Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Waubonsee Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/07/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Undecided Majors, Not ready to leave home yet, Financially strapped, Economically Frugal, Returning Adults, Etc...

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for your classes early. If the enrollment isn't enough, they will cancel a class, so don't wait until the last minute to pick your classes. You could be the difference between a class going and being canceled!

    Bang for the buck

    Best choice before transferring to a 4 year school. Their dual placement program with 4 year institutions is awesome! You will save alot of money by going this route. Instead of paying $1000-$2000 a class you'll pay about $300. (not including books)

  • 07/16/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Waubonsee is great for students who are not quite sure as to what they want to major in or what career they want to pursue.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the smaller class sizes, the teachers are willing to spend extra time with you to ensure that you are fully understanding what is being taught.

  • 08/21/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Every type of student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class, work hard, have a perfect GPA because it will benefit you when transferring to a 4 year school!

    Bang for the buck

    I am saving SO MUCH MONEY! It was hard for me to opt for a community college instead of a 4 year school right away, but it was well worth it. Definitely!

    Am enjoying being here

    Pretty campus, nice teachers, great schedules & opportunities. Very convenient & student friendly.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are small with a lot of individual attention, I was nervous after taking some time off after high school, that college classes would catch me off guard, but this is a great place to start your learning & get into the college level work load.

  • 04/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for those who don't know what subject they want to major into, or for those who want to get their general education courses out of the way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention when you're signing up for classes. Waubonsee has more than one campus, and if you're not careful, you could be taking classes at a campus you can't reach. Another thing to keep in mind is online classes. You need to have the discipline to get assignments in on time, and comment on the discussion boards. The online classes are not quite as forgiving as the normal classes.

    Bang for the buck

    For me, it was worth every penny. You get what you pay for here. They have classes for days, evenings, and the weekend. They have classes for online and off-campus. They have great facilities and the faculty want you to succeed.

    Am enjoying being here

    They have events in the student center almost every week. They also have discussions, concerts, and plays performed by the students and various guests. They have plenty of clubs and organizations, and if there isn't one for you, you can make one.

    Am learning a lot

    Some of it was review for me, like the math and science classes, but there are also classes that I had not taken before, such as Intro to Shakespeare and Intro to British Literature.

  • 07/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for any one whether you are going to get gen.-eds out of the way or you have no clue what you want to study. It helps to take different intro classes to help figure things out and what you like to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to schedule classes early. Also, make sure you pay close attention to which hall each class is in. It isn't always the smartest thing to have to walk completely across campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition isn't too bad especially it being a community college. It is reasonable and helps to save money before going away to college.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really like it here. There is plenty of different activities so that everyone can be involved in different ways.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned a lot being at Waubonsee. One major thing that I am glad I went to Waubonsee is that from taking introduction classes, I changed my major and did a total 360. Most of the teachers are helpful and are more than willing to answer any questions.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    When students aren't in class at Waubonsee, most hang out either in the two lobbies of Bodie, APC, or in the cafe. Some days you may find students playing Frisbee in the quad or at the outdoor cafe area.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe at Waubonsee has the best paninis. The coffee is a bit over-priced, but overall the food is very good.

    Dorm Life

    Waubonsee does not have any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Coming out of high school, I was very well prepared for college. I took challenging classes at Waubonsee, however, I never felt intellectually stimulated or strained in any way. Most professors are easy going and always willing to help out. Overall, Waubonsee's academics are not very strenuous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Before registering for any classes, be sure to check the statistics of each professor on RateMyProfessor.com. Since you are commuting every day, it is smart to stack all of your classes either two or three days a week to ensure more time to work.

    In three sentences

    Waubonsee Community College provides a superb learning environment through their inviting staff. The new buildings house sizable classrooms used for classes of less than 30. The diversity of the community college makes for a quality experience throughout one's time there.

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    clubs are usually fun for me and they are always holding up events around the campus.

    Food and Dining

    they have great snacks and pizza and handburgers with fries that are to die for.

    Dorm Life

    i wish i could put something here but alas i live at home. :(

    Academic Rigor

    waubonsee community college is fun and has a lot of clubs you can join, and as long as you try hard at anything you do oppurtunity is definately in your reach.

