Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Wenatchee Valley College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/13/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for student athletes and students of any kind. There are students from many different backgrounds here and all of them seem to be doing fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definitely suggest signing up for classes as soon as you can. The class sizes are kept small so sometimes they fill up very fast. Everyone on campus is very nice and friendly and you can ask anyone for help.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe that a community college is definitely the way to go for your first two years. You pay considerably less than at a four year college while still getting a great education. I think coming here eased me into college with smaller class sizes and saved me a lot of money compared to a bigger college.

    Am enjoying being here

    The college is very fun. I play basketball here and it is a blast. Wenatchee is a nice town, not to big but not to small. The school puts on some great events, including dances and open mics. The sporting events are pretty fun to watch and most of the sports teams are very good.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers here a great for the most part. I like most of the teachers and the class sizes stay relatively small. I have only had one teacher that I did not care for, but I still passed the class. Every teacher I have had has been very open to helping every student with anything they need. Most teachers have an open door during their office hours and you can go get help with anything you need.

  • 02/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Almost anyone would do well here. (The exception being if you are expecting a rigorous education-which WVC can't provide.)

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't take other student's advice on teachers too seriously--some just don't want to learn in the first place and then blame the teacher. Enjoy it here! Take hard classes and learn to ask hard questions.

    Bang for the buck

    WVC is cheap!

    Am enjoying being here

    Most people here are friendly and approachable. I love the size of the school and wouldn't change that at all. There are some cliques, but as long as you stay smart and make friends with people who are here to learn, you will enjoy WVC. The professors are almost always ready to help you and most of them want you to succeed and will work hard to do their part in that process.

    Am learning a lot

    For a community college, WVC is fine, but nothing too special in academics. There are some really good teachers here who will make you enthusiastic about their subject matter. There are also some truly bad teachers, but you'll learn quickly who to take and who not to take-students are vocal about how they feel about their teachers.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who think inside the box.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and make the most out of our small town opportunity.

    Did enjoy being here

    It gets the job done.

    Did learn a lot

    You get what you put into it.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many activities and clubs. Find one that interests you and just go! The Praise Center has a college aged ministry there on the third Thursday of every month!

    Food and Dining

    They do have a great cafeteria and pretty reasonably priced!

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions. Be tuned in to what is being taught, even if it isn't your favorite subject you ARE going to learn something. Don't be afraid to approach your instructor if you are struggling, they are always positive and encouraging.

    In three sentences

    In my first seven months of college I have found that everyone is helpful. I feel I am being urged to excel in my education and it feels good. I love the positive attitude from the teachers and staff, no question goes unanswered.

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are numerous security guards constantly paroling the campus. There has never once been an issue while I have attended the school.

    Greek Life

    Very little at all.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a student council and a few other christian organizations. However, there are a very limited amount of clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Students interested in nursing, general business, and criminal justice. Also, WVC is good for anyone who wants to save money while taking some basic classes for transfer to a university.

    Bang for the buck

    Going to community college saves students thousands of dollars and gives them their basic GURs. In addition, being a student at WVC allows students free transportation on Link Transit buses which I make heavy use of.

    What to do for fun

    Bowling, movie theater, basketball courts, soccer fields, river, Lake Chelan, and climbing Saddle Rock.

    Food and Dining

    Typical food restaurants located throughout the city of Wenatchee. The town is relatively small so do not expect to be dining at 5 star cuisines.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very well kept and maintained. I did not make use of them but I heard relatively good reviews.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes really are not difficult at all if you pay attention in class and study your notes/text.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your priorities straight. It is easy to want to go out and hit the party scene; however, it is far more beneficial to do so in moderation with school work. Also, it always helps to actually show up to class and listen to the professor's lectures.

    In three sentences

    Outstanding community college with fantastic professors. The courses offered are limited which is to be expected in a city the size of Wenatchee. However, the professors are approachable, caring, and insightful.

  • 04/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I believe that students here do get their bang for their buck. This school has instructors who take time to help students during their office hours. Great size classrooms so nobody goes unattended.

    What to do for fun

    Come to sports events or join sports. Theres always dances so participating in that is also fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in with a positive attitude and try your best. The instructors give you all the tools to succeed if you put the effort you can get by easily.

    In three sentences

    Great educators at the college. Friendly environment, great to meet new people. A good start to your college career.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play Ping Pong.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good amount of security

    Greek Life

    ??????

    Clubs and Activities

    A great variety.

