Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Wells College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/12/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 10 people found this review useful. 4 people found this inaccurate. 1 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who play a lot of online games, or who do not need to get out much will like it here. Girls who have no interest in being treated nicely will also love it here. Boys seeking girls with love self-esteem. If you like to drink and do nothing else, you should fit in fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have a car on campus. Try to get a single room. Make sure to bring a desk lamp, and plenty of lighting because the rooms are usually darker. Also stock up on a lot of food, because the dining hall is gross.

    Bang for the buck

    You have to load up on scholarships, and Wells is usually good about making the costs affordable. The actually $38,000 or whatever it is however, is not even close to worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I hate this school. It's the tiniest town I've ever been in, you have to have a car if you come here. It has a pretty nature landscape true, but that has to be all the school has going for it. The only thing to do on campus is drink and watch tv on hulu. The only reason I'm on this site in the first place is to scope out schools to transfer too

    Am learning a lot

    I like my Spanish class, the teacher has made is so much easier to catch on to than in high school. The English courses are intense, but they seem to be worth it.

  • 01/24/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Like a sense of community. A small school. Small class sizes. Traditions. Outgoing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not bring too many clothes. Make sure the major you want to pursue will workout here at Wells. Buy your books online, because the book school is a rip off. Bring a car if you have, but don't buy one if not, you will be able to get around. Prepare for the weather it gets cold around mid October. Take classes before hand at your community college, the credit will help lessen the work load.

    Bang for the buck

    Like all schools Wells has hit some financial difficulties. We had a good amount invest, so changes in price needed to be made. For new students tuition increased to be around 38,000. However Wells gives out grants to a majority of accepted students that are around 12,000 or more. You can also fill out a financial re-evaluation form to receive more aid. I did that this because of my parent’s job situation and I received more aid. Like any school you need to keep pursuing the financial aid office to get the money you really need to pay for college. Even though tuition has increased, Wells is still cheaper than a lot of other colleges/universities. The study abroad programs that Wells has allow you to transfer your aid to the college overseas. In some cases schools are cheap in European leaving you to just pay for food and airfare. Also Wells has a policy of not increasing a current student’s tuition when raising the prices for the following year. For example my tuition is still 27,000-28,000 vs. the 38,000. However it does increase a small percentage each year, but not by much.

    Am enjoying being here

    As far as the atmosphere, the campus is in a small town. However that does not mean there are few things to do. My school host many different events like dances, singing performances by local groups like Henry’s VII and Whirligigs, famous poet’s like Andrea Gibson, and premiers of plays like “I Am Hamlet” that go on tour in Canada. Wells continues to come up with things for students to do. In February a “Winter Freeze” event will be hosted giving away Wii gaming systems, cash, free laundry service, and many more prizes. Even though the school is in an isolated area, it does not limit your ability to find entertainment. Only if one chooses to isolate themselves will they find it boring. Like any school one has to get involved in order to full experience what the school has to offer. Also we have a shuttle service that goes down to Ithaca for $4 round trip everyday until late into the night.

    Am learning a lot

    Since I came to Wells it has been a great ride. My classes have not been easy by a long shot. I have taken courses in International Studies, Politics, Philosophy, English and Science. The professors for the most part all have doctorates and undergraduate degrees from Ivy League schools. However they are not above helping you when you need help, as long as you ask. Professors cannot read your mind, so in order to help a student they must first ask. My writing has been a problem since my freshman year, and since I've come to wells my major professors have really helped me improve upon my writing skills.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 3 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have many traditions which are odd/even it's a battle between the even year graduates and odd year graduates. for girls it's a sing off and a basketball game and for guys it's dodgeball game and a dance off. this is the main tradition.

    What to do for fun

    you can hangout with friends, go to the boat house, play sports

    In three sentences

    It's a small school but there are really amazing students and staff members there. There is no judgement at our school. People like you for who you are not what you want to become

  • 01/25/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    My laptop got stolen despite wells' stupid honor code. The school did nothing about it. That year five other people had their laptops stolen, and still they wouldn't do anything.

