Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

West Georgia Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/02/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are sure of what they'd like to do and are ready to enter that field. Also students like me who are trying to get some of their core classes done before going to a 4 year school.

    Bang for the buck

    My financial aid has covered all of my tuition and fees. The school is definitely not expensive at all. I had to pay for one quarter out of pocket due to my own issues with my financial aid but it didn't break me. You definitely get more than you pay for in my opinion.

    Am enjoying being here

    This school is very convenient for me. It's close to home and my job. A lot of my friends from high school are there too and people I know from the area.

    Am learning a lot

    My classes are not very large and the teachers can focus on individual needs. All of the teachers I've had so far have been incredible and very helpful. You learn a lot more than just subject matter here. There are so many different types of students to talk to and learn with. You pretty much learn from everyone you're around.

  • 05/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Military, Adult education classes are great, single moms, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to work hard. This school strives for it's students to display excellence. Study hard! and keep up with your work, it will be very hard if you fall behind!

    Bang for the buck

    This school can be mostly paid for just by completing FAFSA, if you have a decent GPA your almost guaranteed a free education.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus although somewhat new is not very well kept up. The resources for the students are helpful but not quite up to par with other educational institutions I've visited.

    Am learning a lot

    This school while having a long list of core subject classes does not have what you might call a rigorous educational standard. I am learning many life skills however in my courses and communication and relational skills. This school had definitely helped my potential for reaching my degree

  • 01/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The only real thing to do is to go to the Carrollton Cinema.

    Food and Dining

    There are many local fast food restaurants, and the book store provides some nutritional options.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, but it is convenient for those living in the area and within a 50 mile radius to drive.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are wonderful, but challenging. It helps students think critically.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips: Structure and organization in your classes are key to making and maintaining proper grades.

    In three sentences

    It is a very nice campus. The staff are wonderful and always willing to help the students. It is a short commute from my home, and from my job.

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    five stars

    What to do for fun

    sports

    Food and Dining

    nice open cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    none

    Tips for prospective students

    get to know your advisors in the office, they become your friends and look out for your best interest:)

    In three sentences

    west georgia is in a small town in georgia, and is quiet and calm. everyone is pleasant and involved within the school. the campus is always clean and exiting to be at.

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    a vary of food in a vending machine

    Tips for prospective students

    do all your work and no missing any classes

    In three sentences

    this school can help you find what you want to do with your life. you can easily change your degree or major in a jiffy. the people there are quite nice and helpful.

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The schools has activities for all students weekly to monthly.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are hired with bachelor degrees

    Tips for prospective students

    Small classroom,tuition rates low,2 year college,transferable credits

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are several shopping outlets i.e. Ashley Park. Several wonderful and affordable eateries i.e. Rockback Pizza. We have beautiful parks, movie theaters, and homes that will take your breathe away.

    Food and Dining

    There are alot of great local places to dine here: Olive Garden, Tokyo Japanese Steakhouse, etc.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is a load and may be challenging, but doable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go in with an open mind. There are alot of resources for you to succeed. It is up to you.

    In three sentences

    It is a liad back environment. It has attentitive professors. I love my school.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This school is great for a student on a budget!

    In three sentences

    This school is a great place for independent students. If you are the type of person that can work through your goals alone than this school is perfect. The staff can be a little misleading.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a mall and a movie theater close to campus.

    Food and Dining

    Food is not served on campus but there are plenty of places to eat not far from campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The health programs are serious and classes can get rough.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and make sure to apply for all local scholarships offered through the school.

    In three sentences

    All administrative staff I have talked to are friendly and are willing to help you. The Douglas campus is easy to navigate and is located in a decent area. The competitive health care selection process is fair and based on academics.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Snack machines, but a small microwave in case you brought your lunch.

    Dorm Life

    No onsite available.

    Academic Rigor

    For the most part it's easy stuff, and the teachers will take time to explain it to you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get there a little early if unfamiliar with the layout, the rooms jump around a bit.

