Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Western Connecticut State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/20/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Western Connecticut State University is ideal for students who appreciate a change of pace from an urban type school setting while not being too far away from a city that caters to your shopping needs (Movie theater, shopping mall, and several plazas all within 5 miles of the campus). Also, expect to meet and interact with a diverse and broad range of people!

    Tips for prospective students

    Making a good impression can be important when entering college, which is why it's always a good idea to attend orientation. I can't stress this enough, which is why it is a good idea to attend if you are able to. Not only will you be put in a relaxed setting where it is easy to meet potential classmates and friends, but you can obtain all of the necessary things you will need for the upcoming school year (parking pass, computer ID, email ID, etc)

    Bang for the buck

    It's a widely known fact that college costs are on the rise, albeit for a select few schools that are trying to accommodate students' and their lack of financial funding. A state school, WestConn manages to beat the economic crunch while not significantly raising the tuition bill or jeopardizing the schools reputation for academic excellence, which is yet another reason why WestConn is an easy fit for a broad range of students.

    Am enjoying being here

    One of the more important qualities of a college that I was looking for was it's setting and it's staff. As previously mentioned, the staff here is superb and attentive of your needs, which I believe is a must for a college or university. That leaves me with WestConn's setting. If you haven't traveled here yet, it should be one of your first priorities. The campus here is beautiful -- placed in the middle of the bustling city of Danbury. The school's serene-like setting is complimented well by the flourishing city it resides in. If you are looking for a campus that inhibits the qualities of a quiet, country-esque, theme. Whether you're located on the main campus, Midtown, or on the larger, more isolated Westside campus that overlooks the mountains, you will be sure to appreciate the quiet and peaceful surroundings that compliment Western Connecticut State University.

    Am learning a lot

    With professors that are clearly knowledgeable in their respective profession, a quality education is sure to be attained while attending WestConn. Not only do every one of the teachers I have studied under have given me a quality education with fulfilling lessons, but even after class ends they are more than available to answer any questions and offer guidance to those in need. Bottom line -- the professors will ensure that your education is their first priority here.

  • 07/27/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Look no further than Western Connecticut State University if you are the type of student that is willing to make the most out of your college experience. Due to the campus setting and medium-sized population you have the chance to succeed at WestConn. The professors here are well educated and eager to answer any questions an individual may have. They expect their students to be well prepared for class, in order to have an in depth class discussion. The professors are flexible when it comes to extra help as they want you to earn the best grade that you can. This University is by far not a walk in the park so prepare yourself to hit the books when the semester starts. I am confident that the hard work and sleepless nights of studying will be well worth it when you graduate. Outside of the classroom there are endless opportunities to get involved in leadership organizations or clubs. At WestConn you can maintain a healthy social and academic lifestyle, in order to be a well rounded student. There are many open doors to success at WestConn as long as you walk through them.

  • 07/16/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Western is great for outgoing, hard-working, independent, and responsible students. There is room for lots of fun, but Western is also an excellent school to learn. Students who are up for a challenge and desire belonging to a tight knit community of diverse students belong at Western Connecticut State University. I would never change my decision to go to Western over any other college. It has been the best decision of my life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Western CT is a split campus, with upperclassmen and honors students on one campus, and freshmen and most classroom buildings on the other. Fairfield Hall is the best dorm for freshmen, and Pinney Hall is the best dorm for upperclassmen, or at least this is the general consensus =]. If living on campus, make sure to communicate with your roommate(s) before hand. Space may be tight, so there's no sense in bringing doubles of everything. Get involved in a club or organization. There are clubs to fit every person along with a great Honors Program and a superb Student Government Association. Freshmen are allowed to have cars on campus, but if you feel bringing a car may make money tight, don't bother. There is a shuttle to take you between campuses and Danbury has a bustling bus line to take you from one location to the next. All of the cafeterias on campus offer great food selection, so you'll never find it dull. You can try getting an on campus job. At most jobs on campus, you can do your homework while doing your job. You meet a lot of great people at the same time too! If you're a freshmen or new student, make sure you attend orientation. Not only will you meet lots of people in the same boat as you, but you'll learn valuable information about the school as well as important information for your success. I loved freshmen orientation; there were some entertaining activities! Most importantly, be yourself, learn a lot, and have fun. College is much different from high school. Don't stress, there are many gateways available to relieve stress and the university offers great counseling services, mentor services, and tutoring resources when you need help the most.

    Bang for the buck

    Two years at Western Connecticut, a state university, is equivalent to almost one year at a private university in the area. You really do get a bang for your buck with this school. Your college experience is so customizable, you can basically pick what you want to pay based on number of credits, meal plan, and housing arrangements. Luxuries such as printing and internet which other institutions often charge for are included in what you pay. Financial aid is also available to most students. Since community college is definitely not for me, I don't think I could've found a better deal!

    Am enjoying being here

    There is never a dull moment on campus. I've made so many friends, and there is always something to do. The professors are wonderful, the on campus job opportunities are fabulous, the housing facilities are comfortable and accommodating and there is plenty of shopping and places of entertainment nearby, so you could never be bored. There is a large mall and various shopping centers within miles of either campus and their are many restaurants nearby fit for anyone's cravings.

    Am learning a lot

    The faculty at Western Connecticut State University are absolutely outstanding. All the professors I've had in my first year on campus have provided us with straight forward syllabi on the first day of class. I always knew what to expect and how my performance would later be calculated into a grade. Every professor I've had has provided convenient office hours to give way for extra help and clarification of material when needed. If their office hours didn't work for me, all professors I've had would schedule personal hours by appointment. There's never been a dull moment in the learning setting at Western. In high school, I had so many classes where teachers just got side tracked and we never got through the material. At Western, my professors have taught me so much valuable information, and they do it in a manner that grabs your attention and keeps it. I find myself connecting things I learn in one class to things in another, and then further connecting them to things in my life. You pay good money for an education. The professors at Western definitely make the learning worth your while.

