Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

West Kentucky Community and Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/24/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    When applying for this college be ready to have a terrific college accept you. If you know what you want to major in you can be in and out! This college makes transfer to a four year college a snap!!

  • 10/06/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    WKCTC is great for many kinds of students - traditional or non-traditional. I know a lot of students that are going there to be a nurse, but there are many majors and programs to choose from.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're not exactly sure what you want to do, take your basic classes first, like English and Math. I thought I would have graduated last spring, but because I continued switching my major, I took classes that I didn't need for my current major and now I'm a semester behind from when I thought I was going to graduate.

    Bang for the buck

    I love how cheap WKCTC is compared to other schools. I'm able to graduate after this semester, but I'm going to continue for one more semester just so I can take a few more classes that I need for my major.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's a beautiful campus, and the teachers are friendly. I don't have any complaints about the school.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are very helpful, and it's cool that most of the classes are somewhat small compared to a large class at a university. It gives the chance for the teachers to know you and your weaknesses in the class so that they can help you.

  • 08/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Every class you take transfers to a big university so that it actually counts and means something in the long run.

    Am enjoying being here

    It is perfect for newly graduated students or people who have been out of school for a few years. They don't expect you to know or remember everything.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes really challenge you to do your best.

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe.

    Greek Life

    I am not involved at this time

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not involved at this time.

    Bang for the buck

    I have searched other classes and WCTC has by reasonable tuition rates

    What to do for fun

    Study and then wind down on a walk to through the mall.

    Food and Dining

    School is located about 5 miles from the mall and tons of restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Teacher's here are very helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up early!

    In three sentences

    WKCTC is friendly. The Adviser's are there to help. The bookstore is very convenient.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    anyone who is seeking to start a different career or just go back to school!

    What to do for fun

    we have art exhibits, poetry readings, writing contests, open mics, happening hours and all sorts of fun things to do. during our happening hours we sometimes have games and food!

    Food and Dining

    the center cafe and the cyber cafe are both on campus and incredibly delectable! amazing food for super cheap, what more could a college student want?

    Dorm Life

    there aren't dorms. but i'm sure if we had them, they'd be awesome!

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are not hard, but not easy. it's a community college so there are a wide range of students, meaning they have to keep the curriculum to a certain point. the teachers are however crazy about their subject and will go to the distances to help you understand it better (as long as you're willing to work with them, of course!)

    Tips for prospective students

    visit an advisor immediately! they will help you get on track and figure out exactly what it is that you need to do.

    In three sentences

    i love this school! the teachers are great, the students are awesome, and the cafe is amazing! it's an overall excellent place to learn and grow.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    This can only be described as the limits of your imagination.

    Food and Dining

    It does not have a formal cafeteria for its students, but it does have a small cafe located at each end of the campus.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately WKCTC is lacking in dorms. I have heard that they recently constructed some and are possibly in the process of adding more. As it stands now, many students would love to live on campus in a dorm but are unable to.

    Academic Rigor

    WKCTC, from my perspective, gives off a unique vibe in that you feel and know that in the end it is you and you alone that sets the standard for academic rigor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work with your professors. They are there for you in many ways and can be very understanding and helpful. Stay on top of your work. It is, after all, your work.

    In three sentences

    West Kentucky Community and Technical College is a great place for someone looking for a place to start there college education. It is small enough that you never feel overwhelmed and are always able to get done what needs to be done. WKCTC deserves every bit of its title as being in the top 5 community colleges in the nation.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of opportunities on campus that will allow for you to have fun, as well as gain experience for your resume.

    Food and Dining

    Awesome restaurants in this area.

    Dorm Life

    As far as I know, there are no dorms, as this is a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared to learn because the teachers here are very well-informed on the subject in which they are teaching. They will help every step of the way with any problem that you have.

    In three sentences

    WKCTC is an absolutely amazing school. They offer a variety of degrees and opportunities here that most community colleges do not offer. I would not choose any other community college over WKCTC.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Dont be afraid to ask questions

    In three sentences

    This is one of the best schools i have been to.. All the faculty and staff are very helpful and are willing to help you with anything that you may need.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is extremely safe.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs to join and activites to engage in.

    Great for these types of students

    I know of none.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I know of none.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost is excellent for the amount of education you receive.

    What to do for fun

    You can go to the Kentucky Oaks Mall in your spare time,

    Food and Dining

    I bring my lunch because it costs money to eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    There is no hardship if you work hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard in high school to get as many scholarships as possible.

    In three sentences

    This is a wonderful school. I am excited to get started on my Associates in Radiography degree as soon as I get accepted to the program. I plan on working hard and getting as much experience as possible in order to excel in my field.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Home-bound or lower class individuals on a budget!

    What to do for fun

    Clubs and groups.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay for tutoring, meet regularly with instructors, and read!

    In three sentences

    This school seems a little unorganized. This school does not make the best attempt to qualify students for real world instances and situations. Overall, this school could be better at advising students with registration and scheduling.

  • 01/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good security that is constantly updating things to make the campus safer.

    Greek Life

    Not a large selection of Greek fraternities that I know of. But there are a couple.

    Clubs and Activities

    I didn't participate in any clubs but I did participate in the recycling program and it was very well organized.

