Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Washington College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/08/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone you wants to know everyone on campus, eventually you will no longer see an unfamiliar face. Chestertown is small so anyone who likes a small town, close-knit community feel, Washington College is perfect. Also those you plan to major in political science or international studies there is a very strong program. This was the reason I came to Washington college. All the internships available in every field are amazing and give you a great foot in the door to opportunities after college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school. When you come to visit make sure you request to sit in on a class you might be interested in. Ask to meet with a professor in the field you are interested in. This may help you narrow down your decision. Also please ask anyone you see on campus if you have a question, any question about the school. We love to talk to prospective students after all we want you there. Also when you visit allow time to go in town and see places like the coffee shop or the pier. Getting off campus can give you better feel of the place you will live in and not just the pretty places you see on the campus tour.

    Bang for the buck

    Washington College certainly is not cheap, but I feel that if I had attended a larger, possibly cheaper school, I would not have all the personal interaction I have at Washington. My professors know me which is a great feeling. I can go up to one of my professors in the dining hall and ask him a question and I get an immediate answer. They always have office hours when you need to go talk to them or if you send them an email they reply in no time at all. Washington College may cost a little more than some private schools, but I wouldn't give up my close relationships with the faculty and staff for any other school.

    Am enjoying being here

    Washington College is located in Chestertown, Maryland which is a very small town located in a very rural area. However, I never once have felt that way on campus. There is always something going on. The town it's located in has a lot of historical significance and has many neat things to offer. It is located on the Chester river and there are four beaches within 20 minutes of the school. On the weekends many students often go to Annapolis or Dover which are only an hour away. Washington College provides a shuttle service to Philadelphia, Annapolis, BWI Airport and several other locations so having a car is not necessary. Honestly there is no reason to leave campus, everything you need is here.

    Am learning a lot

    Attending Washington College has taught me more than I ever thought it could and not just in the classroom. First, the professors are always there to help. It is very easy to meet with them if you have a question, concern or just want to chat. They know you by first and last name and they do notice when you aren't in class. Many world renowned guests and speakers have come to Washington College and anyone can go to these events free of charge. Just in my first semester we had a professor from Oxford come to speak on religion in politics, John Harwood (a well acclaimed journalist), and the prime minister of Bulgaria came to deliver speeches to the students. The opportunities available on campus to further your education are endless!

  • 03/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Washington College is really great for students who are looking for a small school in a rural area. It is great for students looking to really study in anything. WC has a vast majority of majors that might interest you.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a small school that has great a great student/teacher ratio Washington College is a great school for that. WC being a liberal arts college are able not only take classes for you intended major, but also classes that you are interested in. Also, who knows you might find something that you are more interested in and decided to study that. I am sure you will not only love the scenery and the school; the people here are very friendly and easy to get along with. If you are interested in looking at Washington College do not just take my word for it. I highly recommend that you schedule a visit or come to one of our open houses.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a private school that does not receive the same amount of funding if any like the big state schools, Washington College does have quite a tuition fee. Paying that tuition gives you access to so many resources right at your disposal. There are Writing Centers and Math Centers that will help you with anything you need for that class. Also have many workshops that will teach you study and test taking skills. Also, what WC offers that some other college do not offer are labs. If you are interested in studying a science you will get to have hands on experiences with experiments based on the content you are learning in that class. The benefits also at WC are that the teachers are very accessible and have more access to one on one conversations with them. All of my teachers know me and mostly everyone in my class by name. You can not get that type of student/teacher relationship in other big schools. Washington College is definitely worth the expense.

    Am enjoying being here

    You will enjoy being here at Washington College. There are so many activities and clubs that you can get involved with. WC is conveniently located near the Chester River, and we have a boat house on the river bank. You can go rent a kayak from the boat house, and go out on the river and enjoy the beautiful scenery. Also, if you like to fish you can go out take you fishing pole and fish, and Chestertown being such a small town you will be rarely disturbed with loud noises, that would scar away the fish. There are truly so many activities you can do to have fun here. You would actually have to try really hard to be bored for an extensive amount time here.

    Am learning a lot

    Washington College is a small liberal arts college in Chestertown, Maryland. Since enrolling to WC i have learned a substantial amount of new things. Since being a liberal arts college WC encourages you to try classes that you might not think about taking. My first semester I took a fine arts class called Beginning Drawing. I first thought to take this class to fulfill a requirement, but i realized how much I really like drawing. I learned many new skills to improve my drawings and they brought my drawings to a whole new level. I now still draw in my spare time even though I am not taking that class anymore.

  • 04/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want an intellectual challenge should come here. There is always something academically stimulating happening on campus and you will not be sorry that you chose to come here. Make sure that you are prepared for the work load though. College is way different from high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    The admissions department here is very helpful and wants you to choose here. Make sure that you go for an admission interview. It is a great way to talk to school and show that you are truly interested. Also, go on every tour that is offered to you. It is a great way to see the entire campus and when you come here you will already know your way around!

    Bang for the buck

    Sometimes I feel that the tuition here is a little high but the school does have a lot of scholarship opportunities for most people. There are always new facilities being built and our Birthday Ball dance this year was absolutely fantastic.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere here is wonderful and dorm life is great. Your dorm really will become your home away from home. Everyone is friendly and we have a very tight-knit community here. There is never a lack of something today from greek organizations to student government, from sporting events to movie nights in the student center. There is also the town and water front 5 minutes away that are great to walk to and spend the afternoon.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning so much here. In my chemistry and biology classes there so many interesting things about how the body works and how chemical reactions influence almost every aspect of our lives. As a premed student I know that what I an learning at Washington College is going to help me enter medical school successfully. The professors are always available to talk about class and are very engaging and genuinely what every student to succeed.

  • 05/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Washington College is a great place for students who still want that sense of family. It is not a big campus, so it allows you to have a closer relationship with your peers. This college is also great for students who are serious about their studies and their grades. Students who want a small teacher- student ratio will also love this school because teachers see you as you versus seeing you as a number at a larger school. My biology class had about 65-70 students, and my professor knew everyone's name and made and effort to interact with everyone in the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best thing to do is visit the campus. Find out everything you need to know about the school, the area, and everything in between. College life is a big transition from high school, so I would recommend listening to the peer mentors and taking their programs seriously. In terms of education, I recommend that even though you have a lot of time, procrastination can be your worst nightmare! You don't want to wait the night before to write a paper, or study, when it was given two weeks before. My final tip is to just have fun, relax (try not to stress too much), and don't be afraid to talk to teachers or use other extended sources (ie Math Center) if you need help!