  • 07/14/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types. Out going, good natured, fun, hardworking.

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus is so beautiful and there is public transportation so all your basic needs are taken care of. They have apartment style housing on the west campus, and if you are used to living in apartments, Brookview Commons Student Apartments are walking distance from the mid-town campus and are nearly the same cost of living on campus in a dorm.

    Will enjoy being here

    I do not plan to party hard and screw up school like unfortunately a lot of kids do their first year. I do however hope there are some chill places to see live music occasionally. I am over 21 so having some bars located near the college would be nice, but I haven't heard there was much of a night life/music scene in Danbury...

  • 06/12/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing, Tentative, Good-hearted.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't freak out. The campus is ginormous, but as confusing as you think it'd be, it's not that bad. I'm sure that after a month or two you can find anything.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is always police officers there and if need be can escort you to your car if asked.

    Great for these types of students

    graduate adults with a family or a life to manage. career oriented trying to succeed further in their career.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the new Starbucks is in a convenient location.

    Bang for the buck

    excellent courses and at affordable prices.

    What to do for fun

    there are always performance for adults and kids. I have two children a 4 and 5 year old and enjoy the convenience of bringing them to activities,

    Food and Dining

    they just brought STARBUCKS my favorite,

    Academic Rigor

    excellent and above standards.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out what is offered and the university will make it worth while

    In three sentences

    The convenience of Wesconn is what i love most. How many degrees are offered and the attention to detail from the faculty and staff has been utmost important while attending. I love the faculty since they are very understanding of life and its situations that may occur.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 49

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I'm not sure how this school is yet. This is gonna be my first year there.

  • 06/02/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Going to college is for education, therefore you should focus on your study or you will fail. Overall, if you get below 2.0 GPA in the row you will be suspected from the university. So your the first and second year in college, i suggest that you should put all your effort on your work.

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Business, Nursing, Meteorology, Visual and Performing Arts

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in clubs and other student organizations.

  • 02/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 10 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there's always a crime report every weekend

    Greek Life

    greek life is corny, wouldn't join if i was getting paid

    Clubs and Activities

    clubs and activities boring

    Great for these types of students

    if your a weirdo or enjoy the company of weirdos this is the right school for you

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the campus is divided in two on two different locations, not even walkable.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't come here if your looking for a school with a lot of activities in a fun city.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    before declaring a major, be an exploratory studies student and get a taste for what each major requires.

    In three sentences

    if living in state, wcsu is a very affordable school. it also has many great learning opportunities to advance you in the college process. the staff here is also wonderful.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I do not have the opportunity to join clubs or activities as I work full time and go to school full time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I work full time and go to school full time. I have no idea about unusual tradition or locations.

    Bang for the buck

    I am paying my own way through school. This is what I can afford.

    What to do for fun

    Sorry, I can not help you here as I work full time and go to school full time. No time for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay and prices work for my lifestyle.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on Campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are easy for me, but I work at them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sorry, I can not help you. I work full time and go to school full time. I do not have the luxury of truly getting involved in college life.

    In three sentences

    This is my hometown college. I need to be in school. This is convenient for me.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never feel unsafe at WCSU. And whenever there is an issue it is dealt with quickly.

    Greek Life

    WCSU has a many freternities and sororities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities for students to get involved in. These include the Student Government Association, Place Where He Provides Ministry, Black Student Alliance, Gay-Straight alliance, and many more.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a school that is great for students who would like to stay a little close to home and receive a quality, yet affordable, education.

    Bang for the buck

    As a state university, WCSU is a very affordable school for students who are residents of Connecticut and for about 10,000 a year a student can pay for tuition, books, and housing.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs, activities, events, and recreational facilities to enjoy for fun. These include the basketball gym, the tennis court, the weight rooms, campus festivals, campus movie screenings, and also campus concerts.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good at wcsu. The best food is on the west side campus but there are also other places near the campus to eat such as SOHO Pizza Restaurant and Denny's.

    Dorm Life

    Danbury is a very nice town to stay in and the campus is close to the many restaurants and the mall. Also, the resident assistants create fun activities for residents to interact and get to know each other.

    Academic Rigor

    The workload increases after each semester, but there are many professors, advisers, and other students willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would urge that students get a handle on school work before signing up for clubs.

    In three sentences

    Western CT State University is a good place of academic learning. There are a variety of majors and many excellent and engaging professors. WCSU is not perfect, but it has a great environment and holds many interesting opportunities for students.

  • 05/27/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police Station on Campus, camera's all over the place. No risks to your safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    Have 500 different clubs and organizations that help you out academically and socially.

    Bang for the buck

    In state students pay only $18,000 so if you have a house in CT switch your residence as soon as possible

    Food and Dining

    Great food and dining facilities, close to town.

    Dorm Life

    Small but very comfortable and clean.

    Academic Rigor

    Great Academic staff and great classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and get all your important documents in. Take placement test on time.

    In three sentences

    Everyone is very nice and helpful. Small college with great potential. Will help you in your career path.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    We are located downtown so there are many food places that you can go to. They have faternity clubs that you can join ice ring, etc.

    Food and Dining

    There are different variety of food everyday. There is a Deli Stand, Salad Bar and delicious treats.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice and open. There are so many new faces to meet and whom are not aware of you yet.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are rigrous and it takes time. The professors are very helpful when you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would like to say that it's a new climate and you need to know that it's time too grow up. It's time to do things on your own and it's not hard because there are wonderful people to help your along the way.

