Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Washington Adventist University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask your professors for help when you need it. they are here for you and willing to take time out to help you.

    Bang for the buck

    This university is worth every penny that you pay, so dont play around with your educaation .

    Am enjoying being here

    the reason i enjoy being here is the atmosphere is very friendly. The spiritual live is awsome. there are plenty of activies and groups to get involevd in at this school, and it is also very divers.

    Am learning a lot

    here at this school you will have a wonder ful leraning experiance. not just mentally but physcially and spirtually as well.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Its a quaint university that offers the personal and academic experiences that most students seek. They have a variety of activities and organizations, along with a phenomenal staff that will do anything to help. I can't wait for college!!

  • 12/21/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Never let anything or anyone come in your way of achieving your goals

    Bang for the buck

    This college may cost money but take your education seriously because you are bound to go to college, so just stay in school and learn as much as you can.

    Will enjoy being here

    You will enjoy this campus because when you enter, you feel like a different person and you will be ready to take the challenge.

    Academic Rigor

    I don't go to this school, but I see that this school is a very spiritual school where you will learn more God and interact with others. You will learn as much of you can no matter how hard the challenge is. Just make the best of it.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nursing

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are campus security.

    Greek Life

    theta alpha beta

    Clubs and Activities

    theta alpha beta, sports, worship

    Great for these types of students

    this school would be good for students who are seven-day adventist and would like to live in a small environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    seven-day adventist traditions

    Bang for the buck

    there are campus jobs partially available.

    What to do for fun

    worship and singspiration is the major fun events. that's it.

    Food and Dining

    the food happens to be vegetarian food which is very awful. the cafeteria workers are not really kind and there are nets flying around continuously. the food sits out literally all day.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life here is not good at all. the rooms are extremely small and it's always technical difficulties within the building. for instance, the hot water and the electricity.

    Academic Rigor

    the some of the professors work with you and some don't.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you visit your college and be very certain that you want to attend that college before you consider.

    In three sentences

    this university does not give college students the full college experience or college life. it does not give a lot of scholarship money to attend which forces students to take out loans. the school is very unorganized.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you don't like big schools and especially a sea of people this is the school for you.

    Bang for the buck

    One issue I have with this school is the tuition. Since it is private it is about $21,000 in state .

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of activities like chapel, worships, school activities, different groups, fairs, trips, missionary trips etc.

    Food and Dining

    Since it is an Adventist university the food is vegetarian, so meaning no meat.

    Dorm Life

    I can't really say much about the dorm life because i am a commuter student so I wouldn't be one to ask. However my friends on campus say it the dorms aren't bad.

    Academic Rigor

    Overall all it's a great school with a great learning environment. If you want a big school with a big campus and lots of students WAU is not the school for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like a small community than WAU is the school for you, especially if you want a religious based college. But if you're not Adventist don't worry they're are a lot of students who are not Adventist or even christian that attend WAU.

    In three sentences

    It is a private college that has small classes and a small campus, which I love. The professors are nice and caring and pay attention to each of their students. The environment is very friendly and overall it's a great school.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe..campus is safe and area is also safe.Since i have been here, I have never heard anything bad that happens. Takoma park is a great area. We also don't have any violence among the students. It is a small school, so everyone gets along

    Greek Life

    I don't know much about the greek life..A theology major would know much more about that.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have different clubs depends on your majors or what you like to do. We have TNL which is thursday night live. We have Sife which mostly for business majors and others.

    Great for these types of students

    It is good for everyone because it is not christians who need to hear about God. Great education and Christians are a good mixed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have different traditions in this school campus. we have black,asians,white and others. the good news is that all of em get along very well.

    What to do for fun

    Go to see the white house and go to the zoo. you can visit museums and other monuments.

    Food and Dining

    food is vegetarian.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is really fun. boys and girls are in separate dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    this is great to me. classes don't have too much students. it is easy to learn and understanding and ask questions

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a great school if you want to pursue your studies and learning about God at the same time. It is right next to Washington DC. You will be introduced to a lot of new things.

    In three sentences

    It is a good Christian school. It provides the best education possible.The people around me helps me a lot to grow stronger physiclly,mentally, and emotionally.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    since i have been attending this university i have heard of no trouble. the security around the school patrol 24/7.

    Greek Life

    it really cool how the sorority in washington adventist university will be making a come back for the spring 2012 year. and they plan on doing a lot of cool things, which look forward to in the near future.

    Clubs and Activities

    wau is a division ii school which has basketball women and men, soccer women and men, track and field and many other sports.

