Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Wartburg College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/30/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want a well-rounded, liberal-arts college experience. Also great for students who want to branch out beyond the academics of college and get involved with many great organizations.

    Tips for prospective students

    Wartburg College does an excellent job of transitioning you into the college life with their Orange EXCELeration program that occurs about a week before classes start. It exposes you to the different aspects of campus life, as well as gets you familiar with professors and their expectations. Without it, I don't think I would be as excited as I am for this upcoming year.

    Bang for the buck

    In January 2008, they completed a multimillion dollar project to build the Wartburg-Waverly Wellness Complex (also known as The W). While the facility is state-of-the-art, many of the students don't get to see the more impressive aspects of it (those are reserved for community members and athletes). Other than that, you are really getting what you pay for!

    Am enjoying being here

    The entire campus feels like it's own city! There is a long-standing tradition at Wartburg to greet everyone you pass on campus, a tradition that started many years before my time and will continue on many years after I'm gone. Everyone on campus is more than willing to help out other people, and the whole atmosphere is friendly and uplifting.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors on staff are some of the most competent professionals I've ever had the pleasure of working with. From top-notch Religion professors, to published English professors, to accomplished Music professors, the entire staff is rich in diversity and knowledge. They will teach you things you'll never find in textbooks, and they help shape you into adults that not only search for knowledge, but also challenge it and question it to get a better understanding.

  • 10/12/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 2 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    1) Those who want to be able to stand out and not be lost in the crowd 2) Music, Pre-Med, or Ed majors! 3) People who LOVE to be involved in many activities. 4) Friendly, happy-go-lucky folks 5) EVERYONE!!

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Don't let the sticker price scare you! 2) Get involved. . . there is so much to do and time flies! Make it worth while! 3) Actually do your homework. Some teachers will never notice if you don't, but classes will be so much more enjoyable (and your grade will like it too!). 4) Be yourself - college is a place to find people who love you for you!

    Bang for the buck

    The so-called sticker price of Wartburg is a scary one! But the scholarships and financial aid help out so much! In the end, Wartburg was much cheaper for me to go to than any public State schools; I have heard many of my friends say the same thing. I feel like I am learning so much more than I would have at a larger school, because I get so much one on one attention and help from my professors.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the campus here! It is small, but not so small that I feel like I need to get away. Because of it's size, I get a lot more attention from my professors and have never felt lost in a sea of students. Even from my first visit here I saw how incredibly friendly everyone is here! You can always find someone to talk to, and there are plenty of groups and activities that are open to everyone. I love it!

    Am learning a lot

    Wartburg College offers a liberal education, which basically means that you learn a lot of different things beyond just your major. For example, I am a Music Education major, but I am in an English class and a Chemistry class. At first I thought that I would not enjoy taking more gen eds than I would have at other schools, but I feel like it is actually a really great thing that will make me more attractive to future employers.

  • 12/04/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Wartburg is full of outgoing students who are willing to get involved. One of the best things about Wartburg is all the community service opportunities so people who like to volunteer and be involved will fit right in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a visit, sit in on a class. You will see that the professors and other students are great and that Wartburg is a beautiful campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Wartburg is really expensive but you will get a well-rounded, good education in nice facilities.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Wartburg. Waverly is small so there is a lot of community involvement but it is just a short drive to a larger city. There is so much to do on campus. People play ultimate frisbee or catch on the campus mall all the time. There is an organization that brings us entertainment like comedians and music acts. There are tons of opportunities to do service and meet new people. People are really nice in general at Wartburg.

    Am learning a lot

    One of my favorite things about Wartburg is how personable the professors are. You can e-mail them or drop by their office with any questions you have and they are happy to answer them for you. Professors at Wartburg do not want you to fail classes. They do anything they can to help you out.

  • 06/16/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Visit campus before deciding on any college.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a private school, and is quite costly. In the end I believe it will pay off. There is a lot of aid available, so don't be afraid to ask.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is amazing. I guarantee you will enjoy being here. There is so much to do, and so many great people to become friends with!!!

    Will learn a lot

    The professors are aimed at teaching individuals. They want to get to know YOU, and what they can do to help you. They are always very approachable and easy to talk to.

  • 11/17/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    I truly fell in love with the campus. The presentation by the admission counselor Angela, was informative as well as interactive. I believe this speaks volumes for the school, right of the back they challenge you to think critically about both your present and your future.

  • 11/21/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for people that are open and willing for change and people that are friendly. It will be an adjustment but if you are determine it will work out just fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are from a big city try not to judge the town when you first get here. Give the town and the school a chance because it will be worth it. Make sure that you make friends with all of the different people here.

    Bang for the buck

    Wartburg College is a very good school and it has lots of great opportunities for everyone here on campus. This college gives you opportunities where you learn about yourself and other people. You have chances to network with people and possible job opportunities for the future.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy my time here for the most part. Coming from a big city where they have public transportation and lots of different places to go to now being in a small town is a big adjustment but it is very unique. Although it is not a big city it is a place where you have access to all of your needs.

    Am learning a lot

    Each day that I am here on campus I learn something new about myself. I learn about different things ranging from liberal arts, music, and biology.

  • 10/09/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who lived in big cities but are going away for college because although you are used to the big city, most of us aren't used to being alone.

    Tips for prospective students

    I encourage looking at small schools because they offer more one-on-one assistance with everything, they are willing to give more scholarship money, and they seem like more of a community.

    Bang for the buck

    Wartburg offers many scholarships. I know that 100% of the students are getting some type of financial assitance which is phenomenal. Also they offer merit-based and need based scholarships which is great.

    Will enjoy being here

    My friends and I plan to visit Wartburg in November. Hopefully we have a insightful trip.

