Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Warren Wilson College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are not the picture-perfect kid, you will fit right in. People who flourish here differ a lot, but in general I think students here go a bit against the grain of popular culture. Students like to think for themselves and have their own ideas. There used to be a slogan that the school got rid of because everyone in the world made fun of it so much: We're not for everyone, but then again, maybe you're not everyone. You can see why they got rid of it. But it's definitely based on a true story

    Tips for prospective students

    I don't want to say admissions is super lax, but admissions is pretty lax. You will probably get in if you fill out an application. The people in admissions are really helpful, so if you're worried then give them a call; set up an interview or just tell them what you're worried about. If you don't look good on paper (grades, tests) but are still a swell kid, talk to admissions and they'll be great.

    Bang for the buck

    Warren Wilson is priced in the same range as most private liberal arts colleges. It is at the lower end of the range, but private colleges tend to be really expensive no matter what. Tuition with a room and 3 meals a day comes out to around 34,000 per year if you get no financial aid. BUT, you will almost definitely have financial aid, at least to some degree. The school offers some aid, but not as much as more well-endowed (richer) liberal arts schools. I personally end up paying around 19,000 per year (including the cost of loans; it would be like 13,000 not counting loans), which is definitely a struggle, but I think it's worth it because of the overall experience that I couldn't get anywhere else.

    Am enjoying being here

    I LOVE it here. When I applied to school, I wanted a school with a close community, where people knew each other and were friendly and happy to be together, and I found that here. What I didn't expect was that my favorite aspects turned out to be the work program and the geographic location (and the people, of course). With the work program, you know the people serving your meals and cleaning your dorms because they are students like yourself; every student works, which I think makes everyone appreciate each other a bit more and feel more ownership for the place where they all live and learn. (Not everyone cleans, there are also crews like gardening and bike shop and outdoor programs, to name a few.) And the mountains are beautiful. There are pastures and hiking/biking trails through the woods, a farm, a river, and it is all gorgeous in a different way with each season. I love it.

    Am learning a lot

    The academics here are definitely good (especially in environmental studies) but not top of the line. However, I have already learned a ton in my classes and expect that to continue throughout my time here. Aside from what I've learned in my classes, Warren Wilson teaches more than just academics. I have learned a lot about bicycle mechanics, being a janitor, how to live positively in a close community, what kinds of work go into making every aspect of college life possible, and even a little bit of blacksmithing, just to name a few things from outside the classroom. So I would say that even if the academics alone are not on par with the Ivy League, the overall learning experience can not be beat.

  • 04/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is relatively safe. Most students leave their doors unlocked and have no problems. I do not recommend this but it shows a level of trust that you don't see at many schools. The campus has had some minor vandalism problems by a few students, but nothing that has caused major problems concerning the schools safety. We have monthly fire alarm tests, and the campus police, Public Safety, patrol the campus constantly.

    Greek Life

    Null and Void. Warren Wilson does not have Fraternities/ Sororities. No hazing or hierarchical structures here!

    Clubs and Activities

    There aren't a lot of clubs that I know of: Student Caucus (Student Government) Jewish Student Organization (services and support) Fire Legion (Fire spinning) Christians in Action (services and support) and there are groups that play Magic/ Dungeons and Dragon Sports teams include: men and woman's soccer, men and woman's basketball, men and woman's swim team, mountain biking, kayaking, and cross country running. (There may be more that I am not aware of...)

    Great for these types of students

    Hard workers, Community involved, Science students, Writers, vegetarian/vegans, activists, minorities, gay/lesbian/gender queer/ transgender students; you will not get judged here for your sexual preferences or your disabilities and there are a lot of support groups and conferences on equality within our communities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have no football team, but we have homecoming. Homecoming for Warren Wilson is eating a picnic outside and lighting a giant teepee of wood on fire while the fire legion spins fire around it. It is beautiful and very entertaining. There is a church on campus because the school was originally a baptist affiliation. We have over 400 cows on our property that are maintained by the farm crew. We also have a garden, herb garden, chickens, and pigs that produce food that Warren Wilson students and faculty can buy. The campus is separated into two by the Warren Wilson Road, but the two halves are connected by a foot bridge, fondly called The Bridge.

