Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Wellesley College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/19/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 out of 22 people found this review useful. 1 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Everyone! Honestly, I think one of the biggest strengths of Wellesley is how diverse a Wellesley woman can be. While I am not really a partier and prefer to spend my weekends hanging out in the city with close friends, there are definitely people who know how to party. Certainly there is a mixture of sexual/gender identity, but whether you are straight, lesbian, bi, or identify by something else, you will find others like you and are not disturbed by others. In fact, oftentimes I will be walking to my next class or my dorm and see a girl who will make me wonder how she got into Wellesley or why she applied, since she seems so different from me, and yet I love Wellesley and she does too. But even on opposite sides of the spectrum, Wellesley women truly and wholeheartedly love Wellesley--even the ones who hate it the first year come back and love it in the years following. We especially love the opportunities it offers to study overseas, meet student at other colleges, make up your own major, meet wonderful professors, and become friends with people you wouldn't be caught dead with in high school. Wellesley can sound like a school for bitc*es, or straight-edged uptight and prim girls, or lesbians only, or aggressive and scarily nerdy or smart girls, etc., but the student population will really surprise you. (Please don't take offense by any of my descriptions, I know they are very stereotypical but are only examples!) Don't cross this school off because it is all-girls and you or people around you have negative stereotypes of it--come over for spring open campus and see for yourself! I was hesitant in applying because my sister attended Wellesley and loved it, and since she and I are polar opposites I was highly dubious of whether Wellesley would be a good college fit for me. But after one year at Wellesley, I am ever grateful that I applied and decided to attend--it is really wonderful in so many ways.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry too much if you don't have a perfect GPA, perfect standardized test scores, or if you don't have a million extracurriculars. Many girls I know at Wellesley didn't have a stellar academic performance, but were accepted. Just do your best in whatever you can, and write a good essay about why you want to attend! My essay was honestly about my love for Jamba Juice, Asian music, my friends, my fashion sense, and the quirks that my friends will make fun of me for--it showed my personality and wasn't overdone or boring to read (well, in my opinion and my friends' opinions) and I think it really made a different in the acceptance process. And this is from my own observations and others': Wellesley isn't incredibly hard to enter, the way Harvard, Princeton or MIT is, but honestly, it is one of the hardest colleges to graduate from with a good GPA because Wellesley women are so excellent we have to grade-deflate to make some sort of distinction between the good, the excellent, and the outstanding. I have friends at Harvard and they don't work nearly as hard as the average Wellesley women--we take our studies and extracurriculars a lot more seriously than they do. So don't worry too much about acceptance--it's not the hardest school to enter. :)

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth the money. The Wellesley experience is incredible. Everyone works so hard--as one of the top in my state, I went to Wellesley and met girls who were the top in their respective states, and met upperclassmen who, in my eyes, were close to achieving rocker status because they had done so many lovely, cool, and commendable things. Seriously try and visit campus and meet some of the students if you can--the prospectives I met all were awed by how much they loved Wellesley and by how nice and great the students were. There is no hierarchy, belittling, or aggression between Wellesley women--just intense yet respectful competition, and it is really every woman against herself. You compete to be better than you thought you could be--if you feel stupid because everyone else around you seems uber smart, guess what? Everyone around you feels the same way. Wellesley women intimidate Wellesley women, and that makes all of us try that much harder. We know how to party, have fun, and take care of ourselves--you do NOT have to do all-nighters if you manage your time well--but we study hard and also form meaningful relationships with faculty and students that you can't get at big universities or even at such an acclaimed school as Harvard. Wellesley is great because it is small, it is all-girls, it is far enough from Boston to be a real college and campus experience but close enough that you aren't in the middle of nowhere, it really tries to meet the needs of each student, and since it is a liberal arts school, will teach you all the skills you need for success as a person, worker, boss, wife, daughter, cousin, politician, lawyer, service worker... whatever your role is!

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is one of the most beautiful in the nation, is consistently in the top 5 liberal arts schools nationally, and of course, as an all-female school, is a haven for women! Because Wellesley is all-female, the perks of really being able to focus on school are immense. While at co-ed schools you may have to take the higher road and not talk as much in class because there are rowdy boys in the class, or have to deal with the sexism that I have encountered in many boys in my grade, at Wellesley you can be completely free to do what you want and need to do in order to perform at your peak. The small class sizes are a blessing, and being surrounded by girls makes competition and performance that much more intense yet friendly. Even if I theoretically had to leave Wellesley and go to a state university because of tuition costs, I would forever be thankful for my time at Wellesley and remember what a tremendous blessing it was to meet other women who have the same goals and aspirations as me, and who don't get distracted from their goals.

    Am learning a lot

    Wellesley is an excellent liberal arts school because, in a nutshell, they teach you how to figure the world out for yourself. They have excellence in everything: faculty, location, students, campus, dining, residential staff, dorms, comprehensive studies, major and minor flexibility, inter-college communication, etc. You're surrounded by girls who are the top in their state and have been up to the national/international level in music, the arts, sports--you name it, you have it. The Wellesley woman is a good speaker, a talented writer, not afraid to ask hard questions, intense, diligent, and a level above other college students. We put our all into not just our academics but everything else as well--while Harvard, MIT, Babson, Olin, and other schools may not work too hard on a culture festival, an orientation event, an intercollegiate party, or an open Boston forum, Wellesley women and faculty take professionalism to a completely new level. Every woman who receives an award, a distinction, an executive position in a club or otherwise, fully deserves it. At Wellesley, you're surrounded by the best of the nation--women who will be great in the future, and who will make their mark. So am I learning a lot? Yes, both in and out of class--and most likely much more out of class. The people you encounter are insanely smart, hard-working, and honest. The students at other schools provide a way for a student of Wellesley to really see the perks of Wellesley and what sets us apart from other schools, whether all-girl or not.

