Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

West Texas A & M University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/04/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All of West Texas's programs are excellent but there are a few standouts that we have. If you are interested in being on the radio or television WT is great for you. We have a great Broadcasting program here that competes nationally! Also you get hands-on experience your first semester here! Another great program is their Education department and the Ag department. Also another fast growing program at WT is Engineering. We are currently getting more engineering programs and moving that department into a bigger building. Schedule a tour with an advisor in your prospective department today to find out more information!

    Tips for prospective students

    I advise you to come take a campus tour today. You can come for tours in the morning or afternoon of the campus and then also a tour of all of our residence hall tours in the afternoon. West Texas is one of the most inexpensive schools in Texas (tuition here is lower than the average of Texas college's.) I would also advise living in the dorms because there you meet so many great friends and make many great memories. We have something for everyone here at WT and would love to have you.

    Bang for the buck

    West Texas is a great school for everyone. They have a medium size campus that is beautiful and they are always adding to it. If big universities are scary for you, like they are for me, then WT is the place for you. The classes are small and the faculty is nice. Here at West Test you are more than just a number or grade, you are a person. Everyone is nice and there are always fun, free things going on around campus for you to get involved with. Here at WT we have over 100 organizations to get involved with including Greeks! Come take a tour today and DISCOVER THE BUFF IN YOU!

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoying being at West Texas because I am from a small country town and so is everyone else here. For the most part most of the people here at WT are from small towns around here and you are bound to know some of them or know some of the same people. Every, including faculty, staff, and students, is so nice and friendly here so it is not hard at all to make friends. And unlike a big university you actually get to see these new friends are campus or maybe even in some of your classes. I love that the classes are small and dorm life is great. I have lived in the dorms for two years and have loved it. They do programs so that you can meet others living in your dorm, and the programs are fun. Also the cafeteria is not bad either, yes it has it's not so good days, but for the most part they try to change it up where you don't get tired of it and it is pretty tasty.

    Am learning a lot

    Being an Education major here at West Texas I learn so much. The field of education is always changing and I feel like the teachers here keep me updated on all the updates going on. Here at West Texas the teachers really do care about you and want you to succeed, so they like to help you in any way possible they can so that you can learn the material. I feel as though West Texas is a good medium between high school and a university. It is difficult at times, but I do not think that it is overwhelming and too hard. It's the perfect school to learn a lot about your intended major.

  • 07/19/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    I really feel like they have a great nursing department and I would really like to attend West texas A&M.

  • 11/24/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you chose to apply here, know that people hold doors open for you, they smile at you (even people you don't even know!), and they actually treat you like a real person! :D

    Am enjoying being here

    I love this school. Dorm life could be a little less noisy, but it's worth it.

    Am learning a lot

    I am ALWAYS learning something new. There isn't a day that hasn't gone by that I haven't obtained newly acquired knowledge. Being an General Studies Art Major, I have found that many of my classes are very interesting and are always sparking my interest.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Wesley Foundation puts on a 'Buffalo Run' after the first snow in the winter. The guys will run around the campus wearing only shorts and shoes while chanting and doing other manly things.

    What to do for fun

    Every other Sunday there is a free movie night that is right across the street from the campus. During football season the Wesley Foundation hosts a 'Fifth Quarter' dance party and you can win prizes when you sign in. There are also numerous activites that the RHA hosts throughout the year that you can get involved in (like Humans vs. Zombies week). If you're into athletics, but don't play for the WT teams there are plenty of intramurals going on all year as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to apply for scholarships before the deadline date (February 1 of every year) or else you aren't eligible in the following years. If at all possible, live on campus and buy a bike because you won't have a spot to park your car if you don't.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful during all seasons, and it's not so big that you can't walk to all of your classes in a timely manner. The classroom sizes also are not overwhelming, and you can get the one-on-one experience with your teachers. There are also plenty of things to get involved in around campus, and even if you don't sign up for an organization there is still always plenty to do.

  • 06/26/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Break out of your shell and try something new!

    Bang for the buck

    Oh yes!

    Will enjoy being here

    I love that even the food served in the cafeteria is delicious. It was just another reason to love West Texas A&M!

    Will learn a lot

    Though so far I've only taken tours everybody was very friendly and I learned a ton about the college.

  • 07/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are a student that loves to be connected to people around you or loves to be involved, this school is great for you. Also, with it being located in Canyon, Texas it still has a small hometown feel with luxuries of bigger universities. It is also great for students on a very tight budget. It doesn't cost a whole lot, but there's a whole that it has going for it.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend getting plugged in. The university makes it so easy for new students to get involved because of all of the clubs they have. Once you're involved, you gain friends, but you also gain a support system that has helpful information about the university and their experiences. I also recommend getting in touch with the financial aid and scholarship office as soon as possible because they will do everything to help you pay for college. The people within those offices are very understanding and helpful. If they can't help you, they probably know someone who can or ways to get you more money for college.

    Bang for the buck

    At West Texas A&M University, when you pay for your classes and tuition, you don't get a faculty that is there because they have nothing better to do. You get professors that love what they do and genuinely care about their students. You also pay fees that are actually profitable (for the most part). If you are from home and don't have a doctor, there is a student health center that can figure out what is wrong with you and prescribe medications. Also, there is a gym, library, and computer lab that is included into your fees so you have free access whenever you need it. You don't have to go elsewhere and pay extra for those luxuries. You also get into any sporting events for free, but that's just a bonus. You pay very little for so much.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being at WTAMU because there is something for everyone to be involved in. There are fraternities and sororities as well as interest clubs and student government. I also love the fact that there is always something going on at the campus or that is campus sponsored. The activities are usually entertaining, and the university tries to get something that everyone will like. There is also a place where you can find out about all of the activities and social groups that is very helpful. Everyone that I have met so far has been so friendly and helpful whether it be a student, professor, or other employee on campus. It seems like every corner has someone just waiting to help you. If you call any office, they can usually answer questions quickly and give you all of the information you need.

    Am learning a lot

    Here at West Texas A&M University, I haven't had a professor yet that I didn't learn something from. THe professors are really good about taking time out to answer questions and make sure the concepts being taught are understood. They all have a great knowledge of what they are teaching, and usually if they don't know the answer they look it up because they care about your education as well as theirs.