    Will learn a lot

    My school had a college fair recently and on of the representatives, his name was Russell, informed us that many of the students graduate finding a career in their field.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe, security on campus is very friendly and willing to help you in anyway possible...including helping you dig out your car in the winter.

    Clubs and Activities

    Anything you can think of Wartburg probably has a club or something around it.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do on campus. The W offers workout equipment, basketball courts, golf, tennis, indoor track, swimming pool, exercise classes, rock climbing, and many more. The Student Center also offers a place for students to be engaged in on campus clubs and organizations that offer a variety of free activities to attend. The Waverly Community as a whole also offers many options for students, such as dollar movie nights.

    Food and Dining

    The Dining facilities on campus are really nice. They range from the Mensa, Den, Zesty, and K-Dit. All offer different options for all students, even those with special dietary needs.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the Dorms is a great way to meet lifelong friends and study buddies. The Dorms on campus are in really good shape and there are a variety of options from single rooms to suite style living.

    Academic Rigor

    Wartburg is a great school that challenges students to excel in all disciplines. Professors encourage students to look beyond the textbooks and apply the information learned to practical use.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and visit! If you are wanting to be involved in extracurricular activities stay overnight with someone who is involved in them. This is the best way to see if a school is right for you and your career aspirations.

    In three sentences

    Excellent school that offers a wide range of majors and opportunities for everyone. State of the art facilities. Great professors and mentors that aid in helping you obtain your dream educational goals.

  • 08/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Wartburg is very diverse! This school welcomes people from all backgrounds!

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit any college before attending. You never truly know if you love a school if you've never visited.

    Bang for the buck

    It is very expensive to attend Wartburg. On the bright side, majority of enrolled students receive financial aid that is tremendously helpful!

    Am enjoying being here

    The environment at Wartburg is amazing! It is so welcoming! I have met people here that I know will be my friends for ever.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are super nice and willing to help you at anytime!

  • 09/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you're ambitious, love music, are a great athlete, or want to be part of a great community, Wartburg is the place for you!

    Tips for prospective students

    You should go somewhere that you feel a connection to. Getting involved in different activities is the best thing you can do to make friends and have a great four years at college. Almost everyone at Wartburg is involved in an organization.

    Bang for the buck

    You probably shouldn't take my rating as the most worthwhile rating of this category because I received a Regents Scholarship for full tuition for four years.

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love Wartburg! There really isn't anywhere else like it. I know, everybody says that about their own school, but it really is true. I have grown up around Wartburg and knew that this was the place for me!

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here at Wartburg know their stuff. This is a huge step up from high school, where I wasn't challenged at all. While it's more difficult, being pushed to learn is a good thing.

  • 10/07/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who like a big campus and a big school. There are many people who attend Wartburg.

    Bang for the buck

    There are many scholarship opportunities available at this school and financial aid is always helpful.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus was really nice. It went in a big circle, which made it easier to learn your way around.

    Will learn a lot

    The campus has a lot to offer. There is a great nursing program, amazing athletic complex and helpful people all around campus. There are many departments to study from and get a degree in.

  • 11/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for hard working students, athletes, and people who want a liberal education instead of the norm. In life you will have many choices to make and maybe you might change careers 5,6,or 7 times in your life. With a liberal education you can be more prepared for those types of changes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to campus!!! If there is a trip come visit and see for yourself. You won't regret it and it's not like you won't lose anything.

    Bang for the buck

    The education is amazing here and compared to other schools you get more with the small amount of money the school asks for. If you look at other private schools in Liberal education most have a higher tuition than Wartburg does. And the financial aid is really helpful

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is small and easy to get around. There's also a lot of activities you can become a part of on campus. Currently I help teach some kids on campus Spanish dances and different turns to add some diversity. There are plays that go on and every year we have a talent show called Kastle Kapers and it is just amazing. This year we had some people sing to Katy Perry and Adele and rocked it!

    Am learning a lot

    Since the classes are so small you get individual attention and the professors are on campus for long periods of time to help students. There is always help available and you're treated more than just a number.

  • 12/26/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Interested in music Small, connected campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask current students questions! If you do not know someone who goes there, find someone so you get answers from real students.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that it would be a reasonable amount of money for the education you get.

    Will enjoy being here

    When I visited, I heard about the many clubs and activities that they have to offer, and I was very impressed. I can just imagine myself working on something in the communications area there. I did feel mildly claustrophobic in the hallways though. Very small campus.

    Will learn a lot

    I haven't been able to sit in on a class here, but I hear from current students that the courses are pretty rigorous.

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    1) science majors 2) people who are looking for a small campus in a small community 3) a person with a musical interest 4) someone looking for great opportunities in the long run

    Tips for prospective students

    When looking at Wartburg College there are a few things a person should know. They include: sky walks are great, we have a state of the art gym facility, it will be a challenge, don't expect anything to come easy, you will more thank likely know about half the people on campus, and a person's individual effort will matter the most.

    Bang for the buck

    Wartburg College does have a high tuition, but it is well worth it. Our facilities are among the best, the faculty and staff work hard to help everyone, and if a student applies them self they will make the most of it as well.

    Am enjoying being here

    Wartburg College is a very connected and close community. It is big enough to have various clubs and groups. but it is also small enough to the point where it feels like a family.

    Am learning a lot

    Wartburg College is a Liberal Arts college and many classes tie together or affect one another in some way. Most classes challenge many students and lead students to find appropriate study habits and work to earn their grades.

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Interested in sports or music, students who want to dedicate to study instead of living in a big city where everything is about money and social life

    Tips for prospective students

    Come! it is an awesome experience, great transition from being home to going to college

    Bang for the buck

    It is really expensive, and more changes should be seen for the money paid.

