Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Western Nevada College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/04/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any students willing to get the same education a university offers for cheaper prices.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to go talk to your professiors, they are there to help you succeed in their classes. They don't want you to fail anymore than you want too.

    Bang for the buck

    It is way cheaper to go to a community college to get your basics out of the way. I priced it and it is exaclty a $1000 cheaper than an university and you are learning the same thing you would be learning at a university. I highly recommend going here for the first 2 years and then transfering.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere of this college is great. It is very productive and supportive. I enjoy going to school everyday. The teachers are great and very helpful and friendly, and the students are very friendly.

    Am learning a lot

    A community college is a great way to get the feel of how a university is like. The teachers at this school are very hands on and very knowlegable in their fields. I have learned a lot from being at this school. It has also helped me get the feel of what college professors expect. It has also given me the opportunity to achieve my goals.

  • 01/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone seeking to go to school for the first time or looking to go back.

    Tips for prospective students

    It really isn't just a community college. I took 18 credits my first semester thinking that since this school is practically a community college so I would be able to pass every class without a sweat. It turns out I was wrong. I passed all my class yet the classes were more difficult than I was expecting.

    Bang for the buck

    Going to a school such as Western Nevada College is an excellent way to save on money. Many basic level classes at this school are the exact same content and difficulty-wise as top-flight universities so you might as well take them where they are cheaper. Also, if you rake up enough scholarships, you get a nice check back from the financial office that you can really use for anything.

    Am enjoying being here

    With such an excellent demographic make-up it's difficult to not meet new people. Some of these people are the best people I have ever met and have learned valuable lessons from. The campus is also beautiful with many places to have a study break. The only downside is that it misses some of those classic college experiences that some students seek.

    Am learning a lot

    All but one of my professors was excellent. Of course that one professor was teaching the one class I really needed to excel in so I had to stay in her class. After a 6 week absence we were so behind we had to skip a chunk of the materials and the administrators were not helpful at all. Of course this is a one time thing because the rest of my professors were excellent.

  • 01/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security onsite.

    Greek Life

    I think there is a fraternity.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty

    Great for these types of students

    Undergraduates and associate degree programs

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    Reasonably priced for in state students.

    What to do for fun

    Lake Tahoe, skiing snowboarding, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Lot's of places to eat and grab coffee or a drink.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm. Sorry.

    Academic Rigor

    Can be challenging depending on the courses taken.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to classes and study

    In three sentences

    The instructors are good. They have classes to accommodate most schedules. The student service people are very helpful.

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is great, the parking lots are pretty well lit and you can have someone escort you to your vehicle if it is dark.

    Great for these types of students

    this college is geared more for adult learners or those transitioning or transferring to a university.

    Bang for the buck

    while cost of tuition has increased over the years you still get a quality education for less than a university.

    What to do for fun

    joining a club or just sitting in the courtyard is great. it is a pretty quiet campus that backs right up to hills with a beautiful view of carson city.

    Food and Dining

    they have a great cafe on campus. really good and organic.

    Dorm Life

    no on campus housing available, but there are studios right down the street.

    Academic Rigor

    some classes will definitely test your abilities from a broad spectrum while others simply take what you already know.

    Tips for prospective students

    plan early, and make a long term goal. try to challenge your academic ability at least once a semester. definitely stay on track and meet with an advisor or counselor regularly.

    In three sentences

    wnc is a great way to transition to a university. they really try to help you acheive whatever goal you are seeking. the best is class availability, you never have to worry about not being able to get into a class you need.

  • 02/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    nothing ever goes on that should worry you, but i've seen just a few police on campus just in case.

    Greek Life

    there's none.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are nice clubs to join if you have time. personally, i'm not in one but i'm going to check soon.

    Great for these types of students

    good for people who want to continue their education later in life since people of all ages are there. if you want to see if school is what you want to do, wnc is a great place for that. it will help you make up your mind.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    nothing out of the ordinary.

    Bang for the buck

    yes, it's worth it. it's starting to get a bit pricey though.

    What to do for fun

    it's too small of a campus to have much to do.

    Food and Dining

    i haven't found any places to eat at.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    some can be hard, but it's manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you want to transfer into a four-year university, make sure the credits are transferable, don't just assume!

    In three sentences

    wnc is a great place to be. the teachers really try their best to help and teach you. the small classes make it easier to communicate with the teacher, it's great.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    this is carson city at the foot of south lake tahoe...we really don't have problems.

    Clubs and Activities

    sorority, gym, theatre...the norm. really great stuff.

    Great for these types of students

    everyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    laid back and easy going a good place to learn. really nice library with great staff for assistance.