    Clubs and Activities

    odd/even traditions

    Great for these types of students

    People who haven't maintained high grades and are looking for a typical small school liberal arts education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school has many traditions, it's a lot of fun. http://minerva.wells.edu/slife/sttrads.htm

    Bang for the buck

    My scholarship and financial aid covered everything except four thousand. That was four years ago, tuition has since gone up. I only went to wells because it was cheap for me. I wouldn't recommend this school to anyone in general but especially at it is price now.

    What to do for fun

    There's not much to do. There's a few clubs and its very easy to get on a a sports team. The school also has different dances and what not occasionally. And you can go to ithaca for four dollars.

    Food and Dining

    A lot of people hate the food, but I didn't find it that bad.

    Dorm Life

    Some of the dorms room are especially awesome, like in Main. Overall the rooms are spacious and nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are slightly difficult, but not unmanageable. The professors are very good and extremely helpful, too bad wells keeps cutting their pay. In your freshman year they make you take this stupid seminar class, where you have to go to different activities like bake sales and what not. You have to go to like 15 or so of these. I didn't realize i was one short, I had forgotten to sign in one time. They didn't care, they failed me for it. Where was the honor code then? They refused to take my word for it. And unlike half the students who had others sign in for them without them being there, i actually went to all of them. I don't mean to rant, but this is how they deal with things there, they either ignore you or say there's nothing they can do about it. I only went there for a year, idk how many times i was told there was nothing they could do about it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't waste your money, get a real degree. And there are much better schools than this (i.e. 74% acceptance rate).

    In three sentences

    When I went here the tuition was 15000, I most deff would not pay what it is now. Most majors won't get you anywhere unless your seeking a masters. And the admin people are bs they basically won't help you if you any problems.

  • 02/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is very trustworthy, at any hour of the day or night i feel very safe walking or driving up and down the campus

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    wells college is known for its great traditions but one of my all time favorites is odd line/even line brother hood and sister hood tradition. this tradition consist of students who will graduate during odd or even years who compete against each other to win, its a wonderful way for students to get to know each other and embody brother hood and sister hood fellowship.

    What to do for fun

    i love to go shopping online but for fun with friends we go out campus to other colleges and go to their campus parties and/or we go clubbing. on chilled days we go out to eat and/or just relax in one another dorms room having fun and sharing good times.

    Food and Dining

    truth be told the food is not that good but it also is not that bad, coming from a caribbean household the food i eat at home is very different than what i eat in the dinning hall. the good thing about my school's dinning is each semester they give you dinning dollars that goes straight to your dinning card and you can spend it off campus at selected places to buy food if for a certain reason that day the dinning hall food is just disgusting.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm rooms here are very big and i personal love them. each housing is very different giving other students and myself a choice at which dorm lifestyle will best fit our personality. also, each dorm floor as a community comes up with command ground rules that each student must agree on and also respect during the school year they are living there. during the week after 9pm, all dorm houses have something called quiet hours to give those students who may be studying and/or sleeping peace. this rule helps all students stay focus and get there work done!

    Academic Rigor

    the professors here are wonderful and very respectful of your needs and wants as a student trying to make something of your life. they teacher according to your needs but never undermining what you have to know.

    Tips for prospective students

    wells college is the ideal place for any student who wants hand on hand training in their prospective career. also the small class sizes helps both you the student and your professor get to know each other and better assist your needs.

    In three sentences

    wells college is rated a 9, just like any other college it has its faults but overall this is a wonderful environment. the scenery is beautiful and its a nice peaceful place fit to get work done and have fun! i truly love my school its very accommodating.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    We make our own fun here at Wells! Jump in Cayuga Lake, or go ghost hunting!

    Academic Rigor

    Wells uses class discussions and it helps classes understand the material better.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be involved in everything you can!

    In three sentences

    Wells is a fun college with unique traditions! I loved playing sports here. The small community is amazing.

  • 06/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have not heard of any problems.

    Greek Life

    Not in it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to name. There is something for everyone and, if not, you can start one. I personally look forward to the Film production club!

    Great for these types of students

    Those who wish to learn, be productive, and to explore the world.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a tea time!

