Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Wesley College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/02/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 out of 15 people found this review useful. 1 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to attend a school that professors will challenge but support them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Interested in a 17:1 student to professor ratio? Interested in a small community within a large College/University mainstream? Interested in competing in football games amongst others? Come to Wesley!!

    Bang for the buck

    Not as expensive as other schools, however, I do agree that you are getting the quality education.

    Will enjoy being here

    Great city...small community...you will know everybody! Many programs and activities goes on around campus, you can never get bored.

    Will learn a lot

    Small classes, supportive staff, numerous majors/minors....

  • 09/22/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 2 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I think any student who really wants to learn, especially in a small environment, would work best here. I like learning in smaller classes, and I like having conversations with the professors and ongoing debates.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check the campus. Go on a tour, and talk to some of the teachers and professors. If you know the major you want to go into, talk to the professors of some of the classes you'll be taking especially. It's a great school, but everybody is different.

    Bang for the buck

    I love Wesley, and it is a private college. However, without ANY scholarships, it is a lot of money, even for in-state students I know. It's over $15,000 unincluding if you're living there. But, they offer all types of scholarships, including their own, and they have grants too. They want to work with you, and they really want you. They also have a free tutor center, for writing, and all subjects, that's really worthwhile looking into if you're struggling. Even if you're not, it could be the difference between a B and an A.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is really beautiful. It has a nice atmosphere around it; including just the neighborhoods around it, however a couple streets down is a little unsafe at night... The classes are small and the professors really try to help you out. Other students are pretty willing to help you succeed too, wanting to form study groups.

    Am learning a lot

    I have successfully completed Biology I and General Psychology. My Psych professor, Ann Rogge, was amazinggg. I love her to death and if she taught any classes, I would take them regardless of my major just because she's such a great teacher. I'm now taking Bio II, Chemistry I, Intermediate Algebra, College Writing, and World Religions. Professor Craig, my World Religions professor, is amazing and I would also take him again. My Chemistry teacher is extremely sweet, and explains things perfectly. If you ask a question, he answers it thoroughly. My Bio professor.. I don't really like him, but I think that's a preference thing. My English teacher is great and my math teacher is alright. I have definitely learned a lot of material.

  • 08/06/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 3 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who need a small atmosphere and supportive staff.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great small school. Get involved in the campus life.

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get what you pay for.

    Will enjoy being here

    They have a lot of activities. You can't get bored.

    Will learn a lot

    Great campus and atmosphere. The staff is friendly and really care and the school has so much support to offer, a person can't be unsuccessful. FASTRACK for freshmen, free tutoring, a writing center, instructional assistants in some classes.

  • 03/22/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    people who want a small campus where everybody knows everybody. also if you don't want to be a number, you want small classes and one on one time with the teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    when you come to campus, make sure that it is a mice day. come with an open mind to all the possible organations and the things you can accomplish.

    Bang for the buck

    it is in the middle, and you don't have to pay extra if you are out of state. the teachers want you to succeed in your studies and will work with you to help you achieve your goals

    Will enjoy being here

    Yes you will enjoy being here. They have many activities during the weekends. Everybody knows everybody, and the campus is really small. Many things to do, close to the beach and the mall.

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers are very supportive for the students. they care if you don't' show up for classes, and will find you to know why. the teachers will help you with anything and their doors are always open for the students

  • 06/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Wesley College is great for all students, but especially for those that come from a small school. I came from a high school with a graduating class of 100 people and I needed a small campus. When I have class it is a 17:1 ration, and usually it isn't even that big. Although it is a very diverse campus and can work for many different people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do NOT expect college to be one big party, if you mess up your freshman year it can follow you. If you do bad in one class and great in your others your GPA will suffer. Then to get a GPA back up is impossible, so you must work and work. Also you are your own adult, you will decide if you want to go to you 8AM, and if you don't YOU have to pay the consequences.

