Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

West Coast University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who does not want to wait to get into nursing school and wants a BSN with their RN

    Tips for prospective students

    Though the price tag is overwhelming, listen to what they have to say, it was worth it for me.

  • 01/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    i have not had the opportunity to eat on campus and i don't believe they have a dinning hall (or such). vending machines and students can bring their own food to eat on campus if they wish to do so.

    Dorm Life

    west coast university does not have dorms. i live at home with my family so i can not rate this catagory.

    Academic Rigor

    well since i do not start until next i am not sure what the rigor will be like but from orientation and everything i've heard so far, it appears like it will be very rigorous but worth it at the end.

    In three sentences

    i am about to start the lvn to bsn next week but thus far this university seems like it will give me all the tools needed for me to earn my bsn. the university itself is very expensive and i am having to take out large amounts of students loans but i believe in the end it will be worth it. the environment seems to be very student oriented and i plan to make the experience a rewarding one!!!

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never heard of a reported problem and the security is friendly. They are actually ODO(off duty officiers)

    Clubs and Activities

    They are offered but students really won't have time to participate.

    Great for these types of students

    Organized and self-motivated students would do well here.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though is costs a pretty penny to be enrolled here the bonus is the time you save here. By the time you are graduating from WCU, most students that started at the same time you did at state schools or junior colleges are no where near finished or are placed on waiting lists.

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do however, there won't be the time. Some of the surrounding options include: Disneyland, Knotts Berry Farm, outdoor promenades, bowling, beaches, festivals, and much more.

    Food and Dining

    On campus there is a small cafe and vending machines of course and off campus there are a lot of great dining options.

    Dorm Life

    Campus living is not applicable.

    Academic Rigor

    Term based schedule on a 10 week rotation cycle. Weeks 1-8 class learning, week 9 finals, and week 10 is a short term break before a new cycle. If you can keep up it's great because you feel like you are really making your way to graduation quickly. If one is the type of student that struggles through the typical 16-18 week schedule this is not a good fit, because unless you can adjust your expectations you will be overwhelmed and fall behind.

    Tips for prospective students

    An important tip would be to be serious about your degree and your career before enrolling. Do not use this program as a trial run to see if you like the industry because it is not designed for that. It is designed for those who are passionate already about wanting to be a nurse. Also, eliminate your distractions and be prepared to miss out on a lot of things. Friends,family, and other extra curricular activities will have to take a back seat in your life in order to do well and retain what you learn.

    In three sentences

    WCU is an awesome BSN/RN program. While the program is challenging and fast paced, I feel I made a great choice transferring from my local junior college here. In my opinion the opportunities they offer will prepare me to be the best nurse possible.

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    nursing school requires all your attention. fun includes study groups.

    Tips for prospective students

    meeting new people will help in your success through the program. program is difficult but not unbearable.

    In three sentences

    effective learning though small class sizes. amazing professors. great for friendships and networking.

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    no food and dining.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms at this school.

    Academic Rigor

    it is a very intense school, very rigorous but definitely worth it in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    definitely check this school out. you will get a bachelors degree in nursing in a little over 3 years.

    In three sentences

    west coast university is a very dedicated and studious environment. its very well organized and has plans for everyone. it gets you're career started.

  • 02/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are local restaurants, malls, and movie theatre's within four miles.

    Food and Dining

    as of now, the only food available is out of the vending machine or to drive to a nearby fast food restaurant to eat. there is talk about more restaurants being built on the same street as our school.

    Dorm Life

    we do not have dorms at our school. this question does not apply.

    Academic Rigor

    the general education classes are comparable to those at other junior colleges and universities that i have attended.

    Tips for prospective students

    join study groups, a lot of times others may have a better grasp of topics you are having a hard time with and vice versa. utilize your professors, they make themselves available for a reason, pick their brains for as much information as possible. stay on task, since this is an accelerated program it can be easy to fall behind and by the time you know it, its finals week again.

    In three sentences

    i really enjoy attending west coast university. it is ideal for the people who work or have children due to the fact that you do not have to go to school five days a week. also, there is a lot of help available from the faculty not only in the classes being taken, but also to prepare us for our future career.