    Bang for the buck

    Warren Wilson is expensive at 34000$ per year but the work-program pays you for your work, which goes directly to your tuition, and over breaks you can stay and work for extra cash. Warren Wilson has a lot of conferences, talks, and live music to see during the week and on the weekends. This provides good entertainment and extra learning opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    All manner of outdoor activities such as running, biking, swimming, canoeing/ kayaking, volleyball, etc. (Just today I saw a flyer for a hang gliding trip!) The Outdoor leadership crew offers many different types of day/weekend trips to different places which are a lot of fun. Monday through Saturday you can take the bus into Asheville, or to the mall and other stores along the bus route. The bus is free for Warren Wilson Students. Hang out in Sage Cafe! There is often live music, game nights, and Saturday Morning Cartoons! PLays! The WWC Theater crew puts on plays and productions which are open to the public and students which provide wonderful entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    There are two cafeterias on campus, and as of next year, 2 cafes. Considering how small the campus is, it's really quite a nice choice. The Two Cafeterias are Gladfelter and Cowpie Cafe (vegetarian/ vegan). The existing cafe is called Sage Cafe and the new cafe that will be running next year will be in the bottom floor of the freshman dorm, Sunderland.

    Dorm Life

    There are 2 freshman dorms and a variety of other dorms across campus that you can live in after your first semester at Warren Wilson. Most dorms have kitchens, common rooms and study rooms. Sunderland is the only dorm (unfortunately) with air conditioning but all rooms have windows which you can put fans in. Most rooms have wireless internet but can be weak at times, so I would recommend bringing a long Ethernet cord. Each dorm tries to have activities to do on the weekend, although more often than not, they don't happen. There is a designated substance free dorm hall on the 3rd floor of Sunderland, which provides a safe haven for freshman who want to stay away from alcohol, etc. There is also a whole substance-free dorm, called wellness where those who wish to stay substance-free can live. Of course, alcohol and illegal drugs are not condoned at this school; a lot of people who don't go here seem to think it is but they have been told wrong. Every dorm has a Resident Director, and every hall in the dorm has a Resident Adviser. These people help you report problems in your dorm, enforce set rules, and settle conflicts appropriately.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are small and occur 1-5 times per week depending on the course. There are many majors available to study- psychology, sociology, archeology, chemistry, biochemistry, Outdoor Leadership, biology, sustainable forestry, agricultural sciences, creative writing, history, etc. There is no such thing as a pre-med/ pre-vet degree, but there are planned courses of study which will boost your chances of getting into Medical schools, and Warren Wilson offers all of the prerequisite courses that they look for. Pre-Med/ Pre-Vet students also tend to get into the medical schools that they apply to after attending Warren Wilson College. The classes are mixed as far as levels of challenge. There are some introductory course that are far easier than other class (say, biochemistry) but all classes help the student think critically and relate the classes to real-world events.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please come and visit Warren Wilson. If you don't visit you might overlook the beauty of the place. You might want a bigger school or a school in a big city, but this school has a lot of heart and a lot of opportunities for learning and researching in class or one-on-one with professors that you wouldn't get at many other schools.

    In three sentences

    Warren Wilson College is a small 4-year liberal arts school outside of Asheville, North Carolina. Warren Wilson operates on The Triad of Education, Work, and Community Service. There are only about 1,000 people on campus and the student to teacher ratio is never more than 20:1. Even though the college is a liberal-arts based school, the science and agricultural sciences departments are strong and the professors challenge their students to think critically and logically. Because of this, our science students often get into their first choices of graduate schools. Warren Wilson is a work-study college, so in addition to taking classes, you work 15 hours a week in a specific job there are over 30 crews to choose from- everything from Farm crew to Carpentry or school newspaper crews. It sounds overwhelming, but you get used to it pretty fast as you settle into the college life and it is a great way of gaining work experience and life skills while you’re in college. Service, the last part of the triad. Warren Wilson requires 100 documented hours of service before Graduation. Now, this seems like a lot to ask of students, but if you think about it that is 25 hours per year or only 12.5 hours per semester; this seems very reasonable. The confidence and gratification that helping the community brings to you is worth the 100 hours of your time, and the hard work you’ve put in will build character and resumes.