    Great for these types of students

    people who want to learn.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not that I know of

    Bang for the buck

    Very worth it.

    What to do for fun

    A lto o clubs and activities.

    Food and Dining

    They have a pretty good selection from what iv'e learned.

    Dorm Life

    I wouldn't know.

    Academic Rigor

    Not too bad so far. the hardest part is figuring out what to do next.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your advisors before you register for any classes. They are the experts and they are there to help you.

    In three sentences

    So far I have to say It's a great school. The teachers are very friendly, and are experts in thier chosen field. It's a great place to start towards your future goals.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On such a small campus everybody knows everybody. The only drawback is the parking lot is poorly lit at night. They do ,however, have a security guard.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a very nice science club. Also a publishing club.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to enter the science or medical field. There is an excellent nursing program.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is cheap compared to larger colleges.

    What to do for fun

    Walking in the nature garden.

    Food and Dining

    The campus itself does not have a cafeteria. There are several ethnic restaurants in town. The campus does have a lunch lounge. On special occasions and before exams, the student body government sponsors free lunches for the students.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dormitories at the Omak campus of Wenatchee Valley College.

    Academic Rigor

    The science classes are quite challenging. There are some excellent teachers. Hard work will pay off and be rewarded with an excellent grade. They hold the students to a high standard of excellence.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk the the instructor before you begin the class if possible. If you're having trouble with a class go to your instructor and ask for help. Most of the instructors are only too happy to assist. Attend the pre or post class study sessions. That helps a great deal. Make sure to read the assigned reading and do online research if you have further questions. Keep in contact with your teachers by email. And make sure you keep track of what assignments are due when, and turn them in on time.

    In three sentences

    The Omak campus of Wenatchee Valley College is very small. They have reasonably small classes. The curriculum is somewhat limited, but it is nice to have any college at all here in Omak.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    We have a mall, bowling, sledding, mission ridge, parks, and indoor activities as well.

    Food and Dining

    I love the cafeteria; it's nice and open. The food tastes great too, although some stuff seems a little over priced.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are small but so is the town. I have also heard they're a little expensive, but its acceptable since you're right next to the college and could be there in a hurry. They're also located pretty close to everything you need.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are a little hard depending on what the class is and who your teacher is. some teachers have different teaching styles.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would keep up on my FAFSA and completing it every year. I do mine once the new year starts so I won't have to scramble to get it done later in the year.

    In three sentences

    Wenatchee Valley is a small, but fun town. We enjoy every season and have a great campus. Not too big, and not too small.

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    work out, play racquet ball, and enjoy everything else the community of wenatchee has to offer.

    Food and Dining

    A small cafeteria, but has everything one could want to eat.

    Dorm Life

    unfortunately there are no dorms to live in being that this is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    physics and some math classes are difficult but i feel that overall the classes are a perfect level of rigor for all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn what you can do and cant do. And use all available resources that the college has to offer, library, study hall, etc

    In three sentences

    An overall great school, though some professors dont realize that students do have other responsibilities and assign university level of homework/assignments. Although, all in all i would say it has knowledgable and fair professors.

  • 02/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The dances are always a lot of fun!

    Bang for the buck

    They have scholarships available through the school and it's not too impossible to get some form of financial aid. A lot of the professor use old editions for books since they know text books are expensive, so you can easily find them online for less that $40 each, if not way cheaper. You'll save thousands of dollars on your first two years of college by completing your transfer degree here.

    What to do for fun

    Like I said above, they have a lot of activities similar to high school. They have themed dances once or twice a month. All the sports teams games are free admission to the game. There is quite a few clubs you can join to get involved. The campus is in a small/big town. So it's not too hard to find something to do.

    Food and Dining

    They have a cafe place that have quite a bit of variety of food to choose from. It's all pretty good too. They have hot food, salad bar, snacks, a place were they make your food to order, etc. A little pricey for the amount of food you get though.

    Dorm Life

    I personally don't live in the dorms, However, my boyfriends does and he loves living in them. A lot of the people that live in the dorms play sports for the college. But its a great way to meet people if you're new to the area. And you live right across the street from the campus, super convenient.

    Academic Rigor

    A lot of the course classes (English, Math, and Science) have a lot of homework and really push you, but they prepare you for high level classes. Some of the other courses (Social Science, Humanites, Electives) the rigor varies drastically from each subject and professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find out which program or degree you want to get into long before fall quarter starts. A lot of class series begin fall quarter and if you don't know before hand you may not get into the class because of the smaller sizes. And you might get stuck having to wait and entire year to start the class series. Also, take advantage of the educational planners and ask about each program and degree option.

