Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Wayland Baptist University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Wayland is best suited for students with an appetite for broadening their horizons. As a Baptist university, you should be willing to commit an hour of your day every Wednesday to the mandatory chapel service, and be prepared for stricter rules than those you will find at public universities. It may sound like a lot, but Wayland will benefit every aspect of your life: education, relationships and spiritual maturity. Be prepared to walk across the stage as a better person, fully equipped to impact your world!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're thinking about coming to Wayland, make sure you schedule a visit before you make any big commitments. Allow yourself enough time to really get a sense of what life at Wayland is like. There are several opportunities for perective freshmen and transfer students to stay over the weekend on campus for concerts and such, so take advantage of them! Eat the food, talk to the students, and meet a few professors. You'll be glad you did!

    Bang for the buck

    As a private school, tuition at Wayland is more expensive than what you will find at other nearby universities, but the education and the experience gained are well worth it. Wayland is growing, and always opening new opportunities for students to find financial aid, especially for athletes.

    Am enjoying being here

    Plainview is a small town with not much to do, but don't let that stop you! Less distractions make it easier to focus on making your education your number one priority; however, Lubbock and Amarillo are both very close and offer plenty of student-friendly activities for the days that you just need a break.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors at Wayland have an enormous amount of passion for the students they are helping. Class sizes are fairly small, which allows for a much more personal, one-on-one education. At Wayland, students are more than just grades next to a number; they're real people with real potential, and that's rare in the college world!

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe while on campus, but that doesn't mean you can leave all doors unlocked. Keep your expensive/private possessions where you know they will be safe just in case.

    Greek Life

    Aside from the one sorority and fraternity, there are not any other forms of greek life on this planet. The goal they strive for is to teach the students how to mature and become good christian adults and leaders as they go out into the real world.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few clubs that are mostly student run. Asking your departments secretaries and assistants if a great way to learn about them if your queries have been answered by silence from students.

    Great for these types of students

    Obviously christian students will feel comfortable at the baptist university, but that doesn't mean other religious or none religious students will feel uncomfortable. If you are looking to get a great education and you mean it, then this is where you belong.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Marsh. It was nicknamed this due to its behavior in the rare rain storms the town gets. After sprinklers run or rain falls, this big open patch of land that stretches from the Harral auditorium to the Library and Resources Center turns into, well, a marsh. It is just muddy enough to sink the soles of your chuck taylors up to the canvas.

    Bang for the buck

    You get 5 star education for a 3 star price. There are intimate relationships with professors that stay professional. It is not strange to see the dean of a department eating lunch or dinner with a few students.

    What to do for fun

    The Brew. It is definitely the place to go to hang out for everyone. It is owned and run by one of the English professors and his wife. There are also different shops around town you can browse in. There is a movie theater on the west side of town, and the Laney rec center has pool tables and ping pong tables in the lobby.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is not great, but it gets the job done. Sometimes it is stellar. Sometimes it is sub par. Most of the time the food is adequate.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice. The people in them are what make them well above average. While there are restrictions on items you may have in the dorms, the RA's are not too strict. They are going to school just like you are, so they can understand a messy room around finals.

    Academic Rigor

    It may be in a small town, but the piano proficiency they require music students to pass is one of the most difficult in the state of Texas. The teachers want you to learn. Everything they teach you in your courses is completely necessary to your degree plan and career path in some way.

    Tips for prospective students

    The financial aid and business offices are there to help you as much as they can. They are kind and helpful which is something a lot of departments at other universities can lack.

    In three sentences

    Wayland Baptist University is a school where the students are not faces in a crowd. The professors make it their goal to see you walk that stage with a degree in your hand. I have never felt this cared for at a school, and I can not imagine a better place to go for education.

  • 04/16/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students seriously ready to be on their own!

    Tips for prospective students

    Read the University catalog! You will be expected to take care of every aspect of University life! Stay on top of everything you are involved in!

    Am learning a lot

    Most of the professors here are genuinely interested in helping the students achieve their goals in understanding the courses they are enrolled in.

