Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Washington & Jefferson College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/31/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students seeking a college that will offer them academic challenge. Students wanting a well-rounded education that includes knowledge on both their major and an area of study that they are interested in. Students interested in combining travel with their studies. Students interested in pursuing careers in medicine or law (Washington and Jefferson is know for its emphasis on tailoring Pre-Med and Pre-Law programs specific to the student’s interest).

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Start the year out strong and finish strong! 2) Save up money and get plenty of scholarships, books are a lot more than you’d think! 3) If you have a few hours in between classes, take the time to review notes or study! 4)Your Academic Adviser is basically your best friend, don’t be afraid to talk to them/ask them questions. 5) Get to know your peers and make friends! It’s a small school, so chances are you will know nearly everyone within the first few weeks anyways. 6) Go to the Peer-Assisted Learning (PAL) Programs. The teacher’s assistants at the programs are there to help answer questions or clear up a few things you were not able to ask the professor when class was in session. 7) Join a club. In you're interested in it, you'll meet people who are passionate about the same thing you are. 8) If you want to start a club or event, there are plenty of staff and faculty members willingly to help you start it or act stand as support. 9) Don't forget that college is more than just the grades; learn to be well-rounded and pick up an extra curricular activity or job (if you can).

    Bang for the buck

    With a $40,000 a year sticker price, I had my doubts about attending the college at first. After W&J’s financial aid, my own scholastic merit, and outside scholarships, the yearly cost was knocked down significantly! If you’re looking for a school that will offer you the best for your money (outside of an ivy league), I feel W&J is the next best thing. Not only are you given a faculty of professors with doctorates in their respective fields, dedicated to teaching you a subject, but also, each of the professors emphasize a general mastery of that particular subject and continue to push their students to pursue their major/ career goals. In a way, your professors become your mentors outside of your academic advisor. Be prepared to learn, you won’t be disappointed.

    Am enjoying being here

    W&J offers its students with a lot of opportunities to “get out there” and participate in on-campus and off-campus events, which I instantly fell in love with! The college in itself is also very close-knit. When I first visited the college in my senior year I enjoyed the sense of community and togetherness I saw and have seen here in the past months. This push for community is reflected in Washington and Jefferson’s motto: “Juncta Juvant: Together We Thrive”. As for drawbacks, if you’re used to lively cities with plenty of hustle and bustle, you may be disappointed by Washington’s more rural and laid-back feel. But, while the surrounding area lacks luster, it makes up for it with friendly people.

    Am learning a lot

    Without sounding too trite, I’m learning more and more everyday from being here at Washington and Jefferson. The professors are willing to stop and answer questions and are there to teach you, unlike other institutions. I wanted a college that would challenge my academic standards and make me push myself to learn as much as I can (and more) about a subject or field, as well as open my interest to other fields and acting as a guide. I feel W&J has become that college.

  • 07/27/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare for study and keep priorities straight or you won't pass.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is a lot, but the school is really great and has been rated one of the top schools in the U.S. by the Princeton Review. The education you get is worth the money you pay.

  • 12/26/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 3 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The school is very well-known for pre-law and pre-health studies. While the work is very rigorous, students that attend Washington & Jefferson have an extremely high chance to achieve their eventual career goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is important to not get behind at this school. Always stay caught up on your school work. Also, try new things! This is not high school anymore. You have the chance to be whoever you want to be an to do whatever you want to do. Step outside of your comfort zone.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition price is pretty expensive. You may wonder if it is worthwhile to pay this sort of money to attend a small liberal arts school. However, I truely believe that it is definitely worth it. People and potential employers know this school's reputation. If you graduate witha degree from Washington & Jefferson, it will help you in the long run.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the school! There are things for everyone to do no matter your interests. When I visited the school back in high school, Washington & Jefferson was the only school that had genuinly nice students. Now that I am a student, I have to say that it only continues as I go through with my school work.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning so much more at this school than I ever thought was possible. While I struggle with some assignments, it is because the professors are pushing us to succeed. I never thought that I would be able to do or know the things that I know right now.

  • 06/01/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 6 people found this review useful. 4 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Smart, hard-working, creative, fun-loving, outgoing

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early

  • 01/31/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Athletes, bookworms, fun people, socially proficient people, pretty much all types of academic fields are well represented, but pre-health, pre-law, and business are the most prominent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find friends who like to do what you do on the weekends. If you don't like partying at the frats, your weekend activities will initially drop severely. However, by making friends, you can find things to do and have an excellent time. Be open to things and, even though it can be hard at times, definitely be yourself. I find that it's important to stand out and let people know who you are.

