Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Washtenaw Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    transfer students, art students looking to build their portfolios and learn the basics.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're still in high school apply for their scholarship, you won't regret it, I got a full ride. It is only a 2 year college, but many of their credits transfer. Of the 7 professors I had my first year, 6 were amazing, one was a bit of a rambler, but he was a fluke and isn't teaching anymore as far as I understand. You can prevent this kind of experience by using one of those 'rate my professor sites before you fully commit to a class.

    Bang for the buck

    you pay around 2500 a semester for 12 credits and books, and they have tons of financial aid. totally worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    The people are fun and the classes are great. You'll have a huge variety of classmates, and professors.

    Am learning a lot

    I’ve been taking art classes to build up my portfolio for when I transfer and the art teachers here are phenomenal. Many of them are also employed at more expensive, “brand name” colleges like Eastern or U of M, so it’s like getting the same teaching experience for a couple thousand dollars less.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students on a budget who plan on transfering to a four year program or returning students who need to get back into academic life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for college. Though this is a community college, you still need to be in the mindset that it's not high school. I had many fellow classmates, much younger than I, who didn't succeed in classes because they were unable to understand that unlike high school, college requires you to take responsibilty for your education.

    Bang for the buck

    At this point I'm taking all my core classes and pre-req's and will transfer to a four year college. The tuition at Washtenaw Community College is much more reasonable and allows me to save a considerable amount of money.

    Am enjoying being here

    Being an older returning student I wasn't certain what to expect. However, I've found the instructors to be very helpful and the younger students very accepting.

    Academic Rigor

    In my first semester back, fall 2011, I was able to achieve a 4.0 in my classes. This in large part to my instructors being very knowledgable and helpful.

  • 02/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    its safe, security is always around.

    Great for these types of students

    students returning to school after a couple years off. students who want a small school experience.

    Bang for the buck

    25 credits a year only costs about $3400 bucs. 50 credits runs a little over 6k. that is equal to about one semester of 12 credits at uofm or state and all the credits transfer.

    What to do for fun

    people play frisbee golf, there are clubs and a student activities group.

    Food and Dining

    ok, so on campus there is subway and a high school cafeteria like pace called edibles. both of them provide something that can loosely be referred to as food. now if you go to the school restaurant garrets, they have actual food, its as cheap as subway and it tastes like something at an actual restaurant because it is.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms so it can not be bad.

    Academic Rigor

    some classes are easy, but then again that is true of any college, it all depends on the professor and what the student is willing to put in.

    Tips for prospective students

    take a history class with fitzpatrick, he will prepare you for anything uofm or any other 4 year institution can throw at you.

    In three sentences

    excellent school for the money. great class selection that transfers to almost any college in michigan and elsewhere for credit, and not just general credit. the teachers are mostly part time from either emu or uofm.

  • 02/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the security team is great

    Clubs and Activities

    lots of options

    Great for these types of students

    adults going back to school

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    wii wednesdays

    Bang for the buck

    community college tuition for u of m professor's off days!

    What to do for fun

    lots of clubs and ann arbor is just up the road

    Food and Dining

    yay for garret's!

    Academic Rigor

    it's as difficult as you wish it to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    make friends with the faculty.

    In three sentences

    wastenaw is a great learning environment. the teachers are so supportive! the small community feeling is a great place to be!

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    the students have access to such club sports as basketball, soccer and baseball.

    What to do for fun

    even though this is a community college they do have club sports and other student activity groups.

    Food and Dining

    the campus has a selection of fast food options, along with a dining room. in fact, they are remodeling the dining area this spring.

    Dorm Life

    since this is a community college there is no dorm life experience to comment on.

    Academic Rigor

    i believe the curriculum is built to prepare the students to transfer to a 4 year institution. each program builds on the basic requirements of their program of study to prepare the student for a smooth transition to a 4 year college.

    Tips for prospective students

    use the learning resources if you find yourself falling behind in your classes. i would encourage prospective students to join one of the many student groups as this is a great way to network with others in their field.

    In three sentences

    washtenaw community college provides the students with many resources for succeeding in college. they provide free tutoring and study skill courses. in addition, there are workshops for resume building, job search techniques and developing interview skills.

  • 03/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Huge bang for your small amount of money.

    What to do for fun

    Tons of great sports and activities.

    Food and Dining

    They have a subway and a coffee shop.

    Dorm Life

    I did not stay in the EMU dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you do the work assigned to you by the professors you are set up to do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to Washtenaw! It is a great college for students that do not know what they want to do and it is a lot cheaper than other four year colleges. The teachers are very caring. WCC provides many opportunities make sure to take advantage of them!

