Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

West Virginia State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/07/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The campus is really close together so youre not freaking out trying to get to class on time. Most of the teachers are pretty nice and will help you in any way if youre unsure of what to do. There are so many different people around so you will never be alone, everyday youll meet very interesting people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont go into college thinking this is going to be a breeze, because you have so much free time now that you may take advantage of that. I knew some people who had that freedom and would just stop going to class, so you really need to take responsibiltiy. You have to also realize that you dont have teachers to write you up when youre late or just dont show up. Youre education is completly in your hands now, so dont mess it up.

    Bang for the buck

    College here is affordable for the most part, of course I had to get student loans, but it really is cheaper than most colleges.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have meet so many people and made great new friends. With these friends I have been involved in many fun activities and have learned a lot about filming, acting, and how much hard work is put into it.

    Am learning a lot

    My classes are very informative and they are fun. High school had so many rules that prevented a positive learning experiance. College is different, but in some classes its still the same. Many teachers push you to be on time and to always attend each class. They do everything they can to make sure you are informed on what the topic is, and encourage you to study a lot. I feel like I am really furthering my education here.

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are amazing. The school offers every type of club for every personality. I became a member of Student Activities Council and love to organize and plan events each week for other peers.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are hardworking, love to have fun, and can find college pride will love West Virginia State University.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus has a lot of folklore type shows and events that happen during the year. Modern events are always occurring also. However, even your typical homecoming or play is more community based and friendly feeling than what you get at other campuses.

    Bang for the buck

    College is expensive but not at State. You can pay less and get the same education as a private university. I would know. I transferred my sophomore year from a private university to West Virginia State University.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is truly alive at night. There are always events, parties, or local bars to attend.

    Food and Dining

    The dining services are about what you expect at any college. I suggest if you are a picky eater than you should bring plenty of your favorites to have at hand.

    Dorm Life

    Personally, I prefer Dawson to Sullivan. Dawson is much stricter than Sullivan. However, if you are a student who prefers to study and have a clean environment Dawson is perfect. Anyways, you can party off campus or at a friends house.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on your major and ones study habits. I am a psychology major and have found the program enriching.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend studying, showing up for class, and striving to graduate.

    In three sentences

    West Virginia State University is a wonderful educational opportunity. The grounds are beautiful and living in a dorm will be a great adventure for any student. Please do not judge this university on the past but on the present achievements it has received.

  • 04/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I haven't heard of any incidents happening on this campus while I have attended here. I won't say that there haven't been any at all, but they are rare, and I feel safe here. However, I am a large adult male, so things are different for me than they are for females, but females shouldn't have much to worry about either. The campus is small and pretty open, so there's very little hiding room for suspicious activity. The only time one would have to take extra caution is at night, since a few classes can run pretty late.

    Food and Dining

    I don't know much about the meal plan, besides there being one. But the food is pretty good, and there are many different choices in their cafeteria, ranging from a big salad bar, to pasta, to pizza, to special grilled items. They even box up lunch items for sale outside the cafeteria. They serve Starbucks coffee, which is really nice, and there is also a Subway and Taco Bell on campus. Finally, there is a great BBQ place across the street; it's pricey, but well worth it.

    Dorm Life

    I cannot speak for the dorm life, since I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    To be fair, WVSU does what it can with what it has. It's not one of the elite schools that people always talk about, and I don' think it's a good idea for athletes. However, I have learned much in my time attending here, and I feel that it was the right choice for me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Getting the PROMISE scholarship (or out-of-state equivalent) will take care of nearly your entire tuition. Plan out the courses you want to take well in advance so you don't get lost or sidetracked. And make sure you constantly stay on top of all your files and paperwork, just in case someone makes a mistake, because it will probably happen to you.

    In three sentences

    West Virginia State University is a fair choice for someone who is looking to get a degree to enhance their future, but doesn't want to be in debt for the rest of their lives. I have enjoyed much of my time at this school, and I appreciate many of the teachers I have worked under. That being said, there are issues, and most of them stem from a lack of communication and proper tracking of important files between departments and employees.

  • 05/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    State is very affordable and gives you a great education. I dont know what I would have done if State didnt have such a low tuition cost.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is so gorgeous during the spring and summer time. I enjoy being outside to study, and there are always fun events taking place to engage yourself in. I love the atmosphere and the people. It helps me want to go to school everyday and learn.

