Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Waukesha County Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone pursuing a technical career, or especially nursing. The school also offers non credit classes just for fun

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, some of the programs are very competitive and you will have to fight your spot

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to some other schools around the area, the per credit rate for WCTC is great and easily affordable. Even if you need help, they offer loans and will help you afford your tuition.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is clean, enforcing a Tobacco Free Campus which is very nice. It keeps it clean and the all the buildings are inviting.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are small enough that the teachers reach out to help you understand that material; yet the classes are large enough that you don't feel like you're the only there. Usually around 20-25 per class. They pack a lot of knowledge into a class period and you definitely don't want to miss a class.

  • 06/19/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    anyone that wants to further their education and enrich their resume to be able to do things others cant.

    Did enjoy being here

    it had a great environment but with me being right out of high-school attending here it was tough especially commuting because you dont get the same sense of community and the same age range as a regular 4 year college with living accommodations.

    Did learn a lot

    the class sizes were great where i didn't feel lost in a sea of students and the teachers really got to give you individualized attention

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    wctc makes sure that our campus is safe by having patrols in the parking lot, security guards on campus, and cameras in the parking lot as well as emergency kiosks.

    Clubs and Activities

    i love nursing club!!

    Great for these types of students

    this is great for students on a budget who will have one on one with their teachers.

    Bang for the buck

    wctc is a technical college which is priced fair considering the prices of other colleges around the area.

    What to do for fun

    wctc holds different events that are fun for the students. i myself am in nursing club and we get together once a month and have lunch while different speakers come in and talk to us about different health related topics.

    Food and Dining

    the food is excellent at wctc. we have the hub which is our cafe food and we also have the daily grind which is our coffee shop.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    the standards and expectations wctc has for their students is to give them all of the resources they need to help them succeed in their schooling.

    Tips for prospective students

    some tips i would give students is to make sure your heart is in it or it will just be a waste of time and money.

    In three sentences

    waukesha county technical college has changed my life. the teachers and staff are so caring and understanding, they truly are there to help you succeed and achieve your goals. i rate wctc a 10/10!

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    as is typical, i feel campus safety reflects on the area surrounding campus. most people in the area are trustworthy. but there's no sense of community holding the students or faculty together or enforcing any sort of honor system or code. no campus police that i know of, but the pewaukee police are only a phone call away.

    Clubs and Activities

    not many to choose from. deca and student government are at the top of my list. unfortunately, they're the best of the few offered.

    Great for these types of students

    students looking for training to help them get a job. i would say this school is good for people who like working with their hands. do not come into this school without checking into how the credits transfer. too many schools will burn you with the line, yeah, they transfer just about anywhere. i've tried transferring to uw-waukesha and they wouldn't take any of my credits after repeated promises from both schools that at least half would transfer.

    Bang for the buck

    like any school, it comes down to student initiative. you're in charge of your education. if you need extra work to understand something, you need to put in that extra work. they do offer tutors for core classes and other resources for your degree programs. but some of these resources are under par. my advisor, did nothing to help me and couldn't give me any information about my degree or the work i can expect to get once i'm out of school.

    Food and Dining

    expensive! but they do have a nice restaurant on campus that you can make a reservation for and the culinary students make you a nice dinner

    Dorm Life

    what dorms?

    Academic Rigor

    the schedule they come up with to get you a degree in two years is tough! they make you earn your grade and degree.

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    WCTC is a great place to be for the student who just doesnt feel right attending your typical university college. WCTC offers great programs that allow you to still have a life outside of college

    What to do for fun

    The college offers many things to do out side of your class time

    Food and Dining

    The food at WCTC is great, although it is a tad bit on the expensive side

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't hold back on asking questions. If you don't know the answer find someone who will.

    In three sentences

    Waukesha County College has been a great experience for me so far. As a first year college student I have really enjoyed how helpful everyone has been.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    students who are looking to earn a degree while working full or part time

    What to do for fun

    There are always lots of people in the hub and coffee shop.

    Food and Dining

    Good but overpriced

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for work outside of the class.