    In three sentences

    Washtenaw Community College was the best choice I have made. I have thoroughly enjoyed my two years attending. The staff is amazing, they really want their students to succeed.

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I do feel really safe at this school. There is always campus safety personnel in the parking lot driving around and checking to make sure your car is safe, as well as yourself. They will even jump your car if you need it!

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have not participated in clubs/activities at this school.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who are watching their budget, or who are working full time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have noticed that around 5:00pm there is a religious group that gathers outside and prays before class.

    Bang for the buck

    At WCC I really do feel like I get my moneys work in classes. I have really learned alot over this past semester.

    What to do for fun

    WCC has many club sports, book clubs, religious clubs and such. In the student center they have basketball games set up and ping pong.

    Food and Dining

    Just like many colleges, their is a cafeteria. However, their Subway restaurant is to die for!

    Dorm Life

    I commute, thus I have never stayed in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    For me, the school is pretty hard. I have to spend time studying and attend every class to ensure I do not miss material. I have found by doing this it does make it ten times easier to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even though the staff is very willing to help, they cannot read your mind. You have to ask for it! However once you ask, the staff, whether it be a counselor, a teacher, or a financial advisor, will bend over backwards to help you.

    In three sentences

    On a scale of 1-10 (ten being high) I would rate Washtenaw Community College a 8. The school is very clean, and all the staff members are very helpful. All of the teachers I have encountered are very helpful and really take it to heart to help you succeed in their class if you're struggling. The counselors are a great help when helping you choose the right classes to further your education towards your major.

  • 03/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is incredible. There are various campus safety cars around the parking lot and near the school to surveillance the area.

    Greek Life

    Washtenaw Community College has no Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Washtenaw Community College. There is debate teams, gamer groups, groups for mac lovers, soccer, frisbie teams, ping-pong tournaments and much more. It is very easy to be apart of the community at this college. Everyone is welcoming and accepting and you can find so many people that find similar interests to your own.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for students wanting to receive an associate or attend programs such as dental assisting. However, I think this school is best for starting and/or finishing your prerequisites if you plan to transfer to a university. The classes are challenging just as they would be in a high level school, but the classes are not only more affordable, they are also smaller so you have more one on one time with professors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is great little park near the west side of the campus that is above the drainage system. It concaves so it makes it great to lay down and take names or relax and read a book between classes in the spring and summer.

    Bang for the buck

    Washtenaw is a great place to complete prerequisites. It is incredibly expensive these days to complete them in a four year accredited college. Washtenaw Community College not only has affordable prices, they also offer many scholarships that are easily obtainable to make tuition even that much more affordable.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities and sports you can be apart of here at Washtenaw Community College. There is debate teams, gamer groups, groups for mac lovers, soccer, frisbie teams, ping-pong tournaments and much more. It is very easy to be apart of the community at this college. Everyone is welcoming and accepting and you can find so many people that find similar interests to your own.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is decent. There is a whole floor of food and dining including a Subway, quaint bakery and coffee shop, and a fast food stop called Edibles. My personal favorite is the bakery. It is ran by students in the culinary school at Washtenaw and the baked goods are truly unique to Washtenaw.

    Dorm Life

    Washtenaw Community College has no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    While Washtenaw Community College is only a two year accredited college, it is still a school where academic never fails to challenge. Professors come from various teaching environments and will teach as such. Several examples include teachers having been in congress, those who graduated from Colombia, Duke etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on transferring to a different university, make sure you know the classes you need to take in order to transfer successfully. Washtenaw provides various programs to help you locate your courses you need to take for you specific major the school that corresponds with it. Such a program would include the M-POD program. I was apart of this program and it allowed me to transfer all my credits to the University of Michigan.

    In three sentences

    Washtenaw Community College is a great place to receive an associates or to complete prerequisites prior to transferring to a different college or university. Professors come from so many different backgrounds and experiences and are well educated on their topics. It is truly a diverse place to meet new people and to succeed.

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety of campus is taken into consideration from every staff member and student. The safety of student and staff is quite put together.

    Bang for the buck

    To all future students, This school is great, academically, sports, and extra help from teachers and counselors. This school is a great choice.

    What to do for fun

    Washtenaw offers many fun free sports to join. I enjoy volleyball very much and I can attend whenever I want

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. There is much to choose from.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't get discouraged. You may have one or two bad teachers or counselors but that does not mean that they all are. Washtenaw is a great school to attend and they offer a a lot different classes.

