Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Western Nebraska Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that have not decided on a major and want to work on their general studies or obtained an associates of arts in fields such as science. The college also offers nursing programs and cosmetology.

    Tips for prospective students

    Western Nebraska Community College is easy on the wallet, but the student should still make the most of his/her money and do their best. It's important to make sure you have a place to live a few weeks before classes start; the college does not have dorms, but they are connected with a local group who tries to accommodate students into apartments before making them available to other people.

    Bang for the buck

    WNCC is a relatively affordable college, meaning that any student can probably pay for tuition out of his/her own pocket.

    Am enjoying being here

    Really enjoyable atmosphere. Everyone knows you and professors know you by name.

    Academic Rigor

    There is easy accessibility to technology and professors. You will learn plenty; the best thing is whenever you don't understand something there will be someone available.

  • 02/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    game nights, clubs, dances, and many other things you can get involved with.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't be afraid to ask the teachers questions. meet with your adviser on a regular basis (their your guide for classes) get involved!!

    In three sentences

    i believe that western nebraska community college is a great school to start your associates degree out at. the teachers are very helpful and out going, they will help with any thing you have questions about. the dorm life and campus life is very fun and has many different activities. this school is very welcoming.

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    outstanding food available in the cougar den.

    Academic Rigor

    courses are very challenging and geared towards critical thinking.

    Tips for prospective students

    make use of the tutoring available. math lab, writing center, and supplemental instruction for certain courses offered.

    In three sentences

    great instructors that have an open door policy with students. everyone here wants you to succeed and graduate and are more than willing to help you any way they can.

  • 02/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    wncc's food services are amazing. they serve a little bit of everything.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are very cool. they have activity's all the time in the same building.

    Academic Rigor

    this school is very academic. they have lots of activity's as well but academics come first.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't be afraid to try new things. meet lots of people and get involved.

    In three sentences

    this school is great. they have many different programs and many activity's. i wouldn't go any were else.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can hike the Monument, go into the Wildcat Hills, go see a movie or go to the mall.

    Food and Dining

    We have steak night once a month, and there are always more than one option for food with a salad bar for lunch and dinner.

    Dorm Life

    We have activities at least once a week, with intramural sports throughout most of the year.

    Academic Rigor

    It's different than high school, but probably easier than going right into a four year school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join in the dorm activities, it makes coming to college and meeting new people that much easier. Dont be afraid to ask for help, and use the resources at the school. We have a writing lab, math lab, and all teachers have office hours.

    In three sentences

    Amazing community feeling, everyone is nice. The school is big on athletics, everyone supports all of the teams. Most professors are more than willing to help with projects or answer any questions.

  • 04/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Fishing, hiking, hunting, bowling, golf, movies

    Tips for prospective students

    There is not a lot to do in Scottsbluff, unless your an outdoors type of person.

    In three sentences

    Great education offered here with passionate teachers. Small class sizes for all courses. Low tuition.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a very safe campus.

    Bang for the buck

    It's worth the money for the experience. The school isn't very expensive.

    What to do for fun

    If you have the right group of friends you will never have a dull moment. You can play outside sports on the lawn or play pool or ping pong in the dorms.

    Food and Dining

    There are dinners that are really delicious every once in a while but most of the time its not the best meal.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is some what strict but I enjoy it. It is a very safe enviornment.

    Academic Rigor

    I loved the education here. There are able to have one on one session to help a student in need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't over think how tough it might be. The staff is very willing to help and mentor you.

    In three sentences

    The hospitality of the staff and students is amazing. I loved attending this college. The atmosphere really made it a great experience.

  • 09/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many activities you can join, and they always have something going on.

    Food and Dining

    I sometimes will go down to the cougar den where they have a small cafeteria for non-dorm students. It's not the best food I ever tasted but I didn't want to throw up either.

    Dorm Life

    I wouldn't know I live at home with my family. According to others though they enjoy it. A lot activities go on.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great place for people to go if they are wanting to go to college for a lesser price. Even though the prices are low your education value is still top notch. Faculty and advisors are great and friendly. If you like small towns that's another plus.

    In three sentences

    Awesome faculty and willing to help. Many activities to join for a community college. Cheap tuition.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    WNCC is good for any type of student. Students that want to be teachers, ones that want to go into the medical field or the students who have no idea what they want to be. WNCC is the type of school that helps students figure out what they want to be.

    Bang for the buck

    WNCC is a very inexpensive college. My first year is only costing me about 5,000. Compared to most universities and state colleges, WNCC is almost half the cost.