  • 03/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    all of the wbu campuses that i visited are very safe and in great areas. i am a female and i would feel perfectly safe strolling around at night in the area. also, i have never heard of any incidents on any of the campuses.

    Greek Life

    i am not sure what greek life is? but, geek life is great! the online blackboard that the university uses for online and hybrid classes is super user friendly. this past semester was my first time taking an online class and i had no problems.

    Clubs and Activities

    i cannot really speak on the different clubs and activities as i have not really had time to check them out yet. i am on a really accelerated degree plan and may not get time to do a lot of other stuff.

    Great for these types of students

    this school is great for any type of student! they have all the usual degrees and then some that you just cant find anywhere else. they have a degree for some one who would like to become a chaplain; which i thought was really neat.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    wbu is a christian school and so most of the professors pray at the start of each class. this was a bit unusual for me at first, but now i really look forward to it. also the snack honor system, but trust me i got use to that real fast.

    Bang for the buck

    wbu tuition is about average. where you really see the savings is in the fact that they do not increase the price of tuition during the summer and they have a great book program that really cuts down on text book fees.

    What to do for fun

    at wbu there are lots of clubs and good works that the students can get involved in. there are also the usual sporting events and team spirit rallies that you would find at any university.

    Food and Dining

    wbu is the best when it comes to food! they even have snacks and drinks available on the honor system. if you have change or a dollar there is a box that you can donate into but if you do not have the money you can still get a snack and a drink.

    Dorm Life

    i am so sorry but i cannot speak on this as i have never had the opportunity to live in the dorms. i am in the state of hawaii and i think for the most part most of the students live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    this is definitely not a snooze school; this small christian school aims to give the best education possible so bring your a game. that being said the teachers will help you and do everything they can so you can succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    the hybrid classes are the best way to move quickly through a degree. they are a combination of in class and online classes. the best of both worlds.

    In three sentences

    this is a great christian school! their accreditation is about the best in the state of hawaii;and their campuses are great. i also love the fact that the teachers care so much about the students.

  • 03/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for the older person thinking of going back to college or who have never been to college.

    Bang for the buck

    Good tuition fees for the type of University it is.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the River Walk and explore the missions. There is lots to do in San Antonio, TX

    Food and Dining

    I go to the San Antonio campus so there is no dining hall there.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Class work is challenging but if you put your best foot forward and concentrate on what you are doing it shouldn't be too difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Very good learning environment. No need to fear college.

    In three sentences

    Wayland Baptist is a great University for older students

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    ALWAYS OPEN FOR VISITS!

    Greek Life

    �ALPHA CHI-National Honor Scholarship Society �ALPHA DELTA KAPPA �ALPHA PSI OMEGA � National Honorary Dramatic Society �KAPPA DELTA PI �PI SIGMA SIGMA

    Clubs and Activities

    �ALPHA CHI-National Honor Scholarship Society �ALPHA DELTA KAPPA �ALPHA PSI OMEGA � National Honorary Dramatic Society �AMERICAN CHEMICAL SOCIETY �BAPTIST STUDENT MINISTRIES (BSM) �CLASS OFFICERS �COUNCIL OF STUDENT ORGANIZATIONS �FELLOWSHIP OF CHRISTIAN ATHLETES (FCA) �INTERNATIONAL CHOIR �KAPPA DELTA PI �MINISTERIAL FELLOWSHIP �PI SIGMA SIGMA �PIONEER BAND �PRESIDENT'S AMBASSADORS �PSI CHI National Honor Society in Psychology �SINGING MEN �SPANISH CLUB �SPIRIT �STUDENT ALUMNI COUNCIL �STUDENT FOUNDATION �S.G.A. CABINET: Executive Branch of the Student Government Association �SIFE - STUDENTS IN FREE ENTERPRISE �STUDENT UNION BOARD �WAYLAND SINGERS �WAYLAND HANDBELL ENSEMBLE

    Great for these types of students

    ALL!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    CHAPEL ON WEDNSDAY!