    In three sentences

    I love Washtenaw Community College. The instructors are great and extremely informative. No matter what challenge I go through there is always someone there to help me through it.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe on this campus. I can walk anywhere and not be afraid of getting hurt.

    Greek Life

    There is Greek Life on campus, but you have to have so many credits and high grades to get in.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of activities and clubs, yet difficult to get to if you live 40 minutes away like I do.

    Great for these types of students

    People who just want to get their credits done and over with.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Washtenaw does have a beautiful campus. In the Fall and Spring, it's nice to go outside and walk around.

    Bang for the buck

    You're here to get your credits and get out. It's got a great price, and the high school-associates degree program is great if you haven't graduated yet, but if you're a graduating senior, be careful. Make sure you're getting the right credits you need to transfer.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs and social events, which is great. You can get tickets to NFL games and Fox Theatre shows at a discount, along with other benefits. However, because this is a campus that commutes and has what I'd estimate is an over 50% demographic of students in their late 20's-30's-40's, it's hard to make friends here that are your own age.

    Food and Dining

    There's a Subway, a coffee shop, and a lunch-room style area where you can pick up things like pizza and burgers. It's okay for the first few months, but eventually you start to run out of variety. Make sure you know when each shop is open because many of them close within a couple hours and unless you leave campus, you won't eat. There's also a student run restaurant, but it's hardly ever open and is more on the expensive side.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life here. Apartments are close by to campus, but being in Ann Arbor, they're expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are so easy it'll make you feel like you're in high school again. Some courses, such as Marriage and Family, will open your mind and cause you to see a different perspective on things. However, some courses are simply a review, so make sure that you check with your counselor to make sure that the class you're taking has actual college credit and will transfer, because they WILL sign you up for a high school level class in order to make sure you stay longer (therefore, making them receive more money).

    Tips for prospective students

    It's easy to slack off, so stay on task so you get your credits done. Go to the classes and make sure you get all your work in, and you should pass with an A.

    In three sentences

    Washtenaw Community College is an easy starting point and an affordable option for most students. The teachers are mostly helpful and in some classes you will learn. However, some classes are unnecessary, all aren't very challenging, and there isn't much in the way of student life here.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Local High school grad not looking to go far geographically, adults returning to school and local single parents.

    What to do for fun

    Go home, this is not a party school, this is a place to get your associates and move on.

    Food and Dining

    Rebuilding right now, hope its open for fall!

    Dorm Life

    Do they offer dorms? Good question.

    Academic Rigor

    Great as far as community colleges go!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't expect too much assistance from counselors with deciding on your major, take the course they offer on hot jobs.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus, offers cafe, daycare and workout/gym. Staff not so friendly during Fall enrollment. I did get everything I needed at the end of the day taken care of, and they did pretty much hold my hand every step of the way.

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    12 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    A wide variety of food, from fast food, coffe shop to 5 star dining.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the class, some are hard and some are easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be your self and be stright forward. If you have an issue or problem, let them know right a way. They are there to help you and will.

    In three sentences

    My professors were honest, helpful, considerate, and caring. They respected my advice and comments. I highly recommend this college.

  • 09/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Non traditional

    What to do for fun

    Lots of club sports and clubs to join

    Tips for prospective students

    Avoid Professor LaHote for econ. Take Kim Hurns for your business classes

    In three sentences

    This college is very good for non traditional students.

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety at WCC is awesome. Every time I am near the parking lot, I always see a patrol officer. WCC also has emergency phones spread out along the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Washtenaw Community College has an immense amount of clubs and activities. Anyone can find their place among the list of things to do.

    Great for these types of students

    Washtenaw Community College is a fantastic school for the average student that is also working, or has a very busy life outside of school. WCC also offers child care to students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ann arbor has an unusual zombie walk, where you can dress up in your favorite hue of artificial blood and trot the streets with your friends to help a good cause.

    Bang for the buck

    Washtenaw Community College is absolutely the maximum bang for your buck. Students are paying bottom dollar for a university education on a eco-friendly campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food in Ann Arbor is incredibly diverse within a close proximity. The area is very racially diverse, which aides in trying new flavors you wouldn't normally try. Whatever you are craving, you are sure to quench it in the surrounding area of Washtenaw Community College.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dormitories affiliated with Washtenaw Community College, however, there are many affordable housing options in the area.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor is essential when attending college. Ultimately, a letter grade informs you of how much information was retained, which is important for many transfer students. I believe that every student should set high standards on their education.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice for anyone enrolling for classes at Washtenaw Community College would be to make sure you are mentally prepared to do your best. New students need to stay positive and optimistic. Above all, new students need to make sure to study and get the grades they need for their certificate, associates degree, or future transfer to a four year college, which is the most important aspect of college.