  • 03/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    many securities and they are very pleasant people. i trust my car with them around.

    Great for these types of students

    free wi-fi and free parking!!!!!!!!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    very small parking lot but has a shuttle to a bigger parking lot about a block away. so get 30 minutes earlier than your class start time to find parking at the school.

    What to do for fun

    cross the street and go to disneyland.

    Food and Dining

    downtown disney

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms at the orange county facility over at anaheim. just live close to the school and you will be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    save lots of money for tuition which includes classes, books, uniforms, and registration fee. be ready to manage a fast pace education. study 15-20 hours for every exam (it will be very helpful). buy used books, they look new and cost cheaper.

    In three sentences

    very fast program but great opportunities. too expensive but worth the education and great professors. great facility, small but diverse, and very welcoming all the time.

  • 04/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I have not eaten at the campus restuarant but hope to try it one day.

    Dorm Life

    No domitory in school

    Academic Rigor

    New students should be ready to study hard because the academic curriculum is rigourous. 4/5

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to work as a family because this is a family

    In three sentences

    Great school with enthusiastic instructors. Always ready to help you succeed

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus has it's own private security and screening process to ensure a safe learning environment.

    Clubs and Activities

    WCU is always planning activities for the student body to participate in.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who are career focused and have a strong support system in place.

    Bang for the buck

    WCU is extremely over priced in terms of tuition and expenses related to education, the upside is that there are no wait lists.

    What to do for fun

    As a nursing student you learn that fun is something you'll experience once your education is complete. I would focus on accessibility to educational resources over fun while attending nursing school.

    Food and Dining

    My campus is located in Anaheim California which is only minutes away from 2 major theme parks and ample eatery's.

    Dorm Life

    There are no on campus living arrangements at this WCU

    Academic Rigor

    This University allows you to complete a BSN degree in a little over three years, so academic rigor is an understatement.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you intend on enrolling at WCU, make sure you have the ability to not work during enrollment. The intensity level of this University is very high as compared to other University's because of the accelerated learning experience.

    In three sentences

    Extremely intense academic workload that will impact your personal life. The offer up to date technology which includes a simulation lab. There are no wait lists at this University.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. Security on site, ID checks, and cameras.

    Clubs and Activities

    No clubs but volunteer oppurtunities are offered.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone intersted in nursing.

    What to do for fun

    Interaction with classmates.

    Food and Dining

    vending machines are standard, but I recommend packing a lunch.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms. Not applicable.

    Academic Rigor

    difficult

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't expect to be spoon fed information. Take time to study on your own.

    In three sentences

    Very modern, up to date instruction and teaching. Expensive, however worth the investment. Great school.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus security at West Coast University. Some classes are offered at late hours of the night so it is helpful to have these campus security guards walking around the parking lot and standing at the doors of the university. Also, in order to enter the school, you must show your student or staff ID card.

    Greek Life

    None offered at West Coast University.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are no clubs or extracurricular activities offered at West Coast University.

    Great for these types of students

    There are many different types of students who attend West Coast University, and each of them do exceptionally well. This school is great for students straight out of high school, for students who have families, students bridging over, and for students who have jobs. As long as you are committed, you will do great at this school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One unusual tradition held here at West Coast University is Student Appreciation Week. During this week, there is a Carl's Jr. truck that comes to feed each and every student who attends this school. Students are also given a free West Coast University sweatshirt to sport their school pride.

    Bang for the buck

    West Coast University is very pricey compared to other schools that I have crossed while researching on different colleges for my major. (Nursing) Although it is very expensive, I feel that it is worth the amount of money. In three years, I will graduate the program with a Bachelors in Nursing compared to the average six to eight years at a community college where students are put on a wait-list. At this University, there are no wait-lists and every student is given their class schedule before hand which means no fighting for classes. There is room for everyone in this school. Also, everything is included in the initial cost they give us. This includes books, scrubs, parking, class supplies, tutoring, and any other uniforms needed for the program. The staff also help their students in creating their resume, in time management programs, in ways to save money, and in many different ways to help us while we are in the program and after we graduate.