    In three sentences

    Western is a place where you can recieve a great education. They provide you with everything you need. The envirnoment is beautiful and a place to call home.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun, you can go to parties, clubs, or campus events. There is also a mall and movie theatre nearby.

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo food is over-priced, unhealthy, and not tasty.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun and clean. There are many commuters at this school, but living in a dorm improves your social life!

    Academic Rigor

    Courses are not very challenging overall.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in clubs and activities, it will save your social life. Attend this school with an optimistic attitude. WCSU is what you make it.

    In three sentences

    WCSU is an affordable way to obtain your bachelor's degree. Although campus life isn't always exciting, you get a good value for you tuition money. There are lots of opportunities if you get involved.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are clubs, sports, and events to do and join on campus and around town.

    Food and Dining

    The food at WestConn is decent. Not too amazing, not to horrible.

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm at the school, however I hear that dorm life is decent.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor of Western Connecticut State University is pretty challenging. Some classes are more challenging that others but over all the school is pretty intelligent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips I have for prospective students are to know what you want in college. Write a list and brainstorm a set of goals you want to accomplish in the future. Take those goals and figure out which classes you want to take, what program of study you want to go into, and which careers might be appropriate for you. Then figure out how expensive your dream college is, talk to financial aid, and have back up plan. If WestConn meets all the requirements you have and you meet all of their admission requirements then it is the college for you!

    In three sentences

    Western Connecticut State University, or WestConn as most call the school, is a medium sized state university close to my home town. It is not only a university with great academic programs in fields such as music, education, and nursing but it is in a nice area where I can stay close to home, job opportunities off campus, and the beauty of the northeast. While WestConn was not my first choice it is a economically smart school for middle class families.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    In need of flexible schedule.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Student centers on either campus are pretty much where everyone goes.

    Bang for the buck

    Decently priced school, decent education.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs, academic and actual night clubs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not go home on weekends.

    In three sentences

    Nice campuses. Great athletic facilites. Commuter School (mainly).

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police station right near campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have many choices for clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Like small campuses, want to join clubs.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is everything I've ever wanted in a college.

    What to do for fun

    Dance, clubs

    Food and Dining

    Food is good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose the school you love.

    In three sentences

    This school offers me much more than I expected. It's not as expensive as other universities. They have a great Psychology program.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    If you don't have a car there is very limited options for fun. But to keep yourself from dying of boredom join one of the many clubs on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The dining cafe on the midtown campus closes at 7 so I would advise you to buy food to heat up in your dorm.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty cool, if you want to be social I suggest leaving your door open while you're in your room so people could stop by and say hi. It's a great way to meet people. Watch out for 'thirsty Thursdays', it's the one day during the week everyone goes out to the clubs but if you have an early class on Friday I wouldn't recommend it.

    Academic Rigor

    As a freshman a majority of my classes are pretty easy. Most professors will not cut you any slack though on missing assignments so I stress the importance of doing your homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply as early as possible! Financial aid is based on first come first served. If you do not like small environments this college isn't for you.

    In three sentences

    A pretty diverse campus. The food could be better with more healthy choice options. The freshman dorm rooms on the midtown campus could use a little work.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are emergency buttons around campus and you can push it at night if you want to be escorted back to your room. Parts of the campus are really dark at night, especially by the science center and the field, so it's nice to know that you can hit the button and campus police will escort you back to your dormroom.

    Greek Life

    I'm not a Greek, but everyone seems to get along pretty well. A lot of the clubs work with the different fraternities and sororities, so everyone knows everyone.

    Clubs and Activities

    I wish there was more variety. What WCSU has right now is good, but almost everything is centered around community service. It's good but I want to join a club where I can hang out and do things other than work.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Right after you walk through the gates, if you stand on the metal circle in the center of the bricks and clap, something cool happens.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a pretty good school for the price. Everything is close, everyone knows each other, the professors seem to care.

    What to do for fun

    There's a nice mall down the road, but the Hart bus is really confusing and the last pick-up is at around 6, so you have to be done before that. Other than that, there's nothing really within walking distance, so you definitely need a car.

    Food and Dining

    For a school trying to make a name for itself, it really tries to send kids home on the weekends. The main cafeteria closes at 7 each night, and between 1-2 on Fridays. The cafe is closed on the weekends, and the downstairs snack bar you have to pay for, it's not included in your meal plan, unless it's the weekend, and even then on Sundays it closes early. There are some restaurants nearby, but unless you have a car your choices are really limited.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty nice. I'm in Newbury and the rooms are big for a residence hall. All of the room have heating/air which is nice in the summer and winter, but not all of the residence halls have it. It's set up like a hotel with 2 long hallways and rooms on each side.

    Academic Rigor

    When you're in class or doing homework, you definitely have to pay attention. After that though, there's nothing really to do. I spend a lot of time hanging out in my room when I don't have work to do because a lot of what we learn is in the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know why you want to come here, because what you see is what you're going to get.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If a student does not like to walk the campus alone at night, university police will escort the student to the parking garage he or she parked in.

    Greek Life

    I am in Greek life at Westconn and it is the most amazing experience.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of choices for clubs and activities from Greek life to Habitat for Humanity. There is a club for everyone!

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for students who want to be educators. It is also great for students who did not do well in high school because the professors want them to strive.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Homecoming is really fun, and each Greek organizations have their own unique traditions.

    What to do for fun

    Danbury is fairly close to New York and a train ride to the city is only about an hour long.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for a prospective student would be to get to know their professors. Do not be afraid to attend their office hours. If you have a question on the reading, go to office hours; do not want until class.