  • 01/08/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never had a problem there.

    Greek Life

    Alot to choose from and qualify for

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot to choose from

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Students live as vagrants on campus in cardboard boxes for a night to raise awareness.

    Bang for the buck

    Great price for a great education close to home

    What to do for fun

    Bowling alley, swimming, weight room, student activities.

    Food and Dining

    Great food service

    Dorm Life

    Not sure, heard great things, I did not live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are engaging but professors want you to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, visit the campus, talk to advisors and prospective instructors about options you may have.

    In three sentences

    Good faculty, close to home, great programs.

  • 01/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty safe. The campus police have a number for both emergencies and non-emergencies. If you call the campus police they will walk/ give you a ride anywhere on campus if you ever feel unsafe. Sometimes they have even gone off campus to help students. The campus police department are full of really nice and friendly officers. WT also has the Buff Alert system which sends texts, emails, and psa's all over campus in the case of an emergency.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is awesome! There are 5 sororities and 5 fraternities. 3 of the sororities have housing in Shirley Hall. Alpha Sigma Alpha sorority recently joined the Greek life community on campus. All of the frats have lodges or housing. Greek Life is expanding on campus and is a really pleasure to be a part of!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different types of clubs and organizations available at WT. The CORE office is a real help in finding what organization is right for you.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a close relationship with professors and want to feel a sense of community.

    What to do for fun

    WT always has something to do for free. Many organizations put on programs or events most days of the week. There is free bowling, the activities center, or go into amarillo for more options. There is also a movie theater in town and sporting events going on all the time.

    Food and Dining

    Depending on where you eat the food can vary. The food is always good in the food court in the student center. In the caf the food is so-so sometimes really good sometimes really bad.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is really fun! WT has many dorms to choose from, some older some newer. The cheaper dorms usually don't have air conditioning but the family and community aspect of those certain dorms trumps the need for air conditioning. The dorms with air conditioning have perks like air conditioning but don't seem to be as friendly. All the dorms on campus are really nice though. Every other Wednesday all the dorms host either 9:59 or Hall Council which is a great way for residents to get to know each other, get involved on campus, and get to know their RA's. At these meetings there is always free food and fun. There is an honors dorm for the honor students and there is a quad dorm. The honors dorm has private rooms. The quad dorm which is called Buff has four rooms with a connecting living rooms, kitchen, and two bathrooms. The rest of the dorms are two person to a room and the whole floor shares a bathroom with multiple stalls and showers. Dorms are a great way to get to know people!

    Academic Rigor

    The professors really want to see all of their students succeed and really show it. Most departments try to give as much hands on experiences as possible, which is really helpful and fun.

    In three sentences

    A small campus, which is very community oriented. It is quickly becoming a top public university in the U.S.. Great school for getting involved and finding a job after college.

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus police are always there for everyone. you can call them day or night. they will even give you an escort to your car at night if you want it.

    Greek Life

    i do not have much experience with them, but i have heard that they have lots of fun.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are so many things that you can be involved in, whether you want just one or many. sororities, fraternities, community service clubs, cultural clubs, language clubs, clubs for individual majors, leadership organizations, and so much more. and every week the university sends out a friday blast to tell you what the upcoming activities are for the next week, which keeps you informed of what is going on on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    anyone looking for a small university instead of jumping into a huge and overwhelming one. anyone who wants to pay a pretty decent amount for college. it is not bad, especially if you get scholarships and loans. anyone who wants to make friends fast. there are so many opportunities and organizations that help to initiate those life time friendships. anyone at all can come to wt, anyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the only one i can think of at the moment is that canyon is a dry county.

    Bang for the buck

    the classes here can get so small that professors can call you by name the second week of class. it allows for a better opportunity to get to know some of the people in your class without being intimidated, but also to ell build your relationships with the professors who will be giving you more opportunities to excel and will be writing your letters of recommendation in the future. i have not once regretted choosing wt as my university. i love the atmosphere, the people, the size, and everything. if i want to go to a bigger university later on i can do that for graduate school, but wt is a great start.

    What to do for fun

    you may go hiking or camping in the palo duro canyon just a few miles down the highway. it is great exercise and you can run, jog, and bicycle too. if you are looking for some other kind of entertainment then it wouldn't hurt to hop in your car and drive down to amarillo to see the amarillo night life. the plays put on at wt are free to wt students, as are the sports games. go to one of the football tailgates and bond with new people. if all else fails, just get a few of your buddies and sit around playing cards.

    Food and Dining

    the caf (cafeteria) has a good variety of food available everyone, meat or veggie lovers. and if you are just not feeling like the caf, then the jbk is an excellent alternative, specifically for those who don't have a meal plan. however, if even the jbk just can't satisfy your hunger, there are plenty of restraints close by that are within walking distance because of the small size of canyon.

    Dorm Life

    wt has been doing a lot of reconstruction lately. this year we put up a new dorm that looks fantastic. there are the old-school dorms as well, whichever you can get into. sometimes there are air conditioning or heating problems in the older dorms, but not so bad that people can't live with it. but dorm life allows for more bonding on campus and lets you sleep in just a little longer before class. it is a nice addition to the college experience.

    Academic Rigor

    wt is a laid-back kind of university. there are rules and regulations, of course, but i have not had any problems with feeling restricted. it is just fine for me.

    Tips for prospective students

    get in your scholarship and fafsa applications in as soon as the earliest deadline opens up, it puts you in the front of the line. wt has many opportunities that will help with money if you need it. they are always willing to help.

    In three sentences

    i absolutely love it here. it is quite small compared to some of the others i applied to, but i think that wt was definitely the right choice. there are just way more opportunities to excel and get involved with almost anyone on campus.

  • 02/11/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 48

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    visited here recently, very nice campus and rec center. bowling program, coaching, and training tools are top-notch.

  • 03/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    lower cost than a typical large university. however, i think its better in terms of dollars per knowledge

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria here is awesome!

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit with professors and don't be afraid to ask for help. They often are more than willing to extend the extra effort. Also, find and use study groups.

    In three sentences

    This is a smaller university that focuses in on its students. The class sizes are small and teachers care. It helps to be part of a community type campus.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safe.

    Greek Life

    Small but good.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for small town kids, and people who are laid back.