    What to do for fun

    the campus is small so most thing i do that is fun around the school is support the sport teams and attend the home games.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria for this year was not the best, however they will be making a lot of changes in the area for the fall 2012 year.

    Dorm Life

    community showers are one of the worst things in the world. of course that's just my opinion.

    Academic Rigor

    the professor are very good and willing to work with you. the professor look to better the students and not only themselves.

    Tips for prospective students

    although the school is small it offers a lot. try not to fall behind in your work. and try to attend as many events that goes on around the campus because they're really fun.

    In three sentences

    while attending washington adventist university i feel that i have grown spiritually. i feel that i made the right choice by attending this school, when i chose to expand my education. this is a school where you both grow in education and in the spirit of god.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24/7 Security

    What to do for fun

    Minutes away from Washington DC and other cites in DC Area (all metro accessible). Many SA activities provided and lots of clubs to choose from.

    Food and Dining

    Vegetarian cuisine, buffet style, dessert table, salad bar, ice cream bar, pizza and fries always available

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter student. But many students enjoy the dorm activities and worships the have every night. Curfew depends on age. Community bathrooms. Dorms are NOT CO ED

    Academic Rigor

    Their are special programs such as Honors and also for struggling students. Difficulty of courses varies.

    Tips for prospective students

    For struggling high school students join the Bridge Program (6 weeks long) to get a head start in your education and for incoming students join the Capital Summer program get 3 college credits out of the way in 3 weeks. Register Early.

    In three sentences

    If you are looking for a school that provides diversity, an interactive classroom environment, and leadership opportunities than WAU is the school for you. Gateway to Service is the main motto helping others is important to the WAU community. And it's in the heart of the DC Metropolitan area!

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Fantastically good

    Greek Life

    alpha

    Clubs and Activities

    Soccer clubs , debating clubs and music clubs

    Great for these types of students

    good for both Seventh Day Adventist and non Adventistis

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have never been in a campus thus making it look funny since i have no campus exprience

    Bang for the buck

    Though it is costly you will highly benefit in your studies

    What to do for fun

    Debating and making jokes

    Food and Dining

    Good hygienic and nutritious food offered in clean dinning room

    Dorm Life

    fantastic

    Tips for prospective students

    To prevent an embarasment to studets who would like to visit the university and study since they do not have they the needed information

    In three sentences

    Rich in spritual soul food. Well recognised wolrdwide with grobally recognIsed certificates. Frendly n good enviroment to study in am eagerly waiting to join you very soon.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    adventist and religious affiliations

    Bang for the buck

    expansive for such a small university

    What to do for fun

    church and sports

    Food and Dining

    Horrible vegan food.

    Dorm Life

    They are very old fashion and strict rules.

    Academic Rigor

    Tough but very manageable to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are financially cleared as early as possible.

    In three sentences

    They have a good built curriculum, with a great student-teacher ratio. There are great opportunities for help, and tutoring, Their sports are horrible, and do not compete with others.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The school was undergoing reconstruction in the cafeteria so i couldnt check out the food. But i heard that they dont serve meat, and that might be beneficial for me in the long run.

    Dorm Life

    I visted the WAU campus but the dorms werent available for visiting members so i cant really give my view on that aspect of the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I am very goal oriented when it comes to what i plan on accomplishing. Many of my family members did not earn a college degree, or even attend college , so earning a degree is very important to me. This is why education has always been my first priority in life, although i didnt take it serious in the past, i now know that i must do better, i owe it to my family and i owe it to myself. Washington Adventist University will give me the challenge i need to be a driving force in the nursing cmmunity.

    In three sentences

    Washington Adventist University is a school that will provide me with a promising future. I feel that the campus' atmosphere is filled with great vibes and friendly service. The campus is fairly small so i will be able to get around easily and visiting made me really excited to attend in the fall.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    who are interested in liberal arts

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    cross street to go to your building

    What to do for fun

    hours are flexible

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good

    Dorm Life

    Not living at dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    Save money

    In three sentences

    So far the staff is very generous and helpful. I know this school is very expensive but at the end it may be worth it. I hope to enjoy my freshman year.