    Bang for the buck

    Washington College is on the pricey side, but the education you will receive is worth it. Every Professor has office hours to help and if you cant make it, they are very flexible, by trying to work around your schedule. There is also the Math and Writing Center, Office of Academic Skills, tutoring, etc. Even though it is pricey, the amount of financial aid given to students who qualify, can really help take the financial burden off your shoulder.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is always something to do on campus. Whether its a party, studying, or just hanging out with friends. Now I must admit, it is a different environment from the city life that I'm used to, but you really start to love it. I love it here because you don't always have to go to a party every weekend. Hodson Hall hosts parties mostly every weekend and they are always alcohol-free. Hodson is also the home of karaoke night, talent show and other fun events. If you feel like watching a movie, SGA sets up movies on the campus green, or inside the student center if its a rainy day. These are just some of the exciting activities offered by our peers.

    Am learning a lot

    Washington College has a great academic system. The professors that I had so far, really made an effort to get to know each student. Each professor is passionate about what their teaching and making sure that we understand the concepts completely. My calculus teacher said that teaching a student the concept of calculus is worth more than a six figure salary I once had. That is the passion that these professors possess, to them its not just teaching, its knowing that they made a difference in someones life.

  • 06/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Washington College is great for students who enjoy a tight-knit community. Everyone knows everyone so if you are okay with everyone knowing who you are and what you are involved in then this is the school for you! It is also great for students who like to get involved. There are many great opportunites and it is very easy to do. It is also a good place for students who enjoy a little piece and quiet. It is a small community and in a very rural area.

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Scholarship Money- Make sure you try to get the most money you can with scholarships once you are accepted. It is the only time they will budge. When I was accepted and received my scholarship I informed them of a higher scholarship an equivalent school was offering me and they offered to match it, so make sure you look into that as well. 2) Overnight Visit!-If you can find someone who already attends the school to give you an overnight visit, do it! Doing an overnight is the only way to really see if you are a good fit for the school. 3) Visit on a Non-Open House Day- Visiting a school when they are not expecting you is the best way to get a sense of the campus atmosphere. Washington College, like most schools puts on a really good show for Open House. They serve the best food, have activities for prospective students as well as for current students. Go and walk around the campus on a random Saturday. This way you will see just how active the campus really is on a normal day. 4) Eat a meal in the Dining hall on a Non-Open House Day- Open house always have the best food, heck, even the students look forward to that day. By going on a regular day you can really see what the food will be like everyday. 5) Remember that they are the ones making the money. Let them sell the school to you. If their not putting forth the effort to make you REALLY want to come to Washington College then don't waste your time. Just remember, they are putting their best effort forward when they see you as potential income. If they are not putting the effort into now, they probably never will.

    Bang for the buck

    While there are many great activities and opportunities at Washington College, it is one of the more expensive schools. The three years I have been there the tuition has gone up by almost $5,000. These increases are usually percent increases. Also, the scholarships you are awarded are monetary and are not percentages, so while your tuition goes up, your scholarship does not. The school is not very understanding of this and the financial aid office will NOT budge, so don't even try. This is probably my main issue with Washington College. It is a great school, but when it comes to easing the burden of tuition they certainly do not look out for the individual student. They are all about the Benjamin's!

    Am enjoying being here

    The Washington College community as a whole is very friendly. It is pretty easy to become familiar with a large portion of the campus. Also, it is very easy to get involved. There are many clubs to become involved with from SGA and Student Events Board (SEB) to the Psychology and Anthropology club. It is very easy to find your niche on this campus. The student events board does an excellent job putting on events that keep the students busy. There are events anywhere from concerts and comedians to foam dance parties and game shows. Not only are there activities available on campus but off campus as well. The school is located in rural Chestertown, MD. This unique location offers some interesting activities such as the farmer's market every Saturday morning and the Taste of the Town which occurs twice a year. The water is also a short walk from campus and the park offers wonderful views of the river.

    Am learning a lot

    Washington College offers many opportunities to take your learning a step farther. Being that it is such a small community (just over 1,200 students) there is plenty of opportunity for one-on-one time with the professors. If you need help with a certain subject, or want to take the classes subject a step father, the professors are always available to meet with you. Classes are great and very interactive. The normal class size is fifteen students which leaves a lot of room for in class discussion. This definitely adds to the learning experience. Also, there are multiple opportunities to take your learning outside the classroom through 2 week trips to China in the Business Department, a fifteen day trip to Tanzania which is open to all majors or a ten day study experience in Oxford. These are just some of the many opportunities at Washington College which can expand your learning experience.

  • 07/28/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Passionate, Thrill seeking, and Hard working students!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your licenses before coming to WAC because its hard to get around town without a car.

  • 01/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a small campus, but we have blue lanterns along major paths. Anyone living in town can ride the bus, or walk through paths that are always lit. Safe Ride works on weekend nights, and you just call it for a ride home, no matter your condition.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lacrosse is huge! There's no football, but there's basket ball and all other sports. Crew and field hockey are really esteemed. Clubs include language groups, EROS, Student Environmental Alliance and many others that reach out to the community.

    Great for these types of students

    It's a liberal arts school, and there's lots of English majors. All environmental studies programs are based on the Chesapeake Bay because it's right in the middle of the Chester River, so we're bound to local roots.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We celebrate George Washington's birthday ever February with our Birthday Ball; a huge dance.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a way expensive school, so know that this is where you want to go, or you may waste a semester hating it. Know that it's small, and in a rural area so that you don't get here and complain about being bored.

    What to do for fun

    We're right on the water front, and have a boating house where you can rent boats and kayaks. Lacrosse is a huge sport, but there's plenty of other teams to join too. Restaurants are located around town, which is a short walk. There's a lot of school sponsored dances and open mics. Cars are allowed on campus, so cities like Annapolis and Baltimore aren't that far of a drive.

    Food and Dining

    Most everything is local or organic. There's always some form of chicken - it gets boring. Usually there's a vegetarian option, but it doesn't always look appetizing. The Cove under the cafeteria is awesome, and thankfully, open late. There's places to eat around town also (both chains and mom-pop type places).

    Dorm Life

    Each resident hall varies greatly. The substance free dorm is very quite. The themed houses are full of interesting people; it's easy to be friends with them all.

    Academic Rigor

    Small class sizes really gives your professor time to know . Don't underestimate their will to seriously challenge you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to take advantage of the size! Campus is small, it's easy to get around. Everyone feels so close, bonds are easily made.

    In three sentences

    The small knit community feel is fantastic. It's really easy to connect with fellow students and professors. Even though it's a small campus, it's all beautiful.

