Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

West Virginia Wesleyan College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/27/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Wesleyan is great for any type of student who doesn't mind small towns and small classes!

    Tips for prospective students

    As a student at West Virginia Wesleyan College, I cannot emphasize enough how important it is to attend classes! Honestly, anywhere you go, this will be the most important advice you could receive.

    Bang for the buck

    As the most expensive college in West Virginia, it meets the standards in terms of what you get. It's a decent place, the living quarters aren't as bad as some other schools', the campus is extremely neat and well taken care of, and there are several plans for renovations and new projects!

    Am enjoying being here

    At West Virginia Wesleyan, there is always something to do. The Campus Activities Board is very successful in having activities for students just about every day of the week. The people you can find most anywhere are very kind; the teachers get to know you as a student; the campus community is a very enjoyable one, to say the least.

    Am learning a lot

    West Virginia Wesleyan's professors, at least the ones I have taken classes from, are extremely knowledgeable on their subjects that they teach and extremely helpful. The course materials used appertain to the classes significantly.

  • 12/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who come to college to learn, not to party. Wesleyan has campus activities and is fun, but most of the work is strenuous and time consuming. If you want to excel at Wesleyan, you have to be committed to your schoolwork.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, Wesleyan is kind of pricy, but when you graduate from here, you will have a top notch education. And they do offer many academic scholarships.

    Am enjoying being here

    I LOVE Wesleyan! The campus is beautiful. The professors are nice and really care about their students. The dorms are okay. I am really enjoying the classes. And there are many groups with which to get involved with on campus.

    Am learning a lot

    I think that Wesleyan is a very good school based on academics. The professors here really want their students to learn and are willing to help in any way they can. They know each of their students by name and are concerned about you and how you are doing. I am learning a lot, and enjoying it too.

  • 10/30/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    WVWC is great for students who prefer to know their professors and their classmates on a more personal level. Social students also fit in well on campus with its numerous sports, performing arts, intramural activities, and 12+ Greek organizations.

    Tips for prospective students

    You can't skip classes at this college and get away with it, at least not any classes I've been in so far. If you're serious about your education then that will not be a problem anyways, but we like to have fun outside of the classroom.

    Bang for the buck

    Wesleyan offers an excellent student/faculty ratio, this being said the professors are easily accessible. You will come to know them by name and they will come to know you as well, and if you ever have a problem the vast majority will personally respond to emails and/or set up times to meet with you!

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being here very much, if I didn't I would simply live at home as I am from Buckhannon, where Wesleyan is located. The campus boasts a brand new Performing Arts Center, a new Research Center, a newly remodelled dormitory, a brand new fountain, and groundbreaking ceremonies just took place for a new dormitory!

    Am learning a lot

    The professors at Wesleyan really know what they're talking about! All of the classes are taught by professors and not by graduate assistants, so you get what you pay for!

  • 11/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    While Wesleyan is generally known for attracting Division II students athletes and prospective theatre or music majors, it is also great for students who want to attend a school with a rigorous curriculum as well as a vibrant student life. No matter what your interests, there are countless opportunities for you to make a name for yourself on campus, whether it be through sports, Greek life, or academic or musical groups. My friends and I have all successfully become involved in organizations that fit our personalities and interests. We're a pretty colorful group, so there really is something for everyone!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't underestimate this school! While Wesleyan is small and -depending how you look at it- in the middle of nowhere, it is packed with professors who are passionate about their fields and great students from a wide variety of backgrounds. Be prepared for a demanding -but totally worth it- course schedule. You'll come away from a difficult class with new knowledge, valuable personal experiences, and a well-earned sense of pride. And if you're unsure about a major, don't worry! Wesleyan's advisors really care about your choice and will do everything they can to ensure that you get the best possible experience during your time at Wesleyan.