    Bang for the buck

    Great school for the price

    What to do for fun

    Not a whole lot to do for fun. Amarillo is not too far and that has a few more things to do. But student activities usually has awesome events planned throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food kinda sucks but that is typical cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    There are so many opportunities to meet people in the dorms. They really make an effort to make everyone feel welcome and have fun.

    Academic Rigor

    I would say it is just as good as any division 1 school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you talk to your professors and advisers. They will help you out so much.

    In three sentences

    WTAMU is a very personal school. It has the university atmosphere with the small town feel. It is a great place to get a good education and meet lifetime friends.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on the WTAMU campus. I feel like it is a safe enviorment and if you have any questions of concerns the campus police department is very resourceful and helpful.

    Greek Life

    Im not involved in Greek Life but I know they have a lot of organizations on campus and they always look like they are having a good time.

    Clubs and Activities

    Definitely a lot of clubs and activities you can be invovled in. They are always hosting different activities and they are always a blast. I have met some wonderful people through campus organizations. They are also very welcoming.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for student who dont mind panhandle weather. And students who can have fun and make the best out of all situations.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Buff Branding is like a huge camping trip for all incoming freshmen. Its a lot of fun. You go out to some cabbins in the middle of the canyon and they put on all sorts of activities and have special guest. It was a lot of fun. The friends I met there are the friends i have spent my whole first year at college with.

    Bang for the buck

    I definitely think coming here was a good investment. I came from out of state because none of the colleges in my home state had a very good mass communications program and the one here is amazing. I definitely think I will be graduating from here and will be leaving with a job and the knowledge I need for that job.

    What to do for fun

    Like I said before there isnt much to do that is fun around here. The campus does put on a lot of activities and sometimes those are fun. Amarillo is only 10 min away and there is a lot to do there and Lubbock is only an hour and a half away and it is also a lot more entertaining than Canyon.

    Food and Dining

    Sometimes the cafateria is alright and other times there isnt very appealing food. But there are other options. You can pretty much always find something though.

    Dorm Life

    Having a cerfew in college sucks. I hate the community bathrooms and not having airconditioning.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are here to help you and they really do. The class sizes are small and you get a lot of personal attention. They want to see you succeed so they will do everything in their power to help you out.

    Tips for prospective students

    There is not a lot to do around here so if your coming from a big city or you get bored easily then I wouldn't suggest WTAMU to you. But if you know how to have fun no matter where you are or what the circumstances then you will have a great time.

    In three sentences

    WTAMU is a great university. The classes are small and you get a lot of one on one attention. And the campus is beautiful.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    for fun you can go to Amarillo to the west gate mall, go outside, and have people over

    Tips for prospective students

    come here with a open mind and be strong in what you want to study and the biggest advice i can give is keep a planner with you at all times.

    In three sentences

    I love west Texas A&M university because it is a smaller school. All of the administration is nice and very helpful. Most of the students are nice here ,any where you go you have problems and you just have to get through those problems.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    WTAMU is one of the safest campus' in Texas.

    Clubs and Activities

    Any type of club you can imagine

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a university but wouold like smaller more intimate classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The college square, many traditions are unveiled at the college square, which includes the old square colck story, the great white buffalo. You need to attend to find out the rest of the story.

    Bang for the buck

    Everyone is so friendly and the staff at WTAMU is awesome. They really care and they look after the students. Big college with a small town atmosphere.

    What to do for fun

    WTAMU BUFFS FOOTBALL, a total football experience. Bowling on campus. A wide variety of campus clubs with many social events to choose from.

    Food and Dining

    Awesome cafeteria. Many food choices in the caf. Plenty of fast food options in the student union.

    Dorm Life

    A wide variety of dorms from single to married dorms. Two sets of new dorms. Friendly resident managers.

    Academic Rigor

    Awesome pre-med program. Great communications program. 85 % placement program for gradutes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour of the campus and meet the awesonme staff. Get involved with a club. Watch a WTAMU Buffs football game.

    In three sentences

    A big college with a small town atmosphere. Small classes with caring instructors. Terrific college experience.

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sports is something fun to do. The indoor pool we have as well. It's a great place to make friends. Clubs are also fun to do.

    Food and Dining

    Really good food. Different things almost every day. Everything really clean.

    Dorm Life

    I never got in a dorm. I always lived out of campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Everyone cares about you and your future. Teachers teach great. They help making hard things easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great, they help you to pick the career you are looking for.

    In three sentences

    Great place to study at. They have really good teachers. Everyone is friendly.

  • 05/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are inturmural sports for competition and fun. There is always a way to get involoved in the clubs and fundraisers for the school.

    Food and Dining

    The food is a wide variety of any food imaginable! It tastes great and there are always people inviting you to eat with them. Regardless if you are eating with a friend or alone.

    Dorm Life

    Gives you an opportunity to meet great new friends! Always willing to help each other while packing or moving in. The girls here are absolutly incredible, met friends on the first move in day!

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are always willing to help you outside of class if needed and they have students aids who help with notes and upcoming exams. I struggled in anatomy but with the help of my students teacher, I passed!

    Tips for prospective students

    Whether you are from a big or small school it is a great enviornment.

    In three sentences

    The classes are small and the teachers are very enthusiastic. Students here are friendly and always participating in the class. Tons of work opportunites on the campus.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Fun things in canyon and on campus. close to amarillo.

    Food and Dining

    Decent cafeteria and great restaurants to eat it. They have awesome sushi!

    Dorm Life

    Don't live in a dorm, but all my friends who do love them.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers encourage you to learn and make it their focus for you to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    You can save a lot of money by going to WT and what you learn is compreble to a much more expensive university.

    In three sentences

    Great teachers who care about their students. Diverse degrees offered in undergraduate and graduate. Very reasonably priced.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The activity center is really cool.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is ok. The have the normal which is pizza, and hamburgers. For the other food they could serve a bigger proportion for what were paying.

    Dorm Life

    I never lived in the dorms.

    In three sentences

    West Texas A & M is a really good school. I really like the atmosphere and everyone there is really friendly. The advisors are always very helpful with any question I have.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Many, many clubs, and if you're interested in making a new one you have that option available to you.