    In three sentences

    WCTC is a great school for those who want to earn credit for classes at a cheap price and need to do it while working. Their online system-blackboard-could use a little work. The professors there are great and teach great material.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have several of emergency buttons on the parking lots. A campus police drives around to make sure everything is okay. People drive and respect other people well.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is big enough for students to have some spaces. They have good and variety of food. The food is just a little expensive.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are good at effectively communication with the students. The professors that I have experienced with so far were very friendly and high-energy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Mostly Waukesha County Technical College students are friendly. You don't have to worry about them.

    In three sentences

    Waukesha County Technical College is a nice place for attending school. They have a good library or computer lab for people to use the computers or a quiet place to study. Also, they have a nice cafeteria.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    excellent

    Greek Life

    havent found any yet where are you ???

    Clubs and Activities

    plenty

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    multicultural

    What to do for fun

    plenty of clubs and organizations

    Food and Dining

    good kinda expensive

    Dorm Life

    no dorm off campus living

    Academic Rigor

    tough depending on instructor if part time they will not be fully engaged they will be more worried about there other job if there full time they will help you get ahead and learn

    Tips for prospective students

    stay focused ask questions challenge disarrangement's know your contact look up guide cuz certain staff will miss guide you to cover there unethical behavior

    In three sentences

    overall good learning establishment. need full time instructors part time instructors don't care about students they only car about their primary job. not wctc

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Never ate there, but heard it was expensive

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Do the homework and finish the labs on time. Do not fall behind.

  • 03/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always a safe campus with multiple emergency kiosks in case of emergencies.

    Clubs and Activities

    Multiple clubs for each different major.

    Great for these types of students

    All students.

    Bang for the buck

    Waukesha County Technical College is affordable and an excellent teaching campus.

    What to do for fun

    Free gymnasium for students as well as multiple computer labs and libraries.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining at the in school restaurant is always rated highly.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip is to take your time with the program. Make sure you learn everything possible. The instructors have so very much to teach.

    In three sentences

    My experience at Waukesha County Technical College has had its ups and downs. Lows of classes being canceled three days before the semester started. Highs of having the best Chef Instructors I could have asked for.

  • 03/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Little cafe and Hub area are good to get a quick snack between classes

    Dorm Life

    Never really experienced the Dorm Life of this campus, I am sure they have housing available but never really needed that option

    Academic Rigor

    You are definitely getting a run for your money, worth every penny. but there are those professors that you wish weren't there, but if you can pass them you can pass the core teachings of the program

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't take the curriculum lightly. I have seen plenty of friends and family not make the classes and get dropped from their program.

    In three sentences

    I give the School a 4/5 rating. I do enjoy the school being close to home and give a wide range of majors to choose from. Only downfall is if any medical program that requires clinical classes, some aren't available for the summer semester

  • 06/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is rather safe. There are police patrolling on a daily basis, and there are also these safety alert boxes where you can press this blue button and it causes a strobe light to go off, and an alarm, I believe.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is rather non-existant. To my knowledge, there are no Greek clubs on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    WCTC boasts many different clubs and activities- basically the same sorts you would find at a 4-year school.

    Great for these types of students

    Definitely great for students who need only an associate's degree, those who live within commuting distance, or those who want to transfer onto a 4-year school and want to save money while still earning college credit.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of my favorite spots on campus is right by the fountain. It's a good spot to people watch when it's busy on campus. Also, during Halloween, the student government hosts a costume contest, and there's always random contests from which you can win gift and gas cards.

    Bang for the buck

    I thoroughly enjoy the fact that WCTC is a fraction of the cost of other colleges. I know that I am receiving a quality education at a less expensive price. Along with my tuition, we also receive certain benefits like free use of the weight room on campus, printing money loaded onto our id cards every semester, and a campus that's very close to downtown Waukesha and Pewaukee.

    What to do for fun

    The campus hosts a lot of different events in the Hub on a near weekly basis. They've held events for different holidays, arts and crafts sort of projects- wax crayon art comes to mind, and also live entertainment. There is a baseball field outside for when you have enough people to play a game, but otherwise there's not a whole lot to do on campus aside from attend class.