    Bang for the buck

    When compared to other area schools, I think that Wesleyan is a great deal! Though it is one of the most expensive schools in the area, I -like most Wesleyan students- have received large amounts of financial aid. Because of my personal financial aid package, Wesleyan costs only a little more that in-state WVU tuition, and the difference in value is enormous. At Wesleyan, I enjoy the close-knit community, small classrooms, beautiful campus, and great friendships that would be difficult or maybe even impossible to find at a large university like WVU.

    Am enjoying being here

    I've yet to have a boring day! From the classroom to the weekends to the general college atmosphere, I've enjoyed every minute of my time at Wesleyan. I've made some fantastic friends who share my academic, social, and athletic interests, and we always find things to do. The Campus Activities Board regularly offers activities for students such as The Price is Right or mini golf, and athletic and cultural events are never hard to come by.

    Am learning a lot

    Many of my professors are truly passionate about the material that they teach, which I really appreciate. Most importantly, they have taught me to think and learn for myself. From them, I have learned to analytically approach material presented to me in class and to successfully manipulate it for any given assignment, be it an essay, a speech, or an exam. I know that such a desire to really immerse myself in my studies would not be furthered by a large university.

  • 03/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Wesleyan is great for students who want small, intimate classes! Wesleyan also offers many activities for a wide range of different students with its many sports teams, intramural activities , performing arts, academic and social clubs, and Greek life!

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice is to go to class. At Wesleyan, if you skip, your professor will notice. Not only that, but it is crucial to attend class so that you do not miss any material that is covered. The coursework may be demanding, but as long as you attend classes and do the work, you will have a successful future here at West Virginia Wesleyan College!

    Bang for the buck

    Wesleyan is the most expensive school in the state. But do not let that turn you away! You get exactly what you pay for, here. Wesleyan is an excellent school! It is small, but the campus is clean and well taken care of.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have not had a bad day yet! Wesleyan offers so many activities for students. They have movie nights, Wesleyan Idol, Bingo, plays, and many other fun activities for the students to enjoy. Wesleyan certainly has many opportunities to meet other students and have a blast!

    Am learning a lot

    In every class I have taken thus far, I have learned a great deal of new information. Most of the professors are very passionate about their field and deliver the information in a very exciting and captivating way. There is so much to learn here!

  • 05/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Wesleyan is a small college-- so if you want personal relationships with your teacher, here is the school for you. Wesleyan is am academic intensive school-- so if you are willing to work hard to achieve personal success, here is the school for you. Wesleyan has a large variety of students-- so if you are wanting variety, here is the school for you!

    Tips for prospective students

    GO TO CLASS! It's always a good idea, especially since the class sizes are generally small, and the teachers know who you are. APPLY FOR SCHOLARSHIPS! Wesleyan isn't cheap, and I'm sure your parents don't want to have to pay over $100,000 for four years of school. GET INVOLVED! There are many student organizations across campus, from service fraternities like Alpha Phi Omega to social sororities like Alpha Gamma Delta; from Campus Activities Board (CAB) to International Student Organization. There's something for everyone at Wesleyan.

    Bang for the buck

    The prices keep rising, but they are putting the extra dollars to use. Recently they built a new Science and Research center (Reemsnyder), and they are currently working on a new residence hall (New Hall). There are still a few classrooms that need updated, but overall it's pretty nice.

    Am enjoying being here

    Wesleyan is located in the suburbs of Clarksburg, WV. It's a small town feel, but if you travel an hour North OR South, you'll find larger cities (Morgantown and Charleston, respectively). The Campus Activities board plans free activities for students, like movies, games (Big Bingo, The Price is Right), and fun activities (karaoke, scavenger hunts).

    Am learning a lot

    At Wesleyan, the professors are well educated and very informative about the topics covered in class. They utilize technology and group work to help students learn: learn from research and from each other.

  • 12/31/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you love small towns and can entertain yourself well (whether it be taking walks, hobbies, or working a few local waitress jobs), Wesleyan will be fine for you. Make sure you like small classroom settings, as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're sure you want to attend Wesleyan, make sure you have a car, so you can make trips to Clarksburg and surrounding areas with a little more to do. Also, join as many clubs as possible, so as to not get bored. As for living on campus, avoid it at all costs.