  • 08/21/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 2 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Wellesley is a fantastic place for driven, intelligent young women who want to focus on their education but also be active in many clubs and sports. Most Wellesley women are involved in at least one organization on campus, be it political, social, or sportive. Social life is not traditional; if you want a frat/sorority scene, you have to go out in Boston to find it. However, many other social opportunities provide for a well-rounded college experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Wellesley is a demanding school and definitely attracts a certain kind of person; however, it also has produced the highest percentage of women in executive, high-ranking jobs. Make sure that your writing skills are up to par, as most non-science classes require a large amount of reading and writing. Talk to a current student at Wellesley, but be aware that there are many different attitudes about the school (quite a few which have to do with the fact that it is all-women). Lastly, give Wellesley a chance. A few years ago, I never would have pictured myself at a small, women's college outside of Boston, but now I would not attend anywhere else.

    Bang for the buck

    Wellesley is a private college and very expensive. Their financial aid program is fantastic, for those who make the cut-off. Unfortunately, I do not; I have found it difficult to finance my Wellesley education (I am paying for half of my tuition, room, and board). However, I have not transferred because I know that the education I am getting here is unparalleled and the bright, talented, friendly women who attend Wellesley could not be found at a school with a lower price tag.

    Am enjoying being here

    Wellesley College definitely has a unique environment. With no men around, there is a distinctly different feel than co-ed campuses. However, I think this is only an advantage. I did not want to go to a women's college; when a friend (who was a sophomore at Bryn Mawr College) suggested I look at women's colleges, I quickly dismissed the idea. Now, I am very glad that I decided to come to Wellesley. Although we are a women's college, the school makes every effort to facilitate transportation into Boston, where over 60 other schools (and an array of social activities and events) await. I am on the Equestrian Team at Wellesley and have found it very open and lots of fun. My dorm hosts many parties and themed events - this year we had a Speakeasy Dinner Party/Murder Mystery and a Silent Rave party. Wellesley's traditions make each year special with events such as Flower Sunday, sophomore tree-planting, and hoop-rolling. I have made fantastic friends at school, with whom I go tunneling, play hide-and-seek in the science center, and take boats out on the lake. Becoming involved in student government and other clubs on campus, I have found that everyone at Wellesley is able to find a niche that fits their interests. My friend from Bryn Mawr described going to a women's college as a constant slumber party with your best friends; I could not agree more.

    Am learning a lot

    Wellesley College has a stellar academic reputation and it lives up to it. I have just completed my first year, but am already wowed by the intensity and quality of my classes at Wellesley. None of my classes have exceeded 35 people, the largest being Ecnomics 101 (one of Wellesley's most popular courses). My smallest class was Arabic with only 12 students (language classes at Wellesley rarely exceed 15 students). All my professors have known my name and offered personal time to help me out with any problems I may have. There are free, Wellesley-funded tutors for every subject and often student-run study groups that meet before exams and midterms. Classes are very challenging, but the school and the professors work hard to make sure that challenging does not turn into overwhelming. There is a large amount of work to be done outside of the classroom, however, it is all relevant and none of it is merely busy-work. Most classes rely heavily on discussion, and while attendance is usually not mandatory, most students come to class because the professor's lecture is worth their time. Wellesley has a liberal arts focus, so you get to take classes in all different subjects, even those with no pertinence toward your major. This is a great benefit, for you can really explore subjects you may never have been exposed to before without jeopardizing your major. I have genuinely enjoyed going to most of my classes and have very rarely skipped.

  • 07/16/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 13 people found this review useful. 3 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Women's college will support the female students, because people here would are very encouraging that anyone could succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    the environment are more soothing than the mingle party of sex that the male will dominate the school ground more than women would. Excellent education program. Encouraging environment.

    Bang for the buck

    I'll do anything to go this kind of college desperately that I'll do whatever it takes to go here.

    Am enjoying being here

    Women's college was something that I always wanted to go, because there's no males students hanging around in the campus that there's sisterhood bond building up that I know that my experiences will change dramatically, because honestly I feel uncomfortable being surrounded by males ( honestly, I believe it's a distraction).

    Am learning a lot

    At first, Wellesley College was the only college I was thinking of and when I started to learn about the Wellesly there's a lot of departments that I want to take. When i clicked on the department I was thinking of taking in Wellesley there's these courses that I got really excited and suddenly get the feeling of going to this college and do my best to attend this school. If I attend this college I will write notes during class to keep on top all the time.

  • 08/17/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 6 people found this review useful. 4 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Self-disciplined intelligent girls that love to learn and have slumber parties every night.

    Tips for prospective students

    DEFINITELY visit before you come here, spend some time with the students before you make a decision. Also, if geographical location is important to you (ie., east coast, suburban setting, etc.), make sure you check it out.

    Bang for the buck

    They have a good chunk of change to dole out to students, so the financial aid was pretty fair. It's a beautiful campus, the dorms are gorgeous, and the food is pretty good.

    Am enjoying being here

    Wellesley is an amazing school, without a doubt. However, Wellesley is not for everyone, and the social set-up can be very daunting if you're used to going out and having fun in high school.

    Am learning a lot

    The academics here are top notch, without a doubt. This is not a school for the faint of the academic heart- it's not enough to show up to class everyday and do as the professor says to get an A. You have to go above and beyond what you learn in the classroom in order to do well here.