    Bang for the buck

    We have chapel where we are required to go once a week. (chapels not that bad) I love Wayland because its small, and you can worship Christ. But if you are looking just for a small school come too. Because even if your not a christian, no one will treat you any different. So come just as you are.

    What to do for fun

    Laney is our game room. Exercise, Dance studio, Watch TV, Play pool, Play basket ball, Play Foosball, or Table tennis. Also we have an option of going to the YMCA. Wayland students get in free. BRING YOUR STUDENT ID. If you don't have it yet, they have a list of the newbies.

    Food and Dining

    There is something for everyone. Every Wednesday we have chicken fried steak, mashed potatoes, and rolls. Yummy!

    Dorm Life

    I love living in Owen. The girls are friendly. We have two lobbies, and bored games down stairs. Some of the other dorms aren't as fortunate with how Owens room is set up. But despite the fact you always have fun. Their is no co-ed, but we have no curfew.

    Academic Rigor

    There's not that many students in a classroom. So if you ever need help a teachers always there for you. They remember your name, and if you have any problems. Your teachers a text or email away.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be nice to others. Hangout with the wrestlers, they accept you no matter who you are. Feel free to greet who ever.

    In three sentences

    Five stars. not just because I go there, but students have away of make it feel like home.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus and small town atmosphere. Everybody knows everybody and security guards pratroling day and night.

    Great for these types of students

    ATHLETES! They have most sports with them just acquiring womens and mens wrestling and mens football again. The Wrestling program is the only college in Texas that offers wrestling.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive but very respectable school in Texas with wonderful medical program.

    What to do for fun

    The school spirit is phenomenal! Just getting football back from 70 years ago; the home field is in San Antonio, with them offering a bus ride and hotel stay for students to join the team.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great i heard offering three different meal times. They have alot of healthy things to choose from seeing how the school is based aroung there sport programs.

    Academic Rigor

    Not the easiest classes I have heard but they are small classes so the teachers know and help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid because its a private university. Like they told me there is money everywhere. They are so helpful!

    In three sentences

    Wayland is a private university in a small 4-A Texas town. The reason I went with them though is because they helped along with everything from fininacial aide to getting my transcipts. They are also the only Texas school that offers wrestling.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe, you can always call someone if you need help.

    Greek Life

    There isn't much Greek life to choose from, only the christian organizations.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many sports, and intramurals to choose from. A Lot of different activities to get involved with.

    Great for these types of students

    There's a place for everybody a Wayland.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well every Wednesday after chapel they serve chicken fried steak and freshman orientation is called Koinonia very fun way to get involved and get meet new people.

    Bang for the buck

    I personally feel you don't get your moneys worth, there is a lot more that could be added on campus.

    Food and Dining

    We are under sodexo food service and it is nice, you have something to choose from everyday and its a buffet.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on where your living the dorms can be so small, and no free cable.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are small so you can get one on one help with your professor but they are over priced.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always go to class, attendance is very important with passing your classes and Always double check on your finances when attending Wayland.

    In three sentences

    Wayland is a small loving christian school that will always find ways to help you become successful. Although Wayland is a small town there is always something to get involved with on campus. Throughout the campus you will always meet a new face and feel like a family.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    None I am aware of.

    Clubs and Activities

    None I am aware of.

    Great for these types of students

    Adults working FT who are returning to college to finish their degree. Military personnel also.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None I am aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    Good college for adults returning to college. Professors are flexible for students who work FT.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't really any activities for entertainment. This is a small branch of the main university and focused on adult learning.

    Food and Dining

    No cafeteria. The one student lounge only has a couple of vending machines.

    Academic Rigor

    Degree of difficulty varies greatly with each professor. There is a strong focus on college level writing format, and they are very strict on plagiarism.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be proactive on your admissions paperwork and financial aid. This school isn't good about communicating what steps you need to do to complete enrollment. Make sure to meet with an adviser to ensure you are in the right classes for your degree plan.