  • 10/04/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Total individuals who really want to make the world a better place

  • 03/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    People do come from off campus just to mess with students but then they are handled quickly.

    Greek Life

    NONE!

    Clubs and Activities

    if you think it up Warren Wilson will try and fund it for you

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone that is not everyone and has a hard work ethic

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The tree house and the dam are by far my favorite places to go but there is no limit to the amount of wonderful people that are here.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you look for

    What to do for fun

    Circus, fire spinning, silks, dance, acrobatics.

    Food and Dining

    Getting our dining hall fully redone this summer

    Dorm Life

    Upper class men dorms are so much better then freshmen hosing.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to fight to get what you want out of some classes while others classes make you want to take it over and over because it was so good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't do anything you would not do in your normal life while visiting. There is a line between being a nice and helpful host and jack-ass.

    In three sentences

    Warren Wilson has saved my life. It is at once the worse and best thing that could have ever happened to me in my life. This school has opened so many doors for me and I still have a year to go.

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    At Warren Wilson, there are two established places of eating Cowpie and Gladfelter. Cowpie serves delicious vegan and vegetarian food for lunch and dinner. While Gladfelter serves both vegetarian and non-vegetarian food items. Gladfelter is more like an all you can eat buffet.

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms are co-ed and others are not. Dorm life is different for everyone. In some dorms there are small close knot communities, others are not. Some dorms hold dorm community activities, where everyone in the dorm does something together. In some dorm communities floors also have their own small communities. In my experience the dorms are where you will make most of your friends. You have quiet hours all through the week, where you can't talk loudly, play loud music or do any other activity that might disturb sleepers. You students who are over either the building or the floor, that residents can go to that if they have a problem with anything.

    Academic Rigor

    It's college, so get ready to stay in some nights and study your butt off for test or quizzes. But teachers and students are there to help you if you don't understand something.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to do everything, before you have to go back home. Talk to freshman and seniors to get a broader and better description of the school, working on campus, school life, and extracurricular activities. Walk some of the many trail that snake in and around our campus. Eat vegan at Cowpie or eat an endless array of foods in Gladfelter. Talk to teachers to get an understanding of the work load and studies. If you know your intended major talk to the teacher that is over that department, so you can get a heads up on what to expect. But most of all enjoy your stay, the people you meet, and the view.

    In three sentences

    Warren Wilson is a small close knit community in the mountains. The student, faculty and workers help each other to change the world for the better through learning , volunteering, and work. And while your looking to impact the world economically, socially, or earthly you can enjoy a spectacular view of the mountains.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is at the highest regard. One of the work crews called police safety makes sure reckless behavior is not tolerated. In fact public safety enforces all rules. For example, public safety enforces smokers to smoke in designated smoke areas.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many activities and clubs that students can get involved in. There are various athletic teams that students can get involved in such as the swimming team, rowing team, basketball team, soccer team, cross-country team, and mountain bike team. There are many clubs that are available such as the peel (a periodical article distributed each week), the echo (the school newspaper), the chess club, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who are into Mother Nature and the environment. This school is also great for students who want to learn in a small classroom of 10 to 20 students and know their teacher on a first name basis. This school is also for a student that needs academic resources to help he or she succeed and want to get involved with the community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual location campus is dogwood which is an open pasture where students can clear their minds or even do yoga. Another unusual location is the bamboo forest located on the river trail.

    What to do for fun

    Well, there are many trails to explore on the campus. The school consists of 600 acre of forest, trails, farm land, and infrastructure. The school's gym consists of a pool, basketball court (inside and outside), tennis court (outside), and a soccer field (outside).

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining services offered on the campus are great. Warren Wilson College dining appeals to all types of eaters. Warren Wilson College has two cafeterias, Cow Pie Cafe and Gladfelter. Cow Pie is a vegan and vegetarian cafeteria. Gladfelter has all types of foods based around a buffet style cafeteria. The school also offers cafes that offer coffee, pizza, etc. till 12am. Warren Wilson College is also not too far from Asheville City. Asheville City is filled with many different types of cuisine.

