Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

West Virginia University Institute of Technology Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/16/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    A person who is serious about their studies but don't like large crowds. This is the place to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make an appointment and go and tour the facility. It is small but they have a great deal of technology. It's a more comfortable place where you will actually get to know a great deal of the students attending.

    Bang for the buck

    It is one of the more reasonable priced schools to attend.

    Will enjoy being here

    I am from a small area in upper WV. This university is also small, so it fits me well.

    Will learn a lot

    This is one of the top schools in the country for Mechanical Engineering and I can't wait to attend this fall.

  • 08/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The town is sorta small, so for people who like a slow, easy going pace for a lifestyle with a rigorous college curriculum, then it is the place to be. This is a great school for all STEM fields and for business-related majors. If you're willing to put forth effort to better yourself, you'll see results and the professors will help you along the way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your GPA up and ACT scores up. If you have an ACT of 24 with a 3.5 GPA, you'll qualify for the highest merit scholarship ($2500) at the school, but a 22 ACT and a 3.0 GPA will guarantee you a middle merit scholarship ($1500). To qualify for the lowest merit scholarship available ($1000), one needs a 3.0 GPA and an ACT of 18. the previous stated scholarships are renewable with Satisfactory Academic Progress If one doesn't qualify for this and he or she is a first generation college student, then he/she will qualify for a first generation scholarship (one time only, $1000) Another piece of advice, if you think you have a chance to go out for athletics, just go ahead and try. I'm running cross country for the college and wasn't sure if I was going to be able to make the team, but I'm entering my 3rd year for the team.

    Bang for the buck

    One can get a variety of scholarships for attending this school, especially those that are attending as an in-state student. My situation as an in-state student, I'm able to get an academic scholarship and an athletic scholarship on top of my other grants I receive. I usually only have to pay from 500-2000 out of my own pocket a year, but then again I live in a suite in my dorm. It's also the most affordable college in the state of West Virginia, and the best education for a public institution.

    Am enjoying being here

    I honestly love it. Between student organizations to athletics, you meet everyone at least once. The professors here are reasonable and they understand that everyone is human. They even take time to get to know you by your name, not by your student number. All the professors in my department (Mathematics) know who I am and what I do on campus. It makes you feel like you're right at home.

    Am learning a lot

    If you are interested for learning more than partying, then this school is the right place. Between the low Student-to-teacher Ratios (average about 15:1) and the low student population, The professors here willingly give 1-on-1 during office hours when needed. I had a situation in Calculus 2 (hardest math class at the school) where I emailed the professor about what I was having trouble with, and the next day he adjusted his teaching materials for the day to help not only me, but everyone else understand what was going on with sequences and series.

  • 08/02/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    While I enjoyed my time at WVUIT, I wouldn’t recommend the school unless you are pursuing one of the offered Engineering degrees. The other programs aren’t quite up to date as they should be and attendance is so constantly low that the school is always in danger of closing. Still, I think the Engineering programs would be worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're interested in WVUIT, you should pursue it. Don't simply apply and take the pictures online for granted. Take a tour, meet with advisors and professors, spend a day on campus and make up your mind based on what you find. Don't let someone else decide it for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition at WVUIT was priced quite reasonably. The Engineering programs are more expensive, but I think it’s worth it if you’re interested in any of the Engineering/Math/Science fields. The other colleges at WVUIT are less costly. Compared to other state schools, the cost is average. As with other schools, textbooks are outrageously priced.

    Did enjoy being here

    The town of Montgomery is basically a ghost town. It’s small and old, and I’m not sure it could survive without the school. The campus itself is pretty old too, but I like the feel of a small town school. It’s not the nicest campus, but I was comfortable there because of the size and population. I drove an hour, one way to attend WVUIT. I liked it and probably wouldn’t have transferred if they had offered the degree I wanted.

    Did learn a lot

    I attended WVUIT for two years. I was enrolled in the Mechanical Engineering program for the first two semesters. I took just enough classes to get my feet wet and decided that engineering wasn’t the right profession for me. During that time, however, I still enjoyed most of the classes I took. I liked most of my professors (especially Dr. Bing Yang: Math Department Chair…I would definitely recommend him.) and the courses, though at times difficult, were challenging and engaging. For the remaining two semesters, I just tested the waters, taking as many basic classes as I could before I had to transfer schools.

  • 12/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    for how cheap tuition is i really cant complain, but a low price tag is no excuse for lazy or unhelpful professors.