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I was looking for a small school with smart and hard working students that would fuel my academic fire and that is exactly what I found at Wellesley. This school is good for students who are willing to work hard at academics. From what i've noticed, all the students are hungry for success and they are willing to pour their sweat and tears into their work to reach it. There doesn't seem to be any slacker groups of students at Wellesley, and that makes me work harder to keep up with all the rest of the students. Wellesley is also good for students who enjoy small class sizes, which allows you get to know your professors better. This past semester, class sizes for me ranged from 3 to 24, which made it easier to participate as a somebody instead of a lost number in a 100+ student class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Like previous students commented, don't be afraid to apply even if you don't meet the academic standards. I for one did not completely meet the standards, but I was still accepted. Having an interview with an alumni was beneficial, I think, because I was able to show my enthusiasm in person and talk more casually about myself, interests and goals. Another tip is to think about what you would like to pursue. Even if you decide to come in undecided, you should do your homework on possible majors. Since Wellesley is a small school, the number of course offerings and majors are limited, especially for upper level language courses, so looking up majors and courses on the Wellesley website will be beneficial to see what is offered.

    Bang for the buck

    Wellesley's academics does give you a lot for your dollar because the professors are very approachable and helpful, and the courses are challenging. The support given to the individual students is very good since class sizes are intimate and I feel like that is something hard to come by. The high level of academics matches the high tuition cost, but calculated into the full attendance cost is an unusually expensive one-and-only meal plan, which makes me feel like I have to eat in the dining halls to get the most bang for my meal plan buck.

    Am enjoying being here

    Wellesley feels like a girls camp where we have homework and tests. It's a calming feeling since our campus is quite nice and there are no scary/creepy men around (except during on-campus parties hahaha). I feel safe and the young women I meet are all wonderful, talented and bright, and help to create a positive learning environment. However, I give this enjoyment rating a 4/5 stars because of transportation. I hardly/never really leave the Wellesley area because it takes about 30-40min and costs around $3-5 depending on the day, time and mode of transportation (bus/Green line/commuter rail) to get into Boston.

    Am learning a lot

    A majority of things covered in class during my first semester were all new to me, so I can easily say that I am learning a lot. However, academics isn't the only thing I feel like i'm learning. The expectations at Wellesley are definitely much higher than in high school, and this makes me learn how to live effectively and efficiently. Juggling difficult schoolwork and extracurricular activities, and controlling sleeping and study habits by myself makes me feel like I can become a more independent woman by being here in this setting.

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are amazing! They really look out for students and care about our safety. The campus always feels safe.

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities on campus, but we have societies which are basically the same thing

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different clubs to choose from!

    Great for these types of students

    Dedicated, hard working, over achievers

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have our own Lake! And every fall we have Lake Day, a carnival outside by the lake

    Bang for the buck

    Wellesley provides some amazing connections and opportunities you will get no where else

    What to do for fun

    Going into Boston is really fun, and going into the Ville for ice cream or coffee with friends is always nice

    Food and Dining

    There have been some good improvements in the food lately.

    Dorm Life

    Each dorm has its own different culture, east side is generally more quite and less social, west side is louder and known for more poartying

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging and rewarding

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the all-girls environment scare you off!

    In three sentences

    Attending Wellesley was the best decision I have ever made. It is an empowering and inspiring place. It has provided me with opportunities I would have never imagined.

  • 02/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    i think the food is great. there are lots of vegetarian options, and there's ice cream in all the dining halls at every meal.

    Dorm Life

    it really depends on the dorm. the new dorms have a reputation for being quieter, and west campus is known to be more social. i don't know that many people within my dorm, other than the people in my hall.

    Academic Rigor

    we don't have grade inflation. enough said.

    In three sentences

    this place prizes excellence, yet has a wonderful sense of community. wellesley is incredibly diverse and accepting-- i've learned so much from my fellow students. this school has so many resources that it is impossible to take advantage of them all.

  • 07/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    After the marathon bombings and attacks in the spring, the campus was the only place I felt safe for a long time. I was scared to go into the city, to our boathouse in Watertown, or even into the town of Wellesley. We went on lock down and were encouraged to stay inside, but I knew I was safe on campus. That security is present all the time, and I've never felt unsafe on campus. All the members of campus po are super friendly and great people.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am an athlete, so my sport takes up all my time. DO A SPORT AT WELLESLEY. It has transformed my college experience and I would recommend it to anyone that has even the slightest interest in sports. That being said, everyone finds their place at Wellesley.

    Bang for the buck

    Wellesley is really expensive, but financial aid is GREAT at meeting need. Their goal is to have you graduate with no debt, and they consider everyone's situation.

    What to do for fun

    Wellesley's on campus social life is definitely unique. Student org's and clubs plan events and such, but sometimes they aren't that great (especially if you are straight.) But it really is what you make of it. Most girls go off campus for fun, to Boston, MIT, Harvard, places like that. There is SO much to do off campus, and it's actually nice to keep Wellesley an academic environment, and then have your fun other places.

    Food and Dining

    I'm a vegetarian and a full- year athlete, so my dietary needs are slightly different than the average students. There is always a vegetarian option, or something in the salad bar for me to find to eat. I live off cereal, and that's always available. All my meat eating friends enjoy the foods, and the desserts are addicting. It's kind of annoying that all the dining halls except the Lulu close pretty early for dinner, but you can manage.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms aren't amazing, but they aren't horrible. The hardwood floors are nice, but the carpets are kind of gross. First and second years usually have pretty small rooms, but the singles you get junior and senior year are nicer. All the rooms feel very home-y, they aren't modern and sterile and plain like I've seen in other colleges, and I really like that. Even though all the bathrooms are hall style, they never get that gross (girls usually respect each other's cleanliness and keep it pretty nice.)

    Academic Rigor

    Wellesley really is at the top tier of colleges and universities when considering academics. Every girl in every class is there to learn and do their best, which makes for a superb learning environment. All the professors are passionate about what they are teaching. Yes, classes are hard, there is a lot of work, finals are stressful, and it is extremely difficult to earn the A, but it's all worth it in the end. If you aren't going to college for an education, you shouldn't apply here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start your college search early, visit all campuses that you are considering, and be as truthful and detailed in your applications as possible.