    In three sentences

    Western Connecticut State University is a mainly commuter school that has a lot to offer. I have never seen more passionate professors who want their students to succeed. I do not regret my choice in attending this school.

  • 12/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are crafts and clubs and karaoke nights, including nearby diners that are ok. The Mall's really close too, so that's good. Also, the train station is right there, so going to NYC is super easy and affordable.

    Food and Dining

    Sometimes it's really great, but that's rare. If you're vegetarian, good luck. If you're lactose intolerant, you're probably gonna starve.

    Dorm Life

    I commuted, so I don't know. Get into Pinney...that's all I know.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are harder than others. If you want a good education, you can find certain professors who will challenge you. However, there are still quite a few easy A classes, so if you need a break one semester you can just sign up for easy classes...but be warned; these are usually filled with stupid freshmen who talk in class and cheat off your tests.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always TRIPLE check everything yourself, and in person! If they tell you that your financial aid is all set, get it in writing. If there is a mistake later, they will almost always deny their statement. Send emails for the confirmation, but also work on your stuff in person.

    In three sentences

    WestConn is affordable, conveniently located, and has many amazing professors who care. WestConn is also INconvenient because the lack of communication between departments often messes with your important stuff, like financial aid and admissions. The worst is the mold in the old buildings...most people are almost always sick because of it.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always see campus police around when you need them.

    Greek Life

    Very limited and small.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports teams are a lot of fun but are not known for winning or competitiveness.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of, unless taking the shuttle to class counts.

    Bang for the buck

    For in state, it is relatively cheap, and you get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    Everyone goes out to the clubs on Thursdays, but on the weekends everyone goes home and there is essentially nothing to do.

    Food and Dining

    Food on Midtown is greasy but they have a variety in their menu. Westside food tastes a lot better and is fresher, but the menu never changes.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms on Midtown are extremely old. Upperclassmen dorms on Westside are a lot newer and nicer.

    Academic Rigor

    Extremely easygoing professors and class work.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're an in-state student, definitely consider it.

    In three sentences

    Good selection of majors and classes, however classes are not that challenging. Campus split in two parts, you have to take a shuttle to get from one campus to the other. Decent living conditions; Westside Campus has better housing and better food.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You must always have your ID to get into the parking lot and into dorms.

    Clubs and Activities

    Anything you could EVER think of is offered here. We even have a Quidditch team!

    Great for these types of students

    THEATRE!!!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual location would be in Higgins Hall downstairs, there is a tiny door below the stairs and someone wrote a note saying a troll lives there. You've gotta check it out!

    Bang for the buck

    Living on campus is VERY expensive but with your meal plan you'll be able to eat well in the upstairs cafeteria.

    What to do for fun

    Many events on the quad throughout the semester, otherwise you will definitely see fliers for things to do all the time!

    Food and Dining

    There is an upstairs and downstairs cafeteria, they both offer good meals.

    Dorm Life

    Though I do not personally dorm on campus, I have friends who do. SAFE. That;s all I can say, especially on Midtown, they have fantastic security.

    Academic Rigor

    You will have some work, but the real time to study is for your midterms and finals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Show up for class! Don't skip due to laziness. And always attend on campus events!

    In three sentences

    The mood while on campus is a happy one. You will make friends very easily. The professors want you to learn, and they will go above and beyond to help you.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty safe security and campus police

    Great for these types of students

    Ones that live in the Danbury area save a lot more money coming to school here.

    What to do for fun

    All kinds of club events activities around campus

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm I live at home

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your work and show up to class!

    In three sentences

    I really like Westconn so far, everyone is pretty much very helpful and kind. There are a lot of fun things to do around campus. There are a lot of people here willing to help any student.

  • 02/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    To come out of school with Biology degree for the price is fantastic. I'm an adult returning to school after 10 years, so I was not able to go to some of the more expensive private schools & justsify the cost. The state tuition of $10,000/year is a total bargain.

    Food and Dining

    Food is decent, but costs are going up.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms but I hear they are nice

    Academic Rigor

    Their Science program is very good & I hear that their Arts programs are also very good.

    In three sentences

    WestConn is a nice school to attend. There are a lot of commuters there, but I hear the dorms are nice too. It's a low cost way to get a decent education for some very useful majors.

  • 03/21/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Focus on school, and work hard.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful. I love the area. Everyone is supportive and willing to help me when I need it.

  • 04/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Danbury is such a good city lots to do off and on campus, this is why you should dorm!

    Food and Dining

    Could be worse but it could really be better!

    Dorm Life

    I say do it, YOLO.

    Academic Rigor

    Harder than high school but teachers are VERY helpful!

    Tips for prospective students

    Definetaly apply!

    In three sentences

    A great school and tight knit enviornment.

  • 05/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been multiple hit and runs, a few rapes, and hate crimes in the dorms.

    Greek Life

    I have been actively involved in greek life for two years on this campus. The greek system is very small so on one hand it could be difficult to find your niche but once you do you literally know everyone so it is great.

    Clubs and Activities

    Danbury is the center of club life if that is what you are looking for. There are at least ten within a 7 minute walking radius.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to dorm, but do not want to move too far away. Students who commute and are just there to work on their degree and do not get involved in school activities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None :( Westconn is pretty standard and there is not a ton of school spirit.

    Bang for the buck

    No matter how crazy this school makes me sometimes, I know that getting my BSRN there is the smartest thing I could possibly do.

    What to do for fun

    Danbury is a busy city and the school is walking distance to clubs and eateries.

    Food and Dining

    No one likes the food here

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm, but the rooms are pretty nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The nursing program is highly competitive and they do not cut slack for anyone. You have to be on your game 24/7

    Tips for prospective students

    Read all the assigned materials BEFORE class, it will help you significantly. Also, actually go to class! Don't skip because you will not learn anything and it is a waste of your money.