    Bang for the buck

    i checked school fees all over the country and i was blown away how expensive classes are. western nevada college offers you aa that fits the pell grant budget with room for books, software or other class essentials.

    What to do for fun

    i hang out in the graphics lab and work on projects.

    Food and Dining

    we have a great grill, really good cooking.

    Academic Rigor

    finish with and aa on the dean's honor list and you have better chances of getting into a secondary school with little to no difficulties. put in the time to make it happen.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't be whimps. step up to the plate and take on your future! life doesn't get any better than having an education and the people you meet along the way.

    In three sentences

    great school for graphic arts. small classes population one on one interaction really nice. price is right, about eighty dollars a unit, sweet.

  • 03/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is probably one of the safest campuses you will find. Not only is there campus security, but there is the police academy here, as well as, a lot of prior military students. Because Western Nevada College is in a small town there is a sense of community to the school. People watch out for one another.

    Clubs and Activities

    Baseball, softball, theatre, arts, veterans club, student government.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students are welcome at Western Nevada College. It is best for those that are not traditional students such as: prior military, single parents, those who didn't do so well in high school but want to get an education, older students, young students who work full time, and those going into a trade as opposed to getting a degree.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    Western Nevada College is great for the pursuit in an associates degree or a certificate in a specialized field. The prices are much cheaper than that of a traditional University, so you can get the same classes but for nearly a third of the cost. Plus, nearly everything is transferable to pursue a bachelors degree elsewhere, for those planning to get a 4 year degree.

    What to do for fun

    There are some activities outside of the class that you can get involved in. Baseball, school organizations, theatre, or even free workshops to get you that extra knowledge you seek.

    Food and Dining

    There is a school cafe on campus. It is reasonably priced and the food is excellent.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at Western Nevada are challenging and may help you to get ahead in life, as well as in your education. The teacher to student ratio is great, because I am always one to have questions and in a large class there may not be enough time or enough of the instructor to go around.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning to get a bachelors degree, don't just start off at a University that can be expensive while you are figuring out what you want to do at a college. Start at a smaller less expensive school that will transfer to that University that you want to go to. It will also give you time and opportunity to figure out what careers you may want to pursue, all the while not putting you into so much debt.

    In three sentences

    I like Western Nevada College, for reasons that there is a great teacher to student ratio, it is a low cost school, and it prepares me for my pursuit in higher education. I like that I am able to get an education there and that I am helped on how to do so. There is much opportunity for growth among traditional and non-traditional students.

  • 02/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    wnc is very safe and i don't really worry too much walking to my car, even if it is dark out. there are lamps to light up even the father parking spaces and if you don't feel comfortable there is a hotline you can call and someone will come to escort you to your car. as long as i've gone here, i haven't heard of anything really bad happening on campus.

    Greek Life

    there is none.

    Clubs and Activities

    there's a baseball team, student government, and tutoring, but otherwise not much else to do.

    Great for these types of students

    anyone who doesn't really know what they want to major in would do well to go to wnc. you can take the core classes like math and english that are going to be required no matter what you major in as well as take a few electives to explore your options. the best part is that it won't kill your wallet to take the chance to explore and take a fun class here and there.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the student government is really nice. frequently they'll set up food for sale or for free for the students and a lot of the times it's not even for any particular event. on the one day that i had forgotten my lunch the student government had set out a simple bowl of fruit and since then i've sung their praise.

    Bang for the buck

    the cost is really the most appealing thing about wnc! you could go to a university and pay thousands of dollars for classes or you can take two years at wnc for the price of one semester at a university and get the basic core classes that you need done for less! it's a really sweet deal!

    What to do for fun

    aside from classes or studying there's not really much to do that i would call 'fun.' you can socialize with friends, read a book in the library, but that's about it. a few days ago it snowed and some people made a snowman.

    Food and Dining

    there is a cafe on campus that sells sandwiches and drinks and things, but i've personally never been (simply because it's cheaper to bring food from home). there are also several vending machines that sell not just the junk food and sodas, but hot coffee and sandwiches. also every now and then the student government will give out free pizza for finals week or donuts for valentines day. they also set out a bowl of fruit on the day i had forgotten my lunch and really saved me!

    Dorm Life

    western nevada college doesn't have dorms, but there are apartments next door. personally, i commute from my home where i live with my parents still and most other people commute too. there are a few campus things like a library, cafe, and gym, but otherwise there's not much of a life on campus asides from the learning.