    In three sentences

    Washtenaw Community College is the best option in Michigan for many reasonsI. I, along with many peers, attend Washtenaw community college because they are affordable, they have a great teacher-student ratio with a caring faculty, the campus has a well-planned layout, and the entire atmosphere is uplifting. I will miss WCC when I transfer and will hold my memories dear.

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    >Clubs >Monthly events > Roaming Ann Arbor >Chatting with new people

    Food and Dining

    There is subway, edibles, and a restaurant ran by the culinary department.

    Dorm Life

    There is none.

    Academic Rigor

    Washtenaw Community College work is very doable. Make time to study and you'll be just fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    >Use your teachers office hours if and when your struggling >The Washtenaw book store is not the only source to buy the books you need, there are other sources online that may be cheaper >Check your WCC email everyday > Get involved with clubs or events

    In three sentences

    Washtenaw Community College is a great way to start your education. It's affordable, the atmosphere is comfortable and friendly, the teachers here want you to succeed and are always available to help when your struggling. It's not only a learning experience, but a chance to meet great people.

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for nursing students!

    In three sentences

    I can't say enough wonderful things about WCC! This is a great college where the help is endless. The slogan What do you call a WCC grad? Employed., is oh so true.

  • 11/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are siren buttons all over campus and security text messages all the students whenever something is wrong.

    Greek Life

    None-

    Clubs and Activities

    For being a community college, there are a lot of sports and clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for someone transferring to a very expensive school, someone who likes small class sizes, and anyone who is unsure of their major.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a squirrel watching club, which is always fun to drop in on.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are less expensive than a 4 year college's are, but they are taught by experienced professors so you are taking the same class you would at a university for much less.

    What to do for fun

    Go into downtown Ann Arbor. There is always something going on there!

    Food and Dining

    There are so many places to eat in Ann Arbor!

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm but the campus is very clean, safe, and nice.

    Academic Rigor

    From the classes I have taken so far, I have notices that the classes are always challenging, but not too challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking into Washtenaw, I would recommend meeting with one of the counselors as soon as possible so that they can help you figure out which classes to take for your program.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy Washtenaw Community College. The professors and the staff are all very qualified and helpful. WCC wants you to succeed.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    18 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Adults going back to school, students not ready for a large university, students who want to save some money on tuition.

    Bang for the buck

    I paid out of district tuition, but still paid less than I would have at a larger university.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of student groups around to get involved with.

    Food and Dining

    There's a Subway, a grill that serves burgers and pizza, and a coffee shop. The real gem, though is Garrett's, which is run by the Culinary Arts and Hospitality Management students. For low prices you get excellent food.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be tough if you don't pay attention, but the teachers are willing to help you out if you are struggling. There's also a math lab where you can go for help, as well as tutors.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great way to get the basic classes (math, English, etc.) out of the way before going to a larger university. Classes are smaller and tuition is much cheaper than at a university.

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are academic and social clubs.

    Dorm Life

    I have never been in a dorm room.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say that one of the most important things to do while at WCC is to keep your grades up by listening to your instructor, looking at your syllabus, and to do your homework. I would also not be afraid to talk to new people and make new friends.

    In three sentences

    I think Washtenaw Community College is a great school. The professors are very intelligent and are very helpful. Also, most of the students there are very well-rounded and friendly.

  • 03/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There's a subway in the student center, along with a restaurant that the culinary classes make food for, I believe it's called Garrett's? I've never eaten there personally though.

    Dorm Life

    WCC does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor, well, it's not too challenging. It's basic things, but they're things that are essential to your career.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a couple classes and try it out before you completely say no, as that its a waste of time. My cake design teacher is a professional who opened the baking part of zingermans bakery.

    In three sentences

    I love WCC. Although there's always talk about community colleges not being up to par, my college is wonderful. The only issues I have are capacities of classes and not being able to get into the classes that I would like to. I have to alter my schedule many times.

  • 04/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Washtenaw Community College is one of the safest college campuses I've been on. There are reports of petty theft from time to time, but I've seen people leave their laptops in the library unattended with no issue (which is a stupid thing to do, but people really feel comfortable here)

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a wide range a clubs and sports to get involved with on campus. There are several religious clubs, an arts club, gamer club, LGBTQ club, an animation club, an anime club, as well as academic clubs like Phi Theta Kappa.