    Bang for the buck

    Wesley without finicial aid is somewhat a killer,but compared to other private institutions is on the cheaper side. For about $32,000 a year, I live in a traditional dorm, have 14 meals per week, and there are other fees for classes and student activities. When there are activities held, most are free, and if it is not free it is only $5. So there are the positives and negatives but Wesley College does give a lot to the students.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy this college because I always have someone to turn to. I have an advisor that with an e-mail I can see that day, teachers that have provided me with one on one help with tutors. I have other students in the nursing program that has become a community to me and I can turn to for help, especially with assignments. Also there are plenty of events that happen on the weekdays and weekends that are worth the time to go. There are plenty of organizations in the college that I have gotten involved in and because it is such a small college there are plenty more opportunities.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers that I have had, for the most part, are extremely knowledgeable about the topics they teach. Also these teachers have gone to some name brand schools for their higher education degrees. All the teachers care about how you do in their class and will stay on you. I have learned so much here and I wouldn't trade it for the world.

  • 02/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    way to safety even for me.

    What to do for fun

    i play football i play basketball

    Food and Dining

    i think the food at wesley college is good. when you first come to wesley college they give you 19 meals a week.

    Dorm Life

    it is not that bad. just hope u get a good roommate

    Academic Rigor

    it is not a hard school at all to be at.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't go out and party every night try to stay away from people that do drugs

    In three sentences

    i think that wesley college is a really good school to attend. there are many different fun events here for all students. the ratio of students to teacher per class is 15 to 1. i like this college overall.

  • 05/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    The Student Life here provides endless opportunities for students to get involved with the community and campus.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning so much! The student professor ratio allows professors to know students by names instead of numbers. It also allows students to meet with their professors and ask questions

  • 12/11/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I was offered a $14000 scholarship and they had my major in conjunction with an accelerated program designed for my major as well.

    Will enjoy being here

    Lovely campus, great area.

    Will learn a lot

    My mom went to Wesley twice and thoroughly enjoyed her time there.

  • 03/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    While on campus, I visit friends at their dorms or I might check out local activities around the campus.

    Food and Dining

    Wesley College's food is pretty tasty. Commuters have a chance to dine for a cheap cost.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. The dorms are kept clean and have enough room inside to occupy two people, depending on dorm selection.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically Wesley College, has great professors that make sure that their students are passing.

    Tips for prospective students

    When planning to attend any college, make sure to calculate you attendance cost.

    In three sentences

    Wesley college is a great school to attend. This college embodies everything that a prestigious college should. If you are planning to attend college in Delaware, Wesley would be a good pick.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can hang out with your roommates. Kick boxing and Zumba classes. Movie nights.

    Food and Dining

    Very filling. A lot of variety. Very clean.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are small. Rest rooms down the halls. Dorms are very historical.

    Academic Rigor

    Penty of choices

    Tips for prospective students

    Classes are small in size. Friendly students and professionals. Not a party college.

    In three sentences

    Wesley excellent small college. Professional to student is 20 to 1. You can get all the attention that you need to success.

  • 05/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    our security should be #1!

    Clubs and Activities

    New Era dance team Diamonds step team Basketball Football Lacrosse

    Great for these types of students

    Student Governent Association

    Bang for the buck

    We get Wesley bucks on our ID cards. It comes in handy when your hungry or just want to shop in the school grocery store.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities to do for fun. We have the den area for socializing, the schools mini grocery store & a place to get cooked food. We also have the underground area for games.

    Food and Dining

    I prefer not to eat in the dining area because i am a very picky eater, but for fruit and deserts its a very excellent place.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is wonderful! Every student loves it as long as they live in the dorm they chose.

    Academic Rigor

    Having a GPA higher than a 2.0 is the biggest goal for them

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a great education, choose wesley college!