    Tips for prospective students

    sign up on time and make sure you get a good head time with your classes. procrastination wont help you much at wcc.

    In three sentences

    waubonsee is a great way to finish your gen eds at an amazing cheap cost. it is enviroment and teacher friendly. plus the campus is gorgeous in the spring and summer!

  • 03/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i have heard of some criminal activity but i have not personally come across any. the campus seems safe to me.

    Clubs and Activities

    honors societies, student clubs, student government...whats not to love???

    Great for these types of students

    waubonsee is great if you want to go to a 4 year school but you don't know which one. comming here allows you to find what you want or need in a college via experience. it is also great for people who do not yet know which major to pursue

    Bang for the buck

    it is definitely worth the time and money. the teachers are very intelligent and are able to shower students with academic resources.

    What to do for fun

    there are some pretty fun student activities including student clubs, honor societies, and event nights (which usually have guest speakers).

    Food and Dining

    the food could be better.

    Dorm Life

    its a commuter campus

    Academic Rigor

    most of the classes are easy. the most difficult ones are probably labs.

    Tips for prospective students

    be on time for class, it is a commuter campus so a lot of students are late. however, the teachers appreciate a timely student and you can pick up some extra credit for being on time.

    In three sentences

    the teachers are helpful. the class sizes are small. registration is a pain though.

  • 03/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    many emergency light buttons around campus, as well as many campus police.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many sports and clubs you can be involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    great for students who are on a budget or anyone who wants to get gen-eds done before a four year.

    Bang for the buck

    very cheap and affordable!

    What to do for fun

    there is many different clubs and sports you can be involved with.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria has really good food, you can pretty much get whatever you want. they have a large variety of different foods and are open almost all the time.

    Dorm Life

    the community college has no dorms although that option would be nice.

    Tips for prospective students

    the plus side to going here is how cheap it is. you spend 100 dollars per credit hour compared to 600 or more a credit hour at other colleges. another tip is to look up your teachers on rate my professor.com before you sign up for their classes! some teachers teach very good and other aren't as good.

    In three sentences

    it is a good school to start off with to save a lot of money. for students in district it is 100 dollars per credit hour plus other little fees. the only thing i don't like about this school is that it feels too much like high school. it still seems like kids have their own little groups and don't reach out to others too well. the sugar grove campus is bigger than the aurora and copley campus so a lot more kids go to sugar grove.

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i never felt unsafe walking arround campus and there is usually a campus police car driving arround. they are very fast responders!

    Clubs and Activities

    they have a lot of clubs for almost anyone and you can always start your own if you want to!

    Great for these types of students

    people who want to save money or students who dont know what major they want yet.

    Bang for the buck

    soooooooo cheep! just one hundred dollers per semester hour.

    What to do for fun

    plays, concerts, and events are always going on. on any day there could be a comidian giving stand up in the student center, or a presentation given by a famous author in apc. or you can just hang out in any number of locations with friends.

    Food and Dining

    the cafetera has some good food and it is pretty cheep. there is also a mcdonalds, jimmy johns, and a sub way close by.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes varry highly by who is teaching the class, but it is always doable.

    Tips for prospective students

    definitely go here to save tons of money! it is an excellent way to get started.

    In three sentences

    good for getting general education requirements out of the way. it is also an excellent way to figure out your future major by taking entry level classes in that field to make sure they are a good fit for you. i saved a ton of money by going here too!

  • 03/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    join clubs

    Food and Dining

    good food and good price

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention, be on time, do your work/homework study specially study

    In three sentences

    good education. great price excellent atmosphere

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Waubonsee is a very safe campus. They have emergency phones all around the campus, even outside. I have never felt unsafe at Waubonsee.

    Great for these types of students

    Waubonsee is great for students who do not have a lot of money. It is also great for those students who are still undecided about their major.

    What to do for fun

    The Student Center has fun things going on around there. You could also join one of the many clubs they have to offer.

    Food and Dining

    I love the food at the Student Center. I eat lunch there almost everyday. I also love the coffee bar that they have in there. Plus the Student Center is a great environment to meet new people or to study with new friends.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Waubonsee.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some classes there that are not that challenging. However, there are other classes that will test you as a student. Be prepared to learn many new things.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for students is to apply early. The earlier you apply for classes, the higher the chance you will get the class you want. Same goes for financial aid and scholarships.