    Am enjoying being here

    the environment is really welcoming, as an international student it has been very important the closeness of the community

    Am learning a lot

    It is in a small community were diversity is valued, international students allow for a broader learning inside and outside the classroom environment. The small liberal arts mission allow students to learn from many different areas, graduating as collaborative and broad minded individuals

  • 01/16/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Music

    Bang for the buck

    After scholarships, you really get way more than you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    There are a ton of activities students can participate in! Different clubs, sports, several choirs, and different student-run groups are all available.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent food in the Mensa. The pizza is particularly good. They also have a great salad bar.

    Dorm Life

    Very nice dorms! I hope you like your neighbors because you're going to get VERY close!

    Academic Rigor

    Very strong academically. An employer is more likely to hire someone who graduated from Wartburg or any other private school than a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for financial aid. This is an expensive school, but if you work on the scholarships offered, it won't be too bad at all!

    In three sentences

    This is a great college for people interested in Biology and/or Music. I plan to go here for just that! I love the atmosphere and it just seems like home.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    wartburg is an extremely safe campus. security is exceptional and will do as much as they can do to help you. they will even go out of their way to improve your day.

    Greek Life

    there is no greek life here at wartburg; we're one big happy family.

    Clubs and Activities

    wartburg has many clubs and activities that are geared toward anything you could possibly want. if there is not one on campus you can always start you own quite easily.

    Great for these types of students

    wartburg is great for those students that love small time life and love knowing a lot of people around them.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    outfly! a day during the fall term, where the student body president declares no classes. there are events and games all having to do with that year's theme. a great day and always one to look forward to.

    Bang for the buck

    wartburg is expensive, but i wouldn't change my decision to come here for anything.

    What to do for fun

    the movie theatre and bowling alley in waverly are always great places to go and hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    the food at wartburg may not be the greatest but everything makes up for it.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life at wartburg is great. you will make amazing friends and have a blast.

    Academic Rigor

    wartburg is hard, but if you study and try you will do great.

    Tips for prospective students

    make friends as soon as possible. do your homework and study, and don't be afraid to go to the professor for help.

    In three sentences

    wartburg is a warm, inviting community. the professors are always available to provide help. you will make friends for life at wartburg.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Wartburg is a safe place, and the security guards are super nice.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a wide variety of activities that are easy to get involved in, and if you can't find what you want you can always start your own club!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every fall term we have Outfly, a day of no classes! We don't find out that it's Outfly until 6:30 in the morning the day of, but it's a wonderful day. There are also several other traditions, especially within organizations, such as the band who has lots of unique traditions. Wartburg also has May Term. We finish second semester in April, and for the month of May we take 1 class. Many students take this opportunity to travel to a variety of different countries- England, France, Spain, China, Japan, Tanzania, and Costa Rica to name a few.

    Bang for the buck

    Wartburg is very pricey, however they offer a wonderful education and lots of activities.

    What to do for fun

    There are quite a few activities on campus most weekends. Besides those there is a movie rental store very close, a movie theatre nearby, several bars to go to, and a lot of other options depending what you and your friends enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    For cafeteria food, it's pretty good and there are lots of options. However you will probably want to eat off campus every once in a while.

    Dorm Life

    The freshmen dorms are not in the best of shape, but they are good enough for the basic needs and Wartburg is hoping to fix them up. The upperclassmen dorms are definitely nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are definitely at a college level, but the workload is generally manageable. For biology majors and music majors it is definitely harder, but doable.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Apply for scholarships and financial aid- you will need it 2. Get involved! There are tons of sports and clubs to be involved in

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    19 of 42

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Wartburg is very kind and generous. They also have wonderful world engagement. They are very unique.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although parking is very strict at Wartburg, and campus security often gives out tickets, there will never be a time when safety is an issue at Wartburg. Not only is security in the middle of campus, but security officers also patrol around the streets of Wartburg and the parking areas.

    Greek Life

    There is none! For some, that is a disappointment. However, the party scene at Wartburg is hushed, private, and controlled. There is one honor sorority/fraternity that remains.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a large variety of clubs and organizations at Wartburg. If there is something missing, the student senate is willing to listen and create something for you!

    Bang for the buck

    Although Wartburg is extremely expensive, the quality of teaching is well worth the tuition and fees.

    What to do for fun

    Bowling, going out to eat, clubs/organizations on campus, events on campus, concerts, recitals, and other various small-town activities.

    Food and Dining

    With few choices on campus, the food gets old after awhile. However, the Konditorei coffee shop in the library has amazing snacks and healthy eating choices, the Den has good restaurant style food without going off campus, the Zesty Orange is perfect for boosts of energy in the gym, and the Mensa has many choices.

    Dorm Life

    All first and second year dorms are slightly nicer than most universities. For upperclassmen, the dorms are exceedingly nicer, but more expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are fairly challenging and difficult. However, every professor is willing to work around their schedule and your own when teaching so that you may understand all material and concepts.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a prospective college student, it is important to keep your grades up in high school. When others tell you that colleges accept you before they can see your final grades and final transcript, believe them. However, acceptance is not the hardest part. The scholarships and grants that you apply for will require those transcripts and higher grades. Another thing to do in high school is volunteer! The more community service and involvement in school and community, the better. Colleges will view you as a well-rounded individual if you go out of your comfort zone to learn and help others.

    In three sentences

    Wartburg College is an accepting, friendly, and welcoming college in the great Midwestern United States. Although it is a small private college, the faculty and staff genuinely care about each student on campus. With over 50 majors to choose from, Wartburg College may just be the right fit!

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Its really expensive but they help you out a lot and its worth it.

