Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Western Iowa Tech Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it is a very safe a secure campus and the guards truly care about the safety of the students.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is such a great variety of clubs and activities here. it shocked me how many clubs are here for a community college.

    Great for these types of students

    its great for people looking into the medical profession, or for band instrument repair. it is also a great place for people looking to transfer to save money.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have a cool event called witstock. it is like western iowa techs verizion of woodstock and has a battle of the bands.

    What to do for fun

    in sioux city there is a variety of activites that you caqn choose from. there is a rec center with three courts and a rock wall, and also an events center which has concerts, hockey and a large variety of other events. there is also roller rinks and plenty of places to golf indoors and outdoors if that is an interest.

    Food and Dining

    can be expensive if all you get is fried food. but they have a great salad bar, some awesome specials and have the best breakfast ever!

    Dorm Life

    they have a great variety of dorms to choose from which is great! plus they have a variety of activities that take place in the dorms and free events for the students off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    they try and push you and make sure you know what you are doing when you graduate, but they don't make the courses impossible to pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    i strongly suggest to visit the campus, the main campus is beautiful during the fall. there are tours of the campus given every wednesday and there are general and specific visit days. plus if those don't work with your schedule you could schedule a private visit.

    In three sentences

    western iowa tech community college is really a great school, specially to start out at. the people here are quite friendly and truly try and help you succeed. also, the class sizes here are perfect for you to get attention and one-on-one time with your teacher, but are also big enough that you don't feel like your alone.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    WITstock, Accounting club, Anime club, Graphic Design club, Chess club, Code Monkeys Computer club, College Democrats, CRU, Dance, and many more!

    Great for these types of students

    Low income students who want an associates degree or want to eventually transfer to a larger school.

    Bang for the buck

    Quality education for a good price compared to other schools.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of different clubs your able to join and there are also various events that go on throughout the year. One major one that comes to mind is WITstock, a battle of the bands competition, which is always a lot of fun.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of options. Definitely better than high school cafeteria food! They always have a salad bar out, lots of drink options, and they will take orders from their menu. You can also buy grocery like items from there if you prefer to eat at home. A bit pricey, but if you have the meal plan you really don't have to worry about it.

    Dorm Life

    Awesome! Just moved in a few weeks ago and I love it. Lots of friendly people and the dorms I'm staying in (Bur Oak Suites) are really nice. Very modern and clean. The dorm itslelf doesn't have much in it, you have to provide things like couches, fridges, tv, ect., but you get your own room. The building has a main kitchen, music practice room, laundry rooms, and a lounge area. Only thing I havent liked so far is that my key card won't work on the door, and our blinds won't work.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be challenging, although it really depends on what teacher you have.

  • 10/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many club opportunities for students at Western Iowa Tech. The student government takes things very seriously about wanting to represent the student body as a group and everyone is very accepting to anyone joining their group. I have had experience with the sledding group where a few of us last winter went sledding together and had a blast.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very tasty and they offer a wide variety of choices. It is convenient and has tons of healthy options for students who are able to sit down and eat or if they are on the go, as well. Very comfortable seating arrangements, giving the illusion of home.

    Dorm Life

    Campus has obviously put a lot of money and time into making campus living beautiful and comfortable for students while they are in school. The rooms are spacious and tasteful, a great environment for work or play. Everyone who lives in the student housing is, for the most part, respectful and kind to one another, making it one less thing to worry about.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many options of courses that are available each semester and it's very well rounded, giving the feeling that there is something for everyone. Teachers are picked top of the line, clear and direct educators who care about your classroom performance very much. As a student, you don't feel like just another number in the classroom, but that you're recognized by each teacher as a student that they care about doing well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Teachers are very helpful and care about you doing the best you can in each individual class. Lots of opportunity for different degrees and extensive and very nice facilities for training and hands on experience opportunities. Campus life is beautiful with different residing options and is not ridiculously spread out so walking class to class is more than feasible.

    In three sentences

    Great all around school with lots of different degree opportunities for both associates and transfer programs. Staff is friendly, helpful, and really make you feel like you are taken care of. The campus is beautiful with lots of new additions being added like new technology and opportunities for the greatest experience possible for students.

  • 12/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Whether it be cyber security issues, safety underfoot, or simply a dead battery or flat tire WITCC's Campus Security is always ready, willing and able to keep students safe.

    Greek Life

    Phi Thea Kappa is the sole Greek society and it is, as most know, a society for the acknowledgement of academic excellence.

