Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

West Los Angeles College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/01/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    everyone

    Tips for prospective students

    Go for your dreams no matter who says you wont make it

    Bang for the buck

    the price is the same for out of state as it is in state which comes to be about only $6,000

    Will enjoy being here

    The classes are a great size with the right amount of student to teacher ratio

    Will learn a lot

    I love the information about this school. I can go to it and get my required classes out of the way and then transfer to a 4 year school

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Several patrols by the Sheriff's department, both around and on campus. There are cameras and security guards. Of course, you're not allowed to fall asleep in the library lest you get attacked (or so says the sheriff man), but...c'est la vie.

    Clubs and Activities

    The Performing Arts club can lead you to some nice internships. The clubs I'm in, I personally love, but there aren't as many clubs here as there are at, for example, Santa Monica College.

    Great for these types of students

    Creative -- there are lots of resources for the arts. Motivated -- The opportunities are there, but you have to look for them and ask around. Intelligent -- You WILL have to study for classes. Even music appreciation requires studying. But do well and take advantage of the opportunities and you'll transfer to pretty much wherever you want to go.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Study outside the Fine Arts building and you'll get to hear live Opera or musicals, depending on what the students are studying. Haha.

    Bang for the buck

    Well, my tuition is free, and I get a Pell Grant to attend. But even if I had to pay out of pocket, I would. There's an entire room filled with state of the art keyboards if you take Piano 1. A sewing/dressmaking room with machines and tailor's dummies. Brand new campus, pretty much (even the toilets are still in pristine condition. TMI, I know, I know). Some professors have taught at Harvard. Honestly, if this school were a 4-year institute, I'd jump at the chance to attend. Out of pocket, even.

    What to do for fun

    Well, honestly, you're a full hour away from the beaches by bus. Maybe a bit more. And mostly there's just shopping immediately nearby. That said, the campus itself tends to have cool things going on sometimes.

    Food and Dining

    Oh, man. The actual food part of the cafe is so. good. Around the same price as the Denny's down the road, but it tastes much better. There's plenty of options and they're prepared fresh for you when you order. The coffee part of the cafe has great pastries and smoothies, pretty good hot chocolate, and...well, the coffee could be stronger. Anyway, for practically everything, Cafe West is great.

    Academic Rigor

    Many courses are more difficult than I'd anticipated, but mostly they don't feel impossible. Professors will prove helpful if you fall behind, but won't generally tolerate disruptive or slacking students. On the other hand, I've heard of professors who just can't be bothered to assign anything that'd be difficult to grade, so...it's a mix, I suppose. Also, there're several professors who are Harvard, Yale, or otherwise Ivy League graduates teaching here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention to your registration date: if you sign up for classes within a day or so, they're fairly free. Outside of that, you might have to send pleading emails out to professors, or attend for a week to (potentially) get an add card.

    In three sentences

    A fantastic option for transfer students or those looking to get an AA/AS degree. It's not too difficult to get into classes, and they aren't excessively full. A practically brand new campus with amazing resources makes me proud to attend WLAC.

  • 02/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    play basketball

    Food and Dining

    cafeteria is in the processes of being built

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you get an education, rather focusing on partying

    In three sentences

    wlac is a decent college. the guidance counselors are very helpful. student resources are great.

  • 03/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is very safe.

    Greek Life

    i have not found a greek like yet.

    Clubs and Activities

    i have not found any clubs yet.

    Great for these types of students

    this school is good for any student that doesn't know what they want to do as a career.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i haven't found any unusual traditions or locations, but they just finish building for more classes and new cafeteria and bookstore.

    Bang for the buck

    take advantage of the financial aid it will help pay for your classes.

    What to do for fun

    i work in the side in small independent films for fun.

    Food and Dining

    i take my own food from home, because i cant afford to buy my own food.

    Dorm Life

    they don't have dorm rooms, but i do live with my parents at home.

    Academic Rigor

    this school teaches all the discipline you need to get in to the entertainment industry.

    Tips for prospective students

    for all student that want to join the hollywood cpr program, take in everything they teach you. don't miss any class, because every day they teach you something new and very important to know, if you want to work in the movie industry.