    What to do for fun

    The W is the best place to be for fun, but that's not all there are some many things you can do outside for fun.

    Food and Dining

    There is something different for you all the time.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms are not so good but hey its still college life.

    Academic Rigor

    Great place to be to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont be scared that its really small it has a great feel to it.

    In three sentences

    Nice small city you defiantly will know a whole lot of people that attend Wartburg college.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's very well-lighted, and we have campus security guards on duty at all times. They tell you to program their number in your phone at orientation. Not that you need them. I feel very safe walking across campus to my dorm by myself at 2 in the morning. You can only psych yourself out. There's no actual danger lurking behind that tree. Waverly is a safe little town!

    Greek Life

    Non-existent as we have no fraternities or sororities

    Clubs and Activities

    We have over one hundred student organizations on campus. The bands and choirs are very popular. A few are audition-only, but anyone who wants to participate can participate. There's a theatre department if you're into that. There are a wide range of athletics and academic clubs. Unfortunately, we don't have a Quidditch team.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who love small schools and knowing almost everyone Friendly students who say hi to everyone they see Music majors or anyone who loves music or wants to be involved in choir or band Science majors---biology, chemistry, pre-med, etc. Anyone who likes to start school late (early September) and have a lot of breaks

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    OUTFLY!!! Every year the student body president in conjuncture with the president of the college decide a day of no classes. Outfly is highly secretive. The few who know about it are very tight-lipped. Basically, what happens is that at five or six in the morning the orientation staff storms the hallways banging on everyone's door shouting OUTFLY!!!!! and we gather around the bell outside the W as the president officially calls the day as Outfly. Then everyone runs to the Mensa to get in line for the free Outfly breakfast which is traditionally better than normal and served by professors. There's a theme every year, and the campus is decorated according to that theme. Last year was Harry Potter, so at the outside entrance of the student center there was a half of a loading cart and inside the other half came through. People dressed up as different characters, there was a Quidditch tournament, and various other Harry Potter-related activities on the campus mall.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is rising every year by single digit percentages. It's at about $40,000 right now. Many students have been transferring because they can't afford it. Financial aid packages don't change with that increase which is insane. I love it here, but for many, the money trumps that love.

    What to do for fun

    It's basically whatever you'd do in high school except there aren't parents to rein you in, just RAs. My friends and I like to get together to play video games, watch movies, play Catchphrase, or venture off campus to go out to eat or to a movie. Additionally , there are a lot of events on campus including comedians, singers, bands, and other cultural events. One such cultural event is the Culture Show that the international students put on every year showcasing their home countries. It's VERY impressive. They start practicing months in advance. Another fun show every year is the Drag Show that Alliance puts on. They get famous local drag queens and students to perform. It's definitely worth the few dollars you pay to get in! Entertainment ToKnight (ETK) brought Maroon 5 to campus a few years back for their annual Large Event, and last year we had Javier Colon came in April. ETK also sponsors a $1 Movie Knight (we're the Knights if you haven't guessed) the first Wednesday of every month at the local movie theater. It's a late show---usually starts at 11:30pm. That's one of my favorite things to do. I could go on and on about this. There's stuff to do. Trust me.

    Food and Dining

    We have four different dining establishments, one of them being the main cafeteria. The Mensa does get boring after the first few weeks, but that's why there are meal transfers to the Konditorei and the Den so you can get some variety. Also, the smoothies in the Zesty Orange are AMAZING! I highly recommend trying one.

    Dorm Life

    Wartburg strongly encourages students to live on campus all four years. Dorms are co-ed by floor except for one all men's dorm and one all women's dorm. The Residential Life office works hard to match students who have similar interests and habits and to build floor communities that will foster the growth of our first-years. After your first year, you can sign up for housing in groups of two, three, four, six, or eight. There are also nicer dorms that upperclassmen students can apply to live in that require a learning or service projects. Dorm life is what you make of it. I kept my door open as much as I could last year and met a lot of cool people. Being in the scholars program, I lived on the scholars floor, so I had the chance to bond even more with the girls on my floor when we did homework together. These same girls later invited me over to play games or watch movies. And for those who want to, there were girls who got together before going out dancing.

    Academic Rigor

    While I've never had significant challenges with my schoolwork as an English major, I know many biology and music majors who are up to their ears in homework, projects, and lab work. Like I said before, our science and music departments are very strong! Also, there are courses designated as writing intensive. I've never taken one before, but I will be this fall. I'm sure the extra writing adds to the rigor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't visit during the summer! I'm on campus over the summer working for Student Life, but hardly anyone else is. This is not the time to see the campus! The best time would be during the fall when things are bustling and lively. Also, I highly recommend overnight visits. And yes, that is plural because taking more than one and different times of the year will help you understand what goes on here during the year. Finally, talk to your admissions counselor! They will work with you to get what you want whether it's an overnight, a visit, or anything else you need. They're your best friend while you're looking at Wartburg!

    In three sentences

    The Wartburg student body is very close-knit. It is very common for professors and even the president of the college to invite students to have dinner at their house. The academics are stellar, especially in the music and science departments.

  • 09/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    If there isn't a club on campus, you can start your own by simply filling out some paperwork.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I haven't experienced it yet but Outfly is a day the president chooses to have all the students just get out and have fun. It's full of different activities for the students to do and, according to a friend, it lasts all day.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many different activities on campus. From organized clubs like dance to spontaneous football games on Clinton Field, something is always going on.

    Food and Dining

    If I don't have time to make it to the cafeteria for lunch or dinner, I can swipe my ID card at one of the cafes on campus and get something to go.