    What to do for fun

    There's the Palo Duro Canyon that many students go and hike through. Amarillo is only fifteen minutes away so there's movies, malls, etc. Pretty much anything, and of course you could always go catch a show at the Sybil B. Harrington.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get out there and visit, the teachers will definitely remember you after one visit. Apply early and try to get as many scholarships possible. It's very affordable compared to other schools.

    In three sentences

    West Texas A&M University is a wonderful university. You get hands on experience and one on one time with your teachers. It's a fantastic learning environment.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    extremely safe! If anything were to happen at the school, there is a BuffAlert sent to your phone, e-mail, and even your parents will get a phone call and e-mail to reassure them that you are safe and the problem has been taken care of.

    What to do for fun

    workout, bowling, intramurals (softball, football, soccer, volleyball, dodgeball, basketball) etc.

    Food and Dining

    There is a dining center that the university nicknames the Caf. There is a meal plan there that is a very reasonable price. The food choices there never end and it all tastes amazing. In our JBK there is also a Chik-fil-A, a Quiznos, a hamburger place, sushi bar and place for breakfast burritos. There is also a smoothie place and a little convenience store as well.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is what you make it. There are multiple options given to you in order to ensure your well-being. The prices vary from regular apartment living to very affordable dorm living. There are always activies hosted by the RA's and making new friends is very easy when living in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The student-teacher ratio is perfect. There is more one-on-one time and the learning environment is very laid back and comfortable. The most important thing is that the professors really care about you and will answer any questions you may have without hesitation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard, and take advantage of every opportunity given to you. Make smart choices and don't be afraid to ask questions, because there are always individuals that are more than willing to help.

    In three sentences

    West Texas A&M University is an extremely safe and protected school. The community is very supportive and friendly, but most important, they are involved in all activities hosted by WT. WT is a school that parents can feel comfortable about their child attending.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safe campus and town

    Clubs and Activities

    Hundreds of organizations exist

    What to do for fun

    The university's Activity Center has a few bowling lanes. The Palo Duro Canyon is nearby for outdoors minded students. Local honky-tonk offers country dancing opportunities in nearby Amarillo. One room movie theater in town has showings nightly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Become involved in an organization or group but don't over do it. Typically your first year is relatively easy so don't lose your determination over time.

    In three sentences

    Great small-town University set in a friendly town. Small classes, devoted faculty, and plenty of opportunities to make friends and get connections. This school is full of resources and opportunities that the average student does not fully utilize.

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Family oriented and close knit people.

    What to do for fun

    I'm new this year but the activities available seem fun. Beach volleyball, branding weekend, and a lot of sororities/fraternities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get all the paper work done early.

    In three sentences

    My rating on West Texas A&M is an excellent rating. The students and faculty are very happy and helpful. The atmosphere is exciting, fun and family oriented.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always available for escorting to vehicles. There are well lit parking lots and walk ways.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities cater to pretty nearly anyone. The hardest question is what to try next.

    Great for these types of students

    All types are welcome here. There are a variety of international students, non-traditional students and traditional students.

    Bang for the buck

    The price is right! There is so much available at WTAMU and the tuition and fees are very competitive.

    What to do for fun

    Fun? You need a calendar to keep up with all that is going on at WTAMU. The activity center has intramural sports and activities. There is a bowling alley, rock wall climbing, indoor swimming year round, and so much more!

    Food and Dining

    The dining is outstanding. The choices available are great!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms on campus are expanding to accommodate more students. They are newer and well equipped to handle the needs of students.

    Academic Rigor

    Its the goal of WTAMU's professors to prepare their students as best they can. They are available for help and there are resources available for extra help.

    Tips for prospective students

    The first tip would be to make time to meet your professors during office hours. They like to get to know who they are teaching. Get plugged into organizations and start networking.

    In three sentences

    WTAMU is challenging and the professors take an active interest in students. It strives to be competitive in a variety of areas. The graduates are very marketable and plugged in to industry trends.

  • 09/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Desire a quality education with the convenience of attending on-line.

    Academic Rigor

    Degree plans are well designed to prepare the students by exploring a wide range of subjects that play into the career of choice.

    In three sentences

    A professional grade university with a wide diversity of options for selecting the career path that best fits you.

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to Amarillo, Go to the Ac where there's rock climbing,bowling,racquetball and a gym. Also many organizations have activities planned each day!

    Food and Dining

    The student center has fast food places and the Dining Hall is awesome if you have a sweet tooth! They bake desserts daily and have awesome ice-cream:)

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is alright. I mean if you want nicer dorms pay more if not who cares your here to study and have fun, not hide out in your room 24/7.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers challenge you and theres tons of ways to get help if needed!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends, Join organizations, Go to Campus events!

    In three sentences

    WT is a small nationally ranked campus, it is a average sized campus that has many different ethnics and cultures. As long as you find your calling and interests you will enjoy Campus life. Make friends and everything will be 4/5 stars!:)

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Growing!

    What to do for fun

    Go Greek!

    In three sentences

    A great community. Easy to get to know people. Very friendly.

  • 10/11/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 48

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Visited it over the summer and the college campus was great. The staff was friendly, everything was close together, and I felt right at home.

  • 10/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is a very safe place to be. Anytime you are feeling scared of uncomfortable the campus police will come and give you a personal escort to where ever you need to go. Also, the RA's and campus police patrol the area every night while you are sleeping to keep our campus safe.

    Greek Life

    I was not personally involved in Greek life, but I know a lot of my friends are involved in the greek organizations. It's very intimidating for the girls at first with Rush week, but the greeks provide a sisterhood or brotherhood that is really hard to find anywhere else on campus and they do lots of volunteering for the community. This organization also provides lots of job opportunities later after graduation.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's many clubs and activities for everyone of all different kinds of interests you just have to go and get involved! There's Ag club, BSM, Wesley, Buffs for Christ, SAGE, Greek Life, Pysc Club, and almost anything you are interested in there is a club for it.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for agriculture majors. There's so many opportunities and job opportunities for these students in the Panhandle of Texas. This school really specializes in the agriculture department.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is this tradition at WT to go to Ceta Canyon for a camping for the Freshman. One night they take you to the lake with fire torches and you learn cheers and give speeches around the lake. Another tradition is running the buffalos up and down the football field when we make touchdowns. Most of the traditions happen on homecoming week, there's events every night that include Midnight Pancakes, worship night, and concert night. On the day of homecoming, there's a huge parade, 5K run, tailgate, and then late night homecoming.