    In three sentences

    west los angels college is a good school and i am learning a lot in the hollywood cpr program. i have learned a lot so far about the entertainment industry and how it works. its a great program for those people that want to get into the industry and don't know what they want to do.

  • 04/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    A new food court is available which you don't really see in community colleges but a great privilege.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the great faculty and staff this school has. I never considered transferring to a Cal State but the motivation and inspiring words from the faculty made me fee like I can do it.

    In three sentences

    A great school with diversity. Although it is very far from my house, this school made me feel I belonged.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a lot of crime compared to other campuses, so there are always Sheriffs' cars around.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Not too many to choose from

    Great for these types of students

    People not interested in the college atmosphere. Most people here are older adults working full time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Pretty boring campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap and really easy to get BOGG Waiver as long as you have financial need. If you can't find a class here, you can automatically sign up for classes at the other, I think 9 campuses in LA.

    What to do for fun

    They put on plays every once in a while, and you can watch some of the sports teams play games.

    Food and Dining

    There is a food truck, so it's tasty, but it's not anything that stands out.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this college.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the classes I have taken have been very interesting, but the work load is managable. It seems professors cater to us, working students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be aggressive in getting what you want. I have had to call over and over just to get someone in the Finaid office to help me.

    In three sentences

    Located on the hills, so nice scenery. Teachers are very interesting, but administrators are difficult to get a hold of.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Goal oriented students looking to better themselves in a positive conducive learning environment.

    Bang for the buck

    46dollars a unit

    What to do for fun

    Academic, athletic, and social clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Great cafe on campus that serves delicious and healthy foods.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging yet comprehensive

    Tips for prospective students

    Use all the available resources that West LA provides to students. eg Counseling ctr. Transfer ctr, tutoring services etc.

    In three sentences

    West Los angeles colllege is an amazing institution that has prepared me for the next level. West Los Angeles has helped me reach goals that were once unattainable and made me change my entire outlook on education and life as well.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are sheriffs officers that are on campus, they are always near and respectful to students on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports such as Basketball, Track & Field, and Football are some of the activities to do on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    All ethnicity, no discrimination.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is no unusual traditions on my campus.

    Bang for the buck

    West Los Angeles College has different communitites on campus that will be help and provide the motivation one self thats needs to be a successful student. The Umoja Program, which I am a member of provided me English, Math, and Speech classes to get me started on my college career.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, students get to gether and work in study groups. Others play sports and excerise in the weight room.

    Food and Dining

    There's a nice, comfortable, and elegant cafeteria for students to eat, while studying.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't any dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The computer and data bases provide for West students are up to dated with the latest technology.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get Familiar with Counselors, because they guide students on the right path of graduation. Also meet students who are interested in the same majors. Stay away from distraction, such as social medTias

    In three sentences

    On a scale between 1 and 10, I'll give West a 10 in teachers work habit. For Tutors I will give then a 7, because it always depends on who is tutoring. Campus life has to be a 5 because most students converse with others similar to themselves.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always on campus and patrolling the parking lots and all areas of the campus.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    West Los Angeles College as numerous clubs such as dental hygiene club,Latino club, black student union club, economic club and Phi Theta Kappa (honor society) club to name a few.

    Great for these types of students

    Students right out of high school and students looking to complete a portion of their undergrad before transferring. For the working student, WLAC provides numerous evening courses.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    West Los Angeles College Can provide a great education and is affordable. It is great starting point for students who are looking to transfer to complete their degree.

    What to do for fun

    The school has several events held on campus, from vendors and school clubs selling food to school art productions there is always something to do. Joining school clubs is a great way to meet other students and join the student community.

    Food and Dining

    The new cafe on campus serves a variety of foods daily

    Dorm Life

    No on campus housing provided.

    Academic Rigor

    West Los Angeles College provides an outstanding education and provides the student with the learning tools necessary to follow their education goal whether it is a certificate or associates and so on.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with an educational adviser on campus to discuss your educational plan before registering for classes. Fill out financial aid as soon as you register.

    In three sentences

    West los Angeles college provides students with an amazing learning experience and education. The college offers the accredited dental hygiene Program which is an exceptional program and is one example of west dedication to providing the best education to students in the West Los Angeles area.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always look around while walking. Observe if someone is behind or in front of you. There are police located on campus and patrolling, but it is still important to be aware of your surroundings at all times.