    In three sentences

    Wellesley is a unique college. It's not for everyone, but if you belong here, it will be the best experience of your life. The academics, community. student life, and culture are indescribably awesome.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Wellesley is so safe. It's almost ridiculous. We love our Campus Po.

    Greek Life

    I have no personal experience in Wellesley's greek life, though our now-four Societies are each dedicated to bringing a new, exciting activity to campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    So. Many. Orgs. Wellesley has a large selection of organizations that put on various fun activities. It's definitely worth it to attend the multiple fairs dedicated to detailing events planned for the year. Get involved! It's so fun!

    Great for these types of students

    See above Tips for Prospective Students section.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Stepsinging (singing traditional Wellesley songs on our Amphitheater's steps), Hoop Rolling (literally rolling a wooden hoop as fast as possible down a stretch - it's a race), Flower Sunday (not mandatory, but fun: Wellesley students sign up to receive little sisters, to whom they present flowers as a surprise and listen to speeches and watch performances in the Chapel).

    Bang for the buck

    Wellesley seems to be a little on the expensive side, but when considering all that we as students receive and have available (the Wellesley transportation, the great food, etc), it's reasonable. And Wellesley prides itself on giving good, reasonable financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    Various Wellesley orgs (campus organizations) hold parties, pub nights and other events on-campus, but there is also an extremely convenient way to get into the city to visit MIT, Harvard, Berklee, BC, BU and the other surrounding colleges and universities (as well as, say, Newbury Street). The bus stops along Harvard, MIT and in the middle of Boston and is very easily accessible. Running at all kinds of hours, this also allows for safe and easy transportation to and from parties or other events outside of Wellesley's campus.

    Food and Dining

    Though one of the largest complaints on Wellesley's campus is the quality of food, I, personally, enjoy the meals. It isn't Mom's home cooking, but it's definitely not as bad as some other colleges'. The dining service is innovative and accommodating.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on personal preference, Wellesley dorm life encompasses a variety of atmospheres. Each of the Wellesley dorms (or dorm complexes) are known for their own traditional type of population. For example, East Side is more quiet, laid-back and individual, whereas West Side is more rowdy, group activity-oriented and upbeat.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not had a single course more difficult than any other. Despite your academic strengths and weaknesses, each course is taught at a steady pace, based on student feedback and participation. Though professors are usually easy to work and negotiate with, Wellesley courses call for a lot of the student's time and attention. There is, of course, still time for great fun and games. Work hard, play hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you someday want to own your own business, practice, firm, or be your own boss, no other undergraduate program has the ability and success in preparing students to be more individual and self-sufficient as Wellesley. Wellesley builds confidence, adds to personality, and brings people together in wonderful, fascinating ways.

    In three sentences

    Wellesley is a well-rounded, diverse, open school: the students are pushed to work their hardest, achieve their goals and be amongst the best of the best. Wellesley prepares each of its students to be a leader, one who is able to work successfully and efficiently with others as well as direct projects herself. Courses are rigorous and sometimes stressful, but the result of a Wellesley education cannot be amounted in letter grades; here, values and practices necessary for success are learned inside and outside of the classroom.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is safe, simple put. My friends and I have left late night performances and walked back the other side of campus at night with no problems. I've forgotten my iphone in a instrument practice room for two hours and came back to find no one had moved it. The only thing to worry about getting stolen is mostly food.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is everything. Muggle Quidditch was started this past year and is growing. There are so cultural clubs, special interest clubs, and student government and house council.

    Great for these types of students

    Wellesley is a women's college. I was going to college to study not socialize, so it wasn't a big deal for me, but some prospective students have issues with an all female campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Wellesley has a lot of traditions. There is stepsinging at the beggining and end of the year. There is hoop rolling at the end of the year, where the winner is thrown into the lake. Other traditions unique to our school during the year include our Guild of Carillonneurs, which is student run, and primal scream during finals week.

    What to do for fun

    There's the city of Boston nearby, but there is just as enough fun to have on campus. There are concerts and sports games on most weekends, along with parties and mixers if not at Wellesley, at any of the other consortium schools. MIT, Olin, and Babson are accessible via the exchange bus during the week, so if you're looking for something to do take advantage of activities at any of the four schools.

    Food and Dining

    It's college cafetaria food. It has gotten better in the past year, but I don't have high expectations for it, so its not something I really notice.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life events are great, but my experience has been that unless I prop my door open during the day, no one takes to anyone on the floor.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is there and students are serious about studinying as much as having fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you see the campus, you will fall in love with the bright cheery atmosphere of a park. Seeing campus was one of the greatest determinations in me attending, trumped only by the glance at the classes catalogue which gives a bird's eye of the academic interest and rigors of the school.

    In three sentences

    Wellesley has the coziest campus not too far from the city, but not in the heart either. The classes are interesting and challenging. From Quidditch to several accapella choirs, there is something for every girl.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe. Unlike some places where the campus police are there to keep students in line, at Wellesley their main focus is keeping students safe.

    Greek Life

    There is no real Greek life on campus but Wellesley does have societies (which are academic sororities basically). There are black sororities and frats in Boston and MIT has a vibrant Greek scene.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many ways to be involved.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The tradition of student run cooperatives is very cool. I also like step singing and the hoop rolling competition for seniors.

    What to do for fun

    Boston and Cambridge will be your best friend. Take advantage of the free Peter Pan during the week and make sure you have tokens for the weekend.

    Food and Dining

    Wellesley tries really hard to provide healthy food options and somewhat succeeds compared to other institutions.