    Am enjoying being here

    certain offices and a small majority of teachers are unhelpful, leaving me to do things like depend on a psych professor to aid me in math or sociology, where the other professors teaching the course did not have the time or people skills to. it had also left me to depend on the kindness of the financial aid official to help me sort out and fix my schedule, where the dean and advisors were not helpful.

    Am learning a lot

    a lot of teachers like to rant on about things that have absolutely nothing with the subject, leaving the 45min-1.5hours a complete waste of time that could have been used studying for the tests and quizzes they have left you unprepared for.

  • 10/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've actually gotten to know the campus Police and they actually meant what they said when they cared about the students.

    Greek Life

    There are both Fraternities and Sororities on campus that are unique in their own way.

    Clubs and Activities

    Greek Life, Student Jobs, Recreational Activities, and Sports

    Great for these types of students

    Those who are serious about their academics, who don't want to travel outside of WV, if you love the mountains, or if you want your college professors to get to know you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You'll have to find out just like I did :D

    Bang for the buck

    As far as it goes, it is extremely worth the money for it's academics and residential life.

    What to do for fun

    They have movies, recreational games, Greek Life, Sports...etc There is always something to do around campus.

    Food and Dining

    I work at the Dining Hall and I have to say, we have a large array of choices for students to pick from and the food is really good. They also keep in mind if you have certain allergies, if you're a vegetarian, or if you have any special circumstances.

    Dorm Life

    I love my dorms, everyone is nice to one another and it's almost like having a family here.

    Academic Rigor

    Be on your game, the proffers most certainly will be on theirs, that doesn't mean, however, that they won't help you. Think of it almost as like High School, your professors will do what they can to help you get that degree, but you will have to work for it.

    Tips for prospective students

    A nice choice if you're looking for small and quiet, but you do want to keep in mind that this school is huge on their academics which attracted me.

    In three sentences

    Great school for Engineering. Small and quiet but love it. Everyone is friendly and the Dean is Boss.

  • 11/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is amazing, I can literally sleep with my door open or leave it open for the entire day and nothing will get stolen. There are cameras all around but they aren't even needed as students are not thieves or trouble makers, everyone gets along and there has never been a major incident in my entire time here. I remember losing my student card and instead of the founder using it to spend my meal plans they made the effort to find me and return it to me.

    Greek Life

    There are fraternity and sorority houses which have activities and parties for students on halloween and most other nights in the year. The parties never get out of hand and mostly all the students go to meet new people or have a good time with friends.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are not many clubs because of the small size of students however there are activities the school organises like movie nights, speed dating, fear factor and lectures and seminars with the financial director and other important members of the school to help us stay informed of what is happening in the school.

    Great for these types of students

    Tech is a great environment for students who firstly are extremely ambitious to achieve both their academic and sports goals as there are no major distractions and there are a lot of motivated and driven students on campus to help one remain focused. It is also a great place for students who find it difficult to focus and are easily distracted as the lack of distractions will allow them to focus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Probably one of the weirdest locations is the location of the engineering building which is about a 5min walk from the main school buildings, cafeteria and dorms. Most students are still puzzled as to why it is so far and about 6 storeys high, but its a good exercise. Another puzzling thing is the location of the train track which is right next to the dorms and I Must say when those trains pass by at 2am for 5min it gets irritating, but when you're lecturer scolds at you and you barley hear a thing because of the train going by then its pure bliss.

    What to do for fun

    Montgomery is a remote place but there are activities organised by the school such as free movie nights, game nights, table tennis tournaments etc with free snacks provided. There are also play station tournaments where friends play fifa, call of duty etc. with each other. There are also parties organised by the school where you can meet different people and snacks are also provided etc. There is a mall in Charleston which is about an hours or less drive where one can go to the cinemas, shopping etc.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food and hall is great. they have salads, fruits and fruit juices in abundance on a daily basis and a variety of foods to eat from sandwiches to wraps, to chicken, to pastas, to waffles you name it. There is also a Chinese, Mexican and Pizza restaurant across the street from the university and a Mac Donalds about 10min away if you feel like something different.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is superb. There are two dorms (Maclin and Ratliff), both dorms are well maintained so students don't feel they are in worse conditions than at home. There are a lot of activities to do too such as pool, table tennis, sports games and movies in the lounges and even study and workout sessions. Students also respect one another during study times so i is not necessary to study in the library because the dorms are relatively quiet during the evenings.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Tech are of high quality and so are the staff members and lecturers. Every course and subject is tough in its own sense and requires students to make an effort and have a well organised study timetable. You get homework and tasks everyday to help improve your knowledge on the subject and tutors are also widely available for free to help students with difficulties.