    In three sentences

    Wesley College is the perfect school for students willing to achieve. All the help you could ever want is here. If there is ever any problems, there wonderful staff can always help find you a positive answer.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty safe, but always walk with someone at night.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a bit pricey for the facilities we use and live in, but they are doing renovations to the campus and plan to build a new gymnasium within the next four years.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of organizations and sports teams to be apart of. And when you join one, its like you've found a family away from home

    Food and Dining

    The food is not bad it just gets repetitive at times.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on were you stay, the rooms can be very small, the dorms have a friendly atmosphere so making friends is easy

    Academic Rigor

    For most classes there is a lot of material that needs to be studied, but the school has tutors available during the week and it is easy to catch up with a teacher if you do not fully understand a concept that was taught.

    In three sentences

    Wesley College is a small school with excellent educators who are there to help the students if need be. The professors remember you by name and not a number and it is easy to see them after class for help. There is also a variety of students in age, race, religion, etc.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food at Wesley College is pretty good food. They also have a nice variety of food for their students.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is good. The people are very friend and fun to life with.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic as Wesley College is wonderful. The teachers are very helpful and truly care about their students.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can go to all the sporting events. Any other events they are having. Also every day they have something going on, so your never bored! The mall and Dover downs is right down the street. The beaches are also about a half hour away.

    Food and Dining

    Great food! Anything you like they will have! I could spend all my time at the cafe.

    Dorm Life

    You will have fun meeting people, and doing things as a family.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to Wesley! I had fun every time I came there, and i am not even a full time student yet.

    In three sentences

    Wesley College had the best college tour I been to. The guide answered all my questions quick, and with a great response. Wesley College makes you feel like you are already part of the Wesley family with out attending yet.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is always on patrol. Timing is an issue at times when there are campus events and in need of a security guard to open a door to a dorm room.

    Greek Life

    The Fraternities and Sororities are very close on campus. There are more Fraternities and Sororities making their ways onto campus as the Greek life continues to grow.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many groups to join. Such as running campus activities. There are intramural activities to join in as well.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for any student that is looking for a small campus with the big campus feel.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Football games are probably the biggest tradition on campus. The stadium is always full with supporters of parents and the student body. There are many places to order food from that deliver to campus as well as some stores within a mile of the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The money that is spent on school should never go to waste for any student who plans on graduating. The key to success here is to ask the professors for as much help as possible if needed.

    What to do for fun

    There are many athletic events to attend. Intramural sports are played throughout the semesters. Participate in as much as possible to keep yourself surrounded by the right people and to be able to concentrate on your studies

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is open from 8am-7pm throughout the week. When it is closed The Den and The Wolverine Stop are open until a later time with different food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms could be better. But they accommodate enough for more than one person per room and its a place to relax, study, and sleep.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academics at this institution are above average from having talks with friends from other universities or institutions. Business is a highly taken major along with nursing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be fooled by the small campus lifestyle and get caught up in the college life. Be sure to get to every class, because every time you miss a class there is a big lesson that you have missed out on.

    In three sentences

    This institution is very good for those looking to better themselves as students and people. It provides help for students that are in need of it regardless of what the course is. The small campus allows the students to make friends that come from different places and backgrounds.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe campus.

    Greek Life

    not a lot of Frats of sororities on campus. They mostly stick to themselves and keep together.

    Clubs and Activities

    All sorts of clubs, welcoming of all students. Sporting events are always fun and supported by all students on campus. Football team is a championship contender and always fun to go to.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who were underappriciated in High school. Students that were not the leader of their social groups will be able to spread their wings here and be themselves.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    every fall and may there is a NASCAR race at the Dover race track. These races are a great time.

    Bang for the buck

    School is a little expensive but the experience is well worth it

    What to do for fun

    There are loads of school sponsored activities to do. Athletics are big at school so going to games is always fun, especially football games. The parties on weekends are also a great time

    Food and Dining

    The food in the dining hall is actually really good for school food. Lots of variety and you will not get board of it.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great. Your floor mates will quickly become your best friends

    Academic Rigor

    If you work hard and go to class you will be rewarded with good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    You're going to have the time of your life at Wesley. Making friends is really easy. This place is awesome.

    In three sentences

    Wesley is a great time filled with great people. I love it here. I cannot wait to go back.