    Greek Life

    I am more the Jewish/Hebrew kind of guy. I don't know much about the Greek life except that they throw plates after a wedding ceremony!

    Clubs and Activities

    I teach a youth group in my congregation and run the video projector for some of the services. I enjoy being involved in community activities and enjoy the gift of hospitality with friends and family. These activities take place outside the campus.

    Great for these types of students

    As stated, two year colleges are a great way to cut costs and an excellent alternative to paying exuberant tuition for 4-year schools. It is wonderful for those returning to school after two decades or more, since they would be old enough to be the parents of most of these kids. Of course, we are talking about someone else, not me!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Most of my classes are online and since this is a two-year college, there are not any noticeable unusual traditions or locations on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Two year colleges are a great way to go to get your prerequisites done before moving on to completing your bachelor's. Financial aid (if you qualify) can end up covering most if not all your tuition and books which makes it affordable to go back to school.

    What to do for fun

    If you can get through the homework, especially if you are carrying a full schedule, then God bless you if you have time have some fun. I make the coursework fun by trying to do my best. But outside of school, work and family, there is little time right now. But in 2 1/2 more years...watch out!

    Academic Rigor

    There will always be some classes that are more challenging than others, depending on your desired major they vary. The course outlines generally will let you know how busy you will be during the duration of the semester. If stay focused, you should do fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Staying focused and on-target with goals is important especially if you have a family, a job and now are returning to school. It is important to check in with a counselor every six months as prerequisites can change during a semester, and courses that were once necessary to graduate or transfer can change mid-stream. If you remain aware and focused as to what is needed to graduate/transfer, then you can achieve you goals efficiently and in a shorter period of time.

    In three sentences

    The program/curriculum guidelines are well defined and there are many options. Most of the professors are reasonable and make accommodations if and when necessary. There are many opportunities and avenues to supply feedback for class improvements.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards are always friendly and helpful.

    Greek Life

    PTk and AGS the best.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs to suite just about any interest but students must first be apart of ASO with umbrellas all clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for any student but mainly for students who like diversity. Those who are low-income, first generation, non- traditional or just want to simply save money and get a good education at a lesser cost.

    What to do for fun

    Go to Open House, Talent shows, concert, and any events that are operating at West Los Angeles College.

    Food and Dining

    The new Lovebirds Cafe. Its really nice. Before there was only taco truck and not really a designated location to eat, dine, study but now students can enjoy their meals while fellowshipping with others.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Know why you are attending college. 2. Set high goals and make a check list to check off your accomplishments. 3. Go to orientation. (learn your school) 4. Take assement test 5. Know your register dates and sign up for classes 6. Be assertive. 7. Be on time. 8. Ask questions. 9. Join clubs. 10. Network. 11. Build relationships with others. (student, professors, tutors) 12. Study 13. Do all of your homework 14. Be aware of deadlines 15. Keep a calendar 16. Do you best. 17.Keep a an above average grade point average.

    In three sentences

    West Los Angeles College is an amazing Community College to attend, before transferring to a four-year university. The professors and counselors are the core of the college. Student should have drive and must be self-motivated, using all services in order to succeed.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus safty at West Los Angeles is Superb. There are Law Enforcement Sherriff Officers on campus that help keep West Los Angeles safe. There is also campus Security that works in conjunction with the Sherriff Department. They are paid cadets who patrol the campus at all times.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs at West Los Angeles College such as ASO club, The Criminal Justice Club, Alpha Gamma Sigma, The Black Student Union, Performing arts club, and The Political Club, and that just to name a few.

    Great for these types of students

    West Los Angeles are for goal oriented student who are trying to transfer to a University.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Its my first semester at West Los Angeles so im not to educated on that particular subject

    What to do for fun

    There are a veriety of sports and clubs to get involved in at West Los Angeles College such as, basketball, track and field, ASO, and many more.

    Dorm Life

    There are no Dorms at West Los Angeles

    Tips for prospective students

    I encourage all student who wants to attend school to start off in a Junior College because it will save them money, and they can transfer to the university of their choice as long as the student qualifies for that particular University.

    In three sentences

    On a scale ranging from 1-10 I rate West Los Angeles College a 9. I rate them a 9 because the campus was very welcoming and clean. They also offer a wide variety of programs to help me finish my semester succesfully.