    In three sentences

    The San Antonio Campus is small, nice size classes. The average age of the students attending are age 37. They have off site class locations for convenience.

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The staff does everything in its power to keep the students and staff as safe as possible. From former law enforcement campus security, to daily local law enforcement patrols, and safety and informational updates, anything that does happen is quickly contained and taken care of.

    Great for these types of students

    Christian students looking for a diverse education in a small town setting. City kids tend to feel far too bored, and non-Christians tend to feel berated by the constant Bible activity.

    What to do for fun

    Not much, too small of a town. Coffee Shop, bowling alley, skating rink, and movie theater, that's about it. On the upside, you get to know your freinds better, and focus on homework and studying more than you otherwise would!

    Food and Dining

    The brand new dining hall is almost ready, two or three more weeks now and we'll have a new Starbucks Coffee, Subway, Pete's place, much more. Patience is everything!

    Dorm Life

    Very socially interactive, while still being respectful to personal space and study habits. Basic rule enforcement keeps the dorms clean, respectful, and a nice place to live, even if the buildings themselves need a little modernization.

    Academic Rigor

    Has classes taylored to your needs. More general classes for those less inclined to academics, and mind working classes for the above average thinker. Take what your comfortable with.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in mind, the school is located in a rather small town. Any big shopping or activities you wish to do will be done in either Amarillo or Lubbuck, both about an hour away. (In all honesty, it keeps students more focused on homework and study, instead of parties)

    In three sentences

    A small town Christian university with a larger than life impact on the world. With the diverse choice in degree's and real world exposure in your chosen field, a job is easy to find after graduation. Not only that, but missions work is far reaching, a student can not only impact the world themselves, but be impacted in ways that will touch hearts and change lives.

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security can be found at many locations and events on campus. The security is very present in the teaching of safety to students and the officers are certified Plainview police officers. On top of the officers, Wayland has a Pioneer Alert warning system that automatically sends a text, email, and sometimes call to all the students when there is a threat to safety on campus whether it is the weather or a shooter or anything in between.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student who desires to have an uplifting atmosphere or a Christian atmosphere should look here! Academic rigor is stressed, but so is positive ways of life. If you are not religious, religion is not shoved down your throat, but good life habits are taught and encouraged in such a way that a student may be successful not only in their academic career, but in life!

    Bang for the buck

    Wayland is relatively cheap compared to many schools and the education is just as good and thorough. The school is literally dripping with scholarships and opportunities for students! The cost of living in Plainview is also fairly reasonable and job opportunities are abundant!

    What to do for fun

    Hanging out is a huge part of college life! Music majors all tend to hang out in the music building and have tons of fun goofing off, but their is also plenty of fun options in town! My roommate and I have gone shopping many times just for fun. The movies are very cheap for students and the bowling alley is also open for fun! Besides just hanging out in town, Lubbock is only 45 minutes away and Amarillo is 2 hours away! Each place can be visited for a trip to the mall or just to go to for a while!

    Food and Dining

    Wayland provides meal plans (you can select which plan you would like to pay for) that allow students to eat in the cafeteria or grab a snack from the snack wagon. The food is varied and is well prepared! There are many options and the dining halls are open at 7:30 in the mornings for students with early classes! The dining halls also are open on the weekends for all of the students who stay on campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms quickly become their own families! The dorms are so nice and nothing is more fun than hanging out in the lobby with all of your friends! Wayland encourages friendships in the dorm! The RA's will personally get in contact with their students and will hang out or help their students in any way that they can!

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are demanding, but practical: you need time for all of your classes! Each professor expects nothing but the best and class attendance is very important! The professors know each of the students by name and are eager to help or to provide tutors when needed (tutoring services are free!)

    Tips for prospective students

    Any student who would like to come to Wayland should simply audition because scholarships are available for anyone who needs them! Look into each of Wayland's programs and form your own opinions on them. Wayland is a wonderful place for anyone who likes an environment in which the faculty and the students make an effort to get along and work together; the people here truly become like family!