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    NO CLUE. FIRST SEMESTER

    Bang for the buck

    A LITTLE EXPENSIVE

    What to do for fun

    NON-TRADITIONAL STUDENT

    Tips for prospective students

    PLEASE STAY ON TOP OF YOUR ENROLLMENT COUNCELOR

    In three sentences

    I WAS INITIALLY IMPRESSED. I WAS RECEIVING CALLS AND UPDATES. UNTIL I PAID MY CONFIRMATION FEE. THEN I HAVEN'T HEARD FROM THEM SINCE.

  • 09/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are cameras all over but it really isn't located in the safest part of Delaware.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are soo many clubs to join in and each one has it's pros and cons but anyone looking for one to join they will definitely be accommodated.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who has trouble learning and getting things done in large classes.

    What to do for fun

    The college always has something going on for students and being right in the state's capital you are close to malls and anything someone would want.

    Food and Dining

    The dining leaves much to be desired but that is probably a result of the funding situation.

    Tips for prospective students

    To be as successful as possible you should join a sport so that you work by there rigorous study hours and also are watched closely by professors so that you don't slip up.

    In three sentences

    Wesley college contains many options and connections within each major to help a student become successful and find a job fast. Although it is quite an underfunded college they do the best with what they have. The most important aspect is the small school scenario where you have one on one with professors and can get things done without hassle of large college life.

  • 10/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Greek Life Intramural Sports Student Government Association Light to Life I.M.P.A.C.T Religious Groups Movie Nights

    Great for these types of students

    Involved Social Like small academic settings

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus recently added The Plaza which is a large square area with benches were many people like to hang out with other friends, and also have Wesley West where students can play sports at.

    What to do for fun

    Wesley always has something to do on campus. Along with the usual parties, they have dances, Laser Tag, Zip lining, make your own craft days, and plenty of movie and film nights.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great at Wesley. As freshman, we are on an unlimited meal plan and its buffet style in the cafeteria. There is also a Starbucks on campus and The Den; which sells wings, sandwiches and other food as it is open late just like the Wolverine Stop; which sells candy cookies and so much, like the gas station stores.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Wesley is fun. I live in an all freshman women dorm and we all get along great. Our building is also very involved in community service around the city of Dover. They keep the building clean and santitarty.

    Academic Rigor

    Like any new college experience, the academic rigor of Wesley is manageable. Success in Wesley depends on a students perspective on academics. The classes are not as tough as expected but it is very important to keep up with your work and study. The key to success in college is studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Staying up to date and on top of your work is the key to success in any college. Wesley offers numerous options when students need guidance in any subject or field and their resourses are open even late for those in sports and need some extra support or an extra opinion.

    In three sentences

    Wesley College is great first starter school. The school is very involved in community service projects and ensuring the success of their students. There is also, always something to do on campus and enjoy the activities they hold.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A+.

    Greek Life

    Not too familiar

    Clubs and Activities

    There's lots of clubs and activities for all.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Havent developed any as of yet

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive, but what college isn't. I feel I getting a lot, education for the buck.

    What to do for fun

    Movie nights, sporting events

    Food and Dining

    Pretty decent selection

    Dorm Life

    Freshmen dorms a bit small but some of the upper classmen dorms are nice, some apartment like

    Academic Rigor

    Be prepared to work!

    Tips for prospective students

    Very nice environment, won't feel lost like a big university atmosphere.

    In three sentences

    Very well organized and efficient school; you get a sense that the people, teachers, counselors, etc. they really care. One big family.

  • 11/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Delaware State is five minutes away so its fun to go hang out there.

    In three sentences

    Wesley college is a small private school. The teachers have one on one relationships with the students. The food is far from acceptable but there are alot of fast food places to check out.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Just watch Walt Beaupre and you'll see that security takes their job seriously.

    Clubs and Activities

    SO many clubs and activities! Psychology Club, Greek Life, Obscure Interests...you name it. Get some friends and make your own club if you want! Or join Hoopla, a hula hoop dance club formed recently.

