club.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for those who want an overall education and want to be known by other for who they are. If you want to develop close relationships with other students and professors then you will enjoy this school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A tradition this school has is an all out campus service day the first week of school

    Bang for the buck

    Considering that Warner is a private liberal arts school I would consider it a well priced school compared to other liberal arts colleges in the area. The only draw back from giving this school a 5/5 is its lack of amenities for students on campus for when they aren't doing school work.

    What to do for fun

    There are inter-murals throughout the year and sports events you can attend. If your of age theres a great nightlife in downtown Portland which is less then 10 mins from Warner.

    Food and Dining

    The campus food is ran by Sudexo which is considered a gourmet food service. The food is good but it get receptive and boring after a few month of eating it. If your not wanting to eat on campus there are many food carts and restaurants within walking distance of the school

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is like most colleges with two people per a room and a common bathroom with showers down the halls. The dorms are a little out dated but is still livable.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors push you to be your best without overdoing it. The professors are willing to go out of their way to help you which helps you get through tough classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to be known by everyone and get on a personal level with your colleagues and professors then this school might be for you. If you want to stay under the radar and be around a lot of different people then this might not be the school for you.

    In three sentences

    A small liberal arts college that is affiliated with the church of god. Close student and professor relationships that go beyond the classroom. Christianity is asked to be at least looked at but not demanded.

  • 03/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Music students.

    What to do for fun

    If it is nice there is always a game of frisbee going on. Tons of places to walk to around Warner.

    Food and Dining

    Not the best food in the world. But I love how warner does try and are open to what students have to say about the food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms are small and need an upgrade. The some PA's are hard and other so it is hard to know what rules will be applied at what time.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a very challenging school. They want you to do you best so they will push you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you ask the hard questions. Like what is a liberal acts college and how does Warner live that out? Ask about the community service the college does. Also ask about the warner community.

    In three sentences

    Warner is a good school. The best part about it is that most of the majors here have you do an internship which gives you real experience in the field you want to go it to. It also has a ton of diversity on campus and it prides itself on that.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Warner Pacific is located right in the heart of SE Portland so there are the occasional safety problems, but security is always available and keeps our campus feeling safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Business students have some great clubs on campus along with many others.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a musician Warner Pacific College has a great program for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a few great things going on around campus. Many of the activities on campus have become tradition like the paint war we have been doing for the last few years (using environmentally friendly paint and cleaning up all the balloons of course).

    Bang for the buck

    Dining is fantastic around the school! There are so many options like the food carts on Hawthorne and other locations, Petite Provence, Jam, Slappy Cakes, and many others. Local coffee shops are countless. If you like food and great places to hang out or even do homework Warner Pacific College is located in a great part of Portland where everything is in a few blocks of the college.

    What to do for fun

    Warner Pacific is located near the Hawthorne area of Portland which provides plenty of activities to do for fun. There are $2 theaters, restaurants, coffee shops, hiking paths on Mt. Tabor, bike trails and many more.

    Food and Dining

    Our cafe offers a variety of food and I have heard many students like the food for the most part.

    Dorm Life

    Although I never had the opportunity to live in the dorms at Warner Pacific, I have heard from many that dorm life is pretty good on campus. Some of the facilities are older, but they are well-kept and clean.

    Academic Rigor

    I would say that most classes are challenging and rewarding rather than overwhelming or unrealistic academically. Due to the smaller class sizes conversation seem to be more engaging and personal which creates a more fulfilling learning environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a prospective student I would advise that you take the initiative to attend as many of the on campus events held for the purpose of connecting students because those events are designed to ease the sometimes difficult process of getting involved in a new community.

    In three sentences

    Warner Pacific College offers a personal atmosphere in the classroom due to the smaller size student body. This is a fantastic environment for learning because each student gets the opportunity to ask the questions he or she needs to learn on a deeper level. Overall, professors at Warner Pacific are willing to take the time each student needs to grasp the material covered in the classroom and are even willing to meet outside of the classroom if necessary and this is greatly appreciated by the students on campus.

  • 08/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have excellent campus safety.

    Great for these types of students

    this school is great if you are wanting to challenge yourself academically; not if you want to party all four of your years.

    What to do for fun

    There are 24 hr co-ed lounges that have cable and a cord where you can set your laptop to the tv. we spend a lot of our time in there. there is also a room called the sub where there is a pool table, a gym, a few tv's, and a few other things. that is our favorite place to hangout, but it closes around midnight.

    Food and Dining

    The food gets better as time goes on, but it still is not worth what we pay. I love our coffee shop, but even that closes early. We are college students, we like to eat past 7pm.

    Dorm Life

    I do not care for the dorm life very much. In my opinion, they treat us more like middle-schoolers than college adults. the rooms / bathrooms are far too small for what we pay.

    Academic Rigor

    It is very difficult to get an A by some of the teachers, but they just push you to do your best. If you are struggling, they will meet up with you anytime they are free and help you with anything. They are very responsible, take their jobs very seriously, and you can tell that they definitely know what they are talking about.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for the typical college experience, i do not recommend coming to Warner. This school requires you to be a lot more responsible. This college is very, very small, but it's nice; it gives you the chance to know almost everyone that goes there.

    In three sentences

    In three sentences, i would say that Warner is a very good school. the professors stress you coming to class more than almost anything, so the school teaches you discipline. everybody is always willing to help, and the staff is very sweet.

  • 02/14/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Food carts around Portland, hiking in the Cascade mountains, going to the beach occasionally.

    Food and Dining

    For a small college, it is actually really good food with quite a few options.

    Dorm Life

    Fun activities that will suit anyone's preferences.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors really challenge you to not just accept what you have been taught all your life, but to understand why you believe what you believe. This is integrated into every class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look beyond the size of the school, and instead look at it with the view of how many great experiences you will have there.

    In three sentences

    It is a small campus with a family-like feeling to it. The academics are really strong, and the professors challenge you to not just accept something, but to understand why you believe it. Being right in the heart of Portland makes for all kinds of fun outings with other students.