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is not that bad for a college dining hall. There are choices daily between sandwiches, pizza, salad and more. For after-hours dining, there are four locations which offer a variety of different types of food.

    Dorm Life

    There are a variety of different living spaces available for students however, room draw is suspenseful. If you are a rising freshman, do not expect to get the best housing for your sophomore year. In my opinion, they need to add more housing.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel challenged here and I know that I am learning lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should apply for as many scholarships as possible. Although the school may offer a substantial amount of financial aid, the tuition is rising year by year.

    In three sentences

    Washington College is a great small school that allows students to thrive. The college provides a comfortable environment with well educated and experienced professors. It offers a great variety of majors and help along the way.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our public safety officers do a good job of keeping us safe and informed.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and activities offered, you just have to get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Washington College is great for studious young adults who have a lust for knowledge. It is also good for student athletes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every May first we have a mayday celebration on the campus green...but I don't want to give too much away.

    Bang for the buck

    It's pretty expensive but the education is mostly worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Since the college is located in a small town, fun is found by most in the form of parties, however there are plenty of places to dine off campus, a bowling alley, and the fraternities host dance parties which are fun for everyone! The annual Birthday Ball is also a fun attraction.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good--especially compared to what I hear about other schools. I never go hungry!

    Dorm Life

    Some of the dorms are nicer than others but overall I feel safe and comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Washington are rigorous but not impossible as long as you are willing to put in the time and effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved on campus as much as you can. It will make your college experience more fun.

    In three sentences

    Washington College has as excellent academic program with small class size. Professors make themselves available to help outside of the classroom and there is a variety of other offices available for outside help to improve writing and other skills. The campus is small and quaint providing a fabulous environment for studying.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Washington College takes their safety very seriously, if there are any problems that students have they may call public safety (the number is given to prospective students at orientation every year). There is also a program called safe ride (this number is also given every year in addition to public safety). Safe ride will pick up any student from off campus to bring them back on the weekend. This is the perfect number to dial if you and your friends came from an off campus party but do not want to walk back. For your safety, safe ride will pick you and your friends up and bring you all back to school, no questions asked.

    Greek Life

    There are 3 fraternities and 3 sororities that I know about. However, I do not know enough about the Greek life to comment about it. I will say that the people in Greek life seem to be cool.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a variety of clubs and activities for students to participate in. Black Student Union, Hillel, Dance Club, Musicians Union, Rugby Club, Lacrosse club, Video game club, etc. There is a club fair at the beginning of every year for new students to see all of the interesting clubs to join.

    What to do for fun

    There is a small movie theater that is 10 minutes off campus and there are some good places to eat off campus as well. On campus there are always interesting events that people can go to with their friends, meet new people and have fun.

    Food and Dining

    Pizza and salad are items that are always available in the dining hall, and there are other food items (fries, hamburgers, chicken, vegetables, etc.) The food is not always great, but it is all you can eat and if you don't like the dining hall food then you can always eat at the fast food restaurants downstairs.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms I have lived in have been okay, but nothing special. People can have fun, but they must be careful not to have too much fun. The RA's are very helpful if you have any problems with roommate(s) or other issues with your dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    This school can be very stressful academically. Each class is about 4 credits each so the work is challenging. Procrastination is a common problem for most students, but it is important not to fall behind. Work ahead, and reduce the stress on yourself in the long run. One more thing I have to say is to think about your capstone experience (senior thesis) that you will have to do in your senior year. Luckily there will be advisors to help you complete your thesis. Since the work is challenging, professors are willing to help you but you must be responsible enough to ask for it.

    Tips for prospective students

    School comes first. This school is very expensive so you want to make sure you apply for many scholarships and grants, and also to get good grades so that you won't waste thousands of dollars. I would suggest that you visit the financial aid office early and often to apply for more grants and scholarships while you are in school.

    In three sentences

    If you like a small school located in a small town, this school is for you. Academically, there is a small class size so you can receive individual attention from professors. There is also a variety of activities for people to participate in.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe, I am never afraid to walk by myself. It could be pitch-black and extremely late I would feel 100% safe. We do have public safety always on call and they are always on duty to make sure all students are safe. As long as you respect public safety, they will respect you and we all get along just fine.

    Greek Life

    We have Greek Life and it is a big part of the campus. I personally do not know too much about it because I never joined. I do know that the people who did join love it and never regret their decision.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are an unlimited amount of clubs here at Washington College. Basically if you want a club for any activity we have it, for example: Trap and Skeet, Wilderness, Psychology, Best Buddies. There is no reason for a student to be bored, there is a club for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    A student who does not need to live their life in a city would fit in perfectly here since the college is surrounded by corn fields. Students who attend this college must be driven to get the best grades possible.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Due to the fact that George Washington gave the college money and the college was named after him, we celebrate his birthday by having a Birthday Ball in February. It is very formal and elegant. Professors and students participate and new students should experience this tradition. It is the biggest event of the year.

    Bang for the buck

    We have two events that are very important for all the students: War on the Shore and May Day. When attending the college the students will learn more about them, but these are two events that you would not want to miss.

    What to do for fun

    Since the college is in a rural community there is not much too do, there is a movie theater which is very cheap. The college is very close to the water so fishing is always relaxing and rewarding. The college will host events that are entertaining at least once a month.

    Food and Dining

    The dinning hall is new so it looks amazing the only thing is it can get very crowded during prime eating hours, it will clear out fairly quickly though. The food is very good, and there are many options. However, it seems like sometimes you have the same options week after week.

    Dorm Life

    Even if you live in the old, run down rooms, dorm life is amazing. Due to the fact that the campus is so small you will be very close with everyone on the hall and even those in other dorms. I personally slept in my dorm, but stayed in my friend's dorm 24/7.

    Academic Rigor

    Some professors will give a lot of work and it can be very tedious and strenuous. Other professors will not give nearly as much work, either way a student must work as hard as possible to keep up their GPA.

    Tips for prospective students

    A student should never be afraid to ask for help; the moment he or she feels like they are falling behind just ask or go find a tutor. Professors and peers are always willing to help others so do not hesitate. Also speak up in class and around campus, because it is so small you will know everyone with in a week or two, so you will need to talk.

    In three sentences

    Washington College is the perfect college for a student who is looking for a small, close-knit community. Professors and peers truly care and help one another strive for their greatest accomplishments. However, a person who is accustomed to an urban life-style may have trouble getting adjusted to the rural, small town atmosphere in Chestertown.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe

    Greek Life

    30% is Greek

    Clubs and Activities

    over 90+ clubs organized. starting a club is very easy

    Great for these types of students

    Students who: play Lacrosse international studies politics business economics

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    May day is a VERY unusual tradition where students on campus get naked and congregate on midnight of May1st and the following night.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive. But financial aid is easy to obtain.