    Am learning a lot

    I have had great classes since I have started school there. All my teachers are amazing at presenting the topic in a fun and interesting way. I have learned more at state than I ever did in high school.

  • 08/02/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I think WVSU is great for any type of student. The school is very diverse and offers a wide variety of courses and activity so that all students feel welcome. Regardless of what interests you, there's usually a program or activity scheduled that will accommodate you. A wide variety of degrees are offered and a few Graduate Degree programs, so WVSU is great for all!

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the resources offered by the school. There are countless students activities, restaurants on campus, a fitness and game center, and a free health clinic. If you don't know what's available, ASK. You pay for it whether you use it or not, so you might as well use it. If you struggle with classes, take advantage of the free tutorial services and the hourly tutors in the TAP room. They're helpful and FREE! Meet with your professors and advisors. They're there for you. They're helpful and usually try to do anything within their power to help you. I've had really great experiences with my professors and my advisor at WVSU, so I would definitely recommend seeking them out. SCHOLARSHIPS! Keep your grades up and apply for as many scholarships as you can. Take the time to write the essays and fill out the application; It takes time but it saves money.

    Bang for the buck

    WVSU is a state school, so tuition costs are fairly average. As with all schools, textbooks are outrageously priced, so I buy used books online (saves a TON!).

    Am enjoying being here

    I love attending WVSU! I'm begining my second year this fall and I'm truly looking forward to it! The classes are great, as are the professors, and the campus is so nice. Some of the buildings are older, but it's still very nice, well kept, and clean (which makes a great difference).

    Am learning a lot

    I'm enrolled in the Elementary Education program. Most of my professor have been phenomenal! I can think of only two whose classes I detested, but you'll have than anywhere. The classes aren't strictly formal; the setting is usually pretty relaxed so you can be comfortable talking in discussions and asking questions. The courses are very informative, if somewhat challenging, and the education professors are great about incorporating current events and new technology to create the best possible education for aspiring teachers.

  • 11/17/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone interested in a degree in education.

    Bang for the buck

    Not an expensive college for all the serious education they give you.

    Will enjoy being here

    In a location close to everything.

    Will learn a lot

    Very informative on all the details, and they do not try to cut you short of any scholarships you qualify for.

  • 12/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Education, Serious Students

    Tips for prospective students

    Just have an open mind.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    the amount of extracurriculars available on this campus are overwhelming. if you have a niche, this university has filled it.

    Food and Dining

    the west viginia state university's dining has been used regionally as a template for other universities' food practices. i definately cannot claim that the ding experience is lacking in any aspect.

    Dorm Life

    i have not experienced dorm life on the west virginia state univerity campus, although i have heard that, with the diversity in mind, it is a very unique and special growing experience.

    Academic Rigor

    at this university, you will find yourself challenged, but never feel as if you have been forgotton as an individual student with individual needs.

    Tips for prospective students

    west virginia state unniversity is an inarguably unique experience, in contrast with any other university at which one might consider attendance. the regional culture is rich, the local history enthralling, yet the population remains diverse and enthralling.

    In three sentences

    west virginia state university is challenging at times. however, i never feel that a teacher is willing to move on unless i grasp the material. i feel confident in my abilites to both perform at be assisted at the university.

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    sports, student union

    Food and Dining

    Limited

    Dorm Life

    Nice, kept up.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on your area of study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy the ride, education helps prepare you for life and your future

    In three sentences

    West Virginia State Universiry, offers cultural diversity for both traditional and non-traditional students. There are many educational degree to choose from in which to meet your academic goals/career. The college also, offers a rich history to it's existance, and how they have been able to prepare the way for many people in it's history.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have a subway and a taco bell with many other surrounding places to eat.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The college takes pride on making sure the information is known.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study Hard, Be organized, and meet many people.

    In three sentences

    It is a good school. The parking is horrible. Overall I enjoy being a student here.

  • 06/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    it is pretty awesome :)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the school yard is the hang out spot, and the clock.

    What to do for fun

    mall, and school clubs will throw events, and sports.

    Tips for prospective students

    get to know people before you come to wvsu.

    In three sentences

    wvsu has great teachers that will help beyond any means. the staff is very helpful and you will find everything that you need at wvsu. wvsu is all about a loving environment makes sures everybody is happy.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek Life at WVSU is a bit more subdued than at larger universities, but fun and enriching nonetheless.