    Great for these types of students

    WCC is great for students that aren't sure of what they want to study just yet, you can explore a wide range of topics without breaking the bank. But it's also great for students that know exactly what they want to do, but want to save some money and transfer into a four year program. WCC has MACRAO and articulation agreements with universities in Michigan and all over the country.

    Bang for the buck

    At $96 a credit hour for in county students and $149 for out of county students, Washtenaw remains the best value for college education in southeast Michigan. We have amazing facilities and top notch instructors. Most of the instructors at WCC currently work in their field and/or teach at one of the nearby universities.

    What to do for fun

    There's a lot of on campus clubs and various sports teams you can join. We're also really close to the University of Michigan and Eastern Michigan University so there's a pretty strong college atmosphere in the area.

    Food and Dining

    The food choices are pretty limited. We have the school store that offers snacks and drinks, subway, edibles - which offers cafeteria food, Garret's - campus restaurant staffed by the culinary students, and Bakuzio's - coffee shop

    Dorm Life

    It's a community college, there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses offered at WCC can be pretty intense. They're on par with University of Michigan and Eastern Michigan University. A lot of the instructor's that teach at the nearby universities also teach at Washtenaw, but they don't lower their standards for WCC students. WCC offers a lot of basic and introductory level courses to help you prepare for the tougher classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    The councilors do the best they can, but if you're interested in a specific program, you need to talk to the adviser for that program as soon as possible. The program advisers know when certain classes will be offered and they'll help you plan out your course schedule so you're not stuck waiting for a class that's only offered once a year.

    In three sentences

    Washtenaw Community College is a great place to jump start your academic career. Whether you know exactly what you want to pursue or you're just dabbling, WCC has a broad range of courses for you to explore. WCC also has a large number of articulation agreements with Universities throughout the U.S.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Fresh out of high school, planning to transfer to a 4 year institution

    What to do for fun

    Theres two other universities near by so there is a lot to get into.

    Food and Dining

    Its okay! same things everyday

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your best and get involved!

    In three sentences

    This is a great institutuion for those who plan to transfer to a 4 year university but want to take the inexpensive route to get your prerequisites out the way!

  • 04/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I went my first year at Washtenaw Community College for free. I got work study, an $800 per semester scholarship and tuition is fairly low. Comparing that to when I went to a 4 year university for a year where I did two semesters and have a little over $4,000 in debt.

    Food and Dining

    They have Subway, a Tim Hortons-esque food place and a student run restaurant, done by the cooking students so its fairly good.

    Dorm Life

    Like most community colleges there are no dorms. I think building a small living area, maybe 40 room building would be good would be really good. Jackson community college does that and I think it would be a great addition.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on your instructor. I've taken 9 classes so far, both online and traditional. For the most part they're all good, some of the management classes I've taken have had instructors I feel weren't necessarily made to teach.

  • 05/18/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    24 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always felt safe

    Greek Life

    No known Fraternities or Sororities - Community College.

    Clubs and Activities

    I never researched clubs, but I do know there was a student radio station that sounded like fun.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for non-traditional students, bright high-schoolers, part-time students, and those on a budget (and who isn't).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing Unusual

    Bang for the buck

    As a community college the value for your money if you are in-district is awesome, and some of the classes were better than what I had at Michigan Tech. Even the In-State and Out-of-State tuition is a bargain compared to most 4-year universities.

    What to do for fun

    Awesome fitness center, student radio station, and many classes that are experiential, like a PE class might actually go on a hike, or an architecture class might go on a walking tour of the city to show real life examples.

    Food and Dining

    The student center has a snack bar area with some chain fast food restaurants. The last time I used it it was clean and had decent food. Since I have food allergies I usually carry food with me that I know is safe for me, so I didn't use the snack bar much.

    Dorm Life

    As a Community College, there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I never had what I would call an easy course unless I already knew the material from my professional life, and even then I was often challenged in the ways I had to adapt my knowledge. On the other hand, all of my instructors and professors were friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Feel free to take classes outside your comfort level, but also make sure you understand what it will take to get your degree and work towards it. If you struggle, make sure you use the Student Services resources -- they are there to help you! If you are planning to continue to a 4-year degree, check out the agreements with Eastern Michigan University for pre-approved transfer of specific classes or programs as full 2 years towards the 4-year degree.

    In three sentences

    WCC has an excellent Faculty, good courses, a comfortable library, and a friendly student base. The support Staff is excellent. I enjoyed attending but have moved from the area.