    What to do for fun

    There is the student commons area which most students spend time on breaks or in between classes. Here, students can socialize, eat their lunches or dinners, or even study in groups. Every once in a while the school has student appreciation week, in which a Carl's Jr. truck will come to the school and feed all of the students. During that same week, every student will be given a free West Coast University sweatshirt. The school does not offer any extracurricular activities, but in some classes we are given different projects to do such as video projects that we can do around the school and even include the staff in. It is always fun to get to know your professors and classmates.

    Food and Dining

    There are vending machines in the student lounge which offer chips, candy, and other sugary foods that can help get the students through the five hour classes. There are five different vending machines which give the students a variety of choices from healthier foods like sandwiches to sugary foods like honey buns. The vending machine that I would say is most appreciated is the coffee machine which offers large coffees for only 55 cents per cup!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms offered at West Coast University.

    Academic Rigor

    West Coast University is a pretty flexible school as far as academics. In order to pass a course, you need to earn a C or above. However, if you fail three classes you will be put on academic restriction and you will have to meet with a board of professors to plea your case and explain to them why you should be given another chance to attend the college.

    Tips for prospective students

    My number one tip for prospective students is to manage their time wisely. This school requires a lot of study time and students need to be serious about it from the get-go. The classes are eight weeks, and then students are given one week off and in the tenth week, the next course begins. This means that if students get behind it is crucial for them to catch up as soon as possible because as the classes are accelerated, it is easy to get left behind.

    In three sentences

    West Coast University is a really amazing school that enables you to reach your educational goals in less time than most other colleges. It is challenging in sense that you have to be very committed to the program as it is an accelerated course. I would recommend West Coast University to any student who is serious about reaching their educational goals.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    haven't started yet

    Tips for prospective students

    save for college

    In three sentences

    west coast is expensive. west coast offers fast acceptance. west coast is close to home.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a very safe campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Somewhat due to getting a bachelor's degree.

    What to do for fun

    I like to go out to eat with friends and watch movies.

    Food and Dining

    No cafeteria at the Anahiem campus, only vending machines. Some however have sandwiches and hot pockets. I give it a 1 star.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    If transferring, some class will not transfer even if it is the same class. I give it a 3 star out of 5.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go here directly after high school.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school. The tuition cost is a little high, but the degree is worth it. Everyone is very helpful and attentive to students needs.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 14 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    it will be well worth it.

    What to do for fun

    I don't have fun. i work and study.

    Food and Dining

    there is a deli shop where you can buy food, but they are not affiliated with the college here in Dallas, Texas campus.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here in Dallas, Texas on college campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to study your behinds off! It will be well worth it.

    In three sentences

    Excellent BSNursing program. The program concept is genius. I only have one year before i complete the program.

  • 01/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 15 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security on campus all day everyday.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive school

    What to do for fun

    STUDY STUDY STUDY and hang out with classmates.

    Food and Dining

    We do not have food at our school but there are snacks you can buy and nearby fast food restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at my school.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics is taken very seriously and the campus does not tolerate cheating. Grading is done by staff.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be lazy and stay on top of you assignments.

    In three sentences

    I love learning about Nursing! This school offers the classes needed to prepare me in becoming a nurse and offer a friendly environment.

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 16 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It could be better, but its going to take some time to perfect it. There are always security guards around.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who dedicate EVERYTHING to school. People who are hard working and can keep up with the fast pace schooling

    What to do for fun

    Study. You're in nursing school. There is no fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dedicate all of your time. Having a job will just make it harder. Spend the extra time to read the whole chapter and make descriptive notes to refer to in the future. This was you can sell your book.

    In three sentences

    I love this school, I'm learning a lot and it takes a lot of dedication. This school is hard and requires a lot of time, sacrifice, and patience. This can be difficult at times, but I'm sure it will pay off.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are focused and drivin to obtain a goal!

    What to do for fun

    Fun? What fun? lol While in nursing school you don't have much time for fun so making friends in the school and forming a fun study group will help. I work when I'm not in school.