    Bang for the buck

    Wells College is a private college and, therefore, pretty expensive.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs, fascinating people to meet, beautiful grounds to relax on, and a gorgeous lake to swim or boat upon: you cannot be board.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent! I must be wary of the freshman fifteen.

    Dorm Life

    It appears well, I have only seen my room once, so far.

    Academic Rigor

    Set yourself to studying, focus, concentrate, and everything will be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard, don't slack off, and attend classes.

    In three sentences

    The campus is unbelievably beautiful. The people there are fascinating. There classes are unique and interesting.

  • 01/18/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    3.5 incidents a year on average. Pretty good.

    Clubs and Activities

    You have to try to be bored

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone and everyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Even-Odd Tea Time

    Bang for the buck

    Its private, so what did you expect?

    What to do for fun

    Clubs Ithaca bus rides every saturday Lake Cayuga is RIGHT THERE

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    HUGE dorms (compared to most)

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers will help you if you ask for it so its impossible to fail.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start looking for scholarships.

    In three sentences

    Wells is a awe-inspiring campus with transfer posibilities to big name schools such as Cornell with scholarships.

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are funny, always will give you a good laugh if you need one. Helped me back into my locked room a few times as well!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are as many groups and activities here as you can imagine. Drama, Theatre, Sports, Even/Odd, Moving Up Day, Dances, Carnivals, Plays..the list goes on and on. Its a very enjoyable experience.

    Great for these types of students

    All students. Its so diverse here that every student that comes here, no matter background or origin, will enjoy it and find their own personal stitch in the beautiful Wells College fabric.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Even/Odd is a tradition in which women and men split into teams and participate in two events for bragging rights for that semester. The first semester are the women (freshmen and juniors) vs (Sophmores and Seniors) and they participate in a sing-off and basketball game. The men compete in the spring and go head to head at dodgeball and have a dance-off. I am a participant myself and i thoroughly enjoyed it!

    Bang for the buck

    Absoloutely! Though expensive, you can not put a price on memories and in only my first year i have already gathered a plethora of moments that i will never forget.

    What to do for fun

    Go to games! Go swimming in the lake! See a play! Ride your bike! Go watch a game on the projector at the grille!

    Food and Dining

    The food could be better, in all honesty, but they have a backstage grille which serves late and gives students a cool environment to chill, converse and listen to music.

    Dorm Life

    Everyday is different! Everyone is open-minded and willing to meet new friends. I love living in main building and have made so many new friends in the process.

    Academic Rigor

    Its a very good school, so the work will be difficult, but the beauty is that every professor here wants a one on one relationship with you. Every professor wants to see you succeed in your aspirations. Come to class, show effort and participate and you are bound to thrive here!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and enjoy everyday, embrace every situation and most of all enjoy the people you meet. I am very thankful to be here and so will you! I enjoy waking up every morning and taking on the day because so many people here are different and keep you on your toes. Its a great place to surround yourself with.

    In three sentences

    Wells College supports Individuality. Wells College provides a close-knit, family atmosphere. Wells College is exactly where i belong.

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe on campus. The security here are the nicest people and will help with anything. I locked myself out of my room multiple times, I called them and they came right away. I lost my ID, they made me another. There are never any safety issues here, everyone has respect for each other and many people walk across campus alone at night. We have nothing to be afraid of here.

    Clubs and Activities

    Rugby, paintball, several cooking clubs, political clubs, there are way too many to list.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who want a very well rounded education, anyone who isn't out to party all the time and skip classes. Most classes attendance is mandatory.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have Even Odd (or Odd Even). The women have a sing off and basketball game in the fall and the guys have a dodge ball game and dance off in the spring. Evens are the people who will graduate in an even year (like 2016,2014, etc)and their colors are blue and green. Odds are the odd graduating years, their colors are purple and yellow. It is just an awesome tradition. There are soooo many traditions. You really don't know what to expect until you experience them firsthand.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a little much, but I believe it is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are dances at least twice a month during the fall semester, and once during the spring semester. We have a very nice gym, with a pool, and great work out equipment. If you play sports, then join a varsity sport. You don't have to be recruited. Join a club. There are so many options of clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    I mean, anywhere you go for college, it won't be a home cooked meal. I really can't complain though, because we have a sandwich station and another station where it is a different theme each night. Wednesdays is mashed potato night, Friday is crepe night, and Monday is taco night. It is as close to a home cooked meal that you can get away from home.

