Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Washburn University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/06/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 11 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone that wants a good education for a reasonable price.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get to know the department you are majoring in. They will have so much to tell you and help you with. You cannot go wrong with asking for their help.

    Bang for the buck

    The price is so reasonable compared to schools such as KU and KSU. You also enjoy smaller classes where you can enjoy close relationships with your professor.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is absolutely beautiful in the fall.

    Am learning a lot

    Professors work hard to provide you a good education but at the same time help to prepare you for the world a head of you.

  • 12/26/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    washburn is great for students who want a solid education and are willing to work for it

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are prepared with specific questions that you need answered and don't be shy. you won't get any help if your shy. there are many people around campus who want to help you, so let them.

    Bang for the buck

    It is actually really reasonable considering how much college can be

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love the school. it's my perfect fit.

    Am learning a lot

    Like any university you have to work for your grades the professors won't just give them to you like my experience in high school.

  • 01/06/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Washburn is great for students that want to get a great understanding of their degree and turn it into a career after graduating.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live in the Living Learning Center (LLC) for your first year. You'll meet many new friends.

    Bang for the buck

    Washburn is cheaper than Kansas State University and Kansas University, for a competitive excellent education.

    Am enjoying being here

    Washburn is a great place to be. The class size is perfect. The campus is awesome, and I love Topeka.

    Am learning a lot

    Washburn is ranked in the top 10 of the 2010 U.S. News and World Report America's Best Colleges. It is a great business school. I have enjoyed all my business classes and teachers, and they are teaching me a lot.

  • 01/11/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Washburn is great for ANY TYPE of student. If you are shy, there is plenty of events that are suitable for ANYONE that easily gets people involved. If you love the family type feel, Washburn has the feeling everywhere. If you are afraid, you'll be another face in the crowd, WRONG, people remember you and your name, and they will definitely recognize you by that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to receive a ton of free shirts and make a ton of new friends. Washburn is a small campus, so it's almost like a small family. It's an easy going and friendly environment, so never feel afraid to say hey, because you'll receive a smile and hey right back.

    Bang for the buck

    Washburn is known to be a but pricey, but compared to other schools around, such as Emporia, KSU, and even KU, Washburn is nothing compared to them. Also, for the price you pay, you receive even better quality. The campus is well kept, you pay for smaller classes and those you receive, such as, the professors know you by your name not just a number! You definitely get out more than you pay at Washburn University.

    Am enjoying being here

    Washburn has a great environment, socially, and academically. The professors and other students are especially nice. Everywhere you go, everyone is constantly smiling and almost always saying hello. The freshman are not treated as the new kids on the block. They are treated as if they have been there for years themselves. Washburn constantly has events that anyone is allowed to come and participate in to get invovled, and they are enjoyable too.

    Am learning a lot

    I knew that coming into college was expected to be a bit tough compoared to high school, which I never really had to work hard in high school to succeed well. Although, just from my first week of classes at Washburn, I learned more than I really ever expected. In high school, I took the typical classes, such as biology and such, so I decided to take them again in college for my Gen Eds. I walked away learning more from that one class than I ever did in a year's worth in high school. The lectuers are easy and understandable and when going back through my notes, I never questioned what I had wrote down, because I easily remembered. I learned way more than I expected to ever learn.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never have I felt threatened while on campus.

    Greek Life

    A lot of Greek fraternities and sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    No secular student alliance.

    Great for these types of students

    History majors and Law students.

    What to do for fun

    It's Topeka, Kansas. Don't expect much.

    Food and Dining

    The Union's food is just...meh. Edible.

    Academic Rigor

    It's definitely intellectually challenging and engaging here, but not the the point where one couldn't maintain a steady job and still take 12-15 hours of classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Getting registered here is tricky sometimes, but the easiest way to do it it to go to Morgan Hall on 17th street and go to the registrar's office.

    In three sentences

    It's a personable, localized college where teachers value learning over pass/fail rates. The academic advisors are all available at the convenience of the student. I really have been able to develop personal relationships with my professors, who have proven to actually be invested in my education!

  • 01/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Student Recreation and Wellness Center is awesome. They have many different options of exercise and activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't slack. Washburn is very academically challenging.

    In three sentences

    Washburn is very personal because the classes are smaller. The professors are very caring. The process of enrolling, receiving financial aid, etc. is very simple, and the faculty is very helpful.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We get bulletins that go to our emails and if you want to your phone through text. We have a police station on campus and police cars regularly patrol the campus. So I would say we are pretty safe.

    Greek Life

    I don't know much about our Greek life except that the houses are located close to the dorms. We also have a dry campus (which means no alcohol allowed on campus) so if you are looking for the drinking and partying type Greek life, this is not the place.

    Clubs and Activities

    I would say that there is a wide variety of clubs and activities available to students. Also most activities on campus are free to students.

    Great for these types of students

    If you focus better in small class environments. If you like to get to know your professors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Passed the Yager stadium by the Rec center and Art Building is this little pond and bridge and during the summer and spring it is filled with fish and frogs. Its a nice little difference from the rest of the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    They are decently priced at about $5,000 to $7,000 a semester if you are living on campus and depending on which dorm you live in. If you are not living on campus it is a lot less. Also it depends on your credit hours.

    What to do for fun

    Well there are things going on on-campus all the time. There is a rec center with rock climbing and holds sports competitions. There are sporting events as well. Also located not too far from campus is Wannamaker street which is where most of the restaurants and shopping is located, including a mall.