    In three sentences

    Incredibly helpful and patient, I was homeschooled before this and unfamiliar with the flow of school. All the teachers I've had thus far are kind and great at their job.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much

    Food and Dining

    None available

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep a copy of all notifications and or communications that you receive from faculty. Ask questions, and demand to speak with an advisor if need be.

    In three sentences

    This school is very unorganized, the Douglasville campus specifically. The main campus (Murphy) is a little more organized, but it still leaves much to be desired. I have not had any bad experiences, but I've had some rather confusing ones.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    All of the campuses are safe. An officer is on patrol most of the day.

    Greek Life

    None from what I can tell.

    Clubs and Activities

    PBL and SGA (There are more though)

    Great for these types of students

    Adults going back to school, adults with children, young adults, young adults with children

    Bang for the buck

    Like I stated before, it is $75 a credit and is an accredited college.

    What to do for fun

    For fun there are random activities like bands that play, artist that draw the students, and raffles at times. Many other events happen but I haven't a clue at the moment.

    Food and Dining

    There is no dining area for students on my campus (Coweta) so that's why I gave it a one. Vending machines are not sufficient meals.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not exactly sure what dorm life is like because I live off campus. I think that dorm life would be about a three because no dorm is spacious and I like space.

    Academic Rigor

    Four stars because the school is inexpensive, caring, and benefits the students in means of time.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only tip I can tell you is to not take online courses if you procrastinate and don't plan well.

    In three sentences

    The college is a clean and kind environment. I like that all the teachers are comfortable about going around a students busy schedule especially if they have children. Education comes at the low price of $75 dollars a credit.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The bookstore offers many treats and beverages. There are 3 student lounges to eat in.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at West Georgia Technical College is great because it is a local community college you get to live at home.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Continuing Education Nursing Medical

    Bang for the buck

    WGTC has many campuses south of Atlanta, and is building a really nice one in Newnan, Ga, that will be up and running in 2013. I can't wait.

    What to do for fun

    WGTC is very good about extracurricular activities for students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to get all information needed before making any decisions, whether it be about tuition, classes, or majors. It is important that you take control of your education.

    In three sentences

    West Ga Tech, is a really good school. I give them 4 out of 5 stars. They could add a little more variety in some of the courses they offer.

  • 08/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They could definitely have healthier and more variety of choices in the vending machine.

    Dorm Life

    I rated it 3 stars/average because I am at a campus without the option of living on campus so I wouldn't have knowledge of dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are excellent, there aren't any extra filler courses that you don't need. You can get the degree,certificate, or diploma in a very fast, timely manner with no hassle.

  • 02/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    join clubs and enjoy student activities and play sports

    Tips for prospective students

    utilize the school web site and banner web...it's very helpful

    In three sentences

    It's close to home. it's affordable. easy to use.

  • 02/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never had a problem.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not a lot to do.

    Great for these types of students

    Need to get their core out of the way before university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, a really cheap school.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing really.

    Food and Dining

    None

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Mostly really easy, too easy really.

    Tips for prospective students

    A decent school to attend if you want a cheap way to get your core done.

    In three sentences

    This college is an okay college to attend. Some teachers are really easy but others are really difficult. I would only do my core here.

  • 03/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I FEEL ITS A SAFE CAMPUS.

    Clubs and Activities

    MANY.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    they have many.

    Bang for the buck

    stay active.

    What to do for fun

    I like to go to movies and walk in the park.

    Food and Dining

    Eat OFF CAMPUS.

    Dorm Life

    I dont stay on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    DO ALL YOUR ASSIGNMENTS AND STAY ACTIVE.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a computer class , I havent yet and I feel it would help, ALSO A MATH WOULD HAVE HELPED.

    In three sentences

    I have enjoyed attending, I am satisfied with there setting, class rooms and instructors. I have not attended any writing classes so please dont judge them by my writing this.