    In three sentences

    Waubonsee is a great starting point for students. They help you learn new material and new things about yourself as a student. It is a great college for those who do not have a whole lot of money.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    If you would like to save on money while going to school Waubonsee is the spot to go. The education level is at University level with community cost.

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy reading, I am currently reading a book about the Introduction to the Muslim Community.

    Food and Dining

    all the campuses were available to me at all time.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    I always suggest other students, that while connecting with the counselors is great you don't have to stick to their schedule for you. you can start off with your electives and return to your general education classes.

    In three sentences

    I enjoyed Waubonsee because they have a great staff that really is pacinate about what they teach. I have also enjoyed Waubonsee because they affor toutering and other student activities. over all Waubonsee has helped me to learn and grow as a student.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always campus guards on premise.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is worth trying especially with the credit hours being so inexpensive compared to other Illinoise colleges.

    What to do for fun

    Things to do fro fun are ahtletics and student government.

    Food and Dining

    The dining facilities are great and convenient.

    Dorm Life

    Does not offer dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic portion is very challenging yet rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare to be challenged.

    In three sentences

    It is very student friendly. The teachers are very knowledgable. The campus is easy to navigate.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have seen several students walk around with their guitars, though they rarely played them. Only a few of those guitar-slinging students stopped and played a few songs. Some randomly played outside the buildings in between classes, others performed more formally in the dining area of the Student Center.

    What to do for fun

    There are several clubs to keep busy in, but many people have fun simply by meeting their friends in the dining area in the Student Center, sitting outside when it's nice, or socializing in the library. I went to high school with several of my fellow students, and I enjoyed bumping into them at random places. Sometimes we would even leave campus and order a pizza at a little restaurant just five minutes down the road.

    Food and Dining

    The Student Center has a wonderful dining area; both the seating and the selection of food are great. There is an abundance of tables; my best friend and I often got a table meant for only two, but we had the chance to sit with groups on some days too. The food selection is relatively wide, serving the average meals along with healthy choices, and are reasonably priced. They also have excellent coffee, I would often grab a vanilla latte in between my classes in the mornings.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life, because it is a community college. However, life between classes is quite fulfilling. There are several clubs to participate in; some pertain to your major, your general interests, or even your heritage. There are also events, like mid-day concerts or game day, that are available to participate in and they also help you bond with fellow students.

    Tips for prospective students

    While all professors are adequate, some are better suited for you than others. To ensure that you find the professor with the right teaching style for you, I would recommend researching your possible professors on ratemyprofessor.com. It certainly helped me decide on my professors, for example if I had a few time options and needed to narrow it down.

    In three sentences

    Waubonsee offers great courses taught by professors who want you to learn. The professors make themselves available, letting you know their office hours and other contact information, should you need additional assistance. The campus is lovely and easy to negotiate, and it is easy to find a computer.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very very few, if any, incidents on campus.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs to choose from for all kinds of majors.

    Great for these types of students

    Dedicated, college freshmen/recent HS grads.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a bike path for hiking, bike riding, jogging, etc. There's a peace pole--only a select few in the whole world!

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent excellent. (See Academic Rigor)

    What to do for fun

    When you leave class, you're on your own time. Have fun with people you meet in class around town. Geneva is a fun town with some fun spots if you know the right people to take you to them.

    Food and Dining

    Food is a bit pricey, but delicious. I recommend the pre-wrapped sandwiches and refrigerated drinks--more healthy, less expensive.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at WCC.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are diverse and fun! Nothing too hard if you're willing to work for it. Most of them are your gen ed. courses or entry level courses. I don't know much of the variety of certificates they offer.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you truly enjoy your studies and fully immerse yourself in them, you'll reap great rewards from a $300 course where, at a university, you could get the same education for as little as $1,000 per course ( 3 SH class). Go to school, focus on your studies. Social life is important, but overrated.

    In three sentences

    The teachers were all so knowledgeable about their studies, all in my experience actually enjoyed their topics and enjoyed discussing them outside of the classroom. The advisory staff is helpful, though they're not *always* customer service oriented. A fantastic school, whether you go to the Sugar Grove, Aurora or Plano campus(es).