    Food and Dining

    Food can have variety during the week but on the weekends you are not given much choice. It is also over priced.

    Dorm Life

    There are three dorms, the LLC, West and Kuehne. The LLC is a large complex that is connected to the Union. West and Kuehne are father away from the Union but have larger rooms than the LLC.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers will challenge you but if you are dedicated and focused most won't mind helping you if you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are living off campus, get to campus at least 30 minutes before your class. Construction on the parking lots is making the parking a little difficult.

    In three sentences

    Small classes make understanding subjects easier. Small campus lets you get around easier to classes. Dorms are located close to the classrooms.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a police station on campus and the officers are always patroling the campus

    Greek Life

    There are many sororities and activities going on all the time

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all kinds of clubs

    Great for these types of students

    All students would find what they are looking for in education at Washburn, especially nursing and law.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In the main building there are activities, food, tvs,and your information sources

    Bang for the buck

    The cafeteria

    What to do for fun

    The school always has something going on, plus there is movie theaters and bowling in the community.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good, lots of variety

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms, haven't heard of anything bad or good

    Academic Rigor

    Washburn is very academic oriented.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be persistent about your financial aide. Utilize all the campus has to offer.

    In three sentences

    Provides a very strong medical education. Campus isn't too big to walk to classes. Offers in class and online education.

  • 06/16/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Take a Visit there! You will love it!

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are focused and don't require a party atmosphere.

    Tips for prospective students

    Inquire about the neighboring state, in-state tuition program.

    Bang for the buck

    The in-state rate is great, but the out-of-state will definitely turn one away.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have to say that Washburn lacks in the social arena. Although, there are some campus things to do and to be involved in, social opportunities in the local area are limited. But at this point for me, my focus is on my academics; therefore I am content.

    Am learning a lot

    Washburn provides a variety of programs and majors. If you really know what you want to do and they have your program, it is the place to go. The school is continuinally working to improve and refine the programs they offer so they are competitive with other universities. Their Business School is currently highly ranked with U.S News and World Report.

  • 03/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    extremely safe. i have yet to see a dangerous situation.

    Greek Life

    not as selective as you would think. it's not just all the really attractive women and beer downing guys that are in these fraternities and sororities. for the most part they are just filled with you average college kids who want to be apart of something big! there are way more people in them than i would have expected!

    Clubs and Activities

    there weren't a lot of activities that have really impressed me other than the one i am apart of currently (young life). the activities themselves are not as student friendly as i thought they would be, to the extent that they are filled with (sometimes not all the times) reckless fraternity guys who only care about being the loudest most obnoxious guy at the event. but if you can handle that, than i would say you are fine.

    Great for these types of students

    any types of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is a great little room in the living and learning center that is called the reading room. it is a quiet secluded place that very few people know about and is a great place to get some much needed homework or studying done without all the loud noises that typically are heard in college dorms.

    Bang for the buck

    washburn, despite their high academic tradition, is insanely affordable. the total cost for room and board, tuition and other random fees that colleges throw at you is around $12,000 a year. that is ridiculously cheap!

    What to do for fun

    as vague as this sounds, the answer really is the sky is the limit. there are so many things ranging from intermurrals, an incredible workout facility, hanging out with friends, or enjoying nice walks or runs through gage park. it is a very serene and comforting place to live.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria, is ok, and is definitely better than most high schools. but even if the cafeteria doesn't have what you need, the library believe it or not has an incredible health solution for food, and it is pretty affordable.

    Dorm Life

    i would say it isn't increddible, and if you are from topeka, living at home is probably your best option, it saves you a ton of money and you get to participate in almost all the same activities you would normally if you were living in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    it's rigorous depending on what you take. for me, wanting to study nursing, all of my science classes are very difficult, and require me to stud at least two hours a day, just for one class! (thats my anatomy class). despite the seemingly impossible task of being able to survive, i promise that the work is worth the reward. i have learned more in this class about my body than i ever did in high school, mainly due to washburn's outstanding science field.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. study at least two hours per credit hour taken 2. get involved on campus with the various campus activities 3. get to know your teachers, because at washburn, they really do care about your academic success.

    In three sentences

    1. superior scholastic opportunities 2. small class sizes 3. extremely friendly and helpful faculty

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Washburn is great for the kind of students that want or need an environment where they can actually interact with their professors, and where the staff is fully willing to work with a student should any unexpected issues arise that may disrupt a student's education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The majority of Washburn's international student population is Chinese, so every year Chinese New Year is celebrated a Chinese buffet is offered in the student union.

    What to do for fun

    Washburn offers lots of on campus activities. The first week of school is welcome week and it includes barbeques and giant inflatable blow yup toys. Also, fun events such as 'All Night at the Rec', where you can tie-dye your own t-shirt, are held all year.

    Food and Dining

    The food offered by Washburn is decent. There are several choices and they vary depending on the day. The student store also supplies a wide selection of snacks, frozen food as well as fresh fruit and beverages from Starbucks coffee.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Washburn are really nice. All dorm suites have at least one bathroom in them, so no communal restrooms. Wifi is supplied and the Wasburn Village offers apartment style living complete with kitchens in every suite and two bathrooms that include bathtubs.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the professors you have, but Washburn sets some pretty high standards. Most all of the classes I've taken have been fairly fun though.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on living on campus, all of the dorms are great. When it comes to choosing a meal plan, go with the smallest one. It will be more than enough. You'll have tons of money left over at the of the year to spend in the student store.