    Food and Dining

    WCTC offers a cafeteria called the 'Hub' and a coffee shop called 'The Daily Grind.' The Hub is rather pricey, however, the food is not bad. The major downfall, though, is that the Hub and The Daily Grind are both located in the 'C' building, and it can be quite a trek from other buildings, especially when combined with the parking issue- that is if you decide to drive there.

    Dorm Life

    WCTC does not have any dorms- it is a commuter based school. Parking is a nightmare on some days, especially in the morning, and around certain buildings.

    Academic Rigor

    I give this five stars because the instructors set their standards high. The course material is not always difficult, but the instructors will hold you to a certain standard. The best thing, though, is that they will work with you to achieve that standard.

    Tips for prospective students

    WCTC is definitely worth your time, especially if you are pursuing a 4-year degree that can transfer to another school. Not only will you earn an unforgettable college experience, but you'll save yourself thousands of dollars due to the difference in tuition costs.

    In three sentences

    The best part about WCTC aside from the fact that they offer a really long list of programs for a 2-year college would be that the instructors have real world experience. I have attended another university before, and WCTC has such a personal edge. The classes are very enjoyable and you retain a lot of information because of the way that the instructors are able to give real world scenarios.

  • 06/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The lots are well lit, security and police patrol routinely, and there are emergency stations which provide extra security throughout the area.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of daytime clubs and activities. The events they host are fun and entertaining but unfortunately the timing does not suit those attending night schools.

    Great for these types of students

    Ambitious hardworking students who wish to create a better future than what they currently have.

    Bang for the buck

    Their tuition is low compared to major colleges and universities, and they have many great transfer options for four year colleges after graduation.

    Food and Dining

    Their cafeteria nice, offering plenty of options though the food is somewhat expensive compared to normal places.

    Dorm Life

    This is a technical school with no dorm options available.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors are tough but fair. They understand sometimes life gets in the way but also can appreciate and acknowledge hard work students put in to their assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't question what you are doing. Once you have started you will not regret your decision. Just make sure to interact with you classmates and instructors by bringing your experiences and thought to the dicussion.

    In three sentences

    This is a fantastic place to start your college path. The instructors are insightful and passionate about their subjects while the students are friendly and welcoming. This was the best launching point I could have hoped for my college career.

  • 08/11/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    14 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It looks pretty safe there.

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't started attending campus yet, but they are probably good.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing so far is unusual for me.

    What to do for fun

    I think they have alot of clubs and sports, so there is a lot that could be done for fun.

    Food and Dining

    I am so excited to excperience new food.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't been there.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't started studying but I think it is great there.

    Tips for prospective students

    You have to be open minded and don't judge the school from the first day.

    In three sentences

    The college looks good. They have a nice campus and I am excpecting studying there will be awesome.

  • 08/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to The Hub. Coffee shop in there is pretty awesome.

    Food and Dining

    Food is so so.

    Dorm Life

    No on campus dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes can be very difficult depending on your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't work full time while doing school!

    In three sentences

    Pretty awesome for a technical college. Graphic Design program is really awesome. Love the printing lab.

  • 08/28/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional Students, or those who are looking for a more affordable entrance into a field of study.

    Bang for the buck

    The campus amenities and smaller classroom sizes are exceptional for students. The cost of education is significantly less than most universities, and the learning environment is very clean and updated.

    What to do for fun

    Homework and Study

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the general education courses are fairly easy if you do your assignments and utilize the proper study techniques. The science classes tend to be more challenging, and require more time.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice for prospective students is to make your education your number one priority. If you do, you will be very successful. There are several learning resources and tutors available, so use them to your advantage.

    In three sentences

    Waukesha County Technical College was a great beginning for pursuing a higher education, and provided me with a solid foundation. I am a single, working mother of two children, which has made it more difficult for me to find the time or focus for school. However, everyone at WCTC, including counselors and instructors, was extremely supportive through out my attendance.

  • 12/16/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They use technology to help with the campus safety. Also, in the winter time they keep up with making sure there is no ice on the sidewalks and online in the student messaging center. They report when stuff is found.