    In three sentences

    The university as a whole is what you expect from a state school. You get a decent education for a much more affordable price and you are closer to home (if that appeals to you). The nursing department is treacherous; tread carefully.

  • 06/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    great security

    Great for these types of students

    majoring in business

    Bang for the buck

    Price is not to bad

    What to do for fun

    once in a while i would go to a club

    Food and Dining

    Wasnt not kean on the food in cafateria, it was so so.

    Dorm Life

    avarage size dorms but overall not bad at all.

    Academic Rigor

    Great Academics

    Tips for prospective students

    Great school for those interested in Business, other majors as well.

    In three sentences

    AWSOME!

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    lots of clubs doing lots of activities! 3 gyms!

    Food and Dining

    i just love it!

    Dorm Life

    amazing!

    Academic Rigor

    spectacular !

    In three sentences

    it is an exceptional business school. It is not very crowded, so a student have lots of chances to interact with hi/her professors.

  • 07/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    It could be better, but hey, how much can you expect from cafe food? Some dorms have their own kitchen so for all you chefs out there this will be a great opportunity to have good home-cooked meals.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great!! They have off- campus apartments, on- campus apartments and freshmen dorms. At first moving in and the idea of living with complete strangers scared the living daylights out of me, you never know what you're gonna get. By putting myself out there and joining clubs I was able to make friends fast, You can request to live with someone you get along with.

    Academic Rigor

    I transferred from a small school that only had about 1,000 students total and maybe 400 that actually lived on campus,the classes were extremely small, and classes were very easy. Western is a bit more challenging and more serious, classes are a bit larger too, but as long as you attend class and do your work, you should be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of everything there is to offer, your're only a college student once in your life, so join a club, become a part of a positive movement, do your school work on time, DON'T PROCRASTINATE !!

    In three sentences

    This school is a medium sized campus. It offers a wide variety of clubs to be a part of. There are many activities to participate in and cool trips that are very affordable.

  • 07/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Westconn is fairly cheaper than schools such as Uconn and Central. You get close to the same education level but not challenged enough. If you live in Connecticut coming here defiantly saves you money as apposed to going to a bigger out of state school. If you don't want to go to a community college and still save money it's your best bet

    What to do for fun

    Danbury is a quite area so there's not too much to get into. There are clubs and bars loctaed in the area. Besides that there are a number of towns around danbury which you can find something to do.

    Food and Dining

    Food is subpar to say the least. Not very appetizing but has it's days.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are average westconn is split into to two different campuses. Freshman Dorms are where you experience the typical college life as apposed to the upperclass men dorms where there far less interacting.

    Academic Rigor

    It's a state school meaning level of difficulty academically isn't very high. Classes range about 25 to 35 kids. Chosing the right teacher can go along way in how much you learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find your niche and group of friends. Small school where everyone knows each other. Come with a postive attitude and your guarnteed to succed.

    In three sentences

    Not a large school but is fairly diverse. Primarly a commuter school not know for partying. Has a excellent nursing program

  • 08/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Westconn has a variety of meal plans that can fit your standards and what you can afford. There are 3 main dining halls which provide different types of meals throughout the day. There are also vegetarian choices for the students who prefer to eat vegetarian foods.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life can be different for everyone. All of the dorms are different, but they are all great to stay in. The freshmen dorms are great for the freshman to get to know each other and the campus. While the upperclassmen dorms are great for the upperclassmen because they are suites so it gives the students something to look forward to.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging, but the professors are available to help out. There are also tutoring classes for extra help. For the students who stay in the dorms, the dorm's staff are available for additional help.

    In three sentences

    Western Connecticut state university is a great school. The professors are really helpful and are available to help out students in need. The diversity in the school makes it comfortable for anyone.

  • 09/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are a lot small blue station, you can just push the bottom. the school police will go to where you are immediately.

    Great for these types of students

    want to study in the small classes. want to live in the quiet environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    you can eat pizza with president

    What to do for fun

    join the clubs! go to the game room! hang out to the Danbury Mall during the weekend.

    Food and Dining

    Ultimately Meal Plan that you can eat whatever you want at any time.

    Dorm Life

    can have a microfridge, good views out of the window.

    Academic Rigor

    it is good for you. professors are very responsible.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. attend every class 2.keep high GPA. 3.join clubs and activities

    In three sentences

    1.Small classes which are i like. 2.Each class's professor can recognize you. 3.A lot of interesting clubs.

  • 09/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Coffee houses, a cappella groups, game nights, movies, school clubs, concerts, carnivals, karaoke, crafts, hangout with friends, so much!

    Food and Dining

    I've heard mixed reviews about the food at school, but personally I think its all good. There's always lots of options (healthy and not so much) and there's smoothies and omelets! The meal plans are also really helpful.

    Dorm Life

    I mentioned earlier that the freshman dorms aren't amazing and the rooms are small, but there's always events to keep us busy, the bathrooms are cleaned daily, the laundry rooms are easily accessible and I've made a lot of friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Since I'm a music major, there's always something to be studying and rehearsing and practicing, and the classes are challenging, but I enjoy them. My writing class asks a lot of us, but the teacher approaches the assignments well, so they're not terribly painful, and my math class so far is a breeze because I love math!

    Tips for prospective students

    It helps to know the path you want to take because West Conn lead you all the way.

    In three sentences

    Western is a beautiful place with friendly people who tend to all out needs. The freshman facilities aren't the nicest, but as we progress, the living quarters do as well! All my teachers love their job and are really dedicated to their students, which is one of the most important aspects of a college.