    Dorm Life

    Some of the other students on the floor are a bit noisy but not to an extent that I've considered moving to a different dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors accentuate how much they want us to learn and help us if we have difficulty understanding the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to talk to the professors. They will help you with anything whether it deals with the class or just a problem in general. Get out of your room and meet new people. Everyone is pleasant to be with.

    In three sentences

    Everyone I have met on campus is genuinely nice and willing to help. I haven't had any difficulty contacting my professors and they know me by name. The size of the school is just right; not too big, not too small.

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very secure environment.. camus security is always around or just four dials away.

    Clubs and Activities

    Variety of sports, science clubs, lamguage clubs, Asian club, international club etc

    What to do for fun

    Alot of service activities,you can go swimming (enjoy) the water slide, watch plays, comedy, performances hosted by the entertainment group, variety of sports to play...

    Food and Dining

    You have a variety of meal options, buffet style..

    Dorm Life

    Diverse culture to integrate with

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent academic programs

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry you will never feel alone...

    In three sentences

    Friendly atmosphere giving you a home away from home experience. Faculty and staff ensures that student's needs are of number one priority. With its liberial arts education it aims at creating well rounded individuals for the world.

  • 10/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is superb with security guards on duty around the clock and available for rides or assistance in disturbances. There are also multiple phones stationed around campus that can be used if you feel you are in danger and need to call security or need a ride. The campus is always lit up especially since it is smaller and the security guards do routine checks of dorm rooms making sure students are locking their doors and if they aren't they receive a red note advising them to do so.

    Clubs and Activities

    Wartburg is notorious for their clubs. There are too many to count but I am a member of the Chemistry club, the Diversity and Inclusion Program, and am a member of the Wartburg Track and Field Program. For what ever interests you may have, Wartburg most likely has a club for it and if we don't, the college is more than happy to students starting new clubs as long as there are enough members.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual tradition at Wartburg is called Outfly. This is a day on campus where all students are woken up at 5 AM, told to come out to the bell in the middle of campus, and if enough students show up to the bell, classes are cancelled for the day. Since classes are cancelled, the teachers serve everyone breakfast at 6 and then there are a bunch of activities throughout the day offering the chance to win cool prizes.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of groups on campus to get students involved and to meet people who have similar interests as yourself. Activities such as concerts, game nights, ventriloquists, etc are always being put on to entertain the student body. A bowling alley and movie theatre are also located in town near Wartburg College so quite a few students can be found visiting these two establishments on the weekend.

    Food and Dining

    There are four places to eat on campus allowing a variety of different foods but the main dining facility is called the Mensa. The meals are on a rotation in the Mensa so it gets old after awhile but the food is rather good. There are multiple stations in the Mensa like taco bar, salad bar, Chinese stand, home-cooked meals, the grill, and the vegetarian bar.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very hospitable, nice size, have decent storage space, and are equipped with two beds, desks, and dressers. Coed and Non-coed dorms are available depending on your preference and after your first year is complete you have the opportunity to apply for housing in any of the other non freshman dorms which allow anywhere from 4-8 people rooming together which means more living space. The dorms are also cleaned regularly such as the bathrooms and hallways so they are decently clean.

    Academic Rigor

    Wartburg is a very prestigious college with some of the most rigorous courses in the nation such as Biology as I mentioned before. The small class sizes allow for a more one-on-one relationship with the professor and less distractions. Wartburg has high placement ratings for graduate school in various areas/majors and nearly all Wartburg students receive job opportunities right after graduation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Wartburg College is all about helping students out and making it easier on us. Professors and faculty are more than happy offering advice, answering questions, and helping with the overall college process. There is also an organization on Wartburg Campus called Pathways that assists in the college process such as what classes to take, helping you decide where your future is taking you, and developing a plan in how to get there.

    In three sentences

    Wartburg College has a great atmosphere for it's students with lots of groups, clubs, and activities available to get students involved. This school has great academics as well especially if you are a Biology major since they have one of the toughest Biology programs in the nation. The one negative about Wartburg is the price of tuition to attend here.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school provides an array of on-campus activities. The city of Waverly has a variety of restaurants for quality dining and several venues for entertainment. If it doesn't fulfill one's desire for fun, Waterloo and Cedar Falls are a hop, skip, and a jump away.

    Food and Dining

    The college offers several venues for dining. Many students choose the Mensa or the Den for meals. A coffee shop and the Zesty Orange also serve food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life may not be like home, but all ammendities are provided for. There are a variety of living options, on and off campus. It's worth checking out.

    Academic Rigor

    Wartburg is well-known for their academic rigor. Students who work hard and focus on their studies should find the experience rewarding. Employers recognize the quality of a Wartburg graduate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come on a college visit. The best way to know if you'll like a school is to meet with future professors and take a look at the campus. Most importantly, don't sweat it if the college you pick doesn't feel like home right away--getting involved and making friends will make it home.

    In three sentences

    Wartburg is a well-rounded school. Religion is a focus, but one certainly doesn't need to be a Lutheran to enjoy Wartburg. Plenty of opportunities are available for all students.

  • 12/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safe, I am comfortable walking around campus at night alone

    Greek Life

    None

    Great for these types of students

    Students that know they want to get into medical school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Outfly, a day where class is cancelled and the students get a day of fun

    Bang for the buck

    They give very good scholarships

    What to do for fun

    Homework and work, that is all a biology major has time for

    Food and Dining

    The Mensa's food is not bad but can become fairly predictable. The Konditeri has an amazing chicken walnut cranberry salad.

    Dorm Life

    DON'T go into Clinton Hall it is full of partiers, drunks, and for some reason the scholars program.

    Academic Rigor

    I took all AP classes in high school so my first of semester was extremely easy but if you did not have a good high school then their curriculum is extremely challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that when looking at financial aid offers that you play them off other schools because they will give you more money.

