Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Waycross College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/19/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is good for students who like small campuses and small class sizes. Its also great for those students who think they may need extra help. The student center on campus offers tutoring and and academic information you could possibly need. Also, its easy to talk face to face with professors and get their help too!

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should: 1. Visit the college and ask questions. Everyone on campus including the president of the college himself will be happy to answer any questions you have. Especially if you take the time to go and speak with them face to face! It shows them you have a genuine interest in the college. (I got a personal tour from the Vice President of the college on my visit!!) 2. ALWAYS turn in applications as early as possible!!! The earlier you turn in your application for enrollment and financial aid, the smoother your transition into college will be.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is perfect! Especially for first time college students! Tuition is reasonable and you can buy used books at cheaper prices from the campus bookstore. Also, when you are finished with a textbook, the college offers buy back days to buy your textbooks back from you!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Waycross College! The campus is well laid out, the staff is all extremely helpful, and its easy to make friends. Class sizes are small so you get much more one on one time with your professors. You can also contact your professors via phone, e-mail, or office visits. The professors make all this information available to you on the first day of class and you can ask them for it at anytime. There are many clubs to be a part of and there's always sports and campus wide events for your entertainment and involvement.

    Am learning a lot

    You will learn tons at Waycross College! The professors know what they are doing. They choose textbooks that break down the subject very well. As long as you do your part and study, you will learn everything you need to know in the subjects you study.

  • 12/26/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Adults in the workforce already can easily be able to return to college at home while continuing to work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Waycross College is conveniently located in a great area. New restaurants close by. The professors and staff at the college are very helpful.

    Bang for the buck

    A great college to get my degree from.

    Will enjoy being here

    Waycross College is convenient for me to attend. I work a full-time job and will be able to attend college more easily and I already know alot of people there.

    Will learn a lot

    I previously attended college here in the past. I did learn alot and look forward to completing my education.

  • 03/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    the school is setting up more clubs and activities as it grows. intramural sports were recently added; hopefully more will be soon.

    Great for these types of students

    local students, non-traditional students, part-time students, etc. . .

    Bang for the buck

    tuition and fees are extremely affordable, which is a huge reason people choose to attend waycross college. that said, the facilities are excellent, and so are the academics.

    Academic Rigor

    i feel like some of the professors make the work too easy, but i've spent a year at another school. i feel like it's a good starting point.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Waycross College is an exceptionally safe campus. Even at night the Campus is safe and well-lit.

    Great for these types of students

    Waycross College is great for students just starting out who aren't ready to be thrown into the whirlwind of a large University yet. It offers a great education close to home.

    Bang for the buck

    I do believe that for the low tuition cost of Waycross College you get more than you pay for. It is a great institution.

    What to do for fun

    There's not a lot to do for fun in Waycross. However, with it being only an hour away from Brunswick and/or Valdosta you can easily access the beach and Wild Adventures Theme Park.

    Food and Dining

    There is a good bit of variety in the local area. It is only an hour away from Valdosta that offers a large variety of restaurants as well.

    Dorm Life

    Waycross College does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic expectancies are high but they also offer the most benefit.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early and talk to current students about which teachers and courses are the best to take!

    In three sentences

    I enjoy Waycross College very much. The teachers and staff are very friendly and go out of their way to help students achieve success. Waycross College is a great place to start a college career.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Visit Okefenokee Wildlife Park, or Valdosta, Douglas, and Jacksonville, FL are only a short drive away.

    Food and Dining

    Fuji's & many other great restaurants are a short walk from campus.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, most students live at home, have a roommate or have a place of their own.

    Academic Rigor

    You will be challenged to the fullest! The teachers will prepare you for a bigger university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and it will pay off!

    In three sentences

    Waycross College is a great place to attend college! The teachers are very inspirational, and the students are very helpful. I couldn't see myself anywhere else.

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The College offers many events such as lock-ins at the library for Halloween. There are also many clubs to join, including the Medieval Club. All events are free of charge, and all students are always invited.

    Bang for the buck

    Waycross College is one of the cheapest tuition options in the State of Georgia. This being said, that doesn't necessarily mean it's lacking in academic stature. All the credits from Waycross College have a very good chance of transferring to colleges that provide graduate degrees.

    What to do for fun

    Waycross College provides many fun activities right on campus. There are ping pong tables located right outside the Financial Aid office for student use. There is also a gaming room located near the Financial Aid office as well. This room is for student use, and consists of game systems, TV console, and cable for extracurricular usage.

    Food and Dining

    There is little food and dining offered at Waycross College. The only food that is provided is a snack machine located in each of the main buildings on campus. Other than that, food is located outside of Waycross College at the nearby restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    Waycross College does not possess dorms. All students have off-campus living arrangements. This can sometimes be a good thing since most Freshman pay dorm fees and costs that Waycross College students may avoid.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academics at Waycross College are fairly lenient. They do not require an extraneous amount of studying. However, for all classes, it is important to study at least a little bit in order to make a passing grade on a test.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always a good tip for prospective students is to handle your Financial and application needs fairly early. A lot of students wait until the day of to register for classes, and registering early will give the student a higher chance of getting into their desired classes. Students should also take the chance to become a part of the Waycross College community in order to better experience the successful college student life.

