Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

West Liberty University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/11/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great if your looking for a smaller university. Teachers are friendly and helpful. Not all about sports & opportunities for different clubs and academics. Alot of bang for the buck. Great scholarship opportunities!

    Tips for prospective students

    Gain access for alot of scholarships if you keep your gpa up

  • 12/09/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for everyone =), especially for student who want to go into Dental Hygiene.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is on top of a hill so there isn't mauch to do, but there is always some kind of activtey that you can do.

    Am learning a lot

    This school is a lot high school in the size of your classes. The teachers will work with you to help you understand the material.

  • 11/01/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for everyone no matter what the interest, it is not solely a sports school, or a performing arts school it has a little something for everyone. If you are looking for a Smaller college where you know your not just a number this is the place for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    West Liberty is on a hill, so be prepared for a little walking Get involved there is so much to there is bound to be something your interested in.

    Bang for the buck

    This is one of the most affordable Universities whether you are an in state or out of state student.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone one you talk to is so friendly and there are always activites going on, there is never a dull moment.

  • 03/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i always feel safe, even if i'm walking home in the late night, early morning hours.

    Great for these types of students

    great school for art students of all backgrounds and talent.

    Bang for the buck

    worth every penny!

    What to do for fun

    there are lots of clubs to join, people to meet. extracurricular activities are abundant. you can always find something.

    Food and Dining

    i love the food here. lots of variety!

    Dorm Life

    it's like any typical dorm. but it's still homey.

    Academic Rigor

    i love everything about my classes and professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    explore all the west liberty has to offer. especially the fine arts department. it's outstanding!

    In three sentences

    an outstanding experience. best place to learn about art. the best school for me.

  • 03/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    School work, intermurals, Pittsburgh/Wheeling Areas

    Food and Dining

    Not much variety.

    Dorm Life

    Close quarters so you better be an open-person.

    Academic Rigor

    Sciences and Education are the most rigorious.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go with who gives you the most money. Not much social activity at WLU, so be prepared to be a nerd or get into trouble. Great people and teachers at WLU, though.

    In three sentences

    It is a small, quaint liberal-arts college in the hills of West Viriginia. It has excellent science and education programs. It is in the process of expanding and results remain to be seen.

  • 03/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    West Liberty is a very safe campus. It has a police station with about six or seven police cars and SUVs. Considering it is a faily small campus that is a good ratio of cops to students.

    Greek Life

    There are various Fraternities and Sororities on campus but I never joined any, so I don't have much insight to that aspect of the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all kinds of intramural sports ranging from lacrosse to basketball to soccer to tennis, as well as about 30 different kinds of clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for people who are generally more laid back. There is a party scene but it isn't really a party school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I can't think of anything really unusual about the campus. The school is located on top of a hill in the mountains of West Virginia, so naturally the school contains some very nice scenery.

    Bang for the buck

    West Liberty isn't really the most exciting school. But the tuition is reasonably low (about $5000 per year if in state).

    What to do for fun

    There is always some kind of activity or show happening on campus. But for fun off-campus you generally have to drive at least 20 minutes in any direction to get anywhere with a mall or movie theater.

    Food and Dining

    The campus has a Subway, Taco Bell/Pizza Hut, burger place, coffee shop, and cafeteria. I have no complaints about the service in any of these places. However, the quality of the food in the cafeteria could be better on some days.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm aspect of West Liberty is the one area I think could be improved, especially for freshmen. The dorm rooms are cramped and you have to share a room with a roommate, with few exceptions.

    Academic Rigor

    The provided courses are generally challenging and you feel as if you really earn your grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is great for those interested in a degree in the following categories: Education, Dental Hygiene, Business, Sciences, Graphic Design, Communications, and Music.

    In three sentences

    West Liberty University is everything you would expect from a University located in the hills of West Virginia. It offers all the advantages of a big name school while still maintaining a small-town atmosphere. The students and faculty often go out of their ways to help you out.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus police are out of the way

    Greek Life

    around 4-6

    Clubs and Activities

    NSTA,bio and chem clubs

    Bang for the buck

    the food options are nice but they got rid of the soda fountain where you could get unlimited refills.

    What to do for fun

    hang out with friends

    Food and Dining

    subway,tacobell and pizza hut. expensive and no only one refill

    Dorm Life

    Dorms need updated. ONly one of them have AC.