    Tips for prospective students

    My personal tips and advices for prospective students is to keep their identity because there will be no need to change to be accepted by certain groups as the school has a small population size and therefore everyone is friendly and focused to achieve their goals. Prospective students should focus on their academics and sports as this is the right environment for that.

    In three sentences

    WVU Tech is a small populated University with students from all over the globe with diverse cultures and characteristics which gives WVU Tech its unique identity. The level and quality of education here is impeccable and the environment is study friendly. The sports at the University are also very competitive and are run by well qualified coaches with intentions to win and achieve great results.

  • 01/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    wvuit is 100% safe to live on-campus or off-campus. i have never heard any suspecious things through out the campus or the city.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are few clubs and activities at wvuit. students has been observing participating in different types of clubs based on their interest.

    Bang for the buck

    at wvuit their tution is reasonable and they also offer stem scholarship for students who met the requirement.

    What to do for fun

    playing soccer, basketball, tennis, gym and watching movies.

    Food and Dining

    the food is nice. there varities of food provided during breakfast, lunch or dinner then students will have choices.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life is beautiful. students respect each other and treat as a family.

    Academic Rigor

    here at west virginia university institute of technology students are actively participating in different research areas to solve problems and come with most probable solutionton and develop a deep understanding of their theoretical concepts that reflect the students skill which turns out that the school academic clarity and reflects wvuit is enough to challenge students.

    Tips for prospective students

    you can learn in small group with my professors. you don't have to worry about safety issues. it is safe to learn and live. it is a great university to exploite you knowledge before you leave the campus.

    In three sentences

    west virginia university institute of technology is a great university to learn, and connect the theoretical knowledge to real world. it is a good place to concentrate on your education. finally, it is a great place to explore your knowledge by participating in different research programs. the professors are welcome to help you any time if you are willing to learn.

  • 05/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    good job

    Greek Life

    okay you'll have fun if your open to meeting new people and being social

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    everyone is behind the sports teams

    What to do for fun

    go to sports games pool, movie night, frats, sga events, skiing trips

    Food and Dining

    repetitive meals

    Tips for prospective students

    get ready to know everybody on campus the athletes are super cool enjoy your time and the frat parties. bring girls

    In three sentences

    great engineering and nursing program good athletic programs small school and enrolment but the town has a huge heart

  • 06/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much around to do besides hanging with your friends.

    Food and Dining

    There's a few restaurants in the town but not a big variety.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know to much about the dorms I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't to hard to pass if you work hard you can succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to be away from downtown life study hard and you will do good.

    In three sentences

    WVU Tech is a very old school and needs some comestic changes. They are improving the school slowly and all of the new changes are great. Teachers are very helpful and willing to do everything for you to pass the class.

  • 06/26/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I'm only going because I was deferred to this campus by the main WVU because of my major. I will be going back to the main campus next fall.

    What to do for fun

    .......

    Food and Dining

    Food was great

    Dorm Life

    Forms are kinda small

    Academic Rigor

    Idk

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't drive late at night...

    In three sentences

    The campus is nice and small, but doesn't offer that much to me. Other then outdoor activities it is quite boring. If your into nature then this is a great place to go.

  • 07/27/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The dinning hall is very nice, and the food is very nice too. There is a variety of food to choose from, and it's not too expensive. Although the food is good, it's still not the same as home.

    Dorm Life

    I really don't know much about the dorms. But I assume it's probably about any other, there are pluses and minuses both. I really haven't heard any complaints worth mentioning though.

    Academic Rigor

    I honestly do not know first hand because I just transferred here, but I have had friends who went here, so all I know is what I've heard. I've heard that, in general, the classes are reasonably strict, with the exception of a few that may be a little exceptional or a little lax. But really, you have that almost anywhere.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't goof around and wait til the last minute for ANYTHING. And also don't be afraid or timid when it comes to asking questions or speaking to your professor or academic advisor.

  • 12/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to one of the many on campus events or just hang out with friends.

    Dorm Life

    I am unable to rate this accurately because I commute to this college.

    Tips for prospective students

    WVU Tech is a great college for any field relating to engineering. The staff members in the Computer Science and Engineering departments are top-notch.

    In three sentences

    There are a large amount of staff members for such a small amount of students, which makes for smaller student to teacher ration in classrooms. The campus is a little bit spread out across a hill, but is not hard to navigate. There is plenty of parking for commuting students.

  • 01/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can play pool, go to school activities. Go to the gym and workout.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent food

    Dorm Life

    Dorms seem decent

    Academic Rigor

    WVUIT is a rigorous school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work Hard and you will do well

    In three sentences

    It is a great college to go to. Everyone is friendly and personable. Just the right size as well.