    Dorm Life

    I love the dorm life. Incoming freshman are placed in the Sunderland, Vining A, and Vining B dorm. Transfers are placed in a dorm named Dorland. Dorland is a suite where four people (two in a room) share one bathroom. Every student is placed with another student. Each student receives an armoire, desk and an extra-long twin six bed. A student can life alone for an extra $750 a semester. In my own opinion dorm life all matters about whom you are living with.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is known for its Environmental Studies field, but also has a great creative writing field. I am currently in the chemistry field and highly approve of its staff and administrators.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the school with an open mind about everything. Do not go through with the intentions of seeing a specific or certain thing.

    In three sentences

    Warren Wilson College is built on the triad system which consists of work, community service, and academics. Every student is required to complete one hundred hours of community service before graduation. Every student is also required to work at least fifteen hours a week.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have a 24-7 public safety department that is made up of ex-police officers.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life, but our upperclassman dorms act as sort of fraternity houses

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many varieties from hula-hooping to soccer and basketball to aerial gymnastics.

    Great for these types of students

    vegan, vegetarian, hard workers, and passionate volunteers

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not really; our freshman live directly on main campus, and then after they go into their second year they are able to live across the bridge into the upperclassman dorms.

    Bang for the buck

    the opportunities and community here is definitely worth the money it costs to go here.

    What to do for fun

    there are 2 gyms and many biking/hiking/walking trails to explore. there are hula-hoopers, our yearly circus, many sports, dance, and extra curricular clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    Sudexo food is OK; they are going through renovations so there is going to be more diversity in the type of food served but is a great place for vegans and vegetarians as well as omnivores.

    Dorm Life

    everyone is a family in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a lot of good programs if you are wanting to study abroad or major in a Social Science degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips would be to be open to new experiences, cultures, and people.

    In three sentences

    Warren Wilson is Awesome. It has great opportunities in career experience, academic study abroad, and life experience. It is very diverse culturally, academically and religiously.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go for a hike. Rafting. Rock climbing. Not a huge party scene, unless you know where to look (which means you're looking).

    Food and Dining

    Great vegan options and home-grown organic meat! The rest is pretty bland though.

    Dorm Life

    Warren Wilson feels really strongly about community. Your dorms are your home, even if they aren't the comfiest.

    Academic Rigor

    You can pretty well skate by in most classes, but there are a few are challenging and you will learn boundless amounts (if you want to).

    Tips for prospective students

    Go and see it! If you don't fall in love, then you won't love being there.

    In three sentences

    Peace and love and mountains! Not for those who aren't prepared to get their hands dirty. And maybe not for everyone, but certainly welcoming everyone anyways.

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. The only thing we really worry about here are bears on campus.

    Greek Life

    NADA!

    Clubs and Activities

    The usual: Spanish, French, soccer, newspaper, chorale, caucus, etc. And the unusual: obviously there are lots of activities as far as service goes, but there is also stuff like the RISE crew (there to talk to about sexual consent, safety, abuse), fire legion, Everyone Cooks! (free food that you learn to cook yourself), step team, banjo classes...

    Great for these types of students

    Students who aren't looking for a regimented life-style. People who want more experience in the real world before being out there totally on their own. Activists and pro-environment kids who want to make change. Creative writers. Creative Agroforestry majors. Creative, spanish-speaking, kind-hearted teachers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Homecoming is celebrated with a soccer game. Students are invited to special events like the Garden Party and the Forester's Ball. Walking around campus, you'll notice the toy animals glued onto random walls and light posts, left there by the Toy King years ago. Visit Dam Pasture, Dogwood Meadow, Night Pasture, River Bend, Narnia, the Stoop...

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive, but will do their best to give out scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    Where to begin? Swimming in the Swanannoa, romping about in the fields or on the river trail, playing with the shoats and chicks, hiking, biking...Every Thursday night features a contra dance held in Bryson gym and Sage Cafe offers not only student-made goodies for late nights, but also puts on countless concerts, open mics, poetry readings, the famed Awkward Town, and chorale concerts. In addition, the city of Asheville is a 20 minute free bus ride from campus, where the oddities and revelries abound.

    Food and Dining

    Two dining options: the main cafeteria, called Gladfelter, offers lots of variety, including a main bar, salad bar, a hot bar, and an action station. The second option is the student initiated vegan and vegetarian dining area, called Cowpie Cafe, where you're served healthy and delicious by the student crew. Both options serve fresh veggies, fruits, and meat from the WWC garden and farm.