    Bang for the buck

    The dorms are awful, outdated, and poorly maintained. The classrooms are outdated; only one building and New Hall are new and nice...and even they have problems often.

    Did enjoy being here

    Wesleyan doesn't offer much to do outside of the classroom. There are a few really good clubs/organizations to join; otherwise, it's boring. There isn't much to do around town either...except make trips to Walmart or the Doughnut Shop.

    Did learn a lot

    The teachers are some of the best. They work well with the students and do all they can to make sure they understand the material.

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is pretty good. the make sure to check in on any calls they receive.

    Greek Life

    greek life is a great way for new students to become social and make some new friends.

    Clubs and Activities

    if you love activities then wesleyan is the place for you. every friday and saturday there is always something going on at campus to keep you busy and learn how to meet new people.

    Great for these types of students

    that are serious about their schooling and want to achieve their life long goals.

    Bang for the buck

    this school is definitely worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    for fun you can go to the movies, go out to eat, enjoy the sporting events, and working out at the new fitness center.

    Food and Dining

    the food is pretty decent. it helps to keep your nutrition balanced.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life is pretty decent. many of the students are friendly and can be very social at times.

    Academic Rigor

    the professors know what they are doing and take the time to help the students that do not understand or catch on as quickly as other students.

    Tips for prospective students

    take all your classes serious because your professors will. just because your in college doesn't mean you can slack off now. make sure to take good notes during lecture and you will do great in your classes. also, don't be afraid to ask your professors questions. i promise they won't bite.

    In three sentences

    a beautiful college that gives their students many opportunities to achieve their life goals. the professors actually take the time to help students understand the information that is taught. a fun, loving place where you can make your dreams come true.

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Homebodies

    What to do for fun

    Get off campus

    Food and Dining

    Don't eat at Aladdin

    Tips for prospective students

    Study Study Study

    In three sentences

    Wesleyan is full of a committed staff that cares about the students and wants to see everyone succeed.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Do not get distracted in your first semester. Learn good study habits early. Make the best of it.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I worked the 10pm-12am shift at the library for Work Study. If you call Campus Security, they will come and walk you back to your dorm. Program the phone number into your phone; some times you just need them to come unlock the door to a room.

    Greek Life

    There are 5 fraternities and 4 sororities. Whatever you do, go through recruitment. Frats and Sororities get a bad name from rumors and movies. Not every frat brother and sorority girl parties. I personally know a lot of sorority girls who don't go out on weekends and have never had a drink in their life. You may find out that Greek life isn't your thing but at least you gave it a chance.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is something for everyone on campus, you just have to get out and attend a meeting. Wesleyan sends e-mails, referred to by students as EMOs, with information about meetings and groups all the time.

    Great for these types of students

    Wesleyan is great for the student who wants to get out and do stuff on campus. It's also for the student who likes personal attention in the classroom. Some classes have 20+ students, some have 6.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Rock - There is a rock between the Admin Building and English Annex that the sororities and fraternities paint. Others sometimes paint it as well. This year Hogwarts houses were painted on it.

    Bang for the buck

    It's an expensive school but you get your moneys worth for the quality of education. Most students do not have to pay for 95% of tuition. There are a lot of scholarship opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    Outside of the Dining Hall there is a calendar of campus events. There is something to do almost every day. I personally joined a sorority and always have something to do. It's also a small campus, so everyone is close. People tend to leave their doors open, you get to know a lot of people within the first couple of days.

    Food and Dining

    Aladdin isn't the greatest food service but they are helpful when it comes to food allergies. The cafeteria always has a deli and salad bar if what they are serving isn't favorable. They also have Grab-N-Gos in Sunny Buck which you can exchange for meals. The Cats Claw is kind of expensive but it's really good food.