    Clubs and Activities

    Shakespeare, Photography, Math, Aname, Cyber Security, Code Monkeys (computer sciences), accounting, College Republicans, College Democrats, Military, Motorcycle, Police Science, Nursing, Habitat for Humanity, Phi Theta Kappa, Dental Assisting, Student Senate, Disc Golf, Spanish as well as WIT Masters Toastmasters Clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    All varieties as WITCC has ample sidewalks, ramps and where needed elevators and many students eager to assist with getting from point A to point B whether on campus or off.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    WITCC has a pond, with a hiking trail to it, which is also an active and intrigal biology lab site.

    Bang for the buck

    All students who partake of the International Cultural Studies trip recieve a $500 scholarship and can recieve from 1 to 3 credits for this trip upon completion of a modest presention and the trip itself.

    What to do for fun

    There are Numberous clubs on campus, student senate offers a free (with valid student ID) movie night once each month as well as an International travel opportunity through the Shakespear Club's annual Cultural Studies trip (each year is to a different country or set of countries). WITCC also has a very active Phe Theta Kappa Society 5 star chapter.

    Food and Dining

    Ample selections exist both on campus and within easy walking distance or short bus ride.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, personally, though I have been inside of our dorms and they are awesome, with more being built currently.

    Academic Rigor

    Both students and faculty, as well as staff, are held to the highest of standards for knowledge in their field of expertise and professional conduct. They also go above and beyond when assisting students achieve their goals or overcoming obstacles.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have any question feel free to ask any instructor, student (even if they are not in your area of study) or college staff. If they don't know the answer to said question - they will know who is the best person with the answer or at least who can get you to that person with the answer.

    In three sentences

    Instructors are highly knowledgeable in their respective fields. Opportunities for applying classroom learning while traveling overseas is top notch. Tutoring opportunities abound!

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus security is friendly, students also are part of security. there are secure locations through out campus and the dorms if anything happens and there is constantly someone going around making sure everything is okay.

    Clubs and Activities

    tons of clubs to join. activities all year round it great

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we now have a brand new gym/work out area. we also just got a disc golf course on campus this year

    Bang for the buck

    You don't really pay that much for schooling. but, this doesn't mean it isn't a great school. i used to think going to a community college wasn't worth it. well i was wrong. I've had a great experience. everyone wants to help, the school provides special activities and helps in the area. there are several clubs you can join, the campus is great. professors are wanting to help, classes aren't too big. lots of courses to choose from

    What to do for fun

    there is constantly something going on either at the dorms or the school itself. also there is the mall close by as well as other fun things in town

    Food and Dining

    the cafe is great, foods fantastic. there are also locations close by like fast food, apple bees stuff like that.

    Dorm Life

    i don't personally live in the dorms but my friends say its great. you have activities going on for everyone living on campus to participate in. its a dry campus and the dorms are new.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are smaller, about 30 people at the most in a classroom. They offer a wide arrangement of classes and programs to choose from.

    Tips for prospective students

    when going to college, make sure you have time to study. Use the tutoring that is offered for free. And get to know your teachers/Professors so when you need help you have a way to get it.

    In three sentences

    Western Iowa Tech is a great school. i would recommend going there to all of my friends. The Staff is GREAT!

  • 04/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security guards walking around on campus. From stats and statistics about things that have happened on campus such a violence, stealing, ect. there haven't been very many occurrences. I always feel safe when I am around, however, I feel as if it could be a little more secure and safe around campus and in the dorms.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am currently in a group called TRIO and it is a student support service. They have been a great help in getting me help on finding financial aid and scholarships and meeting new people. They also help with transferring and applying for classes. You also have to attend culture events, so that gets you out and about to experience different things. It is very beneficial and a encourage students to apply and see if they qualify to join this program.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are looking for a cheap way to get your generals out of the way this is a great place to get it done, especially if you live in the Sioux City area or places close. I'm getting what I need at a price I can afford.

    Bang for the buck

    It is not very expensive at all and you get a good education. The money you spend there is very well worth it. You wouldn't go to a more expensive school and get the things you get here at Western Iowa Tech.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of things to do for fun! There are always little events going on, sports and clubs you can join. There is also the student center with the gym and a wii you can play. They also have a free movie night every first Tuesday of every month you just bring your student ID to the movie theater located in the mall and you get to see a movie for free. I hear they also have talent shows and an event at the end of the year called Wits end.

    Food and Dining

    I have also not ate here at the school so I can not answer this question. However, from what I hear and what I can smell it always looks good! The thing I like though about this campus is that if you do get hungry or thirsty and need something quick there are plenty of vending machines around.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms or have not been in the dorms here so I can not answer this question.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes I have taken so far the teachers are pretty laid back and understanding if you don't get homework done on time if you have a good explanation. Otherwise they are pretty strict about you getting things done on time and don't take late work and give you full credit very often. It makes you make sure you get your work done on time.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for students is to make sure you don't procrastinate in planning on how you are going to pay for school and what classes you need to take. Start planning as soon as possible! The teachers and faculty around WITCC are always willing to help so don't be afraid to ask questions!