    In three sentences

    Washburn University is a comfortable and caring place. The campus may be small, but so are the classes. My favorite part is actually getting to talk to my professors EVERY day without having to wait in line.

  • 10/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's an affordable school. Currently, I am only going to pay $1,500 a year. This is a real bargain compared to other colleges in the area!

    What to do for fun

    Topeka isn't just a midwest town! It has over 120,000 people. We have many stores, food chains, two movie theaters, a mall, Lake Shawnee, and much more! Also, First Friday Artwalk downtown at the Jayhawk Theater is always exciting.

    In three sentences

    Washburn has a campus which could either be perceived as modern and big, or as close knit. There isn't much of a wild atmosphere, but Topeka isn't overly boring. That said, it isn't a huge crime spot either.

  • 10/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    At Washburn you have so many different clubs to join in! These clubs help you get very involved in the University!

    Food and Dining

    The Union has many different options daily for you to choose from!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very wel kept and clean. They are not too small and the good thing about them is, they are all suites so you do get your own bathroom!

    Academic Rigor

    At Washburn It's not too incredibly hard, so it's very easy to succeed!

    Tips for prospective students

    For Students I would definitely say manage your time wisely and prioritize your things.

    In three sentences

    Washburn is a great school for students looking to get involved. Also the class sizes are not big so it's very easy to get one on one attention from your professor. Another thing is, Washburn is not too expensive for a 4-Year University

  • 11/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can always feel safe at Washburn. located around the campus are emergency buttons for when you are walking late and night and dont feel safe. There are also patrol officers that are always walking around. And if you want to feel extra safe sign of for ialert text on your phone to get texts about any emergencies on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Washburn is great for students who want to feel at home and part of a community. At larger campus's you can feel lost because there are so many student. But at washburn the classes are small and your bound to meet some one to become friends with

    What to do for fun

    If you want to have a little fun check out the schedule, washburn always has activities going on like concerts and a fun festival on talk like a pirate day. The climbing wall is also a great place to enjoy your self, bring a group of friends and challenge each other to a climb. And if you want to relax a little take a walk in the calming park near the recreation center that features a path that goes directly over a pond with beautiful gold fish.

    Food and Dining

    the dinning hall at Washburn has a wide variety of choices including: chinese, salads, sandwiches, burgers and fries and more. Each food area prepares the food at your order so it is fresh and warm. The seating area is custom for you. There is outside tables as well as balcony and dining tables and booths.

    Dorm Life

    Washburn has a great housing community the living learning center is a wonderful place to live. Most of the rooms are 4 person suites and each room houses 2 people. The building is also connected to the union were the student dining area is. Living learning house also has a computer room, study room, reading room, laundry room and a recreation area.

    Academic Rigor

    Washburn is a tough school, but in the right way. The teachers strive to challenge their students but always make sure that they have all the information that they need.

    Tips for prospective students

    When looking at Washburn as a college be sure to look around campus, small campuses aren't for everyone. Also be sure to check out all resources that Washburn has to provide such as there recreation center and there climbing wall.

    In three sentences

    Washburn University has a small home campus. Because of this you are sure to see people and around and get to know your teacher. All the students and teachers are friendly and helpful and always try to answer your questions.

  • 11/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I give this 5 stars because I feel extremely safe on this campus. There is a large police presence on the campus and it is well-lit. There are police on bicycles that ride around all day making sure that all is well.

    Clubs and Activities

    Washburn University offers a wide variety of clubs and activities and are worth seeking out and joining. There are many club fairs and events to help get you exposed to the different extracurricular activities that are located on the campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Washburn University is known for their law school and the school of nursing. This does not mean that it isn't good for those not pursuing the previously mentioned majors.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a lot of bang for your buck. The tuition is reasonable and the education expectations are extremely high! I think it's a great alternative to a large university that charges more and you seem to get less individual attention.

    What to do for fun

    West Ridge Mall is nearby just a few minutes from the campus and there are basketball, football, and volleyball games for all to enjoy! Many people find time to talk with friends and enjoy each other's company.

    Food and Dining

    Washburn offers many choices for food and dining. The union provides many options for food choices and provides plenty of seating and room to have a comfortable dining experience with friends!

    Dorm Life

    I rated dorm life as a 3 because honestly, I haven't lived at the dorms at Washburn. I have heard from others that they absolutely love it but cannot accurately rate this unless I have experienced it myself.

    Academic Rigor

    I rated this 4 stars because the classes are not easy but they are completely mangeable. Each professor has a different style of teaching and some may be considered easier than others. At Washburn, most of the professors have their doctorate degree in their specific subject which means that they really know their information and they know it well!

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should expect to work hard and learn. The professors will push you but they want the best for you. Be ready to soar in your education and most of all, have fun!

    In three sentences

    Washburn University provides excellent professors and resources to provide an education that has extremely high expectations. I absolutely love Washburn because of the small class sizes and personal interactions with my professors that you do not receive at a larger university. The one on one attention allows me to ask questions and learn more than I have ever been able to before.

  • 12/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food isn't always great, but there are places close to campus that have amazing food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are connected to the cafeteria and it is the most wonderful invention ever for bad weather. There are also other dorms on campus that are like apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging- as they should be. The teachers will answer any questions you have. Don't be afraid to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    I love the campus and the people. Everyone is more than willing to help and the library staff is fantastic. The campus is small enough to be able to walk everywhere in under 10 minutes and feel like home but large enough to always see new faces.