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police are always patrolling and alert. They direct traffic, and monitor the whole campus all day. They are also very friendly and personal.

    Greek Life

    There arent any social greek life, but academic is great.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous clubs and activities to be involved in...

    Great for these types of students

    I have none

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have none

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, if you are looking for a school, that is cheap in cost, but rich in educational development, a 2 year instution, with many activities, and allow you to sill work, and do other things while in school.

    What to do for fun

    Many student organizations to get involved with.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is great. The prices arent to high and the food is good. There is not a meal plan, but it is available for us.

    Dorm Life

    There arent any dorms, however, there are many apartments around the locations.

    Academic Rigor

    This college is great on academics. They will not give you easy passes. They set you up for an high education in your post life from their. I would say because of the low population, maybe it is easier to always ask instead of critical think as in Blooms Taxonomy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you go in and talk with a counselor before choosing classes. They will help you get your degree or necessary requirements for transfer.

    In three sentences

    This is a Great two-year institution! The class size is small and allows one on one work with the professor who know you very well after time. I rate it 9.5/10.

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security presence is high both on campus and in surrounding community areas.

    Great for these types of students

    Young, recently graduated from highschool. Adults returning to school.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club, get involved in sports, or even engage in a study group. The overall spirit of the school is lighthearted, yet eager for knowledge.

    Food and Dining

    The Aurora campus has a wonderful cafe that offers a variety of foods ranging from snacks to light sandwiches and soups. There is a wide variety of healthy eating choices such as yogurt, fruits and vegetables. It would be ideal if more hot foods were available.

    Dorm Life

    Does not apply

    Academic Rigor

    The academic standards and expectations far exceed most community colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you start at Waubonsee, either come with a plan, or discuss options with an advisor. Don't do anything on your own without advise. Ask questions and request any assistance such as tutoring, financial aid, and personal concerns.

    In three sentences

    Waubonsee is an excellent institution. The faculty and professors are helpful and encouraging. The quality of education is exceptional.

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are emergency call boxes located throughout the campus. Twenty-four hours, seven days a week, the campus police are available to help anyone in need. There is constant crime prevention patrol by foot, bike, and car.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life on this campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Being involved in activities on campus is a great way to enjoy attending this college. There is ceramic, Christian fellowship movie making, sign language, African culture, and comic book clubs to name a few. Many of these clubs have community involvement and provide a way to meet other students who have similar interests to you.

    Great for these types of students

    Students interested in saving money and getting a solid education should attend Waubonsee Community College. Students who enjoy smaller class sizes similar to high school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are not any unusual traditions or locations on this campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Waubonsee Community College is worth every penny because it provides a necessary education and prepares students for four year universities. It allows students to save money before moving away, and is easy to attend while having a part time or full time job.

    What to do for fun

    There is a wide range of activities every day on campus. There are plenty of clubs to choose from and Student Services provides unique opportunities for students to be involved. There are music groups to be a part of including the chorale and band. There is a coffee bar in the cafeteria and plenty of benches and shady spots to sit and have conversations with friends between classes.

    Food and Dining

    There is an on-campus cafeteria which provides meals and is a good hang out spot. There is a range of healthy food to junk food choices. The food is prepared well and is not too expensive.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms available for students at this community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Students will feel challenged, but as long as they do their work, they will be able to maintain good grade point averages. Students need to make an effort to be in contact and communication with their professors. The work is more advanced than high school and is appropriate for community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students will enjoy the atmosphere and will still get the college experience even though it is not a four year university. Students will be able to obtain their general education requirements while saving money. It is easy for students with their two-year degrees to transfer to four-year colleges from Waubonsee Community College.

    In three sentences

    Waubonsee Community College provides an excellent diverse learning environment and makes students transitioning from high school or people returning to college to continue their education feel comfortable. The campus is easy to navigate and teachers are outgoing and easy to work with. Students and teachers at this institution are from different counties, states, and even countries.

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Try and get classes on the same days and make sure you like your teacher.

    In three sentences

    Waubonsee is filled with helpful teachers and friendly students. The environment does not differ much from high school and its a good transition from high school. Classes are available at convenient times and work well around a part time or full time job.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is a relatively cheep school. Its so great for getting started and learning the college basics.