    What to do for fun

    Small town, but the Chester River holds much to do. School offers shuttles every weekend to Baltimore and Annapolis. Easy access to Philly, Baltimore, and Annapolis.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great. No middle man meal company. Real chefs prepare fresh food right in front of you.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are either brand new, 5 years old, or recently renovated.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are awesome. Professors are always open to help. I have never experienced a bad professor. There are a lot of athletes so GPA isn't always everything.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't mind a small town than this school is very colonial and picture perfect. I see the President of the school almost every day and even eat lunch with him.

    In three sentences

    Wonderful school for academics. The professors are amazing and the class sizes are small and intimate. Small school, only around 1,300.

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many events on campus, not including parties on weekends. The college regularly brings in live entertainment among other things such as campus-wide events and fraternity/sorority sponsored events.

    Food and Dining

    They just rebuilt the dining hall, and it's beautiful. Every meal is an all you can eat buffet and the food is good (most of the time). Meal plans are affordable.

    Dorm Life

    There are so many things to do on campus that you're hardly in your dorm, but when you are things are usually grand. Just get along with your roomate and things should go well.

    Academic Rigor

    Very intense academic program in all areas, and they're going to make it even more rigorous. Don't come to this school if you're not ready to work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you get as much financial aid as you possibly can, it's a very expensive school. Other than that, be active and do well in high school. They rate on the same things as other colleges.

    In three sentences

    Washington College is a fun, clean, interesting place to attend. The professor/student ratio allows for almost personalized classes. Overall, a wonderful school.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Sure, you may trip every now and then, but we don't have to worry about the more serious safety concerns (as I'm sure is the case with even those taking their walks of shame before the crack of dawn).

    Greek Life

    Never a dull moment?? From what I hear though, Greek life has become an incredible way to get connected on campus and to help students later in life as well. Don't let yourself be bound by petty stereotypes.

    Clubs and Activities

    We've got a wide range of clubs: from Fakespeare, to language clubs, to Asian Culture club, to a club for video gamers, to community service clubs, to sports clubs; and if there is a club you are interested that WAC does not have yet, you can always start one (it's not impossible- we started the Gamers Guild for those who enjoy video games).

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student you are- artsy, athletic, academic- there is something here for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    May Day... you'll just have to see it for yourself.

    Bang for the buck

    I really can't complain. WAC has helped me to enjoy college life.

    What to do for fun

    Personally, I enjoy the Student Center since they have the latest game systems and games. More often than not, I also have friends over in my room to watch anime, movies, or play video games- life's not bad. But if that's not your thing, WAC always has events going on, on campus. There's even Open Mike Night, and we've got plenty of clubs. And in case you don't check your e-mails, there's a huge calendar in Hodson (that's where our cafeteria is) that shows what's going on.

    Food and Dining

    Hey, it is infinitely better than high school cafeteria food. Mondos Subs are amazing, by the way.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is what you make it. If you allow yourself, you can have the best experience ever, and meet some incredible people who may become treasured friends.

    Academic Rigor

    You give what you get- if you do not want to take your classes seriously, then do not be surprised when your grades are not where you want them to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    You do not have to have a major in mind already (one of the pluses WAC has for being a liberal arts college). Take a wide range of classes (not 20 classes, but different types of classes) your first year so that you can experience more than the usual courses that you did in high school. Also, your professors and advisors are there for you, so don't be afraid to go to them.

    In three sentences

    WAC truly cares for its students. Despite the small size, a student can find programs that suit their interests. The professors also go out of their way and make it their top priority to help the students in any way that they can.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is extremely safe, with 24 hour public safety monitoring the interior and perimeter who are willing to respond to any call, no matter how trivial. Public Safety also provides rides to students who are uncomfortable walking back to their dorms in the dark, and a campus shuttle to the apartments subleased by the college.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is only a small portion of campus life, but for anyone looking for a special bond with a close knit group of people, Greek is the way to go. Greek life is also responsible for a large number of on-campus activities open to all students.

    Clubs and Activities

    Washington College offers any and all kinds of Division III sports for those willing to put in the hard work and dedication. For people looking for something a little less intense, a wide variety of intramural sports are offered as well. Clubs are always more than happy to accept new members and plan fun activities for those not involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Washington College is great for students who are looking for an intimate class setting, where class size rarely exceeds over 25 people. It is also for students who look forward to seeing familiar faces around every corner.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year, the college hosts Birthday Ball a themed dance in honor of George Washington's birthday in February. The athletic center is richly decorated and the dance is popular among students and alumni. Past themes include Alice in Wonderland, The Great Gatsby, and the Wizard of Oz.

    Bang for the buck

    Although the price for a private college is high, the experience and education a graduate leaves with cannot be replaced or achieved by a larger school. Administrative staff and professors are always ready to help students and often cultivate a personal relationship, which can be helpful when working on a thesis or applying for jobs as a post-grad.

    What to do for fun

    The school offers lots of weekend activities for students looking for something to do whether it be Open Mic Night, a 90s themed dance party, concerts, or school sporting events. The town also has several locally owned shops and restaurants who welcome students.

    Food and Dining

    The recently constructed dining hall asks for and listens to student feedback and improves every year. It has many gluten-free options and always has a vegetarian option at every mean. Staff are friendly and ready to answer students' questions about prepared foods.

    Dorm Life

    Upperclassmen dorms are suite-style and offer more privacy, but freshman dorms facilitate lasting friendships and a more typical college living experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are very important at Washington College. Professors work their hardest to make sure each has what he or she needs to do his or her best in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try your hardest to get involved. Most friends are made just by joining a club or a sports team. And if any club is not already formed or any sport not already offered, take a chance to start an activity by yourself.

    In three sentences

    Washington College offers a fun and friendly learning environment and encourages growth in every possible area from language skills to computer skills. Staff and professors know students on a personal level and are always more than happy to answer any questions asked.

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always there when you need them! Always on time! They understand college kids are going to be college kids. But they also understand that safety is first within every endeavor.

    Greek Life

    There are only three sororities and five fraternities. Greek life is only about 36 percent of the campus. However, most sisters and brothers are involved in many other clubs and activities which makes it so great. I recommend that everyone rushes!

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everyone!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a well rounded education. Students who want knowledge in all fields of education. Washington College is known for their business and psychology programs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At Washington College, to celebrate the last day of classes before Spring finals all the students gather on the hill; when the clock strikes midnight, everyone takes off their clothing and takes a naked lap around the science building. This event is called May Day as it is celebrated on May 1st.