    Bang for the buck

    College is definitely what you make it. If you go through the motions and miss out on all the events then you won't have a good time. Also, if you skip class all the time then you will fail. You're paying for this so you might as well go to events and meet your best friends, and go to the classes you or your parents are paying for to further your education, the real reason you are there.

    What to do for fun

    I got really involved in the BSM organization, one of the many to choose from, and they have worship every Thursday and events every weekend. Getting involved in an organization that has the same interests as you really helps. Also, the football games are awesome, especially traveling to see the Buffs play at the Cowboys Stadium!

    Food and Dining

    I didn't eat much on campus because my house is nearby with free food, but, there's many choices to choose from with new options everyday in the JBK. Also, in the cafeteria there are all you can eat buffets with a lot of variety to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great, especially if you make the most of it while you're there. The greatest and easiest way to meet people at this college is to go to the lobby and meet everyone that walks in. My only complaint about dorm life is that everyone goes home on the weekends and it makes college life very dull on the weekends.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically it is very challenging especially with which major and what kind of professor you have. But if you use the numerous opportunities given with tutoring labs and online tutors and see your professors, having a 4.0 GPA is not impossible! If you try really hard and seek out the help given then you will make the grade you want to achieve. College is what you make it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in some sort of organization that interest you! When you're surrounded by people who are interested in the same things you are then that's where you will meet your best friends. Go to the CORE office frequently to figure out what is going on at the campus. Go to as many events as possible and put yourself out there to meet people, it's intimidating at first but totally worth it! Also, you're going to be a poor hungry college student so go to the christian campus organization's free lunches offered everyday! You'll meet tons of people and get free food!

    In three sentences

    It's a great college to attend for agriculture majors, there's so many opportunities that this college offers for their majors. There's many ways to get involved on campus including 5 christian campus organizations. The CORE office offers many ways to get involved. My only complaint is that everyone goes home every weekend, it would help if more students became involved.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is great! Any choice of food you want!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun, you can make tons of friends. Sometimes it's rough because of no privacy, but it's not that bad.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are easy, as long as you keep up and do your reading and homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early for classes, so you'll get the ones you want. Go to class, otherwise your wasting money. Apply for all the scholarships you can!

    In three sentences

    WTAMU is a great school! Teachers care about you as a person and they will help you succeed. Also, there is so much to do.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe area. Can walk on campus at night with no worrying.

    Greek Life

    Pretty big for the size of school. They are the ones that put on most of the activities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Could have more student activities and club participation on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    People who like small town feel with southern hospitality. People here are so welcoming and really want to know you and help you out in any way possible.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Have a some but I don't know.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable for the level of education.

    What to do for fun

    Not much at all to do for fun in the town, but the campus often has events that you can attend.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria and food court does not have much variety or healthy options.

    Dorm Life

    It has a pretty average dorm experience. Hall advisors try to have activities pretty frequently but the quality of the roommates and dorm facilities are not so good.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent for the size. You have more of a personal relationship with professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are okay with living in a rural area that has very cold winters and not many activities.

    In three sentences

    WTAMU is a great university if you are looking for a place that actually cares about you as an individual. The small town feel of the university makes you feel welcome and at home. With the small teacher to student ratio you are guaranteed a good education.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have one of the best campus police departments, with officers who were previously law enforcement officers that retired, or were looking for a slower paced career. Every officer must know every inch of the college before being hired. We have never had any security problems, but the force stands on their toes, ready for anything at anytime.

    Greek Life

    I do not take part in Greek Life, but I am however associated with people who are enrolled. They love every minute of it, have tons of friends, and lots of fun. The fraternities do favors for the sororities and visa versa.

    Clubs and Activities

    The list clubs and activities is so immense that I literally could not fit it in two pages, even crammed together. We have a mass amount of sororities and fraternities, as well as collegiate FFA, dance clubs, music clubs, bands, literature clubs. A truly unlimited amount of opportunities for any interest.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any student looking to get to know their professors on a personal level. Extra benefits for those pursuing careers in agriculture.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a cool tradition called Buff Branding, where incoming freshman have an opportunity to take a trip to nearby Palo Duro Canyon for a weekend. During the weekend, you become affiliated with several seniors (called Peer Leaders) as well as other freshman. Some of your best friends are made during this weekend. On top of the social benefits, there are constant activities and icebreakers to keep you on your toes.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is most definitely worth every penny you pay. The tuition is relatively low, even for out of state applicants. You get way more than you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much around to do for fun that doesn't cost money. As far as free fun goes, there are often activities such as game night or movie nights in your dorm's lobby and recreational sports. Aside from that, the fun is all either in town or in Amarillo, which is a 10 minute drive away.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is not the best of food, other than on Thanksgiving and Christmas, when the staffs' real colors shine. Also, breakfast is amazing. They make real egg omelets!!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fantastic!! The other students are some of the most hospitable people you will ever meet. There is always something to do. An added plus would be the quality of the dorms. They are mostly new and very comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major of choice, you may or may not experience difficulty in your classes. On that note, it is college, this is where your life really begins, so it will not be easy. However, at WT, you are armed with free tutoring and a mass amount of help in any subject, so it may be hard, but it is not impossible.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking at WT, I would give you a few pieces of advice. For one, if you are not accustomed to or do not wish to live in a smaller, slow paced town, WT is not for you. For two, if you are planning on pursuing a career in agriculture, look no further, just send in your application asap. Last, but most definitely not least, WT is a cheap college compared to most other schools in the area, so if you are having a hard time financially, WT may be a good option for you.

    In three sentences

    WT is a very good school with a wide array of majors, from agriculture to dance or music. The classes are smaller in size, so you are usually on a first name basis with your professors. The school is aimed at helping the students and therefore offers free help and tutoring from students in several subjects.

  • 03/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have seen many times that the campus safety officers have walked woman to their car or have even given rides to them when it is raining.

    Greek Life

    WTAMU has major sororities/fraternities and minor ones: depending if you want to transfer to a major college.