    In three sentences

    Wayland Baptist University is a wonderful school to go to! The atmosphere is so friendly and uplifting! The professors truly care about their students and invest much time and effort into making each student feel accepted and successful!

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Definitely a safe place to be. I never have to worry about my safety on campus!

    Bang for the buck

    Wayland is a great school, especially for the price! You get so much quality for what you pay. Absolutely the best investment I have ever made!

    What to do for fun

    Plainview is a small town so there's not much to do around town, but Wayland always has several activities on campus to keep you busy. You can even join a sorority or fraternity, or if you want can even travel to some of the nearby larger cities.

    Food and Dining

    There are always lots of options in the cafeteria. You can choose from the hot meal line, the deli, the pizza bar, or the soup and salad bar. The food is always good and made fresh every day.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is very good. The girls are easy to get along with and its a great way to make friends on campus!

    Academic Rigor

    The course load is challenging and very rigorous. It takes a lot of time and effort, but it is always to help you do well in your class, so take the time to do it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always, always, always do your work! Going to class is half the battle, so remember to try to go every day. Don't be afraid to speak up about your faith, you'll absolutely love it here.

    In three sentences

    Wayland is a small campus which makes it virtually impossible to slip in between the cracks. The faculty truly cares about their students. The students on campus are very warm and friendly.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Feel. Safe at all times... but always be aware of your surroundings. .

    Greek Life

    Not affiliated.....

    Clubs and Activities

    Football! !!!!!!

    Great for these types of students

    Hard worker's. .... students that have a plan and goals. ..

    What to do for fun

    Lift weights. .. go to movies. ..video. games...hang out with friends. ..text...

    Food and Dining

    Awesome! !!!

    Dorm Life

    Newly remodeled... nice. Comfortable. ...adjusting was easy...

    Academic Rigor

    ****

    Tips for prospective students

    Give yourself a chance... work hard...always. be willing to help someone....remember someone helped you...***

    In three sentences

    Close to home. . Really nice campus friendly people. Very supportive small town...great. coaching staff.close Christian Family environment. Feel like dreams. Can be met here...

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There campus police. They are friendly and always there during classes.

    Great for these types of students

    Older working adults with families.

    Bang for the buck

    A private univeristy, so kind of expensive but mainly pay for tuition, books, and school supplies. There aren't any parking fees, activity fees, etc...

    What to do for fun

    Lots of things to do in the San Antonio area. Visit The Alamo, Sea World San Antonio, Six Flags Fiesta Texas, Natural Bridge Caverns, plenty of shopping from little markets to malls. Tons of restaraunts, and night clubs.

    Food and Dining

    There is a study area with vending machines and microwave.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are four hours once a week, and a few are 2 hours twice a week.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great for the working class. Plenty of evening courses and Saturday classes.

    In three sentences

    Great atmosphere for those who are serious in obtaining and education.

  • 08/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Plainview is a small town but don't let that fool you. We have plenty to do and we can always travel to Lubbock if we can't find it in Plainview.

    Food and Dining

    Wayland has some great food and it's all you can eat so you won't go hungry! We have a great selection and there's always plenty.

    Dorm Life

    The Jimmy Dean Dorm is brand new and is a fantastic dorm. The dorm is better than some hotels.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are extremely helpful and willing to help the students. They make themselves available and seem to really care about the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Wayland has brought football back after a 70+ year break and they are ready to get in on the action. The coaches are awesome and want to teach the students the great game of football. It's a great time to get in on a new team and play some ball!

    In three sentences

    Wayland is a great school that has a lot to offer. The staff really cares about the students and they want to see us succeed. The transition from high school to college was much easier than I expected and that is primarily because of the staff and their willingness to help.

  • 12/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Pete's Place Harral Auditorium Laney Center

    Tips for prospective students

    I would have to say, make sure you study!!!!!

    In three sentences

    Wayland was the college I wanted to go to and the only one. It is a small Baptist school which is what I wanted. It is the best for me.