    Bang for the buck

    Washington College is a liberal arts private school and therefore is very expensive however, knowing your getting an education from Washington College is a reward within itself.

    What to do for fun

    There are endless things to do for fun. There are always fun things happening on campus: movies, concerts, comedy, karaoke, and more. The best way to have fun is to get involved. The town of Chestertown is also so beautiful during the fall and spring. The town has many adorable boutiques and eateries.

    Food and Dining

    Washington College does not have many choices available outside of the main dining hall. However, the food is good.

    Dorm Life

    All freshman and sophomores must live on campus. Dorm life is so great that most juniors and seniors stay on campus, too. I've met my best friends because of the dorms. The dorms on campus also hold so much history inside them!

    Academic Rigor

    Washington College provides you with an extraordinary education, but one that the students must work towards.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all that Washington College has to offer, get involved in as many clubs, functions, and groups as possible, and never be afraid to meet with professors during office hours.

    In three sentences

    Washington College is a well rounded close knit and successful institute. The college provides the students with many resources and opportunities. The small class size really ensures a positive and long lasting learning environment.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You need something and public safety will be there before you know it.

    Greek Life

    There are 3 sororities and 4 fraternities that treat each other and everyone else like family. They do a great job of raising money for their philanthropy, and they always have fun activities going on.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are more clubs than you could imagine for a school as small as this one.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that would get lost in a crowd of people should come to Washington College. The professors will know you by name and be able to help you with exactly what you need help with.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One unusual tradition is May Day where the students take off their clothes and run around the flag pole on the campus green.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a very expensive school, but you are getting what you pay for. The staff at this college easily surpasses every other school with their dedication to the school and the students. One on one work with students is often used, and there are on campus tutors that will help with whatever subject you need.

    What to do for fun

    Campus activities are always taking place. Many intramural sports teams going on throughout the year. Clubs are always having fundraisers and other activities.

    Food and Dining

    Delicious food and friendly workers. Always a wide variety to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are close to the academic buildings. Buildings are clean. Some buildings have dorm activities.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses will challenge you, but with the help of the staff each student should be able to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit the school. Sit in on classes and meet some of the professors. Talk to students and let them tell you what their favorite thing about the school is.

    In three sentences

    Washington College is a small, friendly campus. One on one work with the professors provides a helpful learning environment. The dedicated, knowledgeable staff make this college one of the best.

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is something to do every day and night from bingo to video games to movie nights and dance parties.

    Food and Dining

    Everyday there is a huge variety of food options from which to choose.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a nice size and always clean.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors push you to do the best you can and be the best person you can be as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and communicate with your professors to be as successful as you can.

    In three sentences

    Washington College is a wonderful and enjoyable place to learn. It is a small and intimate community where you can find support all around you. It is the perfect place to be.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    19 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is really good and you will feel safe working around at night.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is mostly academic and focuses on Community service that are quite interesting and very fun to participate in.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have different clubs that are interesting and if you would like to create one it is easy.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for student who just want to focus on their education and for Biology majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a tradition in celebrating the birthday of George Washington. This event is every fun and you could meet people and they put lots of time and effort in making it perfect.

    Bang for the buck

    They are very generous when it comes to Financial aid so don't be scared to talk to them.

    What to do for fun

    For fun you could go to the Annapolis,take the shuttle to closest station and visit DC or places in Maryland. Go to town, but its not that fun more than once.

    Food and Dining

    Their food is above average,sometime their choice of food is really good and they like to try something new once in a while.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is not the best if you are used to a busy surrounding .for the town is isolated and in order for you to have fun you need some kind of transportation,preferably a car.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic is good and its easy to work with the teacher

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a student looking for fun in college and searching for diversity I would say this is NOT the school for you. The diversity rate is way low than they claim. If you are interested in studying abroad they have a great program.

    In three sentences

    Washington College have some very Good professors who care about your grade and what you understand.They work with the student on their one on one time.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    20 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safe! Even though I know I should not have, I have walked around campus all by myself at all times of night and walked downtown to rent a movie from a redbox and no one bothered me. Chestertown is very safe, especially since it is full of a bunch of old people and farmers.

    Great for these types of students

    Party-ers, Leaders, People with cars so that they can leave whenever

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mayday: drunken people gather around the flagpole at midnight naked (fully or half, depending on the person) Birthday Ball: celebrates George Washington's birthday; most extravagant event of the year where people gather to party

    Bang for the buck

    The school is worth more that its cost, which is so low (after financial aid) mostly because its location in the middle of nowhere.

    What to do for fun

    There is very little to do in town, so join an organization, or attend a party sponsored by the school.

    Food and Dining

    Hodson's all you can eat can get old fast, so do not start off eating ever single meal there. Try taking out down stairs at Mondo's Subs (Subway) or Martha's Kitchen. There is a lot of food options only a couple of blocks down from the campus, such as McDonalds, Pizza Hut, Taco Bell/KFC, etc.

    Dorm Life

    80 percent of the students are disgusting and are not considerate of their neighbors and leave the bathrooms filthy (the girls more so than guys, shocking?) The campus is a dripping wet campus, so if you are not the drinking type, it is best that you leave during weekends if you do not feel like hearing loud drunken people in the hallways. If you want to live in a nice environment, choice either Chester or Sassafras (the only bad thing about them is that you cant control the temperature like in other dorms).

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor depends completely on the professor. If more than one professor teaches a course (such as Macroeconomics, English 101)there will only be one or two brilliant professors that teach at an advanced level that will both challenge and strengthen your skills as a college student and the other professors will be super easy and not aid your growth and are more for students taking that course just to fulfill a requirement and not to actually learn the subject thoroughly. If only one professor teaches a course, they are usually somewhere in between and are just good.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are in search of a diverse, warm, and supportive community, Washington College is not for you. Also, its location is not the best being surrounded by corn fields and a river if you are looking for nearby internship opportunities or even an off campus job. But, if the aforementioned items do not particularly affect you, just be sure to talk with professors personally before the drop/add period is over to analyze if they will be able to help you academically.

    In three sentences

    Washington College specializes and therefore is strong in certain areas such as its writing and business programs, but students will only do well if they pick the best professor. Washington college has a lot of professors who are not the best, but they do have a couple in each department that are amazing. Its beautiful campus, abundant amount of activities, and safe environment is what makes Washington College stand out.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very small and Public Safety is rarely needed, save for those that lock themselves out of their rooms.