    Food and Dining

    The college doesn't have a cafeteria, or food program, but on holidays Sidney campus has potlucks and the students and teachers eat together.

    Dorm Life

    WNCC in Sidney doesn't have dorms, it hasn't College View Apartments across the street from the college. Students can live in the apartments or at home.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers help you keep your grades up, and make sure you do well in the classes that you take. The administrators get a hold of you when something needs to be taken care of with money or classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're unsure of where to go to college, go to Western Nebraska Community College (WNCC) first. You can get your general studies, and get your associates degree. At the Sidney campus you can study cosmetology, aviation, education, and medical studies.

    In three sentences

    I am at the Sidney location, and it is a fun campus. It's not big enough that the students get lost in the woodwork, but it's not too small that it is a boring place to be. The teachers care about the students work ethic, and help them strive to do better.

  • 01/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    On-line or on campus

    Bang for the buck

    I believe this school is worth attending at least for two years to get the experience of college before heading to a four year college.

    What to do for fun

    My kids and I hang out and play kinect on the xbox 360.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat at the school. i eat at home with my kids.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms. I am a single mother of two kids.

    Academic Rigor

    It is not rigorous but it flows smoothly, at least mine has so far.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out this school to see if it has what your looking for.

    In three sentences

    I am enjoying my time in this college. I believe I will receive the best education I can. This school is easy to get along with.

  • 04/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Intramural sports was always worth the time, being involved in campus clubs is fun and looks good on resumes' and around town there is always something going on. Bowling, movies, wing night, movie parties, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Dining was acceptable. As for the food....it was always the same unless you went to the Den.

    Dorm Life

    I was not a fan of the dorms. Probably because I didn't have friends. I was outgoing in high school and thought it was a good quality to have for college but when you get there, not everybody is from where you are and will look at you like you are an unearthly creature. It got very lonely and boring, and very fast!

    Academic Rigor

    The college has rules as does every other, but if your there for an education there is not much you can jeopardize. The college staff does a great job at keeping things in line and everybody at peace.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do NOT let any teacher tell you that you aren't good enough for anything. Put yourself out there and be known. Enjoy your time being a cougar.

    In three sentences

    WNCC is a friendly community. Teachers are easy to talk to and over all I would rate WNCC as an 7/10.

  • 08/16/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    They have a lot of them you just have to look around campus and join and have fun.

    What to do for fun

    They are big into sports here and have a lot of clubs and activities that you can get into and find easily on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good and the dining areas and comfortable.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't live in the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    They have really good teachers who are willing to go the extra mile if you don't quite understand what they are saying they will work with you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just try your hardest and utilize the staff here this is a smaller school and they are willing to help if they have the ability to.

    In three sentences

    This is a good place to start and transfer the teachers and students are great. I also felt like I didn't stand out in the crowd and was treated the same as the other students even though I was a non-traditional student and was older than a lot of my classmates.

  • 09/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    We have fun days. We go to the movies, or have dances. School council usually raises the money and throws some sort of activity throughout the year. At the end of the semester/year we have a bar-b-que or get together of some sort at the Scottsbluff campus.

    Food and Dining

    Again I do not attend the campus where the dining facilities are so I do not know.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm. I am a single mother of two and I attend at one of the other campuses that does not provide living quarters. I do hear however that they are very nice!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you are determined. If you are going for your generals or to pursue a degree, determination is the only way either of these can be accomplished. Remember that life gets in the way. Before you apply, have some idea of what you might want to do, and if you plan on transferring to another school tell them that. They will help you in the best direction if you are upfront with them. If you start taking a class and decide it isn't for you, drop it. DO NOT JUST STOP GOING!!! This will end you up with an F or I, and still owing the money, Yuck!! College is what you make it. WNCC is a good school, but it isn't for everyone.

    In three sentences

    They do a great job of making sure that we can continue our education no matter where we live. They provide excellent ITV classes, taught by some exceptional instructors. Also the online learning environment is one of the best I have seen.

  • 01/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There's not much to say about the food. There's different options if you don't like what's being served.

    Dorm Life

    I would recommend staying in the dorms. It is easier to make friends and the residence staff is great about putting together different activities for students, such as intramurals or other activities to meet new people.

    Academic Rigor

    All classes vary, as they do any college or university. I have had classes that require several hours of study and are very rigorous, and have had other classes that require much effort.

    In three sentences

    WNCC is a great place in helping to prepare in going to a 4-year+ university. The teachers always willing to help and make sure you excel. I was hesitant at first, but after going here, I can't imagine going anywhere else.