    Great for these types of students

    The entire college is great for students that want to get a associates degree then transfer to a four year college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Almost every week there is something that seems completely random being done at the school, from one day volleyball tournaments to having a magician in the student center.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a very cheap community college and has one of the best teaching staffs in the country. So you will get a lot of Bang for your Buck.

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy hanging out in the cafe in the Emerging Technology Center or playing basketball in the campus gym.

    Food and Dining

    They only have two small cafes but the food served is pretty good. The staff is friendly though.

    Dorm Life

    They don't offer any dorms, but there are several apartments closely nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    All of the teachers make difficult classes seem easy with their different techniques. They also stick very tightly to their syllabus' so you know what most every class is going to be about.

    Tips for prospective students

    By going to WKCTC, you will not but disappointed in any way. It will also allows to get many different kinds of degrees and greatly prepares you to transfer if that is what you want to do.

    In three sentences

    West Kentucky is amazing in many ways. It has an abundance of excellent teachers that are equally amazing at teacher in their fields. It also presents an amazing atmosphere for students to learn and meet many new people and friends.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    WKCTC is great for students who live in Western Kentucky, who don't want to leave home to get an education.

    Bang for the buck

    I think it's the best education for your money.

    What to do for fun

    There are various clubs and activities that take place on campus nearly every day.

    Food and Dining

    The food is fantastic! The culinary students are always making the most delicious meals.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms at WKCTC.

    Academic Rigor

    I won't lie and say it's easy. If you really want to succeed, you will work hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    One of the best tips for prospective students would be to make sure you fill out your FASFA form early. Make sure you pay attention in class, by showing up on time, taking notes, listening, and participating. If you ask for help, someone will help you.

    In three sentences

    WKCTC is an outstanding school. The staff is extremely helpful. It would be difficult not to succeed at this school, because the instructors are so encouraging.

  • 10/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for any type of student.

    What to do for fun

    Our campus offers alot of extracuricular activities such as our basketball team and many other things that happen on campus including concerts.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent food

    Dorm Life

    Our campus does not have room and board for students.

    Academic Rigor

    Very competitive and well worth the hard work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and make good grades. In college your GPA is everything.

    In three sentences

    We are currently ranked in the top 10 community colleges in the nation. My personal experience here at West Kentucky Community & Technical College has been wonderful. This institution has fully prepared me for a better future.

  • 11/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I simply come to college to get my work done. I don't really do anything fun at the college.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is great and even if you don't like it thy there are plenty or places around in a ten mile radius.

    Dorm Life

    I drive back and forth everyday from home but I only go two days a week so it's cheaper for me this way.

    Academic Rigor

    Love the opportunities that I have here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take tons of notes and don't overload yourself with classes.

    In three sentences

    I love this college and how close it is to home. My work and college schedule go good together and I am still able to go to my other job. I love the online availability that I have here for the classes to transfer to my next college that will go towards my major.

  • 12/31/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    15 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    USE ALL THE TUTURING AVAILABLE, I LIVED IN THE (T.R.I.O) ROOM, IT WAS BECUASE OF THEM I PASSED MATH & ENGLISH.

    In three sentences

    I GOT MY ASSOCIATES DEGREE THIS SCHOOL MADE IT SO EASY FOR ME THE THINGS I LEARNED ARE FAR FROM GONE MY CREDITS EASILY TRANSFERED SO I WILL CONTINUE TO STUDY ON

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is no cafeteria at WKCTC, but there are a couple different cafes. I have eaten at the Center Cafe numerous times, mostly their pizza and cheese sticks which I think are delicious. It is a little pricey, but it's to be expected.

    Dorm Life

    WKCTC doesn't offer dorms that I know of.

    Academic Rigor

    Of course a community college's classes aren't going to be quite as difficult as some universities, but I believe WKCTC does well in this area.

    Tips for prospective students

    WKCTC is ranked in the top ten community colleges in the nation, and there's no question as to why. The experience is not what most students expect from a community college. Though not overbearing, the classes are challenging and not overly priced. I've had enjoyable teachers for the most part, and an overall enjoyable time.

    In three sentences

    I am in a phenomenal program offered at WKCTC called the Commonwealth Middle College. I am currently a high school senior taking classes on campus and enjoy it immensely. The teachers are very helpful more often than not, and the classes are straightforward.

  • 04/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to get back into school after some time off or anyone who works full time, has a family, or just wants to earn certificates to better their careers.

    Bang for the buck

    West Kentucky is extremely cost friendly and you do not see any drop off in the challenges presented in the course material. At around 1/3 cost of my previous college, I actually expected so sort of decline, but I was finding my courses to be equally as challenging.

    Food and Dining

    Same as dorm life.

    Dorm Life

    I decided to mark as average because all my classes have been online, so I cannot actually give a strong or weak rating for this.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging, interactive

    Tips for prospective students

    Email advisors and professors early on to touch base. While the syllabus outlines what is expected, it is beneficial to ask questions before you get deep in the semester and find yourself looking for answers. Also, make sure to check your academic plan and try to plan how you would like to take courses. This way when it is time to enroll for the next semester, you have a plan laid out, which makes the process even easier.

    In three sentences

    West Kentucky Community and Technical College has allowed me to continue my education fully online while also working full-time. While I was unsure what to expect switching from part time on campus to full time online, the transition has been smooth and the faculty has been fantastic at helping me through my academic career! I could not have asked for a better experience than what I have had the last year and a half at WKCTCS!