    Bang for the buck

    Academics= amazing and worth the tuition. Freshman dorms, food, facilities= I feel like they could do better. I got shoved into a tiny room above the boiler, so it's always cramped and overheated. The food is decent, but stereotypical college food, aka sub-par. Freshman guys have to journey to other buildings to use the unreliable laundry facilities. It's just a moderate amount of these types of minor annoyances that make me feel like my tuition money could be better spent. There's even a Facebook group called I pay 43,000 a year to... as an ironic statement for how many students feel about the use of their tuition. However, what's really important is academics, and in this area, you DEFINITELY get a bang for the (substantial) buck.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is alright, but not spectacular. Most people like to party a lot or play video games. There's also not a lot of fellow metal heads (a problem only for a select few). There are nice and fun people, and I enjoy SCA and the friends that I have made there. I also love my floormates, and my RA is amazing. W and J is, in my opinion, much more of a place to learn and grow in your field than to have a lot of fun. I do wish that they had more concerts and on-campus outside events to spice things up a bit.

    Am learning a lot

    I have taken a Theatre course, a Philosophy course, a History Course, and two Literatrue courses. I had learned many things from the life and works of the Bronte sisters to the history of 19th century Europe to the theory of Determinism to the inner workings of a theatre production to the environmental ideals of John Muir and Edward Abbey. The professors REALLY know what they're doing, and I feel my head nearly exploding with new knowledge.

  • 10/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a rock solid education. Students going pre-law or pre-med. Our German program is pretty solid. Honestly there isn't any one program here done poorly, just some done outstandingly well.

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Along the lines of Bang for the buck, apply for scholarships - a lot of them - apply early - apply often. 2) When you get here, make friends with the people on your floor, it's a long year, I'm sure they're pretty cool people. 3) Along with making friends with those on your floor, talk to people. Don't seclude yourself. You start now, you say you'll change later, but you won't. From the beginning be social, you'll make more friends and have a lot more fun that way. 4) Stay focused. There is time for fun and time for work - most of the time. You are in college, not a zoo. The purpose of being here is to prepare you for life, to educate yourself, and get a degree, not to party so much that you don't study and end up failing out. 5) Talk to your professors. Most of them are some of the coolest people you will ever meet. I encourage you to get to know them, because at some point you are going to need guidance, and who better to go to than someone who has been there before, right?

    Bang for the buck

    Now, you may be thinking that I'm crazy... Paying almost $45,000 a year all said and done, how can it be THAT worth it? It is. No doubt about it, it is. This school has the best cafeteria food I have eaten, access to a nice gym, and a massive list of clubs and activities for a college of this size. Plus, if you ever have an idea, just take it to one of the student reps and they'll see what they can do for you. There are so many opportunities that they make for you that they should almost charge you more!

    Am enjoying being here

    W&J is one of the most enjoyable places I have been. Both inside and outside of the classroom it is a completely different environment than anything I have ever experienced. Everyone here is incredibly nice and looks out for your well being, both physical and educational.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here are fantastic. Unlike many other schools where you end up with just another class with just another lecture, the professors at W&J want to get you involved and have you actively participate, making the learning environment enjoyable. Now, you're going to do a lot of work, it hasn't made the name for itself that it has by giving students easy A's, but believe or not, you will want to do the work.

  • 02/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are a hard worker, dedicated student, and like to think outside the box, then this is the college for you. There are many opportunities on campus and the President has office hours during which you can come to her with concerns or with ideas/dreams which she can help make possible. This was how I was able to propose a new major.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips? Visit and talk to people! Sit in on classes and afterwards talk to the professors. I visited during the fall of my senior year of high school and sat in on an upper level Psychology course. I took the opportunity to speak with the professor and now in my Sophomore year she remembered me and let me into that Psych course which is impossible for sophomores to get into. Also, talk to students on campus when you visit. Ask them what they like and dislike, then see if you can handle the dislikes when making your decision.