    Dorm Life

    Some of the dorms are beautiful and some are not. There is too much variance by room and hall.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard, informative and really fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Read lots of different kinds of material before you head to Wellesley. Also, find some way to be more organized. You will appreciate good organizational skills once you start to attend.

    In three sentences

    Wellesley is a good all women's institution. It teaches women how to be successful in the professional realm. It also gives students the tools to think critically and analytically.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police Po drive around at all hours. Very safe town as well. Emergency numbers and blue boxes around campus. Lots of police around at times when people come from off campus.

    Greek Life

    None, but their are societies which are similar.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of things that you can get involved in but doesn't take over college life. If we don't have it, you can start it.

    Great for these types of students

    Academically committed women who want to go on to big things. May like to party and have fun but academics come first.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Step singing. Platform 9 3/4. Hoop Rolling. Big Sister Brunch. Let Me Speak. Come here to find out more and experience for yourself.

    Bang for the buck

    Lots of aid for those who qualify and need it. The dining and printing are included which could otherwise be costly.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends around campus on one of the many open greens. Go down by the lake and rent a boat, run around it, or just sit and read with the awesome view. Take the Peter Pan bus into Boston or to one of the many schools in the area. Or rent a zip-car and go on an adventure with some friends.

    Food and Dining

    Food isn't always the most delicious but you don't have to swipe in and you can go in any time and take as much as you want. I haven't heard of this luxury at any other college. Always a salad bar, allergy station and many dining halls to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Many dorms have dining halls in them which is convenient especially in Northeast winters. Halls consist of women from all years which is nice so underclassmen can readily seek guidance from upperclassmen. By the time you're a junior/senior you will most likely be in a single.

    Academic Rigor

    Be prepared to work hard!! Teachers are amazing and classes are small but be prepared to put in the time for reading and writing and doing whatever work you need to in the library.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up your good grades all throughout school. Know that this is an all girls college and your friends may be going to big co-ed schools and have a very different experiences bit this campus gives you so much to appreciate. Visit the lake when you visit campus! Not a party school on campus but buses running around the clock into Boston - MIT and Harvard which make for a lot of fun.

    In three sentences

    Very different environment than any other college with little quirks that you come to appreciate over time. Demanding academic college and competitive sports teams on a Hogwarts-like campus. A school for women who want to succeed and go on to big things later in life and touch many people.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is no greek life.

    What to do for fun

    You can go into Boston or watch a movie at Collins Cinema. There are also events during the week.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok. We have unlimited food which is nice but sometimes it gets a little repetitive. The dining halls close at 7 except for Lulu which is open until 10. If you want something different it's pretty simple to go into Boston.

    Dorm Life

    We are all very close. There are some dorms which are better at this but it really depends on the girls in your dorm. Stuff is pretty safe and everything is near the dorms so that's not a problem.

    Academic Rigor

    Wellesley have a grade deflation policy which dictates that the class average cannot be higher than a B+. This is sometimes frustrating when you have an A- but end up with a B+ to keep the average at that level. The classes are very tough.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please remember Wellesley is an all-women's college and it is very obvious. Many girls complain about this aspect so if having guys around is important then rethink Wellesley. If you want a stellar education and amazing friends Wellesley is the place to be.

    In three sentences

    Wellesley is an amazing place in terms of education and resources. It is very diverse compared to other place yet it may seem like a bubble at times. All in all Wellesley is better than most places.

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    14 of 26

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I love all the information I receive in the mail from Wellesley, it answers every question I have. When I contacted them about their college visit travel grant they were quick to reply and very polite!

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus. I often see the campus police patrolling, and I have no problem walking places alone, even at night.

    Greek Life

    None! Though there are societies that some students enjoy including an Art and Music society and a Shakespeare society.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many activities to choose from! But what I love the best is that there is no pressure to join things. If you would rather focus on academics everyone understands. If you would like to try out an activity, but you change your mind, that's fine too. To me, this is a wonderful improvement from the high school mentality where I felt obligated to pick an activity as a Freshman and stick with it through Senior Year. I honestly believe that there are activities for every type of person here. Some groups are casual - like getting together to watch movies every week, and some are more formal. There are also plenty of opportunities to attend lectures and events on campus. In the past month I attended a free production of a Shakespeare play by the Actors From the London Stage as well as a lecture by a post-doctorate theoretical physicist from Harvard.

    Great for these types of students

    I think that many types of students would do well at Wellesley - that being said, since I've recently been through my own college search, I would say that women looking for a studious, serious environment would enjoy Wellesley. Academics are clearly the focus, but the atmosphere is also very supportive and friendly.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is incredibly picturesque and beautiful! I feel like I find a new place to study every day. My current favorite walk is around Lake Waban. I love to study on the third floor of the library looking out the floor-to-ceiling window at the trees. Hearing someone play the bells from the bell-tower brightens my mood, but some people dislike the hilly terrain. I'm fine with taking the stairs - especially the covered ones that go past the chalk inscription: Platform 9 3/4!

    Bang for the buck

    The college is very expensive. However, I know that I am getting the best education for me at a price comparable to other private schools. I was disappointed that the college did not provide merit aid like others that I was accepted to, but for students who meet the requirements of need-based financial aid I have heard the college is very generous.

    What to do for fun

    Go to Boston! Walk around the lake! Study! There are always things to do.

    Food and Dining

    In my honest opinion the food is wonderful. Still, I hear plenty of students complaining. All I can objectively say is that there are plenty of options - we have multiple dining halls that cater to different tastes. I personally have no trouble finding at least one thing that I would love to eat!