    In three sentences

    It's a great college to transition from high school life to college life. They have plenty of activities that are similar to high school (Dances, Free Sports Events, Talent Shows, Plays, etc.). The staff is very willing to help you succeed and prepare you for a University.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is really good. There are officers always roaming the campus and there for your needs. They are very good at escorting you thru campus if you need it.

    Greek Life

    We do not have Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs and intramural activities. Clubs raise money and do lots of different things throughout the year. Activities at WVC are huge.

    Great for these types of students

    WVC is a great school for students who like lots of 1 on 1 learning. Professors know you by your name and are willing to give you all the extra help you need. Classes aren't big so you can also be yourself.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    My favorite tradition is towards the end of the year. In the school fountain they fill it with lots of trout. It than turns into a fishing derby and you can win prizes.

    What to do for fun

    Since Wenatchee Valley College is a small school there are lots of sports and activities you can do on campus. They have different events going on every month and they are enjoyable to participate in. You meet many friends by attending these.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the college is good because they have lots of different options. The only thing I have a problem with is that it closes around 3 in the afternoon. You are on your own for food past that time.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms but I have friends who do. They have told me that the Dorm Life is fun because you get to meet a ton of new people. I have seen the Dorms are they are very nice and have kitchens.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many classes to choose from to fulfill your academic needs. All professors are pretty fair on the way they grade your papers. Just make sure you put into every assignment all you got.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in to school prepared. It costs a lot of money so make sure you know what classes you should take so you don't take classes that won't count. Meet with a Career Advisor Specialist.

    In three sentences

    Wenatchee Valley College is a close family based school. Professors treat you better than students and are there for your every need. Every one on campus is approachable and wants the best for your education and personal needs.

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's a bowling alley, 2 movie theaters, and then the 'down town' area and the 'malls' to go to in this town. We have a good selection of restaurants here too.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good, but it is on the pricier end.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms, but from what I hear its a good experience at this college.

    Academic Rigor

    Its a good college, and most teachers are great with how they push you, but not so hard that its impossible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to other students about professors when you are starting out. There are certain ones most people would not recommend at all.

    In three sentences

    I like the college a lot. Its great for first time college students, as well as people going back to school. Most of the professors are great.

  • 06/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. They have even gone to the extent of making the campus a tobacco free one.

    Greek Life

    We only have one greek club and it is for honor students.

    Clubs and Activities

    They aren't as involved as they should be. They activities office is a pain to deal with.

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing and Agriculture students!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is the weirdest statue by the fountain of a naked girl with birds on her arms....

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get what you payed for and beyond.

    What to do for fun

    Since it is a community college, there aren't that many things to do for fun. However, they do have dances, fishing derbys and clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Its alright..but it closes fairly early. Dorm students would have to order pizza or walk/drive to the closest food place for dinner or anything.

    Dorm Life

    Very nice. I believe they are going to be building more buildings for dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on what classes you take. But, they have anything from High School level classes to four year university type classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that if you are transferring afterwards, to make sure that ALL of your credits are able to transfer, otherwise you might get frustrated.

    In three sentences

    Great Campus and Staff. Good Class Options. Awesome Nursing and Music Programs.

  • 07/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Fishing in the pond at the end of the year is a fun quirky way to bond.

    What to do for fun

    Always alot to do around town, from hockey games with the Wenatchee Wild or the sports teams on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really look into your classes and pick early if possible. Also research your professors before you take their classes.

    In three sentences

    The professors are knowledgable and helpful. Campus is not hectic, but is relaxing. Sports teams on campus are fun to watch.

  • 11/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a campus security,and I always see them being alert in the morning walking around campus.

    Great for these types of students

    People who just out of high school or returning students that just want to experience the college life without getting too out of hand. Great price and community.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe It's 100$ per credit. Very good price.

    What to do for fun

    On the college website there are always announcements for upcoming events, and there are tons of clubs willing to accept anyone.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafe at the college could have a greater variety.

    Dorm Life

    Don't live at the dorms but I head from my friend that they are suitable for students.

    Academic Rigor

    It's very difficult to pass exams without studying. It's recommended that each class be studied for about 2 hours each a day. Sometimes a little less depending on the assignment for the week. Study the text and jot down notes in class. And any student should be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's not difficult to get in at all. Although just because it's a community college doesn't mean that the classes won't be challenging at all.