    Greek Life

    There are many options for Greek Life, for both boys and girls. All play a critical role in the school, holding fundraisers, decorating the campus, and organizing events like the blood drive. They are an integral part of the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is an incredibly long list of clubs and various organizations. So much so, that it is guaranteed that you will find something that you like.

    Great for these types of students

    Students dedicated to learning about almost everything! Those students that love to be involved and make friends (it is very easy to on this small campus). There are just so many possibilities here!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Freshman go on a trip to Mount Vernon, Washington's home, to sign the Honor Code and spend time touring the estate. There's also the Washington Birthday Ball! Everyone dresses up formally (or maybe just follows the theme of the ball) and party, celebrating our namesake's birthday.

    Bang for the buck

    It is worth every dime and the financial aid office is always available if you do need help paying. The education is intensive and personal, tailored to what you need for both distribution requirements and major/minor requirements. The connections that you make at the college lead to internships (domestic and international) and general help; the almuni of the school are always around and give advice and tell their stories frequently. The food is amazing and the dorms are worth the price.

    What to do for fun

    There are intramural sports, an enormous amount of clubs (you will find one that you will like), events sponsored by the Student Events Board, movie nights in the commons and bus trips on the weekends to various cities (DC, Philadelphia, Baltimore, Annapolis, and more) are just a few things to name. Their are endless possibilities.

    Food and Dining

    The food selection changes everyday! There are many sections in the dining hall such as the entrees, salad bar, pizza and pasta station, sandwiches and wraps station, as well as myPantry, where one can order food to their liking. There are also a few sections that require either dining dollars, meal exchange, or cash that provide a la carte menu items. For example, quesadillas, burgers, sandwiches, and subs.

    Dorm Life

    Roommate assignments are not a hassle and you will receive their contact information about a month and half before classes begin. The dorms themselves are not too bad although some are old and require a few fixer-uppers (replacement of the blinds, repainting, etc.). Bugs also enter frequently on the first floor. The bathrooms also need updates.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is very dedicated to academics. There are multiple resources (as previously mentioned) such as the Writing Center, the Career Center, and also the adviser that you will be assigned upon being accepted to the school. There is also an Honor Code that is taken VERY seriously. However, it maintains the rigor of your work and that of others'.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take rigorous classes in high school; they will help you understand the material taught in Washington College. Also, focus on your writing as it is a major part of the curriculum. Be involved! Participate in a sport, be a part of SGA, or volunteer in your community. Prove to the college that will be an active participant in everyday school life.

    In three sentences

    The overall atmosphere and the people are reasons enough to attend this school. The school is dedicated to keeping us active with various events (karaoke nights, WC Olympics, and musical performances are just a few examples). The professors are very involved with us and motivate us to do our very best using the vast amount of resources and connections at the school.

  • 10/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a tradition on May 1. The students call it may day and a t eleven o'clock at night some of the students run around the grass naked.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining here are so good. There is a variety of choices and serve all types of people. They make their own food and also have food for people who are allergic to milk, peanuts, and vegetarians.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is actually not that bad. There are so many dorms that are just for girls, some for guys, and then there are some coed. Some of the dorms are pretty old, but for the most part are not bad to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not easy classes, they challenge more than just facts. The school really does challenge you to think more critical than just basic knowledge. It has a wide variation of classes that one could take and since it is a Liberal arts, there is a wide spectrum of classes required which helps a person have a well-rounded education, not just information on one subject matter.

    In three sentences

    It is a very nice small school. The teachers are always there to help with flexible office hours. The school has also really nice facilities with a brand new Library and soon the addition onto the gym.

  • 10/31/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    SafeRide for those...wild nights.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    May Day. That is all that has to be said.

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive as all get out and I could never afford it had it not been for the awesome counselors. If this is where you want to go, then you can go no matter your financial status.

    Food and Dining

    The food I never expected to be this incredible.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms can go from amazing like Chester and Sass, but also to the cramped like Minta and Caroline. The experience is worth it though.

    Academic Rigor

    It's a school for hardworkers, for people who love what they are learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try for this place, no matter the cost. But don't expect because it's a liberal arts school that it'll be easy.

    In three sentences

    I honestly fell in love with this school the second I stepped on campus; it's gorgeous. The small population also drew me in, since the few times I visited with friends there, I basically know half the student body. The staff and courses are also incredible.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety is very good. Cameras and around the clock Public Safety officers.

    Greek Life

    Not a Greek life person. But the people I know in Greek life absolutely love it

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of clubs on campus and sports are growing

    Great for these types of students

    Creative, competitive, and ambitious

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    May Day...on the first of May the campus strips down and parades around the campous green

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive

    What to do for fun

    I play baseball and I hang out with the team all the time.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a lot of money so make sure you can handle it. Small school so you will see everyone the next day...i.e. weekends

    In three sentences

    Washington College is a great for one-on-one interactions with your professors. Washington has a beautiful campus. Washington College challenges students to be the best they possibly can.

  • 02/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    The greek life has about 30% of the student population in it.

    Great for these types of students

    Great school for those interested in dram, or sciences or english.

    Food and Dining

    The dinning hall offers a variety of food choices from meatarian to vegan.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are all very old most being built over a century ago, so the dorms are small. The social life of dorms seems to be very close.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is very small but intensive, you have to be prepared.

    In three sentences

    Washington is an interesting school that is very small but full of life. The atmosphere there is unique as there are science majors with minors and art and vice versa. The people all know each-other on campus creating a close knit community.

  • 02/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its a small school with campus police readily available. The town of Chestertown also has a police force ready to handle any problems. The town people love the college students and the students are respectful of the town.

    Greek Life

    Washington College has Greek life but maybe not as big as in larger universities. The organizations offer many opportunities within their networks.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and activities. The school encourages any new clubs to form.

    Great for these types of students

    The school is good for any type of student. Even if a student is looking for larger school activities - like a football team - University of Delaware is 30 minutes away. Mens lacrosse is Washington College's biggest sport.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school buildings are all very historical. It is the third oldest school in the country and the ONLY school the George Washington actually lent his name to personally! Diplomas are handed out at graduation by George Washington himself and are written in Latin.

    Bang for the buck

    It is an expensive school but they do offer scholarship money both need and merit based. The professors are available to every student unlike larger universities.

    What to do for fun

    The school offers various activities. In addition, the school is on the Chester River so there is a lot of kayaking and other water activities.

    Food and Dining

    The school could improve its food offerings. Since the town of Chestertown is small, local restaurants offer student discounts so that is good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are all pretty close to each other so it is easy to get around to all of your friends. There are activities for students to attend. In addition, the school is not far from other bigger towns to see professional sporting events or concerts.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard but the school provides plenty of support options. There are study groups, test previews, and tutors. In addition, the teachers are available to answer questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Of course make sure that you work hard on your grades but when you apply make sure you talk to admission counselors. They really give great tips and help you make the best impression.