    What to do for fun

    If you don't have a car, there are establishments within walking distance. Dover Mall has some pretty cool stores, so there's an option. If you have a car, there's bowling and the much larger Christiana Mall. Just make sure to look at what's going on around campus and schedule accordingly!

    Food and Dining

    Dining hall is usually trashy and loud, and the food isn't all that great most days. The school has improved, and special days warrant very delicious meals. Make sure you use those bonus points, though! The Den is a great place to go for amazing food (personally, I recommend the cheese steak).

    Dorm Life

    In spring, Wesley is beautiful. Closer to summer and winter, though, the dorms are either too hot (winter) or too cold (near summer) unless you have a dorm where you can regulate the temperature. Dorm-mates might also be a problem if things get noisy. Otherwise, the dorms are regularly cleaned and typically show it.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics is one of the MOST important things here at Wesley. Many of the activities performed around campus are affected by academic standing, and as such grades and involvement in class are held in high esteem.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Make sure you have scholarships. 2. Study, study, study! 3. Do your work. Nothing's worse than rushing through a week to turn in late work, trust me. 4. Have fun. Don't let the stress affect you too much; take some time out of your day to chill with friends in a favorite hangout or sleep off a little strain.

    In three sentences

    There are mostly good people and really good programs. The food could use some work and the prices are steep. Despite the negatives, this is a good school to consider.

  • 12/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's open gym some nights so a group of friends and I go there and either play ball or watch others. At times I do go to the workout gym or just sit and talk with others in the college center/underground and play video games, watch TV or listen to music.

    Dorm Life

    I love it! I have the best RA's ever and I am proud to say my floor is the cleanest floor. My roommate is wonderful. I thought living in an all girls dorm would be a disaster but its truly not. Its what you make of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a very small school. Everyone knows everyone. Therefore, your private life should remain only your business. However, you'll have the time of your life if you get out, meet the right people and enjoy yourself safely.

    In three sentences

    Attending Wesley College matured me in so many ways. I've improved tremendously in my academics. It is an all around good school.

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    WACK !!!!! except AKA

    Bang for the buck

    Nothing this school is expensive

    What to do for fun

    Just turn up during the weekends honestly

    Food and Dining

    The food is repetitive. but, it's alright... I GUESS

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are alright, but not if you live in Williams or Gooding. In Williams it smells like sweat and in Gooding it smells like fish, especially the third floor. Best bet to go is Carpenter, Roe, Malmberg or ZIMMERMAN

    Academic Rigor

    Since, the campus can be boring, you can focus here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be more active, don't sit in your dorm all day. JOIN CLUBS!!!!! The school is small, so you'll know everybody or heard of them.

    In three sentences

    Wesley College is all about academics and money. It may be boring, you just have to find the right people to hang with. Many majority of students leave for the weekend so, it's DRY(if you have the right type people then, you'll be GOOD)

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun we play board games on weekends, play football, video games, and watch TV together.

    Food and Dining

    Food is wonderful.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is very enjoyable. I get along with everyone throughout the dorm, and everyone interacts with each other.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is great with its teaching caliber.

    In three sentences

    In my own opinion, I would rate Wesley College a 8-10. I enjoy the campus its self with its many activities it has set for the students. I also like the professor's they are very intact with there teaching.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Even though the campus is not fenced in the campus is very safe. Officers are always available and the police department is close.

    Greek Life

    A couple of Greek sororities and fraternities are offered on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Numerous club and activities going on during the week.

    Great for these types of students

    Students really focused on graduating with little distractions. Teachers are extremely helpful and class sizes are small.

    Bang for the buck

    Very good academic wise, sometimes where your money goes when it comes to dining, dorms and weekend activities.

    What to do for fun

    Sports or clubs

    Food and Dining

    Lots of the same food everyday.

    Dorm Life

    Zimmerman is the best dorm on campus. It is better to live off campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved, make time to study, and DON'T GET BEHIND.