    Food and Dining

    They have a dining hall at this campus but I haven't started school here yet so I have not had a chance to experience it.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms at this university.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't started the program yet but it's nursing school, it's going to be tough!

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus! This is a very costly program but from what I've heard, this is going to be a great experience. I would suggest making sure this is the right type of atmosphere for you since it's not like a regular university, it's just one building. I am currently an LVN and from going through nursing school already, I can say that it's going to be a challenege, especially since the classes are only ten weeks long. So be prepared to study hard and make friends while you're there. Study groups help! Also if you plan to attend the school soon, I would apply at least 4 weeks in advance and you have to take the Hesi A2 exam before being accepted into the nursing program so be sure to prepare for that exam before hand. It's not too bad but can take up to 4 hours to complete.

    In three sentences

    I'm an LVN and will be starting the LVN-BSN program soon and I have visited the campus and everything is up to date with amazing nursing labs. The classes are only 10 weeks long so will be very challenging but the staff seems nice so should be helpful. I think this school will provide a great education with all the resoures they have available to their students.

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You must have an access card to get on the elevators and go to any of the floors, and you are always greeted by the friendly security guards at the front desk. Cameras everywhere.

    Greek Life

    None yet

    Clubs and Activities

    They will pay one yr dues for nursing affiliations

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are ready to move on with your career and motivated to take classes serious. This is the place for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school is new to Dallas area, so still expanding. Student population is growing, but still small classes as of now. Which is great!

    Bang for the buck

    No lottery or wait list, and once you are excepted there is not a separate application for the upper division nursing course, and your training is great.

    What to do for fun

    work out

    Food and Dining

    New building and new school to the Dallas area, right now they have a small cafe.

    Dorm Life

    None- My home!

    Academic Rigor

    Face pace classes, study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your preqeq's before applying, tuition can be very costly.

    In three sentences

    The school is very organized, professional and use state-of-the-art training tools.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    here is how i see it., yes it is expensive but they have a set plan for you to finish. just stick to it and you will be out of their faster than a community college waiting to get in nursing program becuase they are on lottery picks. Plus every year you arent working as a nurse or a hygienist that is money taken out of your pocket. the sooner you finish the more you make. just make sure your serious about it because its a lot of money to pay back if you dont finish

    Dorm Life

    none

    Tips for prospective students

    get your general ed done first because the school is super expensive and you can take a lot of the pre reqs done at 2 year community school for a lot cheaper. they usually dont take quarter unit classes because their isnt as much time put into class like a semester is. but make sure with adviser what local school is best to transfer units.

    In three sentences

    expensive. quick. worth it

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The people you meet is the most fun!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get ready because this school is competitive and challenging.

    In three sentences

    It is a friendly and helpful environment. High education with good reputation. Best choice of my life.

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    nothing

    Food and Dining

    there are vending machines

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    education is on their priority as is yours

    Tips for prospective students

    stay on top of everything. this is a very fast paced program

    In three sentences

    a very professional environment

  • 02/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are police officers on campus at all times.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student counsel and associations are available to junior and senior students.

    Great for these types of students

    Commuter students and those who want to get their degree faster.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a lot of online options for prerequisites.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a very expensive private school but is totally worth it. I am close to graduation and feel like I will be over prepared for my state and national boards. I will be done with my Bachelors degree faster than someone on a wait list for an associates degree. Life does not wait for you and if you consider how much money you will lose on a wait list for a 2 year degree, you may as well get your 4 year degree NOW and be more educated and stronger at your job.

    What to do for fun

    We are across the street from Disneyland for those who are Disney junkies. Extra time not studying is given to the gym or relaxing.

    Food and Dining

    For a while there were only vending machines, but now there are regular food trucks every week. Some have healthy options and it is nice to have a change of the same old thing we walk to every day.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms available here.

    Academic Rigor

    If you have to take prerequisites at this school, its a breeze for the most part. There are a lot of commuter students here and some even live in other states while taking some online classes. Once you get into your core studies it is extremely demanding. You have to be a very serious student and be prepared to temporarily put your life on hold. It is worth it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your financial aid in order early. It takes a while to get loans in this current economy, even if you have great credit and/or a co-signer. You don't want to put your career on hold because the funding cant get there in time.