  • 09/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is very safe here on campus! There are blue lights EVERYWHERE and the campus is really so safe. There are always students around outside, and there is no need to worry. Just be smart about your safety and you will be fine!

    Greek Life

    The Greek life here is smaller compared to other private schools, but I am in a sorority and I love it. The sense of community among the Greeks is AMAZING. It doesn't matter what sorority of fraternity you are in, all the Greeks have a great relationship with each other. Also, have no fear! There is absolutely NO hazing whatsoever. It is not tolerated, and if there was even the littlest suspicion that hazing was going on among an organization it would be shut down immediately and an investigation would take place. I love my sisters, and am so happy I joined my sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    Love it! The clubs are so highly visible to students, you are guaranteed to find something you love! I am the president of my dorm building, in a sorority, and in the adventure club! Being president is great because I've gotten to know so many residents here. The sorority is amazing because the young woman here are some of the most beautiful people I've ever met. The adventure club is great because it gets us off campus and into the great outdoors!

    Great for these types of students

    Students whose parents struggle financially. The financial aid office is great in working with students so that they have the things they need. Also for students who find that a huge school would be too overwhelming. It's never too crowded here and you aren't just a number. It's also great for highly involved students.There are lots of opportunities to emerge as a leader here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The friendship circle! You have to clap your hands over and see what it does for yourself! Also, if you ever hear someone yell WC! you have to yell SU! back! It's fun!

    Bang for the buck

    WCSU is so great for the cost! Since it's a state-school as a CT resident I got a good amount of financial aid that I was very thankful for! You can get a great education here and leave with same degree as another student going to private school for much, much, much less debt.

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities going on! The RAs here work really hard to make sure that there are things for us to do on the weekend so we don't get super bored. There are nearby clubs that are fairly safe, and if you get involved I promise you will never be bored.

    Food and Dining

    The food really isn't too great, but it's bearable. The salad stations are always go-to's for sure. I'd recommend trying to get to the nearby stew leonard's or expect discounts to get some fruits and veggies to keep on hand.

    Dorm Life

    It depends on where you're dorming. Every dorm except for the one I'm living in has air conditioning, and this dorm is getting torn down and completely renovated next summer! All the dorms are beautiful here. They're great places to be.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes freshman year aren't terribly difficult. But as you go deeper into your major things will become more challenging!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you come onto campus and that you like it. The two separate campuses may not be preferable for everyone. Also attend clubs carnival and learn about the endless organizations here. It's the best decision I've made here.

    In three sentences

    Western is great school if you're looking for a smaller community that gets students really involved. The academics and academic assistance is wonderful, and the clubs are great too. I'd say it's a great place to get your education.

  • 09/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot to do for fun. Dorms have activities during the week and the weekends. The mall and movie theater is only a short drive away. Downtown Danbury is a short walk away. You will never get bored on campus, and if you do there's plenty of activities that you can get involved in so you won't!

    Food and Dining

    There is a main cafeteria that has all the food you could ever want. You can always find what you're looking for whether it is cereal to pizza to omelettes to salad. The cafes are great. There is on on Midtown and the other is on West Side. They have great food that will cure any craving.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing. It is fun to have a roommate and get to experience adult life. Every dorm has different activities going on during the week and a lot more on the weekend. There is always something to do in the dorms' lounges or even in your dorm room.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are amazing. I am currently taking four classes this semester and I love all my professors. It is hard for them to get to know you on name bases, but they are always encouraging students to talk to them during their office hours. They want what is best for us, and always tell us so. The classes at Western Connecticut State University range from biology to sociology to Middle Eastern Culture to American History. You can always find what class you're interested in here.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for a school close to home but also want to get a little far away, WCSU is for you. This college is very homey and you never really want to leave. I recommend that you dorm, the best experience is to dorm and meet new friends. Join clubs and get involved. You don't want to spend your whole time at college in your dorm room. Get out and go have fun!

    In three sentences

    Western Connecticut State University is an amazing school. The professor, classes and surrounds are extremely friendly and welcoming. It has beautiful scenery and everything feels like home.

  • 09/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I joined Alpha Delta Pi and it's great! There's no house, but it's still fun! It's a great way to meet new people and you really do make great friendships! Although not as elaborate as other college's greek life, it's decent for a place like WCSU!

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs you can join and even create your own if you have 5 other people who want that club to open! It's easy to get involved, especially with clubs fair and other events like movie nights by PAC.

    Food and Dining

    Good food. The downstair's cafe is great for commuter students and Sodexo does a good job of providing some change in their menu.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are also what you'd expect from a typical college, small and crowded. However, that's to be expected.

    Academic Rigor

    So far, the classes I've had are not too rigorous at all. It's pretty much what you'd expect in a college class, but even so, it's nothing a student can't handle. I've found myself to still have plenty of free time to do what I want.

    Tips for prospective students

    For the price, it's a pretty great college to attend. The professors are (mostly) great and there's more to do here than you think. If you want to save money, especially if you want to go to a graduate school, it's a good idea to attend WCSU.

    In three sentences

    It is a homey university that is easy to acclimate to. There's not much to do in town near the campus. However, the university provides many amenities and clubs that can fill up your social calendar.

  • 09/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very good with safety. At night it can be scary walking around campus especially if your by yourself so the campus has put up towers where with a push of a button a police escort will be at your service to walk you to your car.

    What to do for fun

    The Danbury area is full of exiting nightlife. There is a club that is basically just for WestConn students. You can get in as long as you have your ID with you. There is also a big shopping center located 5 minutes from the school.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the school is really good and cheap. They have everything to satisfy every tastebud. It is also convenient, right in the middle of the campus were it is accessible to everyone.

