Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

West Shore Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/01/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    West Shore Community College is a great place for anyone looking to gain more knowledge without the hugeness of university. One really fantastic thing about this college is the diversity in age of students - it's really encouraging to see adults from the community attending classes, and I think that there's a lot the younger students can learn from them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check, double check and then triple check what classes you need for your degree. Do the exact same, and possibly even quadruple check, when finding out what schools your 2-year degree transfers to, if planning to transfer.

    Bang for the buck

    WSCC is most certainly worth the expense. Since it's a Community College, it's quite reasonable. Prior to attending, I was worried that the education I would receive would mediocre or below par. However, I have found the classes to be just the right amount of difficult - hard enough to challenge me, but not discourage me.

    Am enjoying being here

    The school itself is very pleasant, with a beautiful campus and friendly staff. One main thing about WSCC that really took me by surprise was the Student Senate. The group is very proactive and plans at least one activity per month, creating a fun environment and student life that I wouldn't have anticipated from such a small school - especially since we don't have any sports teams. I've been working with the Senate since the beginning of the Fall 2009 semester and love the opportunity to make student's ideas a reality. The only thing that holds me back from being 100% thrilled with WSCC is the rural location.

    Am learning a lot

    One of the things I enjoy most about West Shore Community College (WSCC) is the small class sizes and one-on-one interaction with the instructors. All of the instructor's I've had so far have been very helpful during and outside of class hours, making sure contacting them with questions or concerns wasn't a problem.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    the prices are fairly low. only about three thousand per year. most book you can also find at a decent price.

    What to do for fun

    go to lake michigan and take a walk out to the lighthouse. there is a club called tiki in downtown ludington. also, be sure to do some window shopping.

    Food and Dining

    they have the beans and bread cafe. it has great coffee and wonderful french fries. one of my favorite things to order is the buffalo chicken salad.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms but ludington is very close by and lake michigan is only a short drive away.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are great and the professors have the best interest of the students in mind.

    Tips for prospective students

    be sure to go up to the wellness center, it is a great place to work out. even if you just want to walk on the treadmill or swim some laps in the pool. there are a lot of cool events in the arts center as well, so be sure to check them out.

    In three sentences

    west shore community college is a great starter school. the atmosphere is very welcoming and there are a lot of student activities. overall it is a great school to attend.

  • 04/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Kept clean of snow during winter. No hazards or crime to speak of.

    Great for these types of students

    Law Enforcement, Nursing, Music, Theater, Arts, Educators, 1 and 2 Year Certificate, Advanced Placement High School Students.

    Bang for the buck

    Good price for tuition and great professor's make W.S.C.C. totally worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Enjoy the center stage theater. Go play disc golf on their course. Go for a hike on one of the wilderness trails. Go to the recreation center for swimming, exercise, basketball, or ice skating. Join the different clubs; AV, Gaming, 4-H, and there are more I'm certain.

    Food and Dining

    Beans & Bread Caf�© offers a decent menu, and special of the day (Mon. - Thur.) is hit or miss but is nice to have. Given the size of the school this caf�© is sufficient in meeting the needs of student and faculty.

    In three sentences

    An ideal place for students in the area to get a great head start on post high-school education. Comfortable atmosphere welcoming all ages of students, as well as a highly qualified faculty. Mason County is experiencing a lot of attention for its Arts, Music, and Culture lately, thanks in large part to West Shore's presence in the community.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    i love the student center!

    Tips for prospective students

    balance your life with college equally. make time for your homework. study, study, study!

    In three sentences

    they have a great student center. west shore is great with class sizes. i love going here because i feel like i get more out of my time and money.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    work out

    Food and Dining

    very good and a equal selection

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    teachers work to the best of there ability

    Tips for prospective students

    be out spoken and always ask for help if needed

    In three sentences

    helpful and understanding

  • 03/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe with lots of lighting.

    Clubs and Activities

    I do not do any.

    Great for these types of students

    Older individuals going back to finish a degree and young people who need a less expensive start before transferring to a larger university.

    Bang for the buck

    Great price for a community college.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of theater and musical programs.

    Food and Dining

    Good but expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are okay. They range from very strict instructors to easier laid back ones.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you go over the courses you will need. Sometimes advisors can get busy and maybe put you in a class you really do not need.