    In three sentences

    This is the college for any student whom has a passion for music and Biology. This college is regionally known for its music and science programs. Wartburg is a small liberal arts college that gets students where they want to be after graduation

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Outfly Tradition Sometimes called by its German name, Ausflug, Outfly is a student-initiated, one-day holiday. This Wartburg tradition traces back to the 1890s. It now occurs once a year during the Fall Term. Outfly is called upon a date known only to the college president and the student body president. Evening classes on Outfly are not cancelled but morning and afternoon classes are.

    What to do for fun

    Go work out at the W

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not take a Major for a job, take a major you are passionate for.

    In three sentences

    Fantastic, diverse and memorable

  • 01/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a stellar campus security team and Wartburg is located in a pretty safe town as well.

    Greek Life

    There aren't any fraternities or sororities on campus although we do have some academic based groups on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everyone on campus whether it follows your major (Psychology club, academics, or even knitting!) or service type activities. A great way to get involved and work on leadership skills (that also look good on a resume).

    Great for these types of students

    If you are spiritual, outgoing, or just looking for a new friendly experience then this college is for you!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have OUTFLY!!!! This is a day when the student body president and the college president get together and decide to call off classes for the whole day! It happens in fall term but no one knows when it will be. There is always a cool theme and a lot of fun stuff for everyone to do (that they bring on campus as extras. i.e. inflatables, movies, tournaments, picnics)

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, I'd say Wartburg has a lot of good resources that make going here worth it- especially if you go into a major department that has a lot going for it.

    What to do for fun

    There are a few bars around campus that have pool and dancing although some are more than a little shady. There is also a movie theater and a bowling alley, not much for shopping though. There are a lot of on-campus activities offered too which is nice because you almost have to drive everywhere!

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall isn't that bad although it does get repetitive. However you can always do a meal transfer or do points and that helps out a lot!

    Dorm Life

    Depending on where you live dorm life can be awesome! However, its also really expensive and they make it really, really hard to live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging without being too hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try try try for scholarships! Don't forget that you can barter with them for more. Also, if you are looking at agricultural sciences I'd look else ware, this is mostly a pre-med bio department

    In three sentences

    Wartburg is a good school for those looking for a small town atmosphere. They do have a lot of great programs and classes with a liberal arts feel. On the negative side, it is very expensive to go here and the business office is really not the most helpful.

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There isn't much choice but the food they do have is really good and they do provide a lot of variety.

    Dorm Life

    They have really nice dorms, even the freshman dorm aren't too bad.

    Academic Rigor

    Attending Wartburg is tough you really have to be ready to push yourself if you want to succeed. However even though it is hard there are many resources that are here that can help you succeed.

    In three sentences

    A great small college, small class sizes, more one on one time with teachers. A home away from home. Not in the middle of no where there is stuff to do in towns nearby.

  • 02/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Being in a small town, the community is relatively safe. The campus security is already out watching too, and are easy to get a hold of.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of student organizations, which provide many opportunities for students.

    Great for these types of students

    Small town, Midwestern students. Wartburg doesn't attract a lot of students outside of Iowa, Minnesota and Illinois.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Outfly, held during fall term each year, is a day where classes are spontaneously cancelled and fun events are held all day instead.

    Bang for the buck

    There are lots of scholarships offered to students, which make the cost to attend Wartburg much lower. However, the academics aren't really that great, so it's still not exactly worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Waverly is pretty small, but there are a few things such as the bowling alley and theater in town. The fitness center is also very nice and has things to do. There are also a few larger towns nearby (20-30 minutes away) where students go on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    The food is typical cafeteria food, and doesn't have a lot of variety. The other dining options on campus though, The Den and The Konditerei have great coffee and deli items, as well as some convenience store-type items.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are pretty nice, and are quite spacious for underclassmen rooms. Upperclassmen dorms are mostly suite-style, and are very nice! There are service and learning dorms for upper-class students, which are a great opportunity to get more involved.

    Academic Rigor

    I don't feel very challenged in the biology department, but it could be challenging for some I suppose. I have heard that other academic departments, particularly music, are quite challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is easy to get in, so don't worry about getting in.

    In three sentences

    There are lots of opportunities to engage students in community service and off-campus learning opportunities. It is a beautiful campus with wonderful people. However, I unfortunately don't feel very academically challenged here and wish that my academic load could be harder.

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No problems since I've been here.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life. Wartburg is one big community of Knights. GO KNIGHTS!!!

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a large assortment of clubs on campus. I'm currently in the lifting club which is tons of fun and fosters a healthy lifestyle.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are willing to work hard and put forth the effort necessary to make the well rounded and contributing members of society.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have Outfly which is a day where all classes are cancelled and there is a bunch of campus activities and fun things to do all day. The funny part is that no one except for the class president knows when the day is. The student body finds out at 6 in the morning.

    Bang for the buck

    Wartburg is really expensive but what isn't anymore.

    What to do for fun

    Workout and hanging with friends!

    Food and Dining

    I love our on campus dining. There is a great variety of food and I really enjoy it there.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great especially freshman year when you are meeting a lot of new people and discovering who you are and who you want to be.

    Academic Rigor

    The biology program is especially hard but I feel it prepares you for the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy and savor every single moment of college because it will fly by!

    In three sentences

    I excellent establishment with great caring professors and a wonderful biology program.

  • 03/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security does an excellent job with everything from contacting students when a room key or ID is turned in, to keeping peace on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a variety of clubs and activities on campus. If you can imagine it, Wartburg most likely has it.

    Great for these types of students

    Wartburg is great for all students who like to be busy and like a challenge in their course work.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Outfly is a day that happens fall term. It is a day when all classes are cancelled and the only people who know when it is are the student body president and the president of the college.