    Bang for the buck

    The education is definitely worth the expensive tuition. I don't regret choosing to go to this college in regards to that. When it comes to housing, however, it is not the best. Many of the dorms in President's Row have major heating issues in the past winters and have also experienced water problems. The wireless internet connection in these dorms is also very poor.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are many student clubs, activities and events on campus and there is always something to do. The Student Activities, Involvement and Leadership office has been working hard to cater to what students want to see available on campus and there is always something new being introduced. The only downside is that if you don't have a car you are pretty much stuck on campus. The shuttle to Pittsburgh only goes on Friday and Saturday nights so students over 21 have plenty to do, but if you're underage then there's very little you can do those nights.

    Am learning a lot

    All my professors are incredibly intelligent and always available and willing to help students. My best advice to perspective and enrolling students would be to talk to professors whether you are in one of their courses or not. Taking the time to get to know them really makes a difference in your college experience. The courses here are intense and rigorous, and certainly teach students to work hard and balance/organize their schedules. You are always learning, whether inside the classroom or not and whether you realize it in the moment or not!

  • 05/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who love to learn, enjoys challenges, and enjoys close relationships with faculty, administrators, staff, and students. Students who are looking for small, liberal arts schools. Those who like the intimate setting. Students who are willing to work for their grades and put time into assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    The transition from high school work to college work can be difficult. Be prepared to WORK for your grade. You're going to find that your study habits will have to change. Dive into the many opportunities that W&J has to offer! There are so many activities and clubs to join! You can get more involved and have a say in what goes on, on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    W&J is expensive, but your education is an investment. I made a lot of connections with faculty, administrators, staff, and students. It is a lot of money, but I think it is well worth the investment. You get so many opportunities, and meeting the right people on campus allows you to make a name for yourself. It's all about connections and using your resources! W&J provides that and much more.

    Am enjoying being here

    I finished my freshman year last year and loved it. The upperclassmen are so welcoming toward the Freshmen, and the faculty/administrators are amazing. I felt at home when coming to W&J, and felt like I did not need to go home too often. It is NOT a suitcase campus. Most students who go here, stay here. I love the environment and the people. The surround is intimate and you are able to build close relationships. The President of the school knows your name, and she can be found in the cafeteria eating with other students. You see Deans and administrators around campus, and chatting with students. They are at different events and participate in many student activities. I am involved many activities on campus, and hold an active role in each organization. W&J opens the door to so many opportunties to get involved and make a difference. Students' opinions matter so much on this campus, which is evident in the surveys that they send out.

    Am learning a lot

    W&J is a great school to be challenged. W&J is known for its medical, law, psychology, and other programs. The school is known to be academically rigorous, helping prepare students for graduate school, medical school, law school, and the real world. The classes and entire experience here allows you to be well prepared for anything after 4 years at W&J. Coming to W&J, I learned a lot (academically and experience wise). My metality and way of thinking changed even after only one year. You not only learn from professors, but you learn from everyone you come into contact with. The classes are amazing, and you end up finding something that you're interested in because W&J is a liberal arts school. You bascically get to test out the waters with different subjects, and you end up finding something you love to learn.

  • 06/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I have seen every personality at this school and I think that they make up the diverse character this school has overall. Once you find your niche and what you like to do, chances are this school offers it and won't slack on accommodating it. If you are an easygoing person, crazy person, quiet person or genius, you will find friends and activities easily.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have a financial plan. That is the biggest thing, I would say. It is a great school, but at the same time, there are always great alternatives. Also, visiting the school is important. The campus is small, and I see that as a good thing (especially in PA winters). Getting to and from class is absolutely not a problem and your friends and study buddies are always close. I really like the campus and it is also nice since it is so close to Pittsburgh.

    Bang for the buck

    Like I mentioned earlier, the class sizes is what really sold me on coming to W&J. I am close to practically all of my professors. I learn just as much outside the classroom as I do in it. My biggest class had 35 people in it, and that is considered a large class. It is easy to get that one-on-one attention that is important to higher education. There are a couple cons, though. The school seems to offer almost every student financial aid, but in the long run, those who have more of a problem coming up with the money don't necessarily get the scholarships from the school that home can't provide. It is important to look at internships and outside scholarships. And because it is a private school, the tuition is quite pricey. When you look at the overall experience of attending this school, though, it is hard to think you are making a mistake. A large amount of students travel abroad, get great internships during college and great jobs after college. It really depends on how you deep immerse yourself in the school's advantages.