    Academic Rigor

    for me, western nevada college was similar to high school: i go to class, learn the next level of math or english and it's not too stressful. some classes have more homework than others, but otherwise it's not too heavy of a course load even for a full time student and you could probably hold down a part-time job as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you're local it's great and if not, there are apartments nearby. it's easy on the wallet (compared to universities) and you get just as good of an education. it's not as great for the four-year student and unless you plan on majoring in nursing you're most likely going to want to transfer later on.

    In three sentences

    it's a great school to start out at if you are unsure of what you'd like to major in. it's less expensive than a university and even if you do know what you'd like to major in, you can get your core classes done here and easily transfer elsewhere. the only problem is that it's not that great if you're looking for the whole college experience.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One officer patrolling campus at all times.

    Greek Life

    Absolutely none.

    Clubs and Activities

    Very, very limited.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone looking to cut back the cost of a 4-year institution in the state of Nevada.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    Refer to academic rigor.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing

    Food and Dining

    There's a convenient cafe, but it's sort of expensive, and they don't have a very wide variety.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, the school is mediocre. It is difficult to find a class with a good instructor, unless you know people who have attended the college. There are a few good teachers, and the rest could use some work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are able to get your financial aid information in on time.

    In three sentences

    Western Nevada College is an adequate school for beginning your continuing education. They offer many associate's programs, most of which are transferable, cutting back the cost of a 4-year institution. They also have qualified teachers in almost every class that they offer.

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Since I live at home I tend not to go out and eat around.

    Dorm Life

    As far as dorm life goes I have chosen to live at home to cut down on any cost.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor of this school is reflected in how everyone thinks about, plans and is involved with instruction and teachers, students, families and administrators function as a learning community.

    In three sentences

    I love attending WNC. They are more personal since they aren't a university, and that is something that is important to me. The teachers are great and I have really enjoyed being a student.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is not a ton of security but it is a safe place. Security primarily drives around in security vehicles.

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities or sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Baseball is popular. They also have a student council that one could be a part of.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for young adults who cannot yet pay for a university and those students who would like to get general education out of the way for cheaper cost. This college is great for adults who are going back to school. They also have a great nursing program.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't really any unusual traditions, but baseball seems to be popular.

    Bang for the buck

    I really like the cost of the school. There is no tuition; a student just pays per class. Each class is generally only $250.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do for fun. This place is primarily to get an education; its not really a place for socializing or fun.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cute little cafe that offers breakfast and lunch foods and that is about it. There are vending machines, but nothing too special.

    Dorm Life

    This college does not offer dorms. Everyone who attends lives off-campus.

    Academic Rigor

    These college classes are average in difficulty. Some teachers assign many assignments, while others just grade based on 4-5 unit tests.

    Tips for prospective students

    This college is more so for people who just want an education, not necessarily the college experience.

    In three sentences

    I like WNC. It has been affordable, local, and easy to complete the credits I need to transfer to Azusa Pacific University. WNC is a good place to get a general education.

  • 05/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    everything you can think of....

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Fun snow during the winter months and perfect summer, spring, and fall weather. Close to Lake Tahoe is a must for water lovers.

    In three sentences

    Good place to get a decent education. Staff are willing to help with whatever your concerns are at present. Fellow students are fun and willing to form study groups.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of places inside and out for socializing on campus. Every time I am on campus the students are enjoying the relaxing environment provided. They also feature a gym for students on campus. Locally there is so much to do and the possibilities are endless as we are only 30 minutes from the Biggest Little City-Reno.

    Food and Dining

    I eat at home as I do not live on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus so this does not apply to me.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not started classes yet but I am excited for the challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend that you start very early in the application process for attending the school and for FAFSA. Some application processes take longer than others and it will be less stressful if you allow time. Pay attention to deadlines.

    In three sentences

    The Carson City campus is very clean and easy to navigate. So far all the faculty I have met have been amazing. They are so helpful and I feel comfortable with my choice of school.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Look off-campus for eating because the one cafe on campus can be expensive.

    In three sentences

    A well rounded college experience that provides a good stable education. Western Nevada College doesn't provide a strong sense of community; however, there are opportunities to become more involved on-campus.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Homemakers, unemployed workers, new students, returning students

    Food and Dining

    There are several vending machines on campus; the cafe has good quality food and drinks, but needs more open hours in the evenings.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are in contact with your professors and counselors, especially if you have a problem.

    In three sentences

    Best for returning or new college students. Very helpful staff and professors. Friendly, helpful atmosphere.

  • 08/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is great.

    Academic Rigor

    I give it 5 stars.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will love the counselors.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school. They have great customer service.

  • 09/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    We have softball games, and the student government is great at putting on events and parties for the students.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe there is great and it's cost effective!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply online and wait for a phone call from a peer mentor and they will walk you through the entire enrollment process!