  • 07/07/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    This is hard for me to review because I work in this field, Food is ok for institutional food. There is a culinary program on campus so that helps.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use campus map to get around. Try to fill out as much as you can online.

    In three sentences

    Fairly large campus for a community college. Staff every helpful. Great learning environment.

  • 07/14/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    26 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus, I always feel safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Transitioning from high school to college. A great affordable place to decide your future.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are always communtity theather programs in the ML building.

    Bang for the buck

    Great affordable education!

    What to do for fun

    Dance, dance, dance!

    Food and Dining

    Student center has great food.

    Academic Rigor

    Great variety of classes. Fairly challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know you instructors because they are there to help you, and they actually want to.

    In three sentences

    My experience at Washtenaw Community College was exceptional. The staff is personable and their main goal is helping you achieve a higher education. I would highly recommend this school to anyone looking to further their education.

  • 08/19/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    27 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    If you don't have a car.....you'll end up just sitting around talking with friends or playing on a computer.

    Food and Dining

    You'll probably learn to love subway or Edible's really greasy foods.

    Dorm Life

    This college doesn't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the instructors you will take will make sure you leave out learning something but there are a few instructors that won't really push you to learn what the class is trying to teach you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always show up early and try not to miss any classes. The second you miss one class, you'll start accidentally missing more.

    In three sentences

    This school offers a decently wide range of studies to pursue. The campus for the most part is pretty safe. And most of the instructors are excellent.

  • 10/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    GO and enroll, I promise you will not fid a better community college.Its feels just like an university.

    In three sentences

    Washtenaw community college is an amazing school,The helpfulness from all there departments are top of the charts.I love this school,and feel as if they care about my education.

  • 11/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Distance learning is very good through Washtenaw Community College. I am living in another state now but they still make it possible to finish my education at their institution under different circumstances.

    Bang for the buck

    This is my last semester at this lovely college, I am not a penny in debt.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved in groups, meet new people. You are very close to Ann Arbor, Ypsilanti and Detroit so you can always find something interesting to get into.

    Food and Dining

    There are places within driving distance as well as cafeteria style food.

    Dorm Life

    All housing is off-campus. Enjoy that!

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you do your work, there will be no problems. If you don't show up to class, complete your work in a timely manner etc. you probably won't succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class, simple step one. Do your work, if you want to pass. Don't let anybody get to you. Go to Washtenaw with an open mind and ready to learn.

    In three sentences

    Washtenaw Community College is a fun place to attend school. The teachers are very understanding for the most part, as well as being very helpful. You meet all types of people while attending classes here, help them out and let them help you out if you need it.

  • 12/07/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    30 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The only problem I've seen on campus are people smoking where they shouldn't. That's a pretty safe campus!

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Just about every kind of club you can think of, there is. And if there isn't, it's really easy to start a new one!

    Great for these types of students

    Average students who need to get their grades up before attending a 4-year school, folks who don't have a ton of money to spend, anyone looking to go into nursing, or attend EMU for just about any major.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a surprising number of Ingress portals on campus!

    Bang for the buck

    In one year, I've gotten almost all of my general education requirements for my whole degree out of the way, for less than $5k.

    What to do for fun

    Matthai Botanical Garden is nearby, if you're into that sort of thing. Free to go in, just pay a couple bucks for parking. Loads of clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    Several options in the student center, and the coffee shop serves Starbucks. Pretty cheap, and decent eats.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are pretty easy if you pay attention and stay organized.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're planning to transfer to a 4-year school, make sure to read the transfer guides for your prospective schools, and take classes that have equivalencies, so you don't waste money taking classes that won't transfer.

    In three sentences

    Good opportunity to get pre-requisites or general education credits out of the way for cheap. Professors can be hit or miss, so ask other students, read reviews, and don't be afraid to drop a class! Classes tend to be pretty easy, and you'll get out of them just exactly as much as you put in.

  • 01/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    SAVE YOUR MONEY!!! They offer a MACRAO program that transfers to a ton of Michigan colleges and universities.

    What to do for fun

    They offer a lot of clubs and discounted prices on outings like going to Cedar Point, but you have to put some effort into signing up.

    Food and Dining

    They have a coffee shop, a student run restaurant (thats rarely open), a subway, and a small section of cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, you either live with your parents or live on your own.

    Academic Rigor

    It's community college. The teachers can vary from one extreme to the next but don't expect everyone around you to put a lot of effort into their work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Schedule your classes a week before registration so you just have to type in the CN's as soon as registration opens and you'll most likely get all the classes you want.

    In three sentences

    Its community college, so it can be hard or easy depending on your own skill level and what kind of teacher you get. They have really nice facilities here though.