    Academic Rigor

    could be better

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get an apartment off campus

    In three sentences

    Education department is awsome!! Teachers really care and are very helpful. the campus is small and easy to get around

  • 07/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is one of the safest campuses I have ever been on. The campus police are always driving around checking things. Everyone has a parking pass, so if someone who is unauthorized to be on campus and they are there the campus police know right away. Their is also a curfew for everyone to be out of all the educational buildings, so they're aren't students running around at all hours of the night.

    Greek Life

    The Greek Life on campus is exceptional. You always see sororities and frat houses doing things like bake sales or cookouts to raise money for things such as autism speaks.

    Clubs and Activities

    West Liberty offers numerous clubs and activities to attend. My personal favorite club to join is Biology Club.

    Great for these types of students

    West Liberty University is a great university for any type of students to attend. For example last semester I had one class with at least ten foreign exchange students. They had no problem with learning the material and the professor had no problem helping them with things if they needed it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    My favorite thing to do while waiting for my next class is to sit in the pool hall and have a coffee from Jazmans, the coffee shop on campus. I have made many new friends doing this. I think hanging out on campus in your spare time is a great idea. You really get to know many different people and you also get to know the college environment a lot better.

    Bang for the buck

    West Liberty University is a very affordable university and they also except loans and financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    The University offers free tickets to sporting events for students, they also offer movie and game nights for students to attend.

    Food and Dining

    There are tons of options for food and dinning in Union Hall. This hall offers several different restaurants, a coffee shop, and even lounges to study and have a meal with friends. The possibilities are endless. Sometimes you can even find a club or sorority having a cookout or bake sale.

    Dorm Life

    I honestly have never experienced the dorm life because I commute back and forth. I live off campus and drive to school everyday.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are great and know a lot about what they are teaching. I have never had a problem where I didn't understand something and the professor wouldn't take time out of their day to help out.

    Tips for prospective students

    My first tip for prospective students is to be able to walk and enjoy an amazing outdoor experience. My favorite part about going from class to class is the quad, which you would walk through to get to all of West Liberty University's buildings where classes are held. Also be ready to learn and succeed.

    In three sentences

    I have attended three colleges and was unsuccessful until I enrolled at West Liberty University. I enjoy the environment, students, and professors. West Liberty University has helped me become more and more successful with each semester.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are cops that patrol the entire Highlands area.

    Clubs and Activities

    The Extended learning is not an opportunity for such a thing. We are very focused on our work.

    Bang for the buck

    Local bookstore on location and the college offers computers for work and printers at anytime.

    What to do for fun

    As I mentioned, lots of shopping and dining opportunities.

    Food and Dining

    The location is within a shopping plaza. The Cohort that I am invovlved with, enjoy stopping at McDonalds every Saturday morning before class for morning coffee talk.

    Dorm Life

    The Highlands Center is a remote location from main campus in which there is no need for dorm life. There are hotels.

    Academic Rigor

    The combined cirriculum and instructor's knowledge on the material is amazing. The best part is the instrucotr's applied knowledge to the field of business and he or she's overall life experiences bring new material to the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are working full or part-time with a family or not this opportunity is great for you. All instructors have a diverse way of teaching and experience that will blow your mind.

    In three sentences

    West liberty University's Highlands Center is great for adult learners.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus safety is immaculate! We have a VERY low rape, assault, theft, etc rate. Partially because of the area, partially because of the high security presence, and also the call boxes that are located everywhere!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is Zombie tag that is held ever October on the campus and the students and teachers of lots of fun with it (in between classes, of course!).

    Bang for the buck

    I spent a lot of money at this school and have a degree that I cannot use without going on to get another degree and onto graduate school.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do for fun in the town the college is in. However, there is a zoo, golf course, ski slope within 10 miles of the college. It is also about 20 miles from a big city.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining here is a lot better then it used to be. There is a lot of vareity of foods and the food is wonderful in the Union.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe the academic rigor here is up to par with most universities. However, i believe it would be on the low end of that par because of the academic requirements the students need to graduate with a degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you don't procrastinate, it is the easiest thing to do when you are first on your own but if you do, you will regret it later. Stay on task!

    In three sentences

    Overall, I believe the professors here make the school great; they are all well educated and helpful. I believe the school has a lot to fix before it can live up to the University standard. They seem to be trying to make up fees for the students to pay so they can upgrade the way they need to but the students are already enough in debt they shouldn't have to fund the school's transformation.

  • 12/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a small campus, so there isn't much crime. There is just mainly alcohol issue. While other problems are little to none.