    In three sentences

    This school will get you to your end goal much faster than any other school with a higher degree. Some classes are available online in this accelerated program. Once you get to your core classes the education is very extensive and detailed.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    study

    In three sentences

    great nursing expereince. great teachers pretty expensive

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They always have off duty officers on campus. They will escort you out to your car if needed. They are always roaming the halls of the building but it makes us feel extremely secure.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    No extra curricular activities as of yet. They are in the works of student government. The school is geared for academics not activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students with a drive to become an RN.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Very basic/small campus but you get to know almost everyone that you graduate with. The class sizes are small enough that the professors get to know you on a more personal level.

    Bang for the buck

    You are guaranteed a graduation date with your BSN. There are no waiting lists like other schools have. It is geared towards your success. The teachers are there for you and the staff are so wonderful.

    What to do for fun

    The school is more focused on academics than activities. You are able to activities related to your classes but this is not a party school nor is it intended for student who are undecided on their major.

    Food and Dining

    To be desired. You have to leave campus to get a real meal.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available

    Academic Rigor

    Higher division and nursing classes are hard but it is needed in the nursing field.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in with some of your GE credits already done. It will save you a ton of money on tuition. Come in with a dedication to school. The terms are only 10 weeks and the class go by extremely fast but is well worth it.

    In three sentences

    Although VERY expensive, the professors, staff, and simulation center are worth the cost. The Ontario campus is almost brand new with all of the latest equipment to help you in your nursing career.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I think its a very spendy school- They dont offer a lot of help as far as helping you get enrolled.

    What to do for fun

    no on campus activities. Study!

    Food and Dining

    I dont know because I havent started yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    it is very expensive and there aren't a lot of options for aide here.

    In three sentences

    friendly staff. Small campus atmosphere. Detailed info session.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    The only club I could think of is the PAL program but it is not really a group. It is a pear assistance program which is a program ran by students to help students.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for those who like to work at a fast pace and like a nine week term. For students who are up for the challenge.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    The school costs alot but you get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    For fun I just get on the computer and let time pass.

    Food and Dining

    There is not a cafeteria at the Anaheim WCU campus. Food trucks come every week but that is about it.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorming at WCU.

    Academic Rigor

    The teacher are really helpful and they just want you to do good. You really have a connection with the teachers and they help you to understand difficult concepts.

    Tips for prospective students

    I know some people say this school is expensive and do not go for it, I always believe if you want something then money should not matter. WCU is a good school and so far I love it here.

    In three sentences

    West coast is up to date on the new technology and information in association with nursing. The tuition is great but you get what you pay for. There is no wait list in this school.

  • 03/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security on watch from open to closed.

    Greek Life

    Never joined

    Great for these types of students

    For students in the medical field.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Student services, help u in any way they can.

    Bang for the buck

    Work hard

    What to do for fun

    Study in the library!

    Food and Dining

    A simple cafeteria to have food and converse with classmates.

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm, I live with parents

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are awesome!! They make u feel very important and do there best to help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to attend class and work hard at all times in your studies.

    In three sentences

    West coast university helps you achieve your education goals successfully. Reliable and helpful to each student. The school campus makes you feel like they care about you

  • 04/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Do any activities that will destress you. Stress is a bug part of the program but it is atainable.

    Food and Dining

    No dorms available.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    Good and teachers are very helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    The courses are intense and fast pace but many people accomplish them succefully. Stay focused and make friends because that is what gets one through it.

    In three sentences

    I really like how the general education portion of the program is easily put together and accomplished. All the professors, for general edication and the nursing courses, are extremely helpful and encouraging. The finacial office is not very helpful and anyone that is wanting to go to this school should familiarize him/herself with the finacial aspect of going to college.

  • 04/04/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    29 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    amazing!

    Tips for prospective students

    Save all you can before you enroll. Finish your prereq's at a cc. be very organized

    In three sentences

    west coast university is very advanced. It has a great on site simulation program as well as a great faculty. West Coast University is a great option for a BSN.

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I play tennis nad workout.

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus on the future.