    Dorm Life

    I love living on campus. I may not live in the nicest dorm but for the price, it's wonderful. The RAs are really nice and helpful.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the general education classes are really easy but any classes in your major are going to be more difficult. The professors are here to push you to learn. Talk to upperclassmen in your major. Some of them have past tests and will let you know the ins and outs of professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have questions, call Financial Aid or Academic Services. They want to help you. Take a tour, fall in love with the campus. Stay the night with a student when its offered. It'll help you make the right decision for you.

    In three sentences

    Wesleyan is the greatest decision I've ever made. It is a welcoming environment. I couldn't ask for a better school.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    intramural sports.

    In three sentences

    Great teacher-Student relationship. Great facilities for students. Decent town.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In my first year I have yet to witness a problem with safety. The campus is always monitored by several security guards and has security callboxes scattered around so that in any situation you can get ahold of someone to help you.

    Greek Life

    Although it may seem that everyone is involved in Greek Life that isn't true. A small percentage of the campus actually has a greek affiliation. However, if what you are looking for is to become involved in greek life we have 5 social fraternities, and 4 social sororities along with numerous academic, honor, and other greek organizations.

    Clubs and Activities

    Anything you are interested in you can find a club for it on campus. And if for some reason we don't have the club you are looking for you can create it yourself.

    Great for these types of students

    We have a very diverse community, which is great. We have students from all over the United States and from several parts of the world. All students are sure to feel welcome on the West Virginia Wesleyan College Campus.

    What to do for fun

    Okay there isn't that much to do in buckhannon but there are a lot of other options. Charelston is only 2 hours away and Clarksburg is only an hour, both of which are fun options on the weekend. However if you find yourself stuck on campus, you can make your own fun with a little creativity. There is lots of open space to put together a pick up game or have a picnic. You can also go to the movie theater just 5 minutes down the road. Also our Campus life office is always hosting events to make campus life a little less monotonous.

    Food and Dining

    The dinning hall has limited options because it is so small, but if you add variety to your diet by fixing your own meal in your dorm once or twice a week it is bearable.

    Dorm Life

    All of the students on campus are very inviting and welcoming. The dorms are only a better way to bring everyone together. The men or women you live with become your family. of course as per usual sometimes you just need to get away, but for the most part the dorms are a great experience and the campus life office is always looking for new ways to make them better.

    Academic Rigor

    All of the classes are capable of being passed. Every teacher on this campus is willing to help you learn and grow. But the classes are designed to be challenging so you have to be willing to work and ask for help, when needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you choose Wesleyan, come with a willingness to learn and a drive to become involved. This is not a school where you can sit on the backburner for four years. Your professors will push you to excellence and the community will allow you to become engaged in various clubs and activities. If you want to go unnoticed, this is not the school for you. But if you want to see what you can really achieve, this is the place to begin.

    In three sentences

    This college is set in the amazing town of Buckhannon, not only is it beautiful but it is an engaging and welcoming small town. The campus is just as beautiful, and the students and staff just as inviting. I highly recommend Wesleyan to any students looking for a smaller school with as many opportunities as a major university.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They will give you a ride to the dorm if scared, quick responses during emergencies. Top notch care and great people.

    Greek Life

    Large portion of the campus. Great people to be around and very evolved in the community.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sporting teams, campus activity board, alternative spring break trips to New Orleans, Georgia and Nicaragua

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for and more a WVWC. You get a strong education and a family in the home among the hills.

    What to do for fun

    Outdoor recreation offers great oppurtiunities, campus activity board allows you to do bingo, karaoke, and other events. Not your think then Audra state park, and Senica rocks are the place to hang out.

    Food and Dining

    You get tired of campus food. But that's everywhere you go. Options at the dinning center, cats claw and sunny bucks. Keep you satisfied for awhile.

    Dorm Life

    Large rooms and community style bath rooms. Rather large compared to some I have seen.

