Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

West Virginia University at Parkersburg Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police WILL get you for not having a parking pass. But the good thing is that even though that is annoying, that means you can see them patroling anytime so if something were to happen, they are close by.

    Greek Life

    We don't have one.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is definitely a variety, I just haven't had the time between school and work to participate. But I know there are so many people who love it.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students wander these halls. But most everyone keeps to themselves, but you might be able to catch a friend or two by hanging out in a couple classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They are building more additions to the campus now, but it is a pretty low-key environment.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is not expensive, and is usually eaisly covered by financial aid and scholarships. You learn so much, and can earn a variety of degrees!

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs to join. There are always things going on at the school itself, and outreaches to the students such as bowling and skiing trips.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is pretty good, considering what it could be. It can be a little expensive though.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is hard, but usually you have great teachers to help you throught it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get started on the financial aid part as soon as possible. That is the most difficult part. Don't worry so much about all of the rest.

    In three sentences

    It is a great way to get a jump start to your college education. It's location is usually fairly convenient to those around Parkersburg. The staff here are very friendly, and you can almost guarantee that you will end up with at least 1 professor who you love!

  • 05/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    WVUP is a great place for students who have been out of school for a while. The flexible schedule allows me to take care of my kids and work without any problem. The small classrooms are great too!

  • 09/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the gym or hang out in the lounge.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good but they need more of a variety

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not procrastinate. Have all your paperwork done early. Scheduale your classes as soon as possible and try two days a week if possible. It saves on gas.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are incrediable. The organization with finacial aid and transcripes is not very good. The tutoring oppurtunities are great.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Not as expensive as other schools, but the Instructors still expect you to work hard and earn your grades.

    What to do for fun

    There are many different family and social events every semester.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria has many choices.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I find the classes challenging, for the most part.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take care of your financial aid issues early, or you will be waiting in a LONG line when the semester starts.

    In three sentences

    I am satisfied with this school. It is inexpensive compared to other colleges. The schedules are pretty flexible.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never heard of anything that ever got out of hand. Their was several security guards that walked around campus.

    Greek Life

    I do not know much about the Greek life other then they have great activities through out the year.

    Clubs and Activities

    All of the Clubs take an active part through out the school year. The activity are based around the community and for the fun of the students.

    Great for these types of students

    WVUP is great for almost every student, they have wheel chair entrances, elevators, special classes for the seeing impaired and the hearing impaired.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    WVUP has what they call a Success Center in there they have tutors to help you if you need help. They also have several computers, resource material and a warm feel of neutering.

    Bang for the buck

    WVUP has what they call a Success Center in there they have tutors to help you if you need help. They also have several computers, resource material and a warm feel of neutering.

    What to do for fun

    They have put into the schedule 2 hours every Monday and Wednesday to have student events. The show movies, special speakers, cook outs, candle making, and other activities to make school fun.

    Food and Dining

    The dinning area at WVUP is well maintained and has a good variety of food.

    Dorm Life

    WVUP does not have dorms, but I'm sure if they did they would be wounder fully maintained.

    Academic Rigor

    The are very goal orientated and let you know what you need to do to get to where you want to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not let fear stand in your way, I would have returned to school a lot sooner I would already be living my new life.

    In three sentences

    I would rate WVUP a five stars because, they take pride in everything that they set out to achieve. I was scared about going back to school but that fear disappeared after the first week, everyone I meat was willing to help.

  • 10/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security is pretty good, plenty of ecurity cameras and our campus officers stay active but are friendly.

    Bang for the buck

    we have some sports teams, soccer, volleyball, basketball, more in the future.

    What to do for fun

    Multipurpose room, for sprots and other activities, local attractions, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Decent size cafeteria with different and good food.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms, live at home but wanting to move out soon.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy and have fun.

    In three sentences

    I transferred here because the school I was attending before didn't quite have the academic's I wanted to pursue. I'm more close to home, and the cost is cheaper than most other schools.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the mall, eat out, they now have some sports teams.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of good restaurants in Parkersburg.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are very hard, and some very easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Write down all your questions to ask the front office because things can be confusing at times.

    In three sentences

    They have a good jackson county center that offers many basic classes. It is sometimes unclear what the deadlines are and how to set up an olsis account with the college was a struggle at first. This is a great center if money is a concern and offers a good education.

  • 12/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus seems to be secure. I feel as if the building has many weaknesses when it comes to an emergency situation.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are the typical same clubs at every college.

    Great for these types of students

    Introverted, parents, grandparents, and freshmen will all gain

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The watch tower is a really beautiful place to sit during the warmer months.

    Bang for the buck

    They are vampires they do not charge a lot per semester but they are constantly changing program requirements making it impossible to graduate.

    What to do for fun

    Internet..... if that even counts.

    Food and Dining

    poor food and extremely over priced.

    Dorm Life

    non existent.