    In three sentences

    Wesley College is a small school. There are lots of activities going on every week. Make sure you get involved to have a true college experience.

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    capus safety is good security is available when needed and walk around the campus reguarly

    Greek Life

    There are a lot of greeks on campus and currently two divine 9's just joined our campus as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many different clubs and activites and boards that students can get involved in

    Great for these types of students

    Serious about work. athlete (football, basketball, lacrose)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    Not really. for the amount of money we pay I do not feel we are really getting our moneys worth.

    What to do for fun

    There are usually trips planed for weekends such as skating, bowling or other activities. Throughout the day there might be some activity to do such as laser tag, making your own t-shirt. On a thursday there is painting and wings and games in the underground.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the dining hall is not the best but the den and the wolverine stop makes up for that and you are able to get a variety of food and use your flex points to do so.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is pretty good especially if you live in malmberg or zimmerman hall. If you live in freshman dorms such as williams and gooding the dorms are not the best.

    Academic Rigor

    The work here is hard but it is not too hard to the point where you can never pass a class unless you are not studying and not truly applying yourself to your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused and get involved in as many programs as you can

    In three sentences

    Wesley is a nice small school that allows students to focus on their work. It is easy to get to classes and the people are friendly. Teachers are more then willing to help students whenever they can.

  • 03/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food here isn't very great and the cafeteria closes at 7PM, which I think is very early. After 7, 'the den is open, which is more like fast food. They offer things like cheesesteaks and mozzarella sticks.

    Dorm Life

    I don't like living in the dorms, the rooms are really small and the people are loud and inconsiderate.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes that I am taking this semester are pretty challenging. The professors for my major challenged me to think in different ways.

  • 04/09/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    29 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I worked a full time job and had a full class load; clubs were out of the question but I do know they had a ton!

    Bang for the buck

    Great college!

    What to do for fun

    The mall is close by, lots of shops and restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent food, usually! Love the pasta station.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are not in the best of shape but the location are set up are awesome!

    Academic Rigor

    I really had to study to make the grades I wanted,nothing is handed to you!

    In three sentences

    Pretty good college overall. The location is ideal for students w no car. I would go back if I needed to!

  • 04/19/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    30 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    My freshman year there were a few incidents requiring safety in locations slightly off campus. But since they made the changes around campus to cut off the roads that intersected it I haven't heard of any issues.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is relatively new to the school, but if they don't offer the fraternity or sorority you're looking for you are more than free to seek it out at another school. There are plenty of schools in close proximity to Wesley.

    Clubs and Activities

    The football team is nationally ranked, when they prosper so does the campus!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like an individualized approach in the classroom.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a great school for people who are seeking to get to know the faculty and students on a personal level. Professors are generally always open to staying for extra help and the tutors are great.

    What to do for fun

    Play a sport. Join a fraternity/sorority. There are plenty of things to do in the underground ranging from playing xbox to shooting pool. Also join clubs, and meet lots of people. The more people you interact with, the more fun you'll have!

    Food and Dining

    The food is great at first, but like any other school you'll get tired of the cafe food eventually.

    Dorm Life

    The all freshman dorms aren't desirable. All other dorms are co-ed. Roe, Carpenter, and Malmberg are the most desirable dorms for students Freshman through Junior.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes vary depending on the professor and the level of the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    This college is what you make of it. The sooner you get involved the better! If you're not active or keep yourself to one clique you won't get the college experience.

    In three sentences

    A college that is what you make it. Small campus. Friendly Staff.

  • 05/24/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    31 of 39

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Wesley College so far seems like a preferred college dream come true. Yes the school may be costly, but you know what they say; nothing worth having comes easy. It may beat you down with piles of school work but in the end you'll feel like superman lifting kryptonite.

  • 07/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I do not like the cafe food but the Den and wolverine stop has good stuff.

    Dorm Life

    I only lived in Gooding Hall is was ok. I did not like it that much but I got through it. Hopefully Row Hall will be better.