    What to do for fun

    For fun get involved in campus organizations such as choirs, bands, drumline, theater, or sports.

    Food and Dining

    The mensa is excellent. I love how there is always a variety of choices for students.

    Dorm Life

    It can be loud in the dorms at times, mostly on the weekends. Be sure to respect quiet hours so people on your floor can study and sleep as they need to.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are tough, but the professors are willing to help students in any way they can to be sure the students succeed in all of their classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn to budget your time before first semester. Limit your extra activities until you have adjusted to college life. It is easy to be over involved to early and lose sight of your academic standing.

    In three sentences

    A Wartburg education is a quality education. The professors all care and want to help students succeed. There are lots of extra curricular activities and clubs to be involved in on campus.

  • 03/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always stuff going on but I don't usually participate.

    Food and Dining

    Mensa. Den. Kdit. All absolutely wonderful with just enough variety that you never get bored.

    Dorm Life

    There are plenty of options. Yes, the bathrooms smell and the showers aren't always hot but I love living in the dorm. I have met so many wonderful people and created friendships.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent professors who really know how to teach and connect with students. I don't think anything I've learned is pointless or not relevant.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry if you don't know what you want to measure in. There are plenty of resources available to help you figure it out. Also, just be yourself. You will have so much more fun that way.

    In three sentences

    Wartburg is the best place I have ever been. I have great friends, classmates, and top notch teachers. Plus, I am learning lots and gaining real world knowledge to help me in the real world.

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on Wartburg's campus. The security staff are all very helpful and do their job well.

    Greek Life

    Wartburg College does not have/support Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Wartburg has many student organizations and clubs to choose from that fit everyone's wants and needs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Outfly is an unusual campus tradition we have, but it's the best. The President and the Student Body President pick a day out of the fall semester where classes are cancelled for the day. There is a theme picked and at 6:30 in the morning, all the students gather outside near the victory bell to start it off. All day there is food, activities, and fun interaction to be had.

    Bang for the buck

    As unfortunate as it is to pay around $40,000 a year to go to school. The students at Wartburg are getting more than the education, necessities, and tools that they are paying for. There are so many resources and opportunities available at Wartburg that the money paid is definitely worth it. Plus, there are always scholarship opportunities that can be obtained.

    What to do for fun

    With ETK, the SCC, Hall Councils, and other student organizations, there is always a group putting on events or providing activities for people. ETK (Entertainment ToKnight) brings performers and artists to campus, as well as, creates original events such as Bingo Night and other games that allow students to participate. Resident Assistants and the Hall Councils of Senate put on programs every month that allow students to get out of their rooms or study areas and have a little bit of fun. There's always the possibility of going to a lounge with your friends and watching a movie. There are many, many opportunities for students to have safe, quality fun at Wartburg College.

    Food and Dining

    I believe that Wartburg provides ample amounts of diversity and quality to their dining establishments. Wartburg has four different dining facilities. The Den, Konditerei, and Zesty Orange are more restaurant/pick-up food type facilities, whereas, the Mensa is our dining center for students that has buffet style set up with many, many options. Having the option to transfer your meal to one of the other dining facilities is a huge positive.

    Dorm Life

    I absolutely loved living in the residence halls. Living in the residence halls allows you to meet new people and faces that you may not otherwise interact with on a daily basis. It allows you to incorporate people that are involved in different things or that come from different backgrounds into your daily life.

    Academic Rigor

    Wartburg will challenge you, but will not hinder you. The professors here are more than qualified in their fields of study, and will provide you the tools necessary to succeed, all that's required of you is to put in the time and effort needed. You have to want to succeed in order to reach those goals and the potential that you have.

    Tips for prospective students

    Although it may seem like a small campus in a small town with nothing to do, don't eliminate Wartburg from your top list. Wartburg is my home and I am blessed to call all the professors, faculty, and fellow students my family. There are so many opportunities that come with Wartburg, such as studying abroad your first year, that other schools just don't have.

    In three sentences

    I believe Wartburg College is a wonderful place that truly allows students to grow to their full potential as a student. Wartburg provides many different opportunities that will incorporate students of all different backgrounds. Wartburg provides the tools necessary to reach one's full academic potential and become a future leader of today's society.

  • 07/20/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    36 of 42

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Fantastic setting and town to be in. When I visited campus, staff greeted each other as well as my family. Everyone was so friendly, not to mention the fantastic academic programs here.

  • 09/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a security officer here on campus who is willing to escort you around at night and just to walk around campus to make sure that everything is going smoothly.

    Greek Life

    I have not explored any Greek life here on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different types of activities here at Wartburg that students can get involved with and if they don't have it here they encourage you to make your own group be known here on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Wartburg is a good college for people who are socially interactive and likes to be in medium sized classrooms.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The most unusual location on campus would be the basement to the Old Main building. Its so confusing to get there.

    Bang for the buck

    You have to really know how to manage your money because everything here at Wartburg is just so appealing.

    What to do for fun

    For fun you can do just about anything. The most fun is at the W where you can go for a swim, workout out, or just play a round of basketball.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Wartburg is amazing. Its like an all you can eat buffet. As many plates you can eat, as much as you can eat. There is always a new type of pizza to try out.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is something you have to make your own. It is entirely up to you on the environment you want to live in whether its clean or dirty.

    Academic Rigor

    Wartburg's academics is hard but manageable. There is always someone here to help you with the work, including the professors. All you have to do is ask them for help.

    Tips for prospective students

    If planning on attending Wartburg College I only say be open-minded and ready to learn new things.