    Academic Rigor

    Homework seems to be the majority of the study. I haven't really attended any classes that gave me an abundant amount of knowledge within the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to talk to your advisers when registering for classes. Then double check with each professor to insure that the courses are actually available.

    In three sentences

    This college is great for a first time college student. A grad student may feel out of place and intellectually insulted. I feel the college is moving in progressive manner and will be a significant school in four years.

  • 12/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The college offers a variety of clubs that students can join. The college has began in the last couple of years to offer sports. They currently offer basketball, soccer, and golf.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I typically spend my free time in the computer labs on the bottom floor.

    Bang for the buck

    They offer a great education at an inexpensive cost.

    What to do for fun

    You can participate in clubs or you can hang out in the student lounge.

    Food and Dining

    WVUP now has a cafeteria where they offer a good assortment of food choices. There is also a sub sandwich shop setup like it is at Subway.

    Dorm Life

    The college currently doesn't offer dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I consider the college to not be too stressful. There are teachers that are tougher than others, but as long as you do your work and pay attention. It is not too rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to talk to your adviser to plan out exactly what you need to do and what you will need to do. Start out college strong. Don't start off on the wrong step. It will likely come back to get you.

    In three sentences

    A friendly, welcoming, local college that offers a great education for a relatively low cost. It is a growing college that continually aspires to be better and improve to better facilitate its students.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a security guard on duty.

    Greek Life

    I have no idea about this.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of different clubs and activities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The student lounge has xbox live.

    Bang for the buck

    The books are a little pricey.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out in the student lounge.

    Food and Dining

    The food isnt that bad.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    They help you by providing a tutor free of charge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have fun and study hard.

    In three sentences

    It is a great community college. They want to help you succeed.

  • 06/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is excellent. It's not difficult to spot a campus policeman. They are very adamant about parking passes, so parking without will most likely get you a ticket.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs available to those who are interested. The library is decently sized with a wide range of reading material. As well as indoor activities, there is a little wooded trail the wraps around the back portion of the college with sitting benches peppered along the way. Many students do not traverse on it, so it's a peaceful get-away for those who seek solitude.

    Food and Dining

    WVUP has an excellent cafeteria with a variety of options for dining with decent prices. There are multiple vending machines on every floor, so finding a snack between classes is not difficult.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is nonexistent at WVUP. All students are residents of the area that live at home and travel to the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes provide enough difficulty to spark interest and force a regular study habit, but they are not impossible to pass. The professors generally understand the life of a college student and they do what they can to ensure success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should get educated on the programs that WVUP offers, and ask questions if they are unsure. Communicating with an advisor is an excellent resource, but one that is not nearly utilized enough. Invest in a daily planner to keep all due dates and other deadlines organized, and seek tutoring if the need arises.

    In three sentences

    West Virginia University of Parkersburg is generally a good college to attend for those fresh out of high school and still trying to figure out a direction and those with families who cannot dedicate all their time to studies. The classrooms are small and personal, so calling upon a professor and seeking help is easy and plausible. Scheduling classes for a semester is relatively painless, and the college has a nice variety of courses for those just beginning.

  • 08/09/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get involved in clubs and other organizations, you get to meet more people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask for help if you need it, someone's always willing to help.

    In three sentences

    Everyone is very helpful at all times and everything is very easy to locate around campus. The smaller classes help all students to focus better and receive more individual attention from their professors. It is an all around easy going environment to be in.

  • 01/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty safe. You always see school cops in the parking lot, walking around school. They keep pretty much on top of everything. I don't think I have ever heard of a problem at the school.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life at WVUP.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs and activities. I'm not currently involved in any so I don't know much about them.

    Great for these types of students

    This school, as I mentioned before, is great for the people that want to stay at home, people who have families, want to get in and get out, or need flexible schedules.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't that there is anything unusual at WVUP. It is a very small campus and not too many things go on there.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are looking for a quick get in get out education, the money you spent is pretty good for that. For being a community college I think the book prices are a little high for what you pay for, but other than that things are pretty reasonable.

    What to do for fun

    Once a week there is a different activity provided on campus. However, its usually one day during one hour, so if you don't have class around then you probably wont attend the activities for that semester.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small cafeteria at WVUP. You can choose from very simple, and mostly not healthy, items. You must pay for anything you want there. I do not believe there is any sort of meal plan deal at the school.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at WVUP.

    Academic Rigor

    This place is easy to get good grades if you pay attention to the teacher and do the work. If you slack and don't do the work you need to you won't pass. However, there are some teachers that will make sure you go beyond what they want or you will not get the grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    You need to be prepared to not have very many people in your class. You also need to realize it is a community college so there are a lot of older students in your classes. The majority of the teacher know what they are doing, however there are some that you learn that need to be avoided.

    In three sentences

    If you are looking for a quick way to graduates, this is your school. This school is good for people looking to stay at home, people with kids, and people who need flexible schedules. WVUP is a typical community college.