  • 12/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I'm pretty sure. This campus is a really safe area.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you join any clubs, you can get a lot of fun or good experiments. However, there are not many clubs in this college

    Great for these types of students

    Positive-mind students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This college is not big, so you will know everything about campus.

    What to do for fun

    Party, outside activities, and go to kansas city

    Food and Dining

    Also, I have no ideas about this. But I heard that meal plans are little bit expensive.

    Dorm Life

    I live in off campus, so I don't have any ideas about this.

    Academic Rigor

    This college is not strict. Professors are really friendly to us. When you go to big university, some professors deal with us like numbers. So their academic rigor are high. However, in this college we are not any number, we are their students. So this college can't be strict.

    Tips for prospective students

    I want to recommend bring your mind. I mean, you will come to college to study or prepare your future right? So i think you don't have to nothing before come here. Just bring a correct determination.

    In three sentences

    1. Washburn university is the best place to get friendly with professors because there are few students in each class. 2. This university's environment is really impressive Everyone knows each others, so they looks like my family.

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Washburn University's Safety is very important that is why there are police man on duty 24/7.

    Greek Life

    Going Greek is a great experience. Do it you will not regret it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities you can do. If you are interested in something and there is not a club for it, all you need is six people to make your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    Washburn University is known for their Law and Nursing Programs but their Business Program is as great also. Any type of student will fit in at Washburn University.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Student Recreation Wellness Center has a great view to the football field where you can watch the football players and the soccer girls practice.

    Bang for the buck

    Washburn University is not an expensive school. It is very affordable and it is worth every penny,

    What to do for fun

    Washburn University is all about the student. They always have activities going on that you can join. There are sporting events you can attend and concerts.

    Food and Dining

    Washburn University's food is catered Chartwells Dinning Services. They have many options on food. They have a salad bar, a wrap/sandwich bar, their special of the week bar, and a fast food side.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is a great experience that every student should experience at Washburn University. You will make lifetime friends. Everything is close by the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Washburn University takes its students seriously. They get done with business when needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should apply for all the scholarship Washburn University offers.

    In three sentences

    If I had to rate Washburn University from 1 to 10 it would definitely be a 10. Washburn University is an amazing University. It is small and everyone is friendly.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many campus activities throughout the year held by WSGA and Greek Life.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't the best, but there are many restaurants a stones throw from campus.

    Dorm Life

    Sometimes the dorms can be a bit loud, but the R.A.s do their best with noise control.

    Academic Rigor

    It's challenging, yet enjoyable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you fill out scholarship forms early. Get all of your textbooks early as well.

    In three sentences

    Washburn has wonderful scholarship opportunities. The university is much smaller than K-State or KU, so you might find yourself in different general education classes with the same people. The professors are very skilled and know you by name at the end of the semester.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I sit on the Student Judicial Board and can honestly tell you that Washburn has little to no crime and or incident rates, making it one of the safest options out there to receive your education.

    Great for these types of students

    Washburn University is a great place for students who want to avoid the whole partying scene and focus on an education.

    Bang for the buck

    Education has become very expensive and without some major changes will only get worse. But at least at Washburn University you can expect to save allot of money compared to other larger institutions such as KU or KS.

    Food and Dining

    Washburn University offers students multiple options for finding food on campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms seem to be clean and safe for the students who reside in them.

    Academic Rigor

    Washburn University is no Yale or Harvard, but you definitely get the education that you pay for.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ensure that you research professors before enrolling in their courses. Be involved in your classes; the only dumb questions are those not asked. Keep on your professors good side; you don't have to be a suck up, just respect them for their position and what they do.

    In three sentences

    Washburn University is a great place to receive an education. At Washburn you will find knowledgeable professors, and medium to small class sizes which I believe promote a healthy learning environment that is focused on the student. WU is the most practical and logical choice within the local area.

  • 01/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Washburn has its own campus police that are patrolling the campus 24/7

    Greek Life

    SO MUCH FUN!!

    What to do for fun

    Get involved on campus. Greek life is a wonderful opportunity!

    Academic Rigor

    It is challenging at times depending on your field of study but there is so much help available to you all the time!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in campus activities and student life. It will make your experience so much better!

    In three sentences

    Washburn is a safe environment. It is a place full of friendly people who seem like family. I am able to reach my full potential here!

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus Police at Washburn University is second to none. Although I personally like to give some of the officers fishing tips every once in awhile. The Washburn Campus Police are as professional as it can get. That is why the crime rate is next to zero on campus. I would give the campus safety at Washburn five stars.

    What to do for fun

    There are usually some kind of events that are taking place during the academic school year at Washburn University. Whether watching a sporting event or a play in Garvey Hall or listening to a variety of music at White Concert Hall (which are all free for Washburn students) there is usually something to do on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Washburn University's Student Union is very diverse. Of course Cheeseburgers will often fill the appetite of most any tired college student, including myself. The cafeteria at Washburn also offers an abundant menu for the health conscience student. I give Washburn's cafeteria four stars.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, but from what I have seen I would give the dorms at Washburn University four stars.