    What to do for fun

    Waubonsee has so many sports and activities any hobby you have there's most definitely a club or activity for it

    Food and Dining

    I haven't eaten there yet but as the looks of it goes it does look tasty and clean.

    Dorm Life

    This college doesnt have dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The professors know what their doing and they will help you if you dont understand something.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask. Talk to people, ask for their help and dont be afraid. College is hard to get started into but it gets easier if you let people help you

    In three sentences

    The college has so far seemed very friendly when i first started there. Mostly everyone has helped me out so far as to where things are located and how i go about succeeding

  • 12/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. I always see campus police around just in case.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life, so if you want to go somewhere that has it, I do not suggest here.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is good for students that don't like to be at school all the time, but still want to get the on campus experience.

    What to do for fun

    There are some fun extra curricular classes that is offered and there are some sports you can be on at the college.

    Food and Dining

    The food areas at the colleges are great! Lots of choices that are healthy and different things for everyone!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. It's a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Parking can be a pain, but other than that, I haven't found any problems

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you can get to the different campuses on time for all your classes. So schedule your class times well.

    In three sentences

    Waubonsee Community College knows how to make you feel important, not like just another x-number. It's a great college for a community college, but I want something more.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    nothing because you're at a communit college

    Food and Dining

    I wouldn't recommend the cafeteria food

    Dorm Life

    no dorms. It's a commuter school

    Academic Rigor

    some of the classes are okay and some are too easy

    Tips for prospective students

    If you cannot afford a four year community college . It is much cheaper and you get your gen eds out of the way. I also would take your classes seriously.

    In three sentences

    I think it is a very good school. It gives you the tools to become successful and all the credits you take there are transferable to any university in Illinois

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    With waubonsee being a community college their aren't a whole lot of extra activities but there are a few opportunities such as basketball and golf for men, as well as a handful of different clubs and organizations.

    Food and Dining

    Food is available in the sugar grove and aurora campus in dining hall type settings but I haven't eaten at either campus. Plenty of fast food around the different campuses though.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available

    Academic Rigor

    I have had absolutely no trouble keeping up with the workload of the classes I've taken. I've heard there are some teachers who have heavier loads but that's true with every school. I think that Waubonsee's teachers understand that students there are usually dealing with other things in life as well and keep the course work to a minimum while still getting their point across.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up with the work, understand what you can do with the Mywcc website and send all your questions to the aurora campus

    In three sentences

    Waubonsee Community College does the job of a community college rather well I think. They have a great selection of classes, and can prepare you for just about any bachelors degree you want to get. They have affordable classes and solid teachers.

  • 02/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus officers constantly walk the ground of Waubonsee, they drive the roads that are on campus and make sure traffic is moving smoothly as well. If you ever need any help you can walk into the Dickson Center (right next to Bodie Hall), and ask for help at the Campus Police Service Desk. It's right next to the bookstore at the Sugar Grove Campus.

    Greek Life

    As far as I know, there are no fraternities or sororities on campus at WCC. Seeing as it's a community college with a diverse population student-wise, Greek life is either non-existant or just very secretive.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a wide variety of clubs and activities at WCC, and if I was to start listing them out, my fingers would get really tired. The easiest way to find out what might be a good fit for you would be to pick up a brochure and look through all of the clubs we have. The Student Center usually has information on when clubs meet, fundraisers, posters, etc. to help students stay informed.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for people with lower incomes or people just looking to get the most for their money. If you work part or full-time, Waubonsee is a great choice for you because you can work it around your schedule to better manage your time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Most mornings, there are a bunch of people who play videogames and bring tv's, computers, board games, etc. and sit at the bar style table in the back of the Sugar Grove cafe. Also, there's a pond on campus at the Sugar Grove location which is really nice for sitting and watching the ducks/geese. There's tables and umbrellas nearby so that you can be comfortable and relaxed outside.

    Bang for the buck

    Plenty! And then some... Waubonsee is one of the cheapest routes but it doesn't mean you're not getting what you pay for. I've heard stories from friends that were starting at NIU, UIC, etc. and they actually switched to Waubonsee to get their General Education classes out of the way here because the professors were much friendlier and willing to help you learn and it was way less expensive.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs, organizations and sports teams to join if you're looking for fun. Waubonsee also has events now and then such as student performed concerts/shows, etc. Not only that, but off-campus there's a Metra station not far away from the Aurora Campus that you can take right into Chicago and experience all of the museums, food, and entertainment that downtown has to offer!