    Greek Life

    Not too many different sororities, but they have a lot of activities and a big fan base.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs that cover a wide range of interests. Along with clubs that help with majors and minors.

    Great for these types of students

    Small town, productive, introverted and extroverted, etc. Basically everyone, except for people looking for something to be constantly happening at all times. It's more layed back.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The sororities are pretty crazy. There is also a zombie apocalypse game played in the month of October.

    Bang for the buck

    It is good place to start an education if your are pre-professional. It is pretty cheap for West Virginia resident. It has a lot of perks.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friend on the weekend if they stay. There are some fun activities on the weekdays. There are a lot of games for football and basketball.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the Marketplace is fairly good. You just have to watch out for meal plans and food information. Especially if you are a vegetarian. The campus fast food is pretty poular and good. While, Jazzman's is pretty awesome for a treat.

    Dorm Life

    I really like the dorms. They are pretty nice. You just have to watch out for minor things, like the up keeping of the bathrooms. There is a maintenance crew that can come quickly if you have a problem.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the teachers are really harsh. Some of the teachers are fairly easy. It just depends on your major and how you plan on spending your time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan on have no one to hang out with on the weekends. Don't be a part of the Fowler Apartment's crowd. Check classes and your transcripts.

    In three sentences

    It has a great atmosphere. The college lifestyle is cut short on the weekends because there is nothing to do. The food is pretty good.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus. We have our own police force at our disposal, and they'll even give you rides across campus if its dark and you don't want to walk. We have card systems locking all the dorm buildings and key locks on all the dorm rooms.

    Greek Life

    I am not involved in Greek Life, but I know many groups of girls that have become close with their Sorority Sisters, and they frequently do comunity activities.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am involved in the Bio Club and the Swing Dance Club, and I have to say that the closest bonds I have formed are at Swing Dance. If dancing isn't for you though, they have tons of clubs from paranormal club to chemistry club to athletic clubs to fraternities and sororities.

    Great for these types of students

    Introverts will like the small classes and various activites because it will aid them in forming bonds that will last beyond school years.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our RPG club enjoys having armoured medevil swordfights on the quad.

    Bang for the buck

    If you like a small campus wher,e the professors remember your name and all the students are friendly, where it's only a short walk to the gym or library or cafe, then you'll adore WLU as much as I do.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on, from ice-cream socials to church bonfires to Greek Life T-shirt tye-dying events. The first week is packed with fun activities to get you out there and help you meet other people.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, and almost always available to you. They ensure that you have more than enough money to spare for meals for you and for family and other visitors

    Dorm Life

    I have been spoiled and allowed to live in a hall with elevators and air conditioners, so I have nothing to complain about. The rooms are pretty small, but if you're smart about compartmentalizing, you'll be comfy.

    Academic Rigor

    Most preliminary classes are pretty easy, while courses for majors are challenging enough to stretch the mind and test whether you are really serious about your career choice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check, doublecheck, TRIPLECHECK everything. On the school websites, e-mail the staff there, just make sure all your ducks are in a row as for classes and financial aid. They won't spot mistakes unless you point them out.

    In three sentences

    I give WLU four out of five stars. The classes and professors are great, the food is good, and the community atmosphere is conducive to learning or relaxation with friends. The living quarters are not the best, but they're cozy.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Everybody is someone you don't even need to try

    Bang for the buck

    West Liberty keeps taking more and more fees onto my tuition making it very complicated for me to continue my education. Most fees are for the buildings going up and use of building they already have that I have never and will never need to step foot in. What a disgrace to rip of a struggling collage student like that.

    What to do for fun

    Don't plan on having a ball going out because this collage isn't near the hottest night clubs. Sports, family and friends is what most students enjoy about WLU.

    Tips for prospective students

    Face facts your there to improve your future not hang out and talk to friends. Enjoy your time while working your way through school. Eat great too!

    In three sentences

    West Liberty had a great learning environment however don't expect a drop of leniency in their education department. You are there to learn so you best learn and move on. The art department is great and everyone at the school is very helpful too.

  • 03/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is a good safe place to go to school.

    Clubs and Activities

    I played Soccer my first year of college,good coaches and staff

    What to do for fun

    I did sports that took up most of my time

    Food and Dining

    food was good

    Dorm Life

    Dorm rooms are very small,rather stay at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic Rigor was a little complicated,not knowing what my major was.

    Tips for prospective students

    have fun,work hard,and enjoy

    In three sentences

    West Liberty Is A good college to go to,good teachers and helpful staff,just want to move closer to family.

  • 04/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe being a part of this school and residing on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I would hate to rate this wrong considering I am not currently involved in any clubs or sports, but there seems to be a little something for everyone to participate in here, if you want to that is.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who like to be in a more calm and small environment.

    Food and Dining

    Although you may have different tastes, there are plenty of dining options to choose from at West Liberty.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life isn't anything bad or to be afraid of, but nothing is luxury just average.

    Academic Rigor

    I think academic rigor is strongly influenced by what major of study you choose.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure the university or college offers degrees and programs you are interested in before you begin. Weigh out all of your options and make decisions with a clear, open mind.

    In three sentences

    I feel that West Liberty University is a great school if you are looking for a smaller college with a home-town feel. Everyone is very friendly and the faculty and staff do well at what they do. West Liberty offers small class size allowing more one on one interactions with your professors.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police can be great, but they can also be your worst nightmare. Campus PD are pretty awesome about security and even help you when you lock your keys in your car. One thing about campus PD that sucks is how much they hand out parking tickets. Being that our campus is expanding, we are running out of parking for students, faculty and visitors therefore often times you'll have to make your own parking spot. Campus police obviously don't like that, but given the situation there's sometimes not much you can do! The good thing about tickets is that they're only $10.

    Greek Life

    There are 2 national sororities on campus, Alpha Xi Delta and Chi Omega. Along with the national sororities are the 4 local chapters as well. When it comes to fraternities there are 4...or 5 local chapters on campus. There are no national frats.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs offered on campus such as PRIDE, Paranormal, Dance, as well as all of the Greek organizations. There really is something for EVERYONE.

    Bang for the buck

    Considering West Liberty is a University I don't consider the tuition to be too outrageously priced. The worst part about attending school here is that each semester the school tacks on unnecessary fees to your account so your price for schooling is rarely ever the same semester to semester.

    What to do for fun

    Like I had previously said, there isn't much to do around here. You really have to create your own fun. We are near Olgebay Park which has a lot of great outdoor activities. We are also near the city of Wheeling which offers a few things to do as a college student. If you're willing to drive, Pittsburgh isn't too far from here either. If you're the type of person who expects the fun to present itself to you, you will definitely not be happy here.

    Food and Dining

    The food offered on campus is very minimal to say the least. If you want to eat semi healthy- good luck. There is a cafeteria on campus which serves the same food each week it seems, a Taco Bell/Pizza Hut, a grill and also a coffee shop.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms offered here are simply not the best. How the university goes about housing is somewhat of a joke to me. 6/8 of the dorms offered on campus(not including specialty housing) are pretty out of date.

    Academic Rigor

    As an Elementary Education major I have found that my work load tends to be pretty heavy. From talking to friends about their majors I have realized that I am not the only one with a vigorous work load, though. Many of the programs offered here do require a lot of work, but what college doesn't? The best thing about WLU is that teachers are almost always willing to help you. Being that the classroom setting is so personal you never have to be afraid to ask for help with any assignment.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for a big party school with a lot to do- this isn't the best place to be. West Liberty is located in a small town on top of a hill about 20 minutes from Wheeling, WV so if you aren't one who can sit back and relax, WLU isn't for you.

    In three sentences

    If a small, personal university is what you're looking for, West Liberty is the place to be. They offer a ride variety of programs, their most popular being Education, Nursing and Dental Hygiene. By attending such a small university, you are able to get to know every one in your classes no matter the major.

  • 09/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are actual police that patrol the campus. They are nice for the most part. They do tend to give parking tickets out a lot. I feel extremely safe.

    Greek Life

    There is a Greek life, but I do not know too much about it.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs range from ultimate Frisbee to the Nicholas Cage fan club. There is so many to choose from and you can make your own as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Its great for new students who want to ease into the college life and meet new people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Never touch the flag pole in the center of campus. The college union basement is a nice place to go and hang out. It has 2 pool tables, arcade machines, vending machines (they use sudexo dollars), a school store, subway, flat screens, restaurant-like tables, and some of the most comfortable couches you will ever sit on.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a relatively cheap university, especially for the one-on-one you can get with professors. You can not put a price on that. The teachers really love their job and treat you like a person, not like a child. They also offer free tutoring for any class.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs, sports, and private events in dorms to keep you entertain. My first week, they had a black light dance, a hypnotist (he actually hypnotized 12 people on stage, blew my mind), an amazing comedy club, battle of the dorms, and many more activities. It dies down a little on the weekends, but its not too hard to find something to do.

    Food and Dining

    There are many on-sight restaurants that use the West Lib currency sudexo dollars. Taco bell, pizza hut, the grille, a coffee shop called jazzman's, and a cafeteria with decent and varied food all use sudexo dollars. Subway is also on campus, but requires money.

    Dorm Life

    Not all dorms have air conditioning, but if you're a native of West Virginia, you know what to expect. The rooms are decently sized with cable, internet, desks, beds, plenty of drawers, and a lot of electrical outlets.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are plenty changeling and there are many programs for many different majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school is a smoke-less, tobacco/alcohol free campus. A good bit of people go home on the weekends, so be sure to be ready to walk around an empty campus on weekends.

    In three sentences

    This is a small school where you can really get a one on one with your teachers. Everyone is helpful and won't think twice to go out of their way to help you if you ask. There are many opportunities as long as you are willing to participate.

  • 01/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Because we are in the middle of nowhere, directly off campus there isn't much to do. However, Olgebay Park is located on route 88, which leads to West Lib. There is golfing, pools, horseback riding, hiking trails, and work opportunities. There is also a shopping center called The Highlands located about 10 miles away. There is a WalMart, BestBuy, Cabela's, Target, etc., restaurants such as Quaker Steak and Lube, Cheddar's, Olive Garden, Panera, Cold Stone Creamery, and more. Wheeling, WV has a hockey team that plays at Wes Banco Arena. Concerts, monster trucks and other events are also held there. Across the state line in Ohio, is the Ohio Valley Mall, about 30-40 minutes away. Canonsburg and South Hills, PA are about 50 minutes to an hour away and not much farther than that is downtown Pittsburgh.

    Food and Dining

    The Union has Subway, Taco Bell, Pizza Hut, The Grille, and Jazzman's café. All accept cash and cards, as well as the meal plans. The Caf, or cafeteria, is very good at catering to dietary needs. We have gluten free, vegetarian, and even vegan options. Pizza is offered daily. There's really something for everyone. Most of the food is pretty good, but there is the occasional complaint.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter, but I have a few friends that live on campus. The two dorms I've been in are Hugh's which is a co-ed upper classman dorm, and Rogers, an all girls dorm. Both are very clean (depending on the person whose room you are in), and the rooms are nicely sized. Hugh's has bathrooms that shared with the room next door while Roger's has only community bathrooms.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are excellent. Because it is a smaller school, they will meet one on one with you, stay after class, arrange meetings, just to make sure you have all the tools you need. Some of the classes are challenging, but nothing you won't be able to handle.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. We have Greek life as well many clubs and other activities and sports including football. Knowing exactly what you want and need to do makes the college experience so much easier.

    In three sentences

    West Liberty, while it seems to be in the middle of nowhere, is a beautiful campus. The professors are willing to help students as much as they possibly can. It's a great place to meet new people because it's not too big, but not so small that you have to see the same people every day.

  • 02/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Alot of cops for a small campus but there mostly pretty cool. No one gets citations for parties but since its such a small place I feel very confident in the campus pd to keep WL safe.

    Greek Life

    Im not a greek but they are out there. Only one international I think but still alot of greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are alot to choose from, anywhere from sports to religious groups, to international clubs for a small school WLU really covers alot.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who love basketball. WLU has been ranked #1 in the country 3 consecutive years for division 2. Also great for students entering into dentistry, or education.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a really good price for in state considering the food options amd good academics. Its not worth it to me for out of state which is expensive. That is unless you are playing a sport.

    What to do for fun

    This is where WL struggles. They have lots of intramural sports and lots of programs and clubs for students to join as well as movie nights and competitions. Other than that there is nothing to do at WL other than occational parties on Thursday nights or the bar if that is what interests you.

    Food and Dining

    Living in a town with only two restaurants is tough but WL has some good options. The cafe is always pretty go to, while its not always amazing theres alot offered and you'll always find something (plus dessert is awesome). They also offer a coffee shop, a grille restaurant, a taco bell, a pizza hut, and a subway. All of these places can be paid for with your meal plan with the exclusion of subway.

    Dorm Life

    I only lived in the dorms for one semester but I honestly loved it. I met some great people, but that all depends. The dorms themselves arent all that appealing simce they are old buildings, plus I found it difficult to concentrate in dorms as well as the obviously ridiculous cost of housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics really depend at West Liberty. Some majors are notorious good at west liberty and are usually more difficult. I find that most teachers are reasonable but will not help you if you do not help yourself. Anyone that puts a little hard work in at West Liberty will succeed in the workload.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your looking for a school to focus on and get to know faculty and students well West Liberty is great. Its inexpensive and a great little school. My only words of advise are to ask as many questions as possible to get ahead, look for a place close but off campus, and make as many connections as possible.

    In three sentences

    West Liberty University is a small, semi-secluded school, which like any school has its pros and cons. On one side West Liberty was very dedicated staff who offer easy access to one on one time. On the other its location is bad as it sits atop of a mountain with little off campus activities surrounding it; this creates alot of negative opinions from the student body.

  • 02/07/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    20 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are BIG on campus safety

    Clubs and Activities

    Wide range and they are always looking for new ideas of clubs.

    Tips for prospective students

    make the best out of all your experiences. Soak everything up and you will be bound for success, no matter your major.

    In three sentences

    West Liberty University gave me the tools to become independent and a strong leader in my field. I not only received one-on-one attention from my professors, faculty, and administrators, but they also pushed me to make my own path in the world. I wouldn't trade my time at West Liberty University for the world

  • 02/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are every where. It is a very, very, very safe campus. As the small town of west liberty has their very own police force. These are real cops too, not just security guards. West Liberty is a alcohol and tobacco free campus. But, be careful for speeding and parking! There is not a single day where you can walk outside and not find at least one car with a parking ticket, just follow the rules of the road and have your parking pass and you should be fine.

    Greek Life

    There are many different types of. Greek life on campus!

    Clubs and Activities

    I am currently involved in two different clubs right now. The paranormal club and Swing Dancing Club. Both of these clubs are really active and meet several times a month, if not once a week. The paranormal club is taking an overnight trip to Moundsville Penitentiary and Gretchen's Loch this year, while the swing club is hosting a Lindt hop and blues exchange as we'll. If your interested in something but there isn't a club available, you can create one with just a little bit of paper work. They also have a large variety of clubs already, from the Nicholas cage fan club to the history club. We have it all.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for basketball players! We are number one in the nation right now for division 2 ball! Go Toppers!!! Also the music program, and the dental program are both top notch!

    Bang for the buck

    West liberty is a very affordable option!

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much of anything surrounding the campus but woods and farms, but the housing office seems to always have programs during the week nights and weekends. There is a small little tavern within walking distance. It is more of a restaurant than anything, and their burgers are to die for!

    Food and Dining

    If your a freshman girl and move into Roger's Hall, your lucky! The dinning hall or the caf as we call it is inside your dorm, just walk downstairs! It's very convenient to not walk outside when it cold, raining, snowing, Ect. Just to get some breakfast before class. The only thing I will complain about when it come to the caf, is the hours and the selection of food. They close @ 7 on school days, and I myself usually don't eat dinner that early. Also the selection of food is very good, but they have a set schedule on what's to eat. For example Tuesdays are always sand witch day while Fridays are usually stir fry day. If the caf is boring, there is always the union, which has Jazzman's Coffee Shop, The Grill, Taco Bell, Pizza Hut, and subway. They all take your meal plan as well, except subway. They take cash or card.

    Dorm Life

    On the dorm subject, the freshman dorms are overall nice, if you don't mind community baths. The upperclassman dorms do get better, I promise. Krise Hall is my favorite out of all of the dorms. Krise Hall is a Co-Ed dorm with girls and guys on different levels. They are also suite style dorms, meaning two rooms per bathroom, meaning 4 people sharing.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic classes are great, and all of the professors are wonderful with helping students. Since it is such a small campus, the professors actually talk and interact with you. Plus they care. That's not something your going to get at a larger campus. My smallest class has 3 other people in it. The more you focus on your major, the smaller the classes are, which I think is great.

    Tips for prospective students

    This campus is beautiful. The students and professors are all very welcoming and friendly. I choose this campus because of the small class sizes and overall homey feeling. And, I must say I love it here very much. The music program is excellent! If your looking for a music degree, this is the best place around!

    In three sentences

    West Liberty was the first and only college I have visited. I knew this was exactly the college for me the first time I came here. It has lived up to my expectations, plus more!

  • 05/12/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I am a transfer student and Stephine has been nothing but helpful. If you are looking to further your education and don't enjoy the large campus' I highly reccomend West Liberty.

    In three sentences

    In visiting the campus of West Liberty, it is very inviting. The atmosphere is refreshing after attending a larger college. Everyone, staff and students, are more than happy to help with any obstacle faced.