  • 01/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never felt unsafe, but I also never went to campus at night. I always left when it was dark and with classmates. Due to that, I always felt safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's plenty of things to join and be apart of.

    Great for these types of students

    Just starting college...save your money and go to Washtenaw Community College. The education is worth it as well.

    Bang for the buck

    If you get in district tuition, it significantly drops the price.

    What to do for fun

    There's plenty of extracurricular activities and group oriented thing to do.

    Food and Dining

    Tons of options...it changes regularly, but you also have your regulars.

    Dorm Life

    I wouldn't know. There are no dorms to my knowledge.

    Academic Rigor

    It definitely prepares you for what you're up for in the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask lots of questions and about anything you can think of. Make nice with the professors and they'll go above and beyond to help you, but be genuine.

    In three sentences

    It's a great school to start out with. It prepares students for beyond community college. The instructors are great if you communicate with them.

  • 02/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe, and there are very little thefts. Also there are many extra measures put together to insure the safety of everyone on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many activities and clubs to be a part of.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities that the student activity center puts on everyday, and every month. They sell tickets to Broadway in Detroit shows, and to many other events at a very discounted rate.

    Food and Dining

    The food is expensive and its not a buffet its more of buy what you want if you want more it costs more.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus. Washtenaw is a commuter school.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what class and what instructor will depend on how hard the class is.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend orientation, and take the campus tour, even though it isn't hard to figure out where to go it really would help to have the tour.

    In three sentences

    Easy to get around campus, and parking isn't that big of a problem (no parking passes.) Instructors are friendly and want you to succeed. There are plenty of student activities to be involved in, and there are many outside activities to also participate in.

  • 02/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great place for people who didn't do to well in high school. They except everyone and offer classes to get you up to college level classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Great way to save money when going to a four year university may be hard. You can earn some of your credits and save money at the same time.

    What to do for fun

    There are a fair amount of clubs and most of them relate to different majors that you can earn at the school. There is also a lot of open space outside for people to hang out between classes.

    Food and Dining

    There is a Starbucks and a student run restaurant along with Subway. The Starbucks doesn't have a full menu but it's still good for getting a cup of coffee. I've never been in the restaurant but the menu looks impressive.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms because it is community college and everyone just commutes.

    Academic Rigor

    Kind of easy compared to what a four year university would be like. More like an extension of high school but it allows you to boost your GPA if it isn't very good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit beforehand, the school isn't like a normal university.

    In three sentences

    A great place to start when you don't know what you want to major in. Cheaper than a four year university without losing the education benefits. Easy to navigate the school and located in a nice area.

  • 03/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The only time I see Campus Security is when they are driving around the parking lot in their vehicles. Very rarely do I see them walking around campus. But this does not make WCC an unsafe place. Since my first day, I haven't seen or heard of any problems on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    WCC has more clubs and activities than some students might know what to do with. Intramural sports (baseball, volleyball, soccer, etc.), ping-pong, video game, arm wrestling, the list seems endless. Chances are if WCC doesn't have a certain club, you can more than likely start it.

    Bang for the buck

    Washtenaw Community College gets six stars with bang for your buck. The amount of experience and material you get for the small amount you pay per semester is fantastic! Remember, you need to work for the A. Don't expect to get all that you can out of WCC if you don't put the effort in. WCC will be what you make it! It's also pretty neat having highly[!] experienced people as your instructors; they all have great stories to tell.

    What to do for fun

    If you live in the south-eastern Michigan area, you know what there is to do. If not, Washtenaw Community College is just down the road from Downtown Ann Arbor. There is plenty to do there: food, museums, music, you name it. The Briarwood Mall and other shopping centers are not far from campus as well.

    Food and Dining

    There are a couple student-operated restaurants/bakeries in the WCC Student Center. I haven't tried any myself, but from what I understand, WCC's culinary arts program is amongst the finest (but don't take my word for it...). If you don't feel like eating in the Student Center, there are plenty of familiar restaurants to eat close to the school.

    Dorm Life

    I can't really say much about dorm life, because I commute. However, there are many places to rent an apartment or house. So, if you can't live at home, don't fret. Also, I've listened to peers tell me that community college throws out the college experience most freshmen get at a university, which is true to an extent. Just because you won't be living in a dorm with a bunch of other students doesn't mean you can't meet new people.