    Academic Rigor

    We have free tutors, that are nice and easy to find. Lots of areas to study and people to study with. Teachers are helpful too.

  • 08/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our head of safety and security is amazing. He's always willing to talk, helps you out whenever, and gets on top of issues quickly. His staff is attentive and for the most part helpful and nice. However, Wesley's location puts them at a 4 because we have had shootings at the college. Our security was quick to alerting us and contacting police and all that, but they can only do so much because of where we are. Just be careful and you'll be fine.

    Greek Life

    Greeks are always suspended. They're great organizations but you have to remember being a Greek isn't about partying and hazing and doing crazy stuff - it's about the philanthropy and making friends.

    Clubs and Activities

    -Wish we had a little more, other than sports.

    Great for these types of students

    -Shy: small classes allow you to make friends easier, almost forced to -Motivated: professors help you along the way with anything and are extremely attentive -Activity-driven: if you want to be a leader on campus, it'll be pretty easy if you work hard for it. By the end of my freshman year, I was editor-in-chief of the newspaper, which is really unusual for any other schools... if I had been at UD, I don't know if I ever would have been able to be editor-in-chief even by my senior year.

    Bang for the buck

    I wish it was a little cheaper and tuition goes up ANNUALLY 4%. It's increased probably at least $1,000 since the time I first applied. However, it is a pretty decent school. The education department is amazing because you have so many practicums to give you real experience and help you determine if this is what you really want to do in life.

    What to do for fun

    -Organizations and sports (have to shout out to The Whetstone! Always asking for help) -Smithers Bar with a tiny dance floor -Bubbas -Bowling Alley (Quarterama Thursdays came to mean a lot more to me in college than they ever did before...) -Dover Mall: pretty small but OK for something to do -skating rink (haven't been though) -Dover Downs with dining, shows (have to pay), and gambling -Harrington ice arena about 25 minutes away, along with their casino (but Dover Downs is a closer casino and better)

    Food and Dining

    The caf has a pretty good selection, I think, and most of the employees actually care. For commuters, there's the Den/Club Simpson (its name has changed over recent years), Starbucks (a great new addition!!!), and the Wolverine Stop. It's nice that we have these options, but it's crazy expensive. To eat in the caf without a meal card is $9-$10/meal and to eat at the Wolverine Stop, it's about $6 for 4 chicken tenders.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are pretty okay! We have Roe & Carpenter (fits 2) which are decent-sized, Williams & Gooding (fits 2) which are tiny and gender-specific, Malmberg (only one with an elevator! fits 2-6) which has its own bathroom in each room and a small kitchen with a mini-fridge, and Zimmerman with its own bathroom and kitchen with a regular fridge and a little living room (fits 4).

    Academic Rigor

    For the most part, I don't think the classes are too challenging. I think we dumb it down a lot because a lot of the people who come only came to Wesley because they couldn't get accepted into other schools or it's just close and not a public school. I love the small classes, but sometimes it just feels like an easier high school class. My education classes are definitely challenging, though, which is why I gave it 3 stars instead of 1.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Time manage -Don't walk on to New Street or Queen Street -Use the FREE tutoring center. It never hurts to ask for help -Don't be late to class! Some professors lock the door after class is supposed to start -BUY YOUR BOOKS! So many students don't buy the books because they're too expensive and then fail the class because they couldn't do any of the reading or homework or study for tests. Pay the extra money so you can succeed! It's better to spend $200 on books and sell them back for $100 than it is to spend $30,000 on school and fail out. If you pre-plan, you can save a whole lot of money and buy them on Amazon and even qualify for Amazon Prime Shipping for students for 6-months.

    In three sentences

    Wesley professors can provide an excellent education and the staff members seem to really care about you. The only cautions: 1) be wary of the location of the campus - it's in the middle of downtown Dover, two streets over from some streets that have knives pulled on people or gun shots; 2) it can be easy to get involved in an organization and forget that the purpose of college is to receive an education (it's great to be involved! Just don't forget your studies).