    Food and Dining

    Compared to high school food, college food here isn't all that bad. We have a really nice Cafe at the Sugar Grove campus that makes fresh burgers and grilled cheese sandwiches that smell fantastic. They also have healthy options and a wide variety of drinks, such as coffees and lattes, to keep you going after a long night (or day) of studying/homework. The Aurora Campus seems to have a nice Cafe as well.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life doesn't apply at WCC. There's no on-campus living, as it's a community college. Most students who attend live in the area or surrounding areas.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors at WCC have a lot of experience in their fields of teaching as well as a more personal approach to teaching. A lot of the professors I've had in the past semester have been more than willing to work with students during office hours and were really focused on making sure you learned the subject material. It's not all cut and dry at Waubonsee, and I think that's one of the things I like the most about my college.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have a particular field you know you want to get into, Waubonsee is the perfect place to test that out. The automotive programs at Waubonsee, for example, are some of the top rated in the country. I suggest picking classes early because classes DO fill up quickly. Another tip would be: Talk to a counselor or advisor. When I was an incoming Freshman, I went and talked to an advisor and she really helped me out with what I needed to do to get started on the right track.

    In three sentences

    Waubonsee is, fundamentally, the most obvious choice for any incoming freshman in the southwest Illinois suburbs area. With lower costs than any state universities, staff and teachers who are actually there for you when you need anything, and the technology/environment to get you where you need to go, they have it all. I couldn't be happier with my choice to attend here!

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Every building is secured by personnel and students cherish their safe environment, making suspicious and malicious activity extremely unwelcome.

    Greek Life

    Although a 2-year institution Greek clubs and activities thrive on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports, musical, activist, academic, and artistic activities and clubs are always available.

    Great for these types of students

    Social and friendly students are welcomed but so are students that would like to just focus on their studies in a quite stimulating environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The student center has a print/art festival. Where students can go and obtain prints from all sizes and prices to fill their eye.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a 2-year institution it gives you quality education for a much cheaper price than a four year institution. It also has a great variety of certificates available.

    What to do for fun

    With the many activities, clubs, and organizations available there is always something for fun for all fields of interest.

    Food and Dining

    If on a health restriction or simply a personal choice, the campus and student center have something available and at an affordable price.

    Dorm Life

    Although there isn't housing available on campus, the many activities, clubs, student center, and sports will make you think otherwise.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers and staff willing to help and communicate with students that are willing to try their best.

    Tips for prospective students

    If planning to transfer, make sure the courses you take are accepted to the school you plan on transferring to.

    In three sentences

    An excellent 2-year school with diversity and a great array of flexible courses that allows many students to achieve their educational goals.

  • 03/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs to join, of all kinds. Every semester there's a club fair so that students can see what's available on campus, and any student can start a club, as long as they have an adviser and other students who are interested.

    Food and Dining

    Waubonsee is fed by Sodexo. The food is very good, they make everything right in front of you, although I will say it's a tad expensive. My personal favorite is the Seattle's Best Coffee Bar.

    Dorm Life

    Does not apply, it's a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Waubonsee has a great honors program, and every professor is willing to work one-on-one with any student, if desired.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to get to know people! This is where the networking begins.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus, and a lot of great professors. I've worked pretty closely with the professors in the music department and they're a great asset for any student going into music. The other students are also really friendly, and you'll form a lot of friendships with other students interested in your major.

  • 04/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The student activities center holds some really cool stuff on occasion, and the various groups will hold some events too. But other then that I just go to the library.

    Food and Dining

    Food is usually really good! But super expensive since it is the only place to get food on campus. If you are short on cash, go down the road, there is a Chinese Restaurant, MacDonald s, Jimmy Johns, and a Jewel where you can get cheaper food.

    Dorm Life

    It is community college...There are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the classes you take and the teachers you take them with. Some teachers are getting their students ready for going on to university's while others are just there to get a little extra money.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk with the teachers! They are not there to fail you, if you have a question, concern,or are just freaked out that you might fail, they will help you.