    Am enjoying being here

    Since I live in a completely different state, it was culture shock coming to a small school in Pennsylvania. However, as I grew to learn the school and people there, I fit right in. There are great clubs, athletic teams and weekend activities planned for every type of person. Although the weekends can get a little bit crazy (like most college campuses) there are alternatives. The school keeps me busy, too, so that I don't have much time to get homesick. Once you meet the right group of friends, which you will, it is a great school to attend and have fun at.

    Am learning a lot

    One of the things that I was most surprised about when I attended my first class was the amount of information W&J professors can spill in such a short amount of time! For some people, certain teachers can be overwhelming at first, but once you start to learn how the professors think and what kinds of facts you should write down, etc, the classes get a lot easier to handle. On my first class on my first day here, I was completely taken aback by my intimidating history professor, but as the semester continued, I realized how much I learned. It wasn't for lack of trying, but I was able to fluently learn the material. The small class sizes also help. Compared to larger schools, W&J offers close relationships with your professors that are sometimes very hard to find. About 2-3 times a week I was in a professor's office asking for help, clarification or just getting advice about college and academia.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus security is always willing to help and are always available. they are very humble and understanding. as long as students don't venture off too far from campus, they should feel safe.

    Greek Life

    greek life makes up for almost half of w&j's students. this college is dominated by greek life and is a fun way for students to get involved and become a part of something.

    Clubs and Activities

    w&j houses tons of athletes, considering most people come here for sports. as far as clubs, students can choose from over 50 clubs or even make up their own club.

    Great for these types of students

    great for people looking into the medical field and the legal field.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    during matriculation, students are taken through the main building on campus as a sign that they are officially w&j students. (tradition)

    Bang for the buck

    the college is very pricey but is willing to offer plenty of financial aids. depending on how much the student gets involved and takes advantage of his/her education determines if the money is worth it or not.

    What to do for fun

    w&j strongly encourages activities that do not involve alcohol or drugs. things such as concerts, plays, free food, workshops, and many other opporunities are provided.

    Food and Dining

    there are two main dining areas, one a fast food type area and the other a buffet of a wide variety of food. since the food is catered by a well known food source (the same at eat & park), the food is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are a little outdated but they do have more exclusive bathrooms. by this i mean there is one bathroom to a small number of people versus one bathroom per floor.

    Academic Rigor

    the academics at w&j are extremely competitive. the college is definitely challenging and expects alot out of its students. there is a reason this school is known to produce some amazing doctors and lawyers.

    Tips for prospective students

    as a prospective student, make sure to check out the create your own major aspect of the college and really consider the fact that w&j has personable and helpful professors and workers.

    In three sentences

    washington & jefferson is a small college where you can get to know your teachers and peers. the classes are extremely interesting and engaging. the college offers many opportunities that you cannot find anywhere else.

  • 06/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It was one of the cheapest schools I had looked at during my application process. And now that I am here I feel as though I am definitely getting what I paid for. Also, from what I'm told there are W and J has a lot of connections.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy the environment here. W and J tries to offer activities for kids who do not want to drink or things like that. The people there are very friendly as well.

    Am learning a lot

    W and J has really pushed me to learn more in the class room. Their curriculum is not a cake-walk.

  • 11/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Go-getters: students who want awesome opportunities at college and internationally. Students who like small classes, a quaint town, and a sense of home away from home.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit: take a tour, stay over night with a current student. Seeing a college first hand really helps you decide if it's right for you. Coming to W&J really solidified my choice to go here.

    Bang for the buck

    W&J is a private school, so it's naturally going to be more expensive than a public school, but I feel that my education and opportunities that I've been giving here certainly make the money worth while.

    Am enjoying being here

    I miss home sometimes, but my friends, classes, and various activities available on campus keep me busy and quite happy.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors teach very pertinent material and are always up-to-date on things going on in the real world. Most professors try to relate real-life material to the course work.

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security gaurds are very friendly and always have the students safety in mind.

    Greek Life

    I decided not to join a sorority becasue i thought it was not for me.

    Clubs and Activities

    I can speak for the Track and Field program and its great. It does not take up too much time and its a good way to stay in shape. Also you meet a whole new group of people to bond and hang out with.

    Great for these types of students

    Friendly and laid back, but also determined and hardworking.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Usually all the freshman think its cool to try and get to the tower on top of the gym at least once.

    What to do for fun

    If you make good friends you will always have fun no matter what. There are usually parties on the weekend or you can stay in and hang out with you friends. The school also sends out emails with all the events taking place that weekend if you really have nothing to do. Also, do not wander around certain parts of the town aimlessly at night, the townies mostly are not good people so you don't want to get in a stir up with them.