    Academic Rigor

    Washburn University academic standards are just as as high as any other major college in the Midwest. Being able to meet with professors when I had questions or problems save my academic career. Compared to bigger schools, that have bigger classes, Washburns smaller classes is what I need.

    Tips for prospective students

    The biggest tips that I can give any student who will attend Washburn University is: 1. That all students should take advantage of the free tutoring. 2. Take advantage of the free health Clinic. 3. Visit the Academic Advisor's Office. 4. All sporting events and student recreation facilities are free for Washburn students.

    In three sentences

    As a 49-year-old non-traditional student I have found Washburn University is more than appealing. The small class settings have made my college life rewarding, yet challenging. I truly recommend Washburn University for not only the non-traditional student, but for any student who really wants the most an education can offer.

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Washburn University has its own campus police that are a part of Topeka Police Department. They have a jurisdiction of 5 blocks and patrol the University everyday to ensure safety of students. If you want, they will also escort you to class if you do feel unsafe.

    Greek Life

    I am a President of a local fraternity here at Washburn University, Alpha Delta. Joining greek life has been one of the greatest choices and experiences I have ever had. I have friends now that I will know for the rest of my life. So many fun things go on in our community and I enjoy every minute of it. There is no hazing or bullying and no alcohol is allowed on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Over a hundred on campus clubs for just about any student. You can create your own club with six other friends. Many students also like to work out at the SRWC with a fully operational gym, running track, rock wall, exercise classes, and basketball courts that can also be used for volleyball.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students wanting to major in Pre-Law, Business, Nursing, and Pre-Med.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheaper tuition, but classes that I have heard are harder than KU. Many great professors teacher at Washburn. Also the $43 student fee allows you access to every campus sporting event and every other event on campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities and clubs on campus with events going on every week. I recommend joining greek life to establish lifelong friends and connections as well as a learning experience of growing up.

    Food and Dining

    The food is overall pretty good although I question how healthy it really is. If you don't have time to sit down, you can always visit the Corner Store to pick something up fast.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't actually experienced dorm life at Washburn because I live in a fraternity house. However, I have heard it can get loud and rowdy. Our dorms are also notorious for having fire alarms pulled or going off at least once a week.

    Academic Rigor

    There are a few classes I have taken already that have tested my limits. As long as you study hard and stay focused on your classes, you will have great grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, listen, and learn whatever it is you are passionate about. Always seek help when needed and remember to have fun as well.

    In three sentences

    A nice and affordable university where extremely great teaching and learning takes place. There are many on campus activities to take part in for students. Students can get much needed one-on-one time with professors due to small class sizes.

  • 02/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are stations where campus police can be contacted immediately. Police continually drive around in cars or on bikes.

    Greek Life

    There are a lot of options if your considering going Greek.

    Bang for the buck

    I know that I pay much less than most of my friends when it comes to schooling. I also was able to get money for an academic scholarship. Most events are open to students for free.

    What to do for fun

    Topeka is a major city so you can always find something to do. There are also multiple events held at Washburn.

    Food and Dining

    There is a lot of options when it comes to dining. There is always a station that changes daily to weekly with different food options.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are really nice. Most of of them are suite to single room style. There are also apartment style housing. Each floor and wing also has their own kitchen to use. RA's are always available.

    Academic Rigor

    Since classes are smaller their is a lot more one on one attention so that curriculum may not seem as hard even though you are learning the same amount to even more at a bigger school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Washburn has a great programs such as Nursing, Radiology, and Law. It also has many majors other schools don't carry. If your looking to learn a lot while having a small class size check out Washburn.

    In three sentences

    I love Washburn. Its a great school. The students and faculty are always wanting to see you succeed.

  • 02/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    This would be the only bad thing, there isn't much to do. You can go to a movie or bowling for fun. On campus they have different activities to do if you get bored. So you won't really have a dull moment on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is so many choices for food on and off campus. The food on campus is really good, and they give you good portions. Outside of campus the food again is really good. There are so many places to eat off campus, and not all of them are very expensive.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a fun place to hang out at. You meet so many new people at the dorms. Its a great place to make new friends.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to push yourself to become successful. Students should strive to keep improving their education.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip would be to actually do your homework and study. Those two things will help you tremendously while your in school.

    In three sentences

    Washburn Univeristy is a great hometown college. Washburn is a very diverse school where everyone can feel at home. The university isn't very big, so you can have one to one time with your professors.

  • 03/06/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    27 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Definitely a good choice for a quality education without a huge price tag.

    Food and Dining

    The few times I've eaten on campus, it's been pretty good. Definitely better then high school cafeteria food!

    Dorm Life

    I'm planning on living in the Living Learning Center (LLC) and am really looking forward to it. It's a fairly new building and has lots of great features, such as a quiet reading room, kitchens on each floor, and classrooms in the actual dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    From what I've learned from touring campus and talking to professors, you'll be challenged academically but you'll also have lots of support.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get in touch with the department you plan on majoring in. I made some really great contacts that way, met the professors and was steered to some of the department scholarships.

    In three sentences

    This is a great campus that's easy to navigate. Everything is within walking distance and the campus has a very friendly feel to it.

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safe campus

    Greek Life

    Unknow

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs

    Great for these types of students

    Younger, not non traditional

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No real unusual traditions Nice chapel,that no one really uses

    Bang for the buck

    Some classes not really worth what you have to pay, be sure of where you want to go with your career before you enroll, think about small community college two year programs. More bang for your buck.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of activities for younger students

    Food and Dining

    food is good, lots of choices

    Dorm Life

    Unknown

    Academic Rigor

    Good academic planning for most classes some not Have to take algebra, even when not condusive to your degree. Some class professors not really interested in your succeeding if your not doing well in a class they dont really care.