    Academic Rigor

    Very high academics at WVWC. High job placement after graduation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions and don't be afraid anyone while answer. It's okay to be afraid many people in the community will be there for you to lean on. You will have a new family when you leave campus.

    In three sentences

    Academics are by far the best when it comes to guarentee placements and standards. Never a full moment on campus if your bored your not looking in the right places. For sure my home among the hills.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    this is a great school to go to. if you want the best teachers and dorms and a beautiful campus to see every day

    In three sentences

    West Virginia Wesleyan college has a beautiful campus. they also have great teachers and dorms.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security guards keep the campus extremely safe, and there is NEVER a problem.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is pretty big at Wesleyan, but you don't have to join one in order to be noticed.

    Clubs and Activities

    Wesleyan has many clubs and activities for the whole student body to be apart of.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone that attends Wesleyan is gaurenteed life long friends, and an amazing education that will follow you throughout your whole life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There really are no unusual traditions or locations on campus, but by the English Annex there is this huge rock that people paint on and that has turned into a tradition that everyone on campus takes part in.

    Bang for the buck

    Although Wesleyan is really expensive, it has a lot to offer! Wesleyan is one of the top schools academically on the east coast and they have amazing turnover rates. Everything you do at Wesleyan is completely worth the cost of tuition.

    What to do for fun

    When you are done with your studies some fun things you could do is go to the Chapel oval and flay some flag football or any sport of your choice, HYMA auditorium always has movies on so people can watch them. Student can attend sporting events as well as activities every weekend such as bingo, karaoke, don't forget the lyrics, and fear factor Wesleyan edition.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is very convenient and filling. Whenever you're hungry there is always somewhere to eat. The dining hall offers tons of food that is different everyday. There's a restaurant on campus that you can go to if you ever want a break from the dining hall. and Sunny Bucks has the best foods to snack on while you study.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Wesleyan is fantastic. Everyone is so welcoming and helpful. The resident assistants are always there to help anyone out. Also you mean a lot of lifelong friends there.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics at Wesleyan are very important, they are very strict about what they expect their student to do. All in all everyone wants to see the student succeed so they will help as much as they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard on your academics. When you need help do not hesitate to ask someone. Help is always available. Do not forget to enjoy yourself, Wesleyan is surrounded by an amazing atmosphere.

    In three sentences

    West Virginia Wesleyan is an amazing community to be apart of. Everyone working on the campus is there to help the student succeed. All the people in the community are very welcoming and are willing to do whatever they have to in order to help someone out.

  • 09/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Alpha Sigma Phi is the place you want to go trust me.

    What to do for fun

    Study. There really isn't a whole lot to do around here but study.

    Food and Dining

    Has gotten better but it still is Quantity over Quality

    Dorm Life

    Mold in all the buildings, underpaid RA's allow a lot of things slip by.

    Academic Rigor

    You do get alot of homework but for the most part it is simple

    Tips for prospective students

    Buy a recording device and learn how to time manage

    In three sentences

    The College is small but you get to know you professors on a more personal level. I am currently in the Biology program and it is tough. However, because of the toughness this college has one of the highest acceptance rates to medical schools in the state of WV.

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus has alot of events for us to go & enjoy our time like dodge ball, water ping pong and ects.

    Food and Dining

    The dining serve varies of food and drinks. In my option most of the food they serve are disgusting

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus is very interesting. Everybody on campus & even the professors are friendly. The dorm room are not all that suitable nor Spaceish

    Academic Rigor

    At this point of this semester I have 1 A, 1 B, and 3 Cs on my report

    Tips for prospective students

    When coming to college as a freshmen make sure that you do all your work, go to class everyday, and follow the rules on the syllabus

    In three sentences

    Out of 1 out of 10 I give my college 7 because first its a D2 college so its pretty small but the campus area is big with varies of buildings.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    People leave their belongings on tables in the library or in the cafeteria, and people don't take what is not theirs. The campus is very safe and secure. Walking alone at night is not a problem on campus or around the town of Buckhannon. It is a very safe neighborhood.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Someone puts soap in the fountain during the second week of school. Before Toga Week, the statue in front of the chapel has a toga on. There are tons of unusual tradtions and beautiful locatinos here on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Wesleyan really gives you the bang for your buck.