    Dorm Life

    Living away from home was my single biggest worry about college. I was disgusted by the idea of being forced to live with a stranger in a dreary, little room. However, I've learned that neither of those things are as terrible as they sound! Yes, the rooms are small. Dorm rooms are small everywhere. And honestly, I was expecting one about half the size I'm in. Here the dorms are technically called Residence Halls and they each have their own character. I like them because they are, for the most part, historic, beautiful buildings. The communal spaces are cozy and well maintained. Living in a building with women of all grade levels builds community and means that I can meet many different people.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard, and the grading is harder. However, I feel that I am learning more than I ever have. While I'm still adjusting to the mindset that I am competing against myself rather than my classmates - Wellesley's Honor Code prohibits discussing grades - I think that overall this will allow me to try my hardest and learn that life is not about grades. So far I have found professors very accessible and willing to help. Although the classes are difficult and there is a lot of studying, I know that I am learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit! The thought of staying overnight can be terrifying (at least if you are shy like me) but no matter where you are thinking of going, a visit can really make up your mind. For me, staying overnight with a current student helped me choose which school to attend. I knew I fit in at Wellesley.

    In three sentences

    I love Wellesley. If you want a small, women's liberal arts college, Wellesley can't be beat. Academics are the clear priority, but there are plenty of opportunities for fun, and the whole atmosphere is supportive.

  • 01/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is really safe, partly because of the location: not much happens in the town of Wellesley. I think I've heard sirens go off once in the past semester, and that was during Hurricane Sandy. Obviously bad things can happen, but overall Wellesley is a pretty safe place to be.

    Greek Life

    Technically Wellesley has no sororities. That said, there exist three or four societies which are really sororities in all but name. They have initiations and secret traditions, they have their own houses, they hold their own parties... if you want to be part of Greek life, you can. On the other hand, you could consider Wellesley itself to be one giant (and expensive) sorority--and sometimes it does feel like that in all the best ways.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a huge amount of orgs on campus for pretty much every group imaginable. In fact, more often than not the clubs fair is a stressful time because there's so much to choose from! Most people choose one or two orgs and then commit to them fervently. As in everything else, each org is very passionate about what it does--there aren't many casual members or people who only sometimes help out.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like a challenge and don't mind studying long hours, come to Wellesley. If you are passionate about an issue and want to go a school with likeminded souls, come to Wellesley. If you like to have a good time and go to parties, but also get good grades and more cerebral challenges, come to Wellesley.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Obviously Wellelsey has some pretty awesome traditions, some of which I'm not allowed to share. One that's not a secret is tunnelling: in addition to the tunnels connecting various dorm complexes, there's said to be other tunnels connecting different buildings across campus. Of course, students aren't supposed to go in those, but since when has that ever stopped anyone?

    Bang for the buck

    If you're paying full-price, Wellesley's a tad on the expensive side, although the many resources available just might make it worthwhile. However, the college is pretty generous with financial aid: 60% of the student body receives some sort of aid, and for those who want work, there are many positions all around campus available.

    What to do for fun

    Well, often people are studying... But fun's to be there if you want it. Student government and various organizations hold several parties a semester on campus; if you want to do something on a Saturday night, the best bet is to go off-campus to one of the local colleges. But you will have to pay for transportation. That said, there are a huge number of orgs on campus for you to join as well as several Societies which technically are not sororities but really are. There's usually something happening on campus, whether a performance or a party or maybe just the weekly movies hosted by the cinema club, but campus is pretty quiet past 11.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is excellent. There are four dining halls on campus, each within a dorm so you don't have to walk far (or even go outdoors) to get food; there's also two school-run cafes, a fancy dining hall in the campus center, and two student-run eateries. The dining halls in the dorms close at 7, but the one in the campus center is open until 10, and the student-run Cafe Hoop is open until 1 in the morning. The only downside is the lack of fast food. The town of Wellesley is pretty upperclass, so many of the shops close early, and there's only one place (Lemon Thai) that delivers. However, if you've money to spend, there are several nice restaurants that have really good food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are awesome: many of the buildings are in the Gothic architectural style, so they're really pretty. That doesn't mean the facilities are old--the bathrooms are pretty nice, and although some of the rooms are a bit small, you're never cramped. The dorms are split into different Houses (kind of like Harry Potter except without all the fighting), each with its own fight songs and traditions. You can be involved if you want, but there's no pressure to conform. Each floor has its own kitchen or kitchenette (depending on how big) complete with stovetop, refrigerator, and microwave. The bathrooms have individual cubbies for your toiletries, and the rooms have closets.

    Academic Rigor

    Wellesley is hard. A lot of rumors go around about grade deflation, but the truth is that the classes aren't killer, they just demand that you actually put in a huge effort--the kind of effort that teachers talked about in high school but wasn't actually necessary to get good grades. Here a B is something to be proud of, but people still get As.

    Tips for prospective students

    Wellesley students are smart, yeah, but most didn't get perfect scores on their SATs or have perfect 4.0 GPAs. What Wellesley cares about is that you have the passion to go after what you want and have a love of learning. A lot of people ask about the all-girls component, to which I answer: it's not an all-girls school without men, it's an all-women college without boys (it's on a T-shirt). You get used to it very quickly. I can't exactly describe the vibe, but it really is different when there's a male in the room. Once in a while there are guys in the classes (since we can cross-register with Babson and MIT and they can come join us), but not often. I guess two main results I've seen from being surrounded by women is a feeling of siblinghood with my fellow students and a greater appreciation of what women are capable of--having female role-models doing things I'd only dreamed of has boosted my own self-confidence and gotten me to dream bigger.

    In three sentences

    Wellesley is, in a word, intense. The students are passionate and frequently rally around their favored causes, and they bring the same fervor to their studies along with their many extracurriculars. Between the high quality education, the student body's drive and passion, and the huge alumnae network, a Wellesley graduate has a big chance at success in life.

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. I feel completely secure walking around at night.