    Tips for prospective students

    Not condusive for non-traditonal students geared toward younger students. plan on paying more for federal student loan money Not getting much money when you sell back books

    In three sentences

    Good class size some good professors some good advisors

  • 05/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always patroliing and there are numerous help phones place around campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek life can be exciting.

    Clubs and Activities

    Numerous clubs and activities available if you take the initiative.

    Great for these types of students

    This university is great for any type of student who likes to be in a university that is not small but one that you could get to know your professor.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are no unusual traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    The education is worth what you pay.

    What to do for fun

    If you want fun in the University than there are numerous clubs, atheltic events, and different events thrown by students.

    Food and Dining

    There are nice options in the student union for meals. They give you a variety from sandwiches, Chinese, Mexican, hamburgers, etc.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms can be very expensive but as a freshman you will meet more people by staying on campus your first year

    Academic Rigor

    Professor are very knowledgeable and want to teach.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is important to get to know your campus and professors. There will come a time when you will need to ask for help or guidance and you do not want to be a stranger.

    In three sentences

    Washburn University is not a small university but it is not a huge university which makes classes the right size. You get to know your professors and you are not just a number. If you engage in your studies and ask questions the professor are always wiling to make time to help you.

  • 07/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I could not afford to eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I like the passion of the teachers, I just wish the students had more passion for learning while in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what you want to do prior to establishing a major otherwise you will run out of financial aid. If you do not know what you want to do take General Education requirements and this will at least give you some Idea of what you want to major in. Go to college as soon as you can after high school because you are learning information when its given, instead of having to learn the information you missed while taking a break from school and it will be harder once you go to college.

    In three sentences

    Washburn does not have control of their classes and for someone with high anxiety it causes problems in the ability for me to pay attention when other students are talking during a lecture. I have such a low GPA the semester of Spring 2013 because the student medical service told me I had a blood fungus which my job said I could not work till it was cleared up; upon getting health Insurance I went to a different doctor and they said that was not the case; I was unable to get to many of my classes due to no funds for gas. I am taking online classes because their information taught in the classes is good information so I hope that online classes will allow me to do better work.

  • 09/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Very

    Great for these types of students

    Variety

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ichabod

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, graduate program is going great.

    What to do for fun

    Great place to join many different clubs ect.

    Food and Dining

    I did not ever eat there really. I only would grab snacks from vending machines ect.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorms, but friends say it was great.

    Academic Rigor

    It is challenging, but like I said effort goes a long ways.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard

    In three sentences

    A great university where you will find a great home feel and professors who truly care about your education. They want you to succeed, but you do have to show effort on your part.

  • 09/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Being in such a big city, Washburn University is high on campus safety. The campus has its own police staff, the Washburn Police. There are emergency calling stations at almost every corner. The best part about Washburn is that even though you're amidst a huge city, campus seems like you're in your own town or community. Safety is very important at Washburn!

    Greek Life

    Greek life is a big part of Washburn's campus. They throw parties, fundraisers, attend sporting events, and do intramurals. As soon as you get here, many girls will come up to you and ask if you are interested in rushing for sororities. I personally am not in a sorority, but I've heard that its a great experience because you meet so many new people throughout the process. Even if Greek Life isn't for you, its fun to see them around campus and get involved in their activities that they hold.

    Clubs and Activities

    Washburn has over 100 different clubs and activities to join in. If you're looking to join in a club that is in your major, there is no doubt that there is an option for you. Almost every major has a club that you can be a part of. If you're wanting to be involved with sporting events, Bod Squad is perfect for you! Bod Squad is basically a very big pep club. You get shirts, free tailgating, and great seats at all sporting events. These are just a few examples of the great options available to students at Washburn.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The biggest unusual tradition here at Washburn is our mascot. We are the Washburn Ichabods. Most people have never heard of an Ichabod or what it even is. It was actually based off the founder of the university. Sharing the story of how we got our mascot is one of the best aspects of going here. It's great to educate others while also being engaged in the university.

    Bang for the buck

    Washburn has free parking, free admission to sporting events, free admission to theater productions and concerts, and much more. Even though you pay a small fee at the beginning of the year for all of these, paying separately would be a lot more money! Washburn is great at helping their students save as much money as possible while at college.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of options when looking for things to do at Washburn. Whether you want to stay on campus or go explore Topeka, there are options for everyone. Campus has over 100 activities/clubs you can join, an awesome rec center, game rooms, and more. Off campus, you can go see a movie, go to the mall, find some great restaurants, or even travel to Lawrence or Kansas City since they are so close!

    Food and Dining

    There are three main spots on Washburn's campus to dine or grab a snack at. The main cafeteria is located in Memorial Union (Union Market). Every day they offer salad, subs, wraps, cheeseburgers, pasta, pizza, etc. They also have theme nights every Thursday so you can get a change every now and then. Another spot to eat is the Cornerstore, which is also located in Memorial Union. The Cornerstore has everything from cereal to ice cream to smoothies. The last place to grab a coffee or snack is in Mabee Library. Whether you're studying for an exam or just hanging out with friends, having a place like that in the library is great!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Washburn are all very nice. Most freshmen live in the Living Learning Center (LLC). Residents don't have to share a bathroom with their entire hall or worry about walking outside to go eat in the winter. Memorial Union is connected to the LLC by a walkway, making access to the cafeteria, bookstore, and lounge areas extremely easy. You meet so many people just from living in the same building as them. Dorms may be scary, but they are tons of fun and not even close to what you'd expect them to be.