    What to do for fun

    The Campus Life office provides lots of activities for students. You won't be bored on the weekends here. There are movie nights, volleyball tournaments, bingo, Wii tourneys, bumper cars, and so much more that Wesleyan offers so students have fun on campus. The Outdoor Recreation office plans cheap trips like snowboarding, skiing, horseback riding, and much more. There's things to do for everyone. If you're looking to go outside of Buckhannon, Morgantown is about an hour away for a college night life or WVU game.

    Food and Dining

    Aladdin food here at Wesleyan is better than ever. They always have a variety, so no matter what you are looking for, your cravings will be satisfied.

    Dorm Life

    The Campus Life office provides lots of activities for students. You won't be bored on the weekends here. There are movie nights, volleyball tournaments, bingo, Wii tourneys, bumper cars, and so much more that Wesleyan offers so students have fun on campus. Housing is standard, but here you won't need to spend a lot of time in your dorm, but instead around the beautiful campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at Wesleyan are academically challenging. This is not a college where you just need to pass the course and forget all the information you learn, but instead be able to recall and apply your knowledge. Don't ever be afraid to ask for help. The professors at WVWC are all on your side and want you to succeed. There is tutoring offered for every course through the learning center, the professors have their office hours and are more than willing to meet by appointment. Wesleyan wants you to be successful, so take advantage of what they offer so you can be the best!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask for help. The professors are all on your side and want you to succeed. There is tutoring offered for every course through the learning center, the professors have their office hours and are more than willing to meet by appointment. Wesleyan wants you to be successful, so take advantage of what they offer so you can be the best!

    In three sentences

    The school is amazing not only academically, but also by giving the students the college experience they are looking for. The campus plans activities that are fun for all students to participate in for a break from school work. Teachers are more than willing to help you because they are on your side and want you to be successful!

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus always has security going around ensuring student safety. I never feel afraid or unsafe on campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is amazing on campus. All of the organizations are very involved and are very friendly. I am actually thinking about joining and going Greek this semester!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities to join in. There are fraternities and sororities. There is the FCA, sports, and many other clubs to get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    Yes, the college is very diverse. There is always something for any type of student!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This is my first year at this college, so I am not too familiar with traditions. However, the locations I'm frequently are at are the commuter's lounge, the gym, and the library!

    Bang for the buck

    I believe that you get the best education for the money that you spend.

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities going on around campus! There is always something to do on a day when you don't have work!

    Food and Dining

    The good I have eaten at this college has always been really good! I haven't had a bad experience yet with the dining.

    Dorm Life

    I do not currently stay on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I have learned so much coming to this college! The professors are always there to help with problems and questions with homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to get involved. Always do your best and you will get the greatest results. The people are always nice and are always there to help you with anything and everything!

    In three sentences

    The campus is always clean and safe. The staff and students are always friendly and helpful. I feel at home and I love the family environment.

  • 03/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a quite campus and isn't a lot of violence or problems. There is campus security that patrols around everyday. Any complaints and problems are taken care of to the best of their abilities.

    Greek Life

    There are plenty of fraternities and sororities to get into on Wesleyan's campus. There are plenty of Greek week events such as jump week and spring sing. Also frats and sororities get involved in the community which is also great.

    Great for these types of students

    Students whom love sports and would like to continue their sports career. If you enjoy the game and play for the love of it then this place is for you.