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere at Western Iowa Tech is great! The students and the teachers are always happy and have a smile on their face and while walking down the hallways to your classes the teachers and students say hi and ask how you are doing even if you don't know each other. Everyone makes you feel welcome and the teachers make sure that you get the attention and help you need.

  • 05/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are a few security guards that walk around and make sure everything is safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a verity of diffent clubs and activities that you can particpate in.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are not sure where to start.

    What to do for fun

    Western Iowa Tech has a lot of clubs and different activities that you can sign up for to keep you busy through out the school year.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is a good place to eat. I think I would have preferred it to be a more buffet style but for a small college it was a good setup.

    Dorm Life

    I lived off campus but I have heard good things about the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Western Iowa Tech has courses that will challenge you as a student.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are unsure what career you would like to pursue, Western Iowa Tech is a great place to start.

    In three sentences

    Western Iowa Tech was very helpful in decided what I wanted to do with my career. The classes I took were very interesting. I learned a lot while attending that I will be able to do in my career.

  • 07/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is monitored inside and out 24/7 and there always are security guards walking around.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for anyone who likes to have fun and meet many people while still getting a college education.

    What to do for fun

    Some examples are joining their clubs, hanging around campus with friends, and joining in classes such as theatre.

    Food and Dining

    There is a wide variety of food choices at a somewhat reasonable price for any student.

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm here so I would not have anything to say partaking this section.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the classes you are taking, Western Iowa Tech offers classes that challenge you as well as motivate you to do your best.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips are to work hard, take the time to study in the library, join a ton of clubs and just have fun meeting new people.

    In three sentences

    Western Iowa Tech is a college where you can have fun while getting a college education. Western Iowa Tech is unbiased and offers a range of different classes that fit your major. Western Iowa Tech also offers a comfortable atmosphere for new college students.

  • 11/01/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    First time college students!

    Bang for the buck

    WITCC is definitely cheaper than a lot of places I've been looking. You get a good learning environment, exceptional learning content, and a friendly and fun atmosphere without too much pain in your pocket.

    What to do for fun

    There are a bunch of clubs and activities to do at WITCC, including dance, zumba, and softball. There's also a Wittstock (a play on the word Woodstock) and it's a music festival that allows local bands to play and anyone can attend! There's usually an annual Battle of The Bands as well, and my friend's band actually won!

    Food and Dining

    There's a cafeteria in WITCC that serves breakfast, lunch, and supper at very reasonable prices. You can either pay with your food card, debit, credit, or cash. They always have a salad bar, desert bar, and grill to make what you need and the workers are very nice.

    Dorm Life

    There are two different dorms at WITCC. I didn't stay in the dorms though, but visited friends who did and the dorms are a spectacle themselves. They are modern and well kept.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at WITCC definitely varies depending on what major you go into. From my experience, there wasn't an overload of homework, but if you didn't stay on top of it you would fail..

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you don't slack off and stay on top of your work. I didn't and now I have to pay back my financial aid which is preventing me from going back to school. So stay on top of you work and make new friends! I met my best friend at WITCC, and it's funny because we went to the same high school and didn't really like each other but now we are inseparable!

    In three sentences

    The campus is really beautiful, it's got a full frisbee golf course and the building itself is gorgeous. The faculty are all very kind and helpful, all of them are willing to go the extra mile to help you if you need it. The classes are taught in well kept, visually appealing classrooms.

  • 01/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always around to server and protect this school.

    Clubs and Activities

    Work out clubs and activities, drama clubs, and a whole bunch more.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    The students there are very nice and outgoing.

    What to do for fun

    There are bunches of activities and clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Good food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are nice, I don't live in them.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers could teach a little bit simplier.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just keep your head up high.

    In three sentences

    A few faculty members there are very rude. One of them would be the disabilities coordinator/advisor. Some teachers are rude, but most of them are so kind and caring and wants the best for you.

  • 05/10/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never once felt unsafe, and I did take night classes in the basement.

    Great for these types of students

    Online learners and adults trying to go back to school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I used to pop into a certain professors class simply because I was interested in the subject. He never told anyone, no one in the class did. It was understood I wouldnt get credit, but I was allowed to participate just like everyone else.

    Food and Dining

    The few lunches I had there were very good, for college food keep in mind.

    Academic Rigor

    I loved Western Civ. and found it adequately challenging. I did hope for more out of first year biology and lab though.

    In three sentences

    I loved Western Iowa Tech. The professors there were very accommodating and genuinely interested in my career path. I found the IT staff very helpful, also.