    In three sentences

    Washington College is a small school where everyone knows everyone. The teachers know you by name and are very willing to help. The school focuses on each student and helps them accomplish their goals.

  • 04/19/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    27 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can hang out in the lounge in the dorms, there areany places you can walk to and the town is small enough that there is not a chortage of places that you can walk to.

    Food and Dining

    The food was amazing!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are bigger than the average size dorm and they are very nice inside.

    Academic Rigor

    It seems like good place to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus, a campus visit is very nice.

    In three sentences

    I visited this school and it looked like a really nice place. I am interested in this school now and I am looking into it as one of my colleges i will apply to

  • 05/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Spend time with friends on the Green

    Tips for prospective students

    Classes are fun and you will enjoy it.

    In three sentences

    Washington College is an excellent Liberal Arts and Science College. It is a great school as an in between school! The teachers are very intelligent and helpful.

  • 05/26/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    29 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    When ii went to visit they had whole fair going on in the dining hall. Also, there are tons of clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    There is ton of options for everyone. Also, I love the ice cream bar :)

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty nice and they all contain air conditioning.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a Bio major and I loved their program. The class sizes are pretty small so the professor knows your name and you are not just a number on their class list.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early action because they get back to you really fast. Visit the campus and do an interview with your counselor. You too will fall in love with the attention and one on one time they give each and everyone of their students.

    In three sentences

    I felt right t home there and everyone is really nice. Also I got to meet the President at Lunch in the dinning which I thought was really cool. Located in a small town by the water which is absolutely gorgeous.

  • 05/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone with an enthusiasm for writing and getting to know their professors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    May Day. The night of May 1st, people gather around the flag pole, naked, at midnight.

    What to do for fun

    Go into town. Walk by the water. Hang out with friends. Just enjoy life.

    Food and Dining

    Honestly, the food isn't that bad. There are some great nights of cooking and you'll end of knowing the staff by name. Try a Cafe Mocha from Java George!

    Dorm Life

    Over 80% of the students live on campus. The freshmen dorms are what you expect but there is nicer housing for upperclassmen. And the possibility of becoming an RA!

    Academic Rigor

    It's a writing intensive school, get ready for copious amounts of 20 page papers. Every senior must complete a thesis, which looks incredible for graduate schools. The classes are smaller so attendance is mandatory and there's always classroom discussion.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take classes outside of your comfort zone and get to know your professors! They are there to help you and have a lot of connections. They are always interested in talking to students.

    In three sentences

    Washington College is a small, liberal arts campus on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. WAC has a variety of majors with incredibly dedicated professors and there's a great atmosphere to study and learn. There are so many opportunities for internships and jobs, just showing how much the faculty and staff truly care about the students.

  • 06/26/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    31 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I am not going to lie, WC is not cheap. When including the tuition, room and board, books, supplies and other things that college needs, it is no joke. However, WC has a very generous financial package just waiting for its top students which covers more than half of tuition! This to me was perfect and totally won me over! What most people do not realize at WC, is that the reason why the tuition is so high is because you pay for something that is truly invaluable at any other College or University. YOU CONTROL YOUR EDUCATION! You get one-on-one time with your Professors, and the Professors know you by first and last name! The student-to-faculty ratio is 12:1. That is priceless. Honestly, you will NEVER see the type of education Washington College students get at any other College in the world. WC is only one of a kind place.

    What to do for fun

    Just go and Explore! Every time I stroll around this 122-acre green campus, I see something new and exciting! This also goes for the town as well!

    Food and Dining

    Ah, yes, words cannot explain the dining experience at Washington College! Everything is magnificent! There is a good mix of food selections! This is truly a Must see! The dining hall, if i were to describe it, you wouldn't believe me if I told you. Just take my word for it! Its incredible!

    Dorm Life

    Absolutely incredible! The dorm life is what college life is all about! The dorms are pretty spacious with built in vanity, two dress drawers, free AC, Wifi, and an extra large bed!

    Academic Rigor

    Washington College is a Writing College and they are very strong in the Liberal Arts education traditions. I am a Political Science major so being a good writer is always a plus! Overall, the academics are challenging, but fun! The work load is very feasible, indeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    COME VISIT CAMPUS!! I am sure you will fall in love with Washington College just as I did! I could not go anywhere on campus without someone stopping me to say hello with a smile! Everyone who comes to WC will quickly feel right at home!

    In three sentences

    Washington College is truly an amazing College! They have over 90+ clubs and sports so there is always something going on around campus! WC is surrounded by a very friendly community town called Chestertown. It is the little town you always wanted to live in! Chestertown has three large shopping districts which is Incredible!!

  • 10/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Maybe I'm a little biased because I work at public safety, but I can't imagine feeling more secure!

    Greek Life

    Not for me personally, but I know a lot of people involved with greek life who love it!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities. I could never list them all.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard working, self-motivated students with goals- the career center can help give any student a sense of direction, though!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mayday.... Enough said.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a very expensive college. That being said, they are VERY generous with financial aid if you need it and/or if you work hard. I would not be attending this school without their wonderful financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, students can always venture into Chestertown and chat with friends at one of the cafes available, go to the movies, or relax by the beautiful Chester River. The campus in itself has a wide array of options. There are so many clubs and activities planned that between those, homework, and sleep, one simply cannot be too bored. Just the other weekend was homecoming, then there was a fall country concert, and there are a few more concerts coming up as well! All free of charge, might I add. It's really a great, fun and educational environment.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall offers a great variety and quality of food. My mom is a chef, and even she was impressed when we visited! There is something for everybody.

    Dorm Life

    It depends on where you live, but I personally have not encountered any problems. It's always clean, rooms are fairly big, and in my experience, the dorm becomes a community of people who you are fairly close with.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel challenged in each of my classes, but not to the point where I am unreasonably overwhelmed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and do well in school, get good grades, etc. . . But more importantly, learn, have fun, find something unique that you are interested in and pursue it!

    In three sentences

    Washington College is a small liberal arts college in a small town with unbelievably big opportunities. After being here for only two months, I already feel right at home, and I've become involved in so much within such a short span. The professors and administration are some of the brightest, most admirable people I have ever met, and I feel inspired each and every day; I wouldn't rather be anywhere else.