    Greek Life

    We have societies, which are like sororities, but I don't know much about them.

    Clubs and Activities

    It takes some searching to find a good club or activity, but there's always something to do. There's not very much activism or sports culture on campus though.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who care a lot about school, like to be involved in a zillion different things, and always push themselves to work harder and be better.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a few student-run campus cafes that are really nice, and I've heard the Botanic Gardens are pretty, but the best kept secret is the Greenhouse. It has fountains and benches, and it's a great place to get away from things and relax.

    Bang for the buck

    Wellesley is a great investment. You'll never be disappointed with the academics, but you'll probably be disappointed with the social life. But I think it's worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the Boston Commons. There's a really nice park, ice skating in the Winter, and nice movie theaters around there. There's a great comedy studio in Cambridge. And there's a thrift store near Kendall Square called Garment District which is really good.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good. There are lots of options for vegetarians and people with food allergies. But there's only one meal plan and it's a little on the pricey side.

    Dorm Life

    I live in Munger, and the community is great. The rooms are really nice. Most of them have hardwood floors and really comfy, beautiful living rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Students at Wellesley set the bar high. It's a really motivating environment, and people are generally really supportive of one another. What you learn eventually is that you have ultimate control over the quality of your work, but you have to work hard, get things done early, and take advantage of resources like Professors' office hours and student tutors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit a few classes, and stay the night if you can. It's a great way to get to know the campus. It's also a good idea to apply early or do Early Evaluation, interview, and email your admission rep to show that you're really serious about coming here.

    In three sentences

    Wellesley College has excellent professors, engaging classes, and a great network of successful almnae. You'll never been disappointed by the academics, but it's a lot of hard work. And there are tons of things to do in Boston.

  • 03/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to list. Anything from Shakespeare to swimming. Rowing, Skiing.

    Great for these types of students

    Studious. Serious about their education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hoop rolling. Step-singing. Flower Sunday.

    What to do for fun

    Sledding on the big in hill when it snows! Go to the theater, check out the campus museum. Constant speakers. Dances. Opportunities to volunteer outside campus (in the community). Trips.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent. Lot's of reading. Be prepared to have a lot of homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school and sit in on a few classes. Fill out all paperwork as soon as possible.

    In three sentences

    This college setting is not only beautiful, but is a real community based school. Support for students is available whenever needed. It's safe and secure.

  • 03/29/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Wonderful food, one visit and I ate enough for a small family!

    Dorm Life

    All girls schools generally are going to be cleaner-less shower time though!

    Academic Rigor

    One of the best schools in the nation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus on ECs and write a good supplemental essay. Make sure to show who you are in every aspect. Get an interview in September of your senior year!

    In three sentences

    The environment at Wellesley is both physically and academically stimulating. You'll feel inspired to learn her and actively try to fit in with the environment. It's away from the city so you'll focus on your studies!

  • 05/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safest place in the US!

    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    What to do for fun

    Parties

    Academic Rigor

    It is very rigorous here.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is hard to get a high GPA here so students are somewhat competitive. But don't care too much about grades. Just be explorative and work hard. You will finally discover yourself here.

    In three sentences

    The academics is amazing. The professors are so charming and caring that you do receive a great liberal arts education. The community is small and friendly.

  • 07/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police is amazing, they are really friendly and concerned only for student's safety. Students can (but probably shouldn't) walk around at 2am and feel completely safe.

    Greek Life

    We technically do not have greek life, but we do have societies in which each society has something they represent (lecture, literature...) and they become a close group that holds events which concern their topic.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have around 170 clubs on campus, everything from acting, writing, radio, singing, government, dancing to anime.

    Great for these types of students

    Wellesley is great for students who are comfortable in an environment without boys. It is also a great place for people who want to be challenged, who want to meet different people from all over the world and for people who are ready to do amazing things.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Wellesley is nothing but traditions. There are a ton of traditions just in the first week of your first year. Then there is flower Sunday, step-singing, marathon monday (scream tunnel), and many more. We also have weekly teas, where we get free cookies and tea.

    Bang for the buck

    They give you amazing financial aid, great internships, good networks for after you graduate. Definitely worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    A lot of people go to Boston for fun, where you can either party in nearby colleges like Harvard, MIT, Boston College...or just go shopping/sightseeing...There are a lot of parties on campus, a lot of lectures or events also on campus every weekend. There is a shuttle every saturday that takes you to AMC and the nearby mall as well.

    Food and Dining

    We have five dining halls, two of which are open until 10pm and you can go at anytime to get food. You don't have a registered number of points, you simply have buffets ready for you. That being said, some people really do not like the food.

    Dorm Life

    Certain dorms tend to be more lively than others, but at the same time some dorms are quieter than others (better for studying), it really depends what kind of person you are. But whatever kind of person you are, you can find a place for you.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the class and the teacher, the difficulty of a class can range from 3 stars to 5.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be aware that Wellesley is 12 miles away from the nearest city (Boston), and while the campus is very beautiful, it takes 30-45 minutes to get there. Classes require a big time commitment if a good grade is desired, use your time wisely.

    In three sentences

    Wellesley College has amazing professors, who are passionate and knowledgable about their subjects. The classes can be quite difficult and the workload a lot, but Wellesley offers many resources to help you succeed and decrease your stress levels. The environment is very friendly and constantly filled with creative discussions.

  • 09/22/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    22 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safe. Suburban and affluent area.

    Greek Life

    none, there are societies but they're exclusive a$$es

    Great for these types of students

    Hard workers. People who love learning and have passion.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lake Day. Flower Sunday. Little Siblings.

    What to do for fun

    Go into Boston. Walk around the lake.

    Tips for prospective students

    You need to put in effort to make friends and find your own happiness.

    In three sentences

    Love of my life. Best decision of my life. Has made me a better person.