    Food and Dining

    The Commons and GnT's are both great. Do not eat George and Toms everyday for every meal because you will gain weight. Make sure you are smart about what your eating and try to be healthy.

    Dorm Life

    The first semester is always really fun but do not get too carried away and let your grades slip. You will have to pay for that next semester when you have to work your butt off to make the GPA. If your roomate is crazy or you dont get a lot, do not worry, you can always find another place to study and you'll make plenty of other friends to hang out with.

    Academic Rigor

    The sciences are tough, you have to put a lot of time in for those. Other classes really depend on what come easy to you and what doesnt. There are certain teachers you do not want to take for certain subjects so just ask any upper classman you know for details about that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always get your work done ahead of time, do not procrastinate. If you are trying to go premed start studying for exams at least 2 weeks ahead of time; they are hard. If you have an issue with anything about life in your dorm ask Reslife, they can help with a lot of things.

    In three sentences

    Washington and Jefferson has a nice small college atmosphere that enables you to get to know your professors and seek help when needed. This college also has an abundance of clubs, activities, and sports to participate in when you have free time. You will also meet a lot a great people in your dorm, at parties, and in frats and sororities that you will become very close with for the years to come.

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You feel really safe on campus. Campus security makes sure of that. They do rounds and check building and stuff like that. There are blue light emergency buttons around campus. If you feel unsafe at night you can call security and they can come pick you up and take you to your room.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is a big part on campus. There are 6 fraternities and 4 sororities. They do many things on campus like volunteer events and they raise money for non profit organizations. One fraternity raised money for Make a Wish foundation recently.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a wide variety of clubs on campus. From academic clubs to cultural clubs to sports clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    W&J is a diverse campus. It is not just for one type of student.

    What to do for fun

    We have shopping shuttles that take you in to Pittsburgh on the weekends. There is also many different activities like paintball or movie trips that the Student Activities Board plans. There is a game room with pool tables, ping pong, and fussball. Also you can just hang out with friends and watch netflix or hulu plus in the tv lounge on campus. There is intramural sports too. Like volleyball, basketball, or frogball.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. We have two dining options. One is the regular dining hall and one is the fast paced, made to order dining. Food is provided by the company that provides food to Eat N' Park.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty nice. Get to live with friends and meet new friends that live on your floor. RA's are always there to help.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic here are the top priority. It is very rigorous and sometimes challenging but it is worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask a lot of questions about the school so you can get an accurate depiction of each school that you go to. Take a tour of the school and visit a class that you would be interested in. It will help you get the gist of what an average college class would be like.

    In three sentences

    It is a small school and you get to have one on one time with your professors. You also get to talk with friends and stuff too.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have security, but Washington is a rough part of town. Watch for thefts.

    Greek Life

    Yes. Around 40% of students participate. There are 10 houses. Kappa Kappa Gamma, Delta Gamma, Kappa Alpha Theta, and Pi Beta Phi for women and Alpha Tau Omega, Phi Kappa Psi, Beta Theta Pi, FIJI, Delta Tau Delta, Phi Delta Theta for men.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Council, GSA, Lions Club, Greek Life, Language Clubs, Athletics, Student Activities Board, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard workers, Pre-Law, Pre-Med

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a historical landmark, one of the oldest buildings in the state on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    There is no bang for your buck besides the skill of the professors. Dorm Life and meals are insanely overpriced.

    What to do for fun

    Greek Life appeals to many students, and provides the sort of family away from home feeling. Clubs are also active and there are a variety. Truly there is something for everyone. The town of Washington itself is kind of boring.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pricey, but in comparison to other colleges I would say it ranks above average. The food services are run by Parkhurst, who own Eat N' Park.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not the newest or cleanest, but they are small enough for you to feel a sense of community.

    Academic Rigor

    W&J is not easy. You must put significant time and effort into all of your classes. Each major must complete a rigorous Capstone project for graduation, and attendance and participation are crucial to survival.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be serious about your studies, and make sure you look for the opportunities available to you. Make the most of your four years. Apply for internships and scholarships, be involved, study abroad do the things you cannot do at any other time in your life.

    In three sentences

    You cannot find professors willing to invest their own time and energy and to care for their students as much as the professors do at Washington & Jefferson College. While the school is small and extremely expensive, the education is excellent and that is what college is about. I highly recommend the school.