    Academic Rigor

    Helping students learn and actually understand what they're learning is a big focus point at Washburn. Every first year student is required to take the WU101 class to help them get used to campus and help them in getting used to college classes, researching, writing papers, information literacy, and much more. There are tutors available in pretty much every single degree/class. The library has many study rooms, computers, and resources available for all students.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for a school that is big on athletics, different activities/clubs, and focusing on your grades, Washburn is perfect for you! Even though the university is in the middle of the capital city of Kansas, the campus makes you feel like you're in your own town. The campus is beautiful, energetic, and never lacking excitement. The sports teams are competitive every year and there are many different clubs and activities to get involved in. Washburn is a great school and would be perfect for you!

    In three sentences

    Washburn University is a great college for students who are looking for the college experience, but also with smaller classroom sizes. Most bigger schools have classes so big that students don't get one on one time with professors. At Washburn, you have many opportunities to get help from or even just talk with the professors.

  • 09/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    study, join organizations and club

    Food and Dining

    i don't prefer to ear there

    Dorm Life

    no idea

    Academic Rigor

    if you study you will never struggle to get an A.

    Tips for prospective students

    study hard, reed the chapters before class, participate.

    In three sentences

    washburn university is a greet school. the staff is helpful there is small classes which i prefer, every one is friendly, you will have a lot of attention from your professors.

  • 09/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join groups and attend the Rec.

    Food and Dining

    Delicious but very busy during peak lunch hours.

    Dorm Life

    Convienent and economical.

    Academic Rigor

    College is only as hard as you make it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't wait until the last minute to enroll. The best classes fill up fast.

    In three sentences

    A great place to grow. Small classes with one on one instruction. Professors who truely care about their students' success.

  • 09/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe. We have a police station on campus as well as emergency call buttons with intercoms stationed around campus. I have never felt scared or unsafe here at Washburn.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is AMAZING. The sororities and frats are nothing like the ones that are portrayed in movies. Everyone is so helpful and friendly and going greek is how I've met most of my close friends.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities that Washburn offers it's overwhelming. There are things from nursing to religious to walking clubs. It's amazing all the things that are offered here.

    Great for these types of students

    Washburn is great for anyone who comes from a small town. It offers small class sizes yet just enough people around campus to get to know. Washburn is great for ANYONE!

    Bang for the buck

    Washburn is a little pricey however compared to the big universities, it's worth the money. The class sizes are smaller and you get free parking anywhere on campus. Can't beat that!

    What to do for fun

    There's always something going on at Washburn. There are cool restaurants, ice cream shops, shopping, gyms, all kinds of things. We even have our own gym with personal trainers on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is readily available here as well as a convenience shop in the Union. There are many great places just a block or two away from campus. There's also a coffee shop in the library!

    Dorm Life

    I live in the sorority house so I don't know what dorms are like. They're pretty new and I have been in them. The building is pretty!

    Academic Rigor

    Academics is a main focus here at Washburn. It is seen as a school that succeeds. There are tons of clubs and activities that promote academic achievement.

  • 09/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I had an umbrella stolen.

    What to do for fun

    There seem to be all kinds of different activities going on.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend class!

    In three sentences

    It's a nice campus. All my instructors know their stuff. I enjoy it here.

  • 10/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Clubs and organizations offer a lot to do. There are also various speakers, musical performances, and more at the white hall concert center.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask for help and get involved on campus.

    In three sentences

    Washburn is a small school which is helpful for a lot of people since teachers can have 1 on 1 time with students. It is also helpful because you can easily get anywhere you want without walking a long distance. I don't feel obliged to party at Washburn making it easy to study.

  • 12/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Washburn is a very safe campus that has a police station on campus. The police are very nice and will help you retrieve any lose items if needed.

    Clubs and Activities

    Washburn has a large range of clubs including clubs for your major and your common interest. Washburn also has a very good club's office were you could try to start your own club if non of the existing ones fit you.

    Great for these types of students

    Washburn is a great school if you like to have face time with your teacher. Washburn is also a great school that supports diversity.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Washburn takes a lot of pride in there school, and they are very involved with the community. There are lots of events through every year such as Family day.

    Bang for the buck

    Washburn is very affordable compared to other university's.

    What to do for fun

    I love to attend the free theater productions at Washburn. I also love going to the free gams and cheering for my classmates.

    Food and Dining

    Washburn has a very nice commons area where you can grab a quick bite to eat, along with smaller coffee shops were you can get snacks and a drink of choice.

    Dorm Life

    Every one talks about how much they love the dorms. Washburn works very hard to make your dorm your second home.

    Academic Rigor

    All Games are free to attend with a student ID. Washburn also provides free work out classes such as yoga, boxing and others.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will do great in this school if you communicate with your professors, everyone at Washburn university will do there best to help you achieve your goals.

    In three sentences

    Washburn university is a great school. The faculty members are extremely nice and understanding. Everyone I have encountered at Washburn university so far has been very helpful.