    In three sentences

    Wartburg College is an amazing college. Here at Wartburg the professors and the staff really wants to see everyone excel. Wartburg makes you feel at home and does its best to help you cope with a new environment.

  • 12/01/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    38 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food was amazing!

    Dorm Life

    On my tour, everyone we passed were very friendly and seemed to get along. It felt like it wasn't just another dorm, but like a home for everyone.

    Academic Rigor

    Music especially, seemed very rigorous, but the professors want to help and see students achieve.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions! Everyone I met on my tour were very informed and eager to help out.

    In three sentences

    Wartburg has such a beautiful campus with such friendly squirrels!! The professors were all kind and interested in the person behind the numbers. Everyone was so friendly, you could tell that no one was left out.

  • 01/04/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    39 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The town of Waverly is large enough to do some fun things in but still has that small home feeling.

    Food and Dining

    Best cheesecake I have ever had.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are relatively new and are in very nice condition.

    Academic Rigor

    Very good college for business and mass media production.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus and speak to professors.

    In three sentences

    The athletic facility is incredibly impressive. The campus is beautiful. The people there are very friendly.

  • 03/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the coolest things that I got to experience here is Outfly. This day always occurs in the fall term. During this day there are a lot of fun activities and things to do. During this day, your classes are canceled. So it is a free day to do whatever you want.

    What to do for fun

    Since the athletic facility is really nice, I tend to go in there when I have any extra time. I like to shoot hoops and play intramural basketball too.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. Their are several places to eat on campus too. They all provide a variety of food. The Mensa (main food service place) usually has four or five different option for each meal.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty cool. You get to meet several new people. The only downside to freshmen dorms, is the fact that they don't have air conditioning. So early in the year and late in the year it is really hot in the dorm rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Wartburg College challenges you in all areas of academics. Since it is a liberal arts school, you are required to take classes from several different majors. However, these classes all broaden and push you to the next level.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are beginning your college journey, remember what you are attending college for. College is a place that provides several distractions, but if you can stay focused, you can find a balance between having fun and working towards your career goals.

    In three sentences

    Wartburg College has several nice teachers that love to help students. They also have a great athletic facility that amazes you every time you see. Wartburg college provides a May term that allows you to study abroad where ever you want.

  • 03/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus here. Being on a smaller campus, you recognize a lot of people. Also, security is on campus 24/7 and you can call them anytime for anything if you feel unsafe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all different kinds of clubs and activities available to students. Probably about anything you can think of.

    Great for these types of students

    I think Wartburg is a great choice for someone who is coming from a small town and is not very comfortable with going to a large school with thousands of students. That is one of the reasons I came here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One tradition that Wartburg has is called Outfly. It's a day in the fall where all classes are cancelled and there are all kinds of activities that go on. However, you don't know when that day is until the morning of when upperclassman come through the halls blaring music and banging on your door yelling Outfly! It's a good time.

    Bang for the buck

    Wartburg is expensive, but you get a really good education out of it.

    What to do for fun

    I love going over to the W and working out. But, there is also a pool over there and basketball courts to play whatever in. There are sand volleyball courts outside that are really fun when it's nice outside. There are also lots of campus events that go on. We have comedians, magicians, hypnotists, concerts, and all kinds of things like that for students that are usually free!

    Food and Dining

    The food here is great! So many different options to choose from. There has got to be something that you will like.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life isn't that great. It's nice to meet new people, but bathrooms and showers are kind of gross. Other than that it's not too bad.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the course here are pretty tough. Professors will help you get there though. I think the levels here are set higher than other schools because Wartburg wants to have very qualified students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in different things to make new friends. Try out different clubs, sports or join an intramural team. The more people you know, the better experience you will have.

    In three sentences

    Wartburg College is a very homey campus. I love the small size of campus because it makes me feel safer. Everyone is so friendly and professors are more than willing to help students out with anything.

  • 10/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security every where and there are emergency telephones in case something does happen. Also all students and faculty have ID's so if they want to enter the residence halls they must use their ID to get in.

    Clubs and Activities

    Trumpet Newspaper Dance Marathon Hip Hop Dance Team Psalm 149 (Praise Dance Team) Sports Choir Band and Many more

    Great for these types of students

    There are so many clubs and organizations that fit for every student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During the beginning of the year the student body president and president of the school pick a day Outfly will held. Outfly is a traditional one day event, were there are no classes and there are fun events planned for the entire day. The trick is no one knows when Outfly actually happens so the motto is, Outfly is always tomorrow.

    What to do for fun

    First Wenesday of every month there is a dollar movie night. Daily ETK hosts special events per month that are free or cost a few dollars. Taking a walk to downtown Waverly is very peaceful along with eating and shopping there too.

    Food and Dining

    Monday through Friday you have an option of eating at the Mensa or doing a meal transfer at the Den or Kondeitorei. Also the food is great and what ever your dietary needs are they can accommodate.

    Dorm Life

    No matter where you live, the dorms are great. You can either pick your roommate or it is chosen randomly. The RA's (resident assistants) talk with you and get to know you.

    Academic Rigor

    Yes, you have to read and yes you have homework everyday. The professors here do their job by teaching the students the curriculum needed to be successful in the class. The job as a student is to be active in their learning and participate. Studying last minute for an exam or trying to finish your paper last minute will not suffice. You have to put your all in all of your assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared ready to focus and meet new people. The professors actually care about you as a student. Do not think just because you skip class or sit in the back, that the teacher will not notice you because they will know you by name and will email you. Also get involved on campus in things that are of interest to you.

    In three sentences

    Wartburg's mission statement of building leaders is displayed daily by the professors. The community is very nice and if you ever need someone to talk to there are plenty of resources. Wartburg is worth coming here to display your talents and find your inner self.