    Clubs and Activities

    WTAMU has all different things to be involved in! It just depends on what your interests are and how involved you want to be.

    Great for these types of students

    WTAMU has many different fields for any type of student

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't believe we have any unusual traditions: we have annual mud volleyball games but i'm sure so do other colleges.

    Bang for the buck

    WTAMU was the perfect size for me and wasn't as exprensive as a big university.

    What to do for fun

    Canyon, TX is a small town and the college age relays on activities that the campus puts on. WTAMU has many oppurtunities to get to know your fellow peers.

    Food and Dining

    WTAMU has many choices for food and dining and hangout areas to eat and study.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't live in the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    My professors helped me with each session that I did not understand and made sure I completely understood the subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions: the people at WTAMU will help if you let them know what you need or what you don't understand.

    In three sentences

    WTAMU has been the perfect college for me and my family. WTAMU staff has been there to help me along the way and make college as stress free as it can be. I have developed life long friends and people that I can look up too the rest of my life here.

  • 04/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    West Texas A&M provides many opportunities for recreation, and social activity. Inter mural sports are offered throughout the school year, and are open for anyone on campus to join.

    Food and Dining

    The JBK offers needs more options, and the cafeteria is less than appetizing. I hear Eastern New Mexico has a great cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is overpriced... There is a hole in my floor by the heater.... and roaches. Stafford Hall.

    Academic Rigor

    I have been extremely challenged here at WT. The university also gives many opportunities for tutoring, and is an institution developed around the success of the student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't spend money.

    In three sentences

    West Texas A&M University is a school of great integrity and pride. My experience here has been quite enjoyable. Overall, WTAMU is an impressive institution, and deserves the highest of ranking.

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Movies, hanging out with friends, hiking in the canyon, hitting up the activity center for all kinds of games and fun! Swimming, sand volleyball, Midnight Rodeo, and lots more!

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is actually not bad at all! They have a large variety that differs every day...and they are open almost all day, every day! There is also our JBK which has chic-fil-a, Quiznos, and lots of other choices that are delicious!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life here is great! You meet lots of new people, and make tons of new friends! They have get togethers each week where they play different games, and have free food! There is so many activities you can get involved with!

    Academic Rigor

    Academics here is a huge must, and no matter how big our athletic system is, academics always comes first. The best of the best teachers are here to help you succeed, and you learn absolutely everything you need to become more knowledgeable and successful!

    Tips for prospective students

    WTAMU is a great place to attend school, and get a great college experiences. The classes are challenging and the teachers are tough, but they work with you as long as you are trying! Be sure you attend class, and work hard!

    In three sentences

    WT is a great place to be. They offer awesome teachers who care about their students, awesome facilities, and amazing athletic programs for Division 2 sports. The campus is beautiful and always kept clean.

  • 06/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great campus police. They have a great system to warn you if there is an emergency on the campus that you need to know about.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities that students over the years have created. If you don't find a club you like you can start your own club and the university will help you out with getting it up and running.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are active in their school, students that like the outdoors, pretty much any student that wants to go to college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Buff Branding for new incoming freshmen. A great way to meet many of your future classmates whiling having lots of fun.

    Bang for the buck

    Great rec center paid for in your tuition. Palo Duro Canyon about 10 miles down the road. Get into home sporting events for free.

    What to do for fun

    There are many groups that are active on the campus and doing something most every night. They have a great rec center with many things to do. If you need to get off campus the Palo Duro Canyon is just down the road.

    Food and Dining

    They have a good cafeteria that offers a variety of food. If you don't feel like eating campus food they have many restaurants within walking distance of the university.

    Dorm Life

    West Texas A & M has recently added 2 new dorms to their campus. They still have their old dorms which are kept up very well. When living in the dorms you have a great chance to get involved on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    They offer many Majors. The teachers are very helpful and will help you out if you are having a hard time understanding things.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus. The staff is very knowledgeable. They do a very swell job of inviting you in and making you feel like you are already a buff.

    In three sentences

    West Texas A & M University is a beautiful college. They have a very caring staff. They work with you and offer many majors to the students attending.

  • 07/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    THE DINING HALL IS AWFUL. I literally received a piece of carrot cake with ants on it. Also birds frequently make their way into the dining and food prep area and they really have no sense of urgency removing the birds. The food is worse than your normal cafeteria food. If you have a peanut allergy, Sony even walk in the door. They leave a huge bowl of it just open with no sneeze guard or anything. The hamburgers they cook until they are like hockey pucks. All vegetables are steamed without seasoning until they have turned to mush. Lettuce for the salad bar is often wilted. It is staffed mainly by lazy student workers who like to close early, so even if you get there before they close for dinner (7pm) you aren't guaranteed a meal.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are extremely overpriced, and the office of residential living will do anything in their power to ensure you have to pay for a dorm. They are extreme micromanagers. Make sure you are familiar with the requirements for living off campus before you come to school here!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are easy as hell. If you want to get through college without really learning much and not having to do much work, this is the college for you. All labs associated with science classes are a total joke. Also there are no good math professors, and chemistry professors are very difficult to deal with.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are serious about attending, make sure you realize that this is a small campus with a good and small student to teacher ratio, and lots of different degree plans. This may seem great, however when you get to your junior and senior level classes, they are difficult to enroll in because they only allow 20 students per class, sometimes less, and then there is only one scheduling option. Often the specialized classes are only offered one semester out of every two years. This makes it wry difficult to plan your schedule to ensure that you can ale all the classes you need without having to take an extra semester. Also, the catalog online is totally wrong, and the two year course rotation is not reliable either.

    In three sentences

    Overall, not bad depending on what aspects you value most in your college. I really enjoy the small town feel, and the size of the campus. Some things about the school are really great, especially the price, and some things are less than satisfactory.

  • 08/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs to choose from I'm sure you will find something that sites you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Buff Branding, make all incoming freshman am official Buff

    What to do for fun

    Two words, The Rec!

    Food and Dining

    Way better than what I expected

    Academic Rigor

    I like the shorter classes and more meeting session. Although I attended the last freshman orientation I was able to get every classes I needed and at descent times.

    In three sentences

    This is an awesome school that cares about the success of students in college and after college. WT is a school that wants everyone to feel welcome and apart of the school. I like how their goal is to have small classroom settings in the core classes (22 students).