    Dorm Life

    I personally do not live on campus because I live so close to the school but from what I hear, the dorms are really nice. Also the people who are in charge of choosing your roommate do a good job at choosing someone who is just like you.

    Academic Rigor

    Any college presents challenges in the academic region. The professors at WestConn do challenge you so that you can be the best you can be. With these challenges they do offer their help so that you can succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    The biggest tip I can give is to have your mind made up because it will make college go by that much easier. Another tip is to get active in your social life, make friends, join a club/organization. The last tip I can give is to talk to your professors, and go to them for any problem you might have.

    In three sentences

    Western Connecticut State University is a very diverse school. If you come from any ethnicity you are guaranteed to find someone with the same ethnicity as you. All the teachers at WestConn are more than willing to help you with any problem/struggle you may have; there is always a way you can reach them if your in need of some help.

  • 09/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    The greek life here is highly involved with their.communities and philanthropies. Also they are well organized.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm in an acapella group, show choir, and a greek organization i love all of them.

    What to do for fun

    There are a few clubs around for the party-goers, but i like to stay and interact with the people in the residence halls.

    Food and Dining

    Nothing beats a home cooked meal, but at Western it gets pretty close.

    Dorm Life

    I love it here, the residents are all nice, i honestly love everyone here.

    Academic Rigor

    I came here with little experience in music, but they have free tutoring, take advantage of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your work. Do not party too hard. Do not be afraid to talk to people.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are phenomenal with exception of few. The students are accepting to all and cause little drama. The music program is full of supportive staff; i love it here.

  • 10/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You always need your school id to get into the dorm halls and the RAs always check them. Also the school sends an email to all of the students to keep them updated about safety matters.

    Greek Life

    There are a variety of sororities and fraternities on campus that are very involved with the students and the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    For every student, there is a club that matches them! There is a social work club, dance team, marketing club, you name it. Clubs are a great way to get to know new people.

    Great for these types of students

    Ambitious, studious.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a room in the Westside campus student center that has many windows and is very relaxing! Also on the Westside campus there is a nature walk and a planetarium. Homecoming every year is usually huge, there is a theme every year and each club on campus can participate in the poster contest. The homecoming football games are at night and there is always a homecoming dance!

    Bang for the buck

    Western is known for its cheap tuition compared to other Connecticut schools.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do on campus. Even across Midtown campus, there is a pizza place and ice cream parlor. Soho's and Giovanni's are fantastic and within walk-able distance. There are posters of activities everywhere, and students also get email updates about upcoming events.

    Food and Dining

    There are two dining options on midtown campus. There is a buffet-style cafe which has many food options and there is also a downstairs cafe that has your basic burgers, mozzarella sticks, etc. which doesn't require a student id to get in. On the Westside campus, the food is excellent and there is a panini stand as well as a choose-your-own-pizza stand.

    Dorm Life

    The resident assistants are usually both very nice and helpful. They are required to host fun activities in their residence halls for students to enjoy. Some dorms are smaller than others but always give adequate storage room.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors always give out syllabuses which note exactly what they expect. Many professors expect students to be mostly on time, and to mostly every class. Credit is given to students who do the following and who show effort. Many of the schools here require the students of the program to abide by clear guidelines, for example, a minimum letter grade for each class. Also, many programs require the students to complete an internship to graduate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Western is known for its music, musical theater, Justice and Law Administration, nursing, and social work programs. Also, there is always a club or activity that will match your interests.

    In three sentences

    Westconn, or as we call Bestconn is a college with a calm, friendly atmosphere. There is a mountain of activities to do and club to join. No matter what you aim to do, there are always people willing to help you out.

  • 10/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great police force and safety aspects to the school. If you ever need a ride back to your dorm for any reason, police will drive you.

    Greek Life

    There are a few fraternities and sororities on the Westconn campus, none of them have houses or anything, however. Some are recognized, and some are unrecognized that you can join for social aspects.

    Clubs and Activities

    Offer tons of clubs and activities for everyone to enjoy. And every club usually has events going on at some point.

    Great for these types of students

    WestConn is great for outgoing students who know when to have fun and when to crack open a book.

    Bang for the buck

    WestConn is not for everyone. It's a school where you really have to dig for fun or something to do.

    What to do for fun

    Being placed where it is, not much. You'll find a lot of students driving down federal road, or going to the local pet store, Puppies and Kittens. The mall is fairly close to both campuses. Usually, I end up studying or curled up in bed watching movies. The student government and various student clubs offer some activities that are fun, like movie showings.

    Food and Dining

    The food usually looks and smells like it's been microwaved in the Midtown Cafe. The spaghetti and omelette station are your best bet, but the lines are ALWAYS huge for those. The downstairs cafe is too small, the staff usually isn't very nice, and the food isn't that great. Westside has a fantastic array of little restaurant style shops that you can order food from.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms offer tons of programs, but they usually end up being a bust. RA's are usually very nice and friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    This all depends on what your major is and how involved you are.

    In three sentences

    Western is a very small campus with a fantastic focus in the arts and sciences. The food is moderately okay, but the schedule for the cafeterias is very hard to grasp at first and doesn't always fit in with your schedule. Staff is usually very helpful, and the classroom sizes are generally very small in student to professor ratios.

  • 12/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a lot happening all the time, at the cafes they have different days where they either have holiday dinners, or you can make ginger bread houses and enter a contest with them, during finals week they have midnight breakfast at the midtown cafe, and some days they give out free food at the student center. As far as clubs they have a bunch some theatre, one for commuters, a ski/snowboarding club, and many more you don't hear too much about them unless you are in them. I am in the theatre program, so I don't have much time for other clubs.