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's isn't much to do for fun. The school is big on sports, so if you enjoy sports you will like it here.

    Food and Dining

    Food is okay, could be better.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I love what I am learning in my classes. Have learned a lot of very useful information.

    Tips for prospective students

    If considering West LA, make sure you are okay with being by yourself majority of the time. Also, consider the pros and cons to universities. It is a lot more beneficial to attend a university fresh out of high school, considering all the many people you'll meet and the learning experiences!

    In three sentences

    West LA is overall a good school and get's the job done. I am happy here as far as my academics go, and I also really like the convenience of the campus. However, I am not happy with social aspect of the campus considering I have not made any friends and have experienced many lonely times.

  • 10/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Performing arts club, astronomy club, christian clubs, karate clubs, etc. Track team, volleyball, soccer, football, swimming aerobics.

    Great for these types of students

    Students willing to try and learn.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Up high sceneries.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    YOGA!

    Food and Dining

    WLAC provides us with delicious food.

    Dorm Life

    It's a community college which doesn't offer student housing.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academic rigor is very advanced.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get up and go!

    In three sentences

    I love the counseling services and the professors go out of their way to help us succeed. The location of the school is on a mountain giving us a very scintillating view of the city. They also offer programs that enable us as students to fullfil our dream for going to college.

  • 12/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 15 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    thier no time for fun in college

    Food and Dining

    i am not here to rate the school food

    Dorm Life

    Thier not dorm in west los angeles college

    Tips for prospective students

    Thier no tips for the school it super esay but dont be lazy.

    In three sentences

    well the school is OK nothing bad or good about it. it could be better but their no money for the school. However i love the location of the school.

  • 01/20/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    School police always patrolling, there is an emergency phone in the middle of campus that connects straight to sheriffs office.

    Clubs and Activities

    none ive been involved in

    Great for these types of students

    library

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    When returning books at the end of the semester West chooses to change the books they use so you cant sell them back. All the book I bought, none of them were able to be returned for partial cash. It an ok school, didnt feel like I got all my moneys worth

    What to do for fun

    Get a snack from vending machine on break

    Food and Dining

    Decent, everything is available breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as a cafe, but on the expensive side.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms here

    Academic Rigor

    sometimes teachers are a little off

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring you own food, store and cafe expensive. If your a smoker you can smoke on campus anywhere within 20 feet of any facility.

    In three sentences

    College is overall a fair school. Currently construction going on, some new buildings just opened General Classrooms. Pretty boring to walk through the school, empty at times. Library is convenient.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many, many clubs to join to use your time well while you earn your AA. Many are based on cultures or special interests. The school often holds holiday festivals and fairs to offer fun to students.

    Food and Dining

    There is a caf�© on campus with great choices as well as a convenience store with snacks everyone likes. There are many nearby food choices as well.

    Dorm Life

    There are no on campus dorms or nearby housing choices. This is a community college in the LACCD and none of the school's in that district offer housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Any class can go well for a student if they just listen to their teacher. Teachers provide you with so much material to really thrive in the subject your in. The math classes however are known to be ridiculously hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of what the school website shares with

    In three sentences

    West LA College has a great variety of classes that are pretty available to all students. The teachers are very thorough in their lessons and want you to grow while you are at WLAC. The only downfall of the school is the lack of helpful counselors.

  • 04/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    They are VERY cost efficient.

    Food and Dining

    There love birds cafe is pretty, good , you would enjoy it , it your a healthy person .

    Dorm Life

    They do not have any housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Its a very challenging yet comfortable feel.

  • 05/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    for whatever reason something happens the school immediately sends an alert to all students.

    Clubs and Activities

    many clubs to join as well as play for a team and represent your school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    in the school quad they have fun events.

    Bang for the buck

    they offer new , used and textbooks for rent.

    What to do for fun

    There's a mall, nearby beaches, movie theatres, bike ride.

    Food and Dining

    There's a cafeteria on campus, plenty beverage and food machines. There's also a mall nearby that offers a food court and a shopping center with other restaurants and markets.

    Dorm Life

    There's no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you do all your assignments there is no way you shouldn't pass a class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask questions to professors, staff, even sport coaches. They will direct to correct office. Take advantage of the tutors and professor office hours.