  • 10/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security make daily rounds during the day and at night to ensure safety

    Greek Life

    There's no sorority or fraternity

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The college is Seventh Day Adventist, and there's devotions, vegetarian food and an Adventist church on campus. I'm not saying that college students don't have a spiritual life or they are not Adventist; its just rare to find an Adventist college with a different lifestyle and diverse

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is very expensive, and i would advise the student to work hard because a lot of momey is being spent

    What to do for fun

    there are game nights, movie nights, gymnastics, basketballs games, and trips taken by the school

    Food and Dining

    The food is actually different because its vegetarian, and some students may have to adjust to a different choice of food

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are separate; there's a boys dorm and a girls dorm. Usually everyone gets along well with their roommate and their neighbors

    Academic Rigor

    With hard work and dedication, and the help of dedicated teachers, students can be successful

    Tips for prospective students

    study hard, stay focus, be your own leader

    In three sentences

    Its small and diverse university that has a lot to offer to its students. Students can get the help they seek from professors and advisors. I must say its a friendly and welcoming environment

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have 24/7 security and the staff actually interact with students. They are not just people in uniform but they care about our safety very much.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for just about anything. Also as a student if you have any ideas do not be afraid to talk to Student Life about other clubs that you feel that they should add.

    What to do for fun

    We are very close to D.C so there are so many things to do. You can go to free museums, concerts, galleries and more. Visiting the capital is always fun and there is always something to do. You can also go to Downtown Silver Spring and watch a movie or go out with friends to eat.

    Food and Dining

    It is cafe food but the staff do serve an all vegetarian diet. They have have good meals and are open to hearing any suggestions that you may have about new ideas.

    Dorm Life

    Its not the school's fault that some students do not know how to clean after themselves but the school does make sure to keep everything up to par. The girls are nice and its easy to find a niche.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are here to help you and because they want the best for you will make sure to push you. They do not appreciate slackers and will make sure to talk to you if they are noticing a lack of effort on your part.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask your teachers for help when you need it. Find a mentor as soon as you get to school. Do not procrastinate, and take every chance to get extra credit.

    In three sentences

    My school is student friendly. The professors, and staff truly care about each student. As a student I feel appreciated and not just a number.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police are on campus all day and night.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    African club Pre-med club music club nursing club

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Washington Adventist hospital

    What to do for fun

    Acrosports/ Gymnastics

    Food and Dining

    Great!!!

    Dorm Life

    Can be challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Whatever you do, do with all of your soul.

    In three sentences

    An amazing experience!

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The University has many sports teams and clubs, sorority and fraternity organizations and there is always some game night or movie night happening on campus. There will always be plenty to do on campus and remember we are right next door to D.C. There will always be entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    The University promotes a vegetarian diet because it is an Adventist college. The food is good, but there are also restaurants and food places very close to campus, if you're willing to spend the money.

    Dorm Life

    I have visited the campus many times and i haven't experienced actually living in them yet because i won't be attending until August 2013, but from what I have experienced, the dorms are nice, comfortable and fairly spacious. Dorm life is what you make of it and if you are a social person, you'll find the people you live with are like your family and you guys become a community.

    Academic Rigor

    The University has several different career programs and all of them have a specific work load geared to help ensure definite success in your chosen field. The education you receive at WAU is one that will guarantee you are qualified for any path you intend to take, but like any school your success is only guaranteed if you focus and put the time and effort in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students who are looking to attend this school should keep in mind that the professors and administrators are there to help and they shouldn't be afraid to ask for help and guidance. Also, prospective students should get involved, there are tons of clubs and activities and by joining them, they get a chance to meet new people.

    In three sentences

    The campus is very small, but intimate so it allows you to get to know your professors and classmates. There are plenty of resources that help with maintaining grades and establishing relationships, such as the student resources center and the student success center. Finally, because of its religious affiliation, students can be sure they will be receiving positive values and morals that will take them far in life.

  • 08/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have an 11 o'clock curfew and after that they lock the doors but we have security everywhere.

    Greek Life

    we're a seventh day adventist church there is no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are multiple clubs and activities you can sign up for. I joined the choir acrobats and the praise dance group.

    Great for these types of students

    students who like quiet and small campuses this is cool for you.

    What to do for fun

    My friends and i always go downtown thats where all the fun is at.

    Food and Dining

    this is a sometimes. This school is strictly vegetarian so no meat and you cant bring it in the cafe.

    Dorm Life

    Make the right friends and you'll have blast in the dorms. The opposite sex can't come into your room though but the dorms are very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    I havent started classes yet but i know over here they do not play at all!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make financial aid your home because they play around!! If you want to have fun you'll have fun trust me but stay focused and positive.

    In three sentences

    Washington Adventist University is a very diverse school. The people here are friendly. It's also a small school so you'll know the campus fast.