    In three sentences

    Great experience thus far. I am looking forward on attending. Hopefully all goes well.

  • 06/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Disneyland.

    Food and Dining

    Close to disneyland so there are restaurants around.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Fast paced. Accelerated.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for all of the studying and the expensive tuition.

    In three sentences

    Very expensive school but worth it because there's no waitlist or anything. As long as you're in the program and maintain a good grade, you will do fine in this school. Since its an accelerated program, expect to learn a lot of things in short periods of time.

  • 06/07/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    32 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I enjoy family time and going for long walks.

    Food and Dining

    They have several restaurants and eateries locally around the campus.

    Dorm Life

    Don't have dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Highly challenging but work it.

    Tips for prospective students

    To set aside alot of studying time and if you're able to just focus on school, that would be ideal.

    In three sentences

    West Coast University is an accredited dental hygiene school. It's an accomplished University that offers several programs. The dental hygiene program is highly rated by previous students.

  • 07/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Just saw the report indicating no thefts or rapes. They have multiple security guards roaming the parking lot and hallways/classrooms to ensure safety.

    Greek Life

    Does not exist at this school because it is a commuter school.

    Clubs and Activities

    They only have a NSNA cabinet that meets once a week during common class times.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who like to study on their own, have a lot of money, and have previous hospital experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Only has three study rooms, during midterms and finals make sure you book in advance.

    Bang for the buck

    Let's be honest, you pay big bucks, you expect quality education. This is not always the case. Again, this is a for profit school and they make you feel that way. Your education may seem like an inconvenience to the Dean of Nursing herself.

    What to do for fun

    As it is a commuter school there is not much on campus, not even clubs to join. There are a couple malls in the area.

    Food and Dining

    They have a couple vending machines, typical chips and cookies. There is also coffee machine that dispenses about 6 oz coffee cups for under a dollar when you're falling asleep in your five hour classes.

    Dorm Life

    This school is for commuters only, there are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    They are for profit so they want you to pass the NCLEX, you will not graduate if you are unprepared. Be prepared for several hours of simply reading the material assigned in addition to homework and studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you tour the campus and are comfortable with it, it's not for everyone. Be mindful that there is no sales of warm food on campus, have to drive somewhere, but many locations within ten minute radius. Do anything you can to reduce your loans.

    In three sentences

    Definitely a for profit school. Is both good and bad. Professors want to be here.

  • 07/17/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    34 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe when approaching this campus and studying here.

    Greek Life

    To my knowledge, there is no Greek life on this campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I start in the fall, so I haven't had a chance to become involved in any clubs or activities yet.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are dedicated and a determined student, this school is perfect. Plus from my perspective, any type of student is welcomed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I haven't seen any traditions yet.

    Bang for the buck

    I think the technologically driven school is definitely worth the money. It puts the educational training in real life time situations.

    What to do for fun

    Nursing school is very difficult. I would

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining is also not provided by this campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't had any course there yet. I start August 26th 2013. But all of my courses transferred and I have not had any issues getting registered for my upcoming classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would consider going to the information sessions to determine if this is the right school for you. That was what truly made my decision. The tuition is very pricey, but it is definitely worth the money.

    In three sentences

    I love this school and the campus is beautiful. The educators are wonderful. I have had a great experience during my admission process.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus is a very professional setting so there isnt much fun on campus.

    Food and Dining

    West Coast University Dallas is located in a professional building so there is only one place to eat. They have a cafe located in the building, but the way the program is organized you will very rarely have to dine at the school.

    Dorm Life

    West Coast University Dallas campus does not offer dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    West Coast has a very rigorous course load. Due to the 9 week terms and 1 day a week, 5 hour classes, you have to be very organized and disciplined to complete the program. Some of the students have jobs, but it is very difficult to have jobs and sometimes kids if you're a singe parent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready for a vigorous course load. West Coast is an accelerated program that offers 9 week terms. So in order to be successful at this University you have to be very organized and disciplined. In a sense you have to be a little selfish because in order to complete their nursing program you pretty much have to devote yourself to the program and be ready to spend a lot of hours not only in school but devoted to the course load.