    Academic Rigor

    My honest rating for Academic Rigor would be 3.5 stars. Not because the work isn't hard, but because some instructors require a little more work than others. The more work required does not mean you get any less out of the class; the instructors know exactly how to make you learn the material, as long as you apply yourself to the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the community college label scare you. If you want to start on a clean slate and transfer to a university, then go to WCC! Just make sure you work hard. The label of community college seems to be a sign to many students that it's easy or for people who don't care - this is not true whatsoever. Community college is what you make of it, and WCC has the people to help you along the way.

    In three sentences

    Washtenaw Community College is great for anyone. Many of the faculty at WCC are just like any other instructors/professors you would find at a larger university; they are trained, experienced, and professional people! The community college status doesn't mean anything - you still need a work-ethic to get the A! - but the faculty are there to make sure you succeed!

  • 04/08/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    36 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    A good majority of the professors at this school are also staff at the surrounding universities. Most departments are filled with people that had successful careers outside of a university setting and felt that they wanted to teach the next generation how to achieve that same success. Being a community college, tuition is a third of what it is at a four year institution. I feel that what I learned during my pursuit of an associates degree has outweighed that of students who have completed a masters program elsewhere. They teach real life experience, not just stuff to fill the empty space between your ears.

    Food and Dining

    When the culinary school opens their lunch room later in the semester, you better get a seat! Such imagination and well rounded pallets come out of this school and the fact that they even have a place to offer this is amazing. One day some of those students are going to be head Chef's at some great restaurant, it's great to think that you were there from the beginning.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, commuter college.

    Academic Rigor

    Rigor is being able to push yourself beyond what is easy. We need to push ourselves beyond our individual limits in order to be the best at something. No, that is not a brilliant definition ...to make progress in anything there has to be an element of rigor. Simply put. However, it is in your hands to push yourself that hard. No one is going to do it for you in the future, so don't expect anyone to do it for you now.

    Tips for prospective students

    To get the best value out of an education you can't just float through. If you work hard and talk to counselors in various departments, they will give you the means necessary to make your college experience the best it can be. They don't want you to leave with just a degree, they want you to leave with a life path. If you need financial aid, they will help you. If you struggle with classic learning style there are options for you. An education is your greatest weapon to being successful in the future, don't miss out on it.

    In three sentences

    Washtenaw Community College is an outstanding community college that brings professors with real life experience to guide you on your future endeavors. The school will help your education flourish with the correct drive and dedication any student can achieve success at this school. If you're ambitious about improving your future, they have to means for you to do so.

  • 04/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities at WCC.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs to join. There are organized sports and lots of events all the time.

    Food and Dining

    The student center has ala carte food and a subway.

    Dorm Life

    There are not any dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    WCC offers a very fertile environment for growing minds. The classes are not overly complicated, yet they challenge students to grow.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go see a counselor or go to the Student Connection with any questions you might have. They'll be happy to help you.

    In three sentences

    Washtenaw Community College is a really outstanding institution. Marked by low prices, great faculty, and beautiful landscaping. WCC is the place to go for students setting out into higher education.

  • 05/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety sends out safety tips to students and I have never heard of any incidents.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of club sports that are free to join.

    Bang for the buck

    I was dual-enrolling through my high school and only had to pay for books, but since it's a community college, it's pretty reasonable.

    What to do for fun

    There are often activities planned either on campus (trivia and more) or in the community (trips to the ice arena, museums, Cedar Point, etc.). They often have discounted tickets to sports events and such also available.

    Food and Dining

    I brought food with me, so I don't have any personal experience. They have a Subway on campus.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the class. A couple of entry level classes I've had we're graded pretty easily, but some of the harder math classes were graded more strictly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure classes will transfer if you're going to a four year college afterward.

    In three sentences

    WCC is a good college to dual-enroll in high school. The campus is safe and looks nice. They have online/ blended classes and classes on satellite campuses.

  • 05/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good. Nothing bad ever happens on campus.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    not so great.

    Great for these types of students

    Everybody.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They smoke in the woods just ask somebody.

    Bang for the buck

    U mm I had a Math teacher who was not so good for me. the math website is slow and kind of hard to use this would have been to know before I took any Math classes at WCC.

    What to do for fun

    They have a fitness center, but you have to pay for it. Most people just hang out around the student game center.

    Food and Dining

    Food prices are to high, subway is Ok I guess for lunch.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms sorry.

    Academic Rigor

    The students don't like hang out or socialize much so get used to this.

    Tips for prospective students

    Speak with your councilor, but still take charge of what you want to do.

    In three sentences

    The school needs more places to sit around campus. The school also has bills just pop the heck up out of nowhere. Not enough classes offered in the class catalog.