    Food and Dining

    The food is a different experience to say the least. There might be digest-ants in the food for the foreign kids to help them break the food down. It'll run through you but they do have the days where they hit the food on the head and its great.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great to socialize in just besides living in.The lobby's and lounges are great to spend time with friends, relax, and play games. Gathering and hanging out with everyone is a great way to break the normality of school work.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses and classes can be very difficult depending on your major. There are a lot of reading assignment s and meeting the general educations classes can be stressful. Different major provide differnt intensities but overall the classes can be challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    If i could give advice the main thing id say is only three words in length, GO TO Class!!! Wake up early and be on time, be early if you have too. And schedule your classes around lunch.

    In three sentences

    If you enjoy a smaller campus community with a home like environment then Wesleyan is for you. The atmosphere and students are friendly as well as the teachers and faculty. There are a lot of extra curricular activities to partake in and id advise you join in the fun.

  • 03/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many activities on campus are advertised through emails and flyers, and it always feels like there is something going on. There are plenty of restaurants to discover around town as well as a movie theater when you are free on Tuesday bargain nights if you so please.

    Food and Dining

    A cafeteria that is without complaints is a rare find wherever you may be, and Wesleyan is no exception. But in all fairness it has improve from one year to the next and does offer a fairly wide variety of foods. It is all a matter of finding something you like.

    Dorm Life

    The more newly renovated halls are great for the college experience and are very comfortable, just at a more costly price. They are worth the prettier penny over the other halls though, which are very poor in comparison.

    Academic Rigor

    Because classroom rosters are not usually very long, you will experience learning more personally and this allows you to be given much more help than a larger college or university. However, this also allows the professors to expect more learning objectives to be achieved by you throughout a given course, making this college academically prestigious.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will understandably be confused with associating names to the buildings initially, considering most look the same, but you will come to find it humorous once you realize how lost you were on such a small campus. Don't fret or be shy however, for everyone is generally kind and will help you if you just ask.

    In three sentences

    West Virginia Wesleyan College is a home away from home. It is set in a very small but beautiful town and the campus is described just as such. Due to its size, you feel that the focus is much more on you individually when it comes to the learning environment.

  • 05/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I felt safe.

    Greek Life

    I did not have time to participate.

    Clubs and Activities

    I played college softball. NCAA Division II.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who enjoy being outside & a rural setting.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is very expensive. I received academic scholarships for a great high school GPA but those scholarships were not even half of what it costs to attend. Even with the scholarships, the cost was more than in state tuition in my home state.

    What to do for fun

    Play sports, hunt, fish, swim, & spend time with family & friends.

    Food and Dining

    I felt they had the same things all the time and were not geared to college athletes who want to eat healthy. Their hours of operation did not match with a college athletes schedule.

    Dorm Life

    There were constant issues with wireless internet going out.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes were at acceptable levels but the teachers were not so good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you can afford the school or you will struggle. Be sure the professors meet your standards for your future.

    In three sentences

    WVWC is a private college and very expensive. A few of the professors were disappointing and I felt they were not qualified to teach. The campus is beautiful and I had an overall good experience but won't be attending past my freshman year.

  • 06/05/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    24 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards on duty 24/7 and since it is a small campus in a small community, there are not many safety issues at all.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is a huge part of the college, with more than 25% of the students being a part of it. They are also highly respected in the community because of the many philanthropy events that are undertaken. If Greek Life is not for you, there are many other organizations to become involved in.

    Clubs and Activities

    The student body assists in organizing almost all activities and there are many clubs and intramural leagues to participate in. If you feel the need to be involved, just ask and the doors will open up for you.

    Great for these types of students

    West Virginia Wesleyan College is great for students who want to become involved on campus, love the outdoors and enjoy building relationships with people of a diverse background. while pursuing a education that will mean more than many others.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a specific rock next to the chapel that can be painted by almost any organization on campus and many late nights are spent coming up with ideas of what to paint on it. During the spring Wesleyan spends a day helping the community. This is called Do Good Day and the majority of students get involved while music is blaring in the oval all day long.