    In three sentences

    The professors and staff go out of their way for the students to understand and succeed in their classes. There's plenty of tutors in various subjects. There are plenty of resources and assistance.

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I volunteer at the senior citizen center in Inglewood, Ca. I am a member of the SMASH foundation. It is a no-profit organization, that focuses on the gang violence in Los Angeles

    What to do for fun

    I like to jog

    Food and Dining

    Food is very good

    Academic Rigor

    The professors expect a great deal form the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you take advantage of the free tutoring in the library. They are very helpful.

    In three sentences

    west Los Angeles is a excellent college. The professors are very knowledgable and want the students to succeed. The have a wide variety of claasses available.

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Plenty of security and cameras.

    Greek Life

    A few fraternity and sorority opportunities, this is a community college.

    Clubs and Activities

    Language, martial arts, science, math, dance and more clubs. One of the best community college track teams in the country.

    Great for these types of students

    Those that want to excel and grow as students and adults this is the place to be. Career advice, scholastic advice all you could want and need.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The student lounge, not well known, but good place to hangout and relax, watch television and sleep. (If needed)

    Bang for the buck

    Discount movie tickets from the ASO office.

    What to do for fun

    Sporting events, martial arts club, yoga etc.. This is Los Angeles there is always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    Good selection in the cafe on campus, but close to campus are a Ralph's, Burger King and about 10 other restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    If you come ready to study you will do well, if not it can be challenging until you find the help you need. Lots of study groups available to get involved in.

    Tips for prospective students

    If going full-time get involved with EOPS or other school clubs and activities to enhance your college experience.

    In three sentences

    Excellent school to attend. Overall great helpful staff and student body. Awesome tutoring lab for all subjects and excellent cafe with large variety of foods. Best atmosphere of all LACCD schools.

  • 08/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join clubs and attend school meetings.

    Food and Dining

    Great Cafe there if your not able to make breakfast in the morning and very affordable.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms there.

    Academic Rigor

    Amazing library with many computers and there isn't a time limit on the computers like some other colleges would have. So your able to get your work done without begin rushed off the computer.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your undecided on something just ask a instructor or someone of higher power and they will gladly help you because they want everyone to succeed so if answering your question will help you, they will do so to get the correct answer to your question.

    In three sentences

    A great college that provides all the students will every resource to make sure every student is able to come and get a degree without being stressed. Teachers make sure the information given is understood by every student. West La College has tremendous library with a lot of helpers willing to devote some time into helping you with and problem or questions about something.

  • 08/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This School is great for any student who wishes to transfer into an accredited Architecture Program

    Food and Dining

    LAIAD is located in Korea Town. There is a tremendous amount of culture that can be taken in. You just have to walk a few feet and you can experience delicacies from around the world.

    Dorm Life

    I did not have the pleasure to experience this aspect yet.

    Academic Rigor

    This course in not for the weak! ;) You will be expected to do work. The work that you will produce is a direct reflection of your understanding and research results. It will make you a think in a manner that is expected when we transfer in to an accredited University.

    Tips for prospective students

    I highly recommend you research your ideas thoroughly. Never hesitate to contact the professors for help, for they will be readily available to enrich our minds with constructive criticism and guidance.

    In three sentences

    I am a current student for LAIAD (Los Angeles Institute of Architecture and Design). I strongly believe this is an excellent opportunity to take as you embark on your life long career for Architecture. You will learn specific skill sets to help advance your design process from an idea to a clear and concise tangible language form.

  • 09/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared dont be shy answer questions

    In three sentences

    I think WLAC is a great school, everyone is there too help and it is surrounded by a nice clean environment. I choose this school because of the football program, we have great coaches who care about getting players transfered.

  • 11/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    study hard purchase all your books

    In three sentences

    west la is a great school. the staff is very helpful with my career pay. and there are plent of resoures

  • 11/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is at its best. Always available at all times. Doesn't slack on the job. Campus security is a little bit uptight, but always have a positive attitude.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of clubs on campus. Each of them are very active on campus and volunteer or fundraise for their own club or for the school. There is Club Rush where students get to see what clubs do the school have to offer.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The ASO Lounge is a great place to relax and to do homework while watching t.v. The library is a great place to catch some sleep, do research papers, and get tutoring.