    Clubs and Activities

    From what I can see they have active clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    I believe this school is great for all types of students. Adults and teens who are just coming out of school and know what they want to do.

    Bang for the buck

    I interviewed other schools around the area and found that this place is very reasonable

    What to do for fun

    They have many clubs and are working hard to make their school feel like a regular college experience.

    Food and Dining

    When I went to orientation the food looks outstanding. They even have something new this year with a food pantry.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorm Life

    Academic Rigor

    From what I hear from my peers they are extremely happy they choose WCTC.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip would be to review what you really want to do and to not be afraid to ask questions. So far, The school truly wants to go out of its way to help you out.

    In three sentences

    The counselors were very helpful and knowledgeable about the programs. I appreciated that I could get in contact with the school about any questions I might have. They are very flexible in setting up class schedules.

  • 12/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food's available and everyone seems to love it!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    My class was easy, but had enough work that I feel I really learned from it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't overlook WCTC! It's a great place for people who really want to do well.

    In three sentences

    I loved my class! The instructor was helpful, funny, and friendly. My classmates were great.

  • 03/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    After 4 years i feel the classes are just cookie cutters made to get as much money from students.

    Food and Dining

    they have a cafe but quality and quantity to price is outrageous.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to open house and ask what you really will be doing. And look other places before you apply.

    In three sentences

    In the years since I started WCTC things have just gone down hill. Classes, books, and overall price has greatly increased. While the classes have started to lack the hands on aspect that brought me to it.

  • 03/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It has been pretty safe around here. There are always police cruising the area.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Government Association! They're a nice group of people who plan all kinds of events to try and get students to feel more towards home here.

    Great for these types of students

    Don't be afraid of being the only deaf student here, if you are one! There are always several. Although they're sparse, there are some.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They now have a gun range!

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition isn't too bad.

    What to do for fun

    Attend events hosted by MRC and SGA, they're worthwhile of your time, if you can make it.

    Food and Dining

    Some of the food are delicious, but sometimes they're a bit pricey.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here, but I live 20 minutes away, so it's not necessary.

    Academic Rigor

    My semester consists of four classes, so it's not as rigorous as it could be. But the load is pretty light. You could easily do 6 classes or so, and still have time for homework and other important matters.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask ANY kind of questions! They pretty much have answers for everything. Also I recommend you attend some SGA events!

    In three sentences

    They have a very decent interpreting program!! My teachers and everyone else is very easygoing and friendly. It's also at a very convenient location.

  • 04/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Pewaukee Police Department is located on Campus, and in general the campus is very safe and clean. During the winter, one should watch for ice in the parking lot, but even there, the lots are well lit, and generally well plowed.

    Clubs and Activities

    DECA, for outstanding students; Diversity Club- anybody can join to learn about other cultures, Multi cultural Resource Center- one can hang out, and evrybody can learn about different cultures. There are also numerous SGA activities, and degree specific clubs as well.

    Great for these types of students

    motivated, hardworking, ambitous, and outgoing

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have a lovely camus, and a wonderful trail, near the lake to walk or hike. The campus plaza has a fountain in the summer, and lots of trees.

    Bang for the buck

    At WCTC, you must work hard. It is soo hard it almost hurts, but you are almost garunteed a job when you finish. Instructors are often avialable, and will really work with you. They will do everything they can to help you pass, but you must put in th eowrk.

    What to do for fun

    There are often Student Government events, and there are lounges in several buildings to work, and blow off steam.

    Food and Dining

    The school has a cafeteria, and in addition, fine dining is availbe from the culinary school. We have a coffee shop on campus as well.

    Dorm Life

    We have no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    the work is challenging. Be prepared to work hard, but the instructor who sees you are putting in your all will come up with ways to help you, if you approach the teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you need help, do not hestitate to ask another student or intstructer. People go out og thier way to help, but you have to ask. Always inform an instructer of an impending absence. Take advantage of on campus resources, such as the Learning Place, library and computer labs.

    In three sentences

    the staff, and students are very welcoming. I find the facilities excellent. If you are willing to work hard, and want to learn, WCTC may be the right fit.