    In three sentences

    West Coast is an awesome school if you are the type of person that wants to learn only what you need to know for your career path. You are only required to complete prerequisites that are specific to your degree path. You graduate with your BSN (bachelor of science in nursing) in 3.3 years, start to finish.

  • 09/21/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    36 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have guards on duty all hours of school!

    Greek Life

    None that i know of

    Clubs and Activities

    super fun!

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing & Dental

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It's really easy to find

    Bang for the buck

    SO EXPENSIVE

    What to do for fun

    I love to figure skate

    Food and Dining

    No food! haha

    Dorm Life

    No dorms!

    Tips for prospective students

    Study and don't slack off. Procrastination is a big problem in school, but don't do it!

    In three sentences

    West Coast University is one of the cleanest school's I've been to. The environment is so welcoming and everyone is so friendly. I've never been to such an amazing school in my life.

  • 09/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for student who do not want to waste anytime and just dive into school and finish soon.

    Bang for the buck

    It is very expensive but I don't care because it is for my education. I feel that I am being prepared for higher education and that is all that matters to me.

    Food and Dining

    there is no cafeteria, only vending machines. If you are there for long hours bring a lunch.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at WCU are very knowledgable and are available for tutoring. The material is difficult if you do not study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are serious about studying. One course builds on to the next, especially in the sciences. If you just try to get by cramming you might have a hard time.

    In three sentences

    My experience at WCU has been good thus far. It is my fourth term there. In November I will be starting the core nursing courses, I am very excited! Academically I don't have anything negative to say.

  • 12/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty safe there are usually two or three security guards during the day also two at night.

    Greek Life

    NONE

    Bang for the buck

    West Coast University is a great school. However, it is overly priced. Tuition cost is ridiculous and it is difficult for students to come up with outrageous tuition payments.

    What to do for fun

    Not much fun if you are in the BSN program as it requires a lot of your time studying and reading.

    Food and Dining

    Vending machines are a usual snack for students. However outside of campus there are restaurants and fast food dining.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life, this is a commuter school.

    Academic Rigor

    Nursing core classes are the primary focus you must receive at least a 76% in all test and exams in order to pass the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take as many classes outside of this school as possible. The more incoming transfer credits you have the less time it will take you to graduate, also the less money you will have to pay for tuition.

    In three sentences

    West Coast University is a fast paced program. It involves a lot of commitment and effort. It is a very rigorous program but you will come out learning a lot about the practice of nursing.

  • 02/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Study Study Study... enjoy your 1 week break between terms.

    Food and Dining

    vending machines available.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are in 10 week terms 5-hr classes each week, and are intense, but do-able. Time goes quickly so its best to not slack off.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tuition is pricey, but if you are able to afford it. Its really great. No waiting lists is a great advantage.

    In three sentences

    Great student diversity. Staff and teachers really care about student success. Its a really good school.

  • 02/26/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    40 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they have fantastic security and everyone has the check in with the front desk.

    Greek Life

    no greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    no clubs

    Great for these types of students

    The type of students who don't mind hard work and a fast paced environment. Also a long commitment and time consuming.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I haven't started this school yet but I'm sure they have their own traditions that i will be soon surrounded by.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is extremely expensive, however in the long run it is overall worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Study, Study, Study, and more study, what more fun than school.

    Food and Dining

    unfortunately there is no food and dining at this university.

    Dorm Life

    unfortunately there is no dorm life at this university.

    Academic Rigor

    the courses are very consistent with no time or breaks in between the semesters. It is pretty much 10 weeks then another 10 week then another 10 week sand it continues for a little less than 3 and a half years. It has prestiges courses, simulation rooms and activities as well amazing faculty to top it off.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a small campus but it has a lot more too offer. The simulations and smaller classroom sizes seem intimidating but don't get ahead of yourself, it will be easier to work within a smaller environment. I haven't started yet so I can't really say much, however I have the best feeling and excitement to begin very soon.

    In three sentences

    I had the opportunity to tour the campus and i was very impressed. They have top of the line equipment and facility to assist the students and push them towards success. I was very please with this University and I can't way to begin in April of 2014.