    In three sentences

    There are great resources for students, including faculty, mentors and peers. The grounds are beautiful. Working there is great, too!

  • 10/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Fallon Campus has a beautiful Art gallery and commons area.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the Acedamic Skills Center!

    In three sentences

    They have great student services and tons of resources for homework help. Their library is perfect for studying and has up to date equipment.

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have a small cafe there that has lunch type food there, but it can be pricey. I would bring my own if I'm going there for a while.

    Dorm Life

    This is a 2 year college so there is no dorms available for student, However, they do have apartments close by that are cheap for college students.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a lot of degrees and programs available at this school, but if you want to go to a B.A or higher you need to transfer to a 4 year school. They have Transfer degrees there that will help with what you Major will be.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say to prospective students is do your research when you are sign up for a class about the teacher and the way they teach. Every teacher has there own way of teaching and some of there ways are not the best for you has a learner. I would look at online reviews and asks around about the teacher you have.

    In three sentences

    I've been going here for a few years. I like this college because of it's flexibility and there is a lot of very nice teachers available. They also have a lot of good resources, when you need help with your studies.

  • 11/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    People just love hanging out around the campus talking to their friends and enjoying the beautiful view of the city.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your homework

    In three sentences

    It is a great college if you want to get your feet went before attending a university. Most students here plan to either get an associates degree or plan to transfer to a university. The students here are determined to take advantage of their higher education which has turned WNC into a great learning enviornment.

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I know the public safety in depth here in the Carson City Campus. Always helpful, and prompt.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for out of town students in rural areas. And good for people that need on line classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Three locations to serve students.

    Bang for the buck

    Western Nevada College is very friendly and easy going especially for new students. I was a nervous wreck, returning to college after many many years. The helpfulness, information, and friendliness is outrageous.

    What to do for fun

    Get together with study groups using sign language.

    Food and Dining

    The Lifted cafe here on campus it excellent with very affordable prices.

    Dorm Life

    None, but there is near by studios with shared kitchens.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are very vigorous and encouraged. Great study areas in all buildings; some quiet, comfortable, study tables, and loud music if you prefer.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in and get to know the college ahead of semester beginning. Find out where classes are, study areas, computers, food and information stations are located. Ask for help, we have all been in your shoes at one time or another.

    In three sentences

    Nevada Western College is a 4 star college. It has excellent administrative people, counselors instructors and great helpful students. Information need and comfort are always quick at hand when need; making new students and existing students at ease and welcome.

  • 03/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Being in a small town, the options for activities are rather low. If you're an avid hiker, there are countless places to go for a glorious hike. If you ski or snowboard, Lake Tahoe is a mere 20 minutes up the mountain. There are few movie theaters, a bowling alley, etc. Though there is not a great deal to do, Reno is only about 25 minutes away from the college, where you can find countless activities to partake in.

    Food and Dining

    There are many restaurants in the Carson City area that are close to the school, and of course just down the street a ways is a Starbucks for all you coffee lovers. There is on cafe on campus, and many vending machines to curve your in-between class snack attack.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Western Nevada College, seeing as it was formerly a community college. However, a few feet away from the school is a large apartment complex, and there are many other affordable housing options that are close to the school.

    Academic Rigor

    As far as academic rigor is concerned, WNC is not a university, so the course work is, from what I've been told, a little less than that of a university. However, effort must be put in in order to get good grades, and for the price and the teachers at this school, it is well worth the effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not worry about knowing what you want to major in right away. Most people have no clue until they start taking classes. Start with general education classes and on or two classes that look interesting to you. That may help in your decision on what you would like to study.

    In three sentences

    Western Nevada College (WNC) is a great school for students who are just out of high school, and it is a lot cheaper. You can get your general education out of the way transfer to another college. However, if you prefer, WNC has many options on their two year associates degrees.

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many sports games to attend!

    Dorm Life

    This institution does not have dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll in classes the day enrollment begins, as some classes can fill up quickly!

    In three sentences

    WNC is a simple college in the sense that what you see is what you get. It is a wonderful college for students directly out of high school. Their departments are above average, and obtaining information is not difficult as it can be with larger universities.

  • 06/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i walk out to the parking lot often at night. i have always felt safe, but its nice to know that security is very close by should i run into any uncomfortable situations. i did get a ticket for parking in a no parking zone because i didn't see the sign, it was too far away.

    Greek Life

    i am really not sure how to rate this one

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a few deaf clubs in the area. next semester i look forward to attending to some of this clubs get togethers. my teachers attends these get togethers and always encourage us students to do the same. it's great experience.