    Clubs and Activities

    >Student Activities Committe >Greek Organizations >Campus Newspaper >Campus Radio Show

    Great for these types of students

    1. If you're looking for a school with few distractions (excessive partying, loud Saturdays for football games, easy access to alcohol, etc). 2. If you're looking for a school that's budget friendly. 3. If you're looking for a school that's fairly easy to get into.

    What to do for fun

    Game rooms, excercise rooms, basketball courts, video game lounge, and computer labs are all available to students.

    Food and Dining

    Some days the cafeteria food is excellent. Other days, it's another story.

    Dorm Life

    There is much to be made up for regarding campus life. After all the homework and studying is finished, there's very little to do on campus for fun. Although there are numerous things available (gym, basketball courts, game rooms, etc.), on-campus students RARELY take advantage of them, myself included.

    Academic Rigor

    The course work is challenging, but not too challenging (depending on what your major is).

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Be ready to be given the run-around at times. 2. Get your work done ahead of schedule. 3. It's up to YOU to go to class. 4. It's a great school if you're looking for very few distractions from your work.

    In three sentences

    1.) West Virginia State University is a good school with a staff that is accessible to most people. 2.) When it comes to teachers that actually care, the staff is about half and half. 3.) The school going through a period of transformation for the better.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    13 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for anyone that likes small classroom sizes and a diverse campus.

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do for fun. If you want to get off campus and go somewhere you can just catch a KRT bus to the mall, movies, ect. You can also go for a run on campus or head to the basketball court to play some basketball.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't had the food on campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is decent. The only problem I have with the dorm life is that you are not supplied with a refrigerator or microwave.

    Academic Rigor

    I am not sure yet on the academic rigor because I have not yet attended the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for students would be stay ahead and don't fall behind on school work because it gets hard to catch up. Take breaks when you are studying so you don't get stressed out.

    In three sentences

    West Virginia State University has small class sizes, so there is time for one-on-one time with the professors. The school is very affordable for most people. It also has a beautiful campus.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have security guards on watch 24/7 and surveillance. Students living on campus also have to go past a watchmen to leave and enter the dorms after a certain hour.

    Greek Life

    I am apart of an organization that was just started last semester and I am a founding father of it. Everyone in the organization is like a big family, we all look out for each other.

    Clubs and Activities

    I myself do not belong to any clubs, but our sports programs hold their own.

    Great for these types of students

    The campus is very handicap friendly.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Everyone hangs out in the Union at different times of the day. It's where everyone meets and hangs out.

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get your moneys worth in education, but as i am a commuting students I don't get all the benefits of living on-campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are many organizations and sports teams on campus to look into, and a wonderful big library.

    Food and Dining

    I'm to busy to eat in the dinning hall, so i eat from the Subway on campus, but one should visit and try the food. I hear its very good.

    Dorm Life

    I personally don't live in a dorm, but i have friends who do and i am told it is nice, but prospective students would be advised to go on campus and check things out for themselves.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent professors who are understanding and willing to work with you if you have any problems.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the schools website, learn what you can there. Go to the school and talk to a student about how they like it on campus. If your interested in specific class information, find one of the deans of the subject your interested in, they can give you the best information.

    In three sentences

    Great school with very helpful staff, mentors who care about how your doing in your classes. Tutors who check in with you all the time, good food, nice living arrangements. Beautiful campus, friendly people, lots of financial help available.

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus has secrity , but since nothing ever happens here, there job is pretty easy

    Greek Life

    The farternites and sortities don't really present themselves that much on campus mainly only at parties, or unless you personally know they are apart of an organization.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't party much or at all, and perfer to focus 98% of their time on academics

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is very cheap, and it is a good school depending on your major, but it can still use LOTS of improving.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing really goes on on campus and since most of the clubs and fun places are downtown, you have to have a car.

    Food and Dining

    The food is a 7 on a 1-10 scale. It's not bad but they could add a bit more variety.

    Dorm Life

    There are only 2 dorms on campus, one is co-ed and one is an all girls dorm. The all girls drom is clean and nice but, the RD treats us like prisoners and she's the warden! The co-ed dorm(sullivan) is dirty and ratchet.