  • 09/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is one of the safest schools I've toured and I absolutely know I'll be protected in anyway.

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities going going on that students can take part in.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is good. There are different foods to satisfy the needs of all the students.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great and give you the comfort of home.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are important to everyone who attends WT, especially athletes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study! Don't be afraid to ask for help.

    In three sentences

    West Texas is a great college for people from a small town. It's so peaceful and relaxing. It's almost perfect.

  • 09/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's not expensive and I wouldn't want to be anywhere else.

    What to do for fun

    If you enjoy sports, you'll love being here. There's always a sporting event going on somewhere. And the different organizations on campus are always doing something. It's easy to stay connected and entertained on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus isn't the best in the world. But there are definitely options available.

    Dorm Life

    It's all about building community with your peers. Just get to know a few people. Say hi to the people you meet in your dorm and get to know them a little.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are tough, but fair and very much passable. If you are disciplined enough to go to class and put forth effort, you can get through college with ease.

    Tips for prospective students

    GET INVOLVED! It doesn't matter who you are or what your interests are; you can find people who would love to get to know you. Just get involved somewhere on campus.

    In three sentences

    I really like WTAMU. It's a great school that strives for excellence in academics, athletics, and all other areas. It's a great place to be if you are looking for community with your peers.

  • 09/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you don't feel safe, campus PD will escort you, but I've never felt unsafe here!

    Bang for the buck

    Such an amazing school for the money you pay, you get every dollar worth out of your teachers and the experience!

    What to do for fun

    Walk around campus, go to a game (there's always games going on), hang out at the JBK or go to a movie!

    Food and Dining

    Great options of food for everyone!

    Dorm Life

    Great hall life! Hall meetings are always a blast!

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers will push you, but are always willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and apply for scholarships! Make sure to go to an early NSO to get the classes you want.

    In three sentences

    West Texas A&M is a big school with a small school atmostphere. The teachers are fantastic and always willing to help. Campus is small and beautiful.

  • 10/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    West Texas A&M is an extremely safe campus. Crime usually doesn't happen around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many campus organizations. If there is any organization a student wants to get involved in, they can search for it at the CORE office, or create it if there isn't an organization they're looking for.

    Great for these types of students

    WTAMU is great for students who want to be involved on campus, get a great education for a great price, or students who want a place to fit in. WTAMU has a place for everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    West Texas A&M University offers so much for its students for such a low cost compared to other universities. The professors really care about the students and in turn, students get a great learning experience.

    What to do for fun

    West Texas A&M University offers a large amount of campus organizations where students can get involved and participate in many fun and exciting activities. Also, around campus there are places like Varsity Theatre which has free movie nights every other Sunday for WTAMU students.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall at West Texas A&M University has been improving constantly since I arrived as a freshman. The dining hall features vegetarian options as well as gluten free options. The Jack B. Kelly Student Center is also a great place to eat. It has Quiznos, Chick-fil-a, sushi, a coffee shop, and other dining options. It also had a convenience store filled with snacks and drinks.

    Dorm Life

    I loved dorm life at West Texas A&M so much that I became a resident assistant. The residence halls at WTAMU are an amazing way to meet people on campus who have similar interests. I have met some of my best friends by living on campus at WTAMU. It's so much getting to live with so many exciting and caring people.

    Academic Rigor

    West Texas A&M University is a wonderful school. Students are challenged by their classes, but have caring professors who want them to succeed. WTAMU does an excellent job at preparing students for their futures.

    Tips for prospective students

    Anyone looking to go to college should strongly consider attending West Texas A&M University. Students who attend WTAMU are surrounded with caring faculty and staff who will do whatever it takes to help the students succeed. On top of academic excellence, WTAMU also has a beautiful campus filled with great organizations and very friendly people.

    In three sentences

    West Texas A&M University is a wonderful place to be. I have loved every minute of my education here, from the organizations on campus to the professors. Everyone is extremely friendly here, and it's very easy to succeed at WT!

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria on campus is not very good. There is not a wide variety, and sometimes the food is undercooked.

    Dorm Life

    Some of the dorms need to be updated, but the newer ones are very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors keep you engaged in the classroom, and they are academically challenging.

  • 01/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food here is awesome. You can choose from the dining hall or different restaurants on the main street right by the school.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is excellent. They have lobbies with pool tables, TV's, and other good stuff!

    Academic Rigor

    West Texas A & M has great professors that's by your side every step of the way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, have a great social life and have fun with this experience!

    In three sentences

    West Texas A & M is an excellent school. If you are looking to attend a school that's not so big in size and with awesome student life, this is the place to be. I don't see why anyone wont pick this institution to attend

  • 02/03/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    45 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Drinking is never done on campus- they are very strict and old about it. If you want to drink you can certainly find a way through friends, but it will be off campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek life does not really affect the social atmosphere of the school. Non-Greeks are indifferent about Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    baseball, basketball, cross country, equestrian, football, golf, soccer, softball, track and field, and volleyball.

    Bang for the buck

    At West Texas A&M University, 56.2 percent of full-time undergraduates receive some kind of need-based financial aid and the average need-based scholarship or grant award is $7,857.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the food court and cafeteria are both pretty good. Everything is always pretty well cooked thoroughly. The prices in the food court could be a little less and I doubt they'd lose any profit at all because it's so frequently used.

    Dorm Life

    West Texas A&M University offers a number of student services including nonremedial tutoring, placement service, day care, health service, and health insurance. West Texas A&M University also offers campus safety and security services like 24-hour foot and vehicle patrols, late night transport/escort service, 24-hour emergency telephones, lighted pathways/sidewalks, and controlled dormitory access (key, security card, etc). Of the students at West Texas A&M University, 34 percent have cars on campus. Alcohol is not permitted for students of legal age at West Texas A&M University.

    Academic Rigor

    West Texas A&M University has a total undergraduate enrollment of 6,543, with a gender distribution of 45.2 percent male students and 54.8 percent female students. At this school, 32 percent of the students live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing and 68 percent of students live off campus. West Texas A&M University is part of the NCAA II athletic conference.

    Tips for prospective students

    When applying to West Texas A&M University, it's important to note the application deadline is rolling. Scores for either the ACT or SAT test are due August 15. The application fee at West Texas A&M University is $40. It is selective, with an acceptance rate of 69.4 percent.