  • 12/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is quite safe, there are always campus police patrolling and the Topeka police are always close by. There are also many panic phones and buttons around the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and a lot of cool activities, you can find most of this information on the washburn.edu website.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type!

    Bang for the buck

    Great school, great professors, nice campus, great academics and majors.

    What to do for fun

    Washburn is in Topeka, which isn't a very large city, so there are a few things to do for fun but not a lot. There is a small zoo which is something nice to go to during a warm spring day and then you can go across the parking lot to the park for a picnic. There are a few things to do that have to do with the arts, there are two main fine art galleries and a few other smaller galleries, there are quite a few clubs and bars to go to, there are many typical things to do to entertain yourself such as bowling, miniature golf, arcades, go karts, driving ranges, golf courses, pools, tennis courts, bike courses, and so forth.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria, a corner store in the commons, and a small coffee shop in the library. The food in the cafeteria is just ok, it kind of tastes weird though.

    Dorm Life

    Doesn't apply to me as I live on my own off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses are great and assignments are just right, not to big and hard and not to easy and small.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just apply! The campus is easy to navigate and is very accessible, the only issue there is that there isn't enough parking.

    In three sentences

    Washburn is a great small university. I love the fact that they have small classes, it is a much more intimate learning experience. The professors are great and are easy to talk to.

  • 02/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am involved in greek life on campus and have loved it.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good but it would of been nicer for a bit more variety when living in the dorms.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are nice and dorm staff is very helpful.

    Academic Rigor

    Great Professors!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to get involved, whether it be a sport or greek, everything helps.

    In three sentences

    Washburn is a great school and most all of the teachers are very helpful. Around the campus does have some crime problems for it is close to a bad neighborhood. Overall, Love Washburn and especially their greek life.

  • 03/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are very diverse, there is pretty much any club to fit your personality. The clubs help you be academically successful as well and it gives you a chance to meet new people and life-long friends.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, go to the art museum, visit a few games, or even hang out at the library. There is always something going on here at Washburn.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is phenomenal. They have a select variety and it's affordable as well.

    Dorm Life

    I can't answer this because I do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It's pretty hard to fail a class, you have to really not put any effort into your study to fail. Most professors will do all they can to help you become academically successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're considering a college that's not too big but still had a decent size, choose Washburn. Classes aren't swamped and the professors are always willing to help, plus it's very easy to contact them. All you have to do is show up to class, be prepared to learn, and you'll do great.

    In three sentences

    Washburn University is a great school, anyone can feel like they belong here. It's diverse and the faculty are absolutely great. My first year here has been remarkable.

  • 04/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe! I frequently walk through campus at night and feel perfectly safe. There are campus police, security cameras, and emergency call boxes.

    Bang for the buck

    Washburn is highly affordable! It coast me less than $3,500 a semester being a full time student! Which is fantastic!

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do at Washburn, visit the Mulvane art museum, art lab, rec center (with rock wall!), swimming pool, weekly lectures, music, food, clubs, ect. ect. ect. Just so much to do!

    Food and Dining

    Again, I live at home and eat at home. But they do have lots of food options on campus. They have a little market store where you can conveniently get your daily goods, and they also have a dinner. There are also many vending machines for a quick snack.

    Dorm Life

    I actually live at home. Which is ideal for me and my situation. But I have only heard good news from my friends who stay in the dorms. The rooms are comfortable size and there are lots of comfortable places to study and hang out.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel compelled to learn at Washburn. The classes are challenging but not so stupidly hard that it makes me want to cry, its a really good balance.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! This is the ideal thing to do for any college I'm sure, but Washburn has so many clubs and activities to get involved in. From rugby to pottery making, Washburn has something for you.

    In three sentences

    Washburn is an amazing school! The small size is ideal to learn in, my professors know who I am and I can easily walk from one end of campus to another under 7 minutes. There is also so much opportunities at Washburn, from Greek life, to volunteering, and from clubs to recreation.

  • 05/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the Student Rec center and take a Zumba class with your friends. There are movie nights in Henderson, mixers and cookouts at the Union, and plenty of local restaurants to go out to, too.

    Food and Dining

    The food is a little pricey, but the portions are large enough that it usually doesn't matter. There is a huge variety everyday throughout the day of what to eat, and it's all cooked right in front of you. Very delicious!

    Dorm Life

    I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Much tougher than high school, Washburn makes you really feel like you're in college and treats you like an adult. The classes are challenging, but nothing that can't be managed. Even so, there are tutoring centers around campus and it's easy to contact a professor for help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class. It sounds obvious, but it's easy to fall into a rut and get lazy. Do not do this, no matter how easy or relaxed you think that the class is, it's a bad habit that can hurt your grade.

    In three sentences

    Washburn has been nothing but wonderful so far. My courses my freshman year have been interesting and my professors fun to work with. I love all of on campus events after a long week!

  • 06/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    could be more but there are some good ones

    Great for these types of students

    non-traditional students like myself.

    What to do for fun

    all kinds of things around campus. BOD Talk is a weekly news lwtter sent out to students that includes things going on around campus.

    Food and Dining

    Have some pretty good choices and good food.

    Dorm Life

    I've never lived in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes get harder as you progess throuh the years but this is to be expected.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take Initiative, Washburn will help make your goals happen if you take Initiative.

    In three sentences

    A great place to learn and attend college. Proffesors go out of their way to help with advising and placing students in internship programs. I have nothing but good things to say about Washburn.