    In three sentences

    A great place to find out what you want to do,or where you want to go. But what I have come to find is that while Waubonsee isn't the best of schools, if actually try and show the teachers that you want to learn they will open up so many doors for you. Granted there are plenty of part-time faculty that you can get an easy grade from, I have found so many more that actually want to see their students succeed in the real world; and those teachers will do what they can to help get you prepared to face the world.

  • 05/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are emergency phones at all locations. Security is on patrol 24/7. Security cameras are in place. AED's are in every building. The parking lots and sidewalks are never icy.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are more than enough clubs to join. The activities offered are sufficient.

    Great for these types of students

    Any age, part time, full time, even those working on Bachelors or Masters Degrees attend.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Waubonsee started a few new clubs to join/visit. A gay, lesbian and bi-sexual club was started a few years ago. This is not unusual. What is unusual is the fact the Waubonsee did not start a club like this sooner.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is affordable, even for the less fortunate. The college offers employment on campus as well. There is rarely a shortage of jobs near by.

    What to do for fun

    There are numerous clubs for students to join. The college also offers abundant programs for the community.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is new, spacious, and very comfortable. The food is fresh and made to order. The prices are reasonable.

    Dorm Life

    Waubonsee is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The amount of information you need to understand is astonishing. However, as you learn more and more, you see how this is imperative. Remember, you are learning to how to save lives. Save one life and you are a hero. Save a hundred, you are a nurse.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to study 2 to 3 hours a day. Use every tool the instructors give you to study. Be early to class and stay late to ask questions. Communicate with other classmates. Nursing students are rarely successful on their own.

    In three sentences

    The nursing program is extremely challenging. Every instructor is available for one on one consultation. Clinical location choices are abundant and convenient.

  • 05/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    its ok just gotta be careful

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs and activities here preety almost all you can think of.

    Great for these types of students

    looking to earn a degree, further there education or knock some classes out the way.

    Bang for the buck

    A great way to start or finish your first degree here, saves you money.

    What to do for fun

    Join a play production or join movie makers club or any club!

    Food and Dining

    preety good food the chefs are good.

    Dorm Life

    didnt dorm here none available.

    Academic Rigor

    preety much got all my gen eds done and then some.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused, just becuase you dont finish your degree in the plan timed dosent mean you cant go back and finish it. It took me almost 6 years to get me first degree, thats becuase ive made some mistakes and stoped going to school for two years. But in the end its all worth it.

    In three sentences

    Well overal its a good school to get what you want out of it and alittle bit more. A great place to save money and start college without going to an expensive college. It gives you time to think about what you really want to do for a career.

  • 08/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    No on campus dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get started early! Register as soon as possible and take the placement tests! Everything will go a lot smoother.

  • 08/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Ask as many questions as possible.

    In three sentences

    Automotive wise wcc is very good at what they do. They are there to help you and to teach you no matter what your skill set is. They also have multi locations and times for most classes (non-auto) to better help you.

  • 10/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Security is available. Cameras are present to record an event if one were to occur that would have a negative effect on an individual or group. There are also telephones available to help provide assistance. Metal detectors and Infrared detectors are not available to the best of my knowledge.

    Great for these types of students

    Waubonsee Community College will accommodate many students. Those students who live and work nearby can most certainly expect a least expensive enrollment at this school. Working individuals may benefit most from the online and night courses designed to fit a busy curriculum.

    Bang for the buck

    At nearly one hundred dollars per credit hour this institution is one tenth or less the cost of a state university that requires one to reside on campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are tutors available for free for those that wish to advance their studies. Aside from this, there are sport recreations for those that have the time and energy to partake of them.

    Food and Dining

    There are multiple areas to obtain snacks and beverages. I have never eaten from the cafeteria, so I am unsure of the quality of service they provide. However, I assume the cooks do not attempt to serve any less than the best quality material for those intending to improve the lives of others by improving their own knowledge with the education this school provides.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorm rooms at this institution.

    Academic Rigor

    Since I have not attended any other classes, except for night classes, I do not know of the capabilities of the professors and teachers of the early and mid-day scheduled sessions. The classes I have taken have all been professed by trained scholars who have proven to be entirely capable of teaching me their lessons.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school provides extracurricular activities, job fairs, personalized training, and resource centers that are required by most to help to keep one active.