    Dorm Life

    The only dorms that are less than satisfactory are, ironically, two of the freshman dorms, but even those are fun in their own weird way. The rest are great. There are lots of options for housing: co-ed or single-gender, singles or doubles or suites, and two houses on campus that offer alternative living through skill shares and food co-ops. All of them are set off in the middle of the woods, close to main campus and 90% of students choose to live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Like any other, Warren Wilson College accepts people based on their experiences, their accomplishments, and their ambitions. Unlike many others though, WWC is dedicated to personal growth, which they consider to be a balance of work, service, and academics. In this sense, academic rigor is not at its most strict, but is more focused on learning and connection.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try as many different things as you can. There are over a hundred crews to try, hundreds of different service projects, and classes you never believed could count towards a major. Explore. There are 1,100 acres on campus. Each one holds something different, something valuable, something you will need. Make friends with your professors and your work crew bosses. Not only is it really easy, it's also a good connection to have (names on your resume or even just someone to go to for advice).

    In three sentences

    Warren Wilson is a tight-knit community of thoughtful and dedicated students, staff, and faculty who possess a thorough work ethic, a deep love of service, and a broad range of academic interests. Though a chunk of the week is taken up by work on a specific crew, Wilson students still manage to spend time working in the local gardens, children's programs, and a plethora of other meaningful service projects. Because of the smaller size of the school, there is more time dedicated to each student (whether by fellow students, teachers, or staff) and so students feel a sense of significance and are encouraged to grow in knowledge, experience, and heart.

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The city of Asheville is fun area to hang out in. Students who venture from the campus can always find live music, art shows, and shops, as well as many outdoor activities in the surrounding mountains.

    Food and Dining

    Warren Wilson has food options for vegan/vegetarian and those on a regular diet. Food produced at the school farm is often used in the Dinning Hall.

    Dorm Life

    Warren Wilson is a great place to live.

    Academic Rigor

    Warren Wilson expects high standards from the students when it comes to school work. Students are also are expected to be hands on at the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Warren Wilson College is a unique experience. Students who looking at Warren Wilson must take their academics seriously, as well as be committed to being an active part of the community.

    In three sentences

    Warren Wilson College is great college experience. It's focus on community creates a comfortable learning environment and also makes the college a great place to live. College staff are wonderful!

  • 04/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus here is very safe. We are removed from most suburban areas so we don't have to worry about anyone that isn't part of our campus. Our officers are very friendly and only intervene when they need to. I feel safe here and am treated well.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs to partake in. From outdoor recreation based clubs, to self defense, to yoga, to acrobatics, to music groups, to sports and study abroad trips.

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoor fanatics would be at home here; greenthumbs would have a place to garden; manual laborers would have plenty of work to preoccupy themselves with; there is an incredible arts program; the science department is extensive and full of knowledgeable teachers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Dogwood has got to be the most traditional place on campus. It is a beautiful, open field that they use to pasture cows, it overlooks all of Swannanoa and you can see the sunset perfectly most nights. There are plenty of places to cam and a collection of fire pits.

    What to do for fun

    The outdoors around Warren Wilson are beautiful. Usually I spend my free time outdoors camping hiking, biking or just hanging out around a fire. There are plenty of performances put on by the school so music and theater are always an option as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is not bad. There is a very large variety and the cafeteria offers vegan, vegetarian, gluten free and other options.The kitchens and dining areas are very clean and the staff are always working.

    Dorm Life

    The students here are all very friendly and living with them is very enjoyable. The bathrooms and halls are pretty dirty but not unbearable. They could incorporate more social activities into the lving situation but other than that all is good.

    Academic Rigor

    The focus on academics here is very intense but is very much up to the student to make it what they want. The teachers are very willing to help and friendly when approached.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for as many scholarships as possible and get into as much service as possible. Also get into extracurricular activities and stay on top of your classes. I would also suggest taking classes you are good at already to start out.

    In three sentences

    This college has offered my so many opportunities in education that I wouldn't find in many other places. The people here will give me connections to communities that will help me get a job out of college. The Triad program gives me plenty of work experience and volunteer experience.