    Bang for the buck

    For the level of education that you receive, West Virginia Wesleyan College is definitely worth the money. There are also not that many places around to spend all your money so you end up saving money compared to living in an urban area.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities on campus that are organized to entertain college students and just as many organizations to become involved in. The selection of outdoor activities around the area are also vast. The nearest shopping mall is at least an hour away though, so for those who enjoy shopping it might not be the best place.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria offers great choices in food, but the hours are sometimes not suitable. Almost the whole student body is signed up for a meal plan and everyone eats together. During the times when the cafeteria is not open, there are places to get food, but the hours are also limited. Sometimes a drive to Walmart or Sheetz (with great made-to-order food) is necessary.

    Dorm Life

    Residence Hall life is an excellent opportunity to make friends and since 90% of students live in the residence halls, you will meet a great amount of those in school. The experience of getting to know people from diverse backgrounds who live around you is definitely unique.

    Academic Rigor

    As in every college, the academic rigor differs from department to department. However, WVWC is known as one of the toughest academic institutes in West Virginia.

    Tips for prospective students

    If this is an option for you, be sure that you want to become involved in the community or school and not just work your way through the academic facet. There is not much to do in town, but the surrounding areas offer great outdoor activities.

    In three sentences

    West Virginia Wesleyan College has a diverse student body and campus atmosphere. Although it is based in a rural town there are plenty of activities on campus for students to become involved in. If that is not your interest, the residence halls offer many friendships to form and lessons to learn from those with backgrounds completely opposite from your own.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I am in a sorority and i love Greek Life, it is one of the best decisions i have made in college, it is a great way to make new friends and get evolve with something with a cause.

    Clubs and Activities

    The Clubs on campus are all run by students and almost all of them evolve some community service and being part of any of them is a great way to know Wesleyan and really know the students and community.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a private school, therefore it is not cheap, yet it is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    I am a member of Bobcat Entertainment (BE) and we always have events that are fun for students on weekends and sometimes during the week. There is never a bored day if you know the right people and places to be.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dinning needs an upgrade. It can be good sometimes in the dinning hall, but there's always Catz Claws and Sunny Bucks when it's not. Some student go to fast food restaurants outside of campus or sheetz.

    Dorm Life

    If you have a choice to pick where your living, make sure you check the place out first. Get to know and like your roommate. It can be fun, if you respect yourself and others.

    Academic Rigor

    classes are not easy but if you apply yourself you will do just fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get evolve on campus as much as you can. Don't get mix with the wrong crow. Try to remember your purpose pf coming to Wesleyan, and do not for get it.

    In three sentences

    Wesleyan is a great school. It is academically challenging. There's a lot to do on and off campus,if you apply yourself.

  • 12/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Do not EVER leave your drink unsupervised.

    What to do for fun

    There will be an abundance of frat parties to attend. As well as campus activities.

    Dorm Life

    It is really important to remain considerate of others. Especially when it comes to sleeping, because you WILL be deprived of a lot of sleep.

    Tips for prospective students

    West Virginia Wesleyan College has its way to make any and everyone feel at home. If you are a respectable individual, you will have no problem with anyone. Students and professors have the tendency to respect those that respect themselves. So remain responsible, honest, and determined, and your college years will fly by.

    In three sentences

    It is the most humbled environment within the city of Buckhannon. I think on a scale one through ten, i'd rate it a ten on behalf of the level of education given. I do not think there would be a reason to not attend.

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe.

    Greek Life

    Fun and pleasant.

    Clubs and Activities

    Great variety!

    Bang for the buck

    A wide range of students from other states and countries attend WVWC due to the academic programs offered as well as their sports program.

    What to do for fun

    Many clubs and organizations to attend.

    Food and Dining

    Variety of foods.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are close together but most need updated.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors very qualified and have high expectations for students.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend prospective students to visit the campus and staff.

    In three sentences

    Professors are good to work with students. The campus is in a good location. Small class sizes.

  • 04/28/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is okat

    Dorm Life

    It's a dorm. But I heard the RAs are fantastic

    Academic Rigor

    The class seem to be pretty rigorous and extensive.