    Dorm Life

    My building is awesome. We have suites so it isn't an entire floor using one bathroom. There are lounges on each floor and one main lounge with vending machines, a tv, and a pool table. It is also coed, and my floor next year is gender neutral.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are tough here, but we receive the education we pay for.

    Tips for prospective students

    The other students here were so helpful. If I needed anything, I asked my RA. There are places to go to have papers edited, to get help with writing, and there is always something going on.

    In three sentences

    It is a gorgeous college with so many opportunities. The professors are willing to work with any student who will put forth the effort. There is also something going on all the time so you'll never be bored.

  • 06/05/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have on campus police and emts. You can call at anytime for anything. Response time is about 2 minutes or less.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs one can chose from and they are diverse. It is even possible to make your own club!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to learn and also have fun. Great for students who want to make an impact and have people to support them in any way possible.

    What to do for fun

    There's a lake out front that you can canoe, kayak, and swim in. They have a place where you can play pool, eat, dance and watch a movie or a game on a big screen. Wells has a lot of traditions and activities throughout the year. One can also visit the town with the campus bus.

    Food and Dining

    The food was great and diverse.

    Academic Rigor

    They do have intensive classes but because the classes are small they are also comfortable. The teachers are able to have conversations with their students one on one. Also this gives one incentive to work harder because the class is small so everyone will know if you have not done the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Relax. Everyone there is there to learn but also have fun. You can find a place to call your own and still make friends. Time manage. Start visiting early so that you can make the best of the campus and get your foot in the door.

    In three sentences

    Wells is a small school based on principles that will push you to excel as a person and as a student. The campus has a lake in front of it and the buildings in which there are classes are close to the dorms so it's easy to travel around campus. Wells administrators make it easy for everyone to accommodate themselves and really learn how make the transition from a high school student to a college student.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 12 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety...well since there really isn't that much going on the campus and its not located in that much of a dangerous place the campus safety such as the security there do not really do their job because there is not much to be worried about there...

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many little side clubs, and we have a few sports.

    Great for these types of students

    basically if you felt like an outcast in high school Wells is full of them and they all seem to fit in very well with the school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have many unusual traditions on campus. first we have the odd even tradition where if you graduate on an odd or even year you basically are segregated into whichever year you are graduating in. the colors for the oddliners are gold and purple and the colors for the evenliners are blue and green, basically they do dance offs and sing offs and there are student or faculty judges who decides who wins...I really don't like the tradition, people take it a little too seriously. All of the traditions we have are all based off of alcohol...which I dont like...and I feel like it gives the wrong message to the students. there are also chants and songs to drinking as well, but if you like that sort of tradition then this school is for you.

    Bang for the buck

    basically...the bang is not worth the bucks...

    What to do for fun

    If you are not playing a sport, it gets a lot harder to find something fun to do at Wells College. Since the nearest walmart is 30-40 minutes away...If you have a car you are in better hands

    Food and Dining

    the dinning hall food basically has its ups and downs...one day the food is decent, other days its really bad...

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very old , and the rooms are small, but roomy.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic wise, the classes are actually very easy as long as you do the readings.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you want to go to a small school where everyone will know you just by seeing you and hearing who you are. If this school does not sound like the school for you, I suggest you do not go.

    In three sentences

    Wells College, is a very small college with not enough to do outside of school unfortunately due to the distance away from actual civilization. The people are very clicky and do not really give you a chance to be accepted.

  • 02/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They don't do anything, but sit at a desk.

    Greek Life

    There is none.

    Great for these types of students

    Arts

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Tons of traditions for absolutely no reason that single out each class, especially freshmen.

    What to do for fun

    Dancing with my friends in the dance studio or in our rooms is always fun, plus the occasional activities Student Activities has set up every weekend could be fun if you make it.