    In three sentences

    It's just the right size for a student thinking about going to college without the big tuition fees, and without the entire bundle of students. The classrooms are small that instructors interact with students whenever possible in class in what they need assistance with. An overall great starting out college with a nice staff.

  • 12/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    tons of outdoor activities. Boating tubing offroading hiking bicycle trailsin the winter theres plenty of skiing and snowboarding ice skating down at the indoor ice rink where the wenatchee wild play hockey

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay Focused!

    In three sentences

    It is a good college. There is a comfortable small town feel. I would recommend for anyone looking to advance their career.

  • 12/20/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    19 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    Do not waste your time or your money renting a room here. The floor leaders are very rude and come in your room while you are gone without asking. If they hear rumors from other students about you they will stick their nose in your business any possible way they can. They try to find things to fine you for and get a little more money as if 1,000 wasn't enough every month or so for a musty room and stinky main hall. ( I lived on the second floor, all girls floor) And was excited to live here at first but beware it's nothing like they make it out to be.

  • 02/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is now a smoke free campus. A security guard walks the campus 24 hours a day and 7 days a week.

    Clubs and Activities

    This college offers many clubs and several activities, I just haven't had the time to join them yet.

    Great for these types of students

    They have a great rad. Tech. Program and nursing program.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year they do an annual fishing with friends and family, they fill the water pond on campus full of fish and let you try to catch them, costs only a few dollars for the whole experience, they even clean them and cook them on the grill for you when you're done!

    What to do for fun

    We live next to the beautiful Colombia river and are surrounded by breathtaking mountains, there are plenty of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria offers a good selection for students. It's just not open during summer quarter.

    Dorm Life

    I know they have a few dorms nearby, but I have no experience in living in them.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what classes you are registered for,this college offers anything from easy going classes to very intense nail biting classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Wenatchee is such a small community, you will find it very easy to make yourself at home.

    In three sentences

    I find the staff very friendly and helpful. Everybody has made me very comfortable with going back to school. I feel I am receiving a very good education.

  • 02/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have 24/7 security on campus and at the dorms.

    Food and Dining

    We don't have any meal plans for the cafeteria but I usually make my own dinner at the dorms.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great . They are nice and clean and you meet way more people

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for prospective students are just do your homework , study for all your exams, and ask for help and questions if you have any.

    In three sentences

    Wenatchee valley college is a great community college to start off your career. Some of the professors come and find you in case you are not doing well in their class to help you. Classes are small so you will have more time to ask questions if you don't understand something. This is why Wenatchee valley is a great community college .

  • 03/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is well looked after with easily contacted security guards if needed.

    Clubs and Activities

    WVC offers a full load of sports activities and clubs. There is a club or group for almost anything and if by chance there is not one set up, you get to be the one to start it!

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a serious, fun and laid back campus will love being at WVC. There's a time for fun and a time for studying, and with all the different options for hangout places on and off campus this school is great for a large variety of students!

    Bang for the buck

    WVC is centered in the beautiful Wenatchee Valley that is surrounded by amazing mountains with the fantastic Columbia river running in the middle. The campus is quiet as are the surroundings but the options on campus and in the valley are truly amazing.

    What to do for fun

    WVC offers many on campus activities as well as the community being an amazing option for fun. Athletics are obvious and abundant on and off campus, the surroundings give options for fun through every season. WVC is surrounded with great outdoor activities as well as great coffee shops for those laid back kind of days.

    Food and Dining

    WVC offers multiple options for food choices in the 'lunch room. The choices range from quick pick up chips and drinks, to fantastic hot lunches. The choice is yours!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is relatively quiet. The dorm is across the street from campus but as it is not large your neighbors are close and the lifestyle is laid back.

    Academic Rigor

    This is all about you. How hard do you want to work. Academic rigor at WVC is up to you and how willing you are to push yourself to get to your goal.

    Tips for prospective students

    New students give yourself time to get to the next class, having classes with five minutes in between is just not enough. The campus is not huge but there is enough walking to do that fifteen minutes is a good distance time to leave yourself.

    In three sentences

    WVC has an amazing staff in all departments to specifically and intentionally direct students in their positive and needed direction. The campus is easy to navigate with fantastic buildings that are easily found and classified. WVC maintains a great environment with clean, and welcoming surroundings.