  • 11/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus is in a bad location

    Clubs and Activities

    not many clubs

    Bang for the buck

    over priced and make you pay for everything such as laundry

    What to do for fun

    sporting events wesley is at the top of their conference in all of this sports

    Food and Dining

    Food is not bad its average college food. Exactly expected coming into college

    Dorm Life

    they aren't kept very clean. Students are messy.

    Academic Rigor

    Not many students here take their academics seriously.

    Tips for prospective students

    look at other schools and keep an open mind

    In three sentences

    Wesley College is a very diverse college with many different crowds of people, which makes it easy to find your group of friends. The college values its athletics a lot more than its academics. Wesley is not the best fit for everyone but the ones it fits best loves it.

  • 12/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus security and they send out text messages when anything is going on anywhere around our campus. Plus there's about 90 cameras around our campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I play Men's Soccer (2nd year)

    Great for these types of students

    Students who need alittle more one on one with their professors and don't like the bigger campus feeling

    What to do for fun

    Weight train at Malberg. Go to Dover Mall

    Food and Dining

    Sometimes food is awesome other times I go to the Den and purchase something to eat. Plus when training for sports the dining hall is closed by the time I get done practice and am hungary

    Dorm Life

    I live in co-ed dorm

    Academic Rigor

    I'm currently going to take Calc 4 with one on one independent study with my Calc 3 professor since there's not 3 people to make a class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Small college allowing for more one on one with professors. It has a great athletic program. Wesley College isn't far away from home.

    In three sentences

    Small college allowing for more one on one with professors. It has a great athletic program. Wesley College isn't far away from home.

  • 12/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is not like a homecooked meal at home but its very tasty.

    Dorm Life

    The Dorms are somewhat small, but easy to maintain.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are hard but they have tutors available if you need help.

    In three sentences

    It is academcally wonderful. It is very small just like i like it. The staff are very helpful.

  • 01/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The underground is really fun. It has a pool table, xbox, ping pong, and tv. There are also times where there is open gym. There are dance classes such as zumba and kickboxing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your school work. Be active in the campus community and activities.

    In three sentences

    Wesley is very focused on academics. The food at Wesley is definitely in a need of improvement. The staff is extremely friendly.

  • 04/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is okay just be aware when walking off campus.

    Greek Life

    Multiple Divine Nine fraternities. along with a few others.

    Clubs and Activities

    Multiple Greek Organizations.

    Bang for the buck

    I personally think its a bit much. Big state colleges have the same tuition you can do your research.

    What to do for fun

    Go bowling skating off campus or play in the underground. The theater offers movie specials in the mall on certain days.

    Food and Dining

    Its not a homecooked meal but it gets the job done.

    Dorm Life

    Find a good roommate. bring shower shoes.

    Academic Rigor

    Because Wesley is a small school the professors know where you are. That means don't skip class. But, unlike big universities there is group work and homework assignments and busy work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live off campus because the freshman dorms aren't the best. Some residence halls aren't considerate of quiet hours.

    In three sentences

    Wesley College is a small university with small class sizes which lets you get the help you need. Dover is historic and has other neighboring colleges. The faculty is very friendly and professors put their students first.

  • 05/27/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    39 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I don't know what Wesley College has for events or activities, but obviously there are parties you can attend and from what I hear from other people, Wesley does have fun events you can attend.

    Food and Dining

    There are many variates of food you can choose from. It's not like a high school cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    It is a lot of money to also have a dorm, but it is a good way to meet new people and have friends for a long time. Many of the dorms I saw are very nice and comfortable looking.

    Academic Rigor

    I think the academics are good because depending on the major you want, the classes you take will prepare you for the career you will pursue in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pick a college that you want to go to and that is near you and what you want because college will be the best memory to have.

    In three sentences

    It's a good size campus because you can walk to the buildings very easy. Some of the programs or majors you take are very good depending what you want. It does seem safe because it's not a very big school and most the buildings are together.