  • 09/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can walk around anywhere anytime with no worries what so ever. GREAT campus police team.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many too fun organizations to join! Everyone is really friendly and welcoming as well! Also, the school funds the organizations very well!

    Great for these types of students

    Driven, independent, extroverted, courageous, strong, out-speaking

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Secret Rooms! Too many Traditions (50 things to do before you Graduate List)

    What to do for fun

    Boston is nearby, nice little ville to go down the road, hanging out with your friends in your cozy dorm rooms, endless organizations to join, and parties both off and on campus!

    Food and Dining

    Honestly, the food here is great! We have healthy options, and the dining halls try to mix up the menu as much as possible. Not to mention no meal counts, we have ice cream endowment, allowing us to have ice cream anytime anywhere!

    Dorm Life

    People are friendly and nice. We have cozy dorms, and there are always tons of things to do in Wellesley.

    Academic Rigor

    Everyone here is always, always, thriving to be better, stronger, and more successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are passionate and independent about your beliefs you are all set! Make sure to appeal what you are interested in and believe in.

    In three sentences

    The students here are driven, passionate, and talented. The professors love to teach and give us close attention. Have I mentioned the most beautiful and safest campus you can ever have?

  • 01/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Wellesley College is located in a safe, affluent neighborhood in Wellesley, MA. There is an excellent campus police force that is considered part of the community.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a large amount of organizations at Wellesley and all have their unique quirks. Clubs are excellent ways to test your boundaries or try something new, like rugby or Irish music performance. Clubs and activities are great ways to socialize with other schools, too. Many organizations travel into Boston and elsewhere and have mixers with corresponding organizations at other schools.

    Great for these types of students

    Young women who are well-read, self-motivated, independence, and crave academic challenges. Get ready to admit that you in fact do NOT know everything, but that is the beauty of education, isn't it?

    Bang for the buck

    Be sure to take a wide variety of classes and take advantage of the many departments. Every major at Wellesley thinks her department is the best department. Also, take advantage of Wellesley's many partnerships with other schools by taking classes at Olin (engineering), Babson (business/entrepreneurship), or MIT. What a deal!

    What to do for fun

    There are always cool lectures, talks, and events on campus. Thursday night is Pub Night, when students gather at the on-campus pub for a dance party and a beer. Otherwise, parties at Wellesley can be hit-or-miss, with a couple dependable staples throughout the year. A lot of Wellesley women frequent the MIT and Harvard social scenes, which can be a lot of fun. Olin and Babson down the street have their share of parties as well.

    Food and Dining

    Everyone who lives on campus is obligated to be on the unlimited meal plan, which makes for a great community atmosphere because the dining halls become universal gathering spaces. The food is pretty good and there are a lot of options, especially for vegetarians. Wellesley could do a bit better in the gluten-free department. There are no classes from 12:30-1:30 pm, so virtually everyone has a lunch hour together.

    Dorm Life

    Wellesley has adorable historic dorm buildings. Just about everybody lives on campus, and all four years are represented in each dorm. Some rooms are pretty small, but it's a fair trade-off for having a beautiful historic building. And given the women's college thing, these dorms are well-kept, hospitable, beautifully decorated, classy, and just quiet enough. Wellesley has some great staff who help to maintain the dorms and serve as resources. Students have a lot of freedom with hosting gatherings, having guests over, etc. because of the Honor Code which governs student behavior on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    No basket-weaving classes here. Professors are reluctant to give out top grades unless students truly deserve them. This keeps students on their toes to do their best, and it maintains the Wellesley name as an academically respectable one. Although the schoolwork definitely piles up, Wellesley has a lot of academic and tutoring resources for students. Students are competitive with themselves, but not cutthroat with each other. And despite their challenging coursework, Wellesley women feel free to take risks like learning new languages or performing scientific research for credit.

    Tips for prospective students

    Wellesley likes to see some fire, some passion for learning. That is what will keep you afloat at this rigorous college. Take risks and challenge yourself. Engage with your teachers, coaches, and other adults to push yourself and think outside the box. Take classes and do extracurricular activities because you love them and you want to succeed at them-not because you feel like you are supposed to for a resume boost. Colleges like Wellesley appreciate authenticity.

    In three sentences

    Wellesley is a motivated, driven woman's place to take risks, challenge herself, and learn unique tools for success. The professors are dynamite, the resources are incredible, and the campus is New England paradise. Then on the weekend, feel free to blow off some steam with friends in Boston and Cambridge!

  • 02/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    We have five dining halls and a great variety of desserts every meal!

    Academic Rigor

    Like I've said, academic life here is rigorous. However, we have amazing professors here who would be more than willing to set up an appointment with you and help you if you're struggling. We also have a student-to-faculty ratio of 8:1.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to work hard! Wellesley's academic life is rigorous, but professors here are also very caring and thoughtful. They care about student's learning experiences and they are more than willing to help students that are struggling.

  • 02/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One of the safest campuses out there.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    Academically driven and ambitious, open-minded, passionate.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Skinny dipping in Lake Waban during orientation, sledding on severance hill, going tunneling in some of the secret underground tunnels, and more!

    What to do for fun

    Take a walk around the beautiful lake on campus, go for a trip into Boston, or relax in the Starbucks or Peets coffee in the town of Wellesley.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors (we have some of the best in the world) because they'd love to get to know you! Take advantage of all the resources and opportunities that the college has to offer. Make connections with students and alumni of all ages, disciplines, and walks of life.

    In three sentences

    Wellesley is a diverse, open-minded, academically rigorous women's college where some of the smartest and driven women all over the world attend. The students here all have incredible future aspirations that often involve changing the world for the better. The financial generosity of the school, supportive environment, and excellence of the professors are some of its best qualities.