  • 09/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Its a school for anyone but if you like small schools this is one of the smallest.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Ask for help! This is the tip i highly recommend everyone needs help do not be afraid to go to someone. 2. Sleep, You will want to get some sleep it might seem hard with akll the work but its necessary for success. 3.Time mismanagement will go along way.

    Bang for the buck

    The college may have a hefty price tag but its worth it because of the experiences that you gain from having a degree form this school. The most important part is that they will do their best to help you find your calling.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere in the college is amazing. You will be greeted by friendly faces and a great staff. the professorial staff in this college enjoy to teach and are here to help students achieve.

    Am learning a lot

    As a student from a small and competitive high, I am satisfied from the level of rigor that Washington and Jefferson has to offer. I graduated top ten percent of my class but I notice that that this college always finds a thing or two to teach me.

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    super safe school!!

    Clubs and Activities

    for this college being such a small school we have a decent amount of clubs/ activities.

    Great for these types of students

    athletic, intelligent students

    What to do for fun

    i go to many sporting events and attend school functions

    Food and Dining

    food here is very good but we only have 2 places on campus where we can eat

    Dorm Life

    as a freshman the dorms are semi small but manageable. last year when i was looking at different colleges i saw much smaller dorm rooms so i cant complain. plus every dorm on campus has their own cleaning person that cleans your personal bathrooms.

    Academic Rigor

    if you don'ts stay on top of your work, you're going to have a hard time maintaining a good grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    enjoy college but keep up with homework and study hard. time really does fly plus grades really count!

    In three sentences

    a private, small school with great academics. one on one attention in the classroom with great professors. students here are very welcoming, easy to get along with and that forms a great learning environment in the classroom.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great guys working there.

    Greek Life

    Great Greek life. I believe 60% of campus is Greek.

    Food and Dining

    Not bad for college food, there's a lot of options

    Dorm Life

    W&J is a good time

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are great. Some teachers tests are impossible to pass and they grade papers hard. But I see it as a challenge to do better.

    Tips for prospective students

    Campus life is great and some of the teachers are wonderful. But I would suggest to find a cheaper school and one that cares more about it's students.

    In three sentences

    So much money. So much drinking. Decent teachers.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Washington, Pa isn't the most glamorous nor safest city, but W&J seems to be in a bubble of its own where Washington residents don't intrude. The campus police are also awesome, friendly, and understanding that you are having fun in college and in that process, you do stupid things. They are not strict at all.

    Greek Life

    I love the Frats. Beta is the best.

    Clubs and Activities

    I never got involved because I played a sport that took up most of my time. I hope to join one next year though

    Great for these types of students

    Athletic and focused students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Old Main is over 200 years old if I am not mistaken, and does not have an elevator in which you may have to walk up 81 steps. Yes, i have counted before.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is expensive, but in my opinion is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Go to frat parties on saturday nights. Go to club VIP if you are old enough Make your own fun with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Food is unhealthy and repetitive. Probably the worst thing about the college. You win some, you lose some..

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms weren't the best, but they get better.

    Academic Rigor

    Work loads are sometimes unmanageable

    Tips for prospective students

    Study for more than 1 hour for exams, you will need to drop your old high school studying habits. Don't be worried if you haven't chosen a major, you academic advisor will help you in that area.

    In three sentences

    This school is challenging but worth the work. Fun but not too fun, although enough, if you understand what I mean. Life at school becomes repetitive, though still interesting due to the interesting people and professors.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been a few minor incidences on the boarders of campus but everyone that I know feels safe at w&j

    Greek Life

    4 sororities, 6 fraternities. A large portion of students do rush but everyone is welcome to come to most parties and events that Greek organizations hold. You do not necessarily need to be a member of the Greek community to participate in some Greek events.

    Clubs and Activities

    Greek life is a huge part of the school as well as intramural sports and many other organizations. If an organization does not exist, it is easy to get a group together and find people who are also interested in forming something new if they share the same interests.

    Great for these types of students

    Good students who are willing to work but also like to enjoy themselves. We have a very active campus and a lot of students are either athletes or at least participate in intramural sports or other activities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Apparently the presidents house is haunted.