  • 11/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As long as you are not being stupid, as in walking alone at two in the morning, the place is fairly safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have pretty much any club you can think of and it is also really easy to start a new one.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On George Washington's birthday the school has a huge dance (the theme is voted on every year). It is definitely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    A lot of on campus events, this is a small town so most of the recreational activity happens on or around campus.

    Food and Dining

    Good variety, they work hard to have gluten free and vegetarian options along with plenty of others.

    Dorm Life

    Depends on the dorm but first year housing sucks.

    Academic Rigor

    It will be challenging but teachers and tutors are available for help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you get to know your teachers and they will go out of their way to help you. Bring clothes for all types of weather. It can get expensive here so financial aid is a must. Be prepared to work hard and do not be afraid to ask for help. If you like clubs, we have plenty, if you want to play football, pick a different school.

    In three sentences

    A small intimate school with close knit students and teachers. Also very beautiful but the weather changes rapidly. Small classes are nice but there is not a huge variety of classes.

  • 02/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety is always on duty and are always prompt to answer a call.

    Greek Life

    There are three sororities and four fraternities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities on campus. Every student is sure to find one (or many) that interests him/her!

    Bang for the buck

    Washington College is a private institution, so it is pretty pricey; however, the education that you will be getting is worth it!

    What to do for fun

    The Student Events Board hosts many fun activities throughout the year, so check them out! The town of Chestertown is a cute, little town with many shops to check out, so if it is a nice day, walk down to the River and enjoy the view!

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is better than most colleges! There is always a wide variety of choices, but if they do not sound appetizing to you, there is always salad, pizza, and sandwiches!

    Dorm Life

    Most rooms are decently sized and you get all of the furniture that you need. Dorm life is, for the most part, enjoyable because you are surrounded by loving people constantly. Cleaning services cleans the bathrooms every morning Monday-Friday. The hallways can be a little noisy, but it is not something earplugs cannot fix!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are pretty difficult, but if you love what you are studying, then it will be worth it. Plus, the professors are very passionate about their field, so you can bounce off of their energy and enjoy the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not get discouraged during the first semester on campus! From high school at home to college on your own is a HUGE transition, both socially and academically. Just hold on and keep positive, and I promise that it will get easier!

    In three sentences

    Washington College has an outstanding academic environment! The professors are amazing, always up to date on the information in their field, and always ready to answer any questions you may have. Everyone around you always has a smile on their face and you can definitely find someone who has something in common with you!

  • 02/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you stay in contact with your adviser who will help you along the way.

    In three sentences

    Washington College is a great college because it offers excellent course and great student resources, from the academic office that offers free tutoring to the writing center that helps students write papers. This college wants to insure that every student does well and gains a true education. Coming here was the best choice I could have made.

  • 03/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Washington College is very safe. Public safety makes sure that all students feel safe. The campus has blue emergency boxes, so if one does not feel safe all they have to do is press the button and public safety will send someone over to escort you to your dorm or class. I feel safe on campus at all hours of the day.

    Clubs and Activities

    Washington College offers a variety of clubs and activities both on and off campus. Washington College has more than 50 clubs and they have something for everyone, whether you are interested in art or inter mural sports. The Student Events Board at Washington College offers many activities on campus and a few activities off campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Washington College is for those students who want to have a personal relationship with their professors. It is also for those students who would rather be in a rural setting compared to a city setting.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One unusual tradition is that at Washington College, George Washington's birthday is celebrated. And Washington College goes all out for his birthday. The college also holds a homecoming dance in September. The students at Washington College also participate in May Day. The goose nest and godson dining hall are fun locations on campus. Although it is not on campus, walking to the Chester River is relaxing after a day of classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Washington College is worth the money! The prestigious institution offers great classes taught by great professors. Washington College also has a lot a high percentage of students that enter the workplace and graduate school after they graduate.

    What to do for fun

    Although at times, students find themselves asking, What should we do tonight? most of the time finding something to do is not that difficult. The goose nest hosts activities most weekends, the goose nest also has pool tables, ping pong, air hockey and a variety of game systems. There are also sporting events that are free for students to attend. Chestertown also has a movie theater that is right down the street and a bowling alley that is about 10 minutes away. Hanging out with friends is always fun too!

    Food and Dining

    The food in the dining hall is alright. Sometimes, the dining hall can be a hit and miss experience, but they always have pizza. Java George, Martha's and Mondo's are all great! Whether one is looking for a muffin, coffee, a quesadilla or a sub.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Washington College are good overall. Queen Anne's is one of the best dorms on campus for freshman, even though it costs extra. Caroline, Minta Martin and Reid are not bad either.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses at Washington College are tough, but the professors are there to help. If you ever have a problem and need extra help the professors would be more than happy to meet with you. The college also has a qualitative skills center and a writing center, that helps with both math and writing issues respectively. The college also has course mentors which hold review sessions for students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Are you looking for a well-known liberal arts school in a rural community? Than Washington College is the college for you. The small campus is beautiful and the students are professors are like a close-knit family. The faculty is very nice and willing to meet one on one to help with any issue you may have.

    In three sentences

    Washington College is a liberal arts college that gives you a true liberal education. The beautiful rural campus offers a diverse group of professional professors that are always there to help their students. The campus offers diverse activities that attract every type of person.

  • 03/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Don't let the price scare you! Most students attend Washington College on a generous scholarship as provided by our donors!

    What to do for fun

    There are over 130 recognized clubs and sports on campus so there is something for everyone to do! It is very easy to get involved! Historic Chestertown also allows for students to explore new opportunities as there is water front property which is located right within town on the Chester River.

    Food and Dining

    Our dining hall has won various awards for their service and dishes provided to students. Many visitors are surprised at how wonderful our dining hall staff is and how great the college food tastes! There are always alternative meals and options for students who are within a strict diet or are restricted to specific foods. Every meal is different and each meal time has more than 7 stations of food!

    Dorm Life

    As a member of our residence life staff I can attest to the wonderful environment of the various dorms on campus. There are so many possibilities of where to live, but no matter which dorm you choose, there is always a welcoming environment for all students!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are not impossible but they definitely challenge you. As a Liberal Arts College, we are pushed to take courses within various disciplines to ensure well-rounded individuals emerge into the world after four years!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit the school and fall in love for yourself. We have very small class sizes so you are more than just a number at Washington College. Everyone knows one another and the professors know who you are as well. At Washington College you are able to build a name for yourself and work closely with faculty and staff to ensure a successful experience over the four years!

    In three sentences

    Washington College is your home-away-from-home. Everyone is dedicated to their studies and each person you encounter on campus has a bright personality which welcomes you! the campus has wonderful history behind it and it centrally located between DC, New York and Philadelphia.