    Great for these types of students

    anyone who knows the value of knowledge when it comes to a lifelong occupation.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    WNC is a long way from my home but i am so glad to make the drive so i can attend a wonderful school

    Bang for the buck

    going back to school has been such a wonderful experience for me. my teachers have made my confidence stronger each semester. and i am excited about getting out there when i graduate and working in my field.

    What to do for fun

    some of us like to go and sit and chat in the commons area. its a great way to get to know other students

    Food and Dining

    our deli on campus has really good food and very reasonable prices. some of us students sit outside the deli after getting our food. it's a great place to be when your in between classes.

    Dorm Life

    i live off campus with my 12 year old daughter.

    Academic Rigor

    i am more confident in my studies. it was hard at first but i am doing better with each semester. my gold is to graduate with at least a B average. i am confident that i will reach my goal.

    Tips for prospective students

    since i am so much older then most of the students at my school, its hard to come tell them anything. i guess if anything, i have told my fellow students of all ages to stay in school and that there is a future out there for all of us.

    In three sentences

    i am 53 years old going back to school. the faculty and the counseling centers have been wonderful. they have been very supportive when it comes to my learning.

  • 07/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Yummy food at the Café!

    Dorm Life

    They don't have on campus dorms but they offer living facilities off campus that is walking distance to WNC

    In three sentences

    Western Nevada College is a beautiful campus located in the gorgeous Sierras. When it comes to signing up for college or any questions you have the staff is there to help you. What makes this college easier to attend than most colleges in Northern Nevada is that they offer classes in different counties so you won't have to travel far to attend your classes.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    26 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Both students and teachers are great people to be around.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities to be involved in.

    What to do for fun

    there are many activities outside of school that the school does for the students.

    Food and Dining

    the food there is divine.

    Dorm Life

    there are no doorms.

    Academic Rigor

    not only are the people great, but the academics are great as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    look into what you will do carefully.

    In three sentences

    Western Nevada college has opened many doors for me. Not only has it helped me out a lot, but has also helped me discover what I am interested in and what I am not interested in. My education here has motivated me to continue with my college career.

  • 09/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Western Nevada College offers an awesome complete Gym, with a basketball court and the College also has a game room.

    Food and Dining

    Awesome food.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    College gets as hard as you want it to be. If you do not do the work, College can be very hard. But on the other hand if you push yourself throughout College and get good grades you may also get scholarships and save up for another University after graduation.

    Tips for prospective students

    College may be scary at first sight, but once you're in it gets easier.

    In three sentences

    I love Western Nevada College, they have really good instructors. Not to mention the awesome cafeteria the campus have. It is also a really good way to begin higher education at a cheaper price.

  • 12/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is a small cafe, I have yet to eat there.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some courses are challenging and very instructional, whereas some courses do not have enough content to stay interested.

  • 02/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The Carson campus has many food options on campus and Fallon campus has many food options off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers push you to do your best but will help you whenever they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Decide if you want to be at a big campus or a small down to earth campus.

    In three sentences

    They have a very friendly staff. Student to teacher ratio is just perfect. The library is very up to date with technology.

  • 03/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security guards are on campus and do a great job of locking things up when night time comes around, as well as cameras ensuring the halls are staying safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    ASWN (Associated students of western nevada) This is your student government. ASL club ( American sign language) and many more available by visiting here: http://www.wnc.edu/clubs/

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who might think that a large college campus is intimidating, because this college campus is large but nothing to be afraid of by any means. Its basically a very nice starter college campus, plus the professors are always willing to go the extra mile to help students. This isn't always the case at larger campuses as there are a large amount of students all competing for the professors attention.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable in my opinion some students here take advantage of the fact that the average class cost is only 270$ and they stop showing up, or they think they can skip class, me on the other hand take my education very seriously.

    What to do for fun

    There's lots of fun things, games to go to, the game room, the work out room, the student events hosted by aswn (Associated students of western nevada).

    Food and Dining

    The lifted cafe is on campus and serves some good food at a good price! check them out! This campus also has some vending options for food and drinks through out the campus.

    Dorm Life

    This school doesn't have on campus dorms as its a community college, so I gave it one star

    Academic Rigor

    I love the academia here at Western Nevada College they sure do a good job of making such a small community college seem do able, unlike big universities who will come off as way too big.

  • 03/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You will take all of the same classes here that you would the first two years at a university. It really helps you learn how to study properly with less risk.

    Food and Dining

    There is none on the Fallon campus.

    Dorm Life

    There is none.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on which teachers you take. Some are university level others not so much.