    Bang for the buck

    Good education, good reputation, good athletics, nice people, facilities that could be improved upon.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do in the town other than a few small bars that are very close to campus. Greek life is a huge part of college life at w&j do there are usually fun on campus parties or events. There is also the hub where people go to have a more laid back time. The school also tries to make student life fun by bringing in speakers/events/exhibits/ or fall and spring concerts

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good for college food, but there aren't any fast food options or flex dollars with outside companies like larger schools have. Sometimes the meals can be hit or miss; some meals are extremely good and others days you may have difficulty finding something you like especially if you are a picky eater (this usually occurs on weekends...leftovers). But there is always the salad bar, sandwich station, pizza/pasta, or cereal to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the buildings are not in the most impressive shape (old, no ac) but the living situation itself is decent. Any room can feel honey of properly decorated and there usually aren't anymore than 6 people to a bathroom.

    Academic Rigor

    W&J has a very good academic reputation and everyone is challenged no matter what their major. The work load may seem heavy at times but it is worth it in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    Determine which aspect of college is most important to you and find the school that best fits your what you would consider your priority. In my experience, I was usually able to tell which schools stuck after I visited campus because you get a taste of all aspects of what college life would be like at that school.

    In three sentences

    Everyone on campus, including staff and students, is very friendly, nice, and helpful. The academics are outstanding and have an excellent reputation so prepare to be challenged! The facilities could definitely be improved especially for what students are expected to pay, but the campus isn't run down either.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    IT'S NEAR PITTSBURGH!!!!! :)

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good, there are kitchens in the dorm. You can't bring microwaves but you can rent the school's.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are generally good. You do get freshman parking, there are'nt any strict rules besides the common sense ones (like 'don't burn down your dorm'), you can bring anyone into your dorm at anytime, and freshman no curfew. At least that's what i'm told... i'll follow up with that.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm attending this fall so im not entirely sure but from what I hear it's challenging. But hey, there's nothing wrong with some mind stimulation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and you are not comfortable with your SAT scores, they have the score optional interview which is very helpful.

    In three sentences

    This school is excellent if you are looking for a small private college. Everyone is sweet and very helpful! The upperclassmen are helpful beyond belief all you have to do is ask. Another thing that seperates this college from others is that has many volunteering and leaderships programs so if you have a great history of volunteering this college just may be for you.

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. Security walks around all hours of the day and have a genuine want to help the school's students.

    Greek Life

    Many guys choose to go greek on campus. This allows them to be welcomed to the parties and also allows them to have brothers to eat and study with. Less girls choose to join sororities although it is a great way to make friends and both the frats and sororities have the best housing on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs on campus, and the campus is very supportive of creating new clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    It is an excellent choice for students that are serious about their education. It's also a great school for athletes and students that wish to pursue international studies.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a pumpkin drop around halloween. The ski lodge is a nice place to study especially in the winter, with its fireplace.

    Bang for the buck

    It is generally more expensive than other colleges and universities since it is a private school, but there is a notable difference in the quality of education.

    What to do for fun

    It is very important to allow yourself to free time. To have fun, you can take the shuttle into Pittsburgh where there is a lot to do, or you can get a group of friends together and party in the dorms or go out to the frats on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the Commons is buffet style and is generally good and diversified. If you go to George and Tom's, the food is made to order but is a nice alternative to switch things up or to go when the Commons is closed.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty standard for freshmen, although they get better for upperclassmen.

    Academic Rigor

    The coursework is challenging, but not over-bearing. If you can manage your time well, you will be able to have spare time in the day to play a sport or join multiple clubs.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like to be challenged, then this school is an excellent choice for you.

    In three sentences

    It is an excellent school and is recognized around Pittsburgh and around the country for producing hard working grads. W & J is a small school but it allows for making close friends and individual attention from professors. It's a great place to call home.

  • 11/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Protection Services is awesome. WE get safety alerts through email and text, and if you ever feel unsafe, protection services will walk you from wherever you are to where you need to be!

    Greek Life

    I'm not a part of the Greek life, but I've heard a ton of great things about the program.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a club that will interest everyone!

    Great for these types of students

    Quiet, needing more attention, have problems focusing in large groups.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like I definitely get what I'm paying for. I'm challenged and the professors are so helpful.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of things going on on campus. There's the Pittsburgh Pipeline, a shuttle that goes to shopping centers on weekends and tons of artists visit the college.

    Food and Dining

    There's so many different places to eat and you can always find something you'd like to have.

    Dorm Life

    I commute and I absolutely love it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour of the campus before you attend! The campus is small, but you can become easily confused.