    Food and Dining

    It's expensive, and since I don't dorm I don't have a food plan. It's not as expensive as it could be, but if I were to eat there every day I wouldn't have any money in my wallet. They occasionally have yummy food in the upstairs cafe, the down stairs cafe is usually always good, and the daily grind on the west side campus is much better than the other two cafes.

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm, but it doesn't seem terrible. My friends that dorm usually complain about needing to shower with sandals on, and some complain about roommates or never see/talk to their roommates.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes at WCSU have lot's of tests and papers due weekly. You will have a lot to write if you take writing intensive classes, but it shouldn't be tough to keep up with the work. Homework is never difficult, the best thing to do is get all your homework in on time, if you do that you will pass the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Western Connecticut State University is not a hard school to get into, as long as you try you will ace all your classes don't stress much. Also don't stress on the fact that it's college and everything is new because everything gets old and you get use to everyone and everything in no time. The theatre program is great, and starting Fall 2014 there will be scholarships for technical theatre majors and you can get a full ride all four years.

    In three sentences

    Western Connecticut State University is full of a variety of different people like, theatre kids, science majors, athletes and so much more of all ages too. The classes range from easy to difficult. It's location is convenient for most, and though downtown Danbury is not the greatest of places when you are on campus it's like a completely different place.

  • 12/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is extremely important and there are usually cops around the campus to supervisor the area. If students feel uncomfortable walking to their cars at any time of the day the officers will escort them to their cars which is a great service.

    Greek Life

    There isn't any Greek Life on the WCSU campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities provided at WCMG are great because they allow the students to get together meet new people and learn something new.

    What to do for fun

    A lot of students for fun will go out to clubs or have parties in their dorms.

    Food and Dining

    The food at WCSU is alright there isn't anything special about it. The prices are reasonable and the food serves it purpose.

    Dorm Life

    I've never lived in a dorm while in college so I don't know how that experience is like. My friends lived in dorms and usually you were able to get away with some stuff. A lot of the kids follow the rules of the dorm anyway.

    Academic Rigor

    The most difficult thing for students to overcome is time management and being able to retain a lot of information in a short period of time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students must be focused and be able to effectively manage their time. Most college students work and go to school full time so it is hard for them to manage their time which affects their grades. If the students can manage their time they will be able to do great in college and at work.

    In three sentences

    WCSU is a great university to attend. It offers students a variety of degree programs and activities to keep the students well educated and entertained. The only downfall of WCSU is that their classes are hardly available.

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I commute

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty safe. If you have night classes or dont want to walk alone to your car at either of the parking garages, you can get a police escort. The college has their own police located near Newbury hall and they are available to help you whenever you think you might need it.

    Bang for the buck

    Things at the school can get expensive, especially books. Shop around for them, check online. Renting it sometimes cheaper but buying can be too. Looking into both options can help you a lot in the book ordering process, even look into e-books.

    What to do for fun

    On campus there is usually always something to do. At the student center theater they offer movies, they play new moives so its not boring. Or there are programs your RAs put together, you can also suggest programs to your RAs if you want to do something. If you're looking for something off campus then the ice rink is across the street from Dunkin Donuts about five minutes down the road. Its not a far walk, and they sometimes have hockey games there or you can go ice skating. Football games are a nice change of pace, they are exciting and a lot of people go to watch our team play. Try new things, at least once. Even if you dont think you will like a program, or a game, or a movie, just go to say you tried it.

    Food and Dining

    Its not a five star restaurant but its food, and a lot of the time its not half bad. On the weekend the downstairs cafe is the only one open, but Monday through Friday the upstairs cafe is open and their food is pretty decent. If you really want something good, take the shuttle to the Westside campus and try a meal over there. Odds are you will like it! Its worth a try at the very least. Be sure to pack food when you move into school, non perishable items. Ramen might become your best friend or anything else you can microwave. Eating out is always an option because there are places open late, however the prices add up.

    Dorm Life

    Dorming at college is a great experience, even if you only dorm for your first year. It helps you get connected. Although it does cost a bit more in tuition, it allows you to get acquainted with people, and get better connected within the college community.

    Academic Rigor

    The work load is not usually too bad, it depends on your major, however its college, not high school. So be prepared to write your fair share of papers. Its important to turn your papers in on time! Also get to know your professors, it helps when you know them and don't be afraid to raise your hand to ask/answer questions, they like that.

    Tips for prospective students

    A few things you want to do before starting school is have your FAFSA completed as soon as possible, it makes a difference. Also, think about going into college as Undecided, even if you know what you want to major in. Going in undecided will just give you a little time, a semester at least, for you to figure out what classes to look into. If you know what you want to major in then you can sign up for all the classes you want or that apply to your major second semester. If anything you will get your gen-eds out of the way. Also talk to your counselors, and the academic advisement center, they are there to help you. Its good to know what resources are available to you, and if you have any questions, just ask someone. An RA, a counselor or even an upperclassman.

    In three sentences

    Western Connecticut State University is a somewhat small college with a wide variety of majors that offers new opportunities for new or perspective students. It is conveniently located in Danbury and within walking distance of several restaurants and shopping plazas. The staff at WestConn is very polite and willing to help the students with any problems they have, you just have to know who to ask.

  • 06/10/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    49 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Many greek organizations

    Great for these types of students

    Theatre Arts, Nursing

    What to do for fun

    Not to be negative, but visit your friends at other schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    If saving financially is your chief concern then this may be the best college for you in the western Connecticut area, however the offering of classes and curriculum can make an extra year or two in college an expensive reality.

    In three sentences

    The University does not accommodate working professionals or young professionals who want to get a head start in their career. The academics are the only thing the university really has to offer.