    Academic Rigor

    95% of the professors try there best to make sure not optain information but also pass. Depending on your major classes can be difficult, but with hard work and dedication you can achieve anthing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to campus with a car or you will regret it. Make friends in the Finacial aid office. Don't expect many partys

    In three sentences

    Its a good academic school, But, the social scene gets D-. The only thing in walking distance is a gas station, so you will need a car if you plan of leaving this campus. The school is racially excepting.

  • 01/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No clue

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not in any.

    Great for these types of students

    Ones who are trying to find a place where they will have to pay less tuition.

    What to do for fun

    They have a game room downstairs in the student union and other things to do.

    Food and Dining

    They have a cafeteria(I haven't been in there.), Subway, and Taco Bell.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live there so I have no clue.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't get loans!

    In three sentences

    It is a good place if you are wanting to stay close to home. Some of the teachers are really nice. The tuition is significantly lower than other colleges.

  • 01/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is extremely five stars. Campus safety is very high because the campus police are always on top of their games by making sure nothing or no one are harmed in the community.

    Greek Life

    Greek life isn't the best on campus, yet we have a fairly good aspect of the devine nine on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are particularly no cluds on campus, but there are always events or activities happening. For instance art club. movie nights, basketball games, tennis games, homecoming,etc..

    Great for these types of students

    WVSU is a school for students that want to get away from home and experience a new type of enviromen. As well WVSU is for students who academically would like to recieve that one on one feel fromm professors and college classes

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual tradition we have on campus particularly on the sixth floor of sullivan hall west, which is a building at WVSU, is terrizing each other in a playfully, yet non-dangerous form. For example if we catch on another in the shower we'll throw a wet rag at you or pur shampoo all over you. Basically distacting you, but only when it's doesn't protain to academics

    Bang for the buck

    Just being in college is a scene I won't be able to recieve back at home. Living the campus life and enjoying the opprotunities college have to offer is just amazing. I would say to anyone college is defiantly a place to go if you want to be successful and progress yourself into an adult.

    What to do for fun

    For fun I go to the events on-campus. As well as play basket ball with friends. I also go to the gym to workout and play ping pong with friends.

    Food and Dining

    food is awesome. I eat at the cafe everyday. It is a place wher I can go eat and become satisfied immediatly. I love eating on campus, especially because we have a subway and a taco bell.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty good. I have no problems with the rtoo mates im placed with. The dorms are fairly clean. The people throughout the dorms are pretty friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    I rate the academic rigor on a 5 star because the learning is great, you get to reciave that one on one feel from your proffesors as well as class mates when needed. There are plenty of programs here to help they just need to be taken advantage of.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you come to West Virginia State University don't take it for granted. Excel to your fullest potantial. Try as hard asd you can, but if you need help reach out for it because the help is there.

    In three sentences

    West Virginia State University is a small and inter-active college. Wher you can enjoy social life as well as academic life. Especially academics, you can recieve one on one attention from proffesors.

  • 03/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Rated in the top for safest University campuses

    Greek Life

    HBCU with Alphas, AKAs, Deltas, Omegas, Kappas, Sigmas, and Zetas. Currently there are no Iotas although they do have a chapter here, and no SGRhos.

    Clubs and Activities

    HBCU Greek Life Honor Societies

    What to do for fun

    Approximately 15 minutes from the mall/movies About 5-7 minutes from Walmart as well as a variety of restaurants

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are not serious about furthering your education, than don't bother applying....However, if you need a little help and guidance there are plenty of dedicated staff and faculty to help guide you along the way!

    In three sentences

    West Virginia State University is currently revamping the WVSU experience. Exciting new things are happening and you do not want to miss them! Come to WVSU to have the real life college experience expecting a positive outcome with plenty of knowledge to take with you down the road!

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This institution is cheaper than the average institution. It still provides you with an world class education.

    Food and Dining

    Very repetitive and blan.

    Dorm Life

    This is just temporary. There will be a new dormitory opening Fall 2013.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to the thstaff members, not just your professors. You will need assistance with so many things other than school work.(Housing, Tuition, Records, etc) Remember to read your syllabus consistently. If not you will miss assignments. No one will baby sit you. You have to keep up with you collegiate business on your own

    In three sentences

    West Virginia State University is an awesome institution. If you put in enough work it will lead you straight the path of success. Its rich African American history will provide students with the extra push required to continue and stick with college.