    In three sentences

    West Texas A&M University include Interdisciplinary Studies; Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services; Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities; Health Professions and Related Programs; and Agriculture, Agriculture Operations, and Related Sciences. The average freshman retention rate, an indicator of student satisfaction, is 63.5 percent.

  • 02/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Buff alert is great for campus safety. It's a text messaging service that lets you know when campus is on lock down, fire drills going on, and if anything bad happens that students need to know about. Also, there are plenty of campus police everywhere you go on campus. WTAMU is one of the safest campus' I feel there is.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is good for the people who want to be involved in Greek life. The sororities and fraternities are all welcoming to everyone and make sure that everyone feels included. There isn't one group that singles out anybody. They all are great for campus and stay involved in everything that goes on on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    WT has something for everyone. There are church groups, groups for game supporters, and groups for all academics. There are a lot of activities for everyone to join in on. There is always something fun going on. I loved Buff Branding and getting to meet all the peer leaders, and new students.

    Great for these types of students

    WTAMU is great for the type of students who are willing to put their best foot forward, and are willing to try. WTAMU is great for the athletes because WTAMU has a very good record in sports. WTAMU is good for the people who love to be involved on campus, and know what's going on. It's also good for the people who want the best education and love being in Texas.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a tradition in my dorm hall where you do not step on the buffalo on the floor, or you have to kiss it if you do. There is also an underground tunnel under the campus that takes you to every building on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    WTAMU is the best education with a great price tag! You get great education and it's cheaper than most Universities.

    What to do for fun

    There is an activity center with a swimming pool, game rooms, a gym, and a bowling alley. There is always something to do. The gym is great and the pool is indoors so it's even open when it's winter which is very nice. Also, the dorms have stuff going on all the time, and groups on campus usually have get togethers or events every week.

    Food and Dining

    It's not your usual Home cooked meal but it's not as bad as others will make it out to be. On campus there is also a food court that has fast food which is good, but then in the cafeteria is always something good there.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life to me was very great! There was always something going on in the hall, and always something to keep everyone involved in. The dorms also have the best of the best staff to help everyone and make friends with everyone.

    Academic Rigor

    I love all of my professors, they're very understanding and helpful. Their classes are difficult enough to challenge yourself, but easy enough to not stress too much over. They're also very willing to help, as well as there are tutors and labs that can help improve your grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips would be: 1. To ask people ahead of time for the best professors for each course. 2. Get to know your professors so they know you by name. 3. Always keep a positive attitude when meeting new people. 4. Not to take your entire room to school with you. 5 Get to know your RA's, most of them are great!

    In three sentences

    West Texas A&M is a great school for people of all majors. It's a place full of great professors, and staff members. WTAMU is a full of awesome activities and friendly students.

  • 04/18/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    47 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The caff seems like a great place to eat, almost like a college version of Golden Corral.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms all seem closely knit, like a family. I especially liked talking to some of the current students and seeing how they were great friends. There are even many activities put on by the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    15 hours are required per semester for many scholarships and the honors college. It seems like they teach so that you learn well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start early, scholarships might go fast.

    In three sentences

    Love this college, and it was recommended to me by others. It just feels right, with a lot of fun and the right professors. I especially like the feeling I get after I talk to anyone.

  • 05/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had a single moment of fear while on campus. It is incredibly secure and well looked after. No one should worry about their personal security or the security of their belongings.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are more opportunities to get into clubs that you could possibly imagine. I'm pretty sure WT would start an underwater basket weaving class with enough interest in the subject. There are endless options so find one that interests you and stick to you. You won't regret it.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student can fit in and do well at WT as long as they are willing to work. It won't be easy no matter who you are. So if you aren't prepared to study and focus, then WT may not be for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are so many traditions on campus that one could not even begin to describe them all. Whatever you do, attend them all at least once. They are always wonderful to witness and be a part of.

    Bang for the buck

    For the education provided and the service you will receive, the money is an excellent deal. There are few other universities where you can get the education WT provides for the money that you spend.

    What to do for fun

    There are a million things to do on and around campus. There is always some kind of activity going on with the many groups. For those who enjoy more serene, educational endeavors there is a wonderful museum free to all students. For others who enjoy massive social gatherings and college parties, join a group. Any group. There is plenty going on if you're involved to know about it. Get involved in any and every thing that you can. It doesn't distract from your studies if you don't allow it to. Involvement is what makes the college experience. Don't sit around and watch everyone else enjoy what you missed out on.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall, JBK food center, and snack areas are all wonderful on campus. I have never had a bad experience with any of them. The food is always warm and delicious. It's never a bad decision to stop in and grab a bite between classes.

    Dorm Life

    I don't personally live on campus but I have many friends who do. The dorms I have seen are very nice and seem to be kept that way regularly. I have spent many hours studying in dorms and it is always an experience. If there is one decision from my first semester I regret it is my choice to live off campus. If even only for a single semester, live in a dorm. If for nothing else do it for that genuine college experience of living on campus with your friends.

    Academic Rigor

    College is tough and anyone who says otherwise is in denial. WT is no exception. They won't take it easy on you so you have to keep on your toes. It's your responsibility to pass, not a professors. You have to be willing to study hard and work for the grades you want. There are many classes that will just naturally come easily to you. Don't take those for granted and don't fool yourself into thinking they will all be that way. I was excellent at my studies in high school. I didn't have to study much of anything. College was a HUGE wake up call for me. Trust me, you don't want that shock. Take it from me, it's nothing like high school. It's all on you. The professors have no one to answer to if half the class fails.

    Tips for prospective students

    For students who intend to enroll at WT I have one major bit of advice, GET IT DONE! Don't wait until the last second to start filling out applications and getting the ball rolling on things. College is a big deal, so treat it as one. There is a lot to do before you can begin attending classes, it's not just a one step process. Everyone is willing and excited to help you so don't be afraid to get started early and ask questions. Students and faculty alike are all here to help the newest members of our WT!

    In three sentences

    West Texas A&M is an incredible school, social center, and genuinely caring environment. There is never a day that I feel as if I am unwanted or unwelcome anywhere that I go on campus. The classes and staff are magnificent!