    In three sentences

    Waubonsee Community College captured and has fed my desire to attain a formal degree from the moment I began to attend class. Initially, my attendance was far from exemplary, and it has taken me some time after my beginning of attendance of class here to accumulate the credit hours that I have earned. I attend night classes each semester after work, which does hamper my ability to maintain a steady, focused mind on the information tediously relayed to me by the scholars that manage each class, and the quarters I find myself in at this school do help me to put aside me faults and learn with relative ease. The relatively low cost credit hours of this school have made my experience here profitable, since I do feel the money I have put towards my continuing education here is a worthy investment of my time and resources.

  • 11/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police just visited the art club last week. He explained to us what the police do for our safety, and for our help. There are blue posts positioned all around campus, just in case anyone needs any immediate help. The police are located right next to the book store, and you can see an officer always driving by. It's very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many to choose from. There's a gay/straight alliance, art club, history club, philosophy club, you name it. Whatever you're interested in, I'm sure there's a club out there for you.

    Great for these types of students

    Auto tech, nursing, and criminal justice majors all seem to find a very good home at Waubonsee. There are also a lot of art majors in the art program, and then people from many different spectrums in between. The school is very diverse.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out in the cafeteria. It's where you meet the most people, other than in classes. Doing a sport, some kind of zumba class, some kind of artistic or music class, going to presentations and shows... the whole nine yards. Take advantage of the opportunities you have.

    Food and Dining

    Very good food. Excellent burgers. They also have a lot of healthy meals, and with an x-card, you get big discounts on the money you spend there. Also, the dining hall is great for social interaction. A lot of clubs do performances and fund raisers.

    Dorm Life

    I gave it five stars, because there are no dorms~

    Academic Rigor

    I'd say I was challenged in some classes, and others were much easier, but it depends from student to student. You pay to come to college, might as well learn from it, right?

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your homework! It's very important, because you teachers give you syllabus, and YOU'RE responsible for yourself and your grades. Get involved with your school. You may think just because it's a community college, it doesn't have any kind of activities. There are hundreds of clubs to choose from, and even more athletic opportunities. Give it all a shot!

    In three sentences

    This school is affordable, had very kind staff and counselors to work with you, and has hundreds of different opportunities for scholarships and funding to help you with your school. It was a great idea for me to come here, because it gave me a chance to continue saving on money and getting a great education. If you're looking for something close to home and a place with friendly people and a great environment, definitely come.

  • 03/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    they have many events and performers that come to waubonsee.

    Food and Dining

    the food is not bad, its what a typical cafe would offer.

    Dorm Life

    there were no dorms here

    Academic Rigor

    i have learned a lot and I've gotten to experience a lot .

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't treat it like high school, even though its not a four year university, Waubonsee opens up a lot of door for the future.

    In three sentences

    When i started at Community College i was unsure of what to expect. As a sophomore at Waubonsee, it is going to be bittersweet leaving. what i love about Waubonsee are the smaller classes, and teachers that actually want to teach, I've really enjoyed my time here, also i saved a ton of money.

  • 03/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Emergency call boxes on long paths and in parking lots. However, security personal are known but the presence is not felt.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Freedom to create clubs is encouraged. Wide selection to choose from, although some may not be active. Clubs are flexible with students and provide a wide array of leadership positions.

    Great for these types of students

    Literally all. Seen Community? Hit the nail on the head in describing community college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I wish. Intercity bike path ends in campus.

    Bang for the buck

    It's Community College. Only thing better would be free.

    What to do for fun

    I created my own club and having the ability and support system to do so is very fulfilling. Waubonsee also has several cool hangout spots all over campus just to chill out.

    Food and Dining

    Fresh food everyday and a sweet cafeteria. What more could I want?

    Dorm Life

    Does not apply.

    Academic Rigor

    Advanced courses are hard to come by, either teachers are hard to come or student enrollment is low to force a drop. Waubonsee is great to explore all possibilities and to focus on basic courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Nothing is impossible. Try everything, because you have so many opportunities here.

    In three sentences

    Freedom, opportunity, and resource make Waubonsee are wonderful transition towards one's future academic goals. The pride and faith Waubonsee staff invest in their students is outstanding. I have difficulty believing other Community Colleges provide as much support as Waubonsee.