    In three sentences

    All in all, Waycross College has been a great experience as far as a Freshman student is concerned. The faculty and staff work together as one unit in order to increase the flow and productivity within the Waycross College learning community. They are very good about helping students choose desired academic paths, and then continue on to help these students obtain the required information in order to obtain their dreams.

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Basket ball games.

    Tips for prospective students

    Waycross College is not a easy school. Be prepared to study and work hard!

    In three sentences

    Waycross College is a great friendly school. The teachers care about their students and are determined to help the students meet their career goal. I am please with my college expedience.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. The crime level is very low in its location and students are very friendly.

    Great for these types of students

    Waycross College is great for students that want to be challenged in their core clases, but plan on transfering to a larger school in order to complete their degree.

    Bang for the buck

    For the level of education definitely outweighs the cost.

    What to do for fun

    Waycross College has pool tables and table tennis available to all students. I've enjoyed a few hours playing.

    Food and Dining

    I have not been on campus to eat yet, but I'd imagine that the food is great!

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm, but I have a friend that does and he enjoys it. The rooms are small, but they're comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are difficult but not impossible. They are simply meant to challenge students and that goal is met.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should apply for this program. I already have two college classes nearly completed and I haven't even graduated yet.

    In three sentences

    I am a member of the Excell Program at Waycross College. I am a duel enrollment student and am currently finnishing 1102 English. I enjoy this program and think it should be expanded for students at my highschool.

  • 09/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    SGSC has a small town feel to it with a nice clean, safe campus. I never worry about walking around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There has been art clubs, archery, riffle, SciFi and Fantasy, and Speech making clubs for the students to participate in during the short time I have been a student here.

    Great for these types of students

    Students with disabilities can find decent support here. Students with LD and Physical alike can get help and be easily accepted here.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition costs are low compared to all of the other options available here.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs each semester that bring students together. If you do not see one that works for you find an adviser and get one started! The student life has things going on all off the time. They even try to have events going on during exams to help relieve stress.

    Food and Dining

    There are vending machines, and places to eat off campus if you have transportation. No cafeteria on campus. Pack a lunch or be prepared to leave campus to go to the McDonald's, the Jerry's County cafe, or one of the other restaurants in town, There are several places around town to eat however.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at SGSC. If you are looking for an active dorm life SGSC in not for you.

    Academic Rigor

    SGSC is a good place to start for someone who wants to take part in dual enrollment during high school, has not been in school for a while, or is fresh out of high school, and not ready for the hustle and bustle of a larger four year institution. That is not to say they will not challenge you with your course work! Classes here are smaller and make it easier to get direct help from your professors when needed. People I know have gone from here to the University of Georgia and been able to feel competitive in classrooms there after attending SGSC. However, I would not recommend coming here if you are looking to be a biology major. The head of the biology department makes it very hard to pass his courses. Many of his students feel he is brilliant, but would be much better teaching at the graduate level. His classes often start with thirty or more students. It has been my experience that less than third stays after the drop add date. Of the final ten, not all will finish with a passing grade. Another dual enrollment student, who was on the President�s honors list, was concerned about losing her grant if she received a grade below a B. When she attempted to speak to the professor, she was told by the instructor that she should probably drop because getting above a C in his course is hard to get; let alone a B or an A. However, if you are into collecting animal skeletons or body parts you can get extra credit in his courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should register early, make sure you fill out your FAFSA as soon as possible, and take advantage of the clubs and student activities offered. The small town feel makes it easy to feel safe.

    In three sentences

    Waycross College is now called South Georgia State College-Waycross Campus. It is a great opportunity for someone who lives in area that may be looking for a degree in nursing. The tuition is very competitive, many of the professors are great to work with and there are students here from many different walks of life.

  • 02/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    On campus, we have plenty of fun activities, such as Segway rides, scavenger hunts, and flag-football. There is also video games and Ping-Pong tables in the student services buildings. And for students who would enjoy a mind-challenging game, there is a very large chess table.

    Food and Dining

    On Campus, there is a location where students can sit and eat, or warm up food. We do not have a fast food place on campus, but we do have vending machines. The college is in a great location; being close to several popular food chanes.

    Dorm Life

    Seeing as how this campus is in Waycross, Georgia, it does not have any dorms. This makes it cheaper. Yet, it is still important to be wise with your money because you have to pay for books and class material.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are very helpful with the class material because it can be difficult. However, I would say as a freshman, that the academic rigor could be rated at a 5, possibly 6. It is not difficult, just a lot to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    The easiest thing to do in college is fall behind. It is important to keep up with what the teacher is going over in class and to read those chapters. Do not wait until the day before the test to cram three chapters into your mind.

    In three sentences

    Waycross College deserves the rate of 10 for any freshman attending school here. The teachers understand that most students here are pre-occupied with jobs and are flexible with each student individually. You can really tell that they want you to succeed in their class.