    Food and Dining

    It gave me food poisoning.

    Dorm Life

    It depends on where you live.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you visit and check out where you'll be living. Be sure to set everything up before you get there.

    In three sentences

    Wells is small and based on community. If you love being apart of a small community in a tiny town, it's perfect for you. If you love nature, it's also perfect for you.

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I actually work as a dispatcher for campus safety. They are available 24 hours a day and has around the clock officers on duty. They can ne reached from private or campus phones and also have a text message alert system in place for emergencies.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The schools is known for traditions like odd/even where students who graduate in either even or odd years face off in a weekend of pure crazy fun and games in competition.

    What to do for fun

    There are parties hosted by the school just about every moth. The school hosts clubs and organizations for nearly every interest and if they don't you can make one. Also, each club and organization has the option to host their own party.

    Food and Dining

    There is breakfast lunch and dinner during the week and brunch and dinner on weekends, all covered under the meal plan. The grille is open for all fried food needs including theme nights like philly cheese Saturdays, French Fry-days, and Sundaes where certain things on the menu are lower priced.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are all within seven minutes of any class. In a majority of the dorms you are likely to get close to your suite or floor mates. There is always some type of bonding activity to bring everyone closer together.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are extremely well taught and the course work varies in rigor based on major category. However, if you go to class and pay attention it is just a matter of holding on to the information you already have.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try everything they offer! The campus is only as fun as you make it. So if you have the chance to participate in an activity do it.

    In three sentences

    It is a very intimate and welcoming setting. The campus is gorgeous as it sits on Cayuga Lake. Joining the community happens as fast as the first week.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 15 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus, but honor code is stupid and lulls many into not using common sense like locking doors or keeping valuables out of sight.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who can afford the obscene price and who like to be constantly told they're special, though they're not.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Traditions are like Greek life at other places. There is lots of hazing especially for freshmen, but you don't have to participate if you don't want to.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is way overpriced and not worth it since the Internet is broken or slow , the buildings are neglected, courses are unavailable, the dining hall is nasty, and there are too few staff.

    What to do for fun

    Go to another town like Ithaca or Syracuse.

    Food and Dining

    Just yuck.

    Dorm Life

    Buildings look nice from a distance but are run down and not cleaned. High speed Internet is a joke, it never works.

    Academic Rigor

    You can tell the teachers want to work at a higher level, but the students aren't smart enough. Everyone gets As to keep them from transferring. Most students are lazy and even proud of not doing readings or homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school will take anyone who can afford the tuition. But this means lots of students with Junior High abilities, emotional disorders, and who are immature. Don't even think about coming here without a car.

    In three sentences

    Neglected, failing school for poor students. Really expensive. Fellow students are self-entitled idiots.

  • 01/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety numbers are available to anyone. There is a honor code policy that allows students to feel safe. One can leave their laptop in the library and go to lunch and come back and its there. There is no lying, cheating, stealing, or concealing allowed.

    Clubs and Activities

    Athletics are big and there are many clubs! It's very easy to create your own club

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes, science, education, drama, women and genders study

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Traditions are huge at wells. There is a tradition at least once every month.

    Bang for the buck

    The price is too high for quality. It's a $20,000 school, not $50,000

    What to do for fun

    Go to athletic events, play in the snow when it is winter, swim in the lake, hang out on the front lawn, dances are held by the school, events are held at least every weekend by the school.

    Food and Dining

    There needs to be more options. Some days the food is superb.

    Dorm Life

    Most dorms have coed floors except for Leach, the freshman dorm. The only dorm that is single gender is only for girls with junior or senior standing. You are treated as an adult and their are no time restrictions on visitation.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is very difficult. Some majors and programs are more difficult than others. Work outside of class is necessary to get above a C in the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school! The site you will see will bring you in even more! Joining athletics and clubs will help you advance socially.

    In three sentences

    Wells College is a small liberal college that has a close knit community of students. Professors are very approachable. The school is the prettiest college I have seen because it is set in New York and on a lake, it reminds me of hogwarts.