    In three sentences

    Very good communication with instructors. Very easy to navigate campus and on-line. Great support from all members of the college from advisors to administration.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    ice rink, swimming pool, exercise equipment, basketball, etc

    Great for these types of students

    single parents, students from high school to senior citizens, wants to take one or 5 classes.. certificates and degrees, refresher courses.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheaper tuition for students in the area.

    What to do for fun

    The school offers clubs to join.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not hesitate to ask anyone for help. Variety of classes from the morning to night. The main goal of every faculty member is to help each and every student succeed.

    In three sentences

    A majority of the teachers are very flexible. Students needing extra help are given every opportunity to succeed. Very helpful and friendly faculty.

  • 07/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    They have every club imaginable and if they don't have it you can start it as long as you have a certain number of people willing to join West Shore will fund it. They even have a Harry Potter club.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students not looking for a big school, but a small close to home one. Also, if you are going into nursing we have a great nursing program.

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get quality for a fraction of the cost of a university, plus you get the comfort of your home.

    What to do for fun

    There are activities on campus. There is also a recreation center with a pool, gym, weight room, and racquet ball court. Also, they recently added a disc golf course.

    Food and Dining

    There is only a little cafe called beans and breads. The food is decent; It fills the void.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are pretty rigorous; some more than other though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you buy your books early to save and get used books. Also, take a class with Matt Sanderson or Mike Nagle they are great teachers and make the class entertaining.

    In three sentences

    West Shore Community College is a great school especially for someone who is undecided on a major. You get a quality education for a fraction of the cost. Also, the staff treats you as a person not a number.

  • 12/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is fantastic! If you would like to be walked to your car at night all you have to do is call maintenance and the will send someone over from the police academy to escort you. The maintenance crew is beyond helpful with your needs be it car trouble or directions. Everyone really puts an effort into making the campus as safe as possible.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have dozens of clubs to choose from and join free of charge, and if you don't find one you like you can always create your own through the help of student senate.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like small class sizes and a rural setting then i would defiantly recommend West Shore.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I defiantly recommend exploring the cross country trails, they offer you an opportunity to see nature like never before and present very good photography opportunities.

    Bang for the buck

    Even if you dont end up getting finical aide the cost per 20 credit hour semester to attend is about $3,000 and that includes books! So to attend full time for a year would only cost $6,000 which is not even half as much as a year at a larger university.

    What to do for fun

    There are dozens of on campus clubs that you can join or if there is one you would like to create just ask for approval through student senate. The recreation center is phenomenal with 2 collegiate sized basketball courts, racquet ball, weight lifting and cardio rooms, cross country trails, disk golf, theatrical performances, and an ice rink. Student senate is always hosting a variety of events for students to attend for free.

    Food and Dining

    There is one on campus cafe where they serve a variety of hot and cold foods made fresh daily. The pricing is rather steep but the food is well prepared.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on campus living. The closest towns are Scottville, Ludington, and Manistee. In these towns you can find affordable income based living or room up with relatives and friends.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are admittedly hard, but the teachers really want you to succeed at learning and understand the material. So although you may presented with challenging course work, you can succeed through effort and discussions with faculty.

    Tips for prospective students

    Order your books online, although the school is smaller the book store times cause a congestion and time waste you do not want to experience, plus they will be cheaper. Also because the college is in a rural setting you will want to make sure your car has good tires for he winter months or you may get stuck.

    In three sentences

    West Shore is located in a quaint rural area, about 10 miles from Ludington, Michigan. Its faculty are well rounded with a large majority having doctorates and are always willing to help. Its smaller class sizes help if you really appreciate one on one time.

  • 04/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. During night classes, the police academy students walk around campus and make sure everything is okay. I always feel safe on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are quite a few clubs and activities. Each of them compliment certain groups of people, so there are things to do for everyone!

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for the kind of students that are not quite ready to go off to college yet, but still want a college education. That's what I did and it sure helps a lot, especially financially!

    What to do for fun

    The student senate always has fun things going on. There are great cross country trails, great ice rink, and also a great recreational center.

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious in the caf���©!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this community college

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask people for help when you need it. Everyone at the school is there for you!

    In three sentences

    It is such a great place to go to school. The staff is helpful and the students are friendly. I'm so glad I chose to go to this school.