    In three sentences

    Everyone is so helpful. Mature atmosphere. Challenging curriculum.

  • 03/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There's a club for almost everything and if there isn't one you were looking for the college will let you start one yourself and help you get it off the ground.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a little pricey but for all that is offered it and the value of a degree from W&J, it's worth it.

    What to do for fun

    My friends and I spend time in The Hub and relax, chat, and play video games.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of options to chose from and there is a quick lunch bar for snacks between classes.

    Dorm Life

    I'm a commuter, but my friends love living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    You need to balance work with play but it's easy if you stick with it

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and visit with professors if you start to struggle, it really helps.

    In three sentences

    W&J is a great college that provides a small classroom feel to students. The professors work with students closely ad are available to help if needed. The academics are greatly varied for a liberal arts college and the college offers a lot of enjoyable extracurricular activities for the students.

  • 08/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Protection Services is avaliable at all times during the day and throughout the night. The office is held directly in the middle of campus and is accesible to all. There are emergency phones located by buildings and text messages and calls are acceptable

    Greek Life

    There are six fraternities and four sororities to pledge to and they all live on campus in there very own homes.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everything, you can even create your own. With the clubs come activities so there are plenty of these as well.

    Great for these types of students

    The school is predominantly white with a small percentage of Indian, Mexican, and Black minorities and foreign exchange students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Old Main is the oldest building on campus; it has been here since the school was first built.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is somehwat expensive, the financial aid is extremely helpful and generous but it still costs a lot to attend.

    What to do for fun

    I go to different club meetings and trips as well as attend the numerous events spnsored by the school such as bingo, concerts, dances, movies, and so much more! There is never a dull day on campus, there are so many informative and culture-filled events to participate in.

    Food and Dining

    They have Parkhurst Dinning Hall which is a wonderful room with multiple food stations to choose from all of which are nutritious and filling. Then you have your George and Tom's fast grilling foods. The food is great and you choose what you want to eat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms go by class rank and are selected the freshman year for you but the next three years are up to you.

    Academic Rigor

    The curriculum is very challenging, it is a liberal arts school set to demand your full attention. Studying must be a main priority because you really have to learn the material to gain the full experience of the liberal education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use your resources, there are so many opportunities given on this campus you just have to apply yourself. Stay focused on your studies but have the time to become active on campus and meet new faces.

    In three sentences

    Washington & Jefferson College is a very academically challenging place that you know you will gradute well educated. The environments gives off a welcoming and collective auora. When rated, I would give W&J a high of an 8.

  • 12/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty safe. I feel comfortable walking around at 10pm by myself.

    Greek Life

    Lots of it!

    Clubs and Activities

    Some groups but we could always use more.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are looking for a challenge but do not want to exude all of your energy.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At matriculation all freshman must say their name in front of their entire freshman class.

    Bang for the buck

    It's very expensive but you learn really good things that you will use throughout your life.

    What to do for fun

    ...Take the shuttle to Pittsburgh.

    Food and Dining

    Very good food, expect for themed meals. Don't eat those.

    Dorm Life

    The people here are very nice. Be prepared to get to know them really well.

    Academic Rigor

    It was challenging, but it wasn't hard for me to get Dean's List in my freshman year first semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work, and make sure you don't slack off. It's an expensive school so be prepared for that. Their largest merit scholarship is $18,000.

    In three sentences

    It has a very beautiful campus. The food is good. The people are nice enough but there isn't enough diversity.

  • 02/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is usually very helpful. They are also very friendly.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is a big part of W&J. Students that are not involved in Greek Life are not ostracized because of it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs to fit anyone's interests. If there is not a club that a student is interested in, they can make it possible. There are always many different activities happening campus.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is good for athletic students, students who expect an academic challenge, and students who are looking to have a good college experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I have recognized.

    Bang for the buck

    It's worth it.

    What to do for fun

    I like to hang out with my friends. I go out on the weekends. I also like to go to the Hub where I can watch free Netflix or play games. Monti's is also in the Hub. Monti's has free milkshakes and food.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent. It's not the best but it's not the worst. There are good and bad days.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm sizes vary depending on where you live. I like the dorms. Moist people are respectful of others.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are a bit challenging, but it will be useful in the long run. It's not too stressful, but there needs to be effort in your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for a challenge.

    In three sentences

    I think that W&J is a very good school. The faculty and staff are amazing. I'm very glad I chose to go here.