    Bang for the buck

    The paw store is a great snack-to-go shop to get snacks in between class time. It also has an ATM machine to get money out easy on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Look for opportunities to join clubs. Go around the community or the mall.

    Food and Dining

    The campus has one Cafe and its alright for the modern time. The food is a little bit too pricey. Great place to interact with other students.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms!

    Academic Rigor

    The Academics on campus really puts the students to the test. It is no joke. Just stay on task and talk to professors if in need of academic help. Tutoring is available for almost every subject that are available on WLAC campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the campus, there will be a lot of walking. Get to know where most of your general classes will be in. Make a S.E.P. (Student Education Plan) with a school counselor in your first semester.

    In three sentences

    West Los Angeles College Is a beautiful and small campus. It is a great campus to interact with other students. The campus is a safe to be in and it makes me feel secure.

  • 12/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Sheriff's all over the place

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    they have varsity sports

    Great for these types of students

    I don't hang out I go home don't know

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The quad

    Bang for the buck

    Very much so it a community college

    What to do for fun

    Go to class

    Food and Dining

    Prices are kind of high and not a major selection to chose from

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    Some professors have high expectations then others be ready for it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be discouraged with the first 2 weeks of it being crowded it will die down after a couple of weeks stay focus you are there for a goal get it done

    In three sentences

    They revamped the campus. It makes you feel like you are at a real college. One of the cleaner colleges in Los Angeles.

  • 12/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Minority

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well, there is always Club rush at the beginning of the semester.

    What to do for fun

    West Los Angeles College is located very close to downtown Culver City where you can fin multiple restaurants and bars. Also, theaters and an ice skating attraction.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just enroll and go for it! Go West, Go Far!

    In three sentences

    West Los Angeles College is a community college I would recommend everybody to attend to. They have a great campus located on a hill. It is extremely easy to get classes.

  • 01/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Use computers at library.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try your hardest everyday and it will lead to success.

    In three sentences

    WLAC is located in an okay location. Most of the teachers there are good. The food there isn't that great.

  • 02/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    nothing much to do thats fun. sometimes we have a little activity sport every blue moon.

    Tips for prospective students

    always come early to financial aid or admissions offices if need be for help.

    In three sentences

    Its not very big but i guess its a pretty good place to go for classes. there are very good teachers here and good counselors that can help you reach your goals. so west La.. possible good choice for you.

  • 02/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cops all over and they have the emergency call boxes everywhere!

    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are awesome. Too many to list. Athletic department is great too. Several teams for athletes to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to save money first two years and then transfer to university. Single parents who work during the day, they offer night classes AND day care. Anyone looking to further their education goals or professional career.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Haha! They have these areas called, Free Speech Area around campus...I still haven't figured out what it means!

    Bang for the buck

    Great college. Its for serious students who are ready to excel and achieve academic success. absolutely worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    Well! LA there are millions of things to do! Campus offers discounts on movies and al sorts of attractions around town so take a look at the poster boards all over campus and choose what you like!

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is okay, nothing to complain or praise about. However, It is very spacious and remolded so its nice to study in. They also have an outside portion in the sun with umbrellas which is great.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I find if I apply myself, the course work is manageable. Takes work to get results!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved on campus. Joining a club or athletic club will greatly help your mindset and ease the newness of being a new student. I also would encourage you to spend some time with student government officials and West LA staff, as they will be useful tools in helping you get in the right direction for your goals.

    In three sentences

    Attending West Los Angeles College is truly a life changing experience. I am growing everyday as a person and closer to my dreams of starting a Non-Profit for foster care kids, a prior foster care kid myself, I appreciate all the time the staff have invested in me and my future. West LA is an excellent college with limitless possibilities when effort is applied.

  • 03/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nothing

    Food and Dining

    I would recommend PAWS for a quick snack. the cafe is way over priced

    Dorm Life

    There isnt a dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging. You have to study and work hard to get good grades but it can be done.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask around about the teachers. You might get a teacher that doesn't math your learning style which is important.

    In three sentences

    I love the teachers and the availability